Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14, 17, 19-20, 22, 24-25, 28-29, and 31-33 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claims 4, 7, 10, 13, 15-16, 18, 21, 23, 26-27, and 30 have been cancelled.
Claims 31-33 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 9, 11-12, 14, 17, 19-20, 22, 28-29 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of MATSUBARA et al. (U.S. 6504068) in view of LOOP et al. (USPGPUB 2012/0184788) and SAITO et al. (U.S. 6107532).
Regarding claim 1, MATSUBARA et al. teach a method for converting a plastic waste into oil in a stainless reactor.
The process is illustrated by Fig 1.
MATSUBARA et al. teach in ln 50-65 of column 6 and Fig 1 that plastic waste is heated and melted.
Plastic waste is mixed with supercritical water.
The plastic waste is melted in a melting tank with agitating means where the temperature is in the range of 200-400°C to form a molten plastic waste. The molten plastic waste is pressurized in a press fitting unit that may be provided a single shaft or two shaft screw. (extruding polymeric material in an extruder to thereby form a melt stream comprising the polymeric material, wherein the melt stream exits the extruder at a temperature of between 280 – 380°C) The molten plastic waste is continuously press-fi from the press fitting unit into a mixer.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the temperature ranges wherein the claimed ranges overlap.
MATSUBARA et al. teach that the molten plastic waste is pressurized.
MATSUBARA et al. also teach in ln 9-18 of column 7 that mixture of the molten plastic waste and water is sent to a continuous reactor at supercritical or near supercritical state.
The supercritical pressure of water is at 220 bar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be led to pressurize the molten plastic waste and water to supercritical conditions of 220 bar or higher given that MATSUBARA et al. teach both molten plastic waste and water are pressurized prior to mixing and the mixture is at or near supercritical state prior to being sent to a continuous reactor.
Wherein the general conditions are known, optimization or workable ranges involve only routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Water is taught in ln 66-67 of column 6, ln 1-8 of column 7, and Fig 1 to be heated in a preheater and then sent to the mixer (providing a steam of aqueous solvent that is separate to the melt stream).
MATSUBARA et al. teach in ln 35-42 of column 6 that plastic waste may be mixed with supercritical water (wherein the aqueous solvent is supercritical prior to contacting the plastic waste).
Supercritical water is used which would be construed as 100% supercritical water and thus more than 90% supercritical water (stream of aqueous solvent is supercritical and comprises more than 90% supercritical water).
A mixture of water and molten plastic waste is taught in ln 3-4 of column 7 (contacting the melt stream with the stream of aqueous solvent to from a reaction mixture).
LOOP et al. is relied on to teach employing a manifold to inject water through at least one cluster of injection points.
LOOP et al. teach a waste plastic depolymerization machine and methods vs supercritical water.
LOOP et al. teach in paragraph 19 an extruder-based conveying zone and a supercritical fluid reaction zone.
LOOP et al. teach in paragraph 24 that the waste plastic depolymerization machine can be used to convert waste plastic into a plurality of reaction products. The waste plastic depolymerization machine is taught in paragraph 21 a spear and tube reactor.
LOOP et al. teach in paragraph 20 that the spear and tube reactor comprises a manifold. The manifold is employed to inject supercritical fluid (water) into the supercritical fluid reaction zone. The manifold comprises a plurality of circumferentially positioned supercritical fluid injection channels.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the spear and tube reactor taught in LOOP et al. as the mixer in the process that MATSUBARA et al. teach with the supercritical water being injected through the manifold with a plurality of circumferentially positioned supercritical fluid injection channels taught in LOOP et al. (injecting stream of aqueous solvent into the melt stream through a manifold arrangement comprising at least one cluster of injection points)
The motivation to do so can be found in paragraph 22 of LOOP et al. The spear and tube reactor is taught to allow for a controlled amount of supercritical water into the system.
Mixture of the molten plastic waste and water is taught in ln 9-18 of column 7 of MATSUBARA et al., is sent to a continuous reactor. The mixture is in supercritical or near supercritical state is heated and decomposed in the continuous reactor into low molecular weight hydrocarbons.
A plastic waste can be decomposed to oil by selecting the reaction temperature, reaction pressure, the plastic waste to water ratio and reaction time (treating the reaction mixture in a reactor vessel at a reaction temperature and a reaction pressure for a time period suitable for conversion of all or a portion of the polymeric material present in the reaction mixture into a product comprising the bio-oil).
The continuous reactor is taught in ln 59-66 of column 7 to be heated between a temperature of 400-600°C (reaction temperature is between 375°C and 550°C).
The continuous reactor is taught in ln 59-66 of column 7 to be decomposed at a pressure of between 18 – 50 MPa 18-50 MPa would be about 180 -500 bar (reaction pressure of 50 bar and 300 bar).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists wherein the claimed ranges overlap.
The mixture of low molecular weight hydrocarbons and supercritical water is taught in ln 5-7 of column 8 to leaves the reactor and is then cooled by a cooling unit. Although MATSUBARA et al. do not explicitly teach depressurizing the mixture of low molecular weight hydrocarbons and supercritical water, the step of leaving the reactor under pressurized conditions would be expected to result in depressurization (depressurizing and cooling the product).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 31, LOOP et al. teach in paragraph 20 the manifold comprises a plurality of circumferentially positioned supercritical fluid injection channels. (injected across a full or partial cross section of the melt stream)
Regarding claim 32, LOOP et al. teach in paragraph 20 the manifold comprises a plurality of circumferentially positioned supercritical fluid injection channels.
The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
Regarding claim 12, MATSUBARA et al. teach in ln 1-8 of column 8 example ranges for the ratio of the weight of plastic waste to the weight of added waster is from 0.05 to 0.5.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934.
Regarding claim 2, molten plastic waste is taught in ln 43-48 of column 8 of MATSUBARA et al. to be pressurized in a press fitting unit provided with a single-shaft or two-shaft screw.
Regarding claim 3, MATSUBARA et al. teach in ln 51-62 of column 6 that exhaust gases such as decomposition gases are produced from melting the plastic waste and may exits through the top of melting tank 2.
MATSUBARA et al. do not explicitly teach one or more ports, for venting gases, on the press fitting unit used to pressurize the molten plastic waste.
However, given that MATSUBARA et al. recognizes that exhaust gases are generated from the molten plastic waste and that the press fitting unit will pressurize the molten plastic waste, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add vents to the top of the press fitting unit used to pressurize the molten plastic waste.
The motivation to do so would be to prevent pressure buildup and allow any additional decomposition gases to exit the press fitting unit.
MATSUBARA et al. teach in ln 3-16 of column 2 that decomposition gases such as hydrogen chloride are removed such that they do not corrode piping and reactors.
Regarding claim 8, MATSUBARA et al. teach in ln 4-18 of column 5 of MATSUBARA et al. a continuous process for treating plastic waste.
The process is taught in ln 62-67 of column 6, and lines 1-18 of column 7, of MATSUBARA et al. to comprise press-fitting molten plastic waste and water into a mixer to form a mixture of molten plastic waste and water. The mixture of molten plastic waste and water is sent to a continuous reactor.
Regarding claim 9, the process is taught in ln 1-6 of column 6 of MATSUBARA et al. to comprise pretreatments such as crushing, separating, fractionating, heating, neutralizing of the plastic waste.
Regarding claim 11, plastic that maybe present are taught in ln 28-31 of column 4 of MATSUBARA et al. and may include polyethylene, polypropylene, polyvinyl chloride, polyvinylidene chloride, ABS resin, polyvinyl alcohol, polycarbonate, polyester resin or polyamide.
Regarding claim 14, polyethylene is taught in ln 28-31 of column 4 of MATSUBARA et al. which would be expected to have less than about 5 wt% nitrogen and less than about 1 wt% total halogens.
Regarding claim 17, supercritical water is used which would be construed as 100% supercritical water.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is written such that that the aqueous solvent may be 100% supercritical water.
Regarding claim 20, a mixture of low molecular weight hydrocarbon and supercritical water is taught in ln 5-16 of column 8 of MATSUBARA et al. to exit the reactor, where the molten plastic waste is decomposed, and sent to an apparatus where generated gas is separated from liquid.
Regarding claim 22, MATSUBARA et al. do not explicitly teach collecting fractions.
However, SAITO et al. teach in ln 28-43 of column 6 producing oil with hydrocarbons ranging from low-boiling to 500°C. The oil with hydrocarbons may be fractionated and the resulting fractions may be used as fuel. A portion of the fuel may be used for the process.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to fractionate the oil product taught in MATSUBARA et al. and collect specific fractions to use as fuel that are boiling in specific ranges of fuels to be used for fuel such as diesel.
The motivation to do so would be to collect different fraction such as those that may be used as fuel.
SAITO et al. teach in ln 28-43 of column 6 fractions that may be used as fuel may be used for the process.
Regarding claim 28, MATSUBARA et al. do not explicitly teach that the reaction mixture comprises an oil.
However, MATSUBARA et al. teach a process for the production of bio-oil.
It would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to recycled unconverted residue that comprises some bio-oil back in the reaction mixture with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 29, MATSUBARA et al. teach a mixture of the molten plastic waste and water which does not comprise lignocellulosic matter, coal, coke, peat, kerogen, tar sand, oil shale, shale tar, asphalt, asphaltene, natural bitumen, or bituminous sand.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUBARA et al. (U.S. 6504068) in view of LOOP et al. (USPGPUB 2012/0184788) as applied to claims 1-3, 8, 9, 11-12, 14, 17, 19-20, 22, 28-29 and 31-32 above, and further in view of SAITO et al. (U.S. 6107532).
The above discussion of MATSUBARA et al. in view of LOOP et al. is incorporated herein by reference.
MATSUBARA et al. teaches in ln 5-8 of column 7 that it is preferable that an amount of water added thereto, which is represented in terms of the ratio of the weight of plastic waste to the weight of added water, becomes within a range of 0.05 to 0.5.
MATSUBARA et al. do not teach a mixture of molten plastic waste and water in which the molten plastic waste is greater than 50wt% of the mixture.
However, SAITO et al. teach a process and system for converting plastic waste into oil.
SAITO et al. teach in ln 13-23 of column 3 the general process.
The process comprises mixing powdered plastic with water to form a slurry. The slurry is fed to a continuous reactor wherein the powdered plastics are degraded under reaction conditions causing the water to be at or near the supercritical region. An oil product is taught to be recovered.
SAITO et al. teach in ln 3-10 of column 4 that there are no limitations on the temperature and pressure of the water used to prepare the slurry.
SAITO et al. teach in ln 7-11 of column 4 that the weight ratio of powdered plastics to water may be in the range of 1:0.3 to 1:20. For a ratio of 1:0.3 weight ratio of powdered plastics to water, the percentage of the powdered plastics would be about 76%.
It appears to be obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the ratio of the weight of molten plastic to the weight of water in the mixture of the molten plastic and water taught in MATSUBARA et al. after the formation of the mixture to a range of 1:0.3 to 1:20.
The motivation to do so can be found in MATSUBARA et al.
MATSUBARA et al. also teach in reference claim 11 selecting the plastic waste to water ratio to produce a heavy oil.
The plastic waste to water ratio do not appear to be limited to “amount of water added thereto, which is represented in terms of the ratio of the weight of plastic waste to the weight of added water, becomes within a range of 0.05 to 0.5”.
MATSUBARA et al. further teach in ln 47-52 of column 8 that similar results were obtained with molten plastic mixed with water and crushed plastic waste mixed with water in a slurry. SAITO et al. teach crushed plastic waste mixed with water in a slurry.
MATSUBARA et al. teach in ln 9-18 of column 7 that a plastic waste can be decomposed to oil, which is in any form from that of heavy oil to that of light oil by selecting the reaction temperature, reaction pressure, the plastic waste to water ratio and reaction time.
Absent evidence to the contrary, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the ratio of the weight of molten plastic to the weight of water in the mixture of the molten plastic and water taught in MATSUBARA et al. after the formation of the mixture to a range of 1:0.3 to 1:20 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Wherein the general conditions are known, optimization or workable ranges involve only routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 5, 6, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUBARA et al. (U.S. 6504068) in view of LOOP et al. (USPGPUB 2012/0184788) as applied to claims 1-3, 8, 9, 11-12, 14, 17, 19-20, 22, 28-29 and 31-32 above, and further in view of PLATEN (WO 2008/054190).
The above discussion of MATSUBARA et al. in view of LOOP et al. and SAITO et al. is incorporated herein by reference.
MATSUBARA et al. do not teach adding a base as an additional component to plastic waste, the molten plastic waste, the water, or the mixture of molten plastic waste and water.
However, PLATEN teaches a method and system for conversion of waste into fuel and other by-products. PLATEN teaches treating waste in an alkaline medium by degrading it and then purifying it by separating impurities to form a purified product stream. The purified product stream is fractionated to form a plurality of streams. PLATEN teaches in ln 15-20 of page 6 of PLATEN the waste includes plastic materials that are undigested in the waste stream until they melt when heat is applied.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the alkaline digestion process taught in PLATEN to the mixer that MATSUBARA et al. teach.
The motivation to do so can be found in PLATEN.
PLATEN teaches in ln 31-32 of page 4, and ln 1-14 of page 5, of PLATEN an alkaline treatment process allows treatment of mixed streams without extensively sorting the waste or specific water content.
Regarding claim 5, the waste is taught in ln 24-30 of column 5 of PLATEN subjected to alkaline treating step in which the molarity is at least 1. Examples of alkaline medium include sodium hydroxide.
PLATEN does not explicitly state that the alkaline medium precipitates metal halides in the reaction mixture facilitating their removal.
However, PLATEN does teach examples such has sodium hydroxide which would be expected to function the same as currently claimed as it has been held that "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
A preferable range of the weight ratio of alkaline medium to waste is given as 2 to 1.
It would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to use alkaline medium in other ratios such as 1:1 given that PLATEN also explicitly states that the ratio is given only as illustration of the method of present invention and one using the method may find other ratios more economical or more suited to his/her needs.
A ratio of 1:1 may be seen as more economical and/or more suited.
Wherein the general conditions are known, optimization or workable ranges involve only routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 6, the alkaline medium is taught in ln 24-30 of column 5 of PLATEN used has a pH value of at least 11.
The product from the process in MATSUBARA et al. would be expected to have a pH value of greater than 3 given that it is molten plastic waste with water (pH of around 7) that would be treated with an alkaline medium that has a pH value of at least 11.
Regarding claims 24 and 25, examples of alkaline medium are taught in ln 24-30 of column 5 of PLATEN include sodium hydroxide.
Claim(s) 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUBARA et al. (U.S. 6504068) in view of LOOP et al. (USPGPUB 2012/0184788) as applied to claims 1-3, 8, 9, 11-12, 14, 17, 19-20, 22, 28-29, and 31-32 above, and further in view of DOWNIE et al. (USPGPUB 2016/0114307).
The above discussion of MATSUBARA et al. in view of LOOP et al. and SAITO et al. is incorporated herein by reference.
MATSUBARA et al. do not explicitly teach the addition of a supplemental catalyst to the reaction mixture.
However, DOWNIE et al. teach the generation of bio-oil from organic matter feedstocks by hydrothermal/thermochemical conversion.
DOWNIE et al. teach in Para 173, and Para 190 -192 of DOWNIE et al. that the organic matter feedstock may comprise synthetic organic materials such as plastics.
Regarding claims 24-25, DOWNIE et al. teach in Para 69-72 of DOWNIE et al. aspects in which a catalyst additive is mixed with the feedstock and/or solvent prior to treating. The catalyst additive may be a base catalyst such as sodium hydroxide as well as water-gas catalyst.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the reaction mixture in MATSUBARA et al. with the catalyst additive that DOWNIE et al. teach.
The motivation to do so is that DOWNIE et al. teach in Para 239 of DOWNIE et al. The catalyst additives assist in the process and stabilize the biofuel formed.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejections.
LOOP et al. (USPGPUB 20120184788) has been added. LOOP et al. teach a system and process for depolymerization of waste plastics. LOOP et al. teach mixing waste plastic and supercritical water with injection of supercritical water from a manifold.
LOOP et al. teach that a benefit of employing the manifold is control of the injection of the supercritical water.
Applicant argues that SAITO et al. teach away from the use of an extruder.
This is not persuasive as MATSUBARA is the primary reference and SAITO et al. is relied on to teach ratios of plastic waste to water that may be used. SAITO et al. also do not teach that an extruder could not be used.
Applicant argues that PLATEN does not teach a separate polymer melt stream exiting the extruder.
This is not persuasive as MATSUBARA is the primary reference and MATSUBARA teaches producing a molten plastic stream and a separate supercritical water stream prior to mixing the two streams.
PLATEN is relied on to teach an alkaline treatment process allows treatment of mixed streams without extensively sorting the waste or specific water content.
Conclusion
/MING CHEUNG PO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771