DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 04/01/2026. In making the below rejections, the examiner has considered and addressed each of the applicants arguments. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn, and claims 1-10 have are being examined.
The drawing objection from the previous office action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haber (USPN 5,298,023) in view of Lynn (USPN 5,743,886).
In reference to independent claim 1, Haber discloses an apparatus for regulating fluid flow rate from a fluid dispensing device (fig 31) comprising:
a) a primary fluid chamber (654 and 520-496,510, fig 31b);
b) an outlet (needle assembly 451) in fluid communication with said primary fluid chamber (654, fig 31b);
c) a pump member (464, 514, 512, and 506) for displacing fluid from said primary fluid chamber (654) through said outlet (451);
d) a secondary chamber (520-496 and 510) within said primary fluid chamber(654 and 520-496,510), said secondary chamber having no fluid within it (annotated fig 31a and 31b above clearly show locations with fluid in dashed lines, the secondary chamber as defined does not show any dashed lines meaning it has no fluid, furthermore when 512 is depressed the gap is exposed to ambient meaning there can’t be any fluid in the chamber);
e) a dividing member (500) movably disposed in said secondary chamber (end of 510);
f) a first adjustable volume (520 and 496) on a first side of said dividing member (below 500), wherein and
g) a second adjustable volume (510) on a second side of said dividing member (500); wherein said dividing member (500) moves to increase said first adjustable volume (520 and 496) when fluid displaced through said outlet exceeds a predetermined flow rate (when the flow rate is too high it indicates the pressure to high which moves the plate up against the spring 504), however
Haber does not teach said first volume is in fluid communication with said primary fluid chamber.
Lynn, a similar syringe, teaches a first volume (66, fig 6C) is in fluid communication with said primary fluid chamber (primary fluid chamber 68, col 15 lines 21-29 disclose “When the injection of the fluid within the secondary reservoir 68 is complete, the divider piston 58 has reached the venting position and engages the seats 109. At this point, further advancement of the piston 38 causes the saline solution in the primary reservoir 66 to flow through the slots 104 and through the flush flow space 116 to flush around the lower face 59 of the divider piston 58 and out the distal conduit 18 and to flush the deadspace of the intravenous tubing and catheter with saline.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the slots 104 of Lynn in the apparatus of Haber “to specifically allow the aspiration of a capacitance storage volume of a flush volume, which can later be used to flush the deadspace of the reservoir and the deadspace of a tubing system and catheter” col 4, lines 28-31; Lynn.
In reference to dependent claim 6, Haber discloses a fluid flow rate regulating syringe comprising:
a) a barrel (494, fig 31) defining an inner chamber (654);
b) an outlet (needle assembly 451) in fluid communication with said inner chamber of said barrel (when the needle assembly is extended it is fed by 654);
c) a plunger (464, 514, 512, and 506) movably disposed in said barrel for displacing fluid through said outlet (col 16, lines 67-5 discloses “A needle assembly 451, assuming one is not already mounted to assembly 428, is then mounted to septum cap 446. The injection is then given by pressing on accumulator stem assembly 494 in distal direction 524, thereby forcing accumulator piston 464 in distal direction 524 to expulse the mixed pharmaceutical.”);
d) a secondary chamber (520-496 and 510);
e) a dividing member (500) movably disposed in said secondary chamber (520-496 and 510);
f) a first adjustable volume (beneath 500) on a first side of said dividing member (500); and
g) a second adjustable volume on a second side (above 500) of said dividing member (500); wherein said dividing member moves to increase said first adjustable volume when fluid displaced through said outlet exceeds a predetermined flow rate (when the flow rate is too high it indicates the pressure to high which moves the plate up against the spring 504).
Haber does not teach said first volume is in fluid communication with said primary fluid chamber.
Lynn, a similar syringe, teaches a first volume (66, fig 6C) is in fluid communication with said primary fluid chamber (primary fluid chamber 68, col 15 lines 21-29 disclose “When the injection of the fluid within the secondary reservoir 68 is complete, the divider piston 58 has reached the venting position and engages the seats 109. At this point, further advancement of the piston 38 causes the saline solution in the primary reservoir 66 to flow through the slots 104 and through the flush flow space 116 to flush around the lower face 59 of the divider piston 58 and out the distal conduit 18 and to flush the deadspace of the intravenous tubing and catheter with saline.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the slots 104 of Lynn in the apparatus of Haber “to specifically allow the aspiration of a capacitance storage volume of a flush volume, which can later be used to flush the deadspace of the reservoir and the deadspace of a tubing system and catheter” col 4, lines 28-31; Lynn.
In reference to dependent claim 2, Haber in view of Lynn discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Haber discloses the apparatus further comprising a biasing member (504) for resisting movement of said dividing member (500).
In reference to dependent claim 3, Haber in view of Lynn discloses the apparatus of claim 2, Haber discloses the apparatus wherein said biasing member comprises a constant force compression spring (504 is a spring, see fig 31a).
In reference to dependent claim 4, Haber in view of Lynn discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Haber discloses the apparatus wherein said fluid dispensing device comprises a syringe (first line of abstract states “A multiple pharmaceutical syringe”).
In reference to dependent claim 5, Haber in view of Lynn discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Haber discloses the apparatus further comprising a flow restriction (channel that connects 464 to 451) disposed between said primary fluid chamber (654 and 520-496,510) and said outlet (needle of 451).
In reference to dependent claim 7, Haber in view of Lynn discloses the fluid regulating syringe of claim 6, Haber discloses the apparatus further comprising a biasing member (504) for resisting movement of said dividing member (500).
In reference to dependent claim 8, Haber in view of Lynn discloses the fluid regulating syringe of claim 7, Haber discloses the apparatus wherein said biasing member (504) comprises a constant force compression spring (504 is a spring, see fig 31a).
In reference to dependent claim 9, Haber in view of Lynn discloses the fluid regulating syringe of claim 6, Haber discloses the apparatus further comprising a flow restriction (channel that connects 464 to 451) disposed between said inner chamber of said barrel (654) and said outlet (needle of 451).
In reference to dependent claim 10, Haber in view of Lynn discloses the fluid regulating syringe of claim 6, Haber discloses the apparatus wherein said secondary chamber (520-496 and 510) is disposed within said plunger (464, 514, 512, and 506).
Response to Arguments
In reference to applicant’s argument that “the device disclosed in Haber could not function as described in the office action. For example, the office action states that Haber discloses a dividing member (500) movably disposed in a secondary chamber (end of 510). However, as described in Haber, part number 500 is a plate secured to a proximal end of an accumulator stem. Haber col. 12, lines 49-51. The plate secured to a proximal end of the accumulator stem cannot be movably disposed within the chamber” examiner disagrees. Column 12, lines 1-10 clearly disclose “The use of plates 500, 506 and spring 504 permit the user to continue pressing on stem assembly 494 in a distal direction 524. Doing so permits plate 506 and guide sleeve 512 to move in distal direction 524 as suggested by the dashed lined position of assembly 494 in FIG. 29. This extra motion of accumulator stem assembly 494 causes spring 504 to compress; however, accumulator stem 498 is at the limit of its distal movement so that it, along with attached plate 500, remains in the position illustrated FIG. 31.” If chamber housing 512 is moving then the dividing member 500 can stay fixed and still be moving within the chamber. Furthermore, if the spring is compressed then the volume of the chamber has to change.
In reference to applicant’s argument that “Conversely, the present invention is designed for delivering one fluid or pharmaceutical at a time at a controlled flow rate.
The invention as claimed in claim 1 comprises a primary fluid chamber (15), an outlet (13), a pump member (20), a secondary chamber (22) having a dividing member (23) movably disposed within it. The dividing member (23) adjusts with changing pressure between the first and second adjustable volumes. The first adjustable volume, encompassing the space between dividing member 23 and outlet 13, contains the fluid to be delivered via the device, while the second adjustable volume, encompassing the space between thumb flange 27 and dividing member 23, adjusts as needed to prevent exceeding the predetermined flow rate as the fluid is displaced from the device.” Examiner agrees there are significant differences between applicant’s invention and Haber, however the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). That applicant’s device is a part of a larger device does not negate the fact that applicant’s claims are rendered obvious by it.
In reference to applicant’s argument that “The second adjustable volume does not contain any fluid, it is meant to balance the changing fluid pressure as fluid is dispensed, thereby preventing an unintended excess in flow rate of the dispensed fluid. Claim 1 has been amended to clarify this limitation. Support for this amendment can be found, for example, at paragraphs [00065], [00068]-[00069].” Examiner cannot find any explicit declaration of this limitation in the spec or in the drawing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/C.W.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783