DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed under 37 CFR §1.53(d) for the instant application on August 5, 2026. The Applicants have properly set forth the RCE, which has been entered into the application, and an examination on the merits follows herewith.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, there is no antecedent basis for “the DOM interface” recited therein. The claim previously recites “a document object model interface” but not a “DOM interface” per se.
Claims 2-9 depend from claim 1 and thereby include all of the limitations of claim 1. Accordingly, claims 2-9 are objected to for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 8,572,199 to Piper et al. (“Piper”), over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0034441 to Capon (“Capon”), over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0198124 to McCarthy (“McCarthy”), over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0148347 to Appelman et al. (“Appelman”), over U.S. Patent No. 7,149,776 to Roy et al. (“Roy”), U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0185951 to Nichols et al. (“Nichols”), and also over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0287982 to Draeger et al. (“Draeger”).
Regarding claim 1, Piper generally teaches enabling users to create an instant chat and message session that is associated with a media object on the web or the Internet (see e.g. column 1, line 58 – column 2, line 13). Like claimed, Piper particularly describes a system comprising:
a communication widget arranged on a website or online application and operated by at least one user (see e.g. column 2, lines 62-67; column 3, lines 29-45; column 5, lines 9-67; and FIGS. 2A-2D: Piper discloses that a web server provides a web interface, e.g. a web page, to a user, wherein the web interface includes an instant or live “commenting tool” that enables the user to leave live comments with respect to a media object displayed within the webpage. The commenting tool is considered a “communication widget” like claimed. Moreover, Piper demonstrates that the commenting tool can be used by a plurality of users – see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; and column 5, line 58 – column 6, line 9. Accordingly, the commenting tool, i.e. communication widget, described by Piper can be said to be operated by at least one user.);
at least one first user processor configured to access a widget (see e.g. column 2, lines 62-67; column 3, lines 29-45; column 5, lines 9-67; and FIGS. 2A-2D: like noted above, Piper discloses that a web server provides a web interface, e.g. a web page, to a user, wherein the web interface includes an instant or live “commenting tool,” which is considered an instant communication widget like claimed. Piper teaches that the user employs a first user processor, e.g. a computing device executing a web browser, to access the web interface and its commenting tool – see e.g. column 3, lines 29-35.);
at least one second user processor configured to access the widget (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37: Piper teaches that a second user can access the web page and commenting tool, necessarily using a second user processor such as a computing device executing a web browser.);
a server arranged in communication with the widget (see e.g. column 2, lines 62-67; column 3, lines 29-45; column 5, lines 9-67; and FIGS. 2A-2D: like noted above, Piper discloses that a web server provides a web interface, e.g. a web page, wherein the web interface includes an instant or live “commenting tool,” which is considered an instant communication widget like claimed. Piper further teaches that the server is in communication with the commenting tool, e.g. to record in memory user comments made via the commenting tool – see e.g. column 3, lines 21-28; column 3, lines 46-51; and column 7, lines 10-51.);
a messaging service arranged on the server and configured to continue communication threads displayed via the widget (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; column 6, lines 40-53; and column 7, lines 27-51: Piper discloses that multiple users can use the commenting tool provided by the server to engage in a conversation between each other, and whereby other users can leave messages and be engaged in the same conversation. The server thus understandably provides a messaging service that enables the users to continue conversations displayed via the commenting tool.);
a database configured to save the communication threads displayed via widgets and arranged on a server (see e.g. column 3, lines 21-28; column 3, lines 46-51; and column 7, lines 10-51: Piper discloses that the server can comprise memory to record comments or conversations made by users via the commenting tool. The memory thus serves as a database to save the communication threads, i.e. conversations, displayed via the commenting tool.);
a communication node configured to collect the communication threads from the communication widget and to save the communication threads in the database (see e.g. column 3, lines 21-51; column 3, lines 46-51; column 7, lines 10-51; and column 8, lines 2-11: as noted above, Piper discloses that the server can comprise memory to record comments or conversations made by users via the commenting tool. The software functionality at the server necessary for receiving the comments or conversations, i.e. communication threads, from the commenting tool and saving the comments or conversations to the memory is considered a “communication node” like claimed.);
a pinning node configured to assign the communication widget to a selected screen element on a user interface on the website displayed on the at least first or second user processor (see e.g. column 3, lines 6-20; column 3, lines 29-45; column 4, lines 48-51; column 5, lines 31-36; and column 7, lines 10-26: Piper discloses that the user can associate the commenting tool with a media object displayed on the webpage so that the user can leave live comments regarding the media object. The software functionality necessary for associating the commenting tool with the media object is considered a “pinning node” like claimed, which is configured to assign the communication widget, i.e. the commenting tool, to a selected screen element, i.e. the media object, on a user interface on the website displayed on the at least first or second user processor.);
wherein the communication widget is available on the website for all users with no prior registration required (see e.g. column 4, line 64 – column 5, line 2: Piper discloses that, in an embodiment, the commenting tool can be automatically activated and enabled upon rendering a media object on the web interface, and that therefore, the users would not need to sign-in or proceed through an authentication process to activate the commenting tool. In such circumstances, the commenting tool would be available to all users with no prior registration required.);
wherein the communication widget is available for a plurality of users viewing the website (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; and column 5, line 58 – column 6, line 9: as alluded to above, Piper demonstrates that the commenting tool can be used by a plurality of users viewing the web page. Accordingly, the commenting tool, i.e. communication widget, is available for a plurality of users viewing the web page.);
wherein a communication thread can be started by at least one user who opens the communication widget and manually enters a message (see e.g. column 5, lines 31-67: Piper demonstrates that a communication thread can be started by a user who activates the commenting tool and manually enters a message.);
wherein the pinning node is further configured to assign the communication widget to a selected screen element on a user interface on the website upon at least first selection (see e.g. column 3, lines 6-20; column 3, lines 29-45; column 4, lines 48-51; column 5, lines 31-36; and column 7, lines 10-26: like noted above, Piper discloses that the user can associate the commenting tool with a media object displayed on the webpage so that the user can leave live comments regarding the media object. The software functionality, i.e. “pinning node,” necessary for associating the commenting tool with the media object is thus further configured to assign the communication widget, i.e. commenting tool, to a selected screen element, i.e. to media object, on a user interface on the website upon a first user selection.); and
wherein the at least one user can see actions of at least one other user including typing and leaving a reaction (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; column 6, lines 40-44; and column 7, lines 27-51: as noted above, Piper discloses that multiple users can use the commenting tool provided by the server to engage in a conversation between each other. The commenting tool displays the comment(s) typed by each user in the conversation so that the other user(s) can see and respond to the comment(s) – see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; column 6, lines 40-44; and FIGS. 2D-G. Moreover, Piper suggests that the comments are displayed by the commenting tool in real time, e.g. instantaneously, to enable a “live” conversation – see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; and column 6, lines 40-44. Accordingly, the commenting tool enables the user to see actions of other users including typing, i.e. comments, of the other users. The comments can include reactions left by the other users, i.e. responses by the other users – see e.g. column 6, lines 1-9; and column 6, lines 40-44.).
Accordingly, Piper teaches a system similar to that of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that the pinning node assigns the communication widget to the selected screen element by reference to a position of the selected screen element within a document object model interface of the website, and that the selected screen element is identified by the position of the selected screen element within the DOM interface, as is required by claim 1. Piper also does not explicitly disclose that: (i) the communication widget is configured to communicate with a communication channel via an API; (ii) the at least one user can see at least one other user viewing the website before entering the communication thread, the at least one other user being made visible in response to the at least one other user defining, in an interface provided on the website, that a presence of the at least one other user on the website is to be visible to other users; (iii) the at least one user can view an activity feed while the communication thread is triggered or resumed by the at least one other user; (iv) the at least one user can see a plurality of users viewing the website in a real time; (v) the at least one user can see actions of at least one other user including typing, leaving reaction, scrolling and cursor location in a real time; and (vi) the messaging service is configured to close a communication thread after a predefined period of inactivity while a chat containing the communication thread remains continuously open, such that a subsequent communication thread is started within the continuously open chat when the at least one user returns to the website, as is further required by claim 1.
Capon nevertheless teaches assigning a communication widget (e.g. an annotation/comment visualization) to a selected screen element in a website, whereby the communication widget is assigned to the selected screen element by reference to a position of the selected screen element within a document object model (DOM) interface of the website, and the selected screen element is identified by the position of the selected screen element within the DOM interface (see e.g. paragraphs 0011, 0015, 0017 and 0020-0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper and Capon before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system taught by Piper such that the pinning node assigns the communication widget to the selected screen element by reference to a position of the selected screen element within a document object model interface of the website, and whereby the selected screen element is identified by the position of the selected screen element within the DOM interface, as is taught by Capon. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it can enable the communication widget to be rendered properly from a visual location when the website is displayed, as is suggested by Capon (see e.g. paragraphs 0018-0020).
Similar to Piper, McCarthy teaches implementing and managing a messaging collaborating tool embedded in website pages, whereby users can chat in real-time or near real-time (see e.g. paragraph 0009). Regarding the claimed invention, McCarthy suggests that the messaging collaboration tool is configured to communicate with a communication channel (e.g. a communication channel based on a site-specific identifier) via an API (e.g. a Common or Collaboration Application Programming Interface (“CAPI”) and/or publication application programming interfaces provided by third parties) (see e.g. paragraphs 0048-0051, 0062, 0064 and FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Capon and McCarthy before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system taught by Piper and Capon such that that the communication widget is configured to communicate with a communication channel via an API, as is taught by McCarthy. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination, because it would enable the web page to efficiently access available communication services to enable communication between users, as is evident from McCarthy (see e.g. paragraphs 0048-0051 and 0076).
Appelman generally describes an online service provider that dynamically displays information of other users viewing the same web page as the user (see e.g. paragraph 0013). In particular, Appelman teaches enabling a user to see at least one other user viewing the web page before entering a communication thread with other users, wherein the at least one other user is made visible in response to the at least one other user defining, in an interface, that a presence of the at least one other user on the website is to be visible to other users (i.e. by selecting to opt-in to participation), and whereby the at least one user can see a plurality of other users viewing the web page in real time (see e.g. paragraphs 0013-0014, 0016-0017, 0020-0021, 0034 and 0072-0073).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Capon, McCarthy and Appelman before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system taught by Piper, Capon and McCarthy such that the at least one user can see at least one other user viewing the website before entering the communication thread, wherein the at least one other user is made visible in response to the at least one other user defining, in an interface (i.e. an interface provided on the website), that a presence of the at least one other user on the website is to be visible to other users, and wherein the at least one user can see a plurality of users viewing the website in real time, as is taught by Appelman. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination, because many online users may desire information regarding other individuals accessing the website, as is taught by Appelman (see e.g. paragraph 0003).
Roy generally describes a system and method for facilitating the real-time co-browsing of a document or web page (see e.g. column 2, lines 36-43). Regarding the claimed invention, Roy teaches that facilitating such co-browsing of a web page can comprise enabling at least one user to see the actions of at least one other user, including typing (e.g. into a form field), leaving a reaction, scrolling and cursor (e.g. pointer) location in real time (see e.g. column 2, line 59 – column 3, line 6; and column 12, lines 27-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman and Roy before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system taught by Piper, Capon, McCarthy and Appelman such that the at least one user can further see actions of at least one other user that include typing, leaving a reaction, scrolling and cursor location in real time, as is taught by Roy. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it would enable the users to better collaborate, as is evident from Roy (see e.g. column 1, lines 24-32; column 2, lines 15-32; and column 2, line 59 – column 3, line 6).
Nichols generally describes a method of executing a collaborative web browsing session that uses a communication model of an instant messaging service to support a variety of collaborative browsing tasks between users (see e.g. paragraph 0026). Regarding the claimed invention, Nichols particularly teaches enabling at least one user to view an activity feed (i.e. a textual description of web page interactions) while a communication thread is triggered or resumed by at least one other user (see e.g. paragraphs 0011, 0026 and 0029-0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy and Nichols before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the system taught by Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman and Roy so as to enable the at least one user to view an activity feed while the communication thread is triggered or resumed by the at least one other user, as is taught by Nichols. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it would allow a user to review or follow along with what other users are doing, as is taught by Nichols (see e.g. paragraph 0029).
Draeger generally teaches automatically threading conversations based on one or more of the contents of the conversations, user preferences and user interactions (see e.g. paragraphs 0003 and 0013). Regarding the claimed invention, Draeger particularly teaches automatically closing a communication thread after a predefined period of inactivity while the messaging service understandably remains open, such that a subsequent communication thread can be started when the user returns (see e.g. paragraphs 0028 and 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the system taught by Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy and Nichols so that the messaging service is configured to close a communication thread after a predefined period of inactivity while the messaging service (i.e. the chat) remains continuously open, and such that a subsequent communication thread can be started (i.e. within the continuously open chat) when the at least one user returns (i.e. returns to the website), as is taught by Draeger. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it would enable the communication threads to be better managed, as is evident from Draeger (see e.g. paragraphs 0028 and 0036). Accordingly, Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger are considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a system like that of claim 1 for collaborative website browsing combined with a communication channel.
Regarding claim 2, Piper teaches that the communication widget (i.e. commenting tool) further comprises:
a user input configured to accept at least one of textual content, alphanumeric content, audio, video and static graphic content (see e.g. column 3, lines 39-45; column 4, lines 25-37; column 5, line 62 – column 6, line 9, and FIGS. 2D and 2E: Piper discloses that users can use the commenting tool to leave comments. Accordingly, it is apparent that the commenting tool necessarily comprises a user input configured to accept the comments, e.g. textual content or alphanumeric content.);
a user display configured to present chat availability and further configured to display sent and received messages in the communication thread (see e.g. column 4, lines 38-46; column 5, line 62 – column 6, line 21, and FIGS. 2D, 2E and 2H: Piper discloses that the commenting tool can present a chat availability, i.e. a status, of the users and can display sent and received messages.);
wherein the communication widget can be pinned to a selected screen element via at least one user (see e.g. column 3, lines 6-20; column 3, lines 29-45; column 4, lines 48-51; and column 5, lines 31-36: Piper discloses that a user can activate the commenting tool and attach the commenting tool with a media object presented on the web page via a drag-and-drop method. This can be considered pinning the commenting tool to the media object, i.e. screen element.);
wherein the selected screen element means any element of the screen marked by at least one of the users to pin the communication widget to it (see e.g. column 3, lines 6-20; column 3, lines 29-45; column 4, lines 48-51; and column 5, lines 31-36: as noted above, Piper discloses that a user can activate the commenting tool and attach, i.e. pin, the commenting tool with a media object presented on the web page via a drag-and-drop method. Piper suggests that the commenting tool can be attached, i.e. via the drag-and-drop method, to any media object of the web page – see e.g. column 3, lines 29-45; and column 5, lines 31-36. Accordingly, the selected screen element, i.e. media object, means any media object of the screen marked by the user to pin, i.e. attach, the communication widget to it.); and
wherein to pin the communication widget means to locate the communication widget on the screen for all users who display this screen (see e.g. column 3, lines 6-20; column 3, lines 29-45; column 4, lines 48-51; and column 5, lines 31-36: as noted above, Piper discloses that a user can activate the commenting tool and attach, i.e. pin, the commenting tool with a media object presented on the web page via a drag-and-drop method. Piper suggests that the attached commenting tool can be located adjacent the media object and viewed by all users who display the web page – see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; and column 6, lines 40-67; and FIGS. 2D and 2E. Accordingly, Piper teaches that pinning the commenting tool means to locate the commenting tool on the screen, e.g. adjacent the media object, for all users who display the screen – see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; and column 6, lines 40-67; and FIGS. 2D and 2E.).
As noted above, it would have been obvious to modify the system taught by Piper such that the pinning node assigns the communication widget to the selected screen element by reference to a position of the selected screen element within a document object model interface of the website, and whereby the selected screen element is identified by the position of the selected screen element within the DOM interface, as is taught by Capon. Like in claim 2, Capon particularly teaches pinning the communication widget (i.e. a visualization) to the selected screen element by reference to a text node or an image identified by a position of the selected screen element within a document object model interface of the website (see e.g. paragraphs 0011, 0015, 0020, 0110-0112). As further described above, it would have been obvious to modify the system taught by Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman and Roy so as to enable the at least one user to view an activity feed while the communication thread is triggered or resumed by the at least one other user, as is taught by Nichols. Like in claim 2, Nichols particularly teaches that the user display is configured to display the activity feed view wherein the at least one other user is browsing the same page within one session (see e.g. paragraphs 0011, 0026 and 0029-0030). Accordingly, the above-described combination of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger is further considered to teach a system similar to that of claim 2. Piper, however, discloses that in the embodiments in which the chat availability of the users is presented, the users are required to sign in (see e.g. column 4, lines 38-46). Therefore, the communication widget would not be accessed by all website visitors like in claim 2, or be available on the website with no prior registration required like in claim 1, upon which claim 2 depends, in embodiments in which the communication widget is configured to present chat availability.
Like noted above, McCarthy similarly teaches implementing and managing a messaging collaborating tool embedded in website pages, whereby users can chat in real-time or near real-time (see e.g. paragraph 0009). McCarthy particularly teaches that the chat functionality can be available to authenticated users, and can also be available to visitors having no prior registration (see e.g. paragraphs 0010, 0036-0039, and 0048). As such, the chat functionality could be accessed by all website visitors and be available with no prior registration required (see e.g. paragraphs 0010, 0036-0039, and 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger before him prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the system taught by Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger so that, in embodiments in which users sign-in (and the chat availability of the users is thus presented by the communication widget), the chat functionality (i.e. communication widget) can still be accessed by all website visitors, with no prior registration required like taught by McCarthy. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it would allow users of the chat functionality to remain anonymous, as is taught by McCarthy (see e.g. paragraphs 0038 and 0048). Accordingly, Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger are further considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a system like that of claim 2.
As per claim 6, Piper further teaches that the communication widget (i.e. commenting tool) further comprises:
a new widget trigger that opens the communication widget for a new communication thread (see e.g. column 5, lines 31-38; and column 5, lines 58-67; and FIGS. 2A-2D: Piper discloses that the commenting tool comprises functionality, considered a “new widget trigger” like claimed, that opens a widget for a new communication thread.);
a currently existing widget triggers resuming an already existing communication thread (see e.g. column 6, lines 1-5; and column 6, lines 45-53: Piper discloses that the commenting tool comprises functionality that opens the commenting tool for an existing communication thread, and thus enables resuming an already existing communication thread.);
wherein at least the first user can access currently available communication widgets with communication threads that can be accessed by other users at the same time (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; column 6, lines 40-53; and column 7, lines 27-51: Piper teaches that users, including the first user, can open commenting tools to access communication threads, which are accessible by other users at the same time.); and
wherein all communication threads are available for both real-time and asynchronous communication (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 4, lines 46-63; column 6, lines 1-9; column 6, lines 40-53; and column 7, lines 27-51: Piper discloses that the communication threads are available for instantaneous communication, and are persisted for asynchronous communication.).
As noted above, it would have been obvious to modify the system taught by Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman and Roy so as to enable the at least one user to view an activity feed while the communication thread is triggered or resumed by the at least one other user, as is taught by Nichols. Nichols particularly demonstrates that the at least one user can preview the activity feed while a communication thread is triggered or resumed (see e.g. paragraphs 0029-0030 and FIG. 4). Nichols further suggests that actions taken by the at least one user are saved within local storage (at least temporarily, within an IM chat stream/history) and transferred to remote storage (see e.g. paragraphs 0030-0031, 0035-0037, 0051 and 0057). Accordingly, the above-described combination of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger is further considered to teach a system like that of claim 6.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger, which is described above, and also over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0096789 to Lin (“Lin”).
Regarding claim 3, Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger teach a system like that of claim 1, as is described above, which entails a website or online application on which a communication widget is arranged, wherein a server comprises a messaging service and a database configured to save communication threads. Like in claim 3, Piper further teaches that the server is arranged in communication with the communication widget (see e.g. column 2, lines 62-67; column 3, lines 29-45; column 5, lines 9-67; and FIGS. 2A-2D: like noted above, Piper describes a web server that provides a web interface, e.g. a web page, wherein the web interface includes an instant or live “commenting tool,” which is considered a communication widget like claimed. Piper teaches that the server is in communication with the commenting tool, e.g. to record in memory user comments made via the commenting tool – see e.g. column 3, lines 21-28; column 3, lines 46-51; and column 7, lines 10-51.). Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger, however, do not explicitly disclose that the server comprises a virtual server configured to save data including communication threads arranged on a physical server, and wherein the messaging service and the database are configured on the virtual server, as is required by claim 3.
Virtual servers and their benefits are nevertheless well known in the art. Lin, for example, teaches using a virtual server to host a web site (see e.g. paragraphs 0023-0024). Lin teaches that a single physical server can provide multiple virtual servers (see e.g. paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols, Draeger and Lin before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system taught by Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger such that the server, on which the messaging service and database are configured and which is configured to save data including communication threads, is implemented as a virtual server like taught by Lin. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a virtual server, because it can efficiently utilize the resources of a physical server, as is evident from Lin (see e.g. paragraph 0024). Accordingly, Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols, Draeger and Lin are considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a system like that of claim 3.
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger, which is described above, and also over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0024975 to Ramakrishnan et al. (“Ramakrishnan”).
Regarding claim 4, Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger teach a system like that of claim 1, as is described above, which includes a messaging service arranged on a server and configured to continue communication threads displayed via a widget. Like in claim 4, Piper teaches that content sent by at least one user includes textual content, audiovisual content or live reactions and emojis (see e.g. column 3, lines 39-45; column 4, lines 25-37; column 5, line 62 – column 6, line 9, and FIGS. 2D and 2E: Piper discloses that users can use the commenting tool to send comments, which understandably comprises textual content. It is noted that the broadest, most reasonable interpretation of claim 4 requires only one of textual content, audiovisual content, and live reactions and emojis, as claim 4 recites, “the content sent by the at least one user includes textual content, audiovisual content or live reactions and emojis.”). McCarthy similarly suggests that the content sent by a user can include textual content, audiovisual content or live reactions and emojis (see e.g. paragraphs 0004-0005, 0043 and 0048). Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger, however, do not explicitly disclose that the communication widget pinned with the pinning node can be removed by at least one user who pinned the communication widget, as is further required by claim 4.
Similar to Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger, Ramakrishnan describes a system that provides a widget to enable a user to attach and share notes with respect to particular portions of a host application (e.g. a website) (see e.g. paragraphs 0004, 0020-0023, 0024, 0037, 0040 and 0042). Moreover, regarding the claimed invention, Ramakrishnan discloses that the system comprises a pinning node configured to pin a communication widget to a selected portion of the host application, wherein the widget pinned with the pinning node can be removed by the user who pinned the widget (see e.g. paragraphs 0024, 0050, 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols, Draeger and Ramakrishnan before him prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system taught by Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger such that the communication widget pinned with the pinning node can be removed by the user (i.e. the first user) who pinned the communication widget, like with the widget taught by Ramakrishnan. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination, because it would enable users to delete unwanted messages, as is evident from Ramakrishnan (see e.g. see e.g. paragraphs 0024 and 0056). Accordingly, Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols, Draeger and Ramakrishnan are considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a system like that of claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, Piper teaches that the communication node is further configured to: (i) start the communication thread via the communication widget by at least one user (see e.g. column 5, lines 31-38; and column 5, lines 58-67; and FIGS. 2A-2D: Piper discloses that the commenting tool comprises functionality for starting a communication thread by a user.); (ii) continue the communication thread asynchronously via the communication widget by at least one user (see e.g. column 6, lines 1-5; and column 6, lines 45-53: Piper discloses that the commenting tool comprises functionality that opens the widget for an existing conversation thread. Piper further discloses that the communication threads are persisted for asynchronous communication – see e.g. column 4, lines 46-63; column 6, lines 40-53; and column 7, lines 27-51); and (iii) join the communication thread via the communication widget started by the at least one user (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; column 6, lines 40-53; and column 7, lines 27-51: Piper teaches that users can open the commenting tool to access conversations started by other users.); (iv) wherein the user who joins the communication thread can be also the agent operating the instant communication channel (see e.g. column 6, lines 1-9; and column 6, lines 40-44: Piper demonstrates that a user who joins the communication thread can also use, i.e. operate, the instant communication channel. Accordingly, the user can be considered “the agent operating the instant communication channel” like claimed. Alternatively, it is apparent that there is no limitation as to who can use the commenting tool described by Piper, and so it is understood that the user who joins the communication thread can be a provider of the instant messaging server or website. In such circumstances, the user can also be considered “the agent operating the instant communication channel” like claimed.). As described above, it would have been obvious to modify the system taught by Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger such that a user can remove the communication widget, as is taught by Ramakrishnan. In other words, the communication node is configured to remove the communication thread via the communication widget by at least one user. The above-described combination of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols, Draeger and Ramakrishnan is thus further considered to teach a system like that of claim 7.
Claims 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger, which is described above, and also over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0026775 to Retnakumari et al. (“Retnakumari”).
Regarding claim 5, Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger teach a system like that of claim 1, as is described above, which entails a website or online application on which a communication widget is arranged, and a database configured to save communication threads. Like in claim 5, Piper further teaches that the database is configured to save data sent by at least one user via the communication widget arranged in communication with the messaging service (see e.g. column 3, lines 21-28; column 3, lines 46-51; and column 7, lines 10-51), and also to save data about communication widget users (see e.g. column 3, lines 42-45; column 4, lines 1-24; and column 6, lines 9-21). The data about communication widget users necessarily includes data (e.g. username) collected via the communication widget and includes data collected via local storage or pre-chat survey (see e.g. column 3, lines 42-45; column 4, lines 1-24; and column 6, lines 9-21). Piper, however, suggests that embodiments in which the user data is stored require users to sign in (see e.g. column 3, lines 42-45; column 4, lines 1-24; and column 6, lines 9-21). Therefore, in such embodiments, the communication widget would not be available on the website for all users with no prior registration required like in claim 1, upon which claim 5 depends. Moreover, Piper does not teach removing data exchanged by at least one user via communication threads and the data exchanged by at least one user via the communication widget after a predefined amount of time to optimize storage space, as is further required by claim 5.
As noted above, McCarthy similarly teaches implementing and managing a messaging collaborating tool embedded in website pages, whereby users can chat in real-time or near real-time (see e.g. paragraph 0009). McCarthy particularly teaches that the chat functionality can be available to authenticated users (i.e. users that have data such as a user name and password stored), and can also be available to visitors having no prior registration (see e.g. paragraphs 0010, 0036-0039, and 0048). As such, the chat functionality could be accessed by all website visitors and be available with no prior registration required (see e.g. paragraphs 0010, 0036-0039, and 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the system taught by Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger so that, in embodiments in which users sign-in (and the data of these users, collected via the communication widget e.g. via local storage or pre-chat survey, is stored), the chat functionality (i.e. communication widget) can still be accessed by all website visitors, with no prior registration required like taught by McCarthy. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it would allow users of the chat functionality to remain anonymous, as is taught by McCarthy (see e.g. paragraphs 0038 and 0048).
Removing data stored in a database after a predefined amount of time is well-known in the art. For example, Retnakumari generally teaches removing data from a database after a predefined time period to optimize storage space (see e.g. paragraphs 0005 and 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols, Draeger and Retnakumari before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system taught by Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols and Draeger so that the data (e.g. data exchanged by at least one user via communication threads and the data exchanged by at least one user via the communication widget) is removed after a predefined amount of time like taught by Retnakumari to optimize storage space. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it can better improve the performance of the system, as is suggested by Retnakumari (see e.g. paragraphs 0004-0007). Accordingly, Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols, Draeger and Retnakumari are considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a system like that of claim 5.
As per claim 8, Piper teaches saving data about communication widget users (see e.g. column 3, lines 42-45; column 4, lines 1-24; and column 6, lines 9-21). The data about the communication widget users necessarily includes data (e.g. a username) collected via a pre-chat survey (e.g. when the user registers), wherein the pre-chat survey is configured to accept at least one of audio, video, textual or alphanumeric content (e.g. the username) (see e.g. column 3, lines 42-45; column 4, lines 1-24; and column 6, lines 9-21). Accordingly, the above-described combination of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols, Draeger and Retnakumari is further considered to teach a system like that of claim 8.
As per claim 9, Piper teaches saving data about communication widget users (see e.g. column 3, lines 42-45; column 4, lines 1-24; and column 6, lines 9-21). The data about the communication widget users necessarily includes data (e.g. a username) collected via a pre-chat survey (e.g. when the user registers), wherein the pre-chat survey is configured to be available upon a website administrator configuration of the communication widget (e.g. a configuration of the widget to request authentication credentials) used by at least one user (see e.g. column 3, lines 42-45; column 4, lines 1-24; and column 6, lines 9-21). Accordingly, the above-described combination of Piper, Capon, McCarthy, Appelman, Roy, Nichols, Draeger and Retnakumari is further considered to teach a system like that of claim 9.
Claims 10-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 8,572,199 to Piper et al. (“Piper”), over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0185951 to Nichols et al. (“Nichols”), over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0148347 to Appelman et al. (“Appelman”), over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0287982 to Draeger et al. (“Draeger”), and also over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0096789 to Lin (“Lin”).
Regarding claim 10, Piper generally teaches enabling users to create an instant chat and message session that is associated with a media object on the web or the Internet (see e.g. column 1, line 58 – column 2, line 13). Like claimed, Piper particularly teaches:
displaying a communication widget and arranging the communication widget on a website or online application (see e.g. column 2, lines 62-67; column 3, lines 29-45; column 5, lines 9-67; and FIGS. 2A-2D: Piper discloses that a web server provides a web interface, e.g. a web page, to a user, wherein the web interface includes an instant or live “commenting tool” that enables the user to leave live comments with respect to a media object displayed within the webpage. The commenting tool is considered an “instant communication widget” like claimed.);
accessing the communication widget by at least one user (see e.g. column 3, lines 29-45; and column 5, lines 31-67: Piper teaches that a first user can access the web interface and its commenting tool. Moreover, Piper also teaches that a second user can also access the web page and commenting tool – see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; and column 6, lines 1-9.);
typing a message by at least one user via the communication widget displayed on a processor (see e.g. column 5, lines 31-67; and column 6, lines 40-44: Piper teaches that the first user can input a message via the commenting tool displayed by his or her computing device. Moreover, Piper further teaches that the second user can also input a message via the commenting tool displayed via his or her computing device – see e.g. column 6, lines 1-9; and column 6, lines 40-44.);
sending the message via the communication widget by at least one user with the use of the communication widget (see e.g. column 6, lines 1-9; and column 6, lines 40-44: Piper discloses that the commenting tool can be used to send the message from the first user to the second user.);
continuing communication threads displayed via the communication widget in case at least one user leaves the website and comes back (see e.g. column 3, lines 46-51; column 6, lines 45-53; and column 7, lines 21-51: Piper discloses that communication threads are persisted even after a user leaves the comment session. As such, the display of the communication threads is continued via the communication widget in case the user leaves the website and returns.);
saving the communication threads displayed via the communication widget in a database arranged on a server (see e.g. column 3, lines 21-28; column 3, lines 46-51; and column 7, lines 10-51: Piper discloses that the web server can comprise memory to record comments or conversations made by users via the commenting tool. The memory thus serves as a database to save the communication threads, i.e. conversations, displayed via the commenting tool.); and
wherein the communication widget is available on the website for all users with no prior registration required (see e.g. column 4, line 64 – column 5, line 2: Piper discloses that, in an embodiment, the commenting tool can be automatically activated and enabled upon rendering a media object on the web interface, and that therefore, the users would not need to sign-in or proceed through an authentication process to activate the commenting tool. In such circumstances, the commenting tool would be available to all users with no prior registration required.);
wherein the communication threads are composed out of messages sent with the use of a messaging service (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; column 6, lines 40-53; and column 7, lines 27-51: Piper discloses that multiple users can use the commenting tool provided by the server to engage in a conversation between each other, and whereby other users can leave messages and be engaged in the same conversation. The server thus provides a messaging service that enables the users to continue conversations displayed via the commenting tool, wherein the communication threads are composed out of messages sent with the use of the messaging service.).
Accordingly, Piper teaches a method similar to that of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach displaying an activity feed view wherein at least one user is currently browsing the same page within one session, and viewing other users on the website within a browsing session, the other users being made visible in response to each of the other users defining, in an interface provided on the website, that a presence of that user on the website is to be visible to other users, and without any prior registration being required, as is detailed in claim 10. Piper also does not explicitly disclose that the server on which the database is arranged is a virtual server like claimed, and that a communication thread is closed after a predefined period of inactivity while a chat containing the communication thread remains continuously open, and a subsequent communication thread is started within the continuously open chat when the at least one user comes back to the website, as is further required by claim 10.
Nichols generally describes a method of executing a collaborative web browsing session that uses a communication model of an instant messaging service to support a variety of collaborative browsing tasks between users (see e.g. paragraph 0026). Regarding the claimed invention, Nichols particularly teaches displaying an activity feed view (i.e. a textual description of web page interactions) wherein at least one user is currently browsing a same web page within a session (see e.g. paragraphs 0011, 0026 and 0029-0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper and Nichols before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Piper so as to display an activity feed view wherein at least one user is currently browsing the same page within one session, as is done by Nichols. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it would allow a user to follow along with what other users are doing, as is taught by Nichols (see e.g. paragraph 0029).
Appelman generally describes an online service provider that dynamically displays information of other users viewing the same web page as the user (see e.g. paragraph 0013). In particular, Appelman teaches enabling a user to view other users on the web page within a browsing session, wherein the other users are made visible in response to each of the other users defining, in an interface provided on the website, that a presence of that user on the web page is to be visible to other users (i.e. by selecting to opt-in to participation), and without any prior registration required (see e.g. paragraphs 0013-0014, 0016-0017, 0020-0021, 0034 and 0072-0073).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Nichols and Appelman before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Piper and Nichols so as to enable the user to view other users on the website within a browsing session, wherein the other users are made visible in response to each of the other users defining, in an interface provided on the website, that a presence of that user on the website is to be visible to other users (i.e. by selecting to opt-in to participation), and without any prior registration required, as is taught by Appelman. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination, because many online users may desire information regarding other individuals accessing the website, as is taught by Appelman (see e.g. paragraph 0003).
Draeger generally teaches automatically threading conversations based on one or more of the contents of the conversations, user preferences and user interactions (see e.g. paragraphs 0003 and 0013). Regarding the claimed invention, Draeger particularly teaches automatically closing a communication thread after a predefined period of inactivity while the messaging service understandably remains continuously open, such that a subsequent communication thread can be started with the continuously open messaging service when the user returns (see e.g. paragraphs 0028 and 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Nichols, Appelman and Draeger before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the method taught by Piper, Nichols and Appelman such that a communication thread is closed after a predefined period of inactivity while the messaging service (i.e. chat) containing the communication thread remains continuously open, and a subsequent communication thread is started with the continuously open messaging service when the at least one user returns (i.e. comes back to the website), as is taught by Draeger. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it would enable the communication threads to be better managed, as is evident from Draeger (see e.g. paragraphs 0028 and 0036).
Virtual servers and their benefits are well-known in the art. Lin, for example, teaches using a virtual server to host a web site (see e.g. paragraphs 0023-0024). Lin teaches that a single physical server can provide multiple virtual servers (see e.g. paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Piper, Nichols, Appelman and Draeger such that the server, on which the database is arranged, is implemented as a virtual server like taught by Lin. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a virtual server, because it can efficiently utilize the resources of a physical server, as is evident from Lin (see e.g. paragraph 0024). Accordingly, Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin are considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a method like that of claim 10, which is for collaborative website browsing combined with an instant communication channel.
As per claim 11, Piper further teaches:
triggering the communication widget by at least one user viewing the website (see e.g. column 3, lines 29-45; and column 5, lines 31-67: Piper teaches that a user viewing a website can activate a commenting tool, i.e. a communication widget.);
typing the message including at least one of textual content, alphanumeric content, voice, video or graphic content by at least one user (see e.g. column 5, lines 31-67; and column 6, lines 40-44: Piper teaches that the user can input a textual or alphanumeric message via the commenting tool displayed by his or her computing device.);
sending the message typed by the at least one user (see e.g. column 6, lines 1-9; and column 40-45: Piper teaches that messages input by the user can be provided to a second user.);
saving a message sent by the at least one user and displaying the message via the communication widget wherein the communication threads are displayed on the processor (see e.g. column 3, lines 21-28; column 3, lines 46-51; column 78, lines 45-53; and column 7, lines 10-51: Piper discloses that the web server can comprise memory to record the messages made by users via the commenting tool. Piper further teaches that communication threads including the messages sent from the first user to the second user can be displayed via the commenting tool on the computing device, i.e. processor, of each of the users – see e.g. column 6, lines 40-454 and FIG. 2F.); and
wherein the communication widget can be pinned to a selected screen element via at least one user (see e.g. column 3, lines 6-20; column 3, lines 29-45; column 4, lines 48-51; and column 5, lines 31-36: Piper discloses that a user can activate the commenting tool and attach the commenting tool with a media object presented on the web page via a drag-and-drop method. This can be considered pinning the commenting tool to the media object, i.e. screen element.); and
wherein the message sent by the at least one user can be accessed by all website visitors (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 45-53; and column 7, lines 38-51: Piper discloses that messages sent by users are persisted and available to all other website users).
Accordingly, the above-described combination of Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin further teaches a method like that of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin teach a method like that of claim 10, as is described above, which includes saving communication threads displayed via widgets in a database arranged on a virtual server. Piper particularly teaches saving data exchanged by at least one user via the communication widget including communication threads on a server, wherein saving by the messaging service and database is configured on the server (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; column 6, lines 40-53; and column 7, lines 27-51: Piper discloses that multiple users can use the commenting tool provided by the server to engage in a conversation between each other, and whereby other users can leave messages and be engaged in the same conversation. The server thus provides a messaging service and database that saves data exchanged by users in communication threads, and enables the users to continue conversations displayed via the commenting tool.). Moreover, Piper suggests that the communication widget is configured to interact with the server to save communication data, wherein a saving mechanism is integrated into the server to store and manage the data exchanged through the widget (see e.g. column 3, lines 21-28; column 3, lines 46-51; and column 7, lines 10-26). However, Piper does not explicitly teach that the server is a virtual server, as is required by claim 12. Nevertheless, as described above, Lin teaches using a virtual server to host a web site (see e.g. paragraphs 0023-0024). Lin teaches that a single physical server can provide multiple virtual servers (see e.g. paragraph 0024). Like described above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Piper, Nichols, Appelman and Draeger such that the server, on which the messaging service and database are configured and which is configured to save data exchanged by at least one user via communication widget including communication threads, is implemented as a virtual server like taught by Lin. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a virtual server, because it can efficiently utilize the resources of a physical server, as is evident from Lin (see e.g. paragraph 0024). Accordingly, Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin are further considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a method like that of claim 12.
As per claim 15, Piper further teaches:
triggering a new communication widget that opens a new communication thread (see e.g. column 5, lines 31-38; and column 5, lines 58-67; and FIGS. 2A-2D: Piper discloses that the commenting tool comprises functionality that opens a widget for a new communication thread.);
triggering a currently existing communication widget for an already existing communication thread (see e.g. column 6, lines 1-5; and column 6, lines 45-53: Piper discloses that the commenting tool comprises functionality that opens the widget for an existing conversation thread.);
wherein the at least one user can access other currently available communication widgets started by other users (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; column 6, lines 40-53; and column 7, lines 27-51: Piper teaches that users, including the first user, can open a commenting tool to access conversations started by other users.); and
wherein all communication threads are available for both real-time and asynchronous communication (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 4, lines 46-63; column 6, lines 1-9; column 6, lines 40-53; and column 7, lines 27-51: Piper discloses that the communication threads are available for instantaneous communication, and are persisted for asynchronous communication.).
Accordingly, the above-described combination of Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin is further considered to teach a method like that of claim 15.
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin, which is described above, over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0034441 to Capon (“Capon”), and also over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0024975 to Ramakrishnan et al. (“Ramakrishnan”).
Regarding claim 13, Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin teach a method like that of claim 10, as is described above, which includes saving communication threads displayed via widgets in a database arranged on a virtual server. Like in claim 13, Piper further teaches: (i) collecting the communication threads from communication widgets and saving the communication threads in a database by a communication node (e.g. software functionality) (see e.g. column 3, lines 21-51; and column 7, lines 10-51); and (ii) pinning (e.g. attaching) the communication widget (e.g. commenting tool) to an element of the website selected by the at least one user to trigger the use of a pinning node (see e.g. column 3, lines 6-20; column 3, lines 29-45; column 4, lines 48-51; and column 5, lines 31-36). As described above, it would have been obvious to modify the method taught by Piper so as to display an activity feed view like taught by Nichols to at least one other user that is currently browsing the same page within one session. Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin, however, do not explicitly disclose that the communication widget is pinned to the element of the website by reference to a position of the element within a document object model interface of the website, and wherein the at least one user can pin the communication widget to the element of the website by reference to a text node or an image identified by a position of the element within a document object model interface of the website, as is required by claim 13. Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin also do not explicitly disclose that pinning of the communication widget with the pinning node can be removed by the at least one user, as is further required by claim 13.
Capon nevertheless teaches assigning a communication widget (e.g. an annotation/comment visualization) to a selected screen element in a website, whereby the communication widget is assigned to the selected screen element by reference to a position of the selected screen element within a document object model (DOM) interface of the website (see e.g. paragraphs 0011, 0015, 0017 and 0020-0022). Capon particularly teaches pinning the communication widget (i.e. a visualization) to the selected screen element by reference to a text node or an image identified by a position of the selected screen element within a document object model interface of the website (see e.g. paragraphs 0011, 0015, 0020, 0110-0112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger, Lin and Capon before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin such that the communication widget is pinned to the element of the website by reference to a position of the element within a document object model interface of the website, and wherein the at least one user can pin the communication widget to the element of the website by reference to a text node or an image identified by a position of the element within a document object model interface of the website, as is taught by Capon. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it can enable the communication widget to be rendered properly from a visual location when the website is displayed, as is suggested by Capon (see e.g. paragraphs 0018-0020).
As described above, Ramakrishnan teaches enabling a user to attach and share notes with respect to particular portions of a host application (e.g. a website) (see e.g. paragraphs 0004, 0020-0023, 0024, 0037, 0040 and 0042). Moreover, regarding the claimed invention, Ramakrishnan further teaches employing a pinning node configured to pin a communication widget to a selected portion of the host application, wherein the widget pinned with the pinning node can be removed by the user or another user (see e.g. paragraphs 0024, 0050, 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger, Lin, Capon and Ramakrishnan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger, Lin and Capon so that at the at least one user can remove the communication widget pinned with the pinning node, as is taught by Ramakrishnan. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination, because it would enable users to delete unwanted messages, as is evident from Ramakrishnan (see e.g. see e.g. paragraphs 0024 and 0056). Accordingly, Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger, Lin, Capon and Ramakrishnan are considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a method like that of claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, Piper further teaches: (i) starting the communication threads exchanged via the communication widget by at least one user (see e.g. column 5, lines 31-38; and column 5, lines 58-67; and FIGS. 2A-2D: Piper discloses that the commenting tool comprises functionality for starting a communication by the first user.); (ii) continuing the communication threads asynchronously via the communication widget by at least one user (see e.g. column 6, lines 1-5; and column 6, lines 45-53: Piper discloses that the commenting tool comprises functionality that opens the widget for an existing conversation thread. Piper further discloses that the communication threads are persisted for asynchronous communication – see e.g. column 4, lines 46-63; column 6, lines 40-53; and column 7, lines 27-51); and (iii) wherein at least one user can join a currently existing communication thread via the communication widget started by the at least one user instead of starting a new communication thread (see e.g. column 4, lines 25-37; column 6, lines 1-9; column 6, lines 40-53; and column 7, lines 27-51: Piper teaches that users can open the commenting tool to access conversations started by other users, instead of starting a new conversation.). As described above, it would have been obvious to modify the method taught by Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger, Lin and Capon so that at least one user can remove the communication widget like taught by Ramakrishnan, i.e. it would have been obvious to remove the communication threads via communication widget by at least one user. Accordingly, the above-described combination of Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger, Lin, Capon and Ramakrishnan is further considered to teach method like that of claim 16.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin, which is described above, over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0198124 to McCarthy (“McCarthy”), and also over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0026775 to Retnakumari et al. (“Retnakumari”).
Regarding claim 14, Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin teach a method like that of claim 10, as is described above, which entails saving communication threads displayed via widgets in a database arranged on a virtual server, wherein the communication threads are composed out of messages sent with the user of a messaging service. Like in claim 14, Piper particularly teaches saving data exchanged by at least one user via the communication widget including communication threads sent by the messaging service (see e.g. column 3, lines 21-28; column 3, lines 46-51; and column 7, lines 10-51), and saving data exchanged by at least one user via a communication widget about the at least one user using the communication widget (see e.g. column 3, lines 42-45; column 4, lines 1-24; and column 6, lines 9-21). The data exchanged by at least one user via the communication widget about the at least one user necessarily includes data (e.g. username) collected via local storage or a pre-chat survey (see e.g. column 3, lines 42-45; column 4, lines 1-24; and column 6, lines 9-21). Moreover, as noted above, it would have been obvious to modify the method taught by Piper so as to display an activity feed view like taught by Nichols of at least one other user that is currently browsing the same page within one session. That is, like in claim 14, the data exchanged by at least one user via the communication widget about the at least one user further includes an activity feed. Piper, however, suggests that embodiments in which the user data is stored require users to sign in (see e.g. column 3, lines 42-45; column 4, lines 1-24; and column 6, lines 9-21). Therefore, in such embodiments, the communication widget would not be available on the website for all users with no prior registration required like in claim 10, upon which claim 14 depends. Moreover, Piper does not teach removing the data exchanged by at least one user via the communication widget including communication threads after a predefined amount of time to optimize data storage space, and removing the data exchanged by at least one user via the communication widget about the at least one user after a predefined amount of time to optimize storage space, as is further required by claim 14.
Similar to Piper, McCarthy teaches implementing and managing a messaging collaborating tool embedded in website pages, whereby users can chat in real-time or near real-time (see e.g. paragraph 0009). McCarthy particularly teaches that the chat functionality can be available to authenticated users (i.e. users that have data such as a user name and password stored), and can also be available to visitors having no prior registration (see e.g. paragraphs 0010, 0036-0039, and 0048). As such, the chat functionality could be accessed by all website visitors and be available with no prior registration required (see e.g. paragraphs 0010, 0036-0039, and 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger, Lin and McCarthy before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger and Lin so that, in embodiments in which users sign-in (and the data of these users, collected via the communication widget e.g. via local storage or pre-chat survey, is stored), the chat functionality (i.e. communication widget) can still be accessed by all website visitors, with no prior registration required like taught by McCarthy. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it would allow users of the chat functionality to remain anonymous, as is taught by McCarthy (see e.g. paragraphs 0038 and 0048).
Removing data stored in a database after a predefined amount of time is well-known in the art. For example, Retnakumari generally teaches removing data from a database after a predefined time period to optimize storage space (see e.g. paragraphs 0005 and 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger, Lin, McCarthy and Retnakumari before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger, Lin and McCarthy so that the data (e.g. the data about communication threads and the data exchanged by at least one user via the communication widget) is removed after a predefined amount of time like taught by Retnakumari to optimize storage space. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it can better improve the performance of the system, as is suggested by Retnakumari (See e.g. paragraphs 0004-0007). Accordingly, Piper, Nichols, Appelman, Draeger, Lin, McCarthy and Retnakumari are considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a method like that of claim 14.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 2, 10 and 13. The Applicant’s arguments concerning the pending claims have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
/BTB/
9/27/2026
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141