DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 and 11-15 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/05/2026, have been entered and fully considered, applicant's arguments as filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues and asserts that cited references fail to show every feature of claim 1 such as “wherein in the width direction of the image reading apparatus, the first placement portion is located opposite the second placement portion with respect to the reading member when being positioned at the open position, such that a part of the document that is placed on the second placement portion is placed on the first placement portion that is positioned at the open position”. The only reasoning applicant gave supporting this assertion is that claim elements are not considered as a whole or in other words claim features are put together as piecemealing.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
For example, in this case cited references Shojo with Ohyama together as a combination teach and fill all the gaps required by the claimed invention, for instance, Shojo discloses that a second placement portion (flatbed glass platen 14, fig. 2, paragraph 36) that is installed below a first placement portion (document holding cover 10, fig. 2, paragraph 45) that serves as the placement portion (glass platen 14 is installed below cover 10, fig. 2, and serves as the main document placement portion, paragraphs 30-31), the document the image of which is read by the reading member being placed on the second placement portion (a state in which a read surface of the original document faces downward as shown in fig. 7 and when the original document holding cover 10 is closed and thereafter, the reading head situated under the flatbed 14 is moved to scan the original document that is placed on the glass platen 14, paragraphs 30-32); wherein the first placement portion (document holding cover 10, fig. 2, paragraph 45) is capable of moving in a width direction of the image reading apparatus to an open position (cover 10 can be moved to an open position or closed position as shown in figs. 4 and 6, respectively (paragraph 30), and can be used as the an upper surface of the original document holding cover 10 is used as a document table for the original document M, paragraph 45) at which the first placement portion uncovers an upper surface of the second placement portion (when cover 10 is open it uncovers the surface of glass platen 14, fig. 2, paragraphs 36, 43).
And, wherein, Ohyama fills the gap and teaches that in width direction of image reading apparatus (image input apparatus as shown in figs. 1-3), first placement portion (backs 12s and 13s belonging to sheet-feeding tray 12 and the sheet-discharging tray 13 are termed a second object-mounting surface as shown in fig. 3, col. 6, lines 37-53) is located opposite second placement portion (glass 11 is mounted so as to be detachable relative to the original mount 4 and is termed a first object-mounting surface, on which an object, such as an original or the like, may be directly mounted as shown in fig. 1, col. 5, lines 51-64) (note that glass 11 of mount 4 is positioned opposite (underneath) the backs 12/13 which are laid on top as shown in figs. 1 and 3), such that a part of the document that is placed on the second placement portion is placed on the first placement portion that is positioned at the open position (when elements 12s and 13s are in open position (released state as shown in fig. 1) versus the closed position (locked state as shown in fig. 3), they become as sheet-feeding tray 12 and the sheet-discharging tray 13 which are mounted at a pair of facing sides of the original mount 4, col. 5, line 51 – col. 6, line 53 and thus, it’s apparent that in case of a long document, a part of document can very be placed (partly touching) on both glass 11 and sheet-feeding tray 12 while in released state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shojo et al., US 2007/0076268 in view of Ohyama, US 5,764,385.
Regarding claim 1, Shojo discloses an image reading apparatus (image forming device, paragraph 29) comprising:
a reading member that reads an image of a document that is transported, wherein the reading member comprises a sensor (original document reading unit 2 includes “a reading head (shown by a broken line) provided under the flat bed platen 14 is moved to scan the original document, so that the original document is read”, fig. 1, paragraph 31, note reading head is the sensor which scans the document placed on platen as part of reading operation, paragraph 32);
a discharge portion (document tray 13, figs. 1-2) onto which the document that is read by the reading member is discharged (“The read original documents are discharged to the original document tray 13”, paragraph 32);
a placement portion (flatbed glass platen 14, figs. 1-2) that is installed above the discharge portion, wherein at least a part of an upper surface of the reading member is covered by the document that is placed on the placement portion (as can be seen in fig. 2, the flatbed is positioned above the discharge document tray 13 and positioned between the document holding cover 10 which is mounted to an upper surface of the flat bed platen 14 such that when document is placed on the flat bed platen 14 in a state in which a read surface of the original document faces downward as shown in fig. 7 and when the original document holding cover 10 is closed and thereafter, the reading head situated under the flatbed 14 is moved to scan the original document, thus, part of an upper surface of the reading head is covered by the document that is placed on the glass platen, paragraphs 30-32);
a camera (camera 51) that is installed above the placement portion (image acquiring unit 5, figs. 1-2, is provided at a center of document holding cover 10 mounted to an upper surface of the flatbed platen 14, paragraph 30, wherein, digital camera 51 which is mountable and demountable with respect to the main body is mounted as the image acquiring unit 5 to the original document holding cover 10, paragraph 42) and that captures an image of the document that is placed on the placement portion (image acquiring unit 5 is actually a compact digital camera, wherein, digital camera is rotated and the image acquiring direction is adjusted so that an image of the upper surface of the original document can be acquired/captured, paragraphs 37, 43); and
a second placement portion (flatbed glass platen 14, fig. 2, paragraph 36) that is installed below a first placement portion (document holding cover 10, fig. 2, paragraph 45) that serves as the placement portion (glass platen 14 is installed below cover 10, fig. 2, and serves as the main document placement portion, paragraphs 30-31), the document the image of which is read by the reading member being placed on the second placement portion (a state in which a read surface of the original document faces downward as shown in fig. 7 and when the original document holding cover 10 is closed and thereafter, the reading head situated under the flatbed 14 is moved to scan the original document that is placed on the glass platen 14, paragraphs 30-32);
wherein the first placement portion (document holding cover 10, fig. 2, paragraph 45) is capable of moving in a width direction of the image reading apparatus to an open position (cover 10 can be moved to an open position or closed position as shown in figs. 4 and 6, respectively (paragraph 30), and can be used as the an upper surface of the original document holding cover 10 is used as a document table for the original document M, paragraph 45) at which the first placement portion uncovers an upper surface of the second placement portion (when cover 10 is open it uncovers the surface of glass platen 14, fig. 2, paragraphs 36, 43),
wherein in the width direction of the image reading apparatus, the first placement portion is located opposite the second placement portion with respect to the reading member when being positioned at the open position (cover 10 and glass platen 14 are opposite each other in the width direction of the image forming device 1 with respect to reading head situated underneath the glass platen when cover 10 is open position as clearly shown in fig. 2).
Shojo fails to explicitly disclose a part of document that is placed on second placement portion is placed on first placement portion that is positioned at open position.
However, Ohyama teaches wherein in width direction of image reading apparatus (image input apparatus as shown in figs. 1-3), first placement portion (backs 12s and 13s belonging to sheet-feeding tray 12 and the sheet-discharging tray 13 are termed a second object-mounting surface as shown in fig. 3, col. 6, lines 37-53) is located opposite second placement portion (glass 11 is mounted so as to be detachable relative to the original mount 4 and is termed a first object-mounting surface, on which an object, such as an original or the like, may be directly mounted as shown in fig. 1, col. 5, lines 51-64) (note that glass 11 of mount 4 is positioned opposite (underneath) the backs 12/13 which are laid on top as shown in figs. 1 and 3), such that a part of the document that is placed on the second placement portion is placed on the first placement portion that is positioned at the open position (when elements 12s and 13s are in open position (released state as shown in fig. 1) versus the closed position (locked state as shown in fig. 3), they become as sheet-feeding tray 12 and the sheet-discharging tray 13 which are mounted at a pair of facing sides of the original mount 4, col. 5, line 51 – col. 6, line 53 and thus, it’s apparent that in case of a long document, a part of document can very be placed (partly touching) on both glass 11 and sheet-feeding tray 12 while in released state).
Shojo and Ohyama are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with image reading apparatuses with document placement portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shojo with the teachings of Ohyama for the benefit of providing an image input apparatus having excellent operability while automating the system with removal of manual operation as taught by Ohyama at col., lines 34-36.
Regarding claim 2, Combination of Shojo with Ohyama further teaches wherein an upper surface of the placement portion is flat at least in a capturing range of the camera (Shojo, upper surface of flatbed platen 14 is indeed flat and original document is placed on the upper surface of the flat bet platen 14 with the face oriented upward in the state in which the page to be read of the original document while having the digital camera located exactly above the center position of the original document to perform the image capturing operations, paragraph 43).
Shojo and Ohyama are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with image reading apparatuses with document placement portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shojo with the teachings of Ohyama for the benefit of providing an image input apparatus having excellent operability while automating the system with removal of manual operation as taught by Ohyama at col., lines 34-36.
Regarding claim 3, Combination of Shojo with Ohyama further teaches wherein the capturing range of the camera is across the reading member and the placement portion (Shojo, image acquiring unit 5 such as camera 51 is provided at a center on the near side of the original document holding cover 10 making its range (which can also be adjusted, paragraph 43) across the reading head and flatbed platen 14 as shown in fig. 2, paragraphs 30, 42) and wherein the upper surface of the reading member and the upper surface of the placement portion are flat at least in the capturing range of the camera (Shojo, original document reading unit 2 includes a flatbed platen 14, read head, and document holding cover 10 which is mounted to an upper surface of the flatbed platen 14, where upper surface of flatbed platen 14 is indeed flat and original document is placed on the upper surface of the flat bet platen 14 with the face oriented upward in the state in which the page to be read of the original document while having the digital camera located exactly above the center position of the original document to perform the image capturing operations, paragraph 43).
Shojo and Ohyama are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with image reading apparatuses with document placement portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shojo with the teachings of Ohyama for the benefit of providing an image input apparatus having excellent operability while automating the system with removal of manual operation as taught by Ohyama at col., lines 34-36.
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Shojo with Ohyama further teaches wherein the document is placed on the upper surface of the reading member and the upper surface of the placement portion (Shojo, original document M is placed on the upper surface of reading unit 2 including reading head and the flat bed platen 14 in a state in which the page to be read is open and faces upward. Then the pivoting position of the original document holding cover 10 is adjusted and an image acquiring position is set so that the image acquiring unit 5 is located exactly above a center position of the original document M as shown in fig. 2, paragraphs 36, 43).
Shojo and Ohyama are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with image reading apparatuses with document placement portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shojo with the teachings of Ohyama for the benefit of providing an image input apparatus having excellent operability while automating the system with removal of manual operation as taught by Ohyama at col., lines 34-36.
Regarding claim 11, Combination of Shojo with Ohyama further teaches wherein the placement portion is disposed at a height such that a user who operates the image reading apparatus is able to perform an operation of placing the document with the user standing (Shojo, user operates the flatbed 14 to open/close its cover as needed for performing the image reading operations of placing the documents to be read while checking the results on display unit comfortably at a height while standing as clearly shown with height/dimensions of the image forming device of fig. 2, paragraphs 40-41).
Shojo and Ohyama are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with image reading apparatuses with document placement portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shojo with the teachings of Ohyama for the benefit of providing an image input apparatus having excellent operability while automating the system with removal of manual operation as taught by Ohyama at col., lines 34-36.
Regarding claim 12, Combination of Shojo with Ohyama further teaches an image forming member (Shojo, image forming unit 4, fig. 1) that is capable of forming the image that is read by the reading member or the image that is captured by the camera on a recording medium (Shojo, processed image data, which is read and captured, is outputted to an image forming control unit to have the image forming unit 4 execute printing on the image forming medium, paragraph 39, also see paragraphs 40, 43), wherein the image forming member comprises a transfer belt (Shojo, just like feeding rollers having transfer belt (paragraph 32), transfer and fixing rollers are very commonly known in the art to have belts (not explicitly shown) for transferring the toner image formed on the surface of the photoconductive drum 26 to the sheet and outputting the printing sheet to the output tray, as discussed in paragraph 34).
Shojo and Ohyama are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with image reading apparatuses with document placement portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shojo with the teachings of Ohyama for the benefit of providing an image input apparatus having excellent operability while automating the system with removal of manual operation as taught by Ohyama at col., lines 34-36.
Regarding claim 13, Combination of Shojo with Ohyama further teaches an image forming member (Shojo, image forming unit 4, fig. 1) that is capable of forming the image that is read by the reading member or the image that is captured by the camera on a recording medium (Shojo, processed image data, which is read and captured, is outputted to an image forming control unit to have the image forming unit 4 execute printing on the image forming medium, paragraph 39, also see paragraphs 40, 43), wherein the image forming member comprises a transfer belt (Shojo, just like feeding rollers having transfer belt (paragraph 32), transfer and fixing rollers are very commonly known in the art to have belts (not explicitly shown) for transferring the toner image formed on the surface of the photoconductive drum 26 to the sheet and outputting the printing sheet to the output tray, as discussed in paragraph 34).
Shojo and Ohyama are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with image reading apparatuses with document placement portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shojo with the teachings of Ohyama for the benefit of providing an image input apparatus having excellent operability while automating the system with removal of manual operation as taught by Ohyama at col., lines 34-36.
Regarding claim 14, Combination of Shojo with Ohyama further teaches an image forming member (Shojo, image forming unit 4, fig. 1) that is capable of forming the image that is read by the reading member or the image that is captured by the camera on a recording medium (Shojo, processed image data, which is read and captured, is outputted to an image forming control unit to have the image forming unit 4 execute printing on the image forming medium, paragraph 39, also see paragraphs 40, 43), wherein the image forming member comprises a transfer belt (Shojo, just like feeding rollers having transfer belt (paragraph 32), transfer and fixing rollers are very commonly known in the art to have belts (not explicitly shown) for transferring the toner image formed on the surface of the photoconductive drum 26 to the sheet and outputting the printing sheet to the output tray, as discussed in paragraph 34).
Shojo and Ohyama are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with image reading apparatuses with document placement portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shojo with the teachings of Ohyama for the benefit of providing an image input apparatus having excellent operability while automating the system with removal of manual operation as taught by Ohyama at col., lines 34-36.
Regarding claim 15, Shojo further discloses an image forming member (Shojo, image forming unit 4, fig. 1) that is capable of forming the image that is read by the reading member or the image that is captured by the camera on a recording medium (Shojo, processed image data, which is read and captured, is outputted to an image forming control unit to have the image forming unit 4 execute printing on the image forming medium, paragraph 39, also see paragraphs 40, 43), wherein the image forming member comprises a transfer belt (Shojo, just like feeding rollers having transfer belt (paragraph 32), transfer and fixing rollers are very commonly known in the art to have belts (not explicitly shown) for transferring the toner image formed on the surface of the photoconductive drum 26 to the sheet and outputting the printing sheet to the output tray, as discussed in paragraph 34).
Shojo and Ohyama are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with image reading apparatuses with document placement portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shojo with the teachings of Ohyama for the benefit of providing an image input apparatus having excellent operability while automating the system with removal of manual operation as taught by Ohyama at col., lines 34-36.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ogawa, US 2021/0218850
Okamoto et al., US 2021/0120137
Tsuchiya, US 2020/0019354
Ando, US 2019/0185279
Ito, US 2007/0071492 and
Katsuyama, JP 2017-175594 teaches However, Katsuyama teaches a second placement portion (document placing plate 303 is the second placement portion, fig. 19, paragraph 49) that is installed below a first placement portion (automatic document conveying unit 300 with document setting unit 301 is the first placement portion, fig. 15, paragraph 43) that serves as the placement portion (when automatic document conveying unit 300 is opened upward, as shown in fig. 19, an upward document placing plate 303 which is installed below units 300/301 appears for setting an upward document, so that the upward document can be read, paragraph 49), the document the image of which is read by the reading member being placed on the second placement portion (for reading an upward document, a document reading surface side of an original is set upward on a document placing table 126 on an upper surface of an upward document placing plate 303. When a reading key such as an operation panel 130 is pressed, an upward original is picked up by an upward original reading unit 120, paragraph 49), wherein the first placement portion is capable of moving to an open position at which the first placement portion uncovers an upper surface of the second placement portion (automatic document conveying unit 300 can be opened/closed and when automatic document conveying unit 300 is maintained in open position as shown in fig. 19, an upward document placing plate 303 which is installed below units 300/301 appears for setting an upward document, paragraphs 48-49).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683