DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilani et al (hereafter Kilani)(US Pub. 2023/0229870) in view of Yudanov et al (hereafter Yudanov)(US Pat. 11,537,861) and Baskin et al (hereafter Baskin)(US Pub. 2021/0241096).
Kilani and Yudanov were cited in the previous office action dated 10/10/2025.
As to claims 1 and 12, Kilani discloses a method for performing hardware noise-aware training for a deep neural network (DNN) (abstract and [0001]), the method comprising:
Performing software training of the DNN for deployment on in-memory computing (IMC) hardware ([0005] IMC and [0049] training).
7. Kilani does not disclose the software training comprises injecting hardware noise into a forward pass of the DNN.
However, Yudanov discloses the software training comprises injecting hardware noise into a forward pass of the DNN (column 2, lines 33-65 forward propagation, performing PIM dot product operations).
8. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kilani with the injecting of Kilani, for the benefit of saving time and/or conserve power by reducing and possibly eliminating external communications (Yudanov column 2, lines 54-56).
9. The combination of Kilani and Yudanov does not teach or suggest the injecting is emulated hardware noise that corresponds to noise in the IMC hardware.
However, Baskin discloses the injecting is emulated hardware noise that corresponds to noise in the IMC hardware ([0044]-[0045], injection of values, using noise injection to emulate the uniform quantizer; thus in combination with Kilani and Yudanov teach the claimed limitations as currently recited.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Kilani and Yudanov with the noise injection as taught by Baskin, for the benefit of reducing computation time and computation resources required to train a quantized neural network (Baskin, [0045]).
10. As to claim 2, the combination of Kilani, Yudanov, and Baskin discloses wherein injecting emulated hardware noise comprises emulating a dot-product computation of the IMC hardware (Yudanov, column 11, lines 5-8, emulation).
11. As to claim 3, the combination of Kilani, Yudanov, and Baskin discloses wherein injecting emulated hardware noise further comprises using conditional probability tables to transform partial sums (Yudanov, column 12, lines 31-67 summing circuit).
12. As to claim 4, the combination of Kilani and Yudanov discloses wherein the performing of the software training of the DNN for deployment on the IMC hardware comprises dividing multiply-and-accumulate (MAC) operations of the DNN into a plurality of data blocks based on a parameter of the IMC hardware (Kilani [0048]-[0049]).
13. As to claim 5, the combination of Kilani, Yudanov, and Baskin discloses wherein a size of each data block is equal to a number of rows of an IMC memory array of the IMC hardware (Kilani [0042]-[0045]).
14. As to claim 6, the combination of Kilani, Yudanov, and Baskin discloses wherein the performing of the software training of the DNN for deployment on the IMC hardware further comprises: obtaining a partial sum for each of the plurality of data blocks; and accumulating results of the partial sum for each of the plurality of data 30 blocks into a full sum (Yudanov, column 13, line 54-column 14, line 38).
15. As to claims 7-9, the combination of Kilani, Yudanov, and Baskin discloses wherein injecting emulated hardware noise into the forward pass of the DNN comprises performing stochastic quantization of each partial sum; wherein the performing of the software training of the DNN for deployment on IMC hardware comprises using a forward pass through a plurality of convolution layers and at least one fully-connected layer of the DNN and a backward pass through the plurality of convolution layers and the at least one fully-connected layer; and further comprising using a straight-through estimator on the backward pass to correct the software training. (Yudanov, column 11, lines 21-31, forward and backward pass).
16. As to claim 10, the combination of Kilani, Yudanov, and Baskin discloses further comprising performing an inference evaluation using a forward pass through the plurality of convolution layers and the at least one fully-connected layer of the DNN (Yudanov, column 18, lines 13-41, inference operation).
17. As to claims 11 and 20, the combination of Kilani, Yudanov, and Baskin discloses performing noise-aware training using a single noise model approximation of the IMC hardware (Yudanov column 2, lines 33-65).
18. As to claims 13 and 14, the combination of Kilani, Yudanov, and Baskin discloses wherein the IMC hardware comprises resistive IMC hardware (Yudanov, column 30, lines 32-50, resistive elements); and wherein the IMC engine comprises capacitive IMC hardware (Yudanov, column 20, lines 47-67).
19. As to claims 15-17, the claims are rejected for similar reasons as claims 8-10 above.
20. As to claims 18-19, the combination of Kilani, Yudanov, and Baskin discloses wherein during training weights of the plurality of convolution layers and the at least one fully-connected layer are trained to minimize a loss function; and wherein the weights are updated during the backward pass through the plurality of convolution layers and the at least one fully-connected layer.
Conclusion
21. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL D. YAARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151