Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 16, 18, 22, 31, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0061005 A1) in view Yerramalli et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0154446 A1)
1, KO teaches an apparatus for wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and one or more processors coupled to the at least one memory, and configured to caused the first UE to [par 0016, The first device may comprise: one or more memories storing instructions; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors connected to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers. For example, the one or more processors may execute the instructions to: receive, from a base station],
the first UE receive from a second UE a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) [par 0160, a first UE or a base station transmits S-SSB(s) to a second UE, time resource(s) for the second UE to relay the received S-SSB(s) to a third UE may be configured/defined. The second UE may obtain synchronization with the first UE or the base station by receiving the S-SSB(s) from the first UE or the base station]
determine, based on one or more parameters conveyed in the S-SSB, a resource block (RB) set for receiving sidelink transmissions from the second UE or another UE [par 0101, 0124, For example, the S-SSB may have a bandwidth of 11 resource blocks (RBs). For example, the PSBCH may exist across 11 RBs. In addition, a frequency position of the S-SSB may be (pre-)configured. Accordingly, the UE does not have to perform hypothesis detection at frequency to discover the S-SSB in the carrier. For example, the S-SSS(s) may be signal(s) used by the UE to obtain detailed synchronization and to detect a synchronization signal ID together with the S-PSS(s). For example, the PSBCH may be signal(s) used by a UE to signal basic system information. Accordingly, each signal included in the S-SSB may be a very important signal used by the UE to obtain synchronization and basic system information],
wherein the one or more parameters comprise an RB offset from a first RB of the S-SSB to a first RB of the RB set for receiving the sidelink transmissions [par 0016, For example, the one or more processors may execute the instructions to: receive, from a base station, information related to a time offset from a start of a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) period to a first S-SSB; receive, from the base station, information related to a time interval between S-SSBs; and transmit, to a second device, one or more S-SSBs within the S-SSB period based on at least one of the time offset or the time interval].
KO fail to show a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) transmitted in a reference subband, and monitor the based on the RB offset, the RB set for sidelink transmission from the second UE or the other UE
Yerramalli show a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) transmitted in a reference subband [par 0005, a user equipment (UE) to receive a set of synchronization signal block (SSB) configurations for a corresponding set of frequency resources (e.g., BWPs, sub-channels, subbands) configured for communications in a shared (e.g., unlicensed or shared licensed) frequency spectrum band],
and monitor the based on the RB offset, the RB set for sidelink transmission from the second UE or the other UE [abstract, par 0162, The UE may perform radio resource management (RRM) and radio link monitoring based on receiving the SSBs in one or more of the selected frequency resource sets according to the corresponding SSB configurations. The monitoring component 965 may determine, based on the received indication, a set of time and frequency resources to monitor for reference signals for at least one frequency resource set of the set of frequency resource sets. In some examples, the monitoring component 965 may monitor the at least one frequency
resource Set for reference signals according to the determined set of time and
frequency resources]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO and Yerramalli because the UE may minimize unnecessary overhead by aggregating a plurality of slots, and may maximize the transmission efficiency of the PSBCH or the amount of signaling data. [Yerramalli par 0182]
3, KO and Yerramalli describe the apparatus of claim 1, KO fail to show wherein the reference subband is located within unlicensed spectrum
In an analogous art Yerramalli show wherein the reference subband is located within unlicensed spectrum [Yerramalli, par 0005, Generally, the described techniques provide for a user equipment (UE) to receive a set of synchronization signal block (SSB) configurations for a corresponding set of frequency resources (e.99., BWPs, sub-channels, subbands) configured for communications in a shared (e.g., unlicensed or shared licensed) frequency spectrum band].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO and Yerramalli because the UE may minimize unnecessary overhead by aggregating a plurality of slots, and may maximize the transmission efficiency of the PSBCH or the amount of signaling data. [Yerramalli par 0182]
16, KO teaches an apparatus of wireless communication by a transmitter user equipment (UE), at least one memory and one or more processors coupled to the at least one memory, and configured to cause the transmitter UE to [par 0016, The first device may comprise: one or more memories storing instructions; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors connected to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers. For example, the one or more processors may execute the instructions to: receive, from a base station],
the first UE receive from a second UE a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) [par 0160, a first UE or a base station transmits S-SSB(s) to a second UE, time resource(s) for the second UE to relay the received S-SSB(s) to a third UE may be configured/defined. The second UE may obtain synchronization with the first UE or the base station by receiving the S-SSB(s) from the first UE or the base station]
determine, based on one or more parameters conveyed in the S-SSB, a resource block (RB) set for receiving sidelink transmissions from the second UE or another UE [par 0101, 0124, For example, the S-SSB may have a bandwidth of 11 resource blocks (RBs). For example, the PSBCH may exist across 11 RBs. In addition, a frequency position of the S-SSB may be (pre-)configured. Accordingly, the UE does not have to perform hypothesis detection at frequency to discover the S-SSB in the carrier. For example, the S-SSS(s) may be signal(s) used by the UE to obtain detailed synchronization and to detect a synchronization signal ID together with the S-PSS(s). For example, the PSBCH may be signal(s) used by a UE to signal basic system information. Accordingly, each signal included in the S-SSB may be a very important signal used by the UE to obtain synchronization and basic system information],
wherein the one or more parameters comprise an RB offset from a first RB of the S-SSB to a first RB of the RB set for receiving the sidelink transmissions [par 0016, For example, the one or more processors may execute the instructions to: receive, from a base station, information related to a time offset from a start of a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) period to a first S-SSB; receive, from the base station, information related to a time interval between S-SSBs; and transmit, to a second device, one or more S-SSBs within the S-SSB period based on at least one of the time offset or the time interval].
KO fail to show a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) transmitted in a reference subband.
In an analogous art Yerramalli a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) transmitted in a reference subband [par 0005, a user equipment (UE) to receive a set of synchronization signal block (SSB) configurations for a corresponding set of frequency resources (e.g., BWPs, sub-channels, subbands) configured for communications in a shared (e.g., unlicensed or shared licensed) frequency spectrum band],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO and Yerramalli because the UE may minimize unnecessary overhead by aggregating a plurality of slots, and may maximize the transmission efficiency of the PSBCH or the amount of signaling data. [Yerramalli par 0182]
18, KO and Yerramalli provide the apparatus of claim 16, KO fail to show wherein the reference subband is located within unlicensed spectrum
In an analogous art Yerramalli show wherein the reference subband is located within unlicensed spectrum [Yerramalli, par 0005, Generally, the described techniques provide for a user equipment (UE) to receive a set of synchronization signal block (SSB) configurations for a corresponding set of frequency resources (e.g., BWPs, sub-channels, subbands) configured for communications in a shared (e.g., unlicensed or shared licensed) frequency spectrum band].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO and Yerramalli because the UE may minimize unnecessary overhead by aggregating a plurality of slots, and may maximize the transmission efficiency of the PSBCH or the amount of signaling data. [Yerramalli par 0182]
22, KO and Yerramalli convey the apparatus of claim 16, KO fail to show wherein in order to determine the RB set the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter UE to determine the RB set based on one or more parameters indicated as a master information block (MIB) conveyed in the S-SSB
In an analogous art Yerramalli show wherein in order to determine the RB set the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter UE to determine the RB set based on one or more parameters indicated as a master information block (MIB) conveyed in the S-SSB [Yerramalli, par 0127, UE 115- d may monitor, based on receiving an indication that the received SSB is fixed relative to a measurement time window, a second frequency resource set of the set of frequency resource sets for system information. UE 115-d may receive the indication in an MIB of a received SSB or as a predetermined sequence of the received SSB. In some cases, UE 115-d may identify, for at least one of the one or more of the frequency resource sets that are fixed in response to the received identification]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO and Yerramalli because the UE may minimize unnecessary overhead by aggregating a plurality of slots, and may maximize the transmission efficiency of the PSBCH or the amount of signaling data. [Yerramalli par 0182]
31. KO teaches the first UE receive from a second UE a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) [par 0160, a first UE or a base station transmits S-SSB(s) to a second UE, time resource(s) for the second UE to relay the received S-SSB(s) to a third UE may be configured/defined. The second UE may obtain synchronization with the first UE or the base station by receiving the S-SSB(s) from the first UE or the base station]
determine, based on one or more parameters conveyed in the S-SSB, a resource block (RB) set for receiving sidelink transmissions from the second UE or another UE [par 0101, 0124, For example, the S-SSB may have a bandwidth of 11 resource blocks (RBs). For example, the PSBCH may exist across 11 RBs. In addition, a frequency position of the S-SSB may be (pre-)configured. Accordingly, the UE does not have to perform hypothesis detection at frequency to discover the S-SSB in the carrier. For example, the S-SSS(s) may be signal(s) used by the UE to obtain detailed synchronization and to detect a synchronization signal ID together with the S-PSS(s). For example, the PSBCH may be signal(s) used by a UE to signal basic system information. Accordingly, each signal included in the S-SSB may be a very important signal used by the UE to obtain synchronization and basic system information],
wherein the one or more parameters comprise an RB offset from a first RB of the S-SSB to a first RB of the RB set for receiving the sidelink transmissions [par 0016, For example, the one or more processors may execute the instructions to: receive, from a base station, information related to a time offset from a start of a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) period to a first S-SSB; receive, from the base station, information related to a time interval between S-SSBs; and transmit, to a second device, one or more S-SSBs within the S-SSB period based on at least one of the time offset or the time interval].
KO fail to show a method of wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a second UE, a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) transmitted in a reference subband, and monitor the based on the RB offset, the RB set for sidelink transmission from the second UE or the other UE
Yerramalli show a method of wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a second UE, a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) transmitted in a reference subband [par 0049, For example, multiple subbands may be activated for the subsequent communications based on the successful LBT procedures. In some cases, the base station may transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) on one or more activated subbands, where each subband may include a corresponding SSB configuration that may include how the SSBs may be transmitted on each subband. For example, the SSBs may be transmitted according to a floating configuration within a measurement window or according to a fixed configuration outside of the measurement window. Accordingly, based on the SSB configurations and the multiple activated subbands, the UE may perform different measurements, monitor for different signals, or a combination thereof]
and monitor the based on the RB offset, the RB set for sidelink transmission from the second UE or the other UE [abstract, par 0162, The UE may perform radio resource management (RRM) and radio link monitoring based on receiving the SSBs in one or more of the selected frequency resource sets according to the corresponding SSB configurations. The monitoring component 965 may determine, based on the received indication, a set of time and frequency resources to monitor for reference signals for at least one frequency resource set of the set of frequency resource sets. In some examples, the monitoring component 965 may monitor the at least one frequency resource Set for reference signals according to the determined set of time and frequency resources]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO and Yerramalli because the UE may minimize unnecessary overhead by aggregating a plurality of slots, and may maximize the transmission efficiency of the PSBCH or the amount of signaling data. [Yerramalli par 0182]
32, KO disclose determining, based on one or more parameters conveyed in the S-SSB, a resource block (RB) set for sidelink transmissions to the second UE or another UE[par 0160, a first UE or a base station transmits S-SSB(s) to a second UE, time resource(s) for the second UE to relay the received S-SSB(s) to a third UE may be configured/defined. The second UE may obtain synchronization with the first UE or the base station by receiving the S-SSB(s) from the first UE or the base station]
wherein the one or more parameters comprise an RB offset from a first RB of the S-SSB to a first RB of the RB set for the sidelink transmissions [par 0101, 0124, For example, the S-SSB may have a bandwidth of 11 resource blocks (RBs). For example, the PSBCH may exist across 11 RBs. In addition, a frequency position of the S-SSB may be (pre-)configured. Accordingly, the UE does not have to perform hypothesis detection at frequency to discover the S-SSB in the carrier. For example, the S-SSS(s) may be signal(s) used by the UE to obtain detailed synchronization and to detect a synchronization signal ID together with the S-PSS(s). For example, the PSBCH may be signal(s) used by a UE to signal basic system information. Accordingly, each signal included in the S-SSB may be a very important signal used by the UE to obtain synchronization and basic system information],
and transmitting, using one or more RBs in the RB set based on the RB offset, sidelink transmissions to the second UE or the other UE [par 0016, For example, the one or more processors may execute the instructions to: receive, from a base station, information related to a time offset from a start of a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) period to a first S-SSB; receive, from the base station, information related to a time interval between S-SSBs; and transmit, to a second device, one or more S-SSBs within the S-SSB period based on at least one of the time offset or the time interval].
Ko fail to show a method of wireless communication by a transmitter user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting, to a second UE, a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) in a reference subband
Yeramalli show a method of wireless communication by a transmitter user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting, to a second UE, a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) in a reference subband[par 0049, For example, multiple subbands may be activated for the subsequent communications based on the successful LBT procedures. In some cases, the base station may transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) on one or more activated subbands, where each subband may include a corresponding SSB configuration that may include how the SSBs may be transmitted on each subband. For example, the SSBs may be transmitted according to a floating configuration within a measurement window or according to a fixed configuration outside of the measurement window. Accordingly, based on the SSB configurations and the multiple activated subbands, the UE may perform different measurements, monitor for different signals, or a combination thereof]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO and Yerramalli because the UE may minimize unnecessary overhead by aggregating a plurality of slots, and may maximize the transmission efficiency of the PSBCH or the amount of signaling data. [Yerramalli par 0182]
Claim(s) 2, 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0061005 A1) in view of Yerramalli et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0154446 A1) in further view of Hahn et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0279496 A1).
2, KO and Yerramalli disclose the apparatus of claim 1, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein the RB set comprises an interlace structure of non- contiguous RBs.
In an analogous art Hahn show wherein the RB set comprises an interlace structure of non-contiguous RBs [par 0113, A plurality of RBs included in each of one subchannel and one RB set may be contiguous RBs or non-contiguous RBs. One frequency band allocated by one piece of control information (e.g., frequency resource assignment included in a DCI and/or SCI) in the frequency domain may include subcarrier(s), RB(s), subchannel(s), or RB set(s))].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and Hahn because this provide a method for configuring sidelink resources for data transmission in a communication system.[Hahn par 0006]
17. KO and Yerramalli provide the apparatus of claim 16, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein the RB set comprises an interlace structure of non- contiguous RBs.
In an analogous art Hahn show wherein the RB set comprises an interlace structure of non-contiguous RBs[par 0113, A plurality of RBs included in each of one subchannel and one RB set may be contiguous RBs or non-contiguous RBs. One frequency band allocated by one piece of control information (e.g., frequency resource assignment included in a DCI and/or SCI) in the frequency domain may include subcarrier(s), RB(s), subchannel(s), or RB set(s))].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yerramalli, KO, and Hahn because this provide a method for configuring sidelink resources for data transmission in a communication system.[Hahn par 0006]
Claim(s) 5, 6, 20, 21, 33, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0061005 A1) in view of Yerramalli et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0154446 A1) in further view of Hwang et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0300862 A1).
5, KO and Yerramalli disclose the apparatus of claim 1, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein determine the RB set the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to select the RB set from a group of pre-configured RB sets within the reference subband
In an analogous art HWANG show wherein determine the RB set the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to select the RB set from a group of pre-configured RB sets within the reference subband [par 0016, 0094,0096, a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band using a sensing operation by allocating a sub-channel for each resource block set for an unlicensed band and aligning a resource block set and the sub-channel. For example, UE 1 may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource in a resource pool, which represents a set of resources. Then, UE 1 may transmit an SL signal through the resource unit].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and HWANG because to provide a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band.[Hwang par 0266]
6, KO, Yerramalli, and HWANG provide the apparatus of claim 5, KO and Yerramalli fail to show disclose wherein adjacent pre-configured RB in the group are separated by defined guard bands.
In an analogous art HWANG show disclose wherein adjacent pre-configured RB in the group are separated by defined guard bands [par 0257, However, when the Sidelink signal needs to be transmitted only from continuous frequency resources (that is, when frequency continuity is ensured only when the remaining resource block is used) and the resource block set including the remaining resource block and the resource block set adjacent to the remaining resource block are IDLE, the first UE may transmit the sidelink signal using up to the remaining resource block as an exception. Alternatively, when a guard band is included between the resource block set and the adjacent resource block set, the first VE may transmit the sidelink signal using the remaining block and the guard band if the above-described exception condition is satisfied].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and HWANG because to provide a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band.[Hwang par 0266]
20. KO and Yerramalli provide the apparatus of claim 16, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein in order to determine the RB set, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter UE to select the RB set from a group of preconfigured RB sets within the reference subband
In an analogous art HWANG show wherein in order to determine the RB set, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter UE to select the RB set from a group of preconfigured RB sets within the reference subband [par 0016, 0094,0096, a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band using a sensing operation by allocating a sub-channel for each resource block set for an unlicensed band and aligning a resource block set and the sub-channel. For example, UE 1 may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource in a resource pool, which represents a set of resources. Then, UE 1 may transmit an SL signal through the resource unit].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and HWANG because to provide a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band.[Hwang par 0266]
21. KO, Yerramalli, and HWANG disclose the apparatus of claim 20, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein adjacent pre- configured RB in the group are separated by defined guard bands.
In an analogous art HWANG show wherein adjacent pre- configured RB in the group are separated by defined guard bands[par 0257, However, when the sidelink signal needs to be transmitted only from continuous frequency resources (that is, when frequency continuity is ensured only when the remaining resource block is used) and the resource block set including the remaining resource block and the resource block set adjacent to the remaining resource block are IDLE, the first UE may transmit the sidelink signal using up to the remaining resource block as an exception. Alternatively, when a guard band is included between the resource block set and the adjacent resource block set, the first UE may transmit the sidelink signal using the remaining block and the guard band if the above-described exception condition is satisfied].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and HWANG because to provide a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band.[Hwang par 0266]
33. KO and Yerramalli describe the apparatus of claim 1, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein the one or more parameters conveyed in the S-SSB indicate one or more guard bands associated with the RB set.
In an analogous art HWANG show wherein the one or more parameters conveyed in the S-SSB indicate one or more guard bands associated with the RB set [par 0265, the BS may transmit information about a condition for allowing use of the remaining resource block and/or guard band for each of the resource block sets to the first UE. For example, transmission of a sidelink signal using the remaining resource block may not be allowed in principle, but the sidelink signal may need to be transmitted only in continuous frequency resources (i.e., when frequency continuity is ensured only when the remaining resource block is used)],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and HWANG because to provide a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band.[Hwang par 0266]
34. KO and Yerramalli describe the apparatus of claim 16, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein the one or more parameters conveyed in the S-SSB indicate one or more guard bands associated with the RB set.
In an analogous art HWANG show wherein the one or more parameters conveyed in the S-SSB indicate one or more guard bands associated with the RB set [par 0265, the BS may transmit information about a condition for allowing use of the remaining resource block and/or guard band for each of the resource block sets to the first UE. For example, transmission of a sidelink signal using the remaining resource block may not be allowed in principle, but the sidelink signal may need to be transmitted only in continuous frequency resources (i.e., when frequency continuity is ensured only when the remaining resource block is used)],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and HWANG because to provide a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band.[Hwang par 0266]
Claim(s) 7, 8, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0061005 A1) in view of Yerramalli et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0154446 A1) in further view of SELVANESAN et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0084999 Al).
7, KO and Yerramalli create the apparatus of claim 1, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein determining the RB set comprises: determining the RB set based on one or more parameters indicated as a master information block (MIB) conveyed in the S- SSB.
In an analogous art SELVANESAN show wherein determining the RB set comprises: determining the RB set based on one or more parameters indicated as a master information block (MIB) conveyed in the S-SSB [par 0004, the physical broadcast channel, PBCH, and the physical sidelink broadcast channel, PSBCH, carrying for example a master information block, MIB, and one or more of a system information block, SIB, one or more sidelink information blocks (SLIBs) if supported, the physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, the physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, and the physical sidelink control channels]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and SELVANESAN because this provide allowing for a reliable determination of resources to be used fora transmission over the sidelink at a UE operating in the DRX mode[SELVANESAN par 0151]
8. KO and Yerramalli, and SELVANSAN describe the apparatus of claim 7, KO, and Yerramalli fail to show wherein: the MIB is conveyed in a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH); and the one or more parameters comprise a subcarrier offset from a PBSCH that defines a configurable RB grid on which the RB set is located.
In an analogous art SELVANSAN show wherein: the MIB is conveyed in a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH); and the one or more parameters comprise a subcarrier offset from a PBSCH that defines a configurable RB grid on which the RB set is located[par 0004, For data transmission a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements to which various physical channels and physical signals are mapped. The physical broadcast channel, PBCH, and the physical sidelink broadcast channel, PSBCH, carrying for example a master information block, MIB, and one or more of a system information block, SIB, one or more sidelink information blocks (SLIBs) if supported].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO and Yerramalli, and SELVANESAN because this provide allowing for a reliable determination of resources to be used for a transmission over the sidelink at a UE operating in the DRX mode[SELVANESAN par 0151]
23. KO and Yerramalli disclose the apparatus of claim 22, KO and Yerramalli and fail to show wherein: the MIB is conveyed in a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH); and the one or more parameters comprise a subcarrier offset from a PBSCH that defines a configurable RB grid on which the RB set is located.
In an analogous art SELVANESAN show wherein: the MIB is conveyed in a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH); and the one or more parameters comprise a subcarrier offset from a PBSCH that defines a configurable RB grid on which the RB set is located[par 0004, For data transmission a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements to which various physical channels and physical signals are mapped. The physical broadcast channel, PBCH, and the physical sidelink broadcast channel, PSBCH, carrying for example a master information block, MIB, and one or more of a system information block, SIB, one or more sidelink information blocks (SLIBs) if supported].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and SELVANESAN because this provide allowing for a reliable determination of resources to be used for a transmission over the sidelink at a UE operating in the DRX mode[SELVANESAN par 0151]
Claim(s) 10-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0061005 A1) in view of Yerramalli et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0154446 A1) in further view of SELVANESAN et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0084999 A1) in further view of LIU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0029678 A1)
10, KO, Yerramalli, and SELVANESAN convey the apparatus of claim 7, Ko and Yerramalli fail to show wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to determines the RB set as part of configuration of an initial bandwidth part (BWP) or an initial resource pool (RP)
In an analogous art Yerramalli show wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to determines the RB set as part of configuration of an initial bandwidth part (BWP) or an initial resource pool (RP)[par 0091, a UE 115 may be configured to monitor a single, active BWP (e.g., active frequency resource set) at a time. However, after performing the LBT procedures on each subband for all configured BWPs, multiple subbands may be available to be active for subsequent communications];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, SELVANESAN, and Yerramalli because the UE may minimize unnecessary overhead by aggregating a plurality of slots, and may maximize the transmission efficiency of the PSBCH or the amount of signaling data. [Yerramalli par 0182]
Yerramalli, KO, and SELVANESAN fail to show in order to monitor the RB set for sidelink transmissions from the second UE or the other UE the other UE the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to monitor initial BWP or the initial RP for transmissions of at least one of system information (Sl) or radio resource configuration (RRC) configuration messages.
In an analogous art LIU show in order to monitor the RB set for sidelink transmissions from the second UE or the other UE the other UE the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to monitor initial BWP or the initial RP for transmissions of at least one of system information (SI) or radio resource
Configuration (RRC) configuration messages[par 0055, A NonSIB1-initialBWP
414 (e.g., the initial BWP for the additional system information other than SIB1)
May be indicated in the system information (408). The system information may indicate whether additional system information (referred to as other system information
(OSI)) to be transmitted is broadcast or non-broadcast (e.g., dedicated) OSI.
The CORESET 410 configured in the NonSIB1-initialBWP 414 is used for the
UE to monitor the PDCCH 410 for OSI within a PDSCH 412].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of
Ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, SELVANESAN, and LIU because this would improve coverage by combining new signals and part of the legacy signals for the system information further, such design may allow for the transmission of new signals with backward compatibility and improve the spectrum efficiency with minimized impact on legacy UEs (e.g., the reception of OSI) [LIU par 0057]
11, KO, Yerramalli, SELVANESAN, and LIU provide the apparatus of claim 10, KO, Yerramalli, and SELVABESAN fail to show wherein the MIB indicates a location and size of the initial BWP or the initial RP.
In an analogous art LIU show wherein the MIB indicates a location and size of the initial BWP or the initial RP [par 0059, a UE may receive a MIB that indicates a location and size of an initial BWP 502 (referred to as BWP#O in FIG. 5). A UE may receive an SSB 504 within the initial BWP 502].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, SELVANESAN, and LIU because this would improve coverage by combining new signals and part of the legacy signals for the system information. Further, such design may allow for the transmission of new signals with backward compatibility and improve the spectrum efficiency with minimized impact on legacy UEs (e.g., the reception of OSI) [LIU par 0057]
12, KO, Yerramalli, SELVANESAN, and LIU reveal the apparatus claim 10, KO, Yerramalli, and SELVANESAN fail to show wherein the MIB indicates a location and size of the initial BWP or the initial RP via one or more bits of a time division duplex (TDD) field.
In an analogous art LIU show wherein the MIB indicates a location and size of the initial BWP or the initial RP via one or more bits of a time division duplex (TDD) field[par 0059, a UE may receive a MIB that indicates a location and size of an initial BWP 502 (referred to as BWP#O0 in FIG. 5). A UE may receive an SSB 504 within the initial BWP 502).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, SELVANESAN, and LIU because this would improve coverage by combining new signals and part of the legacy signals for the system information. Further, such design may allow for the transmission of new signals with backward compatibility and improve the spectrum efficiency with minimized impact on legacy UEs (e.g., the reception of OSI) [LIU par 0057]
Claim(s) 13, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0061005 A1) in view of Yerramalli et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0154446 A1) in further view of Tao et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0167396 A1)
13, KO and Yerramalli reveal the apparatus, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein: in order to monitor the RB set for sidelink transmissions from the second UE or the other UE, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to monitor the RB set for system information that configures at least one of: a wideband RB set that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband; a wideband bandwidth part (BWP) that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband; or a wideband resource pool (RP) that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband.
In an analogous art Tao show wherein: monitor the RB set for sidelink transmissions from the second UE or the other UE, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to monitor the RB set for system information that configures at least one of: a wideband RB set that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband; a wideband bandwidth part (BWP) that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband; or a wideband resource pool (RP) that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband [par 0051, the network device may allocate a predetermined BWP of the wideband for a DL transmission of the TB from the network device 120 to the terminal device 110 while the LBT may be perform in each subbands of 20 MHz. That is, the predetermined BWP may span far beyond the range of LBT subband, i.e. 20 MHz].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and Tao because a feedback corresponding to interference conditions with a certain subband may be provided for the CWS adjustment and the signalling overhead is significantly reduced.[Tao par 0081].
28. KO and Yerramalli provide the apparatus of claim 16, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein: in order to transmit the sidelink transmissions to the second UE or the other UE, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter UE to transmit system information that configures at least one of: a wideband RB set that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband; a wideband bandwidth part (BWP) that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband; or a wideband resource pool (RP) that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband.
In an analogous art Tao show wherein: in order to transmit the sidelink transmissions to the second UE or the other UE, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter UE to transmit system information that configures at least one of: a wideband RB set that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband; a wideband bandwidth part (BWP) that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband; or a wideband resource pool (RP) that spans a frequency band wider than the reference subband[par 0051, the network device may allocate a predetermined BWP of the wideband for a DL transmission of the TB from the network device 120 to the terminal device 110 while the LBT may be perform in each subbands of 20 MHz. That is, the predetermined BWP may span far beyond the range of LBT subband, i.e. 20 MHz].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and Tao because a feedback corresponding to interference conditions with a certain subband may be provided for the CWS adjustment and the signalling overhead is significantly reduced.[Tao par 0081].
Claim(s) 14, 15, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0061005 A1) in view of Yerramalli et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0154446 A1) in view of Tao et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0167396 A1) in further view of Hwang et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0300862 A1)
14. KO, Yerramalli, and Tao disclose the apparatus of claim 13, KO, Yerramalli, and Tao fail to show wherein: the system information indicates a frequency offset and guard band configuration for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP.
In an analogous art Hwang show wherein: the system information indicates a frequency offset and guard band configuration for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP [par 0020, 0021, The resource pool may be allocated based on a frequency offset included in the configuration information. The frequency offset may be an interval between start frequencies of sub-channels from a first resource block of a pre-configured resource block set among the plurality of resource block sets].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, Tao, and HWANG because to provide a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band.[Hwang par 0266]
15. KO, Yerramalli, and Tao display the apparatus of claim 13, KO, Yerramalli, and Tao fail to show wherein: the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP is used for unicast sidelink transmissions; the system information indicates a frequency offset for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP; and the first UE receives per link guard band configuration for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP.
In an analogous art HWANG show wherein: the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP is used for unicast sidelink transmissions[par 0146, In the case of sidelink (SL) unicast and group cast, HARQ feedback and HARQ combining at a physical layer may be supported];
the system information indicates a frequency offset for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP[par 0020, 0021, The resource pool may be allocated based on a frequency offset included in the configuration information. The frequency offset may be an interval between start frequencies of sub-channels from a first resource block of a pre-configured resource block set among the plurality of resource block sets];
and the first UE receives per link guard band configuration for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP [par 0227, For example, when the PSCCH/PSSCH, which is a sidelink signal, may need to be transmitted in a continuous frequency resource region, the UE may also be permitted to perform transmission of the sidelink signal even in the guard band (between resource block sets configured for a carrier related to an unlicensed band or a guard region)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, Tao and HWANG because to provide a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band.[Hwang par 0266].
29. KO, Yerramalli, and Tao disclose the apparatus of claim 28, KO, Yerramalli, and Tao fail to show wherein the system information indicates a frequency offset and guard band configuration for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP.
In an analogous art Hwang show wherein the system information indicates a frequency offset and guard band configuration for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP[par 0020, 0021, The resource pool may be allocated based on a frequency offset included in the configuration information. The frequency offset may be an interval between start frequencies of sub-channels from a first resource block of a pre-configured resource block set among the plurality of resource block sets].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, Tao, and HWANG because to provide a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band. .[Hwang par 0266]
30. KO, Yerramalli, and Tao teaches the apparatus of claim 28, KO, Yerramalli, and Tao fail to show wherein: the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter UE to use the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP for unicast sidelink transmissions; the system information indicates a frequency offset for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP; and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter UE to transmit, to the second UE or the other UE, per link guard band configuration for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP.
In an analogous art Hwang show wherein: the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP is used for unicast sidelink transmissions[par 0146, In the case of sidelink (SL) unicast and group cast, HARQ feedback and HARQ combining at a physical layer may be supported];
the system information indicates a frequency offset for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP[par 0020, 0021, The resource pool may be allocated based on a frequency offset included in the configuration information. The frequency offset may be an interval between start frequencies of sub-channels from a first resource block of a pre-configured resource block set among the plurality of resource block sets];
and the first UE receives per link guard band configuration for the at least one of the wideband RB set, the wideband BWP, or the wideband RP [par 0227, For example, when the PSCCH/PSSCH, which is a sidelink signal, may need to be transmitted in a continuous frequency resource region, the UE may also be permitted to perform transmission of the sidelink signal even in the guard band (between resource block sets configured for a carrier related to an unlicensed band or a guard region)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, Tao and HWANG because to provide a method and apparatus for transmitting a sidelink signal in an unlicensed band using a sub-channel with a predetermined size even if only some resource block sets are selected among a plurality of resource block sets included in the unlicensed band1. [Hwang par 0266].
Claim(s) 25-27, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0061005 A1) in view of Yerramalli et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0154446 A1) in further view of LIU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0029678 A1)
25. KO and Yerramalli display the apparatus of claim 22, KO fail to show wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the transmitter UE to determine the RB set as part of configuration of an initial bandwidth part (BWP) or an initial resource pool (RP)
In an analogous art Yerramalli show wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the transmitter UE to determine the RB set as part of configuration of an initial bandwidth part (BWP) or an initial resource pool (RP) [Yerramalli par 0091, a UE 115 may be configured to monitor a single, active BWP (e.g., active frequency resource set) at a time. However, after performing the LBT procedures on each subband for all configured BWPs, multiple subbands may be available to be active for subsequent communications];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO and Yerramalli because the UE may minimize unnecessary overhead by aggregating a plurality of slots, and may maximize the transmission efficiency of the PSBCH or the amount of signaling data. [Yerramalli par 0182]
KO and Yerramalli fail to show in order to transmit the sidelink transmissions to the second UE or the other UE, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter UE to transmit, on the initial BWP or the initial RP, at least one of system information (SI) or radio resource configuration (RRC) configuration messages.
In an analogous art Liu show in order to transmit the sidelink transmissions to the second UE or the other UE, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter UE to transmit, on the initial BWP or the initial RP, at least one of system information (SI) or radio resource configuration (RRC) configuration messages[par 0055, A NonSIB1-initialBWP 414 (e.g., the initial BWP for the additional system information other than SIB1) may be indicated in the system information (408). The system information may indicate whether additional system information (referred to as other system information (OSI)) to be transmitted is broadcast or non-broadcast (e.g., dedicated) OSI. The CORESET 410 configured in the NonSIB1-initialBWP 414 is used for the UE to monitor the PDCCH 410 for OSI within a PDSCH 412].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and LIU because this would improve coverage by combining new signals and part of the legacy signals for the system information. Further, such design may allow for the transmission of new signals with backward compatibility and improve the spectrum efficiency with minimized impact on legacy UEs (e.g., the reception of OSI) [LIU par 0057]
26. KO, Yerramalli, and LIU convey the apparatus claim 25, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein the MIB indicates a location and size of the initial BWP or the initial RP.
In an analogous art LIU show wherein the MIB indicates a location and size of the initial BWP or the initial RP[par 0059, a UE may receive a MIB that indicates a location and size of an initial BWP 502 (referred to as BWP#O in FIG. 5). A UE may receive an SSB 504 within the initial BWP 502].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and LIU because this would improve coverage by combining new signals and part of the legacy signals for the system information. Further, such design may allow for the transmission of new signals with backward compatibility and improve the spectrum efficiency with minimized impact on legacy UEs (e.g., the reception of OSI) [LIU par 0057]
27. KO, Yerramalli, KO, and LIU reveal the apparatus of claim 25, KO and Yerramalli fail to show wherein the MIB indicates a location and size of the initial BWP or the initial RP via one or more bits of a time division duplex (TDD) field.
In an analogous art LIU show wherein the MIB indicates a location and size of the initial BWP or the initial RP via one or more bits of a time division duplex (TDD) field[par 0059, a UE may receive a MIB that indicates a location and size of an initial BWP 502 (referred to as BWP#O in FIG. 5). A UE may receive an SSB 504 within the initial BWP 502].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KO, Yerramalli, and LIU because this would improve coverage by combining new signals and part of the legacy signals for the system information. Further, such design may allow for the transmission of new signals with backward compatibility and improve the spectrum efficiency with minimized impact on legacy UEs (e.g., the reception of OSI) [LIU par 0057]
Response to Arguments
However, Hwang fails to teach or suggest a determination of an RB set “based on one or more parameters conveyed in the S-SSB” where the “one or more parameters comprise an RB offset from a first RB of the S-SSB to a first RB of the RB set for receiving the sidelink transmissions” as required by the claims.
Moreover, the Non-Final Office Action fails to identify which specific features of Hwang allegedly teach the “one or more parameters conveyed in the S-SSB” which comprise “an RB offset from a first RB of the S-SSB to a first RB of the RB set” based on which an RB set is allegedly determined in Hwang.
In fact, the cited paragraphs [0018], [0094], and [0234] of Hwang fail to even disclose an S-SSB at all, much less that an offset from a first RB of an S-SSB is conveyed in an S- SSB.
Applicant submits that Hwang fails to teach “determining, based on one or more parameters conveyed in the S-SSB, a resource block (RB) set for receiving sidelink transmissions from the second UE or another UE, wherein the one or more parameters comprise an RB offset from a first RB of the S-SSB to a first RB of the RB set for receiving the sidelink transmissions, and monitoring, based on the RB offset, the RB set for sidelink transmissions from the second UE or the other UE,” (emphasis added) as recited in claim 31 and similar features recited in claims 1, 16, and 32. As such, Hwang fails to cure the deficiencies of Yerramalli.
Accordingly, Applicant submits that claims 1, 16, 31, and 32, as well as claims depending thereon, are allowable and respectfully requests withdrawal of these rejections.
The applicants arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Hahn fails to overcome the deficiencies of Yerramalli and Hwang with respect to The independent claims 1 and 16. Therefore, claims 2 and 17 are believed to be Allowable at least due to their dependence from an allowable base claim and for their additional distinguishing features recited therein.
Therefore, claims 7, 8, and 23 are believed to be allowable at least due to their dependence from an allowable base claim and for their additional distinguishing features recited therein.
Therefore claims 10-12 and 25-27 are believed to be allowable at least due to their dependence from an allowable base claim and for their additional distinguishing features recited therein.
Therefore claims 13 and 28 are believed to be allowable at least due to their dependence from an allowable base claim and for their additional distinguishing features recited therein
The applicants arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468