2026DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
3. Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/05/2025 regarding rejection of claims 1-3, 6-13 has been considered and entered. Claims 4-5 are cancelled. Applicant’s arguments are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 10 11 , 12, 13is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 20210315049 A1) hereinafter Wei, in view of Mo et al. (US 20230156814 A1)hereinafter Mo and further Agiwal et al. (US 20220022247 A1)hereinafter Agiwal
As to claim 1 A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) Release message including configured grant (CG) configuration information, ([0060] Fig. 5, In action 504, the UE may receive an RRC release message including an RRC indicator and a configuration for small data transmission from the BS)
the CG configuration information including a CG configuration related to small data transmission (SDT);([0064] The BS may indicate to the UE that a small data transmission via a CG (in the RRC_INACTIVE state and/or the RRC_IDLE state) can only be performed on a specific UL BWP(s).
performing an initial transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in an RRC Inactive state based on the CG configuration information([0061] the UE may perform data transmission (e.g., small data transmission), according to the configuration for small data transmission via a CG provided by the BS while operating in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state.)
; and monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying for detection of downlink control information (DCI) ([0075] The specific DL BWP may be applied by the UE for monitoring a PDCCH for scheduling DCI )
Wei does not teach wherein the RRC Release message includes configuration information of a search space for a CG, wherein based on that the PDCCH is not received until a CG-related timer expires after performing initial transmission, the UE indicates a failure in the SDT, and
wherein the CG configuration related to the SDT is only configured on an initial bandwidth part (BWP),
wherein the CG configuration related to the SDT includes information regarding a synchronization signal block (SSB) subset for SSB-to-PUSCH mapping
Mo teaches wherein the CG configuration related to the SDT is only configured on an initial bandwidth part (BWP),([0138] he first channel quality threshold is configured only when the network side has configured small data transmission resource based on the configured grant for a BWP (for example, initial BWP).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Mo with the teaching of Wei because Mo teaches that setting target transmission type as small data transmission type based on the configured grant, would facilitate a consistent understanding between the terminal and a network side, and improving performance of small data transmission.(Mo [0158])
The combination Wei and Mo does not teach wherein the RRC Release message includes configuration information of a search space for a CG, wherein based on that the PDCCH is not received until a CG-related timer expires after performing initial transmission, the UE indicates a failure in the SDT, and
wherein the CG configuration related to the SDT includes information regarding a synchronization signal block (SSB) subset for SSB-to-PUSCH mapping
Agiwal teaches wherein the RRC Release message includes configuration information of a search space for a CG([0075][0076]the UE monitors PDCCH addressed to an RNTI assigned to UE in RRC connection release message. 5G wireless communication system supports multiple beams, multiple UL carriers, multiple BWPs and search spaces for PDCCH monitoring)
wherein based on that the PDCCH is not received until a CG-related timer expires after performing initial transmission, the UE indicates a failure in the SDT,([0075][0207] [0209]. A timer can be configured by network along with preconfigured PUSCH resources. The timer can be started from end of PUSCH transmission or at the first PDCCH monitoring occasion from the end of PUSCH transmission; If the timer expires, PDCCH not received, SDT is considered to have failed. and
wherein the CG configuration related to the SDT includes information regarding a synchronization signal block (SSB) subset for SSB-to-PUSCH mapping.([0098] –[0100] UE receives the pre-configured PUSCH resources (e.g. CG Type 1 resources) for small data transmission (SDT) in dedicated signaling (RRCReconfiguration message or RRCRelease message); resources for SDT are applicable to multiple cells, details of association between UL resources for SDT , PUSCH resources are also mapped to SSB(s))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Agiwal with the teaching of Wei and Mo because Agiwal teaches that when UE has received UL grants in the RRC connection release message, and the UE has a valid TA, would allow UE to selects the earliest UL grant and transmits the MAC PDU in the selected UL grant. (Agiwal [0075])
Claim 11 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 2. The combination of Wei, Mo, Agiwal specifically Wei teaches , wherein the CG-related timer starts based on PUSCH transmission. ([0169] A UE may (re)start a timer from an initial value each time the RS measurement is performed. The stored RS measurement result may be released/cleared/flushed by the UE if the timer expires. The unit of the timer may be (a fraction of) symbol, slot subframe, system frame, SFN, milliseconds (ms), or the time period of a PUSCH resource derived from a CG configuration. )
As to claim 3. The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal specifically Wei teaches , the failure is indicated by the UE only in the RRC Inactive state. ([0057][0189] [0193]Fig. 11, Fig. 12, [UE transmit data via a CG while the UE is not in the RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., in the RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) ; UE may not perform data transmission on PUSCH #4 1208 since the TA-related timer is not running i.e., expires and the associated TA value becomes invalid.)
As to claim 10. The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal specifically Wei teaches , A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a program for executing the method of claim 1. ([0296] [0297] Fig. 18, computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a program instruction for executing on processor)
As to claim 12 The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal specifically Wei teaches, wherein the device is an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or a digital signal processor. ([0034] The microprocessors or general-purpose computers may be formed of Applications Specific Integrated Circuitry (ASIC), programmable logic arrays,)
As to claim 13The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal specifically Wei teach, wherein the device is a user equipment (UE) operating in a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) based wireless communication system.([0045][0046] Fig. 1, UE operates in 4-step RA procedures, 2-step RA procedures are also supported in the next generation cellular wireless communication system (e.g., 3GPP NR wireless communication system))
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, Mo Agiwal and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20240032134 A1)hereinafter Kim provisional application 63/168,783 dated 03/31/2021
As to claim 7. The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal does not teach further comprising performing a random access channel (RACH) after failure in the SDT.
Kim teaches further comprising performing a random access channel (RACH) after failure in the SDT. ([0347] Fig. 21, the UE in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state may consider the small data transmission using PUR being failed. Based on considering the small data transmission using PUR being failed, the UE may perform random access procedure the random access procedure may comprise EDT RACH procedure.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Kim with the teaching of Wei, Mo and Agiwal because Kim teaches that with a successful RA procedure. the base station may improve system performance by optimizing radio resources and reducing failures. (Kim [0369])
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, Mo Agiwal and further in view of Loehr et al. (WO 2022123446 A1)hereinafter Loehr
As to claim 9. The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal does not teach wherein the PUSCH transmission for the SDT is performed in the RRC inactive state on the initial BWP
Loehr teaches wherein the PUSCH transmission for the SDT is performed in the RRC inactive state on the initial BWP ([0039] When UE is moved to RRC INACTIVE by the network, the UE stores the configured LCH mapping restrictions. However, for uplink transmissions in RRC INACTIVE mode ,PUSCH i.e., small data transmission (“SDT”) occurring, e.g., only on the initial UL Bandwidth Part (“BWP”), )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Loehr with the teaching of Wei Mo and Agiwal because Loehr teaches that ,uplink transmission for small -data transmission (“SDT”) by a User Equipment (“UE”) in an RRC inactive mode would reduce complexity of the UE in RRC INACTIVE. (Loehr [0090]
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, Mo Agiwal and further in view of Noh et al. (US 20190140774 A1) hereinafter Noh
As to claim 6 The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal does not teach wherein the UE transmits the PUSCH based on a valid PUSCH resource among the PUSCH resources configured through the CG configuration information.
Noh teaches wherein the UE transmits the PUSCH based on a valid PUSCH resource among the PUSCH resources configured through the CG configuration information. ([0053] If a attempts to transmit data on PUSCH by receiving a valid scheduling grant in a subframe (e.g., configuration with two slots in length of 10 ms),)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Noh with the teaching of Wei, Mo Agiwal because Noh teaches that valid scheduling grant in a subframe would allow a control information may be transmitted on PUSCH by being time-multiplexed together with data without using PUCCH.(Noh [0053])
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, Mo Agiwal and further in view of Chin et al. (US 20210105096 A1) hereinafter Chin
As to claim 8. The combination of Wei, Mo Agiwal does not teach wherein the CG related timer is configured for a HARQ process to which PUSCH belongs.
Chin teaches wherein the specific timer is configured for a HARQ process to which the PUSCH belongs. ([0062] the identified HARQ process is configured for a configured uplink grant, on a configured UL resource or on a resource indicated by an uplink grant addressed to CS-RNTI), a configured grant timer that corresponds to the HARQ process ID for a configured uplink grant resource (e.g., PUSCH) with the same HARQ process ID )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Chin with the teaching of Wei, Mo Agiwal because Chin teaches that if the HARQ process ID of a configured uplink grant resource is determined to be 1, the configured uplink grant resource is used for new transmission if the configured grant timer with HARQ process ID of 1 is not running/configured. (Chin [0082])
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KIM; Jae Heung [US 20230072763 A1] INSTANT DATA PACKET TRANSMISSION METHOD AND APPARATUS THEREFOR
Kung; Yi-Hsuan et al. [US 20210307027 A1] METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR PRIORITIZATION BETWEEN UPLINK DATA AND SCHEDULING REQUEST IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413