DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 10/16/25. As directed by the amendment, claim 1 has been amended; claims 8 and 9 have been cancelled. Claims 1-9 are pending in this application.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
In the instant case there does not appear to be any means for language in the claims and/or language to be considered under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 AIA
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glazer US 20190150798 A1 (herein after Glazer) in view of Lin CN 115418018 A (herein after Lin).
Regarding claim 1, Glazer discloses a reflective infant sleepwear garment, comprising: a sleepwear garment selected from the group consisting of: formed as a onesie, swaddling wrap, and sleep sac (Abstract, as seen in annotated Figure 3B); one or more reflective elements (56, paragraph 0027) forming, or attached to- an outer surface of said garment (as seen in annotated Figure 3B); wherein said one or more reflective elements (56, paragraph 0027) reflect infrared light (Abstract) and visible light (paragraph 0047).
[AltContent: textbox (Extensible reflective fabric)][AltContent: textbox (Torso region)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Reflective elements, 56)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Glazer is silent to the reflected infrared light has wavelengths in the range of 750nm-2500nm, and separately the reflected visible light has wavelengths in the range of 400nm-750nm.
Lin discloses the reflected infrared light has wavelengths in the range of 750nm-2500nm (Description -“…the infrared light transmittance average value of the 750nm-2500nm…”), and separately the reflected visible light has wavelengths in the range of 400nm-750nm (Description- “…the visible light transmittance average value of the 400nm-750nm…;… …”).
Glazer and Lin are analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to reflective devices.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the reflective elements of Glazer by constructing the reflected infrared light to have wavelengths in the range of 750nm-2500nm, and separately the reflected visible light has wavelengths in the range of 400nm-750nm as taught by Lin, in order for the infrared light to adequately reflect off the fibers in the garment. The modification would be a simple modification to monitor and register and record the movement of an infants breathing.
Regarding claim 2, the modified reflective infant sleepwear garment of the combined references discloses wherein the one or more reflective elements are selected from the group consisting of: reflective inks (56, paragraph 0027 of Glazer); reflective tapes; reflective threads; reflective fabrics (as seen in annotated Figure 3B of Glazer); reflective glitters; and reflective ribbons.
Regarding claim 3, the modified reflective infant sleepwear garment of the combined references discloses wherein said one or more reflective elements (56 of Glazer) are attached to, or form part of, a torso region of said garment (as seen in annotated Figure 3B of Glazer).
Regarding claim 4, the modified reflective infant sleepwear garment of the combined references discloses wherein said reflective inks (56) are printed onto said outer surface of said garment (as seen in Figure 3A of Glazer).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Outer surface)]
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glazer US 20190150798 A1 (herein after Glazer) in view of Lin CN 115418018 A (herein after Lin) as applied to claim 1 and 2 and further in view of Schneider AT 12667 U1 (herein after Scheidner).
Regarding claim 5, the reflective infant sleepwear garment of the Glazer discloses all the limitations of claim 5 except Glazer does not disclose wherein reflective tapes are stitched to said outer surface of said garment.
Scheidner discloses the reflective tapes (10) are stitched (5) to said outer surface of said garment (Claim 1).
Scheidner is analogous art to the claimed invention in that it provides tapes made of reflective materials that are capable of being attached with stitching.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the form of the reflective materials of Glazer and Lin, by constructing them as tapes that can be stitched on to a garment, as taught by Scheidner in order to allow the tapes to be easily attached to the garment as desired. The modification of the reflective material would be a simple modification to obtain predictable results, providing reflective tapes that are easy to apply during the construction of the garment.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glazer US 20190150798 A1 (herein after Glazer) in view of Lin CN 115418018 A (herein after Lin) as applied to claim 1 and 2 and further in view of JP S61124088 U (herein after JP ‘088).
Regarding claim 6, the reflective infant sleepwear garment of the Glazer discloses all the limitations of claim 6 except Glazer does not disclose wherein said reflective threads embroidered onto said outer surface of said garment.
JP ‘088 discloses wherein said reflective threads (1, Brief Description of the Drawings, Field of the Invention – first paragraph – “…It is related with optical recursive reflective thread consisting of the optical recursive reflective thread which can express a general embroidery character and handle in detail…”), embroidered onto said outer surface of said garment (1, Brief Description of the Drawings, as seen on Figure 1).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Reflective embroidery )]
JP ‘088 is analogous art to the claimed invention in that it provides the reflective threads are made into a patch and attached to the outer portion of the garment.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the reflective materials of Glazer and Lin, by using reflective fibers that are capable of being embroidered to the outer surface of an article as taught by JP ‘088 in order to allow the threads and fibers be integrally formed into the garments material in any design. The modification of the reflective materials would be a simple modification to obtain predictable results, ease of manufacturing and application of the reflective threads.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glazer US 20190150798 A1 (herein after Glazer) in view of Lin CN 115418018 A (herein after Lin) as applied to claim 1 and 2 and further in view of Nilsen US 20090025872 A1 (herein after Nilsen).
Regarding claim 7, the reflective infant sleepwear garment of the Glazer discloses all the limitations of claim 7 except Glazer does not disclose wherein said reflective threads are woven into a fabric that is used to make said garment.
Nilsen discloses wherein said reflective threads (paragraph 0004 of Nilsen) are woven into a fabric that is used to make said garment (paragraph 0018, 0019 and 0029 of Nilsen).
Nilsen is analogous art to the claimed invention in that it provides the reflective threads incorporated in to the material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the reflective materials of Glazer and Lin, by using reflective fibers that are capable of being woven into the material as taught by Nilsen in order to allow the material of the garment to be reflective. The modification of the reflective materials would be a simple modification to obtain predictable results, creating a material for the garment that provides a larger surface area capable of reflection.
ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not convincing. Applicant’s arguments are directed towards structural elements included in the amended claims and thus do not apply to the combinations of references used to teach the limitations of the amended claims in the current rejection and/or the manner in which prior art has been applied in the current rejection. In view of Applicant's amendments, the search has been updated, and a rejection on the amended claims is applied above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Catherine M. Ferreira/
Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA J TOMPKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732