DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 10/16/25 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 2 is in the original form. Claims 3-5 are newly presented. Thus, claims 1-5 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings and Claims have overcome each and every drawing objection, 112(b) rejection, and 101 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 04/16/25.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 of each claim 3, 4, and 5 read “The system of claim 1 further” and should likely read “The system of claim 1, further” to include a comma for grammatical reasons
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cully, Jr. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2024/0050725), hereinafter Cully, in view of De La Fuente Gonzalez et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2017/0246258), hereinafter Gonzalez, and Sanyal (U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0065379).
Regarding claim 1, Cully discloses an enclosure system for removal of undesired cells from a human body (see [0045-0046]: system retains biological moieties such as cells and see [0047]: a hydrogel can be used within the pouch to retain the cells), comprising:
an enclosure body (102, see FIG. 1) that is elastic and expandable (see [0049]: a pouch, aligning with Applicant’s disclosure of the elasticity/ expansion being due to the pouch in [0019]), formed with a cavity (108, see FIG. 2 and [0049]: a reservoir) and a closable opening (see [0049]: periphery of pouch bag 110 is sealed except for port 107, where lumen 112 extends into pouch, see FIG. 2. See [0049]: lumen does not need to be held “open” and is therefore closable) and includes at least a first port and a second port (see [0066]: multiple ports, such as a first port and a second port, fluidly connected to reservoir and accessible from outside the body may be used. Thus, Cully discloses a first and second port);
wherein, the body (102) is constructed for placement in a desired location of the human body (see [0012]: i.e.: implanted in a tissue pocket), and capable of receiving a first set of chemicals through the first port and a second set of chemicals through the second port (see [0066-0068]: ports can introduce cells/ chemicals as described and therefore the body is capable of receiving sets of chemicals through the first port and the second port);
and
wherein the body (102) is constructed to enclose the cells that move into the cavity (see [0066]: body encloses cells 136 introduced into cavity and see [0050]: cells can also move into cell permeable layer 116 seen in FIG. 6), to be configured to close after a preselected time period (see [0049]: lumen is closed such that the sides of the lumen touch, see [0070], until removal as in [0073-0074]) and, thereafter, to be configured for removal from the human body (see [0073-0074]).
Cully is silent to removing cells “that contains a tumor formed of the undesired cells,” placing the enclosure body “near the tumor”, wherein the second set of chemicals “includes a preselected chemoattractant that is operable to direct the undesired cancer cells, including the tumor, toward them”, “wherein the first set of chemicals includes DNase I;”, and “wherein the body is constructed to enclose the tumor and associated cancer cells that move into the cavity because of the chemoattractant,” to be closed after a preselected time period and, thereafter, to be removed from the human body.
However, Gonzalez teaches an enclosure system (see [0021-0024]: for example, a 2D/3D scaffold with a chemoattractant to serve as a capture agent and chemoattractant for tumor cells and [0057-0059]: scaffold provided within a medical device to trap tumor cells with chemoattractant and [0060]: form is a scaffold or hydrogel) for removal (see [0051], [0067], [0073], [0084]: the device is implanted and then removed) of undesired cells from a human body that contains a tumor formed of the undesired cells (see [0021-0024]: the agent of the invention encourages metastatic tumor cells to attach to surface/ be contained by device), comprising:
an enclosure body (see [0057]: i.e.: a medical device containing the scaffold/ hydrogel body);
wherein, the body is constructed for placement in a desired location of the human body near the tumor (see [0053]: implant body implanted within area of human body dependent on cancer type. For example, ovarian cancer would have implant in abdominal wall),
wherein the body (see [0021-0024] and [0057]: medical device containing the scaffold) includes a preselected chemoattractant that is operable to direct the undesired cancer cells, including the tumor, toward them (see [0021-0023], [0057-0059]: medical device with scaffold includes chemoattractant for directing tumor cells into device); and
wherein the body (see [0021-0024] and [0057]: medical device containing the scaffold) is constructed to enclose the tumor and associated cancer cells that move into a cavity because of the chemoattractant (see [0021-0023], [0057-0059]: medical device with scaffold includes chemoattractant for directing tumor cells into cavity of device, where scaffold is located), to be in use for a preselected time period (see [0036-0039]: device used for certain number of hours, days, weeks) and, thereafter, to be removed from the human body (see [0051], [0067], [0073], [0084]: the device is implanted and then removed).
First, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the medical device pouch with hydrogel layers disclosed in Cully to include the scaffold/ hydrogel including chemoattractant as taught by Gonzalez for the purpose of forming an implantable device that traps metastatic cancer cells and is therefore useful for the treatment of cancer (see [0057]), thus achieving removing cells “that contains a tumor formed of the undesired cells,” and “wherein the body is constructed to enclose the tumor and associated cancer cells that move into the cavity because of the chemoattractant,” to be closed after a preselected time period and, thereafter, to be removed from the human body.
Next, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second set of chemicals introduced through the port disclosed in Cully to include a chemoattractant as taught by Gonzalez for the purpose of encouraging tumor cells to become trapped in the device (see [0021-0023], [0057-0059]) and refreshing the chemoattract concentration such that the chemoattract gradient does not become “gradually lost” over time (see [0219]), which could allow the device to remain implanted within the patient for a longer duration, thus achieving wherein the second set of chemicals “includes a preselected chemoattractant that is operable to direct the undesired cancer cells, including the tumor, toward them”
Lastly, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implantable pouch device disclosed in Cully to be implanted such that the placing of the enclosure body is near the tumor as taught by Gonzalez for the purpose of implanting the device near the site of treatment (see [0055]: i.e.: implant in the abdominal cavity for ovarian cancer) and to facilitate further cell capture based on biological processes (see [0053-0055]: for example implanting in peritoneal cavity/ abdomen is facilitated by trascoelomic flow), thus achieving placing the enclosure body “near the tumor.
Cully in view of Gonzalez remain silent to “wherein the first set of chemicals includes DNase I”.
However, Sanyal teaches an enclosure system (see FIG. 2) for removal of undesired cells from a human body (see [0021]) comprising an enclosure body (210) that is elastic and expandable (see [0023-0028]: pouches) and comprises a first set of chemicals, wherein the first set of chemicals includes DNase I (see [0021] & [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the first set of chemicals provided through the first port disclosed in Cully to be DNase as taught by Sanyal for the purpose of facilitating release and collection of the cervix, endocervical, and uterine cells (see [0021]), thus achieving “wherein the first set of chemicals includes DNase I”.
Regarding claim 2, the modified system of Cully teaches the system of claim 1, and Cully further discloses wherein the body (102, see FIG. 1) is formed as a pouch bag (see [0049]: a pouch 102).
Regarding claim 3, the modified system of Cully teaches the system of claim 1, but Modified Cully is silent to “further wherein the first set of chemicals includes collagenase I.”
However, Sanyal teaches an enclosure system (see FIG. 2) for removal of undesired cells from a human body (see [0021]) comprising an enclosure body (210) that is elastic and expandable (see [0023-0028]: pouches) and comprises a first set of chemicals, wherein the first set of chemicals includes collagenase I (see [0021] & [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the first set of chemicals provided through the first port disclosed in Cully to be collagenase as taught by Sanyal for the purpose of facilitating release and collection of the cervix, endocervical, and uterine cells (see [0021]), thus achieving “further wherein the first set of chemicals includes collagenase I.”
Regarding claim 5, the modified system of Cully teaches the system of claim 1, but Modified Cully is silent to “wherein the chemoattractant is defined using expression data of plasma membrane protein receptors obtained by RNA seq NGS.”
However, Sanyal teaches analyzing a biological material to determine a personalized treatment protocol for a subject (see [0043-0044]) using expression data of plasma membrane protein receptors obtained by RNA seq NGS (see [0040-0044] & [0067-0075]. See [0067] for specifically “next generation” sequencing).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chemoattract taught by Modified Cully to be defined using expression data of plasma membrane protein receptors obtained by RNA seq NGS as taught by Sanyal for the purpose of providing a personalized therapy and treatment protocol for a subject based on the subject’s data (see [0043-0044]), thus achieving “wherein the chemoattractant is defined using expression data of plasma membrane protein receptors obtained by RNA seq NGS.”
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cully in view of Gonzalez and Sanyal as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Condeelis et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2012/0322685), hereinafter Condeelis.
Regarding claim 4, the modified system of Cully teaches the system of claim 1, but Modified Cully is silent to “further wherein the chemoattractant includes lysophosphatidic acid (LPA).”
However, Condeelis teaches an enclosure system for removal of cells from a human body (see FIGURE 2 and [0009-0011]), the enclosure system (see FIGURE 2) including a chemoattractant (see [0013]), further wherein the chemoattractant includes lysophosphatidic acid (LPA) (see TABLE 1 on page 8 between [0057] and [0058]. See [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the chemoattractant of Cully in view of Gonzalez to include LPA as taught by Condeelis for the purpose of stimulating cell migration into the device (see TABLE 1 of Condeelis), thus achieving “further wherein the chemoattractant includes lysophosphatidic acid (LPA).”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/16/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made (see page 5 of applicant remarks). Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Therefore, the examiner was not persuaded by the remarks filed 10/16/25 and maintained the previously applied prior art references in the new 35 U.S.C. § 103 claim rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHLEEN PAIGE FARRELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783