DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maekita (2018/0085278) in view of Sugata (2016/0150999) and Takashima (2017/0065478).
Regarding claim 1, Maekita discloses a walking training system comprising: a robot leg (2; fig. 2) attached to one leg of a trainee; a treadmill (31); a load distribution sensor (251) detects a distribution of a load received from a sole of the trainee riding on a belt (311) of the treadmill (31) ([0035]); a walking state determination unit (351) that determines whether the one leg has switched from a standing state to a swinging state (idling) based on a state of increase in a load detected by the load distribution sensor (251) and received from another leg of the trainee performing walking training ([0036] lines 1-12); and a control unit (35) that starts bending control for the swinging state of the one leg by the robot leg when the walking state determination unit (351) determines that the one leg has switched from the standing state to the swinging state ([0022] lines 1-10, [0042] lines 1-10, [00043] lines 1-8).
Maekita substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the load sensor is attached to the treadmill. However, Sugata teaches in fig. 8, the load sensor (47, 47a) attached to the treadmill (41) ([0053] lines 1-5, [0056] lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the load sensor for Maekita to be located in the treadmill as taught by Sugata to provide the advantage of enhanced determination using both feet(as disclosed by Sugata in [0056]), less need for wireless technology for faster sensing reporting, and reduced robot weight.
The modified Maekita substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the control unit is configured to adjust a rotation speed of the belt of the treadmill based on a detection result of the load distribution sensor. However, Takashima teaches the control unit (5) is configured to adjust a rotation speed of the belt (311) of the treadmill (31) based on a detection result of the load distribution sensor (314) ([0030] lines 1-12, [0031] lines 1-6, [0055] lines 1-6, [0056] lines 1-8 disclose that the control unit starts operation of the treadmill and an initial speed in a prohibition state and based on the signals received from the load sensor, the control unit is configured to adjust the speed by removing the prohibitive state and allowing the training start button the be active to begin training at the training speed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control unit of the modified Maekita to control operation of the belt of the treadmill based on the load sensor as taught by Takashima to provide the advantage of enhanced ease in acclimation and reduction of anxiety as disclosed by Takashima in [0012] last 4 lines.
Regarding claim 2, Maekita discloses the walking state determination unit (351) determines that the one leg has switched from the standing state to the swinging state when the load received from the other leg becomes equal to or more than a predetermined load ([0036]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Maekita discloses the walking state determination unit (351) determines that the one leg has switched from the standing state to the swinging state when the load received from the other leg becomes equal to or more than a predetermined ratio of a maximum value of a load received from the one leg ([0056] lines 1-10, [0057] of Sugata).
Regarding claim 4, Maekita discloses wherein the walking state determination unit (351) determines that the one leg has switched from the standing state to the swinging state when a center-of-gravity position of the load detected by the load distribution sensor (251) comes in a predetermined region including a position of the other leg ([0038] lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 5, Maekita discloses a method for controlling a walking training system, the method comprising: a step of using a load distribution sensor (251) to detect a distribution of a load received from a sole of a trainee riding on a belt of the treadmill (31); a step of determining whether one leg to which a robot leg is attached has switched from a standing state to a swinging state based on a state of increase in a load received from another leg that is different from the one leg )[0036]); and a step of starting bending control for the swinging state of the one leg by the robot leg when determining that the one leg has switched from the standing state to the swinging state ([0022] lines 1-10, [0042] lines 1-10, [00043] lines 1-8).
Maekita substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the load sensor is attached to the treadmill. However, Sugata teaches in fig. 8, the load sensor (47, 47a) attached to the treadmill (41) ([0053] lines 1-5, [0056] lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the load sensor for Maekita to be located in the treadmill as taught by Sugata to provide the advantage of enhanced determination using both feet(as disclosed by Sugata in [0056]), less need for wireless technology for faster sensing reporting, and reduced robot weight.
.Regarding claim 6, Maekita discloses a control program that causes a computer to execute: a process of using a load distribution sensor (251) to detect a distribution of a load received from a sole of a trainee riding on a belt of the treadmill ([0035]); a process of determining whether one leg to which a robot leg is attached has switched from a standing state to a swinging state based on a state of increase in a load received from another leg that is different from the one leg ([0036]); and a process of starting bending control for the swinging state of the one leg by the robot leg when determining that the one leg has switched from the standing state to the swinging state ([0022] lines 1-10, [0042] lines 1-10, [00043] lines 1-8).
Maekita substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the load sensor is attached to the treadmill. However, Sugata teaches in fig. 8, the load sensor (47, 47a) attached to the treadmill (41) ([0053] lines 1-5, [0056] lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the load sensor for Maekita to be located in the treadmill as taught by Sugata to provide the advantage of enhanced determination using both feet(as disclosed by Sugata in [0056]), less need for wireless technology for faster sensing reporting, and reduced robot weight.
Regarding claim 7, Maekita discloses a front tensioning unit (34) including a first wire (37) and a rear tensioning unit (33) including a rear wire (36) attached to the robot leg, wherein a coordinated operation of the front tensioning unit (33) and the rear tensioning unit (36) is configured to offset a load of the robot leg ([0027] lines 1-7, [0028] lines 1-12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 5 4th paragraph that the references fail to teach the newly added limitations. However, Examiner notes that Takashima is now relied on for this teaching. Thus the combination including Takashima teach this limitation as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LaToya M Louis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785