DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 6, 17, and 27 have been amended; Claims3-5, 7-9, 14-16, 19, have been canceled. Claims 1-2,6,10-13,17-18 and 20-30 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to the Applicant’s amendment to claims 6 and 17 to obviate the previous claim objections to claims 6 and 17 The previous claim objections to claims 6 and 17are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 7 in substance that "Blasco Serrano at paragraph [0068] discloses that an "eNB 110 may either autonomously trigger resource indication or may initiate the indication in response to a sidelink communication operation resource request originating from UE 130." Blasco Serrano at paragraph [0031] discloses "As an example, the apparatus may be configured to initiate the indication in response to a sidelink communication operation resource request originating from the first UE. Thus, the sidelink communication resources may be indicated in an on demand manner, i.e. only in case of the first UE actually intending to perform a sidelink transmission to the second UE."
Blasco Serrano further discloses at paragraph [0031] that "for issuing a sidelink communication operation resource request the RRC state of the first UE may have to be CONNECTED..." (Emphasis added). Paragraph [0031] further explains that "...the apparatus may be configured to autonomously trigger the indication" while the UE is not in an RRC CONNECTED state. Paragraph [0031] further explains that in such a case "the first UE may be provided with the indication without issuing a corresponding request." Thus, Blasco Serrano teaches that a UE can only send the "sidelink communication operation resource request" while in the RRC CONNECTED state."
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Blasco Serrano teaches, in paragraph [0018] An IDLE UE may receive some downlink (DL) signals from the eNB as the claim required wireless device receives in the RRC idle state. Blasco Serrano further teaches in the table- US-00001, paragraph [0065] in an example the resources used by a UE in RRC states IDLE. As Blasco Serrano teaches, RRC IDLE UE may receive downlink (DL) signals from the eNB. The table US-00001 the 3 cases teaches the RRC idle state where the Sidelink resource allocation (scheduling) configured for in coverage operation of Idle UEs. However, claim 1 merely recites …receiving, by the wireless device in the RRC idle state ….
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 7 in substance that "Applicant respectfully submits that Blasco Serrano only discloses obtaining information indicating whether a sidelink communication operation is allowed in a coverage area and controlling the UE based on that information. Blasco Serrano does not disclose actual sidelink communication, nor does it disclose using specific configuration parameters to perform such communication. Thus, Blasco Serrano does disclose "communicating via the sidelink based on the configuration parameters."
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Blasco Serrano teaches, in paragraph [0031] the apparatus may thus control which resources the first UE uses for a sidelink communication operation, e.g. a sidelink transmission to the second UE. the set of radio resources were granted previously. In paragraph [0020] according to mode-2, the eNB grants a set of radio resources that a UE may use in performing sidelink transmissions. Therefore, combining Jung and Blasco Serrano teaches, during sidelink communication, resources may be indicated in an on demand manner in case of the first UE intending to perform a sidelink transmission to the second UE. However, claim 1 merely recites … receiving, by the wireless device… the configuration parameters of the sidelink, and communicating via the sidelink based on the configuration parameters.
Regarding all other arguments presented by applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Jung hereafter) (US 20180027398 A1) in view of Blasco Serrano et al. (Blasco Serrano hereafter) (US 20190037622 A1)
Regarding claim 1 Jung teaches, A method comprising:
transmitting, by a wireless device in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state (Jung; [0057] The UE in the RRC idle state establishes RRC connection with an E-UTRAN through an RRC connection procedure when it is necessary to set up the RRC connection, and shifts to the RRC connected state.) or an RRC inactive state and to a base station, a message comprising:
an RRC connection request message (Jung; [0088] UE sends an RRC connection request message that requests RRC connection to a network (S510).) (See Fig. 5); and
Jung fails to explicitly teach, a request for configuration parameters of a sidelink of the wireless device;
receiving, by the wireless device in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state, the configuration parameters of the sidelink;
communicating via the sidelink based on the configuration parameters
However, in the same field of endeavor Blasco Serrano teaches, a request for configuration parameters of a sidelink of the wireless device (Blasco Serrano; [0068] eNB 110 may initiate the indication in response to a sidelink communication operation resource request originating from UE);
receiving, by the wireless device in the RRC idle state, the configuration parameters of the sidelink (Based on sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS)) (Blasco Serrano; [0068] the case of UE 130 being IDLE, sidelink communication resources may have to be indicated in advance so that once UE 130 intends to perform a sidelink transmission, it may do so in the IDLE state within previously indicated resources (see in particular cases 2, 2bis) and 3) in the table) [0025] the UE may be controlled according to the information to perform the sidelink communications operation using the previously granted set of radio resources) (See Table on page 7), [0020], [0031]; and
{Examiner is construing that the sidelink synchronization signal (SL-SSB) implicitly includes and transmits PSSS (Primary Sidelink Synchronization Signal) and SSSS (Secondary Sidelink Synchronization Signal), which are used for synchronization in V2X (Vehicle to Everything) communication}
communicating via the sidelink based on the configuration parameters (Blasco Serrano [0062] the information being determined based on an RRC state of the first UE and a transmission timing synchronization state of the first UE for a sidelink transmission of the first UE to a second UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Blasco Serrano in order to perform sidelink communication (Blasco Serrano [0069]).
Regarding claim 29 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 1,
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein the RRC connection request message comprises the request for configuration parameters.
However, in the same field of endeavor Blasco Serrano teaches, wherein the RRC connection request message comprises the request for configuration parameters (Blasco Serrano; [0030] the first UE may comprise at least one of initiating signalling of the information indicating whether or not the sidelink communication operation is allowed to the first UE and initiating configuration of the UE by the mobile communications network, optionally by RRC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Blasco Serrano in order to perform sidelink communication (Blasco Serrano [0069]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (Yang hereafter) (US 20220346179 A1).
Regarding claim 2 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 1,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the configuration parameters are received in:
an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC release message.
However, in the same field of endeavor Yang teaches, wherein the configuration parameters are received in: an RRC reconfiguration message (Yang; [0046] The sidelink resource pool can be configured to the UE through broadcast or dedicated signaling. The sidelink resource pool configured to the UE through the dedicated signaling… the dedicated signaling used is an RRC reconfiguration message.); or an RRC release message.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yang in order to send sidelink data (Yang [0054]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tseng et al (Tseng hereafter) (US 20200107236 A1).
Regarding claim 6 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 1,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the configuration parameters of the sidelink comprise: one or more radio resources for the sidelink;
However, in the same field of endeavor Tseng teaches, wherein the configuration parameters of the sidelink comprise at least one of: one or more radio resources for the sidelink (Tseng; [0098] As shown in FIG. 8, a base station may provide, in one component carrier 810, a set of (virtual) Resource Blocks (RBs) called sidelink resource pools (SL-RPs) 820. The SL-RPs 820 may appear periodically (e.g., in the time domain) after the UE receives the dedicated RRC signaling, different parameters, such as SL-RP-offset, SL-RP-Period, the start symbol of a Resource Pool, symbol length of Resource Pool, number of occupied Resource Block Groups (RBGs) for each Resource Pool may be configured to indicate the location of each Tx/Rx sidelink resource pool.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Tseng in order to exchange SL packets (Tseng; [0101]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Title: Consideration on NR V2X mode 7 resource allocation (3GPP hereafter) (R2-1816980) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim 10 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 1,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the request for the configuration parameters comprise sidelink user equipment (UE) information.
However, in the same field of endeavor 3GPP teaches, wherein the request for the configuration parameters comprise sidelink user equipment (UE) information (3GPP; [2.1] ... figure1, we can see that sidelink UE information reporting, SR and BSR are related to dynamic resource allocation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by 3GPP in order to receive the subsequent scheduling grant (3GPP; [2.1.1 SR]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Title: Consideration on NR V2X mode 7 resource allocation (3GPP hereafter) (R2-1816980) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim 11 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 10,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the sidelink UE information comprises at least one of: radio resource request information for the sidelink; quality of service information for the sidelink; and UE type information
However, in the same field of endeavor 3GPP teaches, wherein the sidelink UE information comprises at least one of: radio resource request information for the sidelink; quality of service information for the sidelink; and UE type information (3GPP; [2.1.1 SR] keep the gNB informed of the QoS characteristics of each sidelink logical channel such that the gNB configure the SR resource corresponds to sidelink logical channel for the UE, the other one is to map different SR configurations to different LCG ID with different QoS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by 3GPP in order to receive the subsequent scheduling grant (3GPP; [2.1.1 SR]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pan et al. (Pan hereafter) (US 20200351699 A1).
Regarding claim 12 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 1,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the request for the configuration parameters comprise sidelink bearer information
However, in the same field of endeavor Pan teaches, wherein the request for the configuration parameters comprise sidelink bearer information (Pan; [0196] ... In Step 3, the UE may report the PC5 QoS profiles of the packet(s) to the gNB/ng-eNB, and requests the configuration of the SLRB(s) associated with these PC5 QoS profile(s) reported).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Pan in order to QoS Support for Group Communication over PC5 Interface (Pan; [0172]).
Regarding claim 13 Jung-Blasco Serrano-Pan teaches, The method of claim 12,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the sidelink bearer information comprises an indication to use sidelink bearers configured in a wireless device context for the wireless device, wherein the indication comprises at least one of: one or more bearer identities of the sidelink bearers; a one bit indication for the sidelink; or a cause for the sidelink.
However, in the same field of endeavor Pan teaches, wherein the sidelink bearer information comprises an indication to use sidelink bearers configured in a wireless device context for the wireless device (Pan; [0305] ... The message used to request the configuration related to sidelink transmissions on the unicast link could include e.g. SLRB ID, PC5 QoS flow ID and/or etc.), wherein the indication comprises at least one of: one or more bearer identities of the sidelink bearers (Pan; [0306] the UE1 transmits a first SLRB configuration to the UE2, and the first SLRB configuration indicates a first SLRB ID for a SLRB with RLC AM. In response to reception of a message including the first SLRB configuration, the UE2 transmit a complete message to the UE1. And then, the UE2 transmits a second SLRB configuration to the UE1, and the second SLRB configuration indicates a second SLRB ID (or the first SLRB ID) for the SLRB with RLC AM.); a one bit indication for the sidelink; or a cause for the sidelink.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Pan in order to QoS Support for Group Communication over PC5 Interface (Pan; [0172]).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhao (Zhao hereafter) (US 20220141827 A1).
Regarding claim 17 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 1,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the configuration parameters of the sidelink comprise at least one of: one or more validity conditions of the one or more radio resources
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhao teaches, wherein the configuration parameters of the sidelink comprise a sidelink bearer configuration.
a sidelink bearer configuration (Zhao; [0163] C121, the RRC signaling carries identification information of the frequency band identifier, and based on each frequency band identifier, the resource allocation mode corresponding to each Sidelink Radio Bearer (SLRB) transmitted on the frequency band identifier is configured.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhao in order to configure for the sidelink interface of the terminal (Zhao; [0162]).
Regarding claim 18 Jung-Blasco Serrano-Zhao teaches, The method of claim 17,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, fails to explicitly teach, wherein the sidelink bearer configuration comprises a least one of: one or more radio bearer identities of sidelink bearers; quality of service information for the sidelink bearers; and one or more radio resources of the sidelink bearers, comprising at least one of: a resource pool; a configured grant type1; or a configured grant type2
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhao teaches, wherein the sidelink bearer configuration comprises a least one of: one or more radio bearer identities of sidelink bearers (Zhao; [0026] ... the RRC signaling carries identification information of the frequency band identifier, and based on each frequency band identifier, the information of the SLRB allowed to use the resource allocation mode is configured for each resource allocation mode); and
one or more radio resources of the sidelink bearers (Zhao; [0026] when the resource allocation mode is configured based on each SLRB and is independently configured based on each frequency band identifier, the configuring the resource allocation mode of the sidelink interface for the terminal includes one of the following modes: the RRC signaling carries identification information of the frequency band identifier, and based on each frequency band identifier, the resource allocation mode corresponding to each SLRB transmitted on the frequency band identifier is configured) quality of service information for the sidelink bearers;
comprising at least one of: a resource pool (Zhao; [0042] when the target includes SLRB, the configuration mode of the resource allocation mode includes one of the following modes: the resource allocation mode is configured based on each SLRB; the resource allocation mode is configured based on each SLRB, and is independently configured based on each frequency band identifier; the resource allocation mode is configured based on each SLRB, and is independently configured based on each RAT; the resource allocation mode is configured based on each SLRB, and is independently configured based on each frequency band identifier of each RAT.); a configured grant type1; or a configured grant type2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhao in order to configure for the sidelink interface of the terminal (Zhao; [0162]).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lei et al. (Zhao Yali hereafter) (US 20210307106 A1).
Regarding claim 20 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 1,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein communicating via the sidelink comprises communicating via the sidelink while the wireless device is in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state based on configuration parameters.
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhao Yali teaches, wherein the communicating via the sidelink comprises communicating via the sidelink while the wireless device is in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state based on configuration parameters (Zhao Yali; [0100-0101] sidelink communication of the terminal in the RRC IDLE state under the LTE system… use the sidelink resources obtained by the procedure for data transmission, where the terminal is a terminal in the RRC IDLE state or a terminal in the RRC INACTIVE state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lei in order to achieve the sidelink data transmission (Zhao Yali; [0108]).
Regarding claim 21 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, the method of claim 1,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the message comprises the RRC connection request message comprising one of: an RRC setup request message; an RRC resume request message; or an RRC re-establishment request message
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhao Yali; teaches, wherein the message comprises the RRC connection request message comprising one of:
an RRC setup request message;
an RRC resume request message (Zhao Yali; [0154] In one embodiment, if the terminal initiates an RRC connection resume procedure, the terminal sends an RRC Resume Request message to the network-side device; and after the RRC connection is resumed, the terminal sends a UE Sidelink Information message to the network-side device, to request the network-side device to determine the resource allocation mode on the sidelink for the terminal); or
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lei in order to achieve the sidelink data transmission (Zhao Yali; [0108]).
Claim 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (Zhang hereafter) (US 20210307106 A1).
Regarding claim 22 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 1,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the request for the configuration parameters further indicates at least one of: one or more frequencies; a type of sidelink service; a user equipment (UE) type; or a synchronization reference type.
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhang teaches, wherein the request for the configuration parameters further indicates at least one of:
one or more frequencies (Zhang; [0040] the following parameters may be determined and used to transmit the PSCCH/PSSCH: the subcarrier spacing, … If a parameter in the configuration of the PSCCH or PSSCH transmission resource pool can take multiple values, the UE may select a value from the multiple values according to a specific rule, which may be configured by the base station);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung- Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to transmit a sidelink signal (Zhang; [0040]).
Regarding claim 23 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 22,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the one or more frequencies comprise at least one of: one or more frequencies for a reception via the sidelink; one or more frequencies for sidelink resource request; or one or more frequencies to report.
Zhang further teaches wherein the one or more frequencies comprise at least one of:
one or more frequencies for a reception via the sidelink (Zhang; [0059] the subcarrier spacing allowed in the PSCCH transmission resource pool is 30 kHz, and the subcarrier spacings allowed in the resource pool for the PSSCH scheduled by the PSSCH are 30 kHz and 60 kHz. The PSCCH may be transmitted using an OFDM or SC-FDMA waveform,); one or more frequencies for sidelink resource request; or one or more frequencies to report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung- Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to transmit a sidelink signal (Zhang; [0040]).
Regarding claim 24 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 22,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the type of sidelink service comprises at least one of: sidelink discovery; sidelink communication; or vehicle to everything (V2X) communication
Zhang teaches wherein the type of sidelink service comprises at least one of: vehicle to everything (V2X) communication (Zhang; [0031] FIG. 1 schematically shows a schematic diagram of the structure of a PSCCH and PSSCH subframe in the V2X technology).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung- Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to transmit a sidelink signal (Zhang; [0040]).
Regarding claim 25 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 22,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the UE type comprises at least one of: a pedestrian; or a vehicle
Zhang teaches wherein the UE type comprises at least one of: a pedestrian; or a vehicle [0030] The control information and data may be transmitted over a sidelink in the Vehicle to Vehicle/Pedestrian/Infrastructure/Network (V2X)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung- Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to transmit a sidelink signal (Zhang; [0040]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung- Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (Lee hereafter) (US 20210307106 A1).
Regarding claim 26 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 1,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the configuration parameters comprises a sidelink radio network temporary identifier (RNTI).
Lee teaches, wherein the configuration parameters comprises a sidelink radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (Lee; [0125] A WTRU-ID may, for example, implicitly, be used, for example, by a WTRU, to determine a PSCCH resource within the PSCCH resource pool. The WTRU-ID may be an ID configured by a gNB for direct communication. For example, the WTRU-ID may be a sidelink radio network temporary identifier (SL-RNTI) that may be configured for a specific mode of operation, for example, V2X Mode 3 and/or 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order to configure for a specific mode of operation (Lee; [0125]).
Claims 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung- Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Adjakple et al. (Adjakple hereafter) (US 20210153065 A1).
Regarding claim 27 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 1,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the configuration parameters comprises at least one of: a medium access control (MAC) configuration for the sidelink; scheduling pool information for measurements; a modulation coding scheme (MCS); a logical channel group info list; one or more dedicated resource pools; a sensing configuration; or a carrier selection configuration.
Adjakple teaches, wherein the configuration parameters comprises at least one of: a medium access control (MAC) configuration for the sidelink (Adjakple; [0344] FIG. 16 depicts a procedure for configuring the MAC with V2X configuration parameters 1600);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Adjakple in order to synchronize and coordinate their trajectories or maneuvers. (Adjakple; [0108]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung- Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ouchi et al. (Ouchi hereafter) (US 20200305094 A1).
Regarding claim 28 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 1,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein an uplink dedicated control channel (UL-DCCH) message comprises the RRC connection request message
However, in the same field of endeavor Ouchi teaches wherein an uplink dedicated control channel (UL-DCCH) message comprises the RRC connection request message (Ouchi; [0068] A UL-DCCH message may include a message for one of the RRC connection reconfiguration, downlink information transfer, a security mode, counter check, a terminal apparatus information request).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ouchi in order to configure RRC connection. (Ouchi; [0068]).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Blasco Serrano as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (Lee hereafter) (US 20180077552 A1)
Regarding claim 30 Jung-Blasco Serrano teaches, The method of claim 29,
Jung-Blasco Serrano fails to explicitly teach, wherein the RRC connection request message comprises a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee teaches, wherein the RRC connection request message comprises a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message (Lee; [0204] The emergency situation information may be transmitted through at least one of a buffer state report (BSR) relating to the group, a scheduling request, a reserved bit in an MAC PDU (sub)header, a message/signaling used for random access for RRC connection establishment (for example, a dedicated preamble, an RRC connection request message, an RRC connection establishment complete message, or a logical channel ID), and any uplink RRC message including sidelink UE information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Blasco Serrano to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order to transmit the emergency situation information (Lee; [0204]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416