DETAILED ACTION
The receipt is acknowledged of applicants’ after final amendment filed 11/26/2025; and request for RCE filed 12/08/2025.
The after final amendment filed 11/26/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 5, 6, 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/02/2024.
Claims 1-4 and 7 are subject of this office action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the article to Edwards et al. (“Antimicrobial and hemostatic activities of cotton-based dressing designed to address prolonged field care applications”, currently provided).
Claim 1 is directed to a fabric composition comprising attached a zeolite Y/pectin complex; wherein the zeolite Y/pectin complex is deposited as ordered inter-fibrillar sheets on the fabric.
Edwards disclosed antimicrobial hemostatic wound dressing comprising zeolite Y/pectin complex adhered and deposited on nonwoven, greige, unbleached cotton fabric. The zeolite Y/pectin complex is deposited as ordered inter-fibrillar sheets. The dressing is multilayered fabric. See the entire document, and in particular the abstract; page 117; results; discussion and conclusion.
All the limitations of the claimed fabric composition as claimed by claim 1 are met by the reference.
Regarding claims 2-4, the reference disclosed the claimed nonwoven fabric.
Regarding fabric is multiple layers as claimed by claim 4, this is disclosed by the reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the article to Edwards et al. (Antimicrobial and hemostatic activities of cotton-based dressing designed to address prolonged field care applications) in view of the article to Edwards et al. (hereinafter Edwards-2, “Development of a nonwoven hemostatic dressing based on unbleached cotton: A de novo design approach”, previously provided).
Applicant Claims
Claim 7 is directed to the fabric composition of claim 2 comprises about 85% by weight non-scoured, non-bleached greige cotton fibers, and about 15% by weight bleached cotton fibers.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
The teachings of Edwards are discussed under 102 rejection above. Edwards teaches all the limitations of claims 1-4 as discussed above.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
While Edwards teaches unbleached cotton fabric, the reference however does not explicitly teach the fabric comprising about 85% by weight non-scoured, non-bleached greige cotton fibers, and about 15% by weight bleached cotton fibers as claimed by claim 7,
Edwards-2 teaches raw unbleached nonwoven textile comprising greige cotton
fibers improves fibrin formation and reduces the clotting time of blood when combined
with bleached cotton fibers in 10% or 15%, samples B3 or B4 of table 2. The fibers can
incorporate clay (see entire document, and in particular the abstract; page 2; page 3,
last paragraph; page 11, table 2; conclusion). The teaching of the reference of presence of bleached cotton fibers in 10-15% of the fabric implies that the rest of the fabric is unbleached, i.e. 85-90% unbleached.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide hemostatic cotton fabric comprising zeolite Y/pectin complex deposited on nonwoven greige or unbleached cotton fabric as taught by Edwards, and add 10%-15% bleached cotton fibers to the unbleached cotton fibers as taught by Edwards-2. One would have been motivated to do so because Edwards-2 teaches unbleached griege cotton fabric comprising 10-15% bleached cotton fibers improves fibrin formation and reduces the clotting time of blood. One would reasonably expect formulating hemostatic griege cotton fabric comprising zeolite Y/pectin wherein the cotton fabric comprising 10%-15% bleached cotton fibers wherein the fabric has improved fibrin formation and reduced clotting time, hence improved hemostatic properties.
Regarding the amount of unbleached cotton fibers of 85% as claimed by claim 7, Edwards-2 teaches bleaches fibers in cotton fabric in amount that can be 15% that implies unbleached fibers in amount of 85% in the fabric. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. In any event applicants failed to show any unexpected results obtained from claimed amount of bleached or unbleached cotton fibers.
Absent any evidence to the contrary, and based upon the teachings of the prior art, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the instantly claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention.
/ISIS A GHALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611 /I.G./