DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
The claims are rejected as follows:
Claims 1–10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tanaka et al., US 2005/0257687 A1 (“Tanaka”) in view of Helt et al., US 2007/0039462 A1 (“Helt”).
Regarding claim 1:
Tanaka discloses that an apparatus for filtering air (Tanaka’s air purifier 1). Tanaka Fig. 1, [0062]. Tanaka discloses that the apparatus 1 comprising a power supply (Tanaka’s power source 18) configured for providing electrical power. Tanaka Fig. 1, [0072]. Tanaka discloses a power control unit (Tanaka discloses it is preferable to control the voltage application to keep a constant discharge current value, the unit performs the control function is the claimed “power control unit”) configured for controlling the delivery of electrical power from the power supply to an electrical component (Tanaka discloses its power control unit control the voltage application to keep a constant discharge current value). Tanaka Fig. 1, [0072].
Tanaka discloses that the apparatus 1 comprising: a first filtering sub-assembly (Tanaka’s discharge device 11)) that includes a first electrical interconnect configured to receive electrical power from the power control unit and to provide the received electrical power to an electrical component of the first filtering sub-assembly (Tanaka discloses its discharge device 11 comprising discharge electrode 13 and counter electrode 14, both are connected to a power source 18, based on Tanaka’s power source 18 location, Tanaka’s first electrical interconnect would be a connecting surface located on Tanaka’s bottom part of frame 15 that is in direct contact with power source 18, and the first electrical interconnect receives power from power control unit of power source 18 and provide electrical power at current discharge current value to electrode 13 and 14). Tanaka Fig. 1, [0016], [0064] and [0072]. Tanaka also discloses a receiving portion (interior of Tanaka’s box-shaped casing body 2) configured to receive the first filtering sub-assembly 11 into a position within the apparatus 1. Tanaka Fig. 1, [0063]. Tanaka also discloses that the receiving portion including a second electrical interconnect (a connection surface located on power source 18 connecting Tanaka’s discharge device 11) that electrically mates with the first electrical interconnect of the first filtering sub-assembly when the first filtering sub-assembly is received by the receiving portion 2 into the position to place the first and second electrical interconnects into a mated position (Tanaka discloses its power source 18 is connected to both Tanaka’s discharge electrode 13 and counter electrodes 14, the connected position would be the mated position, this position also corresponds to a position where the first filtering sub-assembly 11 is received in Tanaka’s air purifier 1). Tanaka Fig. 1, [0072]. Tanaka discloses that the power control unit is electrically connected to the second electrical interconnect (to keep a constant discharge current value) and Tanaka discloses that an electrical connection between the power control unit and the first filtering sub-assembly is automatically established based on the mating of the first and the second electrical interconnect (when Tanaka’s first filter sub-assembly 11 is received in the casing 2, the first filter sub-assembly automatically establishes connection with the power source 11 because the mating process connects the electrodes to power supply, including the power control, Tanaka does not disclose additionally steps other than inserting the filter). Tanaka Fig. 1, [0072]. Tanaka also discloses a second filtering sub-assembly that contains a pre-filter (Tanaka’s pre-filter 8), wherein the air passes through the pre-filter 8 and to the first filtering sub-assembly 11 as indicated by arrow in Fig. 1.
Tanaka does not disclose a gasket that resists the air from escaping the apparatus. Tanaka does not disclose that wherein the air passes through the pre-filter and to the first filtering sub-assembly when the gasket resists the air from escaping the apparatus. Tanaka also does not explicitly disclose its power source 18 is “automatically mechanically connected” to its first electrical interconnect.
Similar to Tanaka, Helt discloses an air filtration system 30. Helt Fig. 4, [0053]. Similar to Tanaka, Helt’s air filtration system 30 comprises electrically chargeable filter unit 74 and a prefilter 80 received in a cabinet 62. Helt Fig. 4, [0039]. Additionally, Helt discloses a similar electrical connection, where Helt’s chargeable filter unit 74 comprising a first electrical interconnect 148 mated with a second electrical interconnect 180, which is a power source located on a wall (Helt’s base 88) of its cabinet 62. Helt Fig. 24, [0041]. Helt’s first electrical interconnect 148 is automatically mechanically connected and mated with Helt’s second electrical interconnect as shown in its Fig. 24. Helt also discloses a gasket (Helt’s continuous perimeter bead of adhesive 162, which seals core assembly 134 to its associated frame 94, and Helt discloses its filter units 74 comprising core assembly 134 and seal adhesive 162). Helt Fig. 14, [0047] and [0048]. Additionally, Helt disclsoes sealing ribs 100a and 102a on an outer peripheral of its frame 94, which would also read on the claimed gasket structure. Helt Fig. 10, [0042]. It would have been obvious for Tanaka to include Helt’s sealing ribs and sealing adhesive to ensure that unfiltered air does not bypass the filter media during filtration process. It would also have been obvious for Tanaka’s first and second electrical interconnect to be mechanical connect as shown by Helt for a more reliable and compact electrical connection. With such modification, when the air passes through Tanaka’s pre-filter 8 and the first filter sub-assembly 11, the gasket 162, 100a and 102a would resist the air from escaping the apparatus via the gap between Tanaka’s filter 11, 8 and casing 1.
Regarding claim 2:
It is noted that the limitation of “configured to retain attachment of the second filtering sub-assembly after the first filtering sub-assembly is received from the receiving portion” is directed to Product-by-Process claim. Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. MPEP 2113(I). Here, the examiner is interpreting that as long as modified Tanaka’s structure allows first attaching the first filtering assembly and then the second filtering sub-assembly, it would read on the claim.
Modified Tanaka does not explicitly disclose that the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a mechanical quick connect configured to retain attachment of the second filtering sub-assembly after the first filtering sub-assembly is received from the receiving portion.
However, Helt discloses a mechanical quick connect (Helt’s guide member 67a and 67) configured to retain attachment of the second filtering sub-assembly (Helt’s prefilter 80) after the first filtering sub-assembly (Helt’s field charging unit 76) is received from the receiving portion (Helt’s interior space of cabinet 62). Helt Figs. 5–6, [0043]. As shown in Helt’s Figs. 5–6, Helt does not specifically limit an order of retaining filters, and Helt’s filters are guide members provides means for properly positioning the field charging member 76 and prefilter 80. Helt Fig. 5–6, [0043]. It would have been obvious to include Helt’s guiding members 67a, 67, 65 in Tanaka such that Tanaka’s filters would be properly positioned and retained at a designated position.
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed in claim 2, it would have been obvious to include Helt’s guiding members 67a, 67, 65 in Tanaka such that Tanaka’s filters would be properly positioned and retained at a designated position. With such modification, modified Tanaka discloses that the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a mechanical quick connect (Helt’s guiding member 67 and 65) that retains attachment of the first filtering sub-assembly (Helt’s field charging member 76) to the receiving portion that receives the first filtering sub-assembly. Helt Fig. 6, [0043].
Regarding claim 4:
It is noted that the retaining sequence of filter sub-assembly is directed to Product-by-Process claim. Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. MPEP 2113(I). Here, the examiner is interpreting that as long as modified Tanaka’s structure allows retains attachment of the second filtering sub-assembly after the first filtering sub-assembly is received from the receiving portion, it would read on the claim.
Modified Tanaka discloses that the apparatus of claim 3, further comprising a second mechanical quick connect (Tanaka’s guiding member 67a) that retains attachment of the second filtering sub-assembly (Tanaka’s prefilter 8) after the first filtering sub-assembly (Tanaka’s filter 11) is received from the receiving portion (Helt’s guide members 67a, 67 and 65 does allows both retaining sequence and therefore read on the claim). Helt Fig. 6, [0043].
Regarding claim 5:
Modified Tanaka does not explicitly disclose that the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first filtering sub-assembly 11 is received by the receiving portion based on a sliding relative motion between the first filtering sub- assembly and the receiving portion 2.
However, as modified in claim 2, it would have been obvious to include Helt’s guiding members 67a, 67, 65 in Tanaka such that Tanaka’s filters would be properly positioned and retained at a designated position. With such modification, modified Tanaka would have its first filtering sub-assembly 11 received in the receiving portion based on a sliding relative motion between the first filter sub-assembly 11 and the receiving portion 2. Helt Fig. 5, [0043].
Regarding claim 6:
Modified Tanaka discloses that the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the mating of the first electrical interconnect (bottom surface of Tanaka’s frame 15) with the second electrical interconnect (connecting surface on Tanaka’s power source 18) is based on the sliding relative motion between the first filtering sub-assembly 11 and the receiving portion 2 (as discussed in claim 5, Helt’s guiding members 67a, 67 and 65 in Tanaka’s receiving portion 2 allows Tanaka’s first sub-assemblies 11 and 8 to be received in the casing 2 based on sliding relative motion, when the filter sub-assemblies 11 and 8 are received in Tanaka’s casing 2, the electrical connection is established and mating of the first electrical interconnect 15 and second electrical interconnect 18 is accomplished). Tanaka Fig. 1 and Helt Fig. 5, [0043].
Regarding claim 7:
Modified Tanaka does not disclose that the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a third electrical interconnect attached to the first filtering sub-assembly; and a fourth electrical interconnect attached to the receiving portion that is configured to mate with the third electrical interconnect, wherein a ground connection is provided to the first filtering sub-assembly when the third electrical interconnect mates with the fourth electrical interconnect.
However, Helt discloses a third electrical interconnect (Helt’s electrical contact 150) attached to the first filtering sub-assembly 74; and a fourth electrical interconnect (Helt’s electrical contacts 182 and 184) attached to the receiving portion (Helt’s base member 88) that is configured to mate with the third electrical interconnect 150, wherein a ground connection is provided to the first filtering sub-assembly 74 when the third electrical interconnect 150 mates with the fourth electrical interconnect 182 and 184. Helt Fig. 24, [0051]. It would have been obvious for modified Tanaka to include a grounding connection as disclosed by Helt because such grounding connection are known in the electrical filtration art. Additionally, grounding is a crucial safety measurement in electrical systems that provides a lower-resistance path for excess current to flow to the ground, prevent potential hazards like electrical shocks and fires. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include grounding because it is a crucial safety measurement.
Regarding claim 8:
Modified Tanaka discloses that the apparatus of claim 7, wherein: the first filtering sub-assembly 11 is received by the receiving portion 2 based on a sliding relative motion between the first filtering sub-assembly and the receiving portion (this limitation is addressed in claim 5), and the mating of the first electrical interconnect with the second electrical interconnect is based on the sliding relative motion between the first filtering sub-assembly and the receiving portion (this limitation is addressed in claim 6).
Regarding claim 9:
Modified Tanaka discloses that the apparatus of claim 1, where the electrical component of the first filtering sub-assembly includes: an electrical wire (Tanaka’s ionization wires 9a) that receives the electricity to charge particles in the air as the air passes into an input of the first filtering sub-assembly 11 based on the electrical wire being located at the input of the first filtering sub-assembly (Tanaka’s ionization wires 9a is part of Tanaka’s ionization part 9, which is located upstream of Tanaka’s first filter subassembly 11) and the apparatus further comprising a filter (Tanaka’s catalyst part 12) located in proximity to an output of the first filtering sub-assembly (catalyst part 12 is located downstream of first filter sub-assembly 11). Tanaka Fig. 1, [0064] and [0092].
Regarding claim 13:
Modified Tanaka discloses that the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a first filter element 13 and a second filter element 14 that are located within the first filtering sub-assembly 11, wherein a first part of the first filter element 16 and a first part of the second filter element (Left part of second filter element 14 as shown in Fig. 2(c) in Tanaka) are separated by a first separation distance that is greater than a second separation distance that separates a second part of the first filter element 17 and a second part of the second filter element (right part of second filter element 14 as shown in Fig. 2(c) of Tanaka). Tanaka Fig. 2, [0069]. Modified Tanaka also discloses an electrical wire 9a that receives the electricity to charge particles in the air as the air passes into an input of the first filtering sub-assembly 11 based on the electrical wire being located at the input of the first filtering sub-assembly 11 (9a is located upstream of filter 11). Tanaka Fig. 6, [0093].
Claims 11–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tanaka in view of Helt, and in further view of Jeon et al., US 2020/0298160 A1 (“Jeon”).
Regarding claim 11:
Modified Tanaka does not disclose that the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more additional receiving portions, that each include a respective power control unit, each of the one or more additional receiving portions being configured to receive a respective additional first filtering sub-assembly, and being coupled to a respective additional second filtering sub-assembly.
Similar to modified Tanaka, Jeon discloses a filter apparatus as shown in its Fig. 1. Jeon Fig. 1, [0008]. Similar to modified Tanaka, Jeon’s filter apparatus comprises a receiving portion (Jeon’s wireless charging module 302) that include a power supply (Jeon’s wireless charging module is a power supply), and receive filtering assembly (Jeon’s second air purifier 2). Jeon Figs. 2 and 5, [0098]. Additionally, Jeon discloses an additionally receiving portions (Jeon’s third support charging module 312) that include a power supply and receive a respective filter assembly 3. Jeon Figs. 2 and 5, [0115]. Jeon’s filter is efficient and very flexible as it supports different configurations, with three filter stacks together as shown in Fig. 1 or with filter 2 and 3 located in different rooms. It would have been obvious for modified Tanaka to adopt Jeon’s design for a more flexible and efficient filtration effect. With such modification, modified Tanaka would have an additionally receiving portion each include a power control unit 18 with power control unit that receives Tanaka first filtering sub-assembly 11, and that each are coupled to a respective second filtering sub-assembly 8.
Regarding claim 12:
Modified Tanaka discloses that claimed limitation of that the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more additional receiving portions are physically connected (as shown in Jeon’s Fig. 5, receiving portions 302 and 312 are both physically connected to Jeon’s frame structure—Jeon’s backbone 8, and upper frame 315 and lower frame 313) and configured to fit into an air ducting system (intended use, modified Tanaka’s apparatus is capable to fit into an air ducting system for purification similar to that shown in Helt). Jeon Fig. 5, [0110] and Helt Fig. 1.
Claims 14–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tanaka in view of Helt, and in further view of Jaisinghani, US 2006/0150816 A1 (“Jaisinghani”).
Regarding claim 14:
Modified Tanaka does not disclose that the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the first filter element 13 and the second filter element 14 form a V shape based on the first separation distance being greater than the second separation distance.
Similar to modified Tanaka, Jaisinghani discloses an electrode filter 31. Jaisinghani Fig. 6, [0054]. Similar to modified Tanaka, Jaisinghani’s electrode filter 31 comprising two electrodes 4, and 5. Additionally, Jaisinghani’s filter 31 is arranged in deep V-pack arrangement. Jaisinghani Fig. 6, [0073]. Jaisinghani discloses electrode configuration of deep V-pack arrangement enables use of deep filter in a safe and risk-free manner, which is something not possible with contemporary designs. Jaisinghani also discloses that the extreme ratio between the length of each pleat of medium 1 within the V-pack to the fineness of the pitch between successive pleats enables the V-pack to contain much more filter media while providing a lower pressure drop along the path of the transient air flow. Filter medium 1 is itself not deep, but is configured into a V-pack arrangement that is quite deep. It would have been obvious to for modified Tanaka’s first filter sub-assembly 11 to be arranged in a deep V-pack arrangement as disclosed by Jaisinghani for the benefits disclosed. With such modification, modified Tanaka’s first filter subassembly would comprising a first filter element 4 and a second filter element 5 that forms a V-shape, where a first part of the first filter element 4 and a first part of the second filter element 5 (part of electrodes 4 and 5 proximate the opening of “V” shape) of Jaisinghani are separated by a first separation distance that is greater than a second separation distance that separates a second part of the first filter element 4 and a second part of the second filter element 5 (part of electrodes 4, 5 the proximate the closed bottom of “V” shape). Jaisinghani Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 15:
Modified Tanaka discloses that the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first separation distance is associated with a first location that is closer to the input of the first filtering sub-assembly than a second location that is farther from the input of the first filtering apparatus (as shown in Jaisinghani’s Fig. 6, the V shape opening faces the incoming air stream, and therefore, a first location associated with the first separation distance is located upstream compared to other part of the V-shaped filter). Jaisinghani Fig. 6.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
The examiner drops the current objection and new ground of objection is made. Details are provided above.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103
The applicant argues that Tanaka does not disclose or suggest electrical interconnects that automatically mate, electrically or mechanically, when a filtering sub-assembly is placed into a position within a receiving portion. Applicant Rem. dated Oct. 14, 2025 (“Applicant Rem.”) p. 9. The applicant argues that any assertion by the office that an electrical connection between the power source and the discharge electrode would be established by placing the discharge derive into a position within the apparatus is pure speculation and is not supported by evidence based on the disclosure of Tanaka. Id.
The examiner does not agree. Tanaka specifically discloses the power source 18 applying a discharge voltage to the discharge electrode 13 and counter electrodes 14. Tanaka [0072]. It is therefore not a speculation but a stated fact by Tanaka. A person of ordinary skill in the art understands that Tanaka’s air purifier 1 works in an assembled state, that is when Tanaka’s discharged device is placed into a position within the apparatus, which is the designed position for Tanaka’s electrode to receive power.
The applicant also argues that Helt does not cure the deficiencies of Tanaka because the engagement of the different contact members or contactors is not based on placing a sub-filter assembly in a particular position within a frame of the apparatus, rather, the electrical engagement of the contacts depends on the closing of a door 88 to establish the connection. Applicant Rem. p. 10.
The examiner doe not agree. Helt is merely relied upon to teach that a power source has to be mechanically connected to an electrical interconnect to establish electrical connection. Helt is not relied upon to teach placing a sub-filter assembly in particular position within a frame, because that has been covered by Tanaka.
Conclusion
/Qianping He/Examiner, Art Unit 1776