DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s amendments, filed on 06/15/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1, 3, 6-13 has been considered and entered. Claims 2, 4, 5 are cancelled.
3. Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/15/2026 with respect to claims , 3, 6-13 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection.
The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 10 11 , 12, 13is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 20210315049 A1) hereinafter Wei, in view of Mo et al. (US 20230156814 A1)hereinafter Mo, in view of Agiwal et al. (US 20220022247 A1)hereinafter Agiwal and further in view of Xing et al. (US 20240292464 A1) hereinafter Xiong
As to claim 1Wei teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) Release message including configured grant (CG) configuration information, ([0060] Fig. 5, In action 504, the UE may receive an RRC release message including an RRC indicator and a configuration for small data transmission from the BS)
the CG configuration information including a [[CG]] configuration related to a CG-based small data transmission (SDT) );([0064] The BS may indicate to the UE that a small data transmission via a CG (in the RRC_INACTIVE state and/or the RRC_IDLE state) can only be performed on a specific UL BWP(s).
and information related to physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources; ([0104] Each CG configuration in the list of preconfigured CG configurations are associated with a set of PUSCH resources (e.g., or “CG resources”) on a respective UL BWP configured by the BS.)
performing an initial transmission of a PUSCH in an RRC Inactive state based on the CG configuration information; ([0061] the UE may perform data transmission (e.g., small data transmission), according to the configuration for small data transmission via a CG provided by the BS while operating in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state.)
and
monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for detection of downlink control information (DCI), ([0075] DL BWP may be applied by the UE for monitoring a PDCCH for scheduling DCI)
wherein, among the PUSCH resources configured based on the CG configuration information,([0057] (small) data may be carried by one or multiple TBs to be transmitted on a PUSCH resource(s) derived from a CG configuration provided (configured) by the gNB)
Wei does not teach wherein based on that the PDCCH is not received until a CG-related timer expires after performing the initial transmission, the UE indicates a failure in the SDT,
wherein the CG-based SDT is only configured on an initial bandwidth part (BWP), [[and]]
wherein the [[CG]] configuration related to the CG-based SDT includes information regarding a synchronization signal block (SSB) subset for SSB-to-PUSCH mapping, and
a PUSCH resource overlapped with an uplink resource related to a random access procedure is invalid.([0109] if the configured PUSCH time-frequency resource overlap with the random access time-frequency resource for valid two-step random access and/or the random access time-frequency resource for valid four-step random access, then PUSCH time-frequency resource, that is, if there is an overlap, the configured PUSCH time-frequency resource is invalid)
Mo teaches wherein the CG-based SDT is only configured on an initial bandwidth part (BWP), [0138] small data transmission type based on the configured grant, first channel quality threshold is configured only when the network side has configured small data transmission resource based on the configured grant for a BWP (for example, initial BWP).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Mo with the teaching of Wei because Mo teaches that setting target transmission type as small data transmission type based on the configured grant, would facilitate a consistent understanding between the terminal and a network side, and improving performance of small data transmission.(Mo [0158])
The combination of Wei and Mo does not teach wherein based on that the PDCCH is not received until a CG-related timer expires after performing the initial transmission, the UE indicates a failure in the SDT,
wherein the [[CG]] configuration related to the CG-based SDT includes information regarding a synchronization signal block (SSB) subset for SSB-to-PUSCH mapping, and
a PUSCH resource overlapped with an uplink resource related to a random access procedure is invalid
Agiwal teaches wherein based on that the PDCCH is not received until a CG-related timer expires after performing the initial transmission, the UE indicates a failure in the SDT, ,([0075][0207] [0209]. A timer can be configured by network along with preconfigured PUSCH resources. The timer can be started from end of PUSCH transmission or at the first PDCCH monitoring occasion from the end of PUSCH transmission; If the timer expires, PDCCH not received, SDT is considered to have failed. )
wherein the [[CG]] configuration related to the CG-based SDT includes information regarding a synchronization signal block (SSB) subset for SSB-to-PUSCH mapping, .([0098] –[0100] UE receives the pre-configured PUSCH resources (e.g. CG Type 1 resources) for small data transmission (SDT) in dedicated signaling (RRCReconfiguration message or RRCRelease message); resources for SDT are applicable to multiple cells, details of association between UL resources for SDT , PUSCH resources are also mapped to SSB(s))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Agiwal with the teaching of Wei and Mo because Agiwal teaches that when UE has received UL grants in the RRC connection release message, and the UE has a valid TA, would allow UE to selects the earliest UL grant and transmits the MAC PDU in the selected UL grant. (Agiwal [0075])
and
the combination of Wei, Mo and Agiwal does not teach a PUSCH resource overlapped with an uplink resource related to a random access procedure is invalid.
Xiong teaches teach a PUSCH resource overlapped with an uplink resource related to a random access procedure is invalid ([0109] if the configured PUSCH time-frequency resource overlap with the random access time-frequency resource for valid two-step random access and/or the random access time-frequency resource for valid four-step random access, then PUSCH time-frequency resource, that is, if there is an overlap, the configured PUSCH time-frequency resource is invalid)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xiong with the teaching of Wei, MO, Agiwal because Xiong teaches that conflict resolution mechanism in the random access would allow to reduce the probability of conflict, and to quickly resolve a conflict that has already occurred is a key indicator affecting the performance of random access. (Xiong [0008])
Claim 11 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 3. The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal and Xiong specifically Wei teaches , the failure is indicated by the UE only in the RRC Inactive state. ([0057][0189] [0193]Fig. 11, Fig. 12, [UE transmit data via a CG while the UE is not in the RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., in the RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) ; UE may not perform data transmission on PUSCH #4 1208 since the TA-related timer is not running i.e., expires and the associated TA value becomes invalid.)
As to claim 10. The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal and Xiong specifically Wei teaches , A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a program for executing the method of claim 1. ([0296] [0297] Fig. 18, computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a program instruction for executing on processor)
As to claim 12 The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal and Xiong specifically Wei teaches, wherein the device is an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or a digital signal processor. ([0034] The microprocessors or general-purpose computers may be formed of Applications Specific Integrated Circuitry (ASIC), programmable logic arrays,)
As to claim 13The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal, Xiong specifically Wei teach, wherein the device is a user equipment (UE) operating in a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) based wireless communication system.([0045][0046] Fig. 1, UE operates in 4-step RA procedures, 2-step RA procedures are also supported in the next generation cellular wireless communication system (e.g., 3GPP NR wireless communication system))
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, Mo Agiwal, Xiong and further in view of Lei et al. (US 20220182949 A1)hereinafter Lei
As to claim 7. The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal does not teach further comprising performing a random access channel (RACH) after failure in the SDT.
Lei teaches further comprising performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure based on that the initial transmission is indicated as the failure in the SDT. ([0126] determining one or more power control parameters to use for an initial SDT transmission and, in the event the SDT transmission fails, an SDT retransmission; )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lei with the teaching of Wei, Mo, Agiwal and Xiong because Lei teaches that SDT transmissions and retransmissions (e.g., after a failed SDT transmission) may be improved by considering other signaling and/or parameters related to the SDT and/or the UE. (Lei [0095])
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, Mo Agiwal, Xiong and further in view of Loehr et al. (WO 2022123446 A1)hereinafter Loehr
As to claim 9. The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal, Xiong does not teach wherein the PUSCH transmission for the SDT is performed in the RRC inactive state on the initial BWP
Loehr teaches wherein the PUSCH transmission for the SDT is performed in the RRC inactive state on the initial BWP ([0039] When UE is moved to RRC INACTIVE by the network, the UE stores the configured LCH mapping restrictions. However, for uplink transmissions in RRC INACTIVE mode ,PUSCH i.e., small data transmission (“SDT”) occurring, e.g., only on the initial UL Bandwidth Part (“BWP”), )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Loehr with the teaching of Wei Mo, Agiwal and Xiong because Loehr teaches that ,uplink transmission for small -data transmission (“SDT”) by a User Equipment (“UE”) in an RRC inactive mode would reduce complexity of the UE in RRC INACTIVE. (Loehr [0090]
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, Mo Agiwal, Xiong and further in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 20210076384 A1) hereinafter Molavian
As to claim 6 The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal, Xiong does not teach wherein the initial transmission of the PUSCH is performed based on a valid PUSCH resource among the PUSCH resources
Molavian teaches wherein the initial transmission of the PUSCH is performed based on a valid PUSCH resource among the PUSCH resources([0256] the UE transmits a first repetition of a Msg3 PUSCH in a first valid slot, as determined by higher layer configuration, )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Noh with the teaching of Wei, Mo Agiwal, Xiong because Molavian teaches that by repeating the PRACH transmission in multiple occasions to increase the probability of correct detection of the PRACH preamble by the gNB and/or to reduce the collision probability among a large number of UEs. (Molavian [0170])
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, Mo Agiwal and further in view of Chin et al. (US 20210105096 A1) hereinafter Chin
As to claim 8. The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal, Xiong does not teach wherein the CG related timer is configured for a HARQ process to which PUSCH belongs.
Chin teaches wherein the specific timer is configured for a HARQ process to which the PUSCH belongs. ([0062] the identified HARQ process is configured for a configured uplink grant, on a configured UL resource or on a resource indicated by an uplink grant addressed to CS-RNTI), a configured grant timer that corresponds to the HARQ process ID for a configured uplink grant resource (e.g., PUSCH) with the same HARQ process ID )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Chin with the teaching of Wei, Mo Agiwal, Xiong because Chin teaches that if the HARQ process ID of a configured uplink grant resource is determined to be 1, the configured uplink grant resource is used for new transmission if the configured grant timer with HARQ process ID of 1 is not running/configured. (Chin [0082])
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dinan; Esmael et al. [US 20180279376 A1] Power Control For Random Access
Nogami; Toshizo et al. [US 20180123744 A1] USER EQUIPMENTS, BASE STATIONS, AND METHODS
Dinan; Esmael et al. [US 20180279229 A1] Uplink Transmission Power Adjustment
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413