DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection overcomes Applicant’s arguments because the combination of Ganesan and Kalhan teaches the claimed assistance-triggered SCI framework as a whole. Ganesan expressly discloses that first-stage SCI carries control signaling including a 2nd SCI format indication (¶0084) and reservation of resources (¶0081), and further discloses that another UE transmits in resources reserved and signaled in SCI (¶0069), thereby establishing SCI-based reservation and responsive UE transmission. Ganesan also teaches that 2nd SCI/PSSCH transmissions are directed to a subset defined by destination group ID and related criteria (¶0088, ¶0120), satisfying the subset-identification aspect. Kalhan supplies the explicit assistance-request behavior, teaching that a sidelink control indication requests assistance and triggers other UEs to transmit responsive control information. When combined—as would have been obvious in the NR sidelink context—the references collectively teach (i) an SCI assistance request field, (ii) identification of a subset of UEs, and (iii) a causal relationship where the request causes that subset to transmit SCI in reserved resources. Accordingly, the alleged deficiencies identified by Applicant are addressed by the combined teachings, and the §103 rejection remains proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,8,10-12,15-16,19-20,25-30,33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al. (US 20230361955 A1) in view of Kalhan (US 20250317931 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ganesan et al. teaches a baseband processor, comprising: a memory interface; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory interface and configured to: output, for transmission, a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) message including a first stage sidelink control information (SCI) (Paragraph 72, 81, 120, These passages teach outputting for transmission a PSCCH message including first stage SCI), wherein the first stage SCI includes: a first indication that includes:
(i) a SCI assistance request (Paragraph 83–84, teaches that 1st SCI carries control indications governing subsequent sidelink behavior),
(ii) a format of a second stage SCI (Paragraph 84, This passage explicitly teaches that 1st SCI includes an indication of the 2nd SCI format), and
(iii) one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 69, 81, These passages teach that SCI signals reserved resources and that another UE transmits in those reserved resources); and
output, for transmission, a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) message comprising the second stage SCI (Paragraph 88, 120, These passages teach transmission of 2nd SCI together with PSSCH), wherein one or more assisting UEs decode the second stage SCI according to the format of the second stage SCI (Paragraph 82, 84, These passages teach that 2nd SCI format is indicated and used for reception/decoding by receiving UEs), and wherein the second stage SCI includes: a second indication specifying, according to a criteria, a subset of the one or more assisting UEs (Paragraph 88, 120, These passages teach that 2nd SCI/PSSCH targets a subset identified via destination group ID and feedback criteria), wherein the SCI assistance request triggers the subset of the one or more assisting UEs to transmit the first stage SCI according to the one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 69, 81, teaches SCI signaling of reserved resources and UE transmission within those reserved resources).
Ganesan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the criteria includes one or more of a cell identifier (ID) or a range between a UE of the baseband processor and the subset of the one or more assisting UEs.
However, Kalhan teaches wherein the criteria includes one or more of a cell identifier (ID) or a range between a UE of the baseband processor and the subset of the one or more assisting UEs (Paragraph 28, 34, The inclusion of cell ID in the SCI and use of distance/range-based thresholds as criteria teaches selection criteria including cell identifier and range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the criteria includes one or more of a cell identifier (ID) or a range between a UE of the baseband processor and the subset of the one or more assisting UEs as taught by Kalhan in the system of Ganesan et al., so that it would enable more efficient and context-aware identification and triggering of appropriate assisting UEs for sidelink communications by leveraging location- and cell-based filtering to reduce unnecessary signaling overhead and improve resource utilization.
Regarding claim 2, Ganesan et al. teaches configure the first indication by setting a second stage SCI format field in the first stage SCI to a reserved value to indicate the SCI assistance request and the format of the second stage SCI (Paragraph 84, These portions teach setting a field within the first-stage SCI (SCI 1-A) to a reserved value that jointly indicates both the second-stage SCI format and an additional signaling type (cast type), thus configuring the first indication through a reserved-state encoding that conveys the SCI assistance request and the format of the second-stage SCI).
Regarding claim 8, Ganesan et al. teaches the second indication includes a communication range threshold for a channel quality of the subset of the one or more assisting UEs, and the second indication indicates that the subset of the one or more assisting UEs are to transmit the first stage SCI when the subset of the one or more assisting UEs have a communication range less than or equal to the communication range threshold (Paragraph 112-114, These passages teach that a UE applies a configured communication-quality threshold (e.g., L1-RSRP or distance threshold) to determine when sidelink quality or range falls below a threshold, corresponding to the claim’s communication-range threshold condition, and thereby causes assisting UEs within or below that range to transmit control signaling (analogous to the first stage SCI)).
Regarding claim 10, Ganesan et al. teaches the first stage SCI further indicates one or more scheduling parameters, and the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive an updated one or more scheduling parameters for the one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 61, 63, 82, The 1st SCI signaling of a TCI state conveys scheduling parameters such as beams and resources, while later control signaling or 2nd SCI provides updated configuration details for the reserved resources, thereby teaching both initial indication and subsequent updating of scheduling parameters).
Regarding claim 11, Ganesan et al. teaches a baseband processor, comprising: a memory interface; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory interface and configured to:
receive a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) message comprising a first stage sidelink control information (SCI) (Paragraph 72, 94, 119, These passages teach reception of PSCCH and first sidelink control information), wherein the first stage SCI includes:
a first indication that includes:
(i) a SCI assistance request (Paragraph 83–84, teaches that 1st SCI carries control indications governing subsequent sidelink behavior),
(ii) a format of a second stage SCI (Paragraph 84, This passage explicitly teaches that 1st SCI includes an indication of the 2nd SCI format), and
(iii) one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 69, 81, These passages teach that SCI signals reserved resources and that another UE transmits in those reserved resources);
Ganesan et al. does not explicitly teach receive a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) message comprising the second stage SCI;decode the second stage SCI according to the format of the second stage SCI, wherein the second stage SCI includes a second indication specifying, a criteria, wherein the criteria includes one or more of a cell identifier (ID) or a range between a user equipment (UE) of the baseband processor and a UE that transmitted the first stage SCI and the second stage SCI (Tx UE); and in response to the SCI assistance request and in response to satisfying the criteria, output, for transmission, the first stage SCI to one or more other UEs, according to the one or more reserved resources.
However, Kalhan teaches receive a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) message comprising the second stage SCI (Paragraph 13, 29, 32, 36, These passages teach receiving a PSSCH message that includes the second stage SCI because the forwarded signal carrying SCI (including the 2nd stage) is received and the 2nd stage is explicitly transmitted on PSSCH); decode the second stage SCI according to the format of the second stage SCI, wherein the second stage SCI includes a second indication specifying, a criteria, wherein the criteria includes one or more of a cell identifier (ID) or a range between a user equipment (UE) of the baseband processor and a UE that transmitted the first stage SCI and the second stage SCI (Tx UE) (Paragraph 13, 28, 34, 36, These passages teach decoding the second stage SCI and that it includes indicators such as a cell ID and criteria related to distance/range used in operation); and in response to the SCI assistance request and in response to satisfying the criteria, output, for transmission, the first stage SCI to one or more other UEs, according to the one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 26, 27, 29-30, 32-33, These passages teach transmitting (outputting) the first stage SCI to other UEs when criteria are satisfied, where the forwarding decision acts as the request/trigger and the transmission uses reserved resources indicated in SCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) message comprising the second stage SCI;decode the second stage SCI according to the format of the second stage SCI, wherein the second stage SCI includes a second indication specifying, a criteria, wherein the criteria includes one or more of a cell identifier (ID) or a range between a user equipment (UE) of the baseband processor and a UE that transmitted the first stage SCI and the second stage SCI (Tx UE); and in response to the SCI assistance request and in response to satisfying the criteria, output, for transmission, the first stage SCI to one or more other UEs, according to the one or more reserved resources as taught by Kalhan in the system of Ganesan et al., so that it would enable efficient and criteria-based sidelink cooperation and resource utilization by leveraging Ganesan’s structured SCI framework with Kalhan’s conditional forwarding and decoding mechanisms to improve reliability and coordination among UEs.
Regarding claim 12, Ganesan et al. teaches the first stage SCI indicates the one or more reserved resources including one or more scheduling parameters, the processing circuitry further configured to: perform channel interference measurements; determine an updated one or more scheduling parameters that are different from the one or more scheduling parameters, according to the channel interference measurements; and output, for transmission, a message comprising the updated one or more scheduling parameters (Paragraph 67, 81, 113, 115, teaches that the first SCI signals reserved resources and parameters (e.g., beam or spatial filter), performs interference measurements like SINR/RSRP, updates beam or scheduling parameters based on those measurements, and transmits a message reporting the updated parameters for recovery or reselection).
Regarding claim 15, Ganesan et al. teaches configured to: output, for transmission, the second stage SCI according to the first indication wherein transmission of the first stage SCI and second stage SCI indicates the SCI assistance request identified in the first indication (Paragraph 82, 84, 129, 148, these passages describe that the device transmits the second stage SCI based on configuration information (e.g., beam, format, cast type) indicated in the first SCI, and that both SCI transmissions jointly signal coordination information corresponding to an assistance or control request identified in the first indication).
Regarding claim 16, Ganesan et al. teaches the range between the UE of the baseband processor and the Tx UE is identified as a communication range threshold comprised in the second indication, wherein the communication range threshold is related to a channel quality between the UE of the baseband processor and a Tx UE (Paragraph 112, 114, The passages disclose that a threshold related to both measured signal power and TX-RX distance defines whether communication remains viable, corresponding to a “communication range threshold” linked to channel quality between the UEs), wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: perform communication range measurements (Paragraph 114, This describes the UE performing periodic beam and signal-quality measurements, corresponding to performing communication range measurements); based on the communication range measurements, determine that the UE of the baseband processor satisfies the communication range threshold (Paragraph 114, The UE determines whether its measured quality and distance meet or exceed the configured threshold, thereby determining satisfaction of the communication-range criterion); and output, for transmission, the first stage SCI to the one or more other UEs in response to satisfying the communication range threshold (Paragraph 81, This shows that the UE outputs (transmits) the first-stage SCI to other UEs once conditions for communication (e.g., threshold satisfaction) are met).
Regarding claim 19, Ganesan et al. teaches a method for a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: transmitting a first stage sidelink control information (SCI) (Paragraph 72, 81, 120, These passages teach transmitting a first stage SCI), wherein the first stage SCI includes:
a first indication that includes:
(i) a SCI assistance request (Paragraph 83–84, teaches that 1st SCI carries control indications governing subsequent sidelink behavior),
(ii) a format of a second stage SCI (Paragraph 84, This passage explicitly teaches that 1st SCI includes an indication of the 2nd SCI format), and
(iii) one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 69, 81, These passages teach that SCI signals reserved resources and that another UE transmits in those reserved resources); and
transmitting the second stage SCI (Paragraph 63, 86, 88, 91, These passages expressly describe definition and transmission of a 2nd SCI and its transmission in broadcast, groupcast, and unicast modes)
Ganesan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein one or more assisting UEs decode the second stage SCI according to the format of the second stage SCI, and wherein the second stage SCI includes: a second indication specifying, according to a criteria, a subset of the one or more assisting UEs, wherein the SCI assistance request triggers the subset of the one or more assisting UEs to transmit the first stage SCI according to the one or more reserved resources, wherein the criteria includes one or more of a cell identifier (ID) or a range between the UE and the subset of the one or more assisting UEs.
However, Kalhan teaches wherein one or more assisting UEs decode the second stage SCI according to the format of the second stage SCI (Paragraph 13, 32, 36, This teaches that receiving UEs decode the second stage SCI based on its defined structure and included control information), and wherein the second stage SCI includes: a second indication specifying, according to a criteria, a subset of the one or more assisting UEs (Paragraph 27, 28, 34, This teaches the second stage SCI including an identifier (cell ID) and operation based on criteria), wherein the SCI assistance request triggers the subset of the one or more assisting UEs to transmit the first stage SCI according to the one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 27, 30, 33, This teaches that criteria-triggered behavior causes UEs to transmit SCI (including first stage indication) tied to reserved resources), wherein the criteria includes one or more of a cell identifier (ID) or a range between the UE and the subset of the one or more assisting UEs (Paragraph 27, 28, 34, This teaches criteria including both a cell identifier and a range/distance between UEs used for determining participation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein one or more assisting UEs decode the second stage SCI according to the format of the second stage SCI, and wherein the second stage SCI includes: a second indication specifying, according to a criteria, a subset of the one or more assisting UEs, wherein the SCI assistance request triggers the subset of the one or more assisting UEs to transmit the first stage SCI according to the one or more reserved resources, wherein the criteria includes one or more of a cell identifier (ID) or a range between the UE and the subset of the one or more assisting UEs as taught by Kalhan in the system of Ganesan et al., so that it would enable more efficient and targeted sidelink resource utilization and coordination among assisting UEs by ensuring that only appropriately selected UEs respond to SCI assistance requests based on defined criteria.
Regarding claim 20, Ganesan et al. teaches the first indication is configured by a reserved value in the first stage SCI (Paragraph 84, This teaches that the first indication (which jointly includes the 2nd SCI format and cast type) is defined using a reserved state value in the first stage SCI (SCI 1-A)).
Regarding claim 25, Ganesan et al. teaches configured to: output, for transmission, an acknowledgement (ACK) in response to receiving the updated one or more scheduling parameters (Paragraph 102, The passage teaches the UE outputting an ACK message after receiving updated feedback parameters from PSFCH occasions, corresponding to receiving updated scheduling parameters and transmitting an ACK in response), wherein the ACK;
(i) indicates to the subset of the one or more assisting UEs that the one or more reserved resources are updated to an updated one or more reserved resources according to the updated one or more scheduling parameters (Paragraph 97-98, These passages show the ACK (HARQ-ACK) being configured per subset of UEs or beams, thereby signaling that certain resources are updated or reallocated according to updated scheduling parameters), and
(ii) triggers the subset of the one or more assisting UEs to transmit the first stage SCI according to the updated one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 88, The passage shows that receiving an ACK triggers the subset of UEs (identified by group ID) to perform subsequent transmission actions, such as transmitting control information according to updated reserved resources).
Regarding claim 26, Ganesan et al. teaches configured to: output, for transmission, a negative acknowledgement (NACK) in response to receiving the updated one or more scheduling parameters, wherein the NACK indicates to the subset of the one or more assisting UEs that the one or more reserved resources were not updated according to the updated one or more scheduling parameters, and triggers the subset of the one or more assisting UEs to transmit the first stage SCI according to the one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 99, 100, 103, 105, The passages describe transmitting NACKs that inform specific UEs within a group (subset) that certain resources remain unchanged, prompting those UEs to retransmit using their existing reserved sidelink resources).
Regarding claim 27, Ganesan et al. teaches configured to: output, for transmission, a negative acknowledgement (NACK) in response to receiving the updated one or more scheduling parameters (Paragraph 99-100, These passages describe a UE outputting and using NACK feedback messages after receiving updated scheduling information (i.e., per-beam resource configuration updates), thereby teaching outputting a NACK in response to receiving such updated scheduling parameters); and output, for transmission, a new one or more reserved resources, wherein the NACK triggers the subset of the one or more assisting UEs to transmit the first stage SCI according to the new one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 99-100, These passages describe that upon receiving NACK feedback, the UE transmits new resources (e.g., reconfigured beams or panels) for retransmission, which effectively triggers a subset of UEs (those on specific beams) to transmit again according to those newly allocated reserved resources).
Regarding claim 28, Ganesan et al. teaches the SCI assistance request triggers the subset of the one or more assisting UEs to transmit the first stage SCI and the second stage SCI (Paragraph 82, 83, 148, The first SCI signaling (including TCI state and cast type) causes a subset of UEs to respond and transmit both first and second SCI within assigned beams or resources).
Regarding claim 29, Ganesan et al. teaches the SCI assistance request triggers the subset of the one or more assisting UEs to transmit the SCI assistance request, wherein the SCI assistance request triggers another UE other than the subset of the one or more assisting UEs to transmit the first stage SCI according to the one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 81, 88, These passages show the 1st SCI acting as an assistance request that causes both a subset of assisting UEs and other neighboring UEs to transmit first stage SCI messages using indicated reserved resources).
Regarding claim 30, Ganesan et al. teaches configured to: receive an acknowledgment (ACK) in response to sending the updated one or more scheduling parameters, wherein the ACK indicates that the one or more reserved resources are updated to an updated one or more reserved resources according to the updated one or more scheduling parameters; and output, for transmission, the first stage SCI according to the updated one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 82, 88, These passages together teach receiving an ACK indicating updated beam or resource configurations and subsequently transmitting the first stage SCI based on those updated reserved resources).
Regarding claim 31, Ganesan et al. teaches configured to: receive a negative acknowledgement (NACK) in response to sending the updated one or more scheduling parameters, wherein the NACK indicates that the one or more reserved resources are not updated according to the updated one or more scheduling parameters; and output, for transmission, the first stage SCI according to the one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 81, 100, 104, teaches that a UE receives NACK feedback indicating resource update failure and then transmits the first stage SCI to inform other UEs of reserved resources, thereby performing retransmission and control signaling according to the reserved resources).
Regarding claim 32, Ganesan et al. teaches configured to: receive a negative acknowledgement (NACK) in response to sending the updated one or more scheduling parameters; and receiving a new one or more reserved resources; and output, for transmission, the first stage SCI according to the new one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 81, 99, 115, Together, these passages describe the UE receiving NACK feedback, obtaining new or reallocated resources from the network, and transmitting a first stage SCI that reflects those updated reserved resources).
Regarding claim 33, Ganesan et al. teaches the first stage SCI further indicates one or more scheduling parameters, and the method further comprises: receiving an updated one or more scheduling parameters for the one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 129, 135-136, The first SCI indicates beam and filter configurations functioning as scheduling parameters, and when beam failure occurs, updated beam or configuration information is received, corresponding to receiving updated scheduling parameters for the reserved resources).
Regarding claim 34, Ganesan et al. teaches comprising: transmitting an acknowledgement (ACK) in response to receiving the updated one or more scheduling parameters, wherein the ACK indicates to the subset of the one or more assisting UEs that the one or more reserved resources are updated to an updated one or more reserved resources according to the updated one or more scheduling parameters, and wherein the ACK triggers the subset of the one or more assisting UEs to transmit the first stage SCI according to the updated one or more reserved resources (Paragraph 100, 106, 108, Together these teach that a UE transmits ACK/NACK feedback on specific resources and beams to subsets of UEs, where the ACK conveys updated scheduling and resource information that triggers those UEs to perform subsequent transmissions according to the updated resources).
Regarding claim 35, Ganesan et al. teaches a at least one of the one or more assisting UEs is pre-configured as an assisting UE, and wherein the SCI assistance request triggers the assisting UE to broadcast the first stage SCI after receiving the PSCCH message and before receiving the PSSCH message comprising the second stage SCI (Paragraph 64, 81, 82, 87, These passages teach that sidelink UEs may be configured or preconfigured via common signaling to participate in sidelink control procedures, including reception and broadcast of 1st SCI, and that 1st SCI is broadcast to neighboring UEs and functionally precedes and enables reception of 2nd SCI and PSSCH).
Regarding claim 36, Ganesan et al. teaches the second indication further indicates that the subset of the one or more assisting UEs are not required to signal a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) or acknowledgement (ACK) feedback message (Paragraph 83, 84, 88, These passages teach that the SCI (including 2nd-stage SCI format and cast type indicator) signals whether transmission is broadcast, groupcast, or unicast, and since HARQ-ACK feedback is described only for groupcast (88), the indicated cast type identifies subsets of UEs (e.g., broadcast or specific cast modes) for which HARQ/ACK feedback is not required).
Allowable Subject Matter
Beyond the currently claimed concepts of including an assistance request, reserved resources, and criteria based on cell ID or range, the applicant could strengthen the claim by incorporating more specific mechanisms disclosed in the specification, such as configuring the SCI assistance request by reusing reserved bit-fields in the first stage SCI (e.g., setting reserved bits to non-zero values, mapping an MCS to a reserved MCS table row, or mapping to unused code points), and explicitly tying the assistance indication to specific SCI formats (such as SCI format 1-A, 2-A, or 2-B) or to reserved format field values that autonomously trigger assisting behavior. The claim could further reflect that assisting UEs are selected based on a communication range threshold derived from measured channel quality metrics (e.g., RSRP, SINR, path loss), including explicit logic where UEs inside or outside the threshold are designated as assisting UEs, and optionally that assisting UEs are not required to transmit HARQ or ACK feedback when rebroadcasting the SCI. Additional novel aspects that could be incorporated include configuring reserved time/frequency resources via a bitmap or signal-quality-based selection, allowing assisting UEs to use a remaining subset of reserved resources based on latency constraints, enabling assisting UEs to perform channel interference measurements and transmit updated scheduling parameters to the transmitting UE, and providing for an ACK/NACK or updated resource response from the transmitting UE in view of those updates. The applicant could also add concepts relating to sequential or conditional rebroadcast timing (e.g., broadcasting first stage SCI before receipt of second stage SCI), transmission of both first and second stage SCI by assisting UEs when indicated, generation of an additional cascading assistance request by assisting UEs, and scheduling of subsequent unicast PSCCH/PSSCH transmissions after reserved resources are utilized to avoid collision. Including these more detailed control mechanisms, feedback loops, and format-specific signaling behaviors would better capture the reliability-enhancing and latency-reducing improvements emphasized in the specification rather than merely reciting high-level assistance and subset-selection concepts already reflected in the current claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hahn et al. (US 20250125911 A1)
Hong et al. (US 20240430974 A1)
Hu et al. (US 20240306021 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464