DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recites “the context” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of prior art examination, Examiner is interpreting as “context”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the identified microthread’s save state”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of prior art examination, the examiner is interpreting as "the identified microthread’s state”.
Claim 4 should be referencing claim 3, not claim 1. There is lack of antecedent basis for “the third source operand” in claim 1. The third source operand is not mentioned until claim 3. For the prior art examination, the examiner interprets claim 4 to be dependent on claim 3.
Claim 11 recites “the context”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of prior art examination, Examiner is interpreting as “context”.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the identified microthread’s save state". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of prior art examination, the examiner is interpreting as "the identified microthread’s state".
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the context". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting as “context”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a context write of a microthread’s state”. It is not clear what this means as context includes state information. It is not clear whether “a context write” means more than the state or “context” in context write is just a label and does not change the scope of the claim. Claims 11 and 21 recite similar language and are rejected for the same reason. For the purposes of prior art examination, Examiner is interpreting as “a write of a microthread’s state”.
Dependent claims are rejected for the same reason.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5,7-15,17-24, and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5,7-15,17-24, and 26 of copending Application No. 17712122 in view of Elmoustapha et al. (US 2017/0269935 A1).
Claims 6,16, and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6,16, and 25 of copending Application No. 17712122 in view of Elmoustapha et al. (US 2017/0269935 A1) and in further view of Alexander et al. (US 11467833 B2).
Regarding claim 1 of the application, claim 1 of the reference application (No. 17712122) does not explicitly teach the opcode to indicate a context write of a particular microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier from the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer; and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction to write the identified microthread’s state.
However, it does teach an apparatus comprising: decoder circuitry to decode an instance of a single instruction, the single instruction to include fields for an opcode and one or more fields to indicate a first source operand to store a pointer for a microthread state save area, and one or more fields to indicate a second source operand to store a microthread identifier, the opcode to indicate a read of a particular microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier from the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer; wherein context is to be written to the microthread state save area when transitioning from a microthread execution to a host mode; and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction to read the particular microthread’s state.
Elmoustapha [0092] teaches these elements (the opcode to indicate a write of a particular microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier from the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer; and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction to write the particular microthread’s state) by describing a pipeline comprising of a decode unit and an execution cluster to both read and write instructions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application with the teachings of Elmoustapha to have an apparatus that decodes and executes both read and write instructions to memory. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that systems capable of reading data from a memory or register are also designed to write data to that memory or register. Reading data from a register to the processor so that the processor can use or manipulate it and writing data from the processor back to save the results or update values are fundamental to data processing.
Claims 2-10 of the examining application are identical to claims 2-10 of the reference application and thus are rejected.
Regarding claim 11 of the application, claim 11 of the reference application does not explicitly teach the opcode to indicate a context write of a particular microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier to the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer; and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction to write the microthread’s state.
However, it does teach a system comprising: memory to store an instance of a single instruction; and an apparatus comprising: decoder circuitry to decode an instance of a single instruction, the single instruction to include fields for an opcode and one or more fields to indicate a first source operand to store a pointer for a microthread state save area, and one or more fields to indicate a second source operand to store a microthread identifier, the opcode to indicate a read of a particular microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier from the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer; wherein context is to be written to the microthread state save area when transitioning from a microthread execution to a host mode and a hardware execution resource to execute the decoded instruction to read the particular microthread’s state
Elmoustapha [0092] teaches these elements (the opcode to indicate a write of a particular microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier from the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer; and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction to write the particular microthread’s state) by describing a pipeline comprising of a decode unit and an execution cluster to read and write instructions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application with the teachings of Elmoustapha to have an apparatus that decodes and executes both read and write instructions to memory. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that systems capable of reading data from a memory or register are also designed to write data to that memory or register. Reading data from a register to the processor so that the processor can use or manipulate it and writing data from the processor back to save the results or update values are fundamental to data processing.
Claims 12-20 of the examining application are identical to claims 12-20 of the reference application and thus are rejected.
Regarding claim 21 of the application, claim 21 of the reference application does not explicitly teach the opcode to indicate a context write of a particular microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier to the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer and executing the decoded instruction according to the opcode to write particular microthread’s state.
However, it does teach a method comprising: translating an instance of a single instruction of a first instruction set to one or more instructions of a second instruction set, the single instruction to the single instruction to include fields for an opcode and one or more fields to indicate a first source operand to store a pointer for a microthread state save area, and one or more fields to indicate a second source operand to store a microthread identifier, the opcode to indicate a read of a particular microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier from the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer; wherein context is to be written to the microthread state save area when transitioning from a microthread execution to a host mode; decoding the one or more instructions of the second instruction set; executing the decoded instruction according to the opcode to read the particular microthread’s state.
Elmoustapha [0092] teaches these elements (the opcode to indicate a write of a particular microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier from the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer and executing the decoded instruction according to the opcode to read the particular microthread’s state.) by describing a pipeline comprising of a decode unit and an execution cluster to both read and write instructions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application with the teachings of Elmoustapha to have an apparatus that decodes and executes both read and write instructions to memory. Reading data from a register to the processor so that the processor can use or manipulate it and writing data from the processor back to save the results or update values are fundamental to data processing.
Claims 22-26 of the examining application are identical to claims 22-26 of the reference application and thus are rejected.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5,7-15,17-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elmoustapha et al. (US 2017/0269935 A1) in view of Kang et al (US 2021/0141641 A1, herein Kang).
Regarding claim 1, Elmoustapha teaches an apparatus comprising: (Fig. 4B and [0093-95]) decoder circuitry to decode an instance of a single instruction (decode unit 440 [0095]), the single instruction to include fields for an opcode (FIG.3D and [0077]: fields 361-362 for encoding an opcode for a store-stride instruction ([0090])) and one or more fields to indicate a first source operand to store a pointer for a microthread state save area, ([0090]: a source2 field stores a pointer to an area/portion of memory storing save state for the thread/microthread (paragraph [0100])), and one or more fields to indicate a second source operand to store a microthread identifier ([0090]: a source3 field stores a stride length that is added to an offset for accessing an area/portion of memory storing save state for the thread/microthread memory and identifies and loads/stores those elements to/from memory (paragraph [0100])), the opcode to indicate a context write of a particular microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier to the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer; ([0090] the opcode for a store-stride instruction which uses the two source operands to store from an area/portion of memory storing save state to memory and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction to write the identified microthread’s save state (Execution units 462 [0096] and “FIG. 1C illustrates another alternative embodiments of a data processing system capable of executing instructions to provide vector loads and/or stores with strides and masking functionality”).
Elmoustapha does not explicitly teach that context is to be written to the microthread state save area when transitioning from a microthread execution to a host mode.
Kang teaches storing context to memory when transitioning from a microthread execution to a host mode (Fig. 4, paragraph 52, preparing a thread and storing caused by a request from a host as a host mode, Paragraphs 73-75, the state while the thread is being processed by the storage before the new event is received as the microthread execution state, Alternately, Fig. 4, S115 as the microthread execution mode, S120 as the host mode).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the transitions of the states and store the context in the microthread state save area in the processor of Elmoustapha. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as this would allow processing of multiple threads for tasks and also have threads ready to be processed with the preparation in place, thus improving efficiency in the processing of the threads.
Regarding claim 2, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the first and second source operands are registers. (Elmoustapha [0048] & [0090]: Elmoustapha teaches that the source operands in instructions can be registers. The source2 field in the instruction stores a pointer to an area/portion of memory storing the save state for the thread and the source3 field stores the stride and these fields would be stored in registers.)
Regarding claim 3, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instance of the single instruction further comprises one or more fields to indicate a third source operand to store an enumeration of a particular area of the microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier from the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer. (Elmoustapha: in Figure 16 & [0136], a store with stride and mask instruction in decoded, and a mask is field is read. The mask field determines which elements to store from a destination register: one value (for example: 1) indicates the element has not been stored to memory and a second value (for example: 0) indicates that the element does not need to be stored or has already been stored. The set of elements to be stored, determined by the 1s in the mask field are considered as an enumerated list.)
Regarding claim 4, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the apparatus of claim 3 wherein the first, second, and third source operands are registers. ([0048] & [0090]: Elmoustapha teaches that the source operands in instructions can be registers. The source2 field in the instruction stores a pointer to an area/portion of memory storing the save state for the thread and the source3 field stores the stride and these fields would be stored in registers. The third operand is a mask, which is stored in a third register (the mask register, [0036]).
Regarding claim 5, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the particular area comprises contents of a register stored in the microthread state save area. (Elmoustapha [0130] “…the corresponding data element is loaded from the memory and stored into a vector register having a plurality of data fields, a portion of which to store the loaded data elements.” In other words, the particular area is the vector register which comprises a plurality of data fields to store its contents (the store data elements).
Regarding claim 7, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the particular area is a vector register. (Elmoustapha Fig. 15 & [0130] The particular area where the elements are stored from is a vector destination register).
Regarding claim 8, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is a processor core. (Elmoustapha Fig. 4B, “shows processor core 490 [the apparatus] including a front end unit 430 [comprising a decode unit] coupled to an execution engine unit 450 [the hardware execution resource], and both are coupled to a memory unit 470.”).
Regarding claim 9, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is an accelerator. Elmoustapha [0100]: The apparatus or processor core 490 may support multithreading to execute two or more parallel sets of threads to accelerate tasks, [0068]: the processor may also have out-of-order execution logic to optimize performance, and a fast scheduler to schedule micro-instructions two times faster.
Regarding claim 10, Elmoustapha teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising microcode. Elmoustapha [0095]: a processor core 490 that comprises an execution engine unit 450 and a decode unit 440. The decode unit may generate micro-code. This coupling implies composition within a (hardware execution) resource.
Regarding claim 11, Elmoustapha teaches A system comprising: (Fig. 4B) memory to store an instance of a single instruction; ([0093-0095] an instruction cache unit 434 can store instructions that can be executed by the processor core 490, an apparatus comprising: (Fig. 4B and [0093-95]) decoder circuitry to decode an instance of a single instruction (decode unit 440 [0095]), the single instruction to include fields for an opcode (FIG.3D and [0077]: fields 361-362 for encoding an opcode for a store-stride instruction ([0090])) and one or more fields to indicate a first source operand to store a pointer for a microthread state save area, ([0090]: a source2 field stores a pointer to an area/portion of memory storing save state for the thread/microthread (paragraph [0100])), and one or more fields to indicate a second source operand to store a microthread identifier, ([0090]: a source3 field stores a stride length that is added to an offset for accessing an area/portion of memory storing save state for the thread/microthread memory and identifies and loads/stores those elements to/from memory (paragraph [0100])), the opcode to indicate a context write of a microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier to the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer; ([0090] the opcode for a store-stride instruction which uses the two source operands to store from an area/portion of memory storing save state), and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction to write the identified microthread’s state (Execution units 462 [0096] and “FIG. 1C illustrates another alternative embodiments of a data processing system capable of executing instructions to provide vector loads and/or stores with strides and masking functionality”).
Elmoustapha does not explicitly teach that context is to be written to the microthread state save area when transitioning from a microthread execution to a host mode.
Kang teaches storing context to memory when transitioning from a microthread execution to a host mode (Fig. 4, paragraph 52, preparing a thread and storing caused by a request from a host as a host mode, Paragraphs 73-75, the state while the thread is being processed by the storage before the new event is received as the microthread execution state, Alternately, Fig. 4, S115 as the microthread execution mode, S120 as the host mode).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the transitions of the states and store the context in the microthread state save area in the processor of Elmoustapha. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as this would allow processing of multiple threads for tasks and also have threads ready to be processed with the preparation in place, thus improving efficiency in the processing of the threads.
Regarding claim 12, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the system of claim 11 wherein the first and second source operands are registers. (Elmoustapha [0048] & [0090]: Elmoustapha teaches that the source operands in instructions can be registers. The source2 field in the instruction stores a pointer to an area/portion of memory storing the save state for the thread and the source3 field stores the stride and these fields would be stored in registers.)
Regarding claim 13, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the system of claim 11, wherein the instance of the single instruction further comprises one or more fields to indicate a third source operand to store an enumeration of a particular area of the microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier from the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer. (Elmoustapha in Figure 16 & [0136], a store with stride and mask instruction in decoded, and a mask is field is read. The mask field determines which elements to store from a destination register: one value (for example: 1) indicates the element has not been stored to memory and a second value (for example: 0) indicates that the element does not need to be stored or has already been stored. The set of elements to be stored, determined by the 1s in the mask field are considered as an enumerated list.)
Regarding claim 14, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the system of claim 13 wherein the first, second, and third source operands are registers. (Elmoustapha [0048] & [0090]: Elmoustapha teaches that the source operands in instructions can be registers. The source2 field in the instruction stores a pointer to an area/portion of memory storing the save state for the thread and the source3 field stores the stride and these fields would be stored in registers. The third operand is a mask, which is stored in a third register (the mask register, [0036]).
Regarding claim 15, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the system of claim 13, wherein the particular area comprises contents of a register stored in the microthread state save area. (Elmoustapha [0130] “…the corresponding data element is loaded from the memory and stored into a vector register having a plurality of data fields, a portion of which to store the loaded data elements.” In other words, the particular area is the vector register which comprises a plurality of data fields to store its contents (the stored data elements).
Regarding claim 17, Elmoustapha and Kang teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the particular area is a vector register. (Elmoustapha (Fig. 15 & [0130] The particular area where the elements are stored from is a vector destination register.)
Regarding claim 18, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the system of claim 11, wherein the apparatus is a processor core. (Elmoustapha Fig. 4B, “shows processor core 490 [the apparatus] including a front end unit 430 [comprising a decode unit] coupled to an execution engine unit 450 [the hardware execution resource], and both are coupled to a memory unit 470.”)
Regarding claim 19, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the system of claim 11, wherein the apparatus is an accelerator. Elmoustapha [0100]: The apparatus or processor core 490 may support multithreading to execute two or more parallel sets of threads to accelerate tasks, [0068]: the processor may also have out-of-order execution logic to optimize performance, and a fast scheduler to schedule micro-instructions two times faster.
Regarding claim 20, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the system of claim 11, further comprising microcode. Elmoustapha [0095]: a processor core 490 that comprises an execution engine unit 450 and a decode unit 440. The decode unit may generate micro-code. This coupling implies composition within a (hardware execution) resource.
Regarding claim 21, Elmoustapha teaches a method comprising: translating an instance of a single instruction of a first instruction set to one or more instructions of a second instruction set, ; ([0147]: An instruction converter (using binary translation) may translate, an instruction to one or more instructions to be processed by the core) the single instruction to include fields for an opcode (FIG.3D and [0077]: fields 361-362 for encoding an opcode for a store-stride instruction ([0090])) and one or more fields to indicate a first source operand to store a pointer for a microthread state save area, ([0090]: a source2 field stores a pointer to an area/portion of memory storing save state for the thread/microthread (paragraph [0100])), and one or more fields to indicate a second source operand to store a microthread identifier, ([0090]: a source3 field stores a stride length that is added to an offset for accessing an area/portion of memory storing save state for the thread/microthread memory and identifies and stores those elements to memory (paragraph [0100])), the opcode to indicate a context write of a microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier from the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer ([0090] the opcode for a store-stride instruction which uses the two source operands to store from an area/portion of memory storing save state), decoding the one or more instructions of the second instruction set; (decode unit 440 [0095]), executing the decoded one of more instructions of the second instruction set according to the opcode to write the particular microthread’s state. (Execution units 462 [0096] and “FIG. 1C illustrates another alternative embodiments of a data processing system capable of executing instructions to provide vector loads and/or stores with strides and masking functionality”).
Elmoustapha does not explicitly teach that context is to be written to the microthread state save area when transitioning from a microthread execution to a host mode.
Kang teaches storing context to memory when transitioning from a microthread execution to a host mode (Fig. 4, paragraph 52, preparing a thread and storing caused by a request from a host as a host mode, Paragraphs 73-75, the state while the thread is being processed by the storage before the new event is received as the microthread execution state, Alternately, Fig. 4, S115 as the microthread execution mode, S120 as the host mode).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the transitions of the states and store the context in the microthread state save area in the processor of Elmoustapha. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as this would allow processing of multiple threads for tasks and also have threads ready to be processed with the preparation in place, thus improving efficiency in the processing of the threads.
Regarding claim 22, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the method of claim 21 wherein the first and second source operands are registers. (Elmoustapha [0048] & [0090]: Elmoustapha teaches that the source operands in instructions can be registers. The source2 field in the instruction stores a pointer to an area/portion of memory storing the save state for the thread and the source3 field stores the stride and these fields would be stored in registers.)
Regarding claim 23, Elmoustapha and Kang teach the method of claim 21, wherein the instance of the single instruction further comprises one or more fields to indicate a third source operand to store an enumeration of a particular area of the microthread's state as identified by the microthread identifier from the microthread state save area pointed to by the pointer. (Elmoustapha in Figure 16 & [0136], a store with stride and mask instruction in decoded, and a mask is field is read. The mask field determines which elements to store from a destination register: one value (for example: 1) indicates the element has not been stored to memory and a second value (for example: 0) indicates that the element does not need to be stored or has already been stored. The set of elements to be stored, determined by the 1s in the mask field are considered as an enumerated list.)
Regarding claim 24, Elmoustapha and Kang teaches the method of claim 23, wherein the particular area comprises contents of a register stored in the microthread state save area. (Elmoustapha [0130] “…the corresponding data element is loaded from the memory and stored into a vector register having a plurality of data fields, a portion of which to store the loaded data elements.” In other words, the particular area is the vector register which comprises a plurality of data fields to store its contents (the stored data elements).
Regarding claim 26, Elmoustapha and Kang teaches the method of claim 23, wherein the particular area is a vector register. (Elmoustapha Fig. 15 & [0130] The particular area where the elements are stored from is a vector destination register.)
Claims 6,16, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elmoustapha and Kang in view of Alexander et al. (US 11467833 B2).
Regarding claim 6, although Elmoustapha and Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 5, they do not teach wherein the particular area is a general purpose register. However, Alexander teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the particular area is a general purpose register. (Col. 12, lines 5-6,30-33 & Col. 13 line 24-26: Alexander describes that each worker thread context has its own instance of the MRF (main register file) and that general purpose MRF comprises of particular registers specified by operands of the instructions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Elmoustapha and Kang with the teachings of Alexander to have the particular area be a general purpose register, because general purpose registers can be read/written to faster and they have no specialized purpose.
Regarding claim 16, although Elmoustapha and Kang teaches the system of claim 15, they do not teach wherein the particular area is a general purpose register. However, Alexander teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the particular area is a general purpose register. (Col. 12, lines 5-6,30-33 & Col. 13 line 24-26: Alexander describes that each worker thread context has its own instance of the MRF (main register file) and that general purpose MRF comprises of particular registers specified by operands of the instructions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Elmoustapha and Kang with the teachings of Alexander to have the particular area be a general purpose register, because registers can be read/written to faster.
Regarding claim 25, although Elmoustapha and Kang teaches the method of claim 24, they do not teach wherein the particular area is a general purpose register. However, Alexander teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the particular area is a general purpose register. (Col. 12, lines 5-6,30-33 & Col. 13 line 24-26: Alexander describes that each worker thread context has its own instance of the MRF (main register file) and that general purpose MRF comprises of particular registers specified by operands of the instructions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Elmoustapha and Kang with the teachings of Alexander to have the particular area be a general purpose register, because registers can be read/written to faster.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/14/2025, have been fully considered.
Applicant’s argument, that Elmoustapha does not teach the limitations in the amended independent claims, is persuasive. Hence the rejection has been withdrawn. Upon further consideration, a new rejection has been made in view of Kang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JYOTI MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2183