DETAILED ACTOIN
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/06/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, and 21
have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant firstly argues (Pages 7-8):
Claim 1
Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection. In the rejection of claim 1, the Examiner contends that Maddox in view of Bean and Hopkins discloses all limitations of claim 1. Applicant respectfully disagrees that the combination renders claim 1 as amended herein obvious.
Specifically, the combined prior art fails to teach or suggest an optimal positioning of a heating coil in a side-flow configuration connected to two blowers by the specific positioning of the blowers with respect to the heating coil: "a first blower configured to direct the first air flow into the vacant section of the chamber, wherein the vacant section does not include a heat exchanger; and a second blower configured to direct the second air flow into the heating section of the chamber"(distinguishing feature 1) and by tilting the heating coil in an optimal position: "wherein the heating coil is disposed at an oblique angle relative to a direction of the first air flow and the second air flow through the heating section such that one end portion of the heating coil is oriented towards the edge connecting the first side and the second side of the housing"(distinguishing feature 2).
These two distinguishing features are not disclosed explicitly in any of the referenced prior art. More importantly, the prior art contains no teaching, suggestion or motivation to combine its disparate elements to arrive at the specific, synergistic, and structurally defined invention of amended Claim1. The Examiner's rejection relies on improper hindsight, impermissibly piecing together isolated features without recognizing that the claimed invention provides a specific solution to a complex three-dimensional airflow problem not contemplated or addressed by the cited references.
First, the Examiner's combination of Maddox, Bean, and Hopkins fails to teach or suggest the specific orientation of the heating coil as claimed. While Bean may teach a heating coil at a generic "oblique angle, "it does so in the context of a simple, linear airflow path. Bean provides no reason to orient its coil in any particular direction other than to increase its effective cross-section to that linear flow. Amended Claim 1, in contrast, recites a highly specific structural limitation: the housing has a side-flow configuration with inlets on a "first side" and the outlet on a perpendicular "second side," and the heating coil is angled such that one end is oriented "towards the edge" connecting these two sides. This is not an arbitrary or obvious orientation. This specific geometry is a deliberate engineering solution to the difficult problem of smoothly turning two combined, but initially separate, airflows 90 degrees for side-discharge while ensuring uniform heating and minimizing pressure drop. The motivation in Bean-to simply angle a coil in a linear path-provides no suggestion to orient a coil in this specific manner to solve the unique aerodynamic challenges of a side-flow housing as claimed by Applicant.
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because Maddox anticipates wall edges at heater 14, see wall A/B creating opening C in re-annotated figure 2 where blower provides airflow initially perpendicular to flow through housing having heat exchanger. Bean provides as stated by Applicant above a means of fitting a larger heat exchanger within a confined spaced by oblique angling while anticipating that the blower aligned to the heat exchanger may be placed anywhere within stream of system “It should be understood that the fan module 84 can be positioned in other locations, such as within the supply duct 42.” Bean [0034] and be accompanied by secondary fans “The air from the AHU provided by the supply duct 42, boosted as needed by the primary fan module 84, is the primary mover for all airflow through the heat exchanger 74.” Bean [0035]. Hopkins is cited to further obviate side by side upstream/downstream heat exchanger placement of primary/secondary fans to overcome packaging constraints -“FIG. 8 shows a 3×1 fan array fan section in the air-handling system having three fan units 200. It should be noted that the array may be of any size or dimension of more than two fan units 200. It should be noted that although the fan units 200 may be arranged in a single plane (as shown in FIG. 3), an alternative array configuration could contain a plurality of fan units 200 that are arranged in a staggered configuration (as shown in FIG. 15) in multiple planes. It should be noted that cooling coils (not shown) could be added to the system either upstream or downstream of the fan units 200.” [0075]).
Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Applicant Secondly argues (Pages 8-9):
Second, the prior art combination does not teach the claimed cooperative relationship between the dual blowers, the vacant/heating sections, and the uniquely oriented coil. Maddox teaches a basic dual-blower unit, and Hopkins teaches that using upstream/downstream blowers is a known design choice for packaging reasons. However, neither reference addresses the technical problem of how to then efficiently condition and redirect those separate airflows for a side discharge. Applicant's invention solves this by creating a "vacant" plenum (from the first blower) that allows the first airflow to develop and begin its turn before combining with the second airflow and encountering the uniquely oriented heating coil. The coil, angled toward the discharge "corner," acts as a turning vane and a heating element simultaneously, guiding the now-combined airflow toward the outlet. This creates a synergistic system where each element-the vacant section, the dual blowers, and the specific coil orientation-works in concert. The prior art provides no suggestion to create such an integrated system, and to do so would require an inventive step beyond the skill of an ordinary artisan armed only with the cited references.
In summary, the Examiner's proposed combination is a classic example of an impermissible hindsight reconstruction. There is no suggestion in Maddox, Bean, or Hopkins to modify Maddox's basic side-flow unit to include the precise and geometrically-defined coil orientation of amended Claim 1 to solve the inherent airflow- turning problem. Therefore, the combination of references does not render the claims obvious, and Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
However Examiner respectfully disagrees Because in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). for the reasons/advantages as responded to Applicants first arguments above and present in the current rejection, Maddox provides 90 degree vacant space flow, Bean provides both direct and indirect flow to angled heat exchanger and Hopkins provides side by side variable relations between blowers.
Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Applicant thirdly argues (Page 9):
Claim 21
Applicant submits that Claim 21 is allowable for the reasons argued for Claim 1, and is further distinguished by the new limitation: "wherein the chamber comprises less heat exchangers than inlets."
This limitation structurally defines the invention's essential asymmetric architecture. It is not an arbitrary omission but a deliberate design that mandates the creation of the "vacant section." This section functions as a critical flow-conditioning plenum, allowing the first airflow to stabilize and begin its 90-degree turn before combining with the second airflow.
There is no teaching in the prior art to intentionally create such an imbalance. A person of ordinary skill, following the cited references, would be motivated to treat both incoming airflows symmetrically, not to omit a heat exchanger from one path to create a turning plenum. This counter-intuitive design is the structural foundation for the invention's synergy, where the chamber geometry initiates the turn and the angled coil efficiently heats and completes it.
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because the primary art Maddox anticipates a vacant area directed air flow before heat exchanger (see figure 2), while as responded to in arguments above Bean anticipates a directed to heat exchanger airflow along with auxiliary blowers. Additionally Hopkins provides side stacked relation between blowers perpendicular to ultimate airflow direction as an obvious way to vary for packaging restraints.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4,7,8,10, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maddox (US 3,651,864) in view of Bean (US 2021/0212237) and Hopkins (US 2017/0306969).
Regarding claim 1, Maddox discloses (Fig-1-2-4) a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
a housing (10) defining a chamber (housing 10 around heaters 14) configured to receive a first air flow (via fan 17) and a second air flow (via fan 16, flow from inlet 20, through fans, through heaters 14 than through outlet C (re-annotated Fig-2)/15 15 “The air flow path through the unit may be seen from the schematic view of FIG. 4, where air is sucked into grille 20 by continuously running fan 17 and forced out grille 15 along a flow path identified by line 40 in the direction of arrow 41.” (column 2, lines 50-67)),
wherein the chamber comprises a vacant section (area of chamber not occupied by heater 14) and a heating section (area of chamber occupied by heater 14), and the heating section comprises a heating coil (heater is coil heater “These coils 14 are controlled by solid state heating control circuits 47 as a function of the setting of potentiometer 53 to operate over a range from low to high heat output levels” (column 3, lines 12-20));
a first blower (fan 17) configured to direct the first air flow into the vacant section of the chamber (as shown in figure 2 in view of airflow disclosed above (column 2, lines 50-67)), wherein the vacant section does not include a heat exchanger (space starting from heater 14 to fans 16/17, see figure 2); and
a second blower (16) configured to
wherein the housing is configured to direct the first air flow from the vacant section to the heating section to combine with the second air flow and configured to direct the first air flow and the second air flow across the heating coil (airflow as disclosed above (column 2, lines 50-67)),
wherein the housing comprises a first inlet (inlet of first fan 17) configured to receive the first air flow from the first blower into the open section (path of air from first fan 17 across heater 14) and a second inlet (inlet of second fan 16) configured to receive the second air flow from the second blower into the heating section of the chamber (path of air from second fan 16 across heater 14),
wherein the housing is arranged in a side-flow configuration (as shown in figure 2, the fan is arranged so that air must change direction 90 degrees to flow across heater 14) having a first side (side where fans 16/17 exist, see figure 2) including the first inlet and the second inlet in direct connection over an edge (Wall A/B (see re-annotated figure 2 below) confining heater 14 creating an edge with wall having blowers 16/17) with a second side substantially perpendicular to the first side (discharge opening C of wall A/B being perpendicular to first side having blowers, see figure 2 re-annotated) including an air outlet (C) configured to discharge the first air flow and the second air flow from the housing (air outlet C into ducting portion at second ducting outlet 15),
wherein the heating coil is deposed at an
Maddox is silent regarding wherein the second blower directs air into the heating section of the chamber and the heater being disposed at an oblique angle relative to a direction of the air flow.
However Bean teaches (Fig-3-5) a blower (84) configured to direct air flow into a heating section of chamber (heating element 74, Fan 84 is anticipated to various locations to include being directly facing heating component 74 of heating section within enclosure 72, “Cooled air from the supply duct 42 is delivered to the supply inlet 85 of the enclosure 72 and directed toward the heat exchanger 74. In the shown embodiment, the supply inlet 85, e.g., an opening, is provided at an end of the enclosure 72, with the fan module 84 being positioned within the supply inlet. In one embodiment, the supply inlet 85 is provided at the beginning of the enclosure 72 where cool air from the supply duct 42 enters the enclosure. It should be understood that the fan module 84 can be positioned in other locations, such as within the supply duct 42.” [0034] the fan 84 may be a primary or auxiliary fan, wherein other fans of the system are not in direct flow output to heater 74 “The primary fan module 84 functions as an in-line inlet booster fan for the VAV air being delivered by the AHU. When the AHU is in an “off” condition, the primary fan module 84 may be operated to draw in air from the building at large as a cooling source of the heat exchanger 74 serving the cooling system of the ITE 76.” [0034]) and the heater being disposed at an oblique angle relative to ta direction of the air flow (as shown in figure 5).
The advantage of directing at least a fan flow directly towards a heating component of a system having multiple fans, and the heater being disposed at an oblique angle relative to ta direction of the air flow is to provide primary/auxiliary fan in spaces available “the fan module 84 being positioned within the supply inlet. In one embodiment, the supply inlet 85 is provided at the beginning of the enclosure 72 where cool air from the supply duct 42 enters the enclosure. It should be understood that the fan module 84 can be positioned in other locations, such as within the supply duct 42.” [0034], and or to directly and therefor most efficiently force/boost air to heater “The cooling unit 70 further includes a plurality of air amplifier nozzles, each indicated at 90, which perform a function similar to an air amplifier known in the industry. The air from the AHU provided by the supply duct 42, boosted as needed by the primary fan module 84, is the primary mover for all airflow through the heat exchanger 74.” [0035] and place a heat exchanger having a length longer than width of enclosing space.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Maddox and Bean before him or her, to modify the indirect facing blower to heat exchanger of Maddox to include the primary or auxiliary fan directly facing heat exchanger of Bean because providing a primary/auxiliary fan anywhere within the system may make use of available space and or because providing a primary/auxiliary blower/fan directly facing to heat exchanger is the most efficient fluid transfer to heat exchanger and because a heat changer having a length longer than width of enclosure must be positioned accordingly.
Maddox is silent regarding wherein the first inlet is positioned upstream of the second inlet relative to the flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber and the first blower is configured to direct the first air flow into the housing upstream of the second air flow directed into the housing via the second blower relative to a flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber.
However Hopkins teaches wherein the first inlet is positioned upstream of the second inlet relative to the flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber and the first blower is configured to direct the first air flow into the housing upstream of the second air flow directed into the housing via the second blower relative to a flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber (blowers may be arranged in any position perpendicular to air flow that permits fans to operate with restrictions around air shafts, emphasis added “It should be noted that an alternative embodiment would use a horizontally arranged fan array. In other words, the embodiments shown in FIGS. 3-15 could be used horizontally or vertically or in any direction perpendicular to the direction of air flow. For example, if a vertical portion of air duct is functioning as the air-handling compartment 202, the fan array may be arranged horizontally. This embodiment would be particularly practical in an air handling compartment for a return air shaft.” [0076], further details to relative position (upstream/downstream) of blowers “FIG. 8 shows a 3×1 fan array fan section in the air-handling system having three fan units 200. It should be noted that the array may be of any size or dimension of more than two fan units 200. It should be noted that although the fan units 200 may be arranged in a single plane (as shown in FIG. 3), an alternative array configuration could contain a plurality of fan units 200 that are arranged in a staggered configuration (as shown in FIG. 15) in multiple planes. It should be noted that cooling coils (not shown) could be added to the system either upstream or downstream of the fan units 200.” [0075]).
The advantage of wherein the first inlet is positioned upstream of the second inlet relative to the flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber and the first blower is configured to direct the first air flow into the housing upstream of the second air flow directed into the housing via the second blower relative to a flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber, is to provide multiple blowers within spatial limitations of a air flow system “the embodiments shown in FIGS. 3-15 could be used horizontally or vertically or in any direction perpendicular to the direction of air flow. For example, if a vertical portion of air duct is functioning as the air-handling compartment 202, the fan array may be arranged horizontally. This embodiment would be particularly practical in an air handling compartment for a return air shaft.” [0076] reducing required real-estate and expense “Because real estate (e.g. structure space) is extremely expensive, the larger size of the air-handling compartment 102 is extremely undesirable. [0010] The single fan units 100 are expensive to produce and are gene custom produced for each job. [0011] Single fan units 100 are expensive to operate.” [0009].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Maddox and Hopkins before him or her, to modify the vertically stacked blower to heat exchanger of Maddox to include the varied arrangement of fans of Hopkins, because providing blowers in varied arrangements relative to one another is obvious for accommodating spatial limitations of the duct work and reduces expense.
Regarding claim 4, Maddox as modified teaches the HVAC system of claim 2, Maddox as already modified further teaches (Fig-1-2) wherein a first portion of the heating coil (portion of heating coil aligned to fan as already modified by Bean) is aligned with the second blower relative to a first flow direction of the second air flow into the heating section (all airflow travels towards heating coil as nature of exchanging heat to air with blower), and
a second portion of the heating coil (portion of heating coil aligned to a second flow direction inline with lateral exit 15, see figure 1 and 2) is offset from the second blower relative to the additional flow direction of the second air flow into the heating section (as seen in figure 2, the blowers 17 are perpendicular to airflow through heat exchanger 14 however the blowers are stacked and provide air to heat exchanger at a shared distance, Hopkins as already modifying provides varied positioning between blowers, see below Hopkins [0075-0076]), and the additional flow direction of the second air flow is crosswise to the flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber (Hopkins as already modifying anticipates any orientation of blowers relative to each other [0075] and perpendicular to air flow as already cited in parent claim 1 [0075-0076] the placement of temperature exchange coils anticipated anywhere within airflow of system “an alternative array configuration could contain a plurality of fan units 200 that are arranged in a staggered configuration (as shown in FIG. 15) in multiple planes. It should be noted that cooling coils (not shown) could be added to the system either upstream or downstream of the fan units 200.” [0075])
Regarding claim 7, Maddox as modified teaches the HVAC system of claim 1, Maddox as already modified teaches comprising a baffle (Bean as already modifying blower heat exchanger relationship, provides nozzle/baffle 90, see figure 3-4) disposed within the housing and upstream of the heating coil relative to a direction of the first air flow through the chamber (Beans air flow directing components 90 are upstream of heat exchanger 74 for directing flow thereto “The cooling unit further may include at least one amplifier nozzle configured to direct supply air and/or return air to the heat exchanger.” [0054], “Air amplifier nozzles 90 may operate based on a Coanda effect. In some embodiments, ceiling return air may be pulled into air amplifier nozzles 90 by pressure created when supply air is pushed through the amplifier, e.g., by the primary fan module 84 and/or the AHU system 40.” [0035], see figure 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 8, Maddox as modified teaches the heating assembly of claim 7, Maddox as already modified teaches wherein the baffle is configured to deflect the first air flow toward the heating coil (Bean as already modifying provides directing of airflow to heat exchanger 74 via baffles 90 “The cooling unit further may include at least one amplifier nozzle configured to direct supply air and/or return air to the heat exchanger.” [0054], see figure 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 10, Maddox as modified teaches the HVAC system of claim 1, Maddox as already modified teaches comprising the first blower (17) and the second blower are different sizes (as already modified by Hopkins, see below [0062]) and are configured to direct the first air flow and the second air flow, respectively, into the chamber at different flow rates (“there might be several fan units 200 having different sizes and/or powers (both input and output). The different fan units 200 could be used in a single air-handling system” Hopkins [0062]).
Regarding claim 20, Maddox as modified teaches the heating system of claim 1, Maddox as already modified teaches (Fig-2 re-annotated) wherein the heating coil is more proximate the air outlet (C) than the opposite end portion of the heating coil (see figure 2 re-annotated providing heating coils 14 placed perpendicular across airflow through housing 10 and extending in direction of airflow from blowers 17/16 towards/proximate outlet C, in view of the oblique angled heat exchanger and blower position (primary/auxiliary) as already modified by Bean (Fig-5) and the upstream/series arrangement of blowers of Hopkins (Fig-3)).
Regarding claim 21, a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
a housing (10) defining a chamber (housing 10 around heaters 14) configured to receive a first air flow (via fan 17) and a second air flow (via fan 16, flow from inlet 20, through fans, through heaters 14 than through outlets C(re-annotated Fig-2)/15 “The air flow path through the unit may be seen from the schematic view of FIG. 4, where air is sucked into grille 20 by continuously running fan 17 and forced out grille 15 along a flow path identified by line 40 in the direction of arrow 41.” (column 2, lines 50-67)),
wherein the chamber comprises a vacant section (chamber space without heater 14) and a heating section (chamber space with heater 14), and the heating section comprises a heat exchanger (14) with at least one heating coil (heating coils of 14 “These coils 14 are controlled by solid state heating control circuits 47 as a function of the setting of potentiometer 53 to operate over a range from low to high heat output levels” (column 3, lines 12-20));
a first blower (17) configured to direct the first air flow into the vacant section of the chamber (as shown in figure 2 in view of airflow disclosed above (column 2, lines 50-67)), wherein the vacant section does not include a heat exchanger (nature of vacant, see figure 2); and
a second blower (16) configured to
wherein
14 creating an edge with wall having blowers 16/17) with a second side substantially perpendicular to the first side (discharge opening C of wall A/B being perpendicular to first side having blowers, see figure 2 re-annotated) including an air outlet (C, re-annotated figure 2) configured to discharge the first air flow and the second air flow from the housing (air outlet C into ducting portion at second outlet 15) wherein the heating coil is disposed at an
wherein the chamber comprises less heat exchangers than inlets (The heating coils 14 are of a single heat exchanger operable from single potentiometer 53 “When heating is designated the motor 50 operating in the opposite direction controls the variable setting of potentiometer 53 throughout a variable range controlling the amount of heat necessary from heater elements 14. These coils 14 are controlled by solid state heating control circuits 47 as a function of the setting of potentiometer 53 to operate over a range from low to high heat output levels, to thereby precisely maintain the required heat level without temperature fluctuations caused with on-off heat control cycling.” (column 3, lines 12-20), as disclosed above blowers 16/17 have respective pair of inlets).
Maddox is silent regarding wherein the second blower directs air into the heating section of the chamber and the heater being disposed at an oblique angle relative to a direction of the air flow.
However Bean teaches (Fig-3-5) a blower (84) configured to direct air flow into a heating section of chamber (heating element 74, Fan 84 is anticipated to various locations to include being directly facing heating component 74 of heating section within enclosure 72, “Cooled air from the supply duct 42 is delivered to the supply inlet 85 of the enclosure 72 and directed toward the heat exchanger 74. In the shown embodiment, the supply inlet 85, e.g., an opening, is provided at an end of the enclosure 72, with the fan module 84 being positioned within the supply inlet. In one embodiment, the supply inlet 85 is provided at the beginning of the enclosure 72 where cool air from the supply duct 42 enters the enclosure. It should be understood that the fan module 84 can be positioned in other locations, such as within the supply duct 42.” [0034] the fan 84 may be a primary or auxiliary fan, wherein other fans of the system are not in direct flow output to heater 74 “The primary fan module 84 functions as an in-line inlet booster fan for the VAV air being delivered by the AHU. When the AHU is in an “off” condition, the primary fan module 84 may be operated to draw in air from the building at large as a cooling source of the heat exchanger 74 serving the cooling system of the ITE 76.” [0034]) and the heater being disposed at an oblique angle relative to ta direction of the air flow (as shown in figure 5).
The advantage of directing at least a fan flow directly towards a heating component of a system having multiple fans, and the heater being disposed at an oblique angle relative to ta direction of the air flow is to provide primary/auxiliary fan in spaces available “the fan module 84 being positioned within the supply inlet. In one embodiment, the supply inlet 85 is provided at the beginning of the enclosure 72 where cool air from the supply duct 42 enters the enclosure. It should be understood that the fan module 84 can be positioned in other locations, such as within the supply duct 42.” [0034], and or to directly and therefor most efficiently force/boost air to heater “The cooling unit 70 further includes a plurality of air amplifier nozzles, each indicated at 90, which perform a function similar to an air amplifier known in the industry. The air from the AHU provided by the supply duct 42, boosted as needed by the primary fan module 84, is the primary mover for all airflow through the heat exchanger 74.” [0035] and place a heat exchanger having a length longer than width of enclosing space.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Maddox and Bean before him or her, to modify the indirect facing blower to heat exchanger of Maddox to include the primary or auxiliary fan directly facing heat exchanger of Bean because providing a primary/auxiliary fan anywhere within the system may make use of available space and or because providing a primary/auxiliary blower/fan directly facing to heat exchanger is the most efficient fluid transfer to heat exchanger and because a heat changer having a length longer than width of enclosure must be positioned accordingly.
Maddox is silent regarding wherein the first blower is configured to direct the first air flow into the housing up stream of the second air flow directed into the housing via the second blower relative to a flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber, and the first inlet is positioned upstream of the second inlet relative to the flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber.
However Hopkins teaches wherein the first blower is configured to direct the first air flow into the housing up stream of the second air flow directed into the housing via the second blower relative to a flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber, and the first inlet is positioned upstream of the second inlet relative to the flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber (blowers/inlets may be arranged in any position perpendicular to air flow that permits fans to operate with restrictions around air shafts, emphasis added “It should be noted that an alternative embodiment would use a horizontally arranged fan array. In other words, the embodiments shown in FIGS. 3-15 could be used horizontally or vertically or in any direction perpendicular to the direction of air flow. For example, if a vertical portion of air duct is functioning as the air-handling compartment 202, the fan array may be arranged horizontally. This embodiment would be particularly practical in an air handling compartment for a return air shaft.” [0076], further details to relative position (upstream/downstream) of blowers “FIG. 8 shows a 3×1 fan array fan section in the air-handling system having three fan units 200. It should be noted that the array may be of any size or dimension of more than two fan units 200. It should be noted that although the fan units 200 may be arranged in a single plane (as shown in FIG. 3), an alternative array configuration could contain a plurality of fan units 200 that are arranged in a staggered configuration (as shown in FIG. 15) in multiple planes. It should be noted that cooling coils (not shown) could be added to the system either upstream or downstream of the fan units 200.” [0075]).
The advantage of wherein the first blower is configured to direct the first air flow into the housing up stream of the second air flow directed into the housing via the second blower relative to a flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber, and the first inlet is positioned upstream of the second inlet relative to the flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber, is to provide multiple blowers within spatial limitations of an air flow system “the embodiments shown in FIGS. 3-15 could be used horizontally or vertically or in any direction perpendicular to the direction of air flow. For example, if a vertical portion of air duct is functioning as the air-handling compartment 202, the fan array may be arranged horizontally. This embodiment would be particularly practical in an air handling compartment for a return air shaft.” [0076] reducing required real-estate and expense “Because real estate (e.g. structure space) is extremely expensive, the larger size of the air-handling compartment 102 is extremely undesirable. [0010] The single fan units 100 are expensive to produce and are gene custom produced for each job. [0011] Single fan units 100 are expensive to operate.” [0009].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Maddox and Hopkins before him or her, to modify the vertically stacked blower to heat exchanger of Maddox to include the varied arrangement of fans of Hopkins, because providing blowers in varied arrangements relative to one another is obvious for accommodating spatial limitations of the duct work and reduces expense.
Conclusion
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761