DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 4/20/2026. Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, and 12 are now pending in the present application. Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 14, and 15 have been canceled by the Applicant. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0070890 A1) (hereinafter Hosseini) in view of Farag (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0030575 A1) (hereinafter Farag) and further in view of Hong et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0172185 A1) (hereinafter Hong).
Regarding claim 1, Hosseini discloses a method for performing, by a transmission user equipment (UE), sidelink communication using coordination information (Paragraph 0100 discloses the first UE may perform a sidelink transmission with the second UE using a scheduled sidelink resource), the method comprising:
receiving, from a reception UE, the coordination information indicating at least one non-preferred resource set (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0097-0099 disclose the second UE (e.g., using Mode 2 resource allocation involving sensing and resource reservation procedures) may assign sidelink resources for the first UE to perform sidelink transmissions. The sidelink resources may include non-preferred resources. The second UE may forward or transmit the assignment of sidelink resources to the first UE. In other words, the second UE may transmit scheduling information, to the first UE, that indicates the assignment of sidelink resources for the first UE. Based at least in part on the scheduling information, the first UE may determine particular sidelink resources that have been scheduled or reserved for sidelink transmissions from the first UE. In some aspects, the first UE may select the particular sidelink resources to exclude non-preferred resources indicated by the scheduling information);
configuring a sidelink transmission resource used for sidelink transmission to the reception UE based on the coordination information (Figure 5 and paragraph 0099 disclose based at least in part on the scheduling information, the first UE may determine particular sidelink resources that have been scheduled or reserved for sidelink transmissions from the first UE. In some aspects, the first UE may select the particular sidelink resources to exclude non-preferred resources indicated by the scheduling information); and
performing the sidelink transmission using the sidelink transmission resource (Figure 5 and paragraph 0100 disclose as shown by reference number 512, the first UE may perform a sidelink transmission with the second UE using a scheduled sidelink resource);
wherein the coordination information indicating the at least one non-preferred resource set is received through 2nd sidelink control information (SCI) (Paragraphs 0068 and 0071 disclose the PSCCH 315 may carry sidelink control information (SCI) 330, which may indicate various control information used for sidelink communications, such as one or more resources (e.g., time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources, and/or the like). The UE 305 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling using SCI 330 received in the PSCCH 315).
Hosseini does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-preferred resource set includes at least one sidelink reserved resource, each having an RSRP measurement value larger than a preset threshold and reserved by at least one other transmission UE.
In analogous art, Farag discloses wherein the non-preferred resource set includes at least one sidelink reserved resource, each having an RSRP measurement value larger than a preset threshold and indicated by a sidelink reserved resource information received from at least one other transmission UE (Paragraphs 0083 and 0085 disclose SL channels include physical SL control channels (PSCCHs) conveying SL control information (SCI). In a unicast mode, a PSCCH/PSSCH conveys SL information from one UE to only one other UE. In a groupcast mode, a PSCCH/PSSCH conveys SL information from one UE to a group of UEs within a (pre-)configured set. In a broadcast mode, a PSCCH/PSSCH conveys SL information from one UE to all surrounding UEs. Paragraph 0313 discloses the preference level of non-preferred resources can be determined based on the SL RSRP (PSCCH DMRS RSRP or PSSCH DMRS RSRP) of the decoded SCI during sensing. First non-preferred resources (if any) include SL resources within a resource selection window that are reserved by a decoded SCI in the sensing window with RSRP more than (or more than or equal to) RSRP_Threshold1. Second non-preferred resources (if any) include SL resources within a resource selection window that are reserved by a decoded SCI in the sensing window with RSRP between RSRP_Threshold1 and RSRP_Threshold2. Third non-preferred resources (if any) include SL resources within a resource selection window that are reserved by a decoded SCI in the sensing window with RSRP between RSRP_Threshold2 and RSRP_Threshold3. Here, RSRP_Threshold1>RSRP_Threshold2>RSRP_Threshold3. The thresholds are pre-configured and/or configured/updated by RRC/MAC CE/L1 control signaling (from gNB/eNB or another UE)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate non-preferred resources being resources reserved by other UEs using SCI and having an RSRP above a threshold, as described in Farag, with indicating resources to exclude as non-preferred resources, as described in Hosseini, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining non-preferred resources being resources reserved by other UEs using SCI and having an RSRP above a threshold of Farag with indicating resources to exclude as non-preferred resources of Hosseini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Farag.
Hosseini, as modified by Farag, does not explicitly disclose wherein the 2nd SCI is configured based on 2nd SCI format 2-C defined for transmission of the coordination information, wherein the 2nd SCI format 2-C includes a 1-bit field indicating whether the 2nd SCI format 2-C requests the coordination information or transmits the coordination information.
In analogous art, Hong discloses wherein the 2nd SCI is configured based on 2nd SCI format 2-C defined for transmission of the coordination information (Figure 7 and paragraphs 0101 and 0102 disclose the first signaling message may be a second-stage SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C). The first signaling message (e.g. first-stage SCI and/or second-stage SCI) may include a providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information),
wherein the 2nd SCI format 2-C includes a 1-bit field indicating whether the 2nd SCI format 2-C requests the coordination information or transmits the coordination information (Figure 7 and paragraphs 0101 and 0102 disclose the first signaling message may be a second-stage SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C). The first signaling message (e.g. first-stage SCI and/or second-stage SCI) may include a providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information. The size of the providing/requesting indicator may be 1 bit. The providing/requesting indicator set to ‘0’ may indicate that the corresponding SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C) is used to provide inter-UE coordination information. The providing/requesting indicator set to ‘1’ may indicate that the corresponding SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C) is used to request inter-UE coordination information).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate SCI configured as SCI format 2-C including a 1 bit providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information, as described in Hong, with indicating information over SCI, as described in Hosseini, as modified by Farag, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining SCI configured as SCI format 2-C including a 1 bit providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information of Hong with indicating information over SCI of Hosseini, as modified by Farag, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Hong.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Hosseini, Farag, and Hong to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Hosseini discloses a method for performing, by a reception user equipment (UE), sidelink communication using coordination information (Paragraph 0100 discloses the first UE may perform a sidelink transmission with the second UE using a scheduled sidelink resource), the method comprising:
configuring the coordination information indicating at least one non-preferred resource set for a transmission UE (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0097-0099 disclose the second UE (e.g., using Mode 2 resource allocation involving sensing and resource reservation procedures) may assign sidelink resources for the first UE to perform sidelink transmissions. The sidelink resources may include non-preferred resources. The second UE may forward or transmit the assignment of sidelink resources to the first UE. In other words, the second UE may transmit scheduling information, to the first UE, that indicates the assignment of sidelink resources for the first UE. Based at least in part on the scheduling information, the first UE may determine particular sidelink resources that have been scheduled or reserved for sidelink transmissions from the first UE. In some aspects, the first UE may select the particular sidelink resources to exclude non-preferred resources indicated by the scheduling information);
transmitting the coordination information to the transmission UE (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0097-0099 disclose the second UE (e.g., using Mode 2 resource allocation involving sensing and resource reservation procedures) may assign sidelink resources for the first UE to perform sidelink transmissions. The sidelink resources may include non-preferred resources. The second UE may forward or transmit the assignment of sidelink resources to the first UE. In other words, the second UE may transmit scheduling information, to the first UE, that indicates the assignment of sidelink resources for the first UE. Based at least in part on the scheduling information, the first UE may determine particular sidelink resources that have been scheduled or reserved for sidelink transmissions from the first UE. In some aspects, the first UE may select the particular sidelink resources to exclude non-preferred resources indicated by the scheduling information); and
performing sidelink reception using a sidelink transmission resource configured based on the coordination information (Figure 5 and paragraph 0100 disclose as shown by reference number 512, the first UE may perform a sidelink transmission with the second UE using a scheduled sidelink resource);
wherein the coordination information indicating the at least one non-preferred resource set is transmitted through 2nd sidelink control information (SCI) (Paragraphs 0068 and 0071 disclose the PSCCH 315 may carry sidelink control information (SCI) 330, which may indicate various control information used for sidelink communications, such as one or more resources (e.g., time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources, and/or the like). The UE 305 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling using SCI 330 received in the PSCCH 315).
Hosseini does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-preferred resource set includes at least one sidelink reserved resource, each having an RSRP measurement value larger than a preset threshold and reserved by at least one other transmission UE.
In analogous art, Farag discloses wherein the non-preferred resource set includes at least one sidelink reserved resource, each having an RSRP measurement value larger than a preset threshold and indicated by a sidelink reserved resource information received from at least one other transmission UE (Paragraphs 0083 and 0085 disclose SL channels include physical SL control channels (PSCCHs) conveying SL control information (SCI). In a unicast mode, a PSCCH/PSSCH conveys SL information from one UE to only one other UE. In a groupcast mode, a PSCCH/PSSCH conveys SL information from one UE to a group of UEs within a (pre-)configured set. In a broadcast mode, a PSCCH/PSSCH conveys SL information from one UE to all surrounding UEs. Paragraph 0313 discloses the preference level of non-preferred resources can be determined based on the SL RSRP (PSCCH DMRS RSRP or PSSCH DMRS RSRP) of the decoded SCI during sensing. First non-preferred resources (if any) include SL resources within a resource selection window that are reserved by a decoded SCI in the sensing window with RSRP more than (or more than or equal to) RSRP_Threshold1. Second non-preferred resources (if any) include SL resources within a resource selection window that are reserved by a decoded SCI in the sensing window with RSRP between RSRP_Threshold1 and RSRP_Threshold2. Third non-preferred resources (if any) include SL resources within a resource selection window that are reserved by a decoded SCI in the sensing window with RSRP between RSRP_Threshold2 and RSRP_Threshold3. Here, RSRP_Threshold1>RSRP_Threshold2>RSRP_Threshold3. The thresholds are pre-configured and/or configured/updated by RRC/MAC CE/L1 control signaling (from gNB/eNB or another UE)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate non-preferred resources being resources reserved by other UEs using SCI and having an RSRP above a threshold, as described in Farag, with indicating resources to exclude as non-preferred resources, as described in Hosseini, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining non-preferred resources being resources reserved by other UEs using SCI and having an RSRP above a threshold of Farag with indicating resources to exclude as non-preferred resources of Hosseini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Farag.
Hosseini, as modified by Farag, does not explicitly disclose wherein the 2nd SCI is configured based on 2nd SCI format 2-C defined for transmission of the coordination information, wherein the 2nd SCI format 2-C includes a 1-bit field indicating whether the 2nd SCI format 2-C requests the coordination information or transmits the coordination information.
In analogous art, Hong discloses wherein the 2nd SCI is configured based on 2nd SCI format 2-C defined for transmission of the coordination information (Figure 7 and paragraphs 0101 and 0102 disclose the first signaling message may be a second-stage SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C). The first signaling message (e.g. first-stage SCI and/or second-stage SCI) may include a providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information),
wherein the 2nd SCI format 2-C includes a 1-bit field indicating whether the 2nd SCI format 2-C requests the coordination information or transmits the coordination information (Figure 7 and paragraphs 0101 and 0102 disclose the first signaling message may be a second-stage SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C). The first signaling message (e.g. first-stage SCI and/or second-stage SCI) may include a providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information. The size of the providing/requesting indicator may be 1 bit. The providing/requesting indicator set to ‘0’ may indicate that the corresponding SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C) is used to provide inter-UE coordination information. The providing/requesting indicator set to ‘1’ may indicate that the corresponding SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C) is used to request inter-UE coordination information).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate SCI configured as SCI format 2-C including a 1 bit providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information, as described in Hong, with indicating information over SCI, as described in Hosseini, as modified by Farag, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining SCI configured as SCI format 2-C including a 1 bit providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information of Hong with indicating information over SCI of Hosseini, as modified by Farag, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Hong.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Hosseini, Farag, and Hong to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, Hosseini discloses a transmission user equipment (UE) performing sidelink communication using coordination information (Paragraph 0100 discloses the first UE may perform a sidelink transmission with the second UE using a scheduled sidelink resource), comprising:
a receiver configured to receive, from a reception UE, the coordination information indicating at least one non-preferred resource set (Figure 10 and paragraphs 0176 and 0178 disclose an example 1000 of a hardware implementation for an apparatus 1005 employing a processing system 1010. The apparatus 1005 may be a UE (e.g., the first UE or the second UE. The processing system 1010 may be coupled to a transceiver 1030. The transceiver 1030 is coupled to one or more antennas 1035. The transceiver 1030 provides a means for communicating with various other apparatuses over a transmission medium. The transceiver 1030 receives a signal from the one or more antennas 1035, extracts information from the received signal, and provides the extracted information to the processing system 1010, specifically the reception component 902. In addition, the transceiver 1030 receives information from the processing system 1010, specifically the transmission component 906, and generates a signal to be applied to the one or more antennas 1035 based at least in part on the received information. Figure 5 and paragraphs 0097-0099 disclose the second UE (e.g., using Mode 2 resource allocation involving sensing and resource reservation procedures) may assign sidelink resources for the first UE to perform sidelink transmissions. The sidelink resources may include non-preferred resources. The second UE may forward or transmit the assignment of sidelink resources to the first UE. In other words, the second UE may transmit scheduling information, to the first UE, that indicates the assignment of sidelink resources for the first UE. Based at least in part on the scheduling information, the first UE may determine particular sidelink resources that have been scheduled or reserved for sidelink transmissions from the first UE. In some aspects, the first UE may select the particular sidelink resources to exclude non-preferred resources indicated by the scheduling information);
a controller configured to configure a sidelink transmission resource used for sidelink transmission to the reception UE based on the coordination information (Figure 10 and paragraphs 0176 and 0179 disclose an example 1000 of a hardware implementation for an apparatus 1005 employing a processing system 1010. The apparatus 1005 may be a UE (e.g., the first UE or the second UE. The processing system 1010 includes a processor 1020 coupled to a computer-readable medium/memory 1025. The processor 1020 is responsible for general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium/memory 1025. The software, when executed by the processor 1020, causes the processing system 1010 to perform the various functions described herein for any particular apparatus. Figure 5 and paragraph 0099 disclose based at least in part on the scheduling information, the first UE may determine particular sidelink resources that have been scheduled or reserved for sidelink transmissions from the first UE. In some aspects, the first UE may select the particular sidelink resources to exclude non-preferred resources indicated by the scheduling information); and
a transmitter configured to perform the sidelink transmission using the sidelink transmission resource (Figure 10 and paragraphs 0176 and 0178 disclose an example 1000 of a hardware implementation for an apparatus 1005 employing a processing system 1010. The apparatus 1005 may be a UE (e.g., the first UE or the second UE. The processing system 1010 may be coupled to a transceiver 1030. The transceiver 1030 is coupled to one or more antennas 1035. The transceiver 1030 provides a means for communicating with various other apparatuses over a transmission medium. The transceiver 1030 receives a signal from the one or more antennas 1035, extracts information from the received signal, and provides the extracted information to the processing system 1010, specifically the reception component 902. In addition, the transceiver 1030 receives information from the processing system 1010, specifically the transmission component 906, and generates a signal to be applied to the one or more antennas 1035 based at least in part on the received information. Figure 5 and paragraph 0100 disclose as shown by reference number 512, the first UE may perform a sidelink transmission with the second UE using a scheduled sidelink resource);
wherein the coordination information indicating the at least one non-preferred resource set is received through 2nd sidelink control information (SCI) (Paragraphs 0068 and 0071 disclose the PSCCH 315 may carry sidelink control information (SCI) 330, which may indicate various control information used for sidelink communications, such as one or more resources (e.g., time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources, and/or the like). The UE 305 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling using SCI 330 received in the PSCCH 315).
Hosseini does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-preferred resource set includes at least one sidelink reserved resource, each having an RSRP measurement value larger than a preset threshold and reserved by at least one other transmission UE.
In analogous art, Farag discloses wherein the non-preferred resource set includes at least one sidelink reserved resource, each having an RSRP measurement value larger than a preset threshold and indicated by a sidelink reserved resource information received from at least one other transmission UE (Paragraphs 0083 and 0085 disclose SL channels include physical SL control channels (PSCCHs) conveying SL control information (SCI). In a unicast mode, a PSCCH/PSSCH conveys SL information from one UE to only one other UE. In a groupcast mode, a PSCCH/PSSCH conveys SL information from one UE to a group of UEs within a (pre-)configured set. In a broadcast mode, a PSCCH/PSSCH conveys SL information from one UE to all surrounding UEs. Paragraph 0313 discloses the preference level of non-preferred resources can be determined based on the SL RSRP (PSCCH DMRS RSRP or PSSCH DMRS RSRP) of the decoded SCI during sensing. First non-preferred resources (if any) include SL resources within a resource selection window that are reserved by a decoded SCI in the sensing window with RSRP more than (or more than or equal to) RSRP_Threshold1. Second non-preferred resources (if any) include SL resources within a resource selection window that are reserved by a decoded SCI in the sensing window with RSRP between RSRP_Threshold1 and RSRP_Threshold2. Third non-preferred resources (if any) include SL resources within a resource selection window that are reserved by a decoded SCI in the sensing window with RSRP between RSRP_Threshold2 and RSRP_Threshold3. Here, RSRP_Threshold1>RSRP_Threshold2>RSRP_Threshold3. The thresholds are pre-configured and/or configured/updated by RRC/MAC CE/L1 control signaling (from gNB/eNB or another UE)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate non-preferred resources being resources reserved by other UEs using SCI and having an RSRP above a threshold, as described in Farag, with indicating resources to exclude as non-preferred resources, as described in Hosseini, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining non-preferred resources being resources reserved by other UEs using SCI and having an RSRP above a threshold of Farag with indicating resources to exclude as non-preferred resources of Hosseini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Farag.
Hosseini, as modified by Farag, does not explicitly disclose wherein the 2nd SCI is configured based on 2nd SCI format 2-C defined for transmission of the coordination information, wherein the 2nd SCI format 2-C includes a 1-bit field indicating whether the 2nd SCI format 2-C requests the coordination information or transmits the coordination information.
In analogous art, Hong discloses wherein the 2nd SCI is configured based on 2nd SCI format 2-C defined for transmission of the coordination information (Figure 7 and paragraphs 0101 and 0102 disclose the first signaling message may be a second-stage SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C). The first signaling message (e.g. first-stage SCI and/or second-stage SCI) may include a providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information),
wherein the 2nd SCI format 2-C includes a 1-bit field indicating whether the 2nd SCI format 2-C requests the coordination information or transmits the coordination information (Figure 7 and paragraphs 0101 and 0102 disclose the first signaling message may be a second-stage SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C). The first signaling message (e.g. first-stage SCI and/or second-stage SCI) may include a providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information. The size of the providing/requesting indicator may be 1 bit. The providing/requesting indicator set to ‘0’ may indicate that the corresponding SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C) is used to provide inter-UE coordination information. The providing/requesting indicator set to ‘1’ may indicate that the corresponding SCI (e.g. SCI format 2-C) is used to request inter-UE coordination information).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate SCI configured as SCI format 2-C including a 1 bit providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information, as described in Hong, with indicating information over SCI, as described in Hosseini, as modified by Farag, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining SCI configured as SCI format 2-C including a 1 bit providing/requesting indicator indicating provision of or request for inter-UE coordination information of Hong with indicating information over SCI of Hosseini, as modified by Farag, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Hong.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Hosseini, Farag, and Hong to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Claims 2, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini in view of Farag, further in view of Hong as applied to claims 1, 6, and 11 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0180216 A1) (hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding claims 2, 7, and 12, as applied to claims 1, 6, and 11 above, Hosseini, as modified by Farag and Hong, discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the at least one non-preferred resource set is configured based on a time resource indicator value (TRIV) regarding time resource allocation and a frequency resource indicator value (FRIV) regarding frequency resource allocation.
In analogous art, Hwang discloses wherein the at least one non-preferred resource set is configured based on a time resource indicator value (TRIV) regarding time resource allocation and a frequency resource indicator value (FRIV) regarding frequency resource allocation (Paragraph 0159 discloses when the UE-A (e.g., UE which transmits additional information) indicates a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource, the UE-A may express/transmit by distinguishing between (i) a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource determined based on resources indicated by FRIV and/or TRIV indicated in received SCI and (ii) a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource determined based on resources repeatedly indicated after a resource reservation period indicated in received SCI and/or additional information (e.g., resources indicated by TRIV and/or FRIV based on a slot after the resource reservation period from the reception time of SCI)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate non-preferred resources based on FRIV and/or TRIV, as described in Hwang, with indicating non-preferred resources, as described in Hosseini, as modified by Farag and Hong, because doing so is using a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way. Combining non-preferred resources based on FRIV and/or TRIV of Hwang with indicating non-preferred resources of Hosseini, as modified by Farag and Hong, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Hwang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Hosseini, Farag, Hong, and Hwang to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2, 7, and 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5 and 6 in the Remarks, filed 4/20/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, and 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, and 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, and 12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Hwang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0137259 A1) discloses a method for transmitting and receiving inter-UE coordination information in a wireless communication system and apparatus therefor and
Jeong (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0254819 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for (re)selection of candidate carriers for transmission in SL CA.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642