Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 07/20/2026, claims 1-13 and 15-23 are pending. Claims 1, 6-7, 11-12, and 17 are amended. No claims are new. Claim 14 is presently cancelled.
Though the independent claims have changed in scopes due to the amendments, the prior grounds of rejection of all claims are maintained. The same combinations of prior art references are used for the rejections herein as in the prior action (Non-Final Rejection, 07/20/2026). The prior art rejections herein include minor changes from the prior action to align with the amendments.
Response to Arguments
The prior objections to the Claims are withdrawn due to the amendments.
The prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn due to the amendments.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 1-11 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In summary, the applicant argues (pp. 10, 2nd para.) that “Wiederhold and Dustert, taken alone or in hypothetical combination, fail to teach or suggest a discharge circuit configured to receive a clock signal and discharge an electrical component according to the clock signal by closing a first discharge path and opening a second discharge path when the clock signal is in a first state, and closing the second discharge path and opening the first discharge path when the clock signal is in a second state, as recited by claim 1.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Specific arguments are addressed as follows.
The applicant specifically argues (pp. 10, 4th para.) that “Wiederhold describes only … a single load device 11 and a clocked switching device 12 (driven by control device 10), while Dustert describes discharging over two conduction paths via two respective different, independent drive signals (DRI and DR2). … Wiederhold and Dustert respectively appear to teach using one independent drive signal per conduction path (i.e., a 1:1 relationship of drive signal to conduction path). There is no teaching … of a discharge circuit that receives a single clock signal provided by a timer circuit and discharges an electrical component via two discharge paths based on the single clock signal, as recited in claim 1.”
The examiner agrees that Dustert’s second discharge path (410 & 420; Fig. 4) requires a second clock signal (DR2; Fig. 4) to be provided to its switch (420).
However, amended claim 1 merely requires the opening/closing of each path “when the clock signal is in the first/second state”. Dustert teaches for “DR1” and “DR2” to be in opposite states, in accordance with the embodiment wherein “switches 415, 420 are driven to conduct alternatively” (Dustert ¶ [37-38]). Thus, in Dustert’s disclosed embodiment of Fig. 4 with alternative conduction per ¶ [37-38], when the clock signal “DR1” is in the first state, then “DR2” is in the second state, and vice-versa.
The examiner interprets that Dustert’s Fig. 4 (with alternate conduction per ¶ [37-38]) is similar to the claimed portion of the instant application’s Fig. 3. However, Dustert does not teach the instant application’s hardware-based “inverting circuit”. As presently written, claim 1 does not include any subject matter for the structure of the disclosed “inverting circuit”, which uses additional switches (332, 334) to produce the second clock signal from the clock signal.
Like Dustert’s Fig. 4, the instant application’s Fig. 3 includes a clock signal (328) being input to control the first discharge path (316) and a second clock signal (output from “inverting circuit 330”) being provided to control the second discharge path (318).
Thus, the examiner interprets that the incorporation of a second clock signal along with the associated “second discharge path”, per the combined teachings of Wiederhold and Dustert, does not distinguish the prior art’s hypothetically combined circuit structure from that of claim 1.
The applicant further argues (pp. 11, 2nd para.) that “the discharge circuitry 205 of Dustert could not receive a single clock signal and operate as described”. The examiner acknowledges that Dustert’s discharge circuit of Fig. 4 requires both “DR1” and “DR2” be provided to the discharge circuit in order to perform the claimed operation. However, as detailed supra, this characteristic does not distinguish the prior art’s hypothetically combined circuit structure from that of claim 1.
The applicant further argues (pp. 11, 3rd para.) that Dustert’s two discharge paths “are independently controlled rather than locked in anti-phase by a single clock signal”. The examiner notes that this argued characteristic is not recited in the rejected claims and thus is not considered for examination.
The applicant further argues (pp. 12, 1st para.) that the examiner’s interpretation “that DR2 is the logical inverse of DRl … is unsupported by Dustert”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner interprets Dustert’s ¶ [36-38] to teach that “DR1” and “DR2” may be operated as logical inverses to drive “switches 415, 420 … to conduct alternatively”. Dustert ¶ [36] teaches that “switches 415, 420” are driven by “DR1” and “DR2”, respectively. Dustert ¶ [37] recites “switches 415, 420 can be driven … at different times so that they conduct alternatively”. Dustert ¶ [38] recites “Without current flow through switch 415 and resistance 405, resistance 405 can cool-even while current is conducted by switch 420 and resistance 410.” Combining the operational description included in Dustert’s ¶ [36-38] and Fig. 4, the examiner finds that Dustert teaches “DR1” and “DR2” to be logical inverses in the considered embodiment.
The applicant further argues (pp. 12, 2nd para.) that “Selecting the "alternatively" option from among the three contemplated schemes of Dustert, and further requiring DR2 to be the inverse of a single clock signal, is impermissible hindsight reconstruction.” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner interprets that Dustert teaches an option to “alternatively” conduct the two switches, resulting in “reduced resistive heating” (¶ [37-38]). Dustert further teaches this reduces risk of damage from excessive heating (¶ [35]) as compared to other manners of operating a discharge circuit.
In response to the applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In view of the motivations taught by Dustert (¶ [35, 37-38]), the examiner maintains the conclusion of obviousness.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 12-13, 15-16, and 23 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In summary, the applicant argues (pp. 14, 4th para.) that “Nakamura, Dustert, and Marzahn, taken alone or in hypothetical combination, fail to teach or suggest discharging a capacitor using a first discharge path but not a second discharge path in response to a high voltage pulse of a clock signal and discharging the capacitor using the second discharge path but not the first discharge path in response to a low voltage pulse of the clock signal, as recited by claim 12.”
Like the arguments for claim 1, the applicant’s arguments regarding claim 12 are largely directed toward the teachings of Dustert and motivation to combine with the base reference (Wiederhold for claim 1; Nakamura for claim 12).
The applicant argues (pp. 13, 2nd para.) that Dustert does not support that “DR2 is the logical inverse of DR1”. The examiner disagrees, as detailed supra regarding claim 1.
The applicant argues (pp. 13, 3rd para.) that Dustert’s “DRI and DR2 are two independent signals rather than the high and low pulses of one clock signal”. The examiner agrees that “DR1” and “DR2” are separate. Dustert’s ¶ [36-38] teach for “DR1” and “DR2” to be different signals which conduct alternatively.
However, claim 12 merely requires discharging using only one of the discharge paths “in response to a high/low voltage pulse of the clock signal”. In Dustert’s disclosed embodiment of Fig. 4 with alternative conduction per ¶ [37-38], when the clock signal “DR1” is providing a high voltage pulse, the logical inverse signal “DR2” is providing a low voltage pulse, and vice-versa. As presently written, claim 12 does not include any subject matter for the structure of the instant application’s disclosed “inverting circuit”, which uses additional switches (332, 334) to produce the second clock signal from the clock signal.
The applicant further argues “The examiner's sole articulated reason to combine Nakamura and Dustert was "to reduce risk of damage to the resistors in the discharge paths from excessive heating." Office Action, p. 18. That goal is fully achieved by the independent-signal schemes of Dustert; paragraph [0038] of Dustert explains that alternating conduction allows each resistance to cool while the other conducts. See Dustert, paragraph [0038]. Nothing in that rationale would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to control both paths from the two states of a single clock signal. Selecting the "alternatively" option from among the three contemplated schemes of Dustert, and further requiring DR2 to be the inverse of a single clock signal, is impermissible hindsight reconstruction. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 U.S.P.Q.2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988).”
In response to the applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
As detailed supra with respect to the applicant’s similar claim 1 argument, the examiner maintains the conclusion of obviousness in view of the teachings of Dustert. The examiner interprets that Dustert teaches an option to “alternatively” conduct the two switches, resulting in “reduced resistive heating” (¶ [37-38]). Dustert further teaches this reduces risk of damage from excessive heating (¶ [35]) as compared to other manners of operating a discharge circuit.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 17-22 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In summary, the applicant argues (pp. 14, 3rd para.) that “Nakamura, Marzahn, and Dustert, taken alone or in hypothetical combination, fail to teach or suggest a discharge circuit configured to receive the clock signal and control a first discharge path and a second discharge path based on the clock signal, as recited by claim 17.” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The applicant cites “similar reasons” to argue the cited references with respect to the quoted claim 17 language. The examiner reiterates the position that Dustert teaches the claimed subject matter including the operation of the clock signal and each discharge path, along with sufficient motivation to modify another capacitor discharge tool, as detailed supra. In summary, Dustert teaches two clock signals (DR1, DR2), wherein “DR2” is controlled to be the logical inverse of “DR1” and is thus based on “DR1”. Thus, the discharge circuit is controlled based on the clock signal “DR1”. Dustert further provides motivations (¶ [35, 37-38]) to incorporate these teachings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiederhold et al. (US 2012/0162839 A1; hereinafter “Wied”) in view of Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”).
Regarding Claim 1, an electronic device (“safety discharge apparatus 5”; Figs. 2-3), comprising the following features.
Wied further discloses a connector (“input connections E1, E2”; Figs. 2-3; ¶ [53]: “E1, E2 are configured … as clamping connections”; ¶ [54]: “E1, E2 are insulated in accordance with the high storage voltages”) configured to couple to an electrical component (“electrical storage element 1”; Fig. 1; ¶ [42]: “E1, E2 which are to be connected to the connections Ea, Eb of the electrical storage element 1”).
Wied further discloses the electrical component (1) is configured to hold an electrical charge (¶ [37]: “1 … is at least one electrical capacitor having a capacitance of 5 mF”; ¶ [37]: “electrical energy stored in … 1 can thus be in the range of up to one watt-hour”).
Wied further discloses a timer circuit (“control device 10”; Fig. 3; ¶ [65]: “a clock generator circuit (not illustrated) having a variable clock ratio can be integrated for example in … the control device 10”) configured to provide a clock signal (output from “10” to “12a”; Fig. 3; ¶ [58]: “driver 12a is driven in a clocked manner by the control device 10”).
Wied further discloses the clock signal (output from “10” to “12a”) oscillating at a clock frequency (Fig. 4 shows the time profile of the switching states of “12” based on the clock signal from “10”; “12” switches at the frequency of the clock signal from “10”; ¶ [15]: “fixed … clock ratio”; ¶ [58]: “a programmed dynamic mark-space ratio (clock ratio)”; ¶ [66-70] describe the switching periods and “clock ratio” in detail) between a first state (¶ [66]: “first time segment ON”; Fig. 4) and a second state (¶ [66]: “second time segment OFF”; Fig. 4).
Wied further discloses a logic circuit (“voltage detection device 9” + “comparison device 14” + “control device 10”; Figs. 2-3) configured to determine whether a voltage (¶ [45]: “storage voltage U1 of the electrical storage element 1”) associated with the electrical component (1) is higher than a threshold (¶ [71]: “proceeding from an initial voltage of 1000 V, the discharge process has ended after … a safe storage voltage of approximately less than 10 V being attained” based on “reference voltage Uref for the comparison device 14”; Thus, the “discharge process” is performed when “U1” > “safe storage voltage” of “10V”; see also ¶ [74, 81]) when the connector (“E1” and “E2” are part of “connection lines 6”; Figs. 2-3) is coupled to the electrical component (“E1” and “E2” connect to “Ea” and “Eb” per ¶ [42, 73]; Figs. 1-3).
Wied further discloses a discharge circuit (“control device 10” + “load device 11” + “switching device 12” + “driver 12a”; Figs. 2-3) comprising a first discharge path (path through “11” + “12”; Fig. 3).
Wied further discloses the discharge circuit (10, 11, 12, & 12a) is configured to receive the clock signal (received by “12a” from “10”) and, in response to the logic circuit (9, 10, 14) determining that the voltage (“storage voltage U1”) is higher than the threshold (the “discharge process” is performed when “U1” > “safe storage voltage” of “10V”; ¶ [71, 74, 81]), discharge the electrical component (1) according to the clock signal (Fig. 4 shows discharging is performed when commanded by the clock signal) by the following technique.
Wied further discloses closing the first discharge path (11 & 12) when the clock signal is in the first state (¶ [66]: “12” closes during “first time segment ON”; Fig. 4 shows conduction through “11” & “12” based on the on/off command of the clock signal from “10”).
Wied further discloses opening the first discharge path (11 & 12) when the clock signal is in the second state (¶ [66]: “12” opens during “second time segment OFF”; Fig. 4 shows conduction through “11” & “12” based on the on/off command of the clock signal from “10”).
Though Wied discloses a discharge circuit comprising a first discharge path, Wied does not disclose “a discharge circuit comprising a first discharge path and a second discharge path”.
Though Wied discloses closing the first discharge path when the clock signal is in the first state, Wied further does not disclose “closing the first discharge path and opening the second discharge path when the clock signal is in the first state”.
Though Wied discloses opening the first discharge path when the clock signal is in the second state, Wied further does not disclose “closing the second discharge path and opening the first discharge path when the clock signal is in the second state”.
Dust teaches a discharge circuit (“discharge circuitry 205; Figs. 2, 4) comprising a first discharge path (¶ [36]: “first conduction path between rails 155, 160”; includes “resistance 405” and “switch 415”; Fig. 4) and a second discharge path (¶ [36]: “second conduction path between rails 155, 160”; includes “resistance 410” and “switch 420”; Fig. 4).
Dust further teaches these two discharge paths conduct/open in an alternating manner (paths are commanded to conduct alternatively per ¶ [37]: “switches 415, 420 can be driven … so that they conduct alternatively”).
Dust further teaches the discharge circuit (205) is configured to receive the clock signal (“discharge drive signal DR1”; Figs. 2, 4; ¶ [35]: “DR1 can be a pulse train”; ¶ [57]: “Trace 725 represents an example discharge drive signal DRl. As shown, trace 725 is a relatively high frequency pulse train and drives the receiving discharge circuity 205 into and out of conduction.”; Fig. 7 depicts “DR1” as “trace 725”) and discharge the electrical component (“DC link capacitor 140”, coupled to “205” via “step down power converter 150”; Fig. 2) according to the clock signal (¶ [35]: “DR1 … drives switch 310 into and out of conduction repeatedly”; in the considered embodiment of Fig. 4, the “switch 415” is analogous to Fig. 3’s “switch 310”) by the following technique.
Dust further teaches closing the first discharge path (“405” + “415”; from Fig. 4, it is apparent that when “DR1” is logic high state, the N-channel MOSFET “415” is configured to conduct/close the first discharge path) and opening the second discharge path (“410” + “420”; per ¶ [37], when “DR1” is logic high state, “DR2” is alternatively in the logic low state; from Fig. 4, it is apparent that when “DR2” is logic low, the N-channel MOSFET “420” is configured to open the second discharge path) when the clock signal (DR1) is in the first state (“DR1” is logic high state, as part of operating as “a pulse train”).
Dust further teaches closing the second discharge path (“410” + “420”; per ¶ [37], when “DR1” is logic low state, “DR2” is alternatively in the logic high state; from Fig. 4, it is apparent that when “DR2” is logic high, the N-channel MOSFET “420” is configured to conduct/close the second discharge path) and opening the first discharge path (“405” + “415”; from Fig. 4, it is apparent that when “DR1” is logic low state, the N-channel MOSFET “415” is configured to open the first discharge path) when the clock signal (DR1) is in the second state (“DR1” is logic low state, as part of operating as “a pulse train”).
Dust further teaches to discharge through only one of the first/second discharge paths at a single time to reduce heating of the resistors in the discharge paths (¶ [38]). This reduces risk of damage from excessive heating (¶ [35]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the discharge circuit disclosed by Wied to incorporate a second discharge path operating alternatively to the first discharge path based on the clock signal state, as taught by Dust, to reduce risk of damage to the resistors in the discharge paths from excessive heating.
Regarding Claim 2, the combo of Wied & Dust teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Wied further discloses a voltage source (“voltage supply device 8”; Figs. 2-3; ¶ [43]: “serves for the electrical supply of the individual functional devices of the safety discharge apparatus 5”) configured to provide electric power to the timer circuit (“control device 10”; Fig. 3; ¶ [65]: “a clock generator circuit (not illustrated) having a variable clock ratio can be integrated for example in … the control device 10”), the logic circuit (“voltage detection device 9” + “comparison device 14”; Figs. 2-3), and the discharge circuit (“safety discharge apparatus 5”; Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 4, the combo of Wied & Dust teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Wied discloses the logic circuit (9, 14, 10, & 12a) is configured to provide a high voltage indication signal (clock signal output from “10” to “12a”) to the discharge circuit (“12a” is commanded to drive the switch to close the discharge path in response to a logic high pulse from “10”).
Wied further discloses this occurs in response to the voltage (U1) associated with the electrical component (1) being higher than the threshold (when “U1” > “safe storage voltage” of “10V”; ¶ [71, 74, 81]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combo of Wied & Dust teaches the electronic device of claim 4.
The combo of Wied & Dust (as set forth prior) teaches the discharge circuit (Wied: “10”, “11”, “12”, “12a” + incorporated from Dust: “410” & “420”) is configured to discharge the electrical component (Wied: “1”; Dust equivalent: “140”) by alternatively closing (modification from Dust to operate the two paths in an alternatively closing pattern) the first discharge path (Wied: “11” & “12”; Dust equivalent: “405” & “415”) and the second discharge path (incorporated from Dust: “410” & “420”).
The combo of Wied & Dust teaches the discharging continues until the high voltage indication signal (Wied: clock signal output from “10” to “12a”; Dust equivalent: “DR1”) is no longer provided (see note 5-1 on interpretation, included infra; in the relied-upon references, discharging is performed by the discharge circuit as long as the clock signal is received by the discharge circuit).
NOTE 5-1: The language “until … is no longer provided” is interpreted to only limit the behavior of the discharge circuit while the high voltage indication signal is provided. Thus, the claim language does not limit the operation of the discharge circuit after “the high voltage indication signal is no longer provided”. Thus, the language “until … is no longer provided” is interpreted to permit the discharging to either continue or discontinue after “the high voltage indication signal is no longer provided”.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Wied and Dust teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
The combo of Wied & Dust teaches the first state comprises a high voltage pulse of the clock signal (Wied: output from “10” to “12a”, with high voltage pulse turning on “12”; Dust equivalent: “DR1”, with high voltage pulse turning on “415” and turning off “420”).
The combo of Wied & Dust teaches the second state comprises a low voltage pulse of the clock signal (Wied: output from “10” to “12a”, with low voltage pulse turning off “12”; Dust equivalent: “DR1”, with low voltage pulse turning off “415” and turning on “420”).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiederhold et al. (US 2012/0162839 A1; hereinafter “Wied”) in view of Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”), and Lifschits et al. (US 2021/02023220 A1; hereinafter “Lif”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combo of Wied & Dust teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Wied further discloses the electrical component (1) comprises a capacitor (¶ [37]: “1 … is at least one electrical capacitor having a capacitance of 5 mF”).
Wied implies (¶ [13]: “achieves a high degree of safety in the handling”; ¶ [81]: “process is carried out until the storage value falls below a value regarded as discharged or safe”), but does not explicitly disclose “the threshold corresponds to a sufficiently low discharged voltage to enable an operator associated with the capacitor to handle the capacitor”.
Lif teaches the threshold (“threshold” per ¶ [45, 54-55, 62, 69, 88, 106-107]) corresponds to a sufficiently low discharged voltage (¶ [55]: “a 30 volt safety threshold”) to enable an operator (“safety workers per ¶ [54]; “maintenance workers” per ¶ [55]) associated with the capacitor (“capacitor C” within “power system 100”; Figs. 1A-1H, 2-11) to handle the capacitor (¶ [54-55]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device disclosed by the combo of Wied & Dust for the threshold to correspond to a safe voltage level for handling, as taught by Lif, to protect workers from exposure to unsafe voltage levels (Lif ¶ [54-55]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combo of Wied & Dust teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Wied does not disclose “the logic circuit is configured to provide a discharge complete indication signal to the discharge circuit in response to the voltage associated with the electrical component being equal to or below the threshold”.
Lif teaches the logic circuit (“controller 112”; Figs. 1A-1H, 2-11) is configured to provide a discharge complete indication signal (output from “112” to “108”; ¶ [64]: “indication/control of the discharge circuitry may be facilitated by one or more controllers 112”; ¶ [184]: “at least one indication related to ending discharge is obtained”; Fig. 17, step 1710) to the discharge circuit (“108”; Figs. 1A-1H, 2-11).
Lif further teaches this occurs in response to the voltage (¶ [184]: “certain voltage value”) associated with the electrical component (“capacitor C” within “system power device 104”; Figs. 1A-1H, 2-11) being below the threshold (¶ [184]: “the voltage value is less than … a certain threshold”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logic circuit disclosed by the combo of Wied & Dust to provide a discharge complete indication signal to the discharge circuit, as taught by Lif, to protect workers from exposure to unsafe voltage levels (Lif ¶ [54-55]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiederhold et al. (US 2012/0162839 A1; hereinafter “Wied”) in view of Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”), and Marzahn (US 2006/0038463 A1; hereinafter “Marz”).
Regarding Claim 6, the combo of Wied & Dust teaches the electronic device of claim 5.
Wied discloses the high voltage indication signal (clock signal output from “10” to “12a”) no longer being provided (i.e., output from “10” is logic low output) when the electrical component’s voltage (U1) is less than or below a threshold (when “U1” < “safe storage voltage” of “10V”; ¶ [71, 74, 81]).
Wied does not disclose that in this scenario, “the discharge circuit is configured to discharge the electrical component by directly connecting a positive lead of the electrical component to a negative lead of the electrical component”.
Marz teaches that when the electrical component’s voltage is less than or below a threshold (switch “PS” controlled by “control signals s1-3” from “control unit ST”; Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶ [22]: “safety short circuit” applied when “less than 30% of the corresponding voltage in the charge state of the piezoelectric actuator”), the discharge circuit (Figs. 1-2, 4) is configured to discharge the electrical component (“piezoelectric actuator Cp”; Figs. 1-2, 4) by directly connecting (via “additional first discharge switch PS” and “selection switch SS”; Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶ [22]: “safety short circuit” applied when “less than 30% of the corresponding voltage in the charge state of the piezoelectric actuator”) a positive lead (labeled “+” terminal of “Cp”; ¶ [39]: “piezo-connection Cp+”) of the electrical component (Cp) to a negative lead (labeled “-” terminal of “Cp” ; ¶ [39]: “piezo-connection Cp-”) of the electrical component (Cp).
Marz further teaches to directly connect the electrical component’s leads when the voltage is less than or below a threshold to improve operating safety and accelerate the discharge process (¶ [21]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the discharge circuit disclosed by the combo of Wied & Dust to directly connect the electrical component’s leads when the voltage is less than or below a threshold, as taught by Marz, to improve operating safety and accelerate the discharge process.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiederhold et al. (US 2012/0162839 A1; hereinafter “Wied”) in view of Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”), Marzahn (US 2006/0038463 A1; hereinafter “Marz”), and Lifschits et al. (US 2021/02023220 A1; hereinafter “Lif”).
Regarding Claim 7, the combo of Wied, Dust, & Marz teaches the electronic device of claim 6.
Wied does not disclose “the logic circuit is configured to provide a discharge complete indication signal after the electrical component has been discharged”.
Lif teaches the logic circuit (“controller 112”; Figs. 1A-1H, 2-11) is configured to provide a discharge complete indication signal (output from “112” to “108”; ¶ [64]: “indication/control of the discharge circuitry may be facilitated by one or more controllers 112”; ¶ [184]: “at least one indication related to ending discharge is obtained”; Fig. 17, step 1710) after the electrical component (“capacitor C” within “system power device 104”; Figs. 1A-1H, 2-11) has been discharged (¶ [184]: “the voltage value is less than … a certain threshold”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logic circuit disclosed by the combo of Wied, Dust, & Marz to provide a discharge complete indication signal, as taught by Lif, to protect workers from exposure to unsafe voltage levels (Lif ¶ [54-55]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiederhold et al. (US 2012/0162839 A1; hereinafter “Wied”) in view of Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”), Lifschits et al. (US 2021/02023220 A1; hereinafter “Lif”), and Marzahn (US 2006/0038463 A1; hereinafter “Marz”).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Wied, Dust, and Lif teaches the electronic device of claim 8.
Wied does not disclose “the discharge circuit is configured to short a positive lead and a negative lead of the electrical component in response to receiving the discharge complete indication signal.”
Marz teaches the discharge circuit (Figs. 1-2, 4) is configured to short (via “additional first discharge switch PS” and “selection switch SS”; Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶ [22]: “safety short circuit” applied when “less than 30% of the corresponding voltage in the charge state of the piezoelectric actuator”) a positive lead (labeled “+” terminal of “Cp”; ¶ [39]: “piezo-connection Cp+”) and a negative lead (labeled “-” terminal of “Cp” ; ¶ [39]: “piezo-connection Cp-”) of the electrical component (“piezoelectric actuator Cp”; Figs. 1-2, 4).
Marz further teaches this occurs in response to receiving the discharge complete indication signal (switch “PS” controlled by “control signals s1-3” from “control unit ST”; Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶ [22]: “safety short circuit” applied when “less than 30% of the corresponding voltage in the charge state of the piezoelectric actuator”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the discharge circuit disclosed by the combo of Wied, Dust, & Lif to incorporate the configuration to short the terminals of the electrical component, as taught by Marz, to improve operating safety and accelerate the discharge process (Marz ¶ [21]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiederhold et al. (US 2012/0162839 A1; hereinafter “Wied”) in view of Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”), and Marxer (US 2022/0037992 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Wied and Dust teaches the electronic device of claim 10.
The combo of Wied & Dust (as set forth prior) teaches closing the second discharge path (incorp. from Dust: “410” + “420”) in response to the low voltage pulse of the clock signal (Wied: output from “10” to “12a”; Dust equivalent: “DR1”) is based on the second discharge path (Dust: “410” + “420”) receiving an inverted clock signal (incorp. from Dust: “DR2” is alternate/inverted logic from “DR1” per ¶ [37]).
Wied does not disclose “the logic circuit comprises inverter circuitry, and wherein closing the second discharge path in response to the low pulse of the clock signal is based on the second discharge path receiving an inverted clock signal from the inverter circuitry”.
Though Dust teaches the operation of alternating between the two discharge paths, Dust does not provide details as to the hardware implementation to provide the command signals to the two discharge paths. However, it is well-known in the art how to provide an inverted command signal to a second discharge path.
Marxer teaches the logic circuit (combo of “30” and “20”; Fig. 2) comprises inverter circuitry (“20” inverts the logic from the signals at inputs “25b-d” to the output at “15”; Fig. 2).
Marxer further teaches closing the second discharge path (10) in response to the low pulse of the clock signal (logic low pulse to “25b-d” results in “20” opening) is based on the second discharge path (10) receiving an inverted clock signal (logic low pulse to “25b-d” results in “20” opening, an inverted logic high pulse at “15”, and “10” conducting) from the inverter circuitry (20).
Marxer further teaches the inverter circuitry as a hardware implementation of inverter logic (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logic circuit disclosed by the combo of Wied & Dust to incorporate inverter circuitry, as taught by Marxer, as a hardware implementation of the inverter logic, which reduces software complexity of the logic circuit and thus reduces the software engineering effort/cost to develop the electronic device.
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2013/0234510 A1; hereinafter “Naka”) in view of Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”) and Marzahn (US 2006/0038463 A1; hereinafter “Marz”).
Regarding Claim 12, Naka discloses a method (¶ [34]: “method of controlling the discharge switch element SW2 by the fast discharge control device 60”) comprising the following.
Naka further discloses determining, by an active capacitor discharge tool (“fast discharge control device 60” + “discharge circuit 20”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9) connected to a capacitor (“smoothing capacitor C”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9), that a voltage (voltage “Vc” across “C”; Figs. 6, 9) associated with the capacitor is above a threshold (“predetermined target voltage”; ¶ [4, 39, 43, 56, 67]).
Naka further discloses discharging, by the active capacitor discharge tool (60 & 20), electrical charge (Fig. 3B shows reduction in voltage “Vc” over time; a reduction in electrical charge is inherent for a reduction in voltage of a capacitor with fixed capacitance) associated with the capacitor (C) based on receiving a clock signal (pulsed signal from “variable duty generation circuit 64” to control “SW2”; Figs. 1-2).
Naka further discloses determining, by the active capacitor discharge tool (using the “CPU 641” within “64A” or the “comparator CM2” within “64B”; Figs. 6, 9), that the voltage (voltage “Vc” across “C”; Figs. 6, 9) associated with the capacitor (C) is below the threshold (“predetermined target voltage”; ¶ [4, 39, 43, 56, 67]) based on discharging the capacitor (C) using the first discharging path and the second discharge path (“C” is discharged through each of the “fast discharge resistor R1” and “normal discharge resistor R2”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9).
Naka does not disclose “discharging the capacitor using a first discharge path but not a second discharge path in response to a high voltage pulse of the clock signal; and discharging the capacitor using the second discharge path but not the first discharge path in response to a low voltage pulse of the clock signal”.
Though, as addressed supra, Nakamura discloses “discharging, by the active capacitor discharge tool, electrical charges associated with the capacitor”, Naka further does not disclose “by shorting a positive lead and a negative lead of the capacitor”.
Dust teaches discharging, by the active capacitor discharge tool (Fig. 2, including “discharge circuitry 205”), electrical charge associated with the capacitor (“DC link capacitor 140”, coupled to “205” via “step down power converter 150”; Fig. 2) based on receiving a clock signal (“discharge drive signal DR1”; Figs. 2, 4; ¶ [35]: “DR1 can be a pulse train that drives switch 310 into and out of conduction repeatedly”) and the following.
Dust further teaches discharging the capacitor (140) using a first discharge path (¶ [36]: “first conduction path between rails 155, 160”; includes “resistance 405” and “switch 415”; Fig. 4) but not a second discharge path (¶ [36]: “second conduction path between rails 155, 160”; includes “resistance 410” and “switch 420”; Fig. 4) in response to a high voltage pulse (when “DR1” is logic high state, the N-channel MOSFET “415” is configured to conduct/close the first discharge path; when “DR1” is logic high state, “DR2” is alternatively in the logic low state per ¶ [37]; when “DR2” is logic low state, “420” opens the second discharge path) of the clock signal (DR1).
Dust further teaches discharging the capacitor (140) using the second discharge path (410 & 420) but not the first discharge path (405 & 415) in response to a low voltage pulse (when “DR1” is logic low state, the N-channel MOSFET “415” is configured to open the first discharge path; when “DR1” is logic low state, “DR2” is alternatively in the logic high state per ¶ [37]; when “DR2” is logic high state, “420” conducts/closes the second discharge path) of the clock signal (DR1).
Dust further teaches to discharge through only one of the first/second discharge paths at a single time to reduce heating of the resistors in the discharge paths (¶ [38]). This reduces risk of damage from excessive heating (¶ [35]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the active capacitor discharge tool disclosed by Naka to incorporate a second discharge path operating alternatively to the first discharge path based on the clock signal state, as taught by Dust, to reduce risk of damage to the resistors in the discharge paths from excessive heating.
Marz teaches discharging by shorting (“additional first discharge switch PS”, also referred to as “safety switch”; Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶ [22]: “safety short circuit” applied when “less than 30% of the corresponding voltage in the charge state of the piezoelectric actuator”) a positive lead (labeled “+” terminal of “Cp”; ¶ [39]: “piezo-connection Cp+”) and a negative lead (labeled “-” terminal of “Cp” ; ¶ [39]: “piezo-connection Cp-”) of the charged element (“piezoelectric actuator CP”; Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶ [4]: “a virtually completely capacitive load”).
NOTE: Though it is not a capacitor, the piezoelectric actuator taught by Marz is still a charged element. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the circuits, signals, and control methodologies taught by Marz would work with any charged element (including a capacitor, battery, or piezoelectric actuator). This is evidenced by Marz ¶ [4], which refers to the charged element as “a virtually completely capacitive load”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the active capacitor discharge tool, as taught by the combo of Naka & Dust, to incorporate the switch taught by Marz to short the positive lead and negative lead of the capacitor, to improve operating safety and accelerate the discharge process (Marz ¶ [21]).
Regarding Claim 16, the combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz teaches the method of claim 12.
The combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz teaches shorting (from Marz ¶ [22]: “safety short circuit” applied when “less than 30% of the corresponding voltage in the charge state”) the positive lead (Naka: positive terminal of “C” / Marz equivalent: “Cp+”) and the negative lead (Naka: negative terminal of “C” / Marz equivalent: “Cp-”) of the capacitor (Naka: “C” / Marz equivalent: “Cp”).
The combo of Naka, Marxer, and Marz (as set forth prior) does not explicitly teach that this “discharges the capacitor to a ground voltage level associated with the active capacitor discharge tool”. However, additional teachings from Marz are considered infra.
Marz further teaches that this discharges the charged element (CP) to a ground voltage level (¶ [13]: “potential prevailing on the first piezo-terminal (“high-side”) changed toward the second control potential (“ground”) by means of the first discharge path”; “GND” labelled in Figs. 1-2, 4; voltage graph in Fig. 3) associated with the active discharge tool (circuits, signals, and control methodologies of the combination of “S1”, “S2”, and “ST”; Figs. 1-2, 4).
Though it is not a capacitor, the piezoelectric actuator taught by Marz is still a charged element. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the circuits, signals, and control methodologies taught by Marz would work with any charged element (including a capacitor, battery, or piezoelectric actuator). This is evidenced by Marz ¶ [4], which refers to the charged element as “a virtually completely capacitive load”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the capacitor discharge tool disclosed by the combo of Naka, Dust, and Marz to discharge the capacitor to a ground voltage level, as further taught by Marz, to improve operating safety and accelerate the discharge process (Marz ¶ [21]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2013/0234510 A1; hereinafter “Naka”) in view of Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”), Marzahn (US 2006/0038463 A1; hereinafter “Marz”), Marxer (US 2022/0037992 A1), and Ultra Librarian (Relays vs. Transistors: Which is the Correct Choice, 2021-02-09, Ultra Librarian).
Regarding Claim 13, the combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz teaches the method of claim 12.
Naka discloses turning on (via the “discharge command”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9; ¶ [37]) the active capacitor discharge tool (“fast discharge control device 60” + “discharge circuit 20”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9) to do the following.
Naka further discloses to actively determine that the voltage (voltage “Vc” across “C”; Figs. 6, 9) associated with the capacitor (C) is above the threshold (“predetermined target voltage”; ¶ [4, 39, 43, 56, 67]) based on using active comparator circuitry (“comparator CM2” within “64B”; Fig. 9).
The combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz (as set forth prior) teaches to actively discharge the electrical charges (Naka: Fig. 3B shows reduction in voltage “Vc” over time; a reduction in electrical charge is inherent for a reduction in voltage of a capacitor with fixed capacitance) associated with the capacitor (Naka: “C”) by electrically connecting the capacitor (Naka: “C” / Dust equivalent: “140”) to ground (Naka’s “C” connects to its ground reference through “R1” when “SW2” is closed; from Dust: “140” connects to its ground reference through “150” & “405” when “415” is closed or through “150” & “410” when “420” is closed; Figs. 2, 4; though Dust’s capacitor connects to ground through the converter “150”, this aligns with the instant application’s Fig. 3 wherein the capacitor connects to ground through “304”).
The combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz further teaches this is performed based on alternating between at least the first discharge path (from Dust: “405” & “415”) and the second discharge path (from Dust: “410” & “420”) using active switching components (from Dust: “415” & “420”).
The combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz further teaches to actively discharge the electrical charges (Naka: Fig. 3B shows reduction in voltage “Vc” over time; a reduction in electrical charge is inherent for a reduction in voltage of a capacitor with fixed capacitance) associated with the capacitor (Naka: “C”) by shorting (from Marz ¶ [22]: “safety short circuit” applied when “less than 30% of the corresponding voltage in the charge state”) the positive lead (Naka: positive terminal of “C” / Marz equivalent: “Cp+”) and the negative lead (Naka: negative terminal of “C” / Marz equivalent: “Cp-”) of the capacitor (Naka: “C” / Marz equivalent: “Cp”) using an active switch (from Marz: “additional first discharge switch PS”, also referred to as “safety switch”).
The combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz further discloses the shorting of the leads (via the switch “PS”, incorporated from Marz) occurs after the capacitor (Naka: “C” / Marz equivalent: “Cp”) has been discharged to equal to or below the threshold voltage (Naka: “predetermined target voltage”; Marz equivalent: ¶ [22]: “less than 30% of the corresponding voltage”) based on alternating between at least the first discharge path and the second discharge path (alternating between two paths incorporated from Dust).
As addressed supra, the combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz teaches “alternating between at least the first discharge path and the second discharge path using active components. However, Naka does not disclose using “active inverter circuitry”. Though Dust teaches the operation of alternating between the two discharge paths, Dust does not provide details as to the hardware implementation to provide the command signals to the two discharge paths. However, it is well-known in the art how to provide an inverted command signal to a second discharge path.
As addressed supra, the combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz teaches to “actively discharge the electrical charges associated with the capacitor by shorting the positive lead and the negative lead of the capacitor” using an active switch. However, the combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz further does not disclose “using an active relay switch”.
Marxer teaches actively discharge the electrical charges associated with the capacitor (4) by electrically connecting the capacitor (4) to ground based on alternating between at least the first discharge path (20) and the second discharge path (10) using active switching components (“14” & “24b-d”) and active inverter circuitry (“20” will invert the signal logic from inputs “25b-d” to the output at “15”; Fig. 2).
Marxer further teaches the active inverter circuitry as a hardware implementation of inverter logic (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by the combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz to incorporate active inverter circuitry, as taught by Marxer, as a hardware implementation of the inverter logic, which reduces software complexity of the logic circuit and thus reduces the software engineering effort/cost to develop the active capacitor discharge tool.
Ultra Librarian teaches the applications and advantages of an active relay switch (“relay”; images shown on pages 1-2) versus other types of switches (“transistors”). Ultra Librarian teaches that relay switches provide increased isolation of high voltages, which improves the safety to nearby users (page 3, paragraph “Isolation”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the active switch taught by the combo of Naka, Dust, Marz, & Marxer to be an active relay switch, as taught by Ultra Librarian, to improve safety for nearby users.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2013/0234510 A1; hereinafter “Naka”) in view of Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”), Marzahn (US 2006/0038463 A1; hereinafter “Marz”), and Lifschits et al. (US 2021/02023220 A1; hereinafter “Lif”).
Regarding Claim 15, the combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz teaches the method of claim 12.
Naka further discloses the voltage (voltage “Vc” across “C”; Figs. 6, 9) associated with the capacitor (C) is determined based on sensing a voltage of an internal node (“CM2” senses the voltages at nodes “Vref” and “Vch”; Fig. 9) of the active capacitor discharge tool (60 & 20).
Naka does not disclose “the threshold corresponds to a sufficiently discharged voltage for an operator associated with the capacitor”.
Lif teaches the threshold (“threshold” per ¶ [45, 54-55, 62, 69, 88, 106-107]) corresponds to a sufficiently discharged voltage (¶ [55]: “a 30 volt safety threshold”) for an operator (“safety workers per ¶ [54]; “maintenance workers” per ¶ [55]) associated with the capacitor (“capacitor C” within “power system 100”; Figs. 1A-1H, 2-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and threshold disclosed by the combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz for the threshold to correspond to a safe voltage level, as taught by Lif, to protect workers from exposure to unsafe voltage levels (Lif ¶ [54-55]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2013/0234510 A1; hereinafter “Naka”) in view of Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”), Marzahn (US `2006/0038463 A1; hereinafter “Marz”), and Ultra Librarian (Relays vs. Transistors: Which is the Correct Choice, 2021-02-09, Ultra Librarian).
Regarding Claim 23, the combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz teaches the method of claim 12.
The combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz teaches shorting (incorporated from Marz ¶ [22]: “safety short circuit” applied when “less than 30% of the corresponding voltage in the charge state”) the positive lead (Naka: positive terminal of “C” / Marz equivalent: “Cp+”) and the negative lead (Naka: negative terminal of “C” / Marz equivalent: “Cp-”) of the capacitor (Naka: “C” / Marz equivalent: “Cp”)
The combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz teaches switching an active switch (incorporated from Marz: “additional first discharge switch PS”, also referred to as “safety switch”) based on a control signal (Marz: “control signals s1-3” from “control unit ST” are used to control the “safety switch PS”; Figs. 1-2, 4) corresponding to the threshold voltage (Marz ¶ [22]: “safety short circuit” applied when “the piezovoltage is already less than 30% of the corresponding charge state of the piezoelectric actuator”).
Though, as discussed supra, the combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz teaches an active switch, it does not teach “an active relay switch”.
Ultra Librarian teaches the applications and advantages of an active relay switch (“relay”; images shown on pages 1-2) versus other types of switches (“transistors”). Ultra Librarian teaches that relay switches provide increased isolation of high voltages, which improves the safety to nearby users (page 3, paragraph “Isolation”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the active switch disclosed by the combo of Naka, Dust, & Marz to be an active relay switch, as taught by Ultra Librarian, to improve safety for nearby users.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2013/0234510 A1; hereinafter “Naka”) in view of Marzahn (US 2006/0038463 A1; hereinafter “Marz”) and Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”).
Regarding Claim 17, Naka discloses a capacitor discharge tool (“fast discharge control device 60” & “discharge circuit 20”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9), comprising the following.
Naka further discloses a timer circuit (“fast discharge control device 60”, including “variable duty generation circuit 64”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9; ¶ [38]) configured to provide a clock signal (“on/off signal” from “60” to “SW2”, derived from output of “64”; Figs. 1-2; [38]: “64 generates an on/off signal (pulse signal)”).
Naka further discloses a voltage comparator (“comparator CM2” within “64B”; Fig. 9) configured to provide a high voltage indicator signal (“on/off signal” from “64”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9; ¶ [38]) in response to determining that a voltage (voltage “Vc” across “C”; Figs. 6, 9) associated with a capacitor (“smoothing capacitor C”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9) is higher than a threshold (“predetermined target voltage”; ¶ [4, 39, 43, 56, 67]).
Naka further discloses a discharge circuit (“20”, including first discharge path “R1” & “SW2”; Figs. 1-2) configured to receive the clock signal (“on/off signal” from “60” to “SW2”) and control a first discharge path (combo of “fast discharge resistor R1” and “discharge switch element SW2”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9) based on the clock signal (“on/off signal” from “60” to “SW2”).
Naka further discloses the first discharge path (R1 & SW2) is configured to close to enable the capacitor (C) to discharge (“C” is connected to ground through “R1” and on-state “SW2”) through the first discharge path (R1 & SW2).
Naka further discloses this occurs in response to the voltage comparator (“CM2” within “64B”) providing the high voltage indicator signal (“on/off signal” is output from “64” to turn on/off “switch element SW2”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9).
Naka further discloses this occurs in response to the timer circuit (60) providing a high pulse (on-state commands “SW2” to close, resulting in discharge current conduction through “R1” + SW2”; Figs. 7A-7C; ¶ [38]) of the clock signal (“on/off signal” from “60” to “SW2”).
Naka further discloses the first discharge path (R1 & SW2) is further configured to open to disable the capacitor (C) from discharging through the first discharge path (R1 & SW2) in response to the timer circuit (60) providing a low pulse (off-state commands “SW2” to open, blocking the discharge current through “R1” & “SW2” Figs. 7A-7C; ¶ [38]) of the clock signal (“on/off signal” from “60” to “SW2”).
Naka does not disclose the voltage comparator is further configured to “provide a sufficiently discharged voltage indicator signal in response to determining that the voltage associated with the capacitor is equal to or below the threshold”.
Though Naka discloses a discharge circuit configured to receive the clock signal and control a first discharge path based on the clock signal, Naka further does not disclose “a discharge circuit configured to receive the clock signal and control a first discharge path and a second discharge path based on the clock signal”.
Naka further does not disclose “the second discharge path is configured to: close to enable the capacitor to discharge through the second discharge path in response to: the voltage comparator providing the high voltage indicator signal; and the timer circuit providing the low pulse of the clock signal; and open to disable the capacitor from discharging through the second discharge path in response to the timer circuit providing the high pulse of the clock signal”.
Marz teaches to provide a sufficiently discharged voltage indicator signal (“control signals s1-3” from “control unit ST” are used to control the “safety switch PS”; Figs. 1-2, 4) in response to determining that the voltage (¶ [22]: “piezovoltage”) associated with the charged element (“piezoelectric actuator CP”; Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶ [4]: “a virtually completely capacitive load”) is below the threshold (¶ [22]: “safety short circuit” applied when “the piezovoltage is already less than 30% of the corresponding charge state of the piezoelectric actuator”).
Though it is not a capacitor, the piezoelectric actuator taught by Marz is still a charged element. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the circuits, signals, and control methodologies taught by Marz would work with any charged element (including a capacitor, battery, or piezoelectric actuator). This is evidenced by Marz ¶ [4] which refers to the charged element as “a virtually completely capacitive load”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the voltage comparator disclosed by Naka to incorporate a provision of a sufficiently discharged voltage indicator signal, as taught by Marz, based on the voltage of the capacitor disclosed by Naka, to improve operating safety and accelerate the discharge process (Marz ¶ [21]).
Dust teaches a discharge circuit (“discharge circuitry 205; Figs. 2, 4) configured to receive the clock signal (DR1) and control a first discharge path (¶ [36]: “first conduction path between rails 155, 160”; includes “resistance 405” and “switch 415”; Fig. 4; “415” is controlled on/off by “DR1”) and a second discharge path (¶ [36]: “second conduction path between rails 155, 160”; includes “resistance 410” and “switch 420”; Fig. 4; “420” is controlled on/off by “DR2”; ¶ [35-38] describe the embodiment wherein the switches “conduct alternatively”; thus, “DR2” is controlled to be the logical inverse of “DR1”; thus, the state of “DR2” is based on the state of “DR1”) based on the clock signal (DR1).
Dust further teaches the second discharge path (410 & 420) configured to: close to enable the capacitor (“DC link capacitor 140”, coupled to “205” via “step down power converter 150”; Fig. 2) to discharge through the second discharge path (410 & 420).
Dust further teaches this occurs in response to: the voltage comparator (145) providing the high voltage indicator signal (same as clock signal: “DR1”).
Dust further teaches this occurs in response to the timer circuit (145) providing the low pulse of the clock signal (when “DR1” is logic low state, “DR2” is alternatively in the logic high state per ¶ [37]; when “DR2” is logic high state, “420” conducts/closes the second discharge path).
Dust further teaches the second discharge path (410 & 420) is further configured to open to disable the capacitor (140) from discharging through the second discharge path (410 & 420) in response to the timer circuit (145) providing the high pulse of the clock signal (when “DR1” is logic high state, “DR2” is alternatively in the logic low state per ¶ [37]; when “DR2” is logic low state, “420” opens the second discharge path).
Dust further teaches to discharge through only one of the first/second discharge paths at a single time to reduce heating of the resistors in the discharge paths (¶ [38]). This reduces risk of damage from excessive heating (¶ [35]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capacitor discharge tool disclosed by the combo of Naka & Marz to incorporate a second discharge path operating alternatively to the first discharge path based on the clock signal state, as taught by Dust, to reduce risk of damage to the resistors in the discharge paths from excessive heating.
Regarding Claim 18, the combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust teaches the capacitor discharge tool of claim 17.
Naka further discloses the first discharge path (R1 & SW2) comprises a first switch (“discharge switch element SW2”; Figs. 1-2, 6, 9).
Naka further discloses the first switch (SW2) is configured to close in response to the high pulse of the clock signal (on-state commands “SW2” to close, resulting in discharge current conduction through “R1” + SW2”; Figs. 7A-7C; ¶ [38]) and open in response to the low pulse of the clock signal (off-state commands “SW2” to open, blocking the discharge current through “R1” & “SW2” Figs. 7A-7C; ¶ [38]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2013/0234510 A1; hereinafter “Naka”) in view of Marzahn (US 2006/0038463 A1; hereinafter “Marz”), Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”), and Marxer (US 2022/0037992 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, the combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust teaches the capacitor discharge tool of claim 18.
The combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust (as set forth prior) teaches the second discharge path (incorporated from Dust: “410” & “420”) comprises a second switch (Dust: “420”).
The combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust further teaches the second switch (Dust: “420”) is configured to close in response to the low pulse of the clock signal (Dust: when “DR1” is logic low state, “DR2” is alternatively in the logic high state per ¶ [37]; when “DR2” is logic high state, “420” conducts/closes the second discharge path) and open in response to the high pulse of the clock signal (Dust: when “DR1” is logic high state, “DR2” is alternatively in the logic low state per ¶ [37]; when “DR2” is logic low state, “420” opens the second discharge path).
Naka does not disclose the second discharge path further comprises “inverter circuitry coupled to a gate of the second switch”.
Though Dust teaches the operation of alternating between the two discharge paths, Dust does not provide details as to the hardware implementation to provide the command signals to the two switches. However, it is well-known in the art how to provide an inverted command signal to a second switch.
Marxer teaches the second discharge path (“10”, switched on/off by “14”, with additional control circuitry including “20”; Fig. 2) comprises a second switch (“first switching element 14”; Fig. 2) and inverter circuitry (any of “24b-d” will invert the logic from the signals at inputs “25b-d” to the output at “first control connection 15”; Fig. 2) coupled to a gate (“first control connection 15”) of the second switch (14).
Marxer further teaches the second switch (14) is configured to close in response to the low pulse of the control signal (analogous to a clock signal, per note 1-1, included infra; logic low signal at “25b” causes “24b” to open, causing increased voltage at “15”, causing “14” to conduct/close) and open in response to the high pulse of the control signal (logic high signal at “25b” causes “24b” to conduct/close, causing decreased voltage at “15”, causing “10” to open).
NOTE 19-1: Though Marxer’s control signal is not a clock signal as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that Marxer’s control signal is analogous to the clock signal of the prior set forth art. Each signal is used to control one or more switching transistors used to switch on/off discharge path(s) for a high voltage capacitor.
Marxer further teaches the inverter circuitry as a hardware implementation of inverter logic (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capacitor discharge tool disclosed by the combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust to incorporate inverter circuitry, as taught by Marxer, as a hardware implementation of the inverter logic, which reduces software complexity of the logic circuit and thus reduces the software engineering effort/cost to develop the capacitor discharge tool.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2013/0234510 A1; hereinafter “Naka”) in view of Marzahn (US 2006/0038463 A1; hereinafter “Marz”), Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”), and Macalanda (SLYY163: Fundamentals to automotive LED driver circuits, May 2019, Texas Instruments) (hereinafter “Mac”).
Regarding Claim 20, the combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust teaches the capacitor discharge tool of claim 17.
The combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust (as set forth prior) teaches the high voltage indicator signal (Naka: “on/off signal” output from “64”) and the sufficiently discharged voltage indicator signal (incorporated from Marzahn: “control signals s1-3” from “control unit ST” are used to control the “safety switch PS”; Figs. 1-2, 4).
Naka does not disclose “a discharge LED indicator configured to provide an indication of high capacitor voltage in response to receiving the high voltage indicator signal; and a sufficiently discharged LED indicator configured to provide an indication of sufficiently discharged capacitor voltage in response to receiving the sufficiently discharged voltage indicator signal”.
Mac teaches an LED indicator (“constant current LED drive”; Figure 5 depicts two possible embodiments) configured to provide an indication (“illumination” in one of the LED colors depicted in Figure 2) in response to receiving the input signal (input to the base or gate of the transistors in Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capacitor discharge tool disclosed by the combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust to incorporate the LED indicator circuits, as taught by Mac, to provide an illuminated status indication to the user and to optimize the efficiency of the visual indication circuitry (Mac page 2). As part of this incorporation, the high voltage indicator signal and the sufficiently discharged voltage indicator signal would each be input to LED indicator circuits as shown in the annotated Figure 5 of Mac, provided infra.
The combo of Naka, Marz, Dust, & Mac teaches a discharge LED indicator (Mac: LED in left-side circuit of annotated Figure 5) configured to provide an indication of high capacitor voltage (Mac: colored light illuminated from LED) in response to receiving the high voltage indicator signal (per combo described supra: “on/off signal” from Naka’s “64” is input to the base of the transistor in the left-side circuit of annotated Figure 5).
The combo of Naka, Marz, Dust, & Mac teaches a sufficiently discharged LED indicator (Mac: LED in right-side circuit of annotated Figure 5) configured to provide an indication of sufficiently discharged capacitor voltage (Mac: colored light illuminated from LED) in response to receiving the sufficiently discharged voltage indicator signal (per combo described supra: “control signals s1-3” from Marz is/are input to the base of the transistor in the right-side circuit of annotated Figure 5).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2013/0234510 A1; hereinafter “Naka”) in view of Marzahn (US 2006/0038463 A1; hereinafter “Marz”), Dustert et al. (US 2023/0158896 A1; hereinafter “Dust”), and Ultra Librarian (Relays vs. Transistors: Which is the Correct Choice, 2021-02-09, Ultra Librarian).
Regarding Claim 21, the combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust teaches the capacitor discharge tool of claim 17.
The combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust (as set forth prior) teaches the voltage comparator (Naka: “CM2” within “64B”) providing the sufficiently discharged voltage indicator signal (incorporated from Marz: “control signals s1-3” from “control unit ST” are used to control the “safety switch PS”; Figs. 1-2, 4).
Naka does not disclose “a relay switch configured to short a cathode and an anode of the capacitor in response” to the above condition. However, additional teachings from Marz are considered infra.
Marz further teaches a switch (“additional first discharge switch PS”, also referred to as “safety switch”; Figs. 1-2, 4) configured to short (¶ [22]: “safety short circuit” applied when “less than 30% of the corresponding voltage in the charge state of the piezoelectric actuator”) a cathode (labeled “+” terminal of “Cp”; ¶ [39]: “piezo-connection Cp+”) and an anode (labeled “-” terminal of “Cp” ; ¶ [39]: “piezo-connection Cp-”) of the charged element (“piezoelectric actuator CP”; Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶ [4]: “a virtually completely capacitive load”) in response to a signal (“control signals s1-3” from “control unit ST”; Figs. 1-2, 4).
Though it is not a capacitor, the piezoelectric actuator taught by Marz is still a charged element. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the circuits, signals, and control methodologies taught by Marz would work with any charged element (including a capacitor, battery, or piezoelectric actuator). This is evidenced by Marz ¶ [4], which refers to the charged element as “a virtually completely capacitive load”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capacitor discharge tool disclosed by the combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust to incorporate the switch taught by Marz to short the capacitor in response to the sufficiently discharged voltage indicator signal. This modification would have been obvious to improve operating safety and accelerating the discharge process (Marz ¶ [21]).
Though, as discussed supra, the combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust teaches a switch, it does not teach “a relay switch”.
Ultra Librarian teaches the applications and advantages of a relay switch (“relay”; images shown on pages 1-2) versus other types of switches (“transistors”). Ultra Librarian teaches that relay switches provide increased isolation of high voltages, which improves the safety to nearby users (page 3, paragraph “Isolation”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch disclosed by the combo of Naka, Marz, & Dust to be a relay switch, as taught by Ultra Librarian, to improve safety for nearby users.
Regarding Claim 22, the combo of Naka, Marz, Dust, & Ultra Librarian teaches the capacitor discharge tool of claim 21.
The combo of Naka, Marz, Dust, & Ultra Librarian teaches the cathode (Nak ¶ [48]: “positive electrode side of the smoothing capacitor C”) and the anode (Naka ¶ [28]: “C is connected … the negative electrode line”) of the capacitor (Naka: “C”), along with the capacitor discharge tool (Naka: “fast discharge control device 60”).
Naka does not disclose “shorting the cathode and the anode of the capacitor discharges the capacitor to a ground voltage level associated with the capacitor discharge tool”. However, additional teachings from Marz are considered infra.
Marz further teaches that shorting (¶ [22]: “safety short circuit”) the cathode (labeled “+” terminal of “Cp”; ¶ [39]: “piezo-connection Cp+”) and the anode (labeled “-” terminal of “Cp” ; ¶ [39]: “piezo-connection Cp-”) of the charged element (“piezoelectric actuator CP”; Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶ [4]: “a virtually completely capacitive load”) discharges the charged element (“CP”) to a ground voltage level (¶ [13]: “potential prevailing on the first piezo-terminal (“high-side”) changed toward the second control potential (“ground”) by means of the first discharge path”; “GND” labelled in Figs. 1-2, 4; voltage graph in Fig. 3) associated with the discharge tool (circuits, signals, and control methodologies of the combo of “S1”, “S2”, and “ST”; Figs. 1-2, 4)
Though it is not a capacitor, the piezoelectric actuator taught by Marz is still a charged element. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the discharge tool (circuits, signals, and control methodologies) taught by Marz would work with any charged element (including a capacitor, battery, or piezoelectric actuator). This is evidenced by Marz ¶ [4], which refers to the charged element as “a virtually completely capacitive load”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capacitor discharge tool disclosed by the combo of Naka, Marz, Dust, & Ultra Librarian to discharge the capacitor to a ground voltage level, as further taught by Marz, to improve operating safety and accelerate the discharge process (Marz ¶ [21]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859