DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 5/20/2026, the following has occurred: Claims 1 and 21 have been amended; Claims 8-19 are cancelled; and new Claims 23-24 have been added.
Claims 1-7 and 20-24 are pending. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 5/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-6, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0194853 A1 (“US’853”) in view of US 2014/0178722 A1 (“US’722”) and EP 2290731 A1 (“EP’731”).
As to Claim 1:
US’853 discloses a battery pack comprising a battery module, wherein the battery module includes multiple cylindrical battery cells, a first fixing frame, a thermally conductive adhesive solution, a second fixing frame, a cooling tray, and a tray cover (US’853, [0035], [0071]);
multiple battery cells, wherein the cylindrical battery cells are arranged proximate to one another in a concentrated arrangement and may be electrically connected in series and/or parallel (US’853, [0035], [0037], [0039]);
a battery chassis comprising the first fixing frame, second fixing frame, cooling tray, and tray cover, wherein the first fixing frame supports bottom portions of the cylindrical battery cells, the second fixing frame supports top portions of the cylindrical battery cells, and the cylindrical battery cells are interposed between the first and second fixing frames (US’853, [0039]-[0040], [0059]-[0060], [0068]-[0069]);
wherein the battery chassis is configured to hold the multiple battery cells in a vertical orientation proximate to one another, because the cylindrical battery cells are inserted one by one into cell bottom holders in a vertical orientation and stand vertically in a concentrated arrangement, and the second fixing frame supports and holds the top portions of the cells (US’853, [0039]-[0040], [0059]-[0063]);
multiple support structures disposed between the multiple battery cells, wherein a bottom periphery support is formed in a pillar shape by three curved surfaces between three adjacent bottom insert holes such that the three insert holes, and thus the three cells received therein, share one bottom periphery support (US’853, [0041]-[0044]);
three-branched support structures associated with three adjacent cells, wherein a bottom support extends into three branches between three adjacent bottom insert holes, and a corresponding top support is positioned at the center of three adjacent top insert holes and extends into three branches (US’853, [0048]-[0049], [0064]-[0065]); and
a potting-type thermally conductive adhesive compound disposed within spaces and openings between the multiple battery cells, wherein perforation holes are formed between the cell bottom holders, the thermally conductive adhesive solution is introduced upwardly through the perforation holes, and the solution fills the empty spaces between the bottom periphery supports and contacts the outer circumferences of the cylindrical battery cells (US’853, [0042], [0045]-[0047], [0052]-[0055]). US’853 further discloses that the thermally conductive adhesive compound may be an epoxy resin or silicone resin and that the cooling tray accommodates the adhesive compound, fixing frames, and cylindrical battery cells (US’853, [0053]-[0054], [0068]-[0069]).
However, US’853 does not expressly disclose that each of its three-cell, three-branched support structures is a spacer extending from a bottom portion of the battery chassis to a top portion of the battery chassis. Rather, US’853 separately describes bottom periphery supports and bottom supports associated with the first fixing frame and top supports associated with the second fixing frame. US’853 also does not expressly characterize its adhesive-filled spaces as openings formed between the cells by full-height spacers.
US’722 discloses a battery mounting structure having multiple batteries sandwiched between a first substrate and an opposing second substrate and multiple spacers 364 positioned within the structure containing the batteries and substrates (US’722, [0053]-[0055]). Each spacer extends between the opposing substrates because the spacer is received in a spacer well of one substrate and may be fastened at one end through the lower substrate and at its opposite end through the upper substrate (US’722, [0054], [0063]). US’722 further discloses that any number of spacers may be positioned at interior or peripheral locations of the substrates and expressly states that the spacers provide added crush strength and that fastening the spacers to the opposing substrates provides a clamping force that holds the substrates more securely against the batteries (US’722, [0054]-[0055], [0063]).
EP’731 discloses a battery pack having multiple cylindrical batteries disposed in rows and columns within battery holders, wherein the battery holders include insertion sections separated by dividing walls that hold the batteries in fixed positions (EP’731, Pgs. 3-5). EP’731 further discloses filling the spaces between the batteries and the battery-holder insertion sections with potting resin to improve thermal coupling between the batteries and the holder (EP’731, Pgs. 3, 6-7). In particular, EP’731 discloses flow gaps and lengthwise filling grooves that permit the potting resin to flow into and fill the spaces between the batteries and the insertion sections without vacancies, and also discloses that the batteries may be completely embedded in the potting resin (EP’731, Pgs. 6-7). EP’731 identifies urethane resin, epoxy resin, and silicone resin as suitable potting resins (EP’731, Pg. 9).
US’853, US’722, and EP’731 are analogous arts because each reference concerns a battery pack or battery module containing multiple battery cells and structural components for positioning, retaining, and mechanically supporting those cells. The references also address related thermal-management and structural-stability concerns: US’853 fixes and cools vertically arranged cells with fixing frames and thermally conductive adhesive (US’853, [0047], [0053], [0067]); US’722 provides spacers between opposed substrates to increase crush strength and clamping force in a multiple-battery structure (US’722, [0054]); and EP’731 uses battery-holder walls and potting resin to hold cells and improve thermal coupling while filling spaces without vacancies (EP’731, Pgs. 3, 6-7).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the three-cell, three-branched support arrangement of US’853 so that multiple such support structures extend between the first and second fixing frames, as taught by US’722, while disposing the potting resin of EP’731 within the openings and spaces formed between the cells by those support structures. US’722 expressly teaches that spacers extending between opposed substrates provide added crush strength and a clamping force, thereby furthering US’853’s stated objective of structurally stabilizing the battery cells against external impact (US’722, [0054]; US’853, [0067]). Retaining US’853’s three-branched support geometry would maintain its disclosed dense triangular cell arrangement and shared support of three adjacent cells (US’853, [0044], [0049], [0065]). Further, EP’731 expressly teaches filling the spaces between batteries and battery-holder structures with potting resin to improve thermal coupling and fill those spaces without vacancies (EP’731, Pgs. 3, 6-7). The resulting battery pack would therefore include multiple tri-spoke spacers disposed between the battery cells and extending from the bottom portion to the top portion of the battery chassis, with potting compound disposed within the openings formed between the cells by the spacers, as recited in claim 1.
As to Claim 2:
US’853 in view of US’722 and EP’731 discloses the battery pack of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
US’853 further discloses openings associated with the battery chassis and formed between the multiple battery cells, wherein the first fixing frame includes perforation holes extending in a vertical direction between the cell bottom holders, and the bottom insert holes pass through the plate-shaped surface of the first fixing frame in the vertical direction (US’853, [0040]-[0041], [0045]). US’853 also discloses a second fixing frame having top insert holes extending in the vertical direction and corresponding to the bottom insert holes of the first fixing frame, with the first and second fixing frames coupled together and the battery cells interposed therebetween (US’853, [0059]-[0063]).
US’853 further discloses disposing the thermally conductive adhesive compound within the openings and spaces between the battery cells, wherein the adhesive compound is introduced from a lower portion of the first fixing frame, passes upwardly through the perforation holes, fills the empty spaces between the supports, and may be filled to a location higher than the bottom periphery supports (US’853, [0042], [0045]-[0047]). The adhesive compound is introduced from the lower portion toward the upper portion of the fixing frame to improve cell cooling and fixation and contacts the outer circumferences of the cylindrical battery cells (US’853, [0052]-[0055]). The cooling tray may also be filled with the adhesive compound to a preset height and accommodates the fixing frames and battery cells (US’853, [0068]-[0069]).
However, US’853 does not expressly disclose that each adhesive-containing opening formed between the cells extends continuously from the top surface of the assembled battery chassis to its bottom surface. US’853 also does not expressly require the adhesive compound to contact the entire exterior surface of every battery cell, because US’853 describes contact with the cells’ outer circumferences and filling the cooling tray to a preset height.
US’722 discloses batteries extending between and sandwiched by opposing upper and lower substrates, with full-height spacers extending between the opposing substrates (US’722, [0053]-[0055], [0063]). Accordingly, the spaces between the batteries and the intervening spacers extend between the upper and lower substrates. US’722 further discloses adding potting compound or other thermally conductive material to touch each battery and an adjacent cooling tube (US’722, [0096], [0103]).
EP’731 discloses a battery holder having insertion sections separated by dividing walls, with both ends of the insertion sections open and the electrode terminals of the inserted batteries exposed at the open ends (EP’731, Pg. 5). EP’731 further discloses a pair of opposed holder units receiving opposite ends of each battery, with flow gaps between the holder units that permit potting resin to pass into and fill the spaces between the batteries and the insertion sections without vacancies (EP’731, Pgs. 6-7). The insertion sections additionally include filling grooves extending in the lengthwise direction of the batteries to permit potting resin to flow throughout the spaces between the batteries and the holder (EP’731, Pg. 7). EP’731 expressly discloses that all the batteries may be completely embedded in the potting resin, thereby placing the potting resin in contact with the entire exterior surface of each battery (EP’731, Pg. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the openings and spaces of the battery chassis of US’853 to extend between the upper and lower portions of the chassis, as supported by the opposed-substrate and full-height-spacer arrangement of US’722, and to completely fill those openings with the potting resin of EP’731 so that the potting resin contacts the entire exterior surface of each battery cell. US’853 teaches that lower-to-upper adhesive flow improves cooling and cell fixation, while EP’731 teaches that lengthwise flow passages and complete embedding improve thermal coupling and permit the spaces surrounding the batteries to be filled without vacancies (US’853, [0052]-[0055]; EP’731, Pgs. 6-7).
As to Claim 5:
US’853, as modified by US’722 and EP’731, discloses the battery pack of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1;
US’853 further discloses that the multiple spacers include ribs that extend in the vertical orientation. In particular, bottom-periphery supports 213 extend along the vertical direction and define curved surfaces having curvatures corresponding to the outer circumferences of the cylindrical battery cells. The bottom peripheries of the cells are supported by, and therefore contact, the supports 213 (US’853, [0041]-[0042]); and
US’853 discloses that at least one such rib is positioned to contact and separate three battery cells from one another. Specifically, a support 213 is formed in a pillar shape having three curved surfaces positioned between three adjacent bottom-insert holes 211, such that the three bottom-insert holes—and thus the three cells received in those holes—share the same pillar-shaped support (US’853, [0042], [0044]). This pillar contacts the respective bottom peripheries of the three cells and maintains separation between the cells.
However, US’853 does not expressly disclose that the three-cell-contacting pillar or rib itself extends continuously from the bottom portion to the top portion of the battery chassis, as required by claim 1 from which claim 5 depends.
US’722 discloses spacers 364 extending between opposing substrates 112 and 320 that sandwich and retain the battery cells. Each spacer 364 is received in a spacer well of the lower substrate and is secured at its respective ends from below the lower substrate and from above the upper substrate. US’722 further teaches that such spacers may be positioned within the interior of the battery-cell array and that the spacers add crush strength and provide clamping force between the opposing substrates (US’722, [0053]-[0055], [0063]).
EP’731 additionally discloses a battery holder having dividing walls 22 that define and separate respective battery-insertion sections 21. The battery cells contact the dividing walls and are thereby held at fixed positions in a thermally coupled relationship. EP’731 further discloses filling the spaces between the battery cells and the insertion sections with potting resin (EP’731, Pgs. 5-7).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the three-cell-contacting vertical pillar or rib of US’853 so that it extends between the lower and upper portions of the chassis, as taught by US’722, while retaining US’853’s three-curved-surface configuration and EP’731’s potted dividing-wall arrangement. US’722 expressly teaches that a spacer spanning the opposing substrates adds crush strength and provides clamping force, US’853 teaches that the shared three-cell pillar increases cell-holder density, and EP’731 teaches that dividing walls and potting resin hold the cells in fixed, thermally coupled positions (US’853, [0044]; US’722, [0054], [0063]; EP’731, Pgs. 5-7).
As to Claim 6:
US’853, as modified by US’722 and EP’731, discloses the battery pack of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1;
US’853 further discloses multiple spacer-like bottom-periphery supports 213 positioned between groups of battery cells. In particular, each support 213 may have a pillar shape formed by three curved surfaces between three adjacent bottom-insert holes 211, such that the three holes and corresponding battery cells share the support 213 (US’853, [0041]-[0044]); and
US’722 discloses multiple spacers 364 that may be positioned at different areas of a battery pack, including at the periphery and within the interior of the battery-cell array. The spacers extend between opposing substrates that retain the cells and provide crush strength and clamping force (US’722, [0053]-[0055], [0063]).
However, US’853 does not expressly disclose a first spacer having a first width within a first area of the battery pack and a second spacer having a greater second width within a second area of the battery pack. US’722 similarly does not expressly disclose that its spacers have different widths based on their positions within the battery pack.
EP’731 discloses a battery holder having dividing walls 22 that function as spacers between adjacent battery cells and expressly teaches varying the widths of those dividing walls according to their locations within the battery pack. Specifically, the dividing walls are thinner in peripheral regions and thicker in center regions. EP’731 provides exemplary wall thicknesses that progressively increase from
t
1
=
1.5
mm near the periphery to
t
2
=
2.0
mm,
t
3
=
2.5
mm, and
t
4
=
3.0
mm toward the center. Thus, EP’731 discloses a first spacer having a first width between cells within a first, peripheral area and a second spacer having a greater second width between other cells within a second, center area (EP’731, Pg. 5).
EP’731 further explains that the thicker dividing walls in the center regions have greater heat capacity and absorb more heat from the center-region cells, thereby reducing the temperature rise of those cells and reducing temperature differences between cells in the center and peripheral regions (EP’731, Pgs. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to vary the widths of the spacers in the combined battery pack of US’853 and US’722 according to their locations, as taught by EP’731, by providing a first spacer having a first width in a peripheral area and a second spacer having a greater width in a center area, because EP’731 expressly teaches that increasing spacer width toward the center increases heat capacity, reduces the temperature rise of the center cells, and reduces temperature differences among the cells (EP’731, Pgs. 5-6).
As to Claim 21:
US’853 discloses a battery pack comprising at least one battery module 10 and a pack case for accommodating the battery module (US’853, [0071]);
US’853 discloses a chassis comprising a first fixing frame 200, a cooling tray 500, and a tray cover 600 (US’853, [0035], [0039]-[0040], [0055]);
US’853 discloses multiple battery cells 100 arranged in a concentrated arrangement and standing vertically on the first fixing frame 200 (US’853, [0035]-[0039]);
US’853 discloses multiple support structures disposed between the battery cells. Specifically, bottom-periphery supports 213 are formed in pillar shapes between adjacent bottom-insert holes 211, with each support having three curved surfaces shared by three corresponding battery cells. The supports and bottom-insert holes are repeatedly formed across the first fixing frame (US’853, [0041]-[0044]); and
US’853 discloses openings between the battery cells formed by the discontinuously arranged supports 213. The openings allow a thermally conductive adhesive solution 300 to diffuse between and contact the battery cells. The adhesive solution fills the empty spaces between the supports, may comprise an epoxy or silicone resin, fixes the cells and first fixing frame together, and contacts the outer circumferences of the cells (US’853, [0042], [0045]-[0047], [0053]-[0055]).
However, US’853 does not expressly disclose that its pillar-shaped supports 213 are discrete spacers extending continuously from a bottom portion of the chassis to a top portion of the chassis. US’853 also characterizes material 300 as a thermally conductive adhesive solution rather than expressly identifying it as a “potting compound.”
US’722 discloses multiple discrete metal or plastic spacers 364 provided separately from opposing substrates 112 and 320. The substrates sandwich the battery cells, and the spacers extend between the opposing substrates and are secured at their respective ends by fasteners inserted from below the lower substrate and above the upper substrate. The spacers may be positioned at the periphery or within the interior of the cell-supporting substrates, and any number of spacers may be used (US’722, [0053]-[0055], [0063]). Thus, when applied to the vertically oriented cell arrangement of US’853, the interior spacers of US’722 would extend vertically from the bottom chassis portion to the top chassis portion among and between the battery cells. US’722 further teaches that the spanning spacers add crush strength and provide clamping force between the opposing substrates (US’722, [0054]).
US’722 also expressly discloses adding potting compound or other thermally conductive material so that the material touches each battery and an adjacent heat-transfer tube (US’722, [0095]-[0096]).
EP’731 further discloses a battery pack having multiple battery cells retained in insertion sections defined by dividing walls 22. The battery blocks are embedded in potting resin 7, and the potting resin fills the spaces between the battery cells and the holder insertion sections. EP’731 also provides flow gaps 24 that allow the potting resin to flow into those spaces and fill them without vacancies (EP’731, Pgs. 4-7). Accordingly, EP’731 expressly teaches disposing a potting compound within the intercell openings of a cell-holding chassis.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cell-supporting chassis of US’853 to include the discrete spacers of US’722 extending between the bottom and top chassis portions and to fill the resulting intercell openings with the potting compound taught by US’722 and EP’731, because US’722 teaches that the spanning spacers add crush strength and provide clamping force, while EP’731 teaches that potting resin fills the spaces around the cells without vacancies and thermally couples the cells to the battery holder and case (US’722, [0054], [0063], [0095]-[0096]; EP’731, Pgs. 5-7).
As to Claim 22:
US’853, as modified by US’722 and EP’731, discloses the battery pack of claim 21 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 21; and
US’853 discloses that the multiple spacers have a tri-spoke shape. Specifically, the battery cells are received in bottom-insert holes 211 arranged so that the centers of three adjacent holes define an equilateral triangle. A bottom-periphery support 213 is positioned between the three adjacent holes and is formed as a common pillar having three curved cell-supporting surfaces, such that the three holes and their corresponding battery cells share the same pillar (US’853, [0041]-[0044]). Thus, the common pillar has three separately directed cell-supporting portions arranged around a common central portion, corresponding to the claimed tri-spoke shape.
US’853 further discloses that three bottom-periphery supports 213 and three perforation holes 220 may be arranged alternately around each battery-cell opening. This arrangement provides the three-directional support configuration while leaving openings through which the thermally conductive adhesive solution can flow between the cells (US’853, [0045]-[0047]).
However, although US’853 discloses the claimed tri-spoke geometry, US’853 does not expressly disclose that each tri-spoke support is a discrete spacer extending continuously from the bottom portion to the top portion of the chassis, as required by claim 21 from which claim 22 depends.
US’722 discloses multiple discrete metal or plastic spacers 364 extending between opposing substrates 112 and 320 that sandwich the battery cells. The spacers are separately inserted into spacer wells and secured at both ends by fasteners inserted from below the lower substrate and above the upper substrate. The spacers may be provided within the interior of the battery-cell array, and any number of such spacers may be used (US’722, [0053]-[0055], [0063]). US’722 further teaches that these spanning spacers add crush strength and provide clamping force between the opposed substrates (US’722, [0054]).
EP’731 discloses a battery holder having insertion sections separated by cell-contacting dividing walls and teaches filling the spaces between the cells and the holder with potting resin. Flow gaps permit the potting resin to flow between the cell-holding structures and fill the spaces without vacancies (EP’731, Pgs. 5-7). EP’731 therefore supports using the modified discrete spacer arrangement within the potted battery-pack structure of claim 21.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the discrete, full-height spacers of US’722 with the three-cell, tri-spoke geometry taught by US’853 in the potted battery-pack arrangement taught by EP’731, because US’853 expressly teaches that its three-cell shared-pillar configuration increases cell-holder density, US’722 teaches that spanning spacers add crush strength and clamping force, and EP’731 teaches filling the resulting spaces with potting resin without vacancies (US’853, [0043]-[0044]; US’722, [0054], [0063]; EP’731, Pgs. 5-7).
As to Claim 23:
US’853 discloses a battery pack comprising at least one battery module 10 and a pack case accommodating the battery module (US’853, [0071]);
US’853 discloses multiple cylindrical battery cells 100 (US’853, [0035]-[0038]);
US’853 discloses a battery chassis comprising a first fixing frame 200, a second fixing frame 400, a cooling tray 500, and a tray cover 600. The first fixing frame supports the bottoms of the cells, while the second fixing frame supports the tops of the cells and is vertically coupled to the first fixing frame with the cells interposed between the two frames (US’853, [0035], [0039]-[0040], [0057]-[0063], [0068]-[0069]);
US’853 discloses that the battery chassis is configured to hold the multiple battery cells in a vertical orientation proximate to one another. In particular, the cylindrical cells stand vertically in a concentrated arrangement on the first fixing frame and are retained between corresponding cell-bottom holders 210 and cell-top holders 410 (US’853, [0039]-[0041], [0059]-[0063], [0067]);
US’853 discloses multiple pillar-shaped support structures 213 disposed between the battery cells. Each support 213 may be formed between three adjacent bottom-insert holes 211 as a shared pillar having three curved cell-supporting surfaces (US’853, [0041]-[0044]); and
US’853 discloses openings formed between the battery cells by the discontinuously arranged supports 213. A thermally conductive adhesive solution 300 flows through perforation holes 220 and into the empty spaces between the supports and battery cells. The material may comprise an epoxy or silicone resin and contacts the outer circumferences of the cells (US’853, [0042], [0045]-[0047], [0053]-[0055]).
However, US’853 does not expressly disclose that its pillar-shaped supports are discrete spacers extending continuously from the bottom portion to the top portion of the chassis. US’853 also does not expressly characterize its thermally conductive adhesive solution as a “potting compound” or expressly disclose that the battery pack is for an electric bicycle.
US’722 discloses multiple discrete metal or plastic spacers 364 extending between opposing substrates 112 and 320 that sandwich the battery cells. The spacers are separately inserted into spacer wells and secured at their respective ends by fasteners inserted from below the lower substrate and above the upper substrate. Any number of spacers may be positioned within the interior of the battery-cell array (US’722, [0053]-[0055], [0063]). When incorporated into the vertically oriented battery arrangement of US’853, these interior spacers would extend vertically from the bottom chassis portion to the top chassis portion between the battery cells. US’722 explains that the spanning spacers add crush strength and provide clamping force between the opposing substrates (US’722, [0054]).
US’722 additionally discloses adding potting compound or another thermally conductive material so that the material contacts each battery and an adjacent heat-transfer tube (US’722, [0095]-[0096]).
EP’731 discloses a battery pack expressly configured for installation on an electric motor-bike to power the motor that drives the bike. EP’731 further identifies a bicycle with electrical assist as a suitable application for the disclosed battery pack (EP’731, Pg. 4).
EP’731 also discloses multiple battery cells retained in insertion sections defined by dividing walls 22. The battery blocks may be embedded in potting resin 7, and the potting resin fills the spaces between the battery cells and the holder insertion sections. Flow gaps 24 allow the potting resin to flow into those spaces and fill them without vacancies (EP’731, Pgs. 4-7). Thus, EP’731 expressly teaches disposing a potting compound within openings formed around and between the battery cells by the cell-separating structures.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the vertically oriented battery pack of US’853 to include the discrete, full-height spacers of US’722, fill the resulting intercell openings with the potting compound taught by US’722 and EP’731, and employ the resulting battery pack in an electric bicycle as expressly taught by EP’731, because US’722 teaches that the spanning spacers provide crush strength and clamping force, while EP’731 teaches that potting resin fills the cell-holder spaces without vacancies and that the resulting battery pack is suitable for an electrically assisted bicycle (US’722, [0054], [0063], [0095]-[0096]; EP’731, Pgs. 4-7).
Claims 3, 20, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0194853 A1 (“US’853”) in view of US 2014/0178722 A1 (“US’722”) and EP 2290731 A1 (“EP’731”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2019/161292 A1 (“WO’292”).
As to Claim 3:
US’853, as modified by US’722 and EP’731, discloses the battery pack of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1;
US’853 discloses a thermally conductive adhesive solution 300 disposed around and between the battery cells. The material fixes the battery cells and the first fixing frame together and transfers heat from the cells to the cooling tray (US’853, [0042], [0047], [0053], [0055]); and
US’853 discloses that the thermally conductive adhesive solution may comprise an epoxy resin or silicone resin and is not limited to those particular resin materials (US’853, [0054]).
However, US’853 does not expressly disclose that the potting compound is a urethane-based potting compound.
EP’731 discloses a battery pack in which battery blocks and individual battery cells are embedded in potting resin 7. EP’731 expressly teaches that the potting resin may be a urethane resin, epoxy resin, or silicone resin introduced in an unhardened viscous-fluid state to embed the batteries and battery holders. The potting resin closely contacts the battery case without vacancies and provides thermal coupling between the potted components and the battery case (EP’731, Pg. 9). Accordingly, EP’731 expressly identifies urethane resin as a suitable potting compound for a multi-cell battery pack.
WO’292 further discloses a battery module having an electric cell positioned in a polyurethane foam potting compound. The polyurethane potting composition is applied as a liquid, flows around the electric cells and through spaces between adjacent cells, and then cures to form the potting compound (WO’292, Pg. 3). WO’292 explains that the polyurethane potting compound provides mechanical stability and flame retardancy and may have a low density that reduces the weight of the battery module (WO’292, Pgs. 2-3).
US’853, US’722, EP’731, and WO’292 are analogous art because each reference concerns a battery module or battery pack containing multiple electric cells and the use of an adhesive, thermally conductive material, or potting compound around the cells for fixation, structural support, or thermal management (US’853, [0002], [0047], [0053]-[0055]; US’722, [0095]-[0096]; EP’731, Pgs. 6-9; WO’292, Pgs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use a urethane-based potting compound in the combined battery pack of US’853, US’722, and EP’731, as further taught by WO’292, because EP’731 expressly identifies urethane resin as a suitable battery-pack potting resin providing close contact and thermal coupling, while WO’292 teaches that polyurethane potting material flows between adjacent cells and provides mechanical stability, flame retardancy, and reduced weight (EP’731, Pg. 9; WO’292, Pgs. 2-3).
As to Claim 20:
US’853, as modified by US’722 and EP’731, discloses the battery pack of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1;
US’853 discloses that the battery chassis includes multiple radiused portions. Specifically, the first fixing frame 200 includes multiple bottom-periphery supports 213, each defining a curved surface having a curvature corresponding to the outer circumference of a cylindrical battery cell. The radiused supports are repeatedly formed across the first fixing frame and are positioned adjacent to the bottom peripheries of the cells (US’853, [0041]-[0044]);
US’853 discloses that the radiused supports are configured to facilitate the flow of resin around the lower portions of the battery cells. The supports 213 are discontinuously arranged, thereby forming empty spaces that allow the thermally conductive adhesive solution 300 to diffuse easily and increase its contact area with the outer circumferences of the cells (US’853, [0042]); and
US’853 discloses introducing the adhesive solution upwardly through perforation holes 220 so that the solution fills the empty spaces between the radiused supports. A gap G between the lower surfaces of the cells and the cooling tray 500 is filled with the adhesive solution, and US’853 expressly states that this gap allows the solution to be introduced more smoothly from the lower portion of the frame (US’853, [0045]-[0047], [0051]-[0052]).
However, US’853 does not expressly identify the cell terminals positioned proximate to the radiused bottom-periphery supports as negative terminals. US’853 also refers to material 300 as a thermally conductive adhesive solution rather than expressly identifying it as a potting compound.
US’722 discloses adding a potting compound or other thermally conductive material so that the material contacts the batteries and adjacent heat-transfer structures (US’722, [0095]-[0096]).
EP’731 discloses structural features configured to facilitate potting-resin flow through a battery chassis. In particular, flow gaps 24 pass potting resin between opposing holder units, tapered insertion sections introduce the resin more smoothly around the cell end regions, and filling grooves 25 allow the resin to flow lengthwise between the battery cells and holder surfaces without vacancies (EP’731, Pgs. 6-7).
WO’292 discloses cylindrical battery cells having a bottom terminal that may be either a positive terminal or a negative terminal depending on the desired cell orientation. WO’292 further discloses that this bottom terminal is positioned in the potting compound contained within the battery case (WO’292, Pg. 10). WO’292 also teaches flowing the liquid potting composition through gaps between adjacent cells and between the cells and the battery case before the composition cures (WO’292, Pg. 12). Moreover, the potting compound may be positioned around the cell terminals and between the cell tops and the battery case (WO’292, Pg. 14).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to orient the battery cells of US’853 so that their negative terminals are positioned adjacent to the radiused bottom-periphery supports, as expressly permitted by WO’292, and to flow the potting compound through the spaces created by those radiused supports, because US’853 teaches that the discontinuous curved supports and lower gap facilitate resin diffusion, EP’731 teaches using shaped holder features to provide smooth, vacancy-free potting flow, and WO’292 teaches positioning a negative bottom terminal in the potting compound (US’853, [0041]-[0042], [0047], [0051]-[0052]; EP’731, Pgs. 6-7; WO’292, Pgs. 10-12).
As to Claim 24:
US’853, as modified by US’722 and EP’731, discloses the battery pack of claim 23 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 23;
US’853 discloses that the battery chassis includes multiple radiused portions. Specifically, the first fixing frame 200 includes cell-bottom holders 210 positioned at predetermined locations, and each holder includes a bottom-periphery support 213 defining a curved surface having a curvature corresponding to the outer circumference of the respective cylindrical battery cell (US’853, [0039]-[0041]);
US’853 discloses that the radiused surfaces provide a datum for each battery cell because the cells are inserted into respective bottom-insert holes 211 at predetermined positions, and the curved surfaces contact and support the bottom peripheries of the cells to locate and retain the cells relative to the first fixing frame (US’853, [0040]-[0042]). The bottom-periphery supports and bottom-insert holes are repeatedly formed across the frame in a predetermined pattern, thereby providing the radiused locating surfaces for the multiple cells (US’853, [0043]-[0044]); and
US’853 discloses that the radiused supports facilitate resin flow around the lower portions of the cells. The supports are discontinuously arranged to form empty spaces that permit the thermally conductive adhesive solution 300 to diffuse easily around the battery cells. The solution flows upwardly through perforation holes 220 and fills the empty spaces and the gap between the lower surfaces of the cells and the cooling tray 500 (US’853, [0042], [0045]-[0047], [0051]-[0052]).
However, US’853 does not expressly characterize the curved cell-locating surfaces as “radii that provide a datum,” does not expressly identify the cell terminals adjacent to those radiused surfaces as negative terminals, and refers to material 300 as a thermally conductive adhesive solution rather than expressly identifying it as a potting compound.
US’722 discloses multiple mounts 110 positioned in a substrate for locating and holding respective battery ends. Each mount may be a well shaped to hold the end of a battery. The wells include discrete contact points or deformable fins that contact and hold each battery in place so that the battery does not wobble or fall over (US’722, [0047]-[0051]). US’722 therefore confirms the use of predetermined chassis surfaces at each cell end as locating datums for the cells.
EP’731 discloses insertion sections 21 having circular cylindrical surfaces conforming to the battery-cell surfaces and holding the cells at fixed positions (EP’731, Pg. 5). EP’731 further teaches tapering the insertion-section surfaces toward the battery end regions so that the end diameters are approximately equal to the outside diameters of the cells. The cell ends contact these surfaces and are thereby accurately retained at fixed positions, while the tapered surfaces introduce potting resin more smoothly around the cell end regions. Filling grooves 25 additionally direct the potting resin along the cells and fill the spaces between the cells and holder surfaces without vacancies (EP’731, Pgs. 6-7). Thus, EP’731 teaches chassis surfaces that both locate the cells and facilitate potting flow around the cell ends.
WO’292 discloses that the bottom of a cylindrical battery cell may be its negative terminal, depending on the selected cell orientation, and that this bottom terminal is positioned in the potting compound contained within the battery case (WO’292, Pg. 10). WO’292 further discloses flowing liquid potting composition through gaps between adjacent cells and between the cells and the battery case before curing (WO’292, Pg. 12), as well as positioning the potting compound around the cell terminals and between the cell ends and battery case (WO’292, Pg. 14).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to orient the cells in the combined battery pack of US’853, US’722, and EP’731 so that their negative terminals are adjacent to US’853’s radiused locating surfaces, as taught by WO’292, and to configure those surfaces to facilitate potting flow around the negative terminals, because US’853 teaches that its curved supports locate the cells and create spaces for resin diffusion, EP’731 teaches that conforming, tapered locating surfaces promote smooth, vacancy-free potting flow, and WO’292 expressly teaches positioning a negative bottom terminal in potting compound (US’853, [0040]-[0042], [0047], [0051]-[0052]; EP’731, Pgs. 5-7; WO’292, Pgs. 10-12).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0194853 A1 (“US’853”) in view of US 2014/0178722 A1 (“US’722”) and EP 2290731 A1 (“EP’731”), and further in view of US 2017/0194616 A1 (“US’616”).
As to Claim 4:
US’853, as modified by US’722 and EP’731, discloses the battery pack of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1;
US’853 discloses that the battery chassis includes a top surface provided by second fixing frame 400. The second fixing frame includes top-insert holes 411 corresponding to the battery cells, with the upper surfaces and terminals of the cells exposed through the holes (US’853, [0059]-[0063]);
US’853 further discloses that the top supports 430 expose most of the upper surface of each cell through the corresponding top-insert hole 411 so that an electrical connecting part, such as a bus bar, may be readily mounted to the exposed upper surfaces of the cells (US’853, [0064]-[0066]); and
US’722 similarly discloses openings in cell-retaining substrates that permit electrical connection to the battery terminals. Conductive plates 340 and 350 extend over the substrates, and conductive brackets project through the openings to contact the corresponding battery terminals (US’722, [0056]-[0062]). EP’731 likewise discloses insertion sections having open ends that expose the cell terminals and lead plates positioned outside the openings and connected to those terminals (EP’731, Pgs. 5, 7).
However, US’853 does not expressly disclose that the terminals exposed through the top surface are negative terminals. US’853 also does not expressly disclose a stamped bus bar having a cell-contact portion at a first height and a bridge portion spanning the cells at a higher second height.
US’616 discloses a battery pack having a bus bar comprising a metal sheet positioned on a top or bottom plane of the battery pack and extending across multiple battery cells (US’616, [0007]-[0009], [0032]). US’616 expressly teaches manufacturing the bus bar by stamping or punching circular cutouts with respective center tabs into the metal sheet (US’616, [0015], [0034]).
US’616 further discloses thinning and bending each center tab toward the corresponding battery terminal. Each bent tab includes an angled section that extends from the plane of the bus bar to a mating surface contacting the battery terminal (US’616, [0035]-[0038]). Accordingly, the mating surface of each center tab constitutes a cell-contact portion at a first, lower height, while the surrounding portions of the metal sheet extending between the cutouts and across the cells constitute a bridge portion at a second height higher than the cell-contact portion.
US’616 also discloses a series of cutouts and tabs across the bus bar, with each tab making springable contact with the negative terminal of a corresponding battery cell (US’616, [0039]). US’616 permits the orientations of the cells to be varied and discloses bus bars positioned on both the top and bottom planes of the battery pack (US’616, [0009], [0031]-[0032]). Thus, US’616 teaches orienting the cells so that their negative terminals face a selected bus-bar plane and connecting those negative terminals with the stamped, stepped bus bar.
US’616 further teaches integrating the bus bar with the molded battery-pack structure by placing the bus bar and cells in an injection mold and injecting molded material around the cells and associated components. The bus bar may thereby be secured to the battery pack by the molded insert (US’616, [0022], [0041]-[0042]).
US’853, US’722, EP’731, and US’616 are analogous art because each reference concerns a multi-cell battery pack or module and addresses retaining the battery cells and electrically connecting their terminals through a bus bar, conductive plate, or lead plate (US’853, [0035]-[0039], [0060]-[0067]; US’722, [0053]-[0062]; EP’731, Pgs. 5, 7; US’616, [0022]-[0023], [0032]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the top surface of the combined battery pack of US’853, US’722, and EP’731 with the stamped bus bar of US’616, orient the negative terminals toward that bus bar, and use the bent tabs as lower cell-contact portions while the surrounding sheet forms higher bridge portions, because US’616 teaches that its integrated spring-contact bus bar eliminates individual solder connections, maintains contact with the cell terminals, and assists in uniformly positioning the cells (US’616, [0022], [0033]-[0040]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0194853 A1 (“US’853”) in view of US 2014/0178722 A1 (“US’722”) and EP 2290731 A1 (“EP’731”), and further in view of US 2019/0259982 A1 (“US’982”).
As to Claim 20:
US’853, as modified by US’722 and EP’731, discloses the battery pack of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1;
US’853 discloses that the battery chassis includes multiple radiused portions. Specifically, first fixing frame 200 includes multiple bottom-periphery supports 213, each defining a curved surface having a curvature corresponding to the outer circumference of a cylindrical battery cell. The radiused supports are repeatedly formed across the first fixing frame and positioned adjacent to the bottom peripheries of the cells (US’853, [0040]-[0044]);
US’853 discloses that the radiused supports are configured to facilitate the flow of resin around the lower portions of the cells. The supports 213 are discontinuously arranged, thereby forming empty spaces that allow the thermally conductive adhesive solution 300 to diffuse easily and increase its contact area with the outer circumferences of the cells (US’853, [0041]-[0042]); and
US’853 discloses introducing the adhesive solution upward through perforation holes 220 so that the solution fills the empty spaces between the radiused supports. A gap G between the lower surfaces of the cells and cooling tray 500 is filled with the adhesive solution, and US’853 expressly states that the gap allows the solution to be introduced more smoothly from the lower portion of the frame (US’853, [0045]-[0047], [0051]-[0052]).
However, US’853 does not expressly identify the cell terminals positioned proximate to the radiused bottom-periphery supports as negative terminals. US’853 also refers to material 300 as a thermally conductive adhesive solution rather than expressly identifying it as a potting compound.
US’722 discloses adding a potting compound or other thermally conductive material so that the material contacts the battery cells and adjacent heat-transfer structures (US’722, [0095]-[0096]).
EP’731 discloses structural features configured to facilitate potting-resin flow through a battery chassis. In particular, flow gaps 24 pass potting resin between opposing holder units, tapered insertion sections introduce the potting resin more smoothly around the battery-cell end regions, and filling grooves 25 allow the potting resin to flow lengthwise between the battery cells and holder surfaces without vacancies (EP’731, Pgs. 6-7).
US’982 discloses a cylindrical battery cell having a bottom terminal that may be either a positive terminal or a negative terminal depending on the desired orientation. US’982 further discloses positioning that bottom terminal in the potting compound contained within the battery case (US’982, [0058]-[0060]).
US’982 further discloses multiple cells having similarly charged terminals oriented in the same direction and positioned in close proximity within a battery case (US’982, [0062]-[0064]). A liquid potting composition is flowed around the cells, through gaps between adjacent cells, and through gaps between the cells and the battery case before curing (US’982, [0066], [0069]-[0072]). US’982 additionally teaches positioning the potting compound around the cell terminals and between the cell ends and the battery case (US’982, [0084]-[0085]).
US’853, US’722, EP’731, and US’982 are analogous art because each reference concerns a battery module or battery pack containing multiple battery cells and addresses the placement or flow of an adhesive, thermally conductive material, or potting compound around the cells for fixation, structural protection, or thermal management (US’853, [0041]-[0055]; US’722, [0095]-[0096]; EP’731, Pgs. 6-9; US’982, [0058]-[0072], [0084]-[0085]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to orient the battery cells of US’853 so that their negative terminals are positioned adjacent to the radiused bottom-periphery supports, as expressly permitted by US’982, and to flow the potting compound through the spaces created by those radiused supports, because US’853 teaches that the discontinuous curved supports and lower gap facilitate resin diffusion, EP’731 teaches using shaped holder features to provide smooth, vacancy-free potting flow, and US’982 teaches positioning a negative bottom terminal in potting compound and flowing the compound between the cell ends and the battery case (US’853, [0041]-[0042], [0047], [0051]-[0052]; EP’731, Pgs. 6-7; US’982, [0060], [0069]-[0072], [0084]-[0085]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 20-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combinations of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723