DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Tei does not teach “within a range from the position where the wire is connected to the first terminal electrode to the connection point, the wire includes a portion that projects toward the first flange portion” as recited in claim 1. Applicant argues that the claim requires the projecting portion extends toward the first flange portion 12 in a range from the position where the wire is connected to the first terminal electrode to the connection point. In other words, the projection direction in the present invention extends from the bottom to the top plate. However, applicant states that the projecting portion 11a1 of Tei extends in the opposite direction from the direction that is recited as in claim 1. That is, the projecting portion 11a1 extends inward, not outward as in the present invention.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive, respectfully. The claim merely requires there is a projecting portion extending toward the flange in a range from where the wire is connected to the terminal electrode and the connection point. The claim does not require the projection portion extends/projects toward the top plate. Applicant’s allegation that the projecting portion 11a1 projecting inwardly or in the opposite direction of the present invention is arbitrary. The examiner interprets that the end 11a of the wire 11 projects/extends toward the flange 5 from the winding core portion 4. In other words, the examiner considers the projecting/extending direction is upward in the dotted arrow direction as shown in annotated FIG. 1 below.
Accordingly, the examiner maintains Tei teaches “within a range from the position where the wire is connected to the first terminal electrode to the connection point, the wire includes a portion that projects toward the first flange portion” as recited in claim 1.
However, if the claim limitations reflect that the projection is toward the top plate and that the tip/top of the projection is closer to the top plate than the tip/top surface of the center part 30C of the wire 30, such features may overcome Tei.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tei (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0237234 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Tei teaches a coil component 1 (FIGs. 1-5) comprising:
a core 2 including a winding core portion 4 having a center axis (dotted axis, annotated FIG. 4), a first flange portion 6 connected to a first end (left end as seen in FIG. 4), in a direction along the center axis, of the winding core portion and projecting outwardly (projecting perpendicular to the center axis) from a peripheral surface (end surface) of the winding core portion in a radial direction (the width W direction or the height H direction) centered on the center axis, and a second flange portion 6 connected to a second end of the winding core portion, the second end (right end as seen in FIG. 4) being on an opposite side from the first end, and projecting outwardly (projecting perpendicular to the center axis) from the peripheral surface of the winding core portion in the radial direction centered on the center axis;
a wire 3a having a portion that extends helically along the peripheral surface of the winding core portion with the center axis as an axis of helix;
a first terminal electrode 10a connected to a first end 11a of the wire and on a surface (mounting surface) of the first flange portion;
a second terminal electrode 11b connected to a second end 11b of the wire and on a surface (mounting surface) of the second flange portion; and
a top plate13 that is longer than the winding core portion in a direction along the center axis and that is attached to the first flange portion and the second flange portion,
wherein
when an axis perpendicular to the center axis is referred to as a perpendicular axis, one direction (y axis direction) among two directions (+ and – y axis directions) along the perpendicular axis is referred to as a positive direction (y axis direction), and a direction opposite to the positive direction (-y direction) is referred to as a negative direction,
the top plate is attached to an end of the first flange portion on the positive direction and to an end of the second flange portion on the positive direction, and
the first terminal electrode is located on an end of the first flange portion on the negative direction,
when a first wire range (one complete turn from end 11a) is defined as a region of the wire from a position where the wire is connected to the first terminal electrode to a position at which the wire is wound through one turn around the center axis,
the wire includes a connection point (point where adhesive 14 bond the wire to the flange) that is located within the first wire range and connects the wire and the top plate by way of an adhesive 14, and
the wire is separated from the peripheral surface of the winding core portion at the connection point,
within a range from the position where the wire is connected to the first terminal electrode to the connection point, the wire includes a portion 11a1 (annotated FIG. 1) that projects toward the first flange portion (paras. [0028], [0031] and [0032]).
With respect to claim 2, Tei teaches the coil component according to Claim 1, wherein
the adhesive adheres the top plate to the first flange portion and the second flange portion, and
the adhesive is on a surface of the top plate that faces the first flange portion and a surface of the top plate that faces the second flange portion out of a surface of the top plate (paras. [0043]).
With respect to claims 4 and 7, Tei teaches the coil component according to Claims 1 and 2, respectively, wherein
when a no-contact range is defined as a range in which the wire is separated from the peripheral surface of the winding core portion within the first wire range,
when viewed from a direction along the center axis, an angle corresponding to the no-contact range is 180 degrees or higher, wherein the angle is formed between a straight line passing through the center axis and a first end of the no-contact range in a direction of extension of the wire, and a straight line passing through the center axis and a second end of the no-contact range opposite to the first end in the direction of extension of the wire (para. [0061]).
With respect to claims 5 and 12, Tei teaches the coil component according to Claims 1 and 4, respectively, wherein
the second terminal electrode is located on an end of the second flange portion on the negative direction, and
when a second wire range (one complete turn from second end) is defined as a region of the wire from a position where the wire is connected to the second terminal electrode to a position at which the wire is wound through one turn around the center axis, and
the connection point is referred to as a first connection point,
the wire includes a second connection point (point where adhesive 14 bond the wire to the flange) that is located within the second wire range and connects the wire and the top plate by way of the adhesive, and
the wire is separated from the peripheral surface of the winding core portion at the second connection point (paras. [0031] and [0032]).
With respect to claims 10 and 14, Tei teaches the coil component according to Claims 2 and 7, respectively, wherein
the second terminal electrode is located on an end (lower end) of the second flange portion on the negative direction, and
when a second wire range (one complete turn from end 11b) is defined as a region of the wire from a position where the wire is connected to the second terminal electrode to a position at which the wire is wound through one turn around the center axis, and
the connection point is referred to as a first connection point,
the wire includes a second connection point (point where adhesive 14 bond the wire to the flange) that is located within the second wire range and connects the wire and the top plate by way of the adhesive, and
the wire is separated from the peripheral surface of the winding core portion at the second connection point (paras. [0031] and [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tei, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Uchida et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2017/0330672 A1).
With respect to claims 3 and 6, Tei teaches the coil component according to claims 1 and 2, respectively. Tei does not expressly teach
when a core dimension is defined as a dimension from an end of the winding core portion on the positive direction along the perpendicular axis to an end of the first flange portion on the negative direction along the perpendicular axis, and
a diameter of the wire is referred to as a wire diameter,
the wire diameter is from 5% to 20% of the core dimension.
Uchida et al., hereinafter referred to as “Uchida,” teaches a coil component 20 (FIG. 2), wherein
when a core dimension Cd (annotated FIG. 2) is defined as a dimension from an end (e.g. left end) of the winding core portion 33 on the positive direction along the perpendicular axis Td to an end (lower end) of the first flange portion on the negative direction along the perpendicular axis, and
a diameter of the wire 55 is referred to as a wire diameter,
the wire diameter is from 5% to 20% of the core dimension (paras. [0047], and [0052]). When T is about 0.3 mm, t is about 0.125 mm, the wire diameter would be about 9% of the core dimension.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the wire diameter percentage with respect to the core dimension as taught by Uchida to the coil component of Tei to reduce size while suppressing decrease in the production yield (para. [0009]).
With respect to claim 8, Tei in view of Uchida teaches the coil component according to claim 3, wherein
when a no-contact range is defined as a range in which the wire is separated from the peripheral surface of the winding core portion within the first wire range,
when viewed from a direction along the center axis, an angle corresponding to the no-contact range is 180 degrees or higher, wherein the angle is formed between a straight line passing through the center axis and a first end of the no-contact range in a direction of extension of the wire, and a straight line passing through the center axis and a second end of the no-contact range opposite to the first end in the direction of extension of the wire (Tei, para. [0061]).
With respect to claim 9, Tei in view of Uchida teaches the coil component according to Claim 6, wherein
when a no-contact range is defined as a range in which the wire is separated from the peripheral surface of the winding core portion within the first wire range,
when viewed from a direction along the center axis, an angle corresponding to the no-contact range is 180 degrees or higher, wherein the angle is formed between a straight line passing through the center axis and a first end of the no-contact range in a direction of extension of the wire, and a straight line passing through the center axis and a second end of the no-contact range opposite to the first end in the direction of extension of the wire (Tei, para. [0061]).
With respect to claims 11, and 15, Tei in view of Uchida teaches the coil component according to claims 3, and 8, respectively, wherein
the second terminal electrode is located on an end of the second flange portion on the negative direction, and
when a second wire range (one complete turn from second end) is defined as a region of the wire from a position where the wire is connected to the second terminal electrode to a position at which the wire is wound through one turn around the center axis, and
the connection point is referred to as a first connection point,
the wire includes a second connection point (point where adhesive 14 bond the wire to the flange) that is located within the second wire range and connects the wire and the top plate by way of the adhesive, and
the wire is separated from the peripheral surface of the winding core portion at the second connection point (Tei, paras. [0031] and [0032]).
With respect to claims 13 and 16, Tei in view of Uchida teaches the coil component according to Claims 6 and 9, respectively, wherein
the second terminal electrode is located on an end of the second flange portion on the negative direction, and
when a second wire range (one complete turn from second end) is defined as a region of the wire from a position where the wire is connected to the second terminal electrode to a position at which the wire is wound through one turn around the center axis, and
the connection point is referred to as a first connection point,
the wire includes a second connection point (point where adhesive 14 bond the wire to the flange) that is located within the second wire range and connects the wire and the top plate by way of the adhesive, and
the wire is separated from the peripheral surface of the winding core portion at the second connection point (Tei, paras. [0031] and [0032]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837