DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 15, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spindler (US 2007/0070231596) (Spindler).
In reference to claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 15, and 23, Spindler teaches an organic light emitting device and exemplifies such devices including device example 3 that includes an anode, a cathode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer 3, a hole transport layer 2, a hole transport layer 1, an emission layer, and an electron transport layer wherein the hole transport layer 2 comprises 3 components that are NPB, AH3 and rubrene, the hole transport layer 1 comprises NPB and AH3 and is in contact with the emission layer, the electron transport layer comprises a mixture of Alq, B-phen and Li and the emission layer comprises NPB, AH3, and M7 as a light emitting dopant that reads on the instant claims (Spindler [0187]).
It is noted that while many of the names of materials functions is not identical to those instantly claimed, the specific names given to a component of a layered thin film device are not particularly limiting. For example, the names “hole transporting material” and an “electron transporting material” do not limit the structures of the material present in the layer, all conduction in such devices is from the movement of electrons.
Spindler teaches the device as described above. While Spindler does not expressly name any of the layers in the device to be a “charge generation layer”, the claimed layer does not have any specific positional requirements in the device and therefore the doped HTL 2 in the device meets the claim requirements of a charge generation layer.
While the dopant of the HTL 2 is not called a n-conductivity dopant or a p-conductivity dopant, the claim does not make any specific structural requirements for the dopant and therefore the dopant of HTL 2 meets the claim requirements.
For Claim 1: The emission layer meets the requirements of an emission layer and the hole transport layer 1 meets the requirements of a first layer that is an m-EBL comprising two components and wherein condition ii is met with HTL 2 to be the CGL with a dopant.
For Claim 3: The electron transport layer meets the requirements of a m-ETL that comprises 3 components.
For Claim 6: M7 reads on an emitter, NPB a hole transport host and AH3 an electron transport host.
For Claim 7: Any material of the EML meets the acceptor requirement.
For Claim 9: Reads on wherein m-EBL comprises two materials that could be hole or electron transporting.
For Claim 15: Several layers include such materials.
For Claim 23: Reads on wherein the device comprises a charge generation layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-10, 12-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spindler (US 2007/0070231596) in view of Lin (US 2020/00168818).
In reference to Claims 1, 3, 6-10, 12-20, and 23, Spindler teaches an organic light emitting device with multiple hole transport layers comprising multiple materials and exemplifies such devices including device example 3 that includes an anode, a cathode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer3, a hole transport layer 2, a hole transport layer 1, an emission layer, and an electron transport layer wherein the hole transport layer 2 comprises 3 components that are NPB, Ah3 and rubrene, the hole transport layer 1 comprises NPB and AH3, the electron transport layer comprises a mixture of Alq, B-phen and Li and is in contact with the emission layer that are useful in display panel products (Spindler [0023] [0187]).
It is noted that while many of the names of materials functions is not identical to those instantly claimed, the specific names given to a component of a layered thin film device are not particularly limiting. For example, the names “hole transporting material” and an “electron transporting material” do not limit the structures of the material present in the layer, all conduction in such devices is from the movement of electrons.
Spindler teaches the device as described above. While Spindler does not expressly name any of the layers in the device to be a “charge generation layer”, the claimed layer does not have any specific positional requirements in the device and therefore the doped HTL 2 in the device meets the claim requirements of a charge generation layer.
While the dopant of the HTL 2 is not called a n-conductivity dopant or a p-conductivity dopant, the claim does not make any specific structural requirements for the dopant and therefore the dopant of HTL 2 meets the claim requirements.
While Spindler teaches emission layers comprising multiple host materials, it does not expressly teach the claimed emitting layers comprising 3 host materials and a phosphorescent material.
With respect to the difference, Lin teaches OLED devices comprising emitting layers including three host materials and a phosphorescent dopant (Lin [0018]). Lin specifically points to emitting materials such iridium complexes comprising ligands as shown below (Lin [0094]) or platinum complexes such as those shown below (Lin [0098]) each of which can optionally include one or more Deuterium atoms. Lin further teaches that devices incorporating these materials in the light emitting layer significantly improves overall device performance (Lin [00015]).
In light of the motivation of using the emitting layer materials of Lin as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the emitting layer materials as described by Lin in order to substantially improve overall device performance and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: The emission layer meets the requirements of an emission layer and the hole transport layer 1 meets the requirements of a first layer that is an m-EBL comprising two components and wherein condition ii is met with HTL 2 to be the CGL with a dopant.
For Claim 3: The electron transport layer meets the requirements of a m-ETL that comprises 3 components.
For Claim 6: Either host can be a hole transport host or electron transport host and the dopant reads on an emitter.
For Claim 7: Any material of the EML meets the acceptor requirement.
For Claim 8: The three host materials and the dopant read on a sensitizer, acceptor, hole and electron transport hosts.
For Claim 9: Reads on wherein m-EBL comprises two materials that could be hole or electron transporting.
For Claim 10: Reads on three hosts and a phosphorescent emitter.For Claim 15: Several layers include such materials.
For Claim 12: Reads on Ir or Pt.
For Claim 13: Reads on a phosphorescent emitter.
For Claim 14: Reads on a deuterium.
For Claim 15: Reads on a carbazole moiety at least.
For Claim 16: Reads on the first structure.
For Claim 17: Reads on the first structure.
For Claim 18: Reads on either the first structure or
.
For Claim 19: Reads on a deuterium atom.
For Claim 20: Reads on a display device.
For Claim 23: Reads on wherein the device comprises a charge generation layer.
Claims 1, 6-10, 12-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest et al (US 2017/0104172) (Forrest) in view of Lin (US 2020/00168818).
In reference to claim 1, 7, 12-13, 15-16, 18, 20-22 and 25, Forrest teaches a device as shown in figure 5, left, comprising a mixed electron blocking layer of CZSi and Tris-PCz, a hole transport layer of NPD, a hole injection layer of HATCN, an emission layer, a hole blocking layer of mCBP, an electron transport layer of Alq3, an electron injection layer of LiQ between an anode and a cathode that reads on the instant claims (Forrest Fig. 5, [0081]).
Forrest further teaches that the materials used in examples are provided as non-limiting examples and that other materials can be used including mixtures of hosts and dopants as emission layer materials (Forrest [0049]) but does not expressly teach the claimed emitting layers comprising 3 host materials and a phosphorescent material.
With respect to the difference, Lin teaches OLED devices comprising emitting layers including three host materials and a phosphorescent dopant (Lin [0018]). Lin specifically points to emitting materials such iridium complexes comprising ligands as shown below (Lin [0094]) or platinum complexes such as those shown below (Lin [0098]) each of which can optionally include one or more Deuterium atoms. Lin further teaches that devices incorporating these materials in the light emitting layer significantly improves overall device performance (Lin [00015]).
In light of the motivation of using the emitting layer materials of Lin as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the emitting layer materials as described by Lin in order to substantially improve overall device performance and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: The emission layer meets the requirements of an emission layer and the mixed electron blocking meets the requirements of a first layer that is an m-EBL comprising two components and wherein condition i is met.
For Claim 6: Either host can be a hole transport host or electron transport host and the dopant reads on an emitter.
For Claim 7: Any material of the EML meets the acceptor requirement.
For Claim 8: The three host materials and the dopant read on a sensitizer, acceptor, hole and electron transport hosts.
For Claim 9: Reads on wherein m-EBL comprises two materials that could be hole or electron transporting.
For Claim 10: Reads on three hosts and a phosphorescent emitter.
For Claim 12: Reads on Ir or Pt.
For Claim 13: Reads on a phosphorescent emitter.
For Claim 14: Reads on a deuterium.
For Claim 15: Reads on a carbazole moiety at least.
For Claim 16: Reads on the first structure.
For Claim 17: Reads on the first structure.
For Claim 18: Reads on either the first structure or
.
For Claim 19: Reads on a deuterium atom.
For Claim 20: Reads on a display device.
For Claim 21: Reads on wherein the mEBL does not have the same materials as in the HTL.
For Claim 25: Reads on wherein the mEBL does not have the same materials as in the HTL and wherein the EML comprises four components that can meet the claimed requirements.
In reference to claim 20, Forrest in view of Lin teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Forrest further teaches that the device is useful for a variety of electronic components including displays and lighting devices etc. (Forrest [0053]). It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant application to have used the device as taught in Forrest in the application as expressly taught by Forest with the anticipation of providing a functional display or lighting device.
In reference to claim 22, Forrest teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Forrest does not expressly teach what the triplet energies are for the various materials used therein. However, Forrest does teach that such materials can be selected from among known materials for use in OLED devices (See e.g. [0056]). Further, Forrest teaches the blocking layer materials should have a tripet energy that is preferably greater than that of the emissive material (Forrest [0018]) and specifically at least 0.3 eV greater (Forrest [0059]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Spindler does not teach a doped charge generation layer as claimed. However, the layer has no positional or specific structural requirements and any doped layer in the device of Spindler can meet the claim limitation. Therefore, as set forth above herein, the device of Spindler still meets the claim requirement.
Similarly, Applicant argues that Forrest does not teach the mixed host materials as instantly claimed. However these emission layer compositions are well known in the art and provide known benefits as set forth above herein.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786