Response to the Amendments
Amendments to the claims in view of 103 rejection have been carefully considered but are moot
in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 14, 22, 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helmick (US 2022/0200968 A1) in view of Bernat (US 20190140838 A1), in view of BALDWIN (US 20230396435 A1) in view of Nguyen (US 20170052582 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Helmick teaches a device for fault tolerant telemetry of distributed devices (Para [0008] lines 43-45), the device comprising:
a connection to a network interface (Para [0050] lines 5-6 and lines 29-36, Para [0030]);
memory (Para [0050] lines 3-4, Para [0033]);
processing circuitry (Para [0050] lines 8-9, Para [0032]) configured to:
receive telemetry from an entity resident on a node (Para [0007] lines 3-4), the device being included in the node (Para [0023] lines 21-25);
store the signed telemetry (Para [0007] lines 6-10) in the memory (Para [0056]); and
Helmick does not explicitly disclose sign the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the device to create signed telemetry.
Bernat teaches sign the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the device to create signed telemetry (Para [0098]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick with the teachings of Bernat to sign the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the device to create signed telemetry in order to validate the obtained telemetry data.
Helmick in view of Bernat does not explicitly disclose provide the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity.
BALDWIN teaches provide the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity (Para [0094]- [0096], Para [0203]-[0204], Para [0234]- [0238], Para [0260]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat with the teachings of BALDWIN to provide the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity in order to send the statement and the signature to a remote requesting entity.
Helmick in view of Bernat in view of BALDWIN does not explicitly disclose and a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the device is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node.
Nguyen does disclose and a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the device is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node (Fig. 5. Para [0018]. Para [0041]-[0042]: the battery module 106/ power source is an electrical device as part of the backup power source 102 that converts stored energy into electrical energy to provide the power 112 to one or more of the multiple nodes 108. As such, the battery module 106 may include a capacitor or other components to provide power 112. The stored energy within the battery module 106 is a potential difference which allows the flow of electrons to produce the power 112. In this implementation, to generate the potential difference, the battery module 106 may obtain an input power from a primary power supply (not illustrated). Thus, when the primary power supply fails, the battery module 106 may no longer be charged, thus causing the battery module 106 to act as the backup power source 102 to the multiple nodes 108. The computing device 500 is an electronic device with the processor 502 capable of executing instructions 506-518, and as such embodiments of the computing device 500 include a mobile device, client device, personal computer, desktop computer, laptop, tablet, video game console, or other type of electronic device capable of executing instructions 506-518. While , the computing device 500 may include the backup power source 102 as in FIG. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat in view of BALDWIN with the teachings of Nguyen to provide and a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the device is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node in order to operate independently of the internal power source supplying power to embedded computer chassis.
Regarding Claim 9, Helmick teaches a method for fault tolerant telemetry of distributed devices, the method comprising (Para [0006]):
receiving, at a hardware component of a node, telemetry from an entity resident on the node ((Para [0007] lines 1-4: Wherein the hardware components is the encryption engine.);
storing the signed telemetry (Para [0007] lines 6-10) in memory of the hardware component (Para [0056]); and
Helmick does not explicitly disclose sign the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the device to create signed telemetry.
Bernat teaches sign the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the device to create signed telemetry (Para [0098]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick with the teachings of Bernat to sign the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the device to create signed telemetry in order to validate the obtained telemetry data.
Helmick in view of Bernat does not explicitly disclose provide the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity.
BALDWIN teaches provide the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity (Para [0094]- [0096], Para [0204], Para [0234]- [0238], Para [0260]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat with the teachings of BALDWIN to provide the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity in order to send the statement and the signature to a requesting entity.
Helmick in view of Bernat in view of BALDWIN does not explicitly disclose wherein the hardware component includes a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the hardware component is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node.
Nguyen does disclose wherein the hardware component includes a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the hardware component is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node (Para [0018]: the battery module 106 is an electrical device as part of the backup power source 102 that converts stored energy into electrical energy to provide the power 112 to one or more of the multiple nodes 108. As such, the battery module 106 may include a capacitor or other components to provide power 112. The stored energy within the battery module 106 is a potential difference which allows the flow of electrons to produce the power 112. In this implementation, to generate the potential difference, the battery module 106 may obtain an input power from a primary power supply (not illustrated). Thus, when the primary power supply fails, the battery module 106 may no longer be charged, thus causing the battery module 106 to act as the backup power source 102 to the multiple nodes 108.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat in view of BALDWIN with the teachings of Nguyen to wherein the hardware component includes a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the hardware component is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node in order to operate independently of the internal power source supplying power to embedded computer chassis.
Regarding claim 14, Helmick teaches a non-transitory machine readable medium including instructions for fault tolerant telemetry of distributed devices, the instructions (Para [0119] lines 8-15), when executed by processing circuitry (Para [0050] lines 8-9), cause the processing circuitry to perform operations (Para [0050] lines 8-9) comprising:
receiving, at a hardware component of a node, telemetry from an entity resident on the node ((Para [0007] lines 1-4: Wherein the hardware components is the encryption engine.);
storing the signed telemetry (Para [0007] lines 6-10) in memory of the hardware component (Para [0056]); and
Helmick does not explicitly disclose sign the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the device to create signed telemetry.
Bernat teaches sign the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the device to create signed telemetry (Para [0098]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick with the teachings of Bernat to sign the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the device to create signed telemetry in order to validate the obtained telemetry data.
Helmick in view of Bernat does not explicitly disclose provide the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity.
BALDWIN teaches provide the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity (Para [0094]- [0096], Para [0204], Para [0234]- [0238], Para [0260]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat with the teachings of BALDWIN to provide the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity in order to send the statement and the signature to a requesting entity.
Helmick in view of Bernat in view of BALDWIN does not explicitly disclose wherein the hardware component includes a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the hardware component is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node.
Nguyen does disclose wherein the hardware component includes a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the hardware component is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node (Para [0018]: the battery module 106 is an electrical device as part of the backup power source 102 that converts stored energy into electrical energy to provide the power 112 to one or more of the multiple nodes 108. As such, the battery module 106 may include a capacitor or other components to provide power 112. The stored energy within the battery module 106 is a potential difference which allows the flow of electrons to produce the power 112. In this implementation, to generate the potential difference, the battery module 106 may obtain an input power from a primary power supply (not illustrated). Thus, when the primary power supply fails, the battery module 106 may no longer be charged, thus causing the battery module 106 to act as the backup power source 102 to the multiple nodes 108.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat in view of BALDWIN with the teachings of Nguyen to wherein the hardware component includes a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the hardware component is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node in order to operate independently of the internal power source supplying power to embedded computer chassis.
Regarding claim 22, Helmick teaches a system for fault tolerant telemetry of distributed devices (Para [0006]), the system comprising:
means for receiving, at a hardware component of a node, telemetry from an entity resident on the node (Para [0007] lines 1-4: Wherein the hardware component is the encryption engine.);
means for storing the signed telemetry (Para [0007] lines 6-10) in memory of the hardware component (Para [0056]); and
Helmick does not explicitly disclose means for signing the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the hardware component to create signed telemetry.
Bernat teaches means for signing the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the hardware component to create signed telemetry (Para [0098]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick with the teachings of Bernat means for signing the telemetry with a cryptographic key of the hardware component to create signed telemetry in order to validate the obtained telemetry data.
Helmick in view of Bernat does not explicitly disclose means for providing the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity.
BALDWIN teaches means for providing the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity (Para [0094]- [0096], Para [0204], Para [0234]- [0238], Para [0260]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat with the teachings of BALDWIN to means for providing the signed telemetry upon request from a remote entity in order to send the statement and the signature to a requesting entity.
Helmick in view of Bernat in view of BALDWIN does not explicitly disclose wherein the hardware component includes a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the hardware component is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node.
Nguyen does disclose wherein the hardware component includes a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the hardware component is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node (Para [0018]: the battery module 106 is an electrical device as part of the backup power source 102 that converts stored energy into electrical energy to provide the power 112 to one or more of the multiple nodes 108. As such, the battery module 106 may include a capacitor or other components to provide power 112. The stored energy within the battery module 106 is a potential difference which allows the flow of electrons to produce the power 112. In this implementation, to generate the potential difference, the battery module 106 may obtain an input power from a primary power supply (not illustrated). Thus, when the primary power supply fails, the battery module 106 may no longer be charged, thus causing the battery module 106 to act as the backup power source 102 to the multiple nodes 108.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat in view of BALDWIN with the teachings of Nguyen to wherein the hardware component includes a power source independent from the node to provide telemetry when power to the node fails, wherein the hardware component is installed on a board of the node, and wherein the power source is a battery installed on the board of the node in order to operate independently of the internal power source supplying power to embedded computer chassis.
Regarding Claim 25, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the signed telemetry is used to on board the node by establishing provenance for the node or verifying measurements (Bernat Para [0095]-[0099]).
Regarding Claim 26, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the signed telemetry is used to on board the node by establishing provenance for the node or verifying measurements (Bernat Para [0095]-[0099]).
Regarding Claim 27, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 14, wherein the signed telemetry is used to on board the node by establishing provenance for the node or verifying measurements. (Bernat Para [0095]-[0099]).
Claims 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, 15, 17, 18, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helmick (US 2022/0200968 A1) in view of Bernat (US 20190140838 A1), in view of BALDWIN (US 20230396435 A1), in view of Nguyen (US 20170052582 A1) in view of Brown (US 10021077 B1).
Regarding Claim 2, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen teaches the device of claim 1.
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen does not explicitly disclose wherein the device includes the network interface, and wherein, to provide the signed telemetry, the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive the request via the network interface; and
transmit the signed telemetry via the network interface
Brown teaches wherein the device includes the network interface (Col 3 lines 6-19), and wherein, to provide the signed telemetry (Col 5 lines 33-48), the processing circuitry is configured to (Col 3 lines 6-19):
receive the request via the network interface (Fig.2, Col 6 lines 19-29. Fig.3, Col 6 lines 30-42); and
transmit the signed telemetry via the network interface (Fig.2 Col 6 lines 19-29. Fig.3 Col 6 lines 30-42).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen with the teachings of Brown to include the network interface, and wherein, to provide the signed telemetry, the processing circuitry is configured to: receive the request via the network interface; and transmit the signed telemetry via the network interface in order to the network interface encrypt and sign each send token using a secret key. The network interface may then grant network rights to the user by transmitting a certain number of signed send tokens to the user.
Regarding claim 4, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen teaches the device of claim 1, provide to provide the signed telemetry upon which the request from the remote entity was received (BALDWIN Para [0094]- [0096], Para [0204], Para [0234]- [0238], Para [0260]).
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen does not explicitly disclose wherein the device, when in operation, is coupled directly to a network interface, without deviations to a processor of the node, to provide the signed telemetry upon which the request from the remote entity was received.
Brown teaches wherein the device, when in operation, is coupled directly to a network interface, without deviations to a processor of the node, to provide the signed telemetry upon which the request from the remote entity was received (Col 2 lines 20-47, wherein the operation of encrypt and sign and transmit each send token is performed by the network interface only without intervention by a processor of the node.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen with the teachings of Brown to wherein the device, when in operation, is coupled directly to a network interface, without deviations to a processor of the node, to provide the signed telemetry upon which the request from the remote entity was received in order to wherein the operation of encrypt and sign and transmit each send token is performed by the network interface only without intervention by a processor of the node. The network interface may prevent data packets from being transmitted within protected network if they are not accompanied by a valid send token.
Regarding Claim 5, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen and in view of Brown teaches the device of claim 4, wherein the device is part of a board management control unit (BMC) of the node (Helmick Para [0024] lines 19-20).
Regarding claim 10, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen teaches the method of claim 9.
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen does not explicitly disclose wherein the hardware component includes a network interface, and wherein providing the signed telemetry includes:
receiving a request on the network interface; and
transmitting the signed telemetry via the network interface.
Brown teaches wherein the hardware component includes a network interface (Col 3 lines 6-19), and wherein providing the signed telemetry (Col 5 lines 33-48) includes:
receiving a request on the network interface (Fig.2, Col 6 lines 19-29. Fig.3, Col 6 lines 30-42); and
transmitting the signed telemetry via the network interface (Fig.2 Col 6 lines 19-29. Fig.3 Col 6 lines 30-42).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen with the teachings of Brown to include the network interface, and wherein, to provide the signed telemetry includes: receive the request via the network interface; and transmit the signed telemetry via the network interface in order to the network interface encrypt and sign each send token using a secret key. The network interface may then grant network rights to the user by transmitting a certain number of signed send tokens to the user.
Regarding claim 11, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen the method of claim 9, provide to provide the signed telemetry upon which the request from the remote entity was received (BALDWIN Para [0094]- [0096], Para [0204], Para [0234]- [0238], Para [0260]).
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen does not explicitly disclose wherein the hardware component, when in operation, is communicatively coupled to a network interface.
Brown teaches wherein the hardware component, when in operation, is communicatively coupled to a network interface (Col 2 lines 20-47, wherein the operation of encrypt and sign and transmit each send token is performed by the network interface.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat in view of BALDWIN with the teachings of Brown to wherein the hardware component, when in operation, is communicatively coupled to a network interface in order to wherein the operation of encrypt and sign and transmit each send token is performed by the network interface. The network interface may prevent data packets from being transmitted within protected network if they are not accompanied by a valid send token.
Regarding claim 15, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 14.
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view BALDWIN does not explicitly disclose wherein the hardware component includes a network interface, and wherein providing the signed telemetry includes:
receiving a request on the network interface; and
transmitting the signed telemetry via the network interface.
Brown teaches wherein the hardware component includes a network interface (Col 3 lines 6-19), and wherein providing the signed telemetry (Col 5 lines 33-48) includes:
receiving a request on the network interface (Fig.2, Col 6 lines 19-29. Fig.3, Col 6 lines 30-42); and
transmitting the signed telemetry via the network interface (Fig.2 Col 6 lines 19-29. Fig.3 Col 6 lines 30-42).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen with the teachings of Brown to include the network interface, and wherein, to provide the signed telemetry includes: receive the request via the network interface; and transmit the signed telemetry via the network interface in order to the network interface encrypt and sign each send token using a secret key. The network interface may then grant network rights to the user by transmitting a certain number of signed send tokens to the user.
Regarding claim 17, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 14, provide to provide the signed telemetry upon which the request from the remote entity was received (BALDWIN Para [0094]- [0096], Para [0204], Para [0234]- [0238], Para [0260]).
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen does not explicitly disclose wherein the hardware component, when in operation, is communicatively coupled to a network interface.
Brown teaches wherein the hardware component, when in operation, is communicatively coupled to a network interface (Col 2 lines 20-47, wherein the operation of encrypt and sign and transmit each send token is performed by the network interface.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat in view of BALDWIN with the teachings of Brown to wherein the hardware component, when in operation, is communicatively coupled to a network interface in order to wherein the operation of encrypt and sign and transmit each send token is performed by the network interface. The network interface may prevent data packets from being transmitted within protected network if they are not accompanied by a valid send token.
Regarding claim 18, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen and in view of Brown teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 17, wherein the hardware component is part of a board management control unit (BMC) of the node (Helmick Para [0024] lines 19-20).
Regarding claim 23, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view BALDWIN teaches the system of claim 22.
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen does not explicitly disclose wherein the hardware component includes a network interface, and wherein the means for providing the signed telemetry include:
means for receiving a request on the network interface; and
means for transmitting the signed telemetry via the network interface.
Brown teaches wherein the hardware component includes a network interface (Col 3 lines 6-19), and wherein the means for providing the signed telemetry (Col 5 lines 33-48) include:
means for receiving a request on the network interface (Fig.2, Col 6 lines 19-29. Fig.3, Col 6 lines 30-42); and
means for transmitting the signed telemetry via the network interface (Fig.2 Col 6 lines 19-29. Fig.3 Col 6 lines 30-42).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen with the teachings of Brown to include wherein the hardware component includes a network interface, and wherein the means for providing the signed telemetry include: means for receiving a request on the network interface; and means for transmitting the signed telemetry via the network interface in order to the network interface encrypt and sign each send token using a secret key. The network interface may then grant network rights to the user by transmitting a certain number of signed send tokens to the user.
Claims 3, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helmick (US 2022/0200968 A1) in view of Bernat (US 20190140838 A1), in view of BALDWIN (US 20230396435 A1) in view of Nguyen (US 20170052582 A1) in view of Brown (US 10021077 B1), in view of DALY (US 20220103530 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen and in view of Brown teaches the device of claim 2.
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen and in view of Brown does not explicitly disclose wherein the device is included in an infrastructure processing unit (IPU) of the node.
DALY wherein the device is included in an infrastructure processing unit (IPU) of the node (Para [0106]- [0107]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen and in view of Brown with the teachings of DALY to include wherein the device is included in an infrastructure processing unit (IPU) of the node in order to the IPU can perform virtual switch operations, manage storage transactions (e.g., compression, cryptography, virtualization), and manage operations performed on other servers or devices.
Regarding Claim 16, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen and in view of Brown teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 15.
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view BALDWIN and in view of Brown does not explicitly disclose wherein the hardware component is included in an infrastructure processing unit (IPU) of the node.
DALY teaches wherein the hardware component is included in an infrastructure processing unit (IPU) of the node (Para [0106]- [0107]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen and in view of Brown with the teachings of DALY to include wherein the hardware component is included in an infrastructure processing unit (IPU) of the node in order to the IPU can perform virtual switch operations, manage storage transactions (e.g., compression, cryptography, virtualization), and manage operations performed on other servers or devices.
Claim 6, 7, 12, 13, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helmick (US 2022/0200968 A1) in view of Bernat (US 20190140838 A1), in view of BALDWIN (US 20230396435 A1) in view of Nguyen (US 20170052582 A1) in view of Sunkavally (US 20210200890 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen teaches the device of claim 1.
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen does not explicitly disclose wherein the entity resident on the node collects raw telemetry, and wherein the entity resident on the node signs the raw telemetry to create the telemetry.
Sunkavally teaches wherein the entity resident on the node collects raw telemetry (Fig.1 Para [0029], Para [0035]- [0037]), and wherein the entity resident on the node signs the raw telemetry to create the telemetry (Para [0035]- [0036]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen with the teachings of Sunkavally to include Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen wherein the entity resident on the node collects raw telemetry, and wherein the entity resident on the node signs the raw telemetry to create the telemetry in order to the exemplary sender module send the collected telemetry data to the receiver module of the telemetry server. The exemplary encryption module encrypts and signs collected telemetry data, client-side, using the appropriate encryption keys from the key manager. Wherein, the receiver module is part of the exemplary raw data collector, that receives collected telemetry data from the telemetry clients.
Regarding Claim 7, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen and in view of Sunkavally teaches the device of claim 6, comprising an internal interface (Helmick Para [0065]), wherein the entity resident on the node writes the telemetry to an internal interface of the device (Helmick Para [0065]).
Regarding claim 12, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen teaches the method of claim 9.
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen does not explicitly disclose wherein the entity resident on the node collects raw telemetry, and wherein the entity resident on the node signs the raw telemetry to create the telemetry.
Sunkavally teaches wherein the entity resident on the node collects raw telemetry (Fig.1 Para [0029], Para [0035]- [0037]), and wherein the entity resident on the node signs the raw telemetry to create the telemetry (Para [0035]- [0036]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen with the teachings of Sunkavally to include Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen wherein the entity resident on the node collects raw telemetry, and wherein the entity resident on the node signs the raw telemetry to create the telemetry in order to the exemplary sender module send the collected telemetry data to the receiver module of the telemetry server. The exemplary encryption module encrypts and signs collected telemetry data, client-side, using the appropriate encryption keys from the key manager. Wherein, the receiver module is part of the exemplary raw data collector, that receives collected telemetry data from the telemetry clients.
Regarding claim 13, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen and in view of Sunkavally teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the hardware component includes an internal interface (Helmick Para [0065]), and wherein the entity resident on the node writes the telemetry to an internal interface of the hardware component (Helmick Para [0065]).
Regarding claim 19, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 14.
Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen does not explicitly disclose wherein the entity resident on the node collects raw telemetry, and wherein the entity resident on the node signs the raw telemetry to create the telemetry.
Sunkavally teaches wherein the entity resident on the node collects raw telemetry (Fig.1 Para [0029], Para [0035]- [0037]), and wherein the entity resident on the node signs the raw telemetry to create the telemetry (Para [0035]- [0036]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen with the teachings of Sunkavally to include Helmick in view of Bernat and in view BALDWIN wherein the entity resident on the node collects raw telemetry, and wherein the entity resident on the node signs the raw telemetry to create the telemetry in order to the exemplary sender module send the collected telemetry data to the receiver module of the telemetry server. The exemplary encryption module encrypts and signs collected telemetry data, client-side, using the appropriate encryption keys from the key manager. Wherein, the receiver module is part of the exemplary raw data collector, that receives collected telemetry data from the telemetry clients.
Regarding claim 20, Helmick in view of Bernat and in view of BALDWIN in view of Nguyen and in view of Sunkavally teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 19, wherein the hardware component includes an internal interface (Helmick Para [0065]), and wherein the entity resident on the node writes the telemetry to an internal interface of the hardware component (Helmick Para [0065]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUDY BAZNA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2495
/JASON K GEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495