DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/15/2026 as been entered, with support found in at least Figs. 1, 5, 8.
Regarding the limitation “wherein the first area at least partially overlaps the second area”, an interview with Attorney Thompson on 06/9/2026 shed light on where support was found in Fig. 4, with the overlap between 11a and 11b explained as being in the birds-eye view or Z-axis direction. This is further supported in specification [0061]: When viewed from the direction Z, the first metal plate 214 passes through a first area 11a from a second area 11b and extends out of the housing 10.
Therefore, the Drawing Objection of the 02/18/2026 Office action is overcome and now withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 05/15/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new ground of rejection is necessitated by the amendment newly reciting “the first zone of the first layer is sandwiched between the first area of the first part and the third area of the second part” and requiring such in the same claim with the limitations of “wherein the first area at least partially overlaps the second area”. Zama, the previous primary reference, was argued against for not specifying the insulating layer being sandwiched between explicitly defined first and third areas (of respective upper and lower housing parts). On the contrary, Examiner notes that in Zama Fig. 1B, insulating resin layer 6A is indeed shown sandwiched between upper and lower housing members at sealing part 5, which can be interpreted to read on first and third areas. However, in view of the instant amendment necessitating further search, this limitation is addressed below in a grounds of rejection which no longer relies on Zama.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9-13, 16-17, 20, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 6444351 B1) in view of Shin et al. (US 20070202399 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goto teaches a battery (gel electrolyte battery 1, Figs. 2-4), comprising: a first electrode, a second electrode (laminated electrode 5 incorporates a positive electrode 2, a negative electrode 3; Fig. 3), a first layer (resin film 9, Figs. 3-4), and a housing (casing film 6, Fig. 2); wherein,
the first electrode comprises a first conductor having a first face and a second face (two sides of the collector 2b of the positive electrode 2, Fig. 3), and a first metal plate connected to the first face of the first conductor (a positive-electrode lead 7 is connected to the positive electrode 2, positive-electrode lead 7 is welded to a lengthwise end of the collector 2b; Fig. 4);
the second electrode comprises a second conductor having a third face and a fourth face (two sides of the collector 3b of the negative electrode 3, Fig. 3), and a second metal plate connected to the third face of the second conductor (a negative-electrode lead 8 is connected to the negative electrode 3, negative-electrode lead 8 is welded to a lengthwise end of the collector 3b; Fig 4);
the first layer is connected to a first surface of the first metal plate and a third surface of the second metal plate (9 at upper faces of 7 and 9, Fig. 4); and
the housing comprises a first part and a second part (upper and lower casing films 6, Fig. 6), and covers the first electrode, the second electrode (the wound electrode 5 is sandwiched by the casing films 6, the wound electrode 5 is hermetically enclosed between the casing films 6; C7L58-59,65-66 and Figs. 2-3), and at least a part of the first layer through the first part and the second part, wherein at least a part of the first part is connected to the first layer (resin films 9 are applied to the portions in which the positive-electrode lead 7, the negative-electrode lead 8 and the casing film 6 overlap, then; C7L59-65 and Figs. 2-3);
wherein the first layer comprises a first zone connected to the first part (portion of 9 overlapped by sealed periphery of upper 6, Figs. 2-3) and a second zone connected to the first zone (outwardly protruding portion of 9 beyond periphery of 6, toward 7-8 in X-direction; Figs. 2-3); the first zone being covered by the housing (sandwiched by periphery of 6, Figs. 2-3) and the second zone being not covered by the housing (outwardly protruding portion of 9 beyond periphery of 6, Figs. 2-3)
the first part comprises a first area (upper periphery of 6, extending horizontally in Fig. 3 – annotated below) and a second area that are interconnected (upwardly rectangular portion of upper film 6 surrounding 5, Fig. 3), the first area is connected to the second part (sealed periphery of 6, where upper and lower film casings meet; Figs. 2-3),
the first area surrounding the second area on a first side, a second side, and a third side (two long peripheral edges of 6, and peripheral edge of 6 overlapping 9; Fig. 2); and
wherein the first area at least partially overlaps the second area (vertical overlap – see Fig. 3 annotation below); and
wherein the second part comprises a third area (upper periphery of 6, extending horizontally in Fig. 3 – annotated below) connected to the first area (the peripheries of the casing films 6 are sealed, C7L62 and Figs. 2-3), and
the first zone of the first layer is sandwiched between the first area of the first part and the third area of the second part (resin film 9 is disposed in each of the portions in which the positive electrode lead 7 and the negative-electrode lead 8 are brought into contact with the casing film 6, C4L29-32 and: resin films 9 are applied to the portions in which the positive electrode lead 7, the negative-electrode lead 8 and the casing film 6 overlap, then the peripheries of the casing films 6 are sealed to sandwich the positive-electrode lead 7 and the negative-electrode lead 8 in the Sealed portion of the casing film 6; C7L59-65 as cited above, and Fig. 3).
Goto fails to teach:
the first layer comprises an insulating material;
wherein, in the first layer, the first zone is shorter than the second zone in a first direction extending from the first zone to the second zone;
the first area surrounding the second area … but not on a fourth side.
Shin is analogous in the art of secondary batteries in which an electrode assembly having a cathode/separator/anode arrangement is mounted in a battery case (abstract). Shin teaches:
a first layer comprises an insulating material (protective film 510 and insulative film 500, [0035] and Figs. 2-3; the insulative film, which is attached to the contact regions between the electrode leads and the battery case, may extend by a length sufficient to seal the coupling regions between the electrode taps and the electrode leads, thereby also serving as the protective film, and may be made of same material per [0019, 0022]);
wherein, in the first layer, a first zone (where 500 is within sealed/hatched zone of case 200, Fig. 2) is shorter than a second zone (where 500 extends above upper edge of 200, Fig. 2) in a first direction extending from the first zone to the second zone (vertically upward in Fig. 2);
a first area (periphery of 210, Fig. 1) surrounding a second area (receiving part 230, Fig. 1) on first, second, and third sides (two long edges, and one short hatched edge; Figs. 1-2) but not on a fourth side (bottom/other short edge of 200 which is folded, Figs. 1-2).
Goto does teach in C10L1-4 that polyethylene film was applied to the overlap portion between the electrode leads and casing, where the periphery of the casing gets sealed. Shen teaches that an insulative film is generally attached to the contact regions between the electrode leads and the battery case ([0019]) for securing electrical insulation and sealability between the electrode leads and the battery case ([0007]), and that protective film is not particularly restricted so long as the protective film is made of an insulative material that does not affect the operation of the battery: for example, the protective film may be made of a polypropylene (PP)-based polymer material, and also, the protective film may be made of the same material as the insulative film ([0022]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use insulative material such as polypropylene (PP)-based polymer like films 500/510 of Shen for the material of resin film 9 within Goto to expectedly achieve securing electrical insulation and sealability between the electrode leads and the battery case as taught toward by Shen. See also MPEP 2144.07 regarding obvious selection of suitable material.
Shen further teaches that using both insulative film and protective film zones (500 and 510, respectively, in Fig. 3) is preferable that the protective film has a width equal to or slightly greater than that of the welded parts ([0021]), which results in the Fig. 2 structure where the 500/510 extension portion is sufficiently large, and both external and internal short-circuit can be prevented via secured electrical insulation ([0007-0008, 0034]). Shen teaches the insulative film, which is attached to the contact regions between the electrode leads and the battery case, may extend by a length sufficient to seal the coupling regions between the electrode taps and the electrode leads ([0019]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to increase the size of the second zone to extend a sufficient length relative to the first zone of the first/insulating layer within Goto to ensure desired insulation and prevent both external and internal short-circuit of the electrode leads extending from the battery case as taught toward. Further, changes in size/proportion are obvious design choices within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art per MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
Additionally, Shen teaches that Fig. 1 – wherein the sealed periphery (i.e., first area) surrounds three sides of the electrode receiving portion (i.e., second area) but a fourth side is instead folded – is a typical illustration of a general structure of a representative lithium-ion polymer battery as known in the art ([0004]). Goto also teaches their battery being a lithium-ion (C1L24-26, C5L33-35) polymer (C6L16-17 and 22-24) type. Shen also teaches the battery case is a laminate (Shen abstract), which is similar to the Goto laminate casing film (Goto C9L63-67). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to change the shape of the pouch-type battery casing of Goto to be like that of the pouch-type casing of Shen, and expect sufficient functionality of the casing serving to seal in the electrode assembly (the electrode assembly is sealed in the battery case, Shen abstract) while also reasonably expecting improvement such as less manufacturing steps (only three sides to seal instead of four). Change in shape is also an obvious design choice within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art per MPEP 2144.04 IV B.
Thereby, all limitations of claim 1 are rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 3, modified Goto teaches the limitations of claim 1 above but fails to yet teach wherein the first layer further comprises a third zone connected to the first zone.
However, Shen – as applied to modified Goto above – teaches the first layer (500/510) further comprises a third zone (inner portion of 510 extending inside of 230) connected to the first zone (portion of 510 within hatched/sealed edge of 200). See Shen Figs. 2-3. Shen teaches in [0039]: The electrode taps 301 and 302 extend somewhat a long distance from the corresponding electrode current collectors 310 and 320. As a result, the welded parts 401 and 411 are spaced apart from the upper ends of the electrode current collectors 310 and 320 by the extended distance. Consequently, the protective film 510 or 520 for sealing the welded parts 401 and 411 does not damage the separators 330 of the electrode assembly 300, whereby the battery is provided with high safety.
Therefore, when modifying Goto in view of Shen, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have further have found it obvious to ensure the presence of a third zone in the location of that taught by Shen to provide high safety to the battery.
Thereby, claim 3 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 9, modified Goto teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and the first layer is shorter than the housing in a second direction extending from the first metal plate to the second metal plate (9 shorter than 6 in width direction, Goto Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, modified Goto teaches the limitations of claim 1 above but fails to yet teach wherein the first layer is formed by stacking two or more layers of materials in a third direction perpendicular to the first surface of the first metal plate.
However Shin does teach that the insulative film member 500 further includes a layer of adhesive that is applied to one or two of the opposite surfaces of the film members, where the adhesive may include a composition coupled by a bonding method or a thermally welding method ([0035]). Shin teaches such insulative films 500 are attached to the upper and lower surfaces of the electrode leads for securing electrical insulation and sealability between the electrode leads and the battery case ([0007]).
It is a common goal of Goto to achieve good sealability between the electrode leads and the battery case via the insulative/resin films 9 through thermal welding (see Goto C7L58-65, C10L1-4). Therefore in view of Shin, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to further include an adhesive that is applied to one or two of the opposite surfaces of the insulative film members to abut and adhere to the surfaces of the electrode leads and/or the sealed periphery of the casing (which results in a structure reading on “the first layer is formed by stacking two or more layers of materials in a third direction perpendicular to the first surface of the first metal plate”) to achieve improved sealability between the leads, casing, and insulative layer(s).
Thereby, claim 10 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 11, modified Goto teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and wherein the first layer is provided away from the first conductor (layer 9 is spaced away from the conductors 2/3 within electrode body 5 in the first direction, Goto Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 12, modified Goto teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and the battery further comprises a second layer containing an insulating material (both upper and lower layers of resin 9 as shown in Goto Fig. 4; insulating material 500 also has both upper and lower layers in Shin Fig. 1); and the second layer is connected to both a second surface of the first metal plate and a fourth surface of the second metal plate (lower surfaces of 7 and 8, Goto Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 13, modified Goto teaches the limitations of claim 12 above and wherein the first layer is connected to the second layer (resin films 9 are … then the peripheries of the casing films 6 are sealed, Goto C7L58-65; polyethylene film applied at overlap and case periphery was heat-welded, Goto C10L1-4).
Regarding claim 16, modified Goto teaches the limitations of claim 13 above and wherein in a second direction extending from the first metal plate to the second metal plate, the first layer is shorter than the housing, and the second layer is shorter than the housing (both layers of films 9 are shorter than the casing 6 in widthwise direction of cell, Goto Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 17, modified Goto teaches the limitations of claim 13 above and wherein when viewed from a third direction perpendicular to the first surface of the first metal plate, the first layer is connected to the second layer at least in the first zone (the two layers of 9 are sandwiched and heat-sealed within the first zone where they are overlapped by periphery of case 6 – per Goto C7L58-65, C10L1-4 and Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 20, modified Goto teaches the limitations of claim 12 above and wherein the first layer and the second layer each independently comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of polyethylene, polypropylene, … (Goto C10L1 teaches example of polyethylene film, Shin [0022] teaches a polypropylene (PP)-based polymer material as an example of an insulating material that does not affect the operation of the battery, but is not particularly restricted).
Regarding claim 22, modified Goto teaches the limitations of claim 16 above and wherein the second part further comprises a fourth area (downwardly rectangular portion of lower 6, Goto Fig. 3) interconnected to the third area (horizontal periphery of lower 6, Goto Fig. 3), and the second area and the fourth area together form an accommodating cavity for accommodating the electrode assembly (wound electrode body 5 held between the upwardly and downwardly portions of 6 – see annotated Fig. 3 below); wherein
in the second direction, the first layer is shorter than the second area and the fourth area, and the second layer is shorter than the second area and the fourth area (both layers 9 are shorter in their width direction than both upper and lower rectangular areas of 6, see Goto Figs. 2-3; and
the accommodating cavity encloses the electrode assembly (5 accommodated/enclosed and sealed within 6, Goto Figs. 2-3 and C7L65-66).
Regarding claim 23, modified Goto teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and wherein the housing is made of a packaging film, the packaging film comprises a protective layer, a metal layer, and a packaging layer that are stacked in sequence along a thickness direction of the packaging film (a casing film constituted by laminating a nylon layer, an aluminum layer, and a polypropylene layer when the laminate was viewed from outside; Goto C9L63-67), the packaging layer is close to the electrode assembly (polypropylene layer [is laminated third/last]… when the laminate was viewed from outside, and the wound electrode was sandwiched by said casing laminate; Goto C9L63-67), and the protective layer is away from the electrode assembly (nylon layer [is laminated first] … when the laminate was viewed from outside; Goto C9L63-67); the protective layer comprises polymer resin (nylon, Goto C9L64); the metal layer comprises one or more of aluminum … (aluminum layer, Goto C9L65); the packaging layer comprises one or more of polypropylene … (polypropylene, Goto C9L66); and the packaging layers are melted and connected to achieve sealing of the housing (the periphery of the casing films was welded with heat so as to be sealed, Goto C10L3-4 and Fig. 3).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mochizuki et al. (US 20210257696 A1) teaches tab films 300 including a first zone within edge portion 130, a second zone extending outward beyond housing body 100 which is longer than the first zone, and a third zone extending inward within 100 (Fig. 1)
Hatta et al. (US 6797430 B1) teaches sealant resin 6 including a first zone within heat weld portion 2a, a second zone extending outward beyond case 2 which is longer than the first zone, and a third zone extending inward within case 2 (Fig. 3), and teaches the quantity of protrusion of sealant resin 6 over case 2 is not limited and prevents short circuit between the metal laminate layer of case 2 and the electrode tabs (C7L36-43).
Ogawa (US 20050233218 A1) teaches sealed part 50b on three sides of case 50, but excluding a fourth side where turned-over part 50a is located ([0065] and Fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSIE WALLS-MURRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728