Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the claims, the limitation “the acceptance inspection device is an information processing device of a mother device manufacturer that manufactures a device in which the part is incorporated“ is indefinite as it is unclear what is claimed and what patentable boundaries of this limitation.
For the purpose of a compact prosecution, the Examiner did not give any patentable weight to this limitation because this limitation appears to be a definition or description of a device's function and/or purpose and it unclear what is claimed as a patentable feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Warren J. Lubbock SANDVICK et al. (US 20120274470), hereinafter ‘SANDVICK’ in view of Hao-dong Wang et al. (CN 210868424), hereinafter ‘Wang’, in view of Seamus Burns at al. (US 2010/0295812), hereinafter ‘Burns’, in view of HABARA TAKAAKI et al. (JP 2004032149), hereinafter ‘Habara’.
With regards to Claim 1, Sandvick discloses
A sensor device (a food safety device 100, Figs. 1A-1E) comprising:
a sensor unit that measures a condition related to an object (A sensor 110 may protrude into the product to measure conditions that indicate spoilage (e.g., core temperature, PH level, etc.) and/or conditions that indicate contamination (e.g., the presence of certain chemicals or bacteria, a pressure change in the container, etc.) [0023]);
a communication unit that outputs information that is based on the measurement result from the sensor unit (the various sensors 112 and 114 and the various visual indicators 116-124 are placed in electrical communication with the logic module 102, battery 104, and antenna 106 [0038]; The logic module 102 can communicate with various external systems [0041]);
a storage unit that stores the measurement result from the sensor unit and the information output from the communication unit (The logic module 102 can store data identifying the time, date, and amount in which each of those conditions occurred to create an ongoing log of the product's environment throughout its life cycle [0026]; The logic module 102 and antenna 106 may also be configured to emit and receive signals that identify the geographic location of the food safety device 100 and, therefore, the product 200 to which it is attached. Such location can be determined … by storing transmitting and/or receiving data that otherwise identifies the location of the product 200 (e.g., a shelf and/or aisle number) [0042]; The logic module 102 will also identify the date, time, and location at which that problem occurred and store that data so it can be used to identify any machine 302 or 304 that may be associated with that problem. That data can also be transmitted via the antenna 106 to an external computer [0051]; the data measured and stored by the food safety devices 100 and 100' [0056]; the food safety device 100 can generate a variety of predetermined or custom reports based on the stored data. For example, a report can be generated that indicates the maximum, minimum, and average temperature of a product 200 during its life cycle as well as the dates and times at those temperatures occurred. The report can be displayed on an LCD of the food safety device 100 or transmitted via the antenna 106 to printer. The data can also be transmitted via the antenna 106 to a processor or computer at a local or central location [0063]; The sensor detects the conditions of the product and/or the surrounding conditions. The sensed conditions can be processed during the entire life cycle of the product, or at discrete stages, including as the product progresses from the harvesting, processing, manufacture, distribution, storage, and delivery to the food store and finally to the end user consumer. That information can be stored in a memory on the food safety device That information can be stored in a memory on the food safety device, and/or can be wirelessly transmitted to a reader such as one having an antenna and processor; and located at one or more of the stages) for storage at the reader or a local processing device [0067]);
a power storage unit that supplies electric power for operating at least one of the sensor unit, the communication unit, and the storage unit (The battery 104 provides power to the logic module 102 and the antenna 106 so they can be operated in the manner disclosed herein [0020]; the various sensors 112 and 114 and the various visual indicators 116-124 are placed in electrical communication with the logic module 102, battery 104 [0038]); and
a power generation unit that converts energy that exists in an external environment into electric power and charges the power storage unit (The light sensor 114 may also be used to charge the battery 104 or to replace it as a power source for the other components of the food safety device 100 [0028]; a photovoltaic solar cell that is configured … power the one or more sensors, Claim 3),
and a display unit (a liquid crystal display (LCD) [0029]; display a visual indication of the freshness and/or safety it determines [0008]),
wherein the sensor unit, the communication unit, the storage unit, the power storage unit, and the power generation unit are integrally provided (the logic module 102, battery 104, antenna 106, sensors 110-114, and visual indicators 116-124 form a single, integrated circuit within the food safety device 100 [0038]; Various flexible components are located on the substrate, including a battery, sensor, display, antenna, logic [0066]; The light sensor 114 may also be used to charge the battery 104, [0028] and Fig. 1D; The sensors 110 disposed on the rear face of the flexible backing sheet 108 are placed in electrical communication with the logic module 102, battery 104, and antenna 106 in a similar manner [0038]; The logic module 102 includes a data storage device that is configured to store data about a product [0020]; the logic module 102 can store all of that data [0030]; That information can be stored in a memory on the food safety device [0067]); and
at least two of the sensor unit, the communication unit, the storage unit, the power storage unit, and the power generation unit are arranged in an overlapping manner (The sensor is preferably located on the rear of the substrate and the remaining elements are preferably provided at the front of the substrate [0066]; also [0038]; Figs. 1A-1E), and in normal times, the display unit displays information to be displayed on a nomenclature plate of the object and is switched to display condition report unit when a predetermined condition is met (a logic module that is configured to execute programmable logic to determine the freshness and/or safety of the product from the at least one measured condition of the product, to cause the one or more visual indicators to display a visual indication of the freshness and/or safety it determines [0008]; change color to represent different levels of product freshness and/or safety. For example, the first visual indicator 116 will display a green color when the product is fresh and/or not contaminated (i.e. “in normal times”, emphasis added). The second visual indicator 118 will display a yellow color when the product has experienced some condition that may contribute to spoilage or contamination (e.g., passage of time, temperature change, etc.) (i.e. “when a predetermined condition is met”, emphasis added). And the third visual indicator 120 will display a red color when the product has spoiled and/or has been contaminated. Or, in the alternative, the sliding scale visual indicator 122 will gradually change from green to red as each of those conditions occurs [0029] (i.e. “when a predetermined condition is met”, emphasis added).
Sandvick also discloses transmitting and receiving data regarding the at least one measured condition of the product [0008] that implies using “the measurement result from the sensor”.
However, Sandvick does not necessarily disclose switching to display the measurement result from the sensor unit when a predetermined condition is met.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sandvick, while using a programmable logic to evaluate the freshness and/or safety of the product [0008], to switch to display the measurement result from the sensor unit when a predetermined condition is met similarly to displaying condition information [0032], by using already available measured data for instant viewing of the data that contributed to condition assessment to verify it (In that way, an end user's attention will be more clearly drawn to the current condition of the product [0032]; they will be clearly visible to a user [0036]).
Sandvick also disclose fastening (fixing) the sensor device to the object (The food safety device 100 is preferably small in size and substantially flat so it can be adhered to, fastened to, or otherwise attached to a product or its packaging without interfering with the handling, packaging, or use of the product [0019]; Fig. 2B) using a fastening part (an adhesive or other suitable attachment mechanism for attaching the food safety device 100 to a product [0022]), and evaluating (measuring) a condition inside the object (In addition, if the humidity inside the package is high, the food safety device 100 would indicate that the bread is possibly moldy after 5 or 6 days [0044]; Fig. 2A).
However, Sandvick does not necessarily disclose the fastening part being inserted into the object, and the sensor unit measures a condition inside the object by using the fastening part.
Wang discloses the fastening part being inserted into the object (Fig. 2), and the sensor unit (Fig.2, 22) measures a condition inside the object (detecting the inside temperature of the electrical cabinet, Abstract) by using the fastening part (fastening bolt 23, probe 24, Fig. 2: the composition of the temperature detector comprises … a fastening bolt, a detecting probe with connecting rod… the lower end of the fastening bolt is provided with a detection probe, the temperature detecting apparatus is rotationally connected by inner screw thread groove through a connecting rod with the worktable, p.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sandvick in view of Wang to insert the fastening part into the object to directly measure interior conditions inside the object such as temperature (Wang) or humidity (Sandvick) while using the fastening part (fastening bolt, Wang) for effectively combining both functions as known in the art: using fastening part to secure the sensor to the object and enabling measuring inside conditions of the object.
While disclosing an electronic display unit as discussed above, Sandvick does not specifically disclose that the display unit includes electronic paper and the information to be displayed on the nomenclature plate of the object includes product name, manufacturer, and serial number.
Burnes discloses a display unit that includes electronic paper (the display device comprises any flat panel display medium including a reflective display medium, for example an electrophoretic display medium such as electronic paper [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sandvick in view of Wang, and Burnes to use a display unit that includes electronic paper that facilitates the use of a non-transparent conducting material in the touch screen component. (Burnes [0014]).
Habara discloses the information to be displayed on the nomenclature plate of the object includes product name, manufacturer, and serial number (On the surface 54 of the plate body 51 of the nameplate 50, as shown in FIG. 5, a display 57 indicating product name, manufacturer name, model name, serial number, etc. [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, and further in view of Habara to display on the nomenclature plate of the object includes product name, manufacturer, and serial number as known in the art to instantaneously inform a user about object ID (even if the user has lost the instruction manual of the purchased electric device product, the user can read out the product ID information of the electric device product from the transfer destination database as needed by the user (Habara [0006]).
With regards to Claim 2, Sandvick further discloses the storage unit is capable of storing a plurality of measurement results from the sensor unit or a plurality of pieces of information output from the communication unit, and the storage unit stores the plurality of measurement results or the plurality of pieces of information in association with a value that changes over time (the food safety device 100 includes a logic module 102, a battery 104, and an antenna 106. The logic module 102 includes a data storage device that is configured to store data about a product [0020]; The logic module 102 can also store data identifying the time, date, and amount of such temperature increases to create an ongoing log of the product's condition throughout its life cycle [0024]).
With regards to Claim 5, Sandvick further discloses the sensor unit has a plurality of sensors that measure different types of physical quantities (A sensor 110 may protrude into the product to measure conditions that indicate spoilage (e.g., core temperature, PH level, etc.) and/or conditions that indicate contamination (e.g., the presence of certain chemicals or bacteria, a pressure change in the container, etc.)[0023]).
With regards to Claim 6, Sandvick further discloses a processing unit that generates information output from the communication unit based on the measurement result from the sensor unit (The reactions that occur in the chemical strips may also be detected and used by the logic module 102 to determine the remaining shelf-life of a product and/or to identify if and when that product was contaminated [0030]; the logic module 102 may use the antenna 106 to wirelessly transmit a signal that indicates the different levels of product freshness and/or safety. Those signals are received by a computer that tracks the product on which the food safety device 100 is placed such that, when problems are detected, that product can be easily identified and removed from its life cycle before it is consumed. For example, if a product exceeds its shelf-life and/or becomes contaminated while sitting on a warehouse or retail store shelf, a signal will automatically be sent to an inventory system to identify that product for immediate removal from the shelf [0034]; sending an RFID or wireless signal to the logic module 102 via the antenna 106 (i.e., wireless activation); imparting a drastic temperature or pressure change on the food safety device 100 that is detected by a sensor 110 or 112 [0046]; The sensed conditions can be processed … That information … can be wirelessly transmitted to a reader (such as one having an antenna and processor; and located at one or more of the stages) for storage at the reader or a local processing device or at a remote central processing device in communication with the reader also [0067]; also, information outputs (“reports”) in [0063]).
Claims 3, 7, 8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, Habara, and further in view of Nicholai Belov at al. (US 2011/0248846), hereinafter ‘Belov’.
With regards to Claim 3, Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, and Habara discloses the invention as discussed in Claim 1.
Sandvick also discloses monitoring power supply (as the battery 104 loses power, different visual indicators 116-122 can be illuminated and/or extinguished to indicate the freshness of that product [0031]).
However, Sandvick does not specifically disclose a power supply control unit that controls the supply or disconnection of electric power for at least one of the sensor unit, the communication unit, and the storage.
Belov discloses a power supply control unit that controls the supply or disconnection of electric power for at least one of the sensor unit, the communication unit, and the storage (The microcontroller 2 controls power supply to the set of sensors 1, non-volatile memory 3 and transceiver 4. The power management unit also contains means for sensing state of the charge of at least one rechargeable battery--fuel gauge. Similar fuel gages can be used to sense state of charge of other batteries, including primary batteries [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, Habara, and Belov to control a power supply for at least one of the sensor unit, the communication unit, and the storage for power consumption reasons (switching from active mode to sleep mode can be done by timeout signal in order to keep power consumption under control, Belov [0028]).
With regards to Claim 7, Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, and Habara discloses the invention as discussed in Claim 6.
However, Sandvick does not specifically disclose wherein the processing unit has arithmetic capacity that increases as the number of operation clocks increases and is capable of changing the number of operation clocks according to processing details.
Belov discloses wherein the processing unit has arithmetic capacity capable of changing the number of operation clocks according to processing details (Another resource for energy savings is related to dynamically adjusting clock rate of the microcontroller based on environmental conditions, data collection rate and required amount of computation. The lower is the clock rate--the lower the power consumption [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, Habara and Belov that the processing unit has arithmetic capacity of changing the number of operation clocks according to processing details that would also include increasing the number of operation clocks similar to a capability of dynamically lower the number of operation clocks according to processing details, for example, to accordingly adjust the power consumption.
With regards to Claim 8, Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, and Habara discloses the invention as discussed in Claim 6.
Sandvick discloses the processing unit calculates the physical phenomenon inside the object based on the measurement result and stores the calculation result in the storage unit (the logic module 102 can use the amount of sunlight exposure measured with the light sensor 114 in conjunction with time and temperature measurements to more accurately calculate a product and/or product container's shelf-life [0028]; the logic module 102 can store all of that data, as well as the time and date at which it was recorded, to create an ongoing log of the product's condition and environment throughout the product's life cycle [0030]; the food safety device 100 would indicate that the bread is possibly stale. In addition, if the humidity inside the package is high, the food safety device 100 would indicate that the bread is possibly moldy after 5 or 6 days [0044].The sensed conditions can be processed during the entire life cycle of the product, or at discrete stages, including as the product progresses from the harvesting, processing, manufacture, distribution, storage, and delivery to the food store and finally to the end user consumer. That information can be stored in a memory on the food safety device [0067]).
However, Sandvick does not specifically disclose wherein the sensor unit includes a plurality of sensors that are arranged apart from one another and has a plurality of sensors that measure the same type of physical quantity, and the processing unit calculates the physical phenomenon inside the object based on the measurement result from the plurality of sensors and stores the calculation result in the storage unit.
Belov discloses wherein the sensor unit includes a plurality of sensors that are arranged apart from one another and has a plurality of sensors that measure the same type of physical quantity (Depending on the application, two or more sensors of one type can be used within one autonomous sensing module [0066]; concurrent measurements from different sensors [0078]; deployment of a set of sensors on a structure selected for monitoring, making regular measurements that can include stress at critical points, vibration signature and environmental parameters. Other parameters, such as displacement of some parts of the structure, status of corrosion and others can be monitored as well [0106]).
Belov also discloses monitoring conditions inside the object (a set of sensors 1 containing at least one sensor of a physical parameter located inside the enclosure 9 [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, Habara and Belov that the sensor unit includes a plurality of sensors that are arranged apart from one another and has a plurality of sensors that measure the same type of physical quantity, and the processing unit calculates the physical phenomenon inside the object based on the measurement result from the plurality of sensors to increase reliability of the autonomous sensing modules and increase accuracy of the measurements (Belov [0066]) and also stores the calculation result in the storage unit for future analysis (non-volatile memory used by the microcontroller for storing the measurement data and the results of the measurement data processing, Belov [0016]).
With regards to Claims 11 and 12, Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, Habara, and Belov discloses the claimed limitations as discussed with regards to Claim 1.
Sandvick additionally discloses that a sensor device that is attached (related) to a part (the food safety device 100 and, therefore, the product 200 to which it is attached [0042]); a management server that manages information related to the part (a remote central processing device in communication with the reader [0067] ;That data can also be transmitted via the antenna 106 to an external computer that is controlling and/or monitoring the manufacturing/packaging process to immediately bring the problem to the manufacturer's/packager's attention, thereby allowing the problem to be quickly remedied); and an acceptance inspection device that inspects whether or not the quality of the part meets the standard, wherein the acceptance inspection device is separated from the sensor device and the part (That information … can be wirelessly transmitted to a reader (such as one having an antenna and processor; and located at one or more of the stages) for … a local processing device … in communication with the reader [0067], i.e. and wherein a local processing device is interpreted as an “acceptance inspection device” and “the acceptance inspection device is separated from the sensor device and the part” because of the wireless transmission of the information from the sensor device, emphasis added; remote processing device, such as the processing and food processing conditions (which may be detected by the sensor or by a remote sensor) of temperature or the like. Each safety device can be associated with a unique identification code (ID) that identifies the safety device, so that the conditions and location of the safety device can be tracked by the remote processing device [0068]; A logic module executes programmable logic to determine the freshness and/or safety of the product from the at least one measured condition of the product, to cause the one or more visual indicators to display a visual indication of the freshness and/or safety it determines, and to transmit and receive data regarding the at least one measured condition of the product and the freshness and/or safety of the product via the antenna, Abstract), the acceptance inspection device transmits the information that is based on the measurement result from the sensor unit of the sensor device received from the sensor device to the management server and also transmits the information received from the management server to the sensor device (An antenna transmits and receives data regarding the at least one measured condition of the product and the freshness and/or safety of the product, Abstract).
Sandvick also discloses a characteristic value of the part referred to when the part is operated (In operation, the food safety device 100 of the present invention monitors the shelf-life and/or potential contamination of a product 200 throughout that product's life cycle (i.e., from manufacture to consumption) [0041]; The programming of each food safety device 100 is matched to the specific product 200 to which it will be attached based on that product's 200 expected shelf-life and/or any potential types of contamination that might make that product 200 unsafe for consumption [0043]) and a processing unit (a processor and/or integrated circuitry configured to execute the programmable logic [0020]) and a storage unit as discussed in Claim 1.
However, Sandvick is silent with regards to the management server obtains a correction value for the part based on the information that is based on the measurement result from the sensor unit of the sensor device transmitted from the acceptance inspection device and transmits the correction value to the acceptance inspection device.
Sandvick does not explicitly disclose that the acceptance inspection device transmits the correction value to the sensor device, and the sensor device further comprises a processing unit that updates the characteristic value of the part stored in the storage unit based on the correction value.
Belov discloses obtaining a correction value for the part based on the information that is based on the measurement result from the sensor unit of the sensor device (the microcontroller can run a code to perform required operations, including loading or activating a code, which can be stored in a non-volatile memory of the wireless sensing module or in non-volatile memory or in the RAM memory of the microcontroller itself; self-testing; establishing communications with the set of sensors and with the transceiver; acquiring data from the set of sensors; if necessary, performing data pre-processing or data conditioning, which can include offset correction, introduction of offset, averaging of consecutive measurements from one sensor, adding or averaging of concurrent measurements from different sensors, converting a frequency signal into digital form, multiplying of digital signals by a pre-determined coefficient, calculating a correction factor based on measurements provided by some sensors and using this correction factor in processing of measurement data provided by other sensors and other operations that can be necessary for conditioning of the sensor signal [0078]).
Belov also discloses applying correction values to raw data (applying temperature-related correction and other corrections to the raw measurement data, data compression, using error correction codes and their combination [0017]; use of data from temperature sensor and sensors of other environmental parameters for making corrections to some measurements made by other sensors [0058]) and storing updated values (averaging of consecutive measurements or making data corrections based on data from sensors of environmental parameters, and save pre-processed or corrected data in the non-volatile memory 3 [0026]).
Belov also discloses an acceptance inspection device that inspects whether or not the quality of the part meets the standard, wherein the acceptance inspection device is separated from the sensor device and the part (a wireless sensing module 20 [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, Habara, and Belov that a management server would obtain a correction value for the part based on the information that is based on the measurement result from the sensor unit of the sensor device and/or use the correction value to transmit it to the acceptance inspection device in order to improve accuracy in condition determination and/or processing of data that would lead to faulty rejection/acceptance results as influenced by environmental conditions (accuracy of measurements can be affected by influencing parameters such as temperature. Temperature errors of some sensors can be comparable to the useful signal. In order to increase accuracy of measurements the wireless sensing module can be equipped with a temperature sensor. Signal filtering also can be used to increase signal-to-noise ratio, Belov [0065]).
It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, Habara, and Belov to transmit (from the acceptance inspection device) the correction value to the sensor device to correct processing data while using a processing unit in the sensor device that correspondingly updates the characteristic value of the part stored in the storage unit based on the correction value to ensure accuracy.
With regards to Claim 13, Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, Habara, and Belov discloses the claimed limitations as discussed with regards to Claims 1, 11, and 12.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, Habara, and Jong-Hun Lee at al. (US 2013/0245146), hereinafter ‘Lee’.
With regards to Claim 4, Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, and Habara discloses the invention as discussed in Claim 1.
Sandvick also discloses a plurality of power supply sources such as a photovoltaic cell and a battery as discussed above in Claim 1.
However, Sandvick does not specifically disclose the power generation unit has a plurality of power generation means.
Lee discloses the power generation unit has a plurality of power generation means (The solar cell is fabricated by stacking a first sheet 4 for a sealing member on the surface of a front protective member 1, stacking a plurality of solar cell devices 3 on the sheet 4, stacking a second sheet 4 on the solar cell devices, and stacking a rear protective member 2 on the second sheet 4 [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sandvick in view of Wang, Burnes, Habara and Lee to use a plurality of power generation means in the power generation unit as known in the art (Lee) for the benefit of power generation redundancy and/or flexibility of using a sensor device on either front or back side exposed to solar radiation (Lee [0107]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11(12, 13) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER SATANOVSKY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863