DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment and remarks dated 4/30/2026 have been considered. Claims 8-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
On page 7 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, Applicant asserts that no new matter is introduced by amendment and identifies at least paras. 0004-0006, 0010, 0017, 0038, 0040, 0051, and 0053-0054 as providing written description support for the amendments to claims 8 and 11.
The examiner agrees that the instant specification provides sufficient written description support for the claim amendments.
On page 10 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, with respect to Step 2A, Prong 1, Applicant argues:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The office action provides, in detail, specific examples about how each identified limitation is a mental process. Moreover, the claim was considered as a whole, as each and every claim limitation was addressed, consistent with the analysis performed in the Subject Matter Eligibility Examples.
On pages 10-11 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, with respect to Step 2A, Prong 1, Applicant argues:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 8 is directed to a mental workflow, rather than a “specific technical workflow” as alleged by Applicant. Claim 8, as a whole, is a mental process of assessing the performance of a neural network architecture on hardware, and such assessment is a mental process.
On pages 10-11 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, with respect to Step 2A, Prong 1, Applicant argues:
The examiner agrees that the “a model predictor that comprises one or more machine learning models trained based on metrics measured from execution of neural network architectures on target hardware” and the “implement the first neural network in hardware based on the first network hardware-aware score satisfying a criteria” are not mental steps, and therefore such limitations are analyzed under Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B. However, the “assess a first metric of the first neural network” is a mental step, as a human can mentally assess the accuracy or latency associated with a first neural network, for example.
On page 11 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, with respect to Step 2A, Prong 1, Applicant argues that the present claim 8 is analogous to Example 38.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Example 38 pertains to simulating an analog audio mixer and simulating a digital representation of an analog circuit is not a mental process. In contrast, the current claims recite several mental processes as explained in the detailed rejections below.
On pages 11-12 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, with respect to Step 2A, Prong 1, Applicant argues that the present claim 8 is analogous to Example 39.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Example 39 is clearly distinguishable, as example 39 does not contain a single judicial exception, whereas the current claims recite several mental processes as explained in the detailed rejections below.
On pages 12 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, with respect to Step 2A, Prong 1, Applicant argues:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner has identified specific mental processes recited by the claim language, and Applicant has not rebutted any of these specific findings.
On pages 13 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, with respect to Step 2A, Prong 2, Applicant argues:
The examiner respectfully disagrees that the “claimed invention provides a concrete improvement in the technical field of hardware-aware neural architecture search.” The claims are recited at a high-level, and merely require assessing the outputs of machine learning models, and do not provide any improvements to the machine learning models themselves. The claims generally relate to determining a best neural network architecture for particular hardware based on metrics, where such assessment and determination can be performed by a human using data outputs from the machine learning models.
Regarding the “implement the first neural network in hardware based on the first network hardware-aware score satisfying a first criterion” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation attempts to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished, or provides no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result (e.g., any type of implementation based on a criterion being met). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
On page 13 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, with respect to Step 2A, Prong 2, Applicant argues that Examples 40 and 47 are analogous.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Example 40 is distinguishable because in that example, there was a specific improvement to network monitoring technologies. Here, there is no improvement to any technology or technical field.
Similarly, Example 47, claims 2 and 3, are distinguishable because in those examples, there was a specific improvement to the technology of speech separation. Here, there is no improvement to any technology or technical field. However, the examiner does agree that Example 47, claim 1, is analogous, because adding a generic DNN “merely adds a generic computer component ... and therefore fails to provide an improvement to the technology or technical field.”
On pages 13-14 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, with respect to Step 2A, Prong 2, Applicant makes arguments with respect to Ex Parte Desjardins.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Desjardins pertained to an improvement in machine learning technology where the problem of “catastrophic forgetting” was overcome. In contrast, the claimed “model predictor” is merely a generic machine learning model where no improvements to machine learning technology are provided.
On page 14 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, with respect to Step 2B, Applicant argues:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The office action does not invoke the “well-understood, routine, conventional activity” consideration of MPEP 2106.05(d), and therefore direct evidence is not necessary. Moreover, the examiner notes that Applicant has provided no evidence either.
On page 15 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, with respect to Step 2B, Applicant argues:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As Applicant admits, the “well-understood, routine, conventional activity” consideration of MPEP 2106.05(d) requires evidence, and Applicant has provided no evidence, and has relied purely on self-serving arguments. Therefore, the “well-understood, routine, conventional activity” consideration does not favor, nor disfavor, a finding of eligibility, because there is no evidence in the record about whether the claims recite “well-understood, routine, conventional activity” or not.
On pages 16-21 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that the previous combination of JIANG, ANTONY, and CHU does not teach the “assess a first metric of the first neural network using a model predictor that comprises one or more machine learning models trained on metrics measured from execution of neural network architectures on target hardware, the one or more machine learning models configured to generate the first metric based on interpolating entries of a lookup table” limitation as amended.
The examiner agrees. JIANG does not explicitly teach the details about how the FNAS-Analyzer is trained, and while ANTONY discloses the concept of lookup table interpolation, ANTONY does not disclose a machine learning configured to generate the first metric based on interpolating entries as amended.
However, claim 8 is now rejected using a combination of the JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU references, where such new grounds of rejection are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims. The CHAU and JO references are specifically relied on to teach the newly-added limitations of claim 8.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are directed towards the specific combination of JIANG, ANTONY, and CHU, and therefore such arguments are respectfully moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth herein, where such new grounds are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to claim 8.
On pages 21-22 of Applicant’s 4/30/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejection of claims 9-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that such rejections should be withdrawn for the same reasons argued with respect to claim 8.
The examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reasons explained with respect to claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Step 1 of the Alice/Mayo framework, Claims 8-20 are directed to a system (a machine), which falls within one of the four statutory categories of inventions.
Regarding Claim 8
Step 2A, prong 1 (Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea).
Claim 8 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g., “neural network”, “memory”, “processor”).
define a first neural network based upon a first selected network architecture (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally define a neural network by selecting hyperparameters (e.g., learning rate, batch size) based upon a first selected network architecture, such as a CNN with an input layer, a convolutional layer, and an output layer)
assess a first task accuracy of the first neural network (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally review the results of a neural network performing a first task and assess how accurate the neural network appears to be for such task)
assess a first metric of the first neural network... (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally assess a metric determined by the model predictor, for example, the model predictor can predict latency, and a human can assess whether such latency is acceptable or not)
generate the first metric based on interpolating entries of a lookup table ... (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally use a lookup table and interpolate a metric using the closest available entries in a lookup table, for example, the LUT could have been created using a machine learning model and a human generates the first metric (such as latency) by using the lookup table to interpolate the first metric)
determine a first network hardware-aware score based upon the assessed first task accuracy and assessed first metric (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally determine a score, such as by adding the accuracy + assessed metric (latency) together)
Step 2A, prong 2 (Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?).
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements (e.g., “neural network”, “memory”, “processor”) which are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “A hardware-aware neural architecture search (HA-NAS) system configured to search for a neural network architecture to implement a neural network, comprising: a memory; a processor coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is further configured to” limitations, such limitations are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional elements of neural networks, memory, and a processor. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “using a model predictor that comprises one or more machine learning models trained on metrics measured from execution of neural network architectures on target hardware, the one or more machine learning models configured to” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of machine learning models that are generically trained. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (machine learning models). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “implement the first neural network in hardware based on the first network hardware-aware score satisfying a first criterion” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation attempts to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished, or provides no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result (e.g., any type of implementation based on a criterion being met). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, after considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?)
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements (e.g., “neural network”, “memory”, “processor”) are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “A hardware-aware neural architecture search (HA-NAS) system configured to search for a neural network architecture to implement a neural network, comprising: a memory; a processor coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is further configured to” limitations, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “using a model predictor that comprises one or more machine learning models trained on metrics measured from execution of neural network architectures on target hardware, the one or more machine learning models configured to” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “implement the first neural network in hardware based on the first network hardware-aware score satisfying a first criterion” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation attempts to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished, or provides no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2B after considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 9
Step 2A, Prong 1
select the first selected network architecture based upon a search strategy and a search space. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally devise a search strategy (e.g., search for network architectures having latency below a threshold) and a search space (only CNNs with 5 layers or less, with less than 1024 nodes in a convolutional layer), and then select the first network architecture with respect to the search space as a starting point for the search)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 10
Step 2A, Prong 1
update the search strategy based upon the first network hardware-aware score. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally update the search strategy based on the first network hard-aware score, such as by adjusting a latency threshold of the strategy based on the first score already meeting the threshold, to try to find an even better network architecture)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 11
Step 2A, Prong 1
select a second network architecture based upon the updated search strategy; (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally select a child network architecture based on the updated search strategy)
define a second neural network based upon a second selected network architecture; (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally define a neural network by selecting hyperparameters (e.g., learning rate, batch size) based upon a second selected network architecture, such as a CNN with an input layer, a convolutional layer, and an output layer)
assess a second task accuracy of the second neural network; (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally review the results of a second task and assess how accurate the neural network appears to be)
assess a second metric of the second neural network using the model predictor; and (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally assess a metric determined by the model predictor, for example, the model predictor can predict latency, and a human can assess whether such latency is acceptable or not)
determine a second network hardware-aware score based upon the assessed second task accuracy and assessed second metric of the second neural network. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally determine a score, such as by adding the accuracy + assessed metric (latency) together)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 12
Step 2A, Prong 1
repeat the steps of selecting a network architecture based upon the updated search strategy, defining a neural network, assessing a task accuracy, and determining a network hardware-aware score for a plurality of iterations to produce a plurality of network hardware-aware scores; and (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally and repeatedly perform these steps as explained with respect to claim 11)
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “implement the neural network associated with the best network hardware-aware score” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation attempts to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished, or provides no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “implement the neural network associated with the best network hardware-aware score” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation attempts to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished, or provides no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding Claim 13
Step 2A, Prong 1
repeat the steps of selecting a network architecture based upon the updated search strategy, defining a neural network, assessing a task accuracy, and determining a network hardware-aware score until a maximum number of steps have been executed. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally determine a maximum number of trials to execute, such that the neural architecture search can be stopped when the maximum number of trials has been executed, and then mentally perform the recited steps for the maximum number of trials determined)
responsive to determining that the maximum number of steps have been executed, select the neural network associated with the best network hardware-aware score for implementation (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally review all the network hardware-aware scores and select a best one based on some criteria)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 14
Step 2A, Prong 1
wherein assessing the first metric of the first neural network includes: (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally assess metrics as explained above with respect to claim 8)
combining the plurality of first block metrics to produce the first metric. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally combine block metrics to produce the first metric, such as by adding the plurality of first block metrics to produce the first metric)
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “breaking the first neural network down into a plurality of blocks” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation attempts to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished, or provides no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result (merely decomposing a model into constituent parts, e.g., by layers or sub-models, without providing sufficient description about how to perform such decomposition). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “inputting each block of the plurality of blocks to one of the one or more machine learning models to generate a plurality of first block metrics” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of a “model”. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (a model). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “breaking the first neural network down into a plurality of blocks, wherein the model predictor includes a plurality models corresponding to the plurality of blocks” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation attempts to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished, or provides no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “inputting each block of the plurality of blocks to one of the one or more machine learning models to generate a plurality of first block metrics” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding Claim 15
Step 2A, Prong 1
wherein the first metric is a latency of the first neural network. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally assess latency of the first neural network, e.g., whether the measured latency is acceptable or not)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 16
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to different target hardware” limitation, this limitation merely describes that the predictor model has multiple components, and such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (predictor models having a plurality of models, where each is directed to different target hardware). As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
Regarding the “wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to different target hardware” limitation, such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use as explained above, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding Claim 17
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “wherein the first neural network includes a plurality of blocks including a plurality of block types” limitation, this limitation merely describes that the first neural network has multiple blocks, and such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (neural networks being composed of multiple blocks having different types, such as different layers (blocks) with different types (convolutional, feed-forward, input, output). As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding the “wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to a different block type” limitation, this limitation merely describes that the predictor model has multiple components, and such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (predictor models having a plurality of models, where each is directed to different block type). As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
Regarding the “wherein the first neural network includes a plurality of blocks including a plurality of block types” limitation, such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use as explained above, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding the “wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to a different block type” limitation, such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use as explained above, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding Claim 18
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “wherein the first neural network includes a plurality of blocks including a plurality of block types” limitation, this limitation merely describes that the first neural network has multiple blocks, and such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (neural networks being composed of multiple blocks having different types, such as different layers (blocks) with different types (convolutional, feed-forward, input, output). As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding the “wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to a different block type and a different hardware target” limitation, this limitation merely describes that the predictor model has multiple components, and such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (predictor models having a plurality of models, where each is directed to different block types and hardware targets). As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
Regarding the “wherein the first neural network includes a plurality of blocks including a plurality of block types” limitation, such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use as explained above, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding the “wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to a different block type and a different hardware target” limitation, such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use as explained above, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding Claim 19
Step 2A, Prong 1
wherein assessing the first task accuracy uses an accuracy predictor function. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally perform this by mentally deriving and implementing a function for the accuracy predictor, e.g., predicting accuracy > 99% if the hyperparameters satisfy a particular criteria)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 20
Step 2A, Prong 1
wherein the accuracy predictor function is based on support vector regression in combination with an early stopping scheme. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can mentally perform this limitation, for example, a human can mentally use a support vector regression technique, in combination with an early stopping scheme (e.g., stop when accuracy > 99.99%) to predict the accuracy of a model or network)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, Weiwen, et al. "Accuracy vs. efficiency: Achieving both through fpga-implementation aware neural architecture search." Proceedings of the 56th Annual Design Automation Conference 2019, pp. 1-6, hereinafter referenced as JIANG, in view of US 20220101063 A1, hereinafter referenced as CHAU, further in view of Jo, Younghyun, et al. "Practical Single-Image Super-Resolution Using Look-Up Table." 2021 IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR). IEEE, 2021., hereinafter referenced as JO, and further in view of US 20210110276 A1, hereinafter referenced as CHU.
Regarding Claim 8
JIANG teaches:
A hardware-aware neural architecture search (HA-NAS) system configured to search for a neural network architecture to implement a neural network, comprising: (JIANG, p. 1, section 1: “In this paper, we propose a novel hardware-aware NAS framework to address the above issues. To illustrate our framework, we choose to use Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) as a vehicle, as it has gradually become one of the most popular platforms to implement DNNs due to its high performance and energy efficiency, in particular for low-batch real-time applications”;
JIANG, p. 2, section 1: “We build an FPGA-implementation aware neural architecture search framework, namely FNAS, which can generate optimal DNN architectures with guaranteed latency on target FPGAs.”)
a memory; a processor coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is further configured to: (JIANG, p. 3, section 3.3: “In FNAS, each layer is allocated to a dedicated PE, and PEs are performed in the pipeline fashion. Such architecture can be implemented on one FPGA as in [8, 15] or multiple FPGAs as in [4]. The resource (e.g., DSP and memory bandwidth) for each layer can be obtained by considering the load balance.”;
JIANG, p. 5, section 4.1: “To compare FNAS with NAS, we employ both low-end and high-end FPGAs to implement the resultant architectures using MNIST data set. The low-end and high-end FPGAs selected are Xilinx 7A50T and 7Z020, respectively.”;
Examiner’s Note (EN): pursuant to MPEP 2131.01 II, the examiner cites to the Xilinx 7 Series PFGAs Data Sheet: Overview (Sept. 8, 2020), to explain the meaning of the term “7A50T” in JIANG, where at page 3, table 4, the XC7A50T is identified as a Artix-7 FPGA, and on p. 1, table 1, the Artix-7 FPGA family has 13 Mb of RAM and Microblaze CPU, establishing that the FPGA architectures of JIANG include at least a memory (the 13 Mb of RAM) and a processor coupled to the memory (the Microblaze CPU))
define a first neural network based upon a first selected network architecture; (JIANG, p. 3, section 3.1 and Fig. 2: “The problem is formally designed as follows: Given a specific data set, a target FPGA platform and a required inference latency rL, our objective is to automatically generate a neural network, such that its inference latency on the given FPGA platform is less than rL, while achieving the maximum accuracy for the machine learning task on the given data set. ... In FNAS, it takes the FPGA-based inference performance into consideration during child network searching.”;
JIANG, p. 5, section 3.6: “FNAS framework considers the performance of child
networks on target FPGAs in the neural architecture search process.”;
(EN): the initial child network evaluated corresponds to the recited “first neural network” and the initial architecture in the neural architecture search process corresponds to the recited “first selected network architecture”; as shown in Fig. 2, the neural network architectures are defined by “hyperparameters”)
assess a first task accuracy of the first neural network; (JIANG, p. 3, section 3.1: “The problem is formally designed as follows: Given a specific data set, a target FPGA platform and a required inference latency rL, our objective is to automatically generate a neural network, such that its inference latency on the given FPGA platform is less than rL, while achieving the maximum accuracy for the machine learning task on the given data set. ... Specifically, instead of directly applying accuracy A as reward, FNAS employs a reward function f to calculate the reward in terms of accuracy A and performance/latency L.”;
JIANG, p. 5, section 4.1: “In training of the child networks, the number of epochs is
set as 25, and the maximum validation accuracy in the last 5 epochs will be utilized to compute the reward for updating the controller.”Examiner’s Note: JIANG discloses maximizing accuracy for a machine learning task for a given dataset (corresponding to “assess a first task accuracy”) with respect to a child network (corresponding to the recited “first neural network”))
assess a first metric of the first neural network using a model predictor ... ; and (JIANG, p. 4, section 3.6: “FNAS-Analyzer aims to efficiently and accurately compute the latency L of a neural architecture on target FPGAs with determined schedule. ... FNAS framework considers the performance of child networks on target FPGAs in the neural architecture search process. As shown in Formula 1, if the latency cannot satisfy the timing specification, there is no need to train the generated child network. In addition, the controller will be guided to avoid searching architectures that have insufficient performance. Consequently, the search process can be dramatically accelerated, and the performance of the resultant child network on target FPGAs can be guaranteed.”
(EN): latency corresponds to the recited “first metric of the neural network” and FNAS-Analyzer corresponds to the recited “model predictor”)
determine a first network hardware-aware score based upon the assessed first task accuracy and assessed first metric; and (JIANG, p. 3, section 3.2: “Reward function takes the accuracy A, latency L, and the required latency rL to calculate the reward signal. The function to calculate the reward R is defined as follows.
Examiner’s Note (EN): the reward corresponds to the recited “determine a first network hardware-aware score” and takes as inputs accuracy and latency)
However, JIANG fails to explicitly teach:
that comprises one or more machine learning models trained based on metrics measured from execution of neural network architectures on target hardware, the one or more machine learning models configured to generate the first metric based on interpolating entries of a lookup table
implement the first neural network in hardware based on the first network hardware-aware score satisfying a first criterion
However, in a related field of endeavor (analyzing neural network performance, see para. 0002), CHAU teaches and makes obvious:
a model predictor that comprises one or more machine learning models trained based on metrics measured from execution of neural network architectures on target hardware (CHAU, para. 0048: “ In a first approach of the present disclosure according to an embodiment, a computer implemented method uses a trained predictor for predicting performance of a neural network on a hardware arrangement.”;
CHAU, para. 0056: “The trained predictor may include a fully connected layer which may include one layer or a plurality of layers. The performance may be predicted by inputting each feature vector(s) to the fully connected layer.”
CHAU, para. 0071: “As mentioned above, embodiments may be implemented using an AI model in the predictor and thus the predictor may be termed a machine learning predictor.”
CHAU, para. 0106: “Merely as an example, during training a source predictor may be trained to predict the accuracy of the same fixed hardware arrangement, the latency of a different hardware arrangement or even an energy prediction for a different hardware arrangement.”;
CHAU, para. 0132: “The predictor may be trained with measurements of the performance of neural network models on hardware arrangements.”
Examiner’s Note: CHAU discloses that a trained predictor (which is based on a neural network architecture having a fully connected layer), is trained based on performance measurements of neural network models on hardware arrangements (corresponding to recited “metrics measured from execution of neural network architectures on target hardware”); the JIANG-CHAU combination now modifies the FNAS-Analyzer of JIANG to be a neural network model trained on particular measurement of the performance of neural network models on hardware arrangements as in CHAU)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of JIANG with CHAU as explained above. As disclosed by CHAU, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to “design the hardware to efficiently implement the competitive neural network model.” (para. 0135).
However, JIANG and CHAU fail to explicitly teach:
the one or more machine learning models configured to generate the first metric based on interpolating entries of a lookup table
implement the first neural network in hardware based on the first network hardware-aware score satisfying a first criterion
However, in a related field of endeavor (deep neural networks, see p. 691, section 1), JO teaches and makes obvious:
the one or more machine learning models configured to generate the first metric based on interpolating entries of a lookup table (JO, p. 692, section 1: “In this paper, we train a deep SR network under certain constraints to map output values of the learned deep model to a LUT.”
JO, p. 694, section 3.2: “After training the deep SR network, we build a 4D SR LUT for the RF size 4 (Fig. 2b). Note that Fig. 2b shows a 6D LUT but we call it 4D LUT by only considering the input value dimensions. For the full LUT, we compute the output values of the learned deep network for all possible input values and save them to the LUT. ... At test time, the values of nonsampled points are interpolated by using the values of the nearest sampled points.”;
JO, p. 695, section 3.3: “Once the SR-LUT is built, SR is performed solely with the SR-LUT(Fig.2c). In case of using a full LUT, the output HR value is directly retrieved from the LUT. On the other hand, in case of using a sampled LUT, an appropriate interpolation technique is required to generate the output value by using the values of the nearest sampled points.”
Examiner’s Note: JO discloses using a deep neural network to generate a look-up table, and then interpolating look-up table values to generate approximations; the JIANG-CHAU-JO combination now modifies the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG so that the latency metric of the FNAS-Analyzer (as implemented using a NN as in CHAU), creates the data points for the metrics, where the data points are interpolated using known data points from the look-up table as taught by JO)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG with the teachings of CHAU and JO as explained above. As disclosed by JO, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because JO teaches a “LUT based approach is inherently faster than the above methods as it only requires very little computation for generating the output.” (pp. 692-93, section 2.1).
However, JIANG, CHAU, and JO fail to explicitly teach:
implement the first neural network in hardware based on the first network hardware-aware score satisfying a first criterion
However, in a related field of endeavor (a search method for a neural network model structure, see para. 0002), CHU teaches:
implement the first neural network in hardware based on the first network hardware-aware score satisfying a first criterion (CHU, para. 0036: “In step S17, the next generation population of network model structure is used as the current population of generation network model repeated until a multi-objective optimization state is optimal structure, the above process is, and a neural network model structure suitable for different scenarios is selected from a final generation population of network model structure.”; (EN): the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU combination now selects a neural network architecture based on the “multi-objective optimization state is optimal” of CHU (corresponding to recited “first criterion”) and implements the neural network architecture in a FPGA (hardware) as disclosed by JIANG)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG with the teachings of CHAU, JO, and CHU as explained above. As disclosed by CHU, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because CHU teaches that by “combining reinforcement learning mutation and random mutation, the use of reinforcement learning algorithm to adjust random mutation process in evolutionary algorithm is realized, and a balance between exploring randomness and using learned information is achieved.” (para. 0037).
JIANG further discusses that there is a trade-off between efficiency and accuracy (see pp. 5-6, section 4.2), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the best reward score in situations where accuracy is favored over efficiency.
Regarding Claim 9
JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU teach the HA-NAS system of claim 8. JIANG further teaches:
select the first selected network architecture based upon a search strategy and a search space. (JIANG, p. 2, section 2: “With the fact that the architectures are growing deeper, the search space grows exponentially, which makes the search process difficult”;
JIANG, p. 3, section 3.1: “The problem is formally designed as follows: Given a specific data set, a target FPGA platform and a required inference latency rL, our objective is to automatically generate a neural network, such that its inference latency on the given FPGA platform is less than rL, while achieving the maximum accuracy for the machine learning task on the given data set.”;
JIANG, p. 5, section 3.6: “FNAS framework considers the performance of child networks on target FPGAs in the neural architecture search process. As shown in Formula 1, if the latency cannot satisfy the timing specification, there is no need to train the generated child network. In addition, the controller will be guided to avoid searching architectures that have insufficient performance. Consequently, the search process can be dramatically accelerated, and the performance of the resultant child network on target FPGAs can be guaranteed.”;
JIANG, p. 5, Figs. 5(b) and 5(c);
Examiner’s Note: the search strategy is to generate a child NN “such that its inference latency on the given FPGA platform is less than rL, while achieving the maximum accuracy for the machine learning task on the given data set” and this strategy is reflected in Figs. 5(b) and 5(c); the search space corresponds to the universe of architectures to actively search, but excluding those that the “controller will be guided to avoid searching”)
Regarding Claim 10
JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU teach the HA-NAS system of claim 9. However, JIANG, CHAU, and JO fail to explicitly teach:
wherein the processor is further configured to: update the search strategy based upon the first network hardware-aware score.
However, in a related field of endeavor (a search method for a neural network model structure, see para. 0002), CHU teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to: update the search strategy based upon the first network hardware-aware score. (CHU, para. 0023: “In the search method of the neural network model structure, the search strategy 102 is used to search for a network structure in the search space 101, the performance of the searched network structure is evaluated by the performance evaluation strategy 103, and the search strategy 102 is updated according to evaluation results.”; (EN): the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU combination now uses the reward score of JIANG to update the search strategy as disclosed by CHU)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG with the teachings of CHAU, JO, and CHU as explained above. As disclosed by CHU, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because CHU teaches that by “combining reinforcement learning mutation and random mutation, the use of reinforcement learning algorithm to adjust random mutation process in evolutionary algorithm is realized, and a balance between exploring randomness and using learned information is achieved.” (para. 0037).
Regarding Claim 11
JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU teach the HA-NAS system of claim 10. JIANG, CHAO, JO, and CHU further make obvious:
wherein processor is further configured to:
select a second network architecture based upon the updated search strategy; (JIANG, p. 5, section 4.1: “For instance, we explain the configuration of MNIST: (1) its child network has 4 layers, (2) the possible filter size (height and width) is 5, 7 or 14, (3) the possible channel number is 9, 18, or 36, and (4) it will find 60 child networks.”; (EN) the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU combination now iteratively searches the next child network (of up to 60 child networks) using the updated search strategy of CHU; pursuant to MPEP 2144.04 VI.B, duplication of parts or steps have “no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” and the instant limitation is a duplication of the selection of a network architecture step of claim 8)
define a second neural network based upon a second selected network architecture; (JIANG, p. 3, section 3.1 and Fig. 2: “The problem is formally designed as follows: Given a specific data set, a target FPGA platform and a required inference latency rL, our objective is to automatically generate a neural network, such that its inference latency on the given FPGA platform is less than rL, while achieving the maximum accuracy for the machine learning task on the given data set. ... In FNAS, it takes the FPGA-based inference performance into consideration during child network searching.”;
JIANG, p. 5, section 3.6: “FNAS framework considers the performance of child
networks on target FPGAs in the neural architecture search process.”;
(EN): the next child network evaluated corresponds to the recited “second neural network” and the next architecture in the neural architecture search process corresponds to the recited “second selected network architecture”; as shown in Fig. 2, the neural network architectures are defined by “hyperparameters”; pursuant to MPEP 2144.04 VI.B, duplication of parts or steps have “no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” and the instant limitation is a duplication of the step of claim 8 pertaining to defining a first neural network based upon a first selected network architecture)
assess a second task accuracy of the second neural network; (JIANG, p. 3, section 3.1: “The problem is formally designed as follows: Given a specific data set, a target FPGA platform and a required inference latency rL, our objective is to automatically generate a neural network, such that its inference latency on the given FPGA platform is less than rL, while achieving the maximum accuracy for the machine learning task on the given data set. ... Specifically, instead of directly applying accuracy A as reward, FNAS employs a reward function f to calculate the reward in terms of accuracy A and performance/latency L.”;
JIANG, p. 5, section 4.1: “In training of the child networks, the number of epochs is
set as 25, and the maximum validation accuracy in the last 5 epochs will be utilized to compute the reward for updating the controller.”
(EN): pursuant to MPEP 2144.04 VI.B, duplication of parts or steps have “no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” and the instant limitation is a duplication of the step of claim 8 pertaining to assess a first task accuracy of the second neural network)
assess a second metric of the second neural network using the model predictor; and (JIANG, p. 4, section 3.6: “FNAS-Analyzer aims to efficiently and accurately compute the latency L of a neural architecture on target FPGAs with determined schedule.”; (EN): pursuant to MPEP 2144.04 VI.B, duplication of parts or steps have “no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” and the instant limitation is a duplication of the step of claim 8 pertaining to assess a first metric of the second neural network using the model predictor)
determine a second network hardware-aware score based upon the assessed second task accuracy and assessed second metric of the second neural network. (JIANG, p. 3, section 3.2: “Reward function takes the accuracy A, latency L, and the required latency rL to calculate the reward signal. The function to calculate the reward R is defined as follows.
Examiner’s Note (EN): pursuant to MPEP 2144.04 VI.B, duplication of parts or steps have “no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” and the instant limitation is a duplication of the step of claim 8 pertaining to determine a first network hardware-aware score based upon the assessed task accuracy and assessed metric)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG with the teachings of CHAU, JO, and CHU as explained above. As disclosed by CHU, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because CHU teaches that by “combining reinforcement learning mutation and random mutation, the use of reinforcement learning algorithm to adjust random mutation process in evolutionary algorithm is realized, and a balance between exploring randomness and using learned information is achieved.” (para. 0037).
Regarding Claim 12
JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU teach the HA-NAS system of claim 11. JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU further make obvious:
the processor is further configured to:
repeat the steps of selecting a network architecture based upon the updated search strategy, defining a neural network, assessing a task accuracy, and determining a network hardware-aware score for a plurality of iterations to produce a plurality of network hardware-aware scores; and (JIANG, p. 5, section 4.1: “For instance, we explain the configuration of MNIST: (1) its child network has 4 layers, (2) the possible filter size (height and width) is 5, 7 or 14, (3) the possible channel number is 9, 18, or 36, and (4) it will find 60 child networks.”; (EN): the JIANG-CHU combination now iteratively searches the next child network (of up to 60 child networks) using the updated search strategy of CHU; pursuant to MPEP 2144.04 VI.B, duplication of parts or steps have “no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” and the instant limitation is a duplication of the steps of claim 8 with respect to the first network architecture and of claim 11 with respect to the second network architecture)
implement the neural network associated with the best network hardware-aware score. (CHU, para. 0036: “In step S17, the next generation population of network model structure is used as the current population of generation network model repeated until a multi-objective optimization state is optimal structure, the above process is, and a neural network model structure suitable for different scenarios is selected from a final generation population of network model structure.”; (EN): the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU combination now uses the highest reward value of JIANG (corresponding to recited “best network hardware-aware score”) as the “optimization state” of CHU when selecting the final network, and implements the network in the FPGAs of JIANG)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG with the teachings of CHAU, JO, and CHU as explained above. As disclosed by CHU, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because CHU teaches that by “combining reinforcement learning mutation and random mutation, the use of reinforcement learning algorithm to adjust random mutation process in evolutionary algorithm is realized, and a balance between exploring randomness and using learned information is achieved.” (para. 0037).
JIANG further discusses that there is a trade-off between efficiency and accuracy (see pp. 5-6, section 4.2), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the best reward score in situations where accuracy is favored over efficiency.
Regarding Claim 13
JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU teach the HA-NAS system of claim 12. JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU further make obvious:
wherein the processor is further configured to: repeat the steps of selecting a network architecture based upon the updated search strategy, defining a neural network, assessing a task accuracy, and determining a network hardware-aware score until a maximum number of steps have been executed; and (JIANG, p. 5, section 4.1: “For instance, we explain the configuration of MNIST: (1) its child network has 4 layers, (2) the possible filter size (height and width) is 5, 7 or 14, (3) the possible channel number is 9, 18, or 36, and (4) it will find 60 child networks.”; (EN): pursuant to MPEP 2144.04 VI.B, duplication of parts or steps have “no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” and the instant limitation is a duplication of the steps of claim 12; JIANG discloses a maximum of 60 trials corresponding to 60 child networks, and now the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU combination repeats the recited steps a maximum of 60 times as disclosed by JIANG)
responsive to determining that the maximum number of steps have been executed, select the neural network associated with the best network hardware-aware score for implementation (CHU, para. 0036: “In step S17, the next generation population of network model structure is used as the current population of generation network model repeated until a multi-objective optimization state is optimal structure, the above process is, and a neural network model structure suitable for different scenarios is selected from a final generation population of network model structure.”; (EN): the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU combination now uses the highest reward value of JIANG (corresponding to recited “best network hardware-aware score”) as the “optimization state” of CHU when selecting the final network, and implements the network in the FPGAs of JIANG, after the 60 trials for the 60 trial networks of JIANG are performed, corresponding to recited “responsive to determining that the maximum number of steps have been executed”)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG with the teachings of CHAU, JO, and CHU as explained above. As disclosed by CHU, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because CHU teaches that by “combining reinforcement learning mutation and random mutation, the use of reinforcement learning algorithm to adjust random mutation process in evolutionary algorithm is realized, and a balance between exploring randomness and using learned information is achieved.” (para. 0037).
JIANG further discusses that there is a trade-off between efficiency and accuracy (see pp. 5-6, section 4.2), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the best reward score in situations where accuracy is favored over efficiency.
Regarding Claim 14
JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU teach the HA-NAS system of claim 8. JIANG further teaches:
wherein assessing the first metric of the first neural network includes: (JIANG, p. 4, section 3.6: “FNAS-Analyzer aims to efficiently and accurately compute the latency L of a neural architecture on target FPGAs with determined schedule.”)
breaking the first neural network down into a plurality of blocks, (JIANG, p. 3, section 3.3: “Due to the limited resource on FPGA, it may be difficult to place a whole convolutional layer on FPGA. In consequence, it is common to apply tiling technique to split convolutional operations into multiple small tasks [8, 12, 13, 15]. FNAS-Design is to determine the tiling parameters for a given NN architecture on target FPGAs. ... After tiling the IFM/OFM/row/col, one convolutional operation is divided to smaller tasks, as shown in Figure 3(c). Each task corresponds to a pair of IFM/OFM tiles. Tasks in one layer will be continuously loaded to a Processing Element (PE) on FPGA for execution (the load sequence is determined by➂FNAS-Sched).”; (EN): each set of IFM/OFM tiles corresponds to a recited “block”, and each processing element performs a convolution operation (corresponding to recited “plurality model corresponding to the plurality of blocks”) where such PE models the specific convolution operation for the tile)
inputting each block of the plurality of blocks to one of the one or more machine learning models; and (JIANG, p. 3, section 3.3: “Due to the limited resource on FPGA, it may be difficult to place a whole convolutional layer on FPGA. In consequence, it is common to apply tiling technique to split convolutional operations into multiple small tasks [8, 12, 13, 15]. FNAS-Design is to determine the tiling parameters for a given NN architecture on target FPGAs. ... After tiling the IFM/OFM/row/col, one convolutional operation is divided to smaller tasks, as shown in Figure 3(c). Each task corresponds to a pair of IFM/OFM tiles. Tasks in one layer will be continuously loaded to a Processing Element (PE) on FPGA for execution (the load sequence is determined by➂FNAS-Sched).”;
JIANG, pp. 4-5, section 3.6: “Processing Time. We first determine the execution time of tasks in the tile-based graph. Since all tasks in layer i utilize the same accelerator for execution, they have the same execution time. ... Start Time. The start time of a layer depends on its previous layer’s start time and data reuse strategy.”;
(EN): the processing time for each tile, based on the starting time, corresponds to the latency for each block)
combining the plurality of first block metrics to produce the first metric. (JIANG, pp. 4-5, section 3.6: Latency. We can then derive a tight lower bound on latency Latsys by summing up processing time and starting time. For a total of N processing elements (PE), assume the first and the last PEs apply OFM reuse, we can calculate Latsys as follows.
Examiner’s Note: The processing times and start time are combined to determine the overall latency, corresponding to the recited “first metric”)
Regarding Claim 15
JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU teach the HA-NAS system of claim 8. JIANG further teaches:
wherein the first metric is a latency of the first neural network. (JIANG, p. 4, section 3.6: “FNAS-Analyzer aims to efficiently and accurately compute the latency L of a neural architecture on target FPGAs with determined schedule.”)
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG in view of CHAU, JO and CHU and further in view of US 20220138550 A1, hereinafter referenced as ZHANG I.
Regarding Claim 16
JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU teach the HA-NAS system of claim 8. However, JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU fail to explicitly teach:
wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to different target hardware
However, in a related field of endeavor (artificial intelligence models, including neural networks, paras. 0002-0003), ZHANG I teaches:
wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to different target hardware (ZHANG I, para. 0029: “According to various aspects, an AI model may be broken-up (e.g., split, divided, decomposed, etc.) into a plurality of sub-models by a gateway system (e.g., a blockchain client, etc.) ... The gateway system may break-up the neural network into smaller subsets of neurons (e.g., sub-models) within the neural network, and assign the sub-models to different blockchain peers such that each peer only executes a portion of the AI model, but not the entire AI model. As a non-limiting example, each layer in a deep learning neural network may be a sub-model, and may be assigned to a different blockchain peer (or peers) for training.”; (EN): ZHANG I teaches that a model can be de-composed into sub-models; the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU-ZHANG I combination now modifies the neural architecture search system of JIANG to break up models into sub-models as in ZHANG I, where each sub-model is directed to a different target architecture, e.g., the Xilinx 7A50T or the 7Z020 FPGA hardware as disclosed by section 4 of JIANG)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG with the teachings of CHAU, JO, CHU, and ZHANG I as explained above. As disclosed by ZHANG I, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, for example, in distributed computing environments such as a blockchain. (para. 0029).
Further, JIANG discloses than an objective to is “exploit parallelism” (p. 3, section 3.5) and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that parallelism can reduce computing time.
Regarding Claim 17
JIANG, CHAO, JO, and CHU teach the HA-NAS system of claim 8. JIANG further teaches:
wherein the first neural network includes a plurality of blocks (JIANG, p. 3, section 3.3: “Due to the limited resource on FPGA, it may be difficult to place a whole convolutional layer on FPGA. In consequence, it is common to apply tiling technique to split convolutional operations into multiple small tasks [8, 12, 13, 15]. FNAS-Design is to determine the tiling parameters for a given NN architecture on target FPGAs. ... After tiling the IFM/OFM/row/col, one convolutional operation is divided to smaller tasks, as shown in Figure 3(c). Each task corresponds to a pair of IFM/OFM tiles. Tasks in one layer will be continuously loaded to a Processing Element (PE) on FPGA for execution (the load sequence is determined by➂FNAS-Sched).”; (EN): each set of IFM/OFM tiles corresponds to a recited “block”, and each processing element performs a convolution operation (corresponding to recited “plurality model corresponding to the plurality of blocks”) where such PE models the specific convolution operation for the tile)
However, JIANG, CHAO, JO, and CHU fail to explicitly teach:
including a plurality of block types; and
wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to a different block type
However, in a related field of endeavor (artificial intelligence models, including neural networks, paras. 0002-0003), ZHANG I teaches:
including a plurality of block types; and (ZHANG I, para. 0029: “According to various aspects, an AI model may be broken-up (e.g., split, divided, decomposed, etc.) into a plurality of sub-models by a gateway system (e.g., a blockchain client, etc.) ... The gateway system may break-up the neural network into smaller subsets of neurons (e.g., sub-models) within the neural network, and assign the sub-models to different blockchain peers such that each peer only executes a portion of the AI model, but not the entire AI model. As a non-limiting example, each layer in a deep learning neural network may be a sub-model, and may be assigned to a different blockchain peer (or peers) for training.”; (EN): ZHANG I teaches a plurality of sub-models which can be different layers; the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU-ZHANG I combination now modifies the neural architecture search system of JIANG to break up models by type of layer (e.g., convolutional layer, feed-forward layer, output layer))
wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to a different block type. (ZHANG I, para. 0029: “According to various aspects, an AI model may be broken-up (e.g., split, divided, decomposed, etc.) into a plurality of sub-models by a gateway system (e.g., a blockchain client, etc.) ... The gateway system may break-up the neural network into smaller subsets of neurons (e.g., sub-models) within the neural network, and assign the sub-models to different blockchain peers such that each peer only executes a portion of the AI model, but not the entire AI model. As a non-limiting example, each layer in a deep learning neural network may be a sub-model, and may be assigned to a different blockchain peer (or peers) for training.”; (EN): ZHANG I teaches a plurality of sub-models which can be different layers; the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU-ZHANG I combination now modifies the neural architecture search system of JIANG to break up models by type of layer (e.g., convolutional layer, feed-forward layer, output layer) and the sub-models of ZHANG I are directed towards the different types of layers)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG with the teachings of CHAU, JO, CHU, and ZHANG I as explained above. As disclosed by ZHANG I, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, for example, in distributed computing environments such as a blockchain. (para. 0029).
Further, JIANG discloses than an objective to is “exploit parallelism” (p. 3, section 3.5) and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that parallelism can reduce computing time.
Regarding Claim 18
JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU teach the HA-NAS system of claim 8. JIANG further teaches:
wherein the first neural network includes a plurality of blocks (JIANG, p. 3, section 3.3: “Due to the limited resource on FPGA, it may be difficult to place a whole convolutional layer on FPGA. In consequence, it is common to apply tiling technique to split convolutional operations into multiple small tasks [8, 12, 13, 15]. FNAS-Design is to determine the tiling parameters for a given NN architecture on target FPGAs. ... After tiling the IFM/OFM/row/col, one convolutional operation is divided to smaller tasks, as shown in Figure 3(c). Each task corresponds to a pair of IFM/OFM tiles. Tasks in one layer will be continuously loaded to a Processing Element (PE) on FPGA for execution (the load sequence is determined by➂FNAS-Sched).”; (EN): each set of IFM/OFM tiles corresponds to a recited “block”, and each processing element performs a convolution operation (corresponding to recited “plurality model corresponding to the plurality of blocks”) where such PE models the specific convolution operation for the tile)
However, JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU fail to explicitly teach:
including a plurality of block types; and
wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to a different block type and a different hardware target
However, in a related field of endeavor (artificial intelligence models, including neural networks, paras. 0002-0003), ZHANG I teaches:
including a plurality of block types; and (ZHANG I, para. 0029: “According to various aspects, an AI model may be broken-up (e.g., split, divided, decomposed, etc.) into a plurality of sub-models by a gateway system (e.g., a blockchain client, etc.) ... The gateway system may break-up the neural network into smaller subsets of neurons (e.g., sub-models) within the neural network, and assign the sub-models to different blockchain peers such that each peer only executes a portion of the AI model, but not the entire AI model. As a non-limiting example, each layer in a deep learning neural network may be a sub-model, and may be assigned to a different blockchain peer (or peers) for training.”; (EN): ZHANG I teaches a plurality of sub-models which can be different layers; the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU-ZHANG I combination now modifies the neural architecture search system of JIANG to break up models by type of layer (e.g., convolutional layer, feed-forward layer, output layer))
wherein each machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models is directed to a different block type and a different hardware target. (ZHANG I, para. 0029: “According to various aspects, an AI model may be broken-up (e.g., split, divided, decomposed, etc.) into a plurality of sub-models by a gateway system (e.g., a blockchain client, etc.) ... The gateway system may break-up the neural network into smaller subsets of neurons (e.g., sub-models) within the neural network, and assign the sub-models to different blockchain peers such that each peer only executes a portion of the AI model, but not the entire AI model. As a non-limiting example, each layer in a deep learning neural network may be a sub-model, and may be assigned to a different blockchain peer (or peers) for training.”; (EN): ZHANG I teaches a plurality of sub-models which can be different layers; the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU-ZHANG I combination now modifies the neural architecture search system of JIANG to break up models by type of layer (e.g., convolutional layer, feed-forward layer, output layer) and the sub-models of ZHANG I are directed towards the different types of layers and/or different processing elements for FPGAs of JIANG (see p. 3, section 3.3 and p. 5, section 4))
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG with the teachings of CHAU, JO, CHU, and ZHANG I as explained above. As disclosed by ZHANG I, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, for example, in distributed computing environments such as a blockchain. (para. 0029).
Further, JIANG discloses than an objective to is “exploit parallelism” (p. 3, section 3.5) and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that parallelism can reduce computing time.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG in view of CHAU, JO and CHU and further in view of US 20130110756 A1, hereinafter referenced as ZHANG II.
Regarding Claim 19
JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU teach the HA-NAS system of claim 8. However, JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU fail to explicitly teach:
wherein assessing the first task accuracy uses an accuracy predictor function.
However, in a related field of endeavor (load forecasting using neural networks, see para. 0018), ZHANG II teaches:
wherein assessing the first task accuracy uses an accuracy predictor function. (ZHANG II, para. 0018: “The present disclosure focuses on the support vector regression approach due to its accuracy and efficiency in practical prediction problems.”;
(EN): the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU-ZHANG II combination now modifies the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG to use a support vector regression approach as in ZHANG II to predict the accuracy of a child network instead of fully training and measuring the accuracy, e.g., in order to save time and computing resources)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to combine the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG with the teachings of CHAU, JO, CHU, and ZHANG II as explained above. As disclosed by ZHANG II, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because ZHANG II teaches techniques for improving such prediction accuracy. (para. 0018). Moreover, one of ordinary skill would understand the benefit of predicting accuracy instead of fully-training and measuring a child model’s accuracy because the prediction can save computation time and resources and reduce latency.
Regarding Claim 20
JIANG, CHAU, JO, CHU, and ZHANG II teach the HA-NAS system of claim 19. However, JIANG, CHAU, JO, and CHU fail to explicitly teach:
wherein the accuracy predictor function is based on support vector regression in combination with an early stopping scheme.
However, in a related field of endeavor (load forecasting using neural networks, see para. 0018), ZHANG II teaches:
wherein the accuracy predictor function is based on support vector regression in combination with an early stopping scheme. (ZHANG II, para. 0018: “The present disclosure focuses on the support vector regression approach due to its accuracy and efficiency in practical prediction problems.”; (EN): the JIANG-CHAU-JO-CHU-ZHANG II combination now modifies the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG to use a support vector regression approach as in ZHANG II to predict the accuracy of a child network instead of fully training and measuring the accuracy, and will stop if the predicted reward function is lower than L/rL as disclosed by p. 3, section 3.1 of JIANG).
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to combine the hardware-aware neural architecture search system of JIANG with the teachings of CHAU, JO, CHU, and ZHANG II as explained above. As disclosed by ZHANG II, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because ZHANG II teaches techniques for improving such prediction accuracy. (para. 0018). Moreover, one of ordinary skill would understand the benefit of predicting accuracy instead of fully-training and measuring a child model’s accuracy because the prediction can save computation time and resources and reduce latency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C. LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2128