DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 30 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/25/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 21, 22 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goines, JR (US-20210229903-A1) in view of Otto (US-5697625-A).
Goines discloses a payload container (10) comprising: an outer wall (18) surrounding a chamber, the outer wall having a closed end (16) and an open end; and a gas vent (30) comprising a first gas vent opening (at 34) located at the closed end and providing fluid access between the chamber and the gas vent, and a second gas vent opening (at 32) located at the open end, the second gas vent opening configured to engage a hose to provide fluid access between the gas vent and the hose (par. 22, intended use), wherein the closed end is rounded (at the corner of 16 and 18) to form a void within the chamber, a retaining member (20) at the open end of the payload container, wherein the outer wall is a cylindrical outer wall (Fig. 1), wherein at least a portion of the gas vent is integrated within the outer wall, wherein the gas vent is positioned internal to the outer wall and within the chamber (Fig. 2), wherein when an item (5) comprising a lip located at a first end of the item is inserted into the chamber, the retaining member is configured to hold the item within the payload container by engaging the lip (par. 19), wherein the lip circumferentially extends around the first end of the item (par. 19), a payload container seal (20) positioned at the open end on an inside surface of the outer wall, and wherein the payload container is configured to be coupled to an unmanned aerial vehicle (the container is a physical structure so it is configured to be coupled to an unmanned aerial vehicle).
Goines fails to teach wherein the closed end is formed as an outward rounded portion of the outer wall to provide a void within the chamber.
Otto teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a container with a closed end (21) formed as an outward rounded portion of the outer wall (Fig. 2) to provide a void within the chamber (col. 3, lines 1-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the container with a rounded closed end, in order to accumulate material within the closed and since such a modification would have been a change in shape of an existing component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goines and Otto in view of Brennan (US-6554151-B1).
The modified container of Goines fails to teach a bumper positioned within the void of the chamber at the closed end of the payload container.
Brennan teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a container with a bumper (24) within the void of the chamber at the closed end of the payload container, wherein the bumper comprises a mechanical feature absorbs force over a distance (col. 3, lines 15-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the container with a bumper, in order to ensure that the vent functions properly.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goines and Otto in view of Najd (US-20050000967-A1).
The modified container of Goines fails to teach a bumper within the void, wherein the bumper comprises a magnet, the magnet at the closed end of the payload container, wherein the magnet is configured to attract to a magnet associated with an item to secure the item within the payload container, wherein the bumper comprises a mechanical feature that absorbs force over distance.
Najd teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a container with a bumper (18) comprising a magnet (20) at the closed end of the payload container (Fig. 1), wherein the magnet is configured to attract to a magnet associated with an item to secure the item within the payload container (any magnetic object), wherein the bumper comprises a mechanical feature absorbs force over a distance (par. 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the container with a bumper and magnet, in order to prevent the container from tipping.
Claim(s) 5 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goines and Otto in view of Ziegler (US-5799909-A).
The modified container of Goines discloses all the claimed limitations as shown above, but fails to teach wherein the retaining member is biased toward a center of the chamber defined by the outer wall, and a biasing member to exert a force on the retaining member to bias the retaining member toward the center of the chamber defined by the outer wall to engage an item and secure the item within the payload container.
Ziegler teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a container with a retaining member (24) that is biased toward a center of the chamber defined by the outer wall (col. 6, lines 38-53), and a biasing member (46) to exert a force on the retaining member to bias the retaining member toward the center of the chamber defined by the outer wall, to engage an item and secure the item within the payload container (the structure is capable of this).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the container with retaining member and biasing member, in order to secure objects in the container.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goines, Otto and Ziegler in view of Kehl (US-4416197-A).
The modified container of Goines fails to teach a second retaining member located at the open end of the payload container, wherein the second retaining member is biased toward the center of the chamber defined by the outer wall.
Kehl teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a first (30) and second (40) retaining member together.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufacture the retaining member as two retaining members, so that the container could be accessed in different ways.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goines and Otto in view of Pettinger (US-7635065-B1).
The modified container of Goines fails to teach wherein the gas vent is positioned external to the outer wall.
Pettinger discloses a payload container (10) comprising: an outer wall (30) surrounding a chamber, the outer wall having a closed end (34) and an open end; and a gas vent (14) comprising a first gas vent opening (26) located at the closed end and providing fluid access between the chamber and the gas vent, and a second gas vent opening (24) located at the open end, the second gas vent opening providing fluid access between the gas vent and an area external from the outer wall (Fig. 3), wherein the gas vent is positioned external to the outer wall (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the gas vent externally, so that the vent could be easily accessed and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Applicant’s remaining arguments have been addressed in the he rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733