DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
This office action is in response to submission of application on 20-APRIL-2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 13-APRIL-2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 20-APRIL-2026 in response to the previous office action mailed 18-DECEMBER-2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
With regards to the non-final office action’s rejection under 103, the amendment to the claims have overcome the original rejection. However, upon a new search for the amended limitations, a new 103 rejection over Murugesan in view of Federspiel further in view of previously presented art Anthony, further in view of new art Park has been written.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner interprets the equation in claim 10 to be equivalent to the following for the purposes of examination:
The system of claim 1 wherein the neural network comprises a recurrent neural network, wherein the outputs of the neural network comprise:
A mean value of the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample
A variance of the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample
A selection value associated with the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample
A hidden state vector at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample
And furthermore, wherein the inputs of the neural network comprise:
A mean value of the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t for the ith sample
A hidden state vector at timestamp t for the ith sample
One or more learnable parameters for the recurrent neural network.
The examiner believes that no specific operation is denoted in the equation of claim 10, and that the equation intended to describe a functional relationship between inputs and outputs of the neural network, as indicated by the RNN being used as a function.
Furthermore, this same interpretation would apply to claim 19 as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murugesan et al. (Pub. No. US 20210056386 A1, filed August 23rd 2019, hereinafter Murugesan) in view of Federspiel et al. (Pub. No. US 20210073636 A1, filed September 8th 2020, hereinafter Federspiel), further in view of Anthony et al. (Pub. No. US 20200241545 A1, filed January 30th 2020, hereinafter Anthony) further in view of Park et al. (Pub. No. KR 20220010419 A, published May 17th 2021, hereinafter Park.)
Although Park was published after the filing date of provisional application #63/171,862, the specific limitation of the present application that is disclosed by Park is not present in the provisional filing and is unique to the present application. Therefore, Park is prior art for the amended limitation it is used to disclose below.
Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 recites:
A computer-implemented system for training a neural network for probabilistic forecasting, the system comprising: at least one processor; memory in communication with the at least one processor; instructions stored in the memory, which when executed at the at least one processor causes the system to: maintain a data set representing a neural network having a plurality of weights; receive input data comprising a plurality of time series data sets; generate, using the neural network and based on the input data, a probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t and a selection value associated with the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t, where the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction and the selection value are outputs of the neural network; compute a loss function based on the selection value, wherein when the selection value at timestamp t is lower than a threshold value, the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t is excluded from the loss function computation; and update at least one of the plurality of weights of the neural network based on the loss function, wherein the update is performed by selectively backpropagating loss function values through the neural network such that, for any timestamp for which the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction is excluded from the loss function computation, the excluded probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at that timestamp does not contribute a gradient to the update of the plurality of weights.
Murugesan discloses receive input data comprising a plurality of time series data sets
Murugesan teaches a forecast selection system that receives a prediction data set, wherein the prediction data set consists of values that are associated with a time-step (Paragraph 174). Data associated with a time step is time series data.
Murugesan discloses generate, using the neural network and based on the input data, a probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t and a selection value associated with the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t:
Murugesan teaches that the forecast prediction system predicts an expected energy output for one or more time-steps into the future (Paragraph 176). The first time-step predicted would be the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t. Furthermore, the forecast selection system may also identify a value of an indicator associated with the accuracy of data at each time-step (Paragraph 156). This would be a selection value as it describes the accuracy of the selection.
Murugesan discloses compute a loss function based on the selection value, wherein when the selection value at timestamp t is lower than a threshold value, the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t is excluded from the loss function computation; and update at least one of the plurality of weights of the neural network based on the loss function:
Murugesan teaches that an inference model that compares the generated probabilities with the actual values of probability and adjusts its weights based on differences in the two sets of data (Paragraph 138). This describes the process of computing a loss function, which is an identification of differences between predicted and actual results, wherein the weights are updated based on it.
Furthermore, before the computation of the loss function, Murugesan teaches that in order to determine time-steps associated with inaccurate data, the forecast selection system will determine if any of a particular set of values associated with time-step is below an associated threshold (Paragraph 151). This value would be a selection value as it is used to select valid entries. Invalid entries are not considered in the prediction model (Paragraph 170), and therefore that time-stamp’s probabilistic forecast distribution prediction would be excluded from the loss function computation.
Murugesan does not disclose maintain a data set representing a neural network having a plurality of weights. Instead Federspiel in the same field of endeavor of machine learning discloses this limitation:
Federspiel teaches that the a computer system may train a machine learning model such as a neural network (Paragraph 31) and furthermore that these function may be implemented as software code that may be stored as instructions (Paragraph 62). Therefore the neural network with a plurality of weights would be maintained as data.
Murugesan, Federspiel, and the present application are all analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor of machine learning.
Neither Murugesan nor Federspiel discloses where the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction and the selection value are outputs of the neural network. Instead, this limitation is disclosed by Anthony in the same field of machine learning:
Anthony teaches determining a threshold within the output distribution of a machine learning model (Paragraph 108), making the threshold an output of the machine learning model, for example a neural network. Since the selection value is a type of threshold, this would be compatible with previous teachings of the specific selection value as disclosed by Murugesan above. Likewise, the output of a distribution in the system of Anthony would provide a means of combination for the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction as likewise disclosed by Murugesan to produce the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction and the selection value as the output of a neural network.
None of Murugesan or Federspiel or Anthony disclose wherein the update is performed by selectively backpropagating loss function values through the neural network such that, for any timestamp for which the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction is excluded from the loss function computation, the excluded probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at that timestamp does not contribute a gradient to the update of the plurality of weights. Instead, this limitation is taught by Park in the same field of machine learning:
Park recites: “According to the comparison result, the operation module 210 may perform the backpropagation operation only on lower-level input data whose prediction reliability value is equal to or greater than the prediction reliability threshold value among the lower-level input data. In other words, the operation module 210 may omit the backpropagation operation with respect to the lower input data whose prediction reliability value is less than the prediction reliability threshold value among the lower input data.”
Park therein teaches the selective backpropagation of specific values, such that data with values that falls below a threshold i.e. is excluded from the loss function computation does not contribute a gradient to the update of the plurality of weights as the backpropagation operation is not applied to those values. The timestamps of the probabilistic forecast distribution predictions of Murugesan may act in combination as these values in order to apply Park’s teachings to Murugesan’s particular data.
Park and the present application are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to implement a system that utilized the teachings of Murugesan, the teachings of Federspiel, the teachings of Anthony, and the teachings of Park. This would have provided the advantage of a way to disseminate the system for widespread use (Federspiel, Paragraph 63), as well as the advantage of capturing uncertainty in the prediction (Anthony, Paragraph 84), and finally the advantage of reducing learning time (Park, “reduce the learning time and learning energy consumption, it is effective to reduce the amount of computation required for learning itself”).
Regarding claim 2, which depends upon claim 1:
Claim 2 recites:
The system of claim 1, wherein the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t comprises a mean and a variance of the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction.
Murugesan in view of Federspiel further in view of Anthony further in view of Park teaches the system of claim 1 upon which claim 2 depends. However, neither Murugesan or Federspiel teach the limitation of claim 2:
Anthony teaches a model that may include as outputs a mean likelihood that an individual may act in a particular way, but also the variance of the result (Paragraph 84). This would comprise a mean and a variance of the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to implement a system that utilized the teachings of Murugesan, the teachings of Federspiel, the teachings of Anthony, and the teachings of Park. This would have provided the advantage of a way to disseminate the system for widespread use (Federspiel, Paragraph 63), as well as the advantage of capturing uncertainty in the prediction (Anthony, Paragraph 84), and finally the advantage of reducing learning time (Park, “reduce the learning time and learning energy consumption, it is effective to reduce the amount of computation required for learning itself”).
Regarding claim 3, which depends upon claim 1:
Claim 3 recites:
The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions when executed at the at least one processor causes the system to: when the selection value is higher than or equal to a threshold value, store the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t as a valid prediction.
Murugesan in view of Federspiel further in view of Anthony further in view of Park teaches the system of claim 1 upon which claim 3 depends. Furthermore, regarding the limitation of claim 3:
Murugesan teaches the use of indicators of accuracy of data at each time-step, wherein if the indicator indicates that the data is accurate, the prediction value for the time-step is kept (Paragraph 156). The indicator would be the selection value wherein the indicator’s indication of accuracy is the threshold value as it prompts the system to keep the prediction as valid.
Regarding claim 4, which depends upon claim 3:
Claim 4 recites:
The system of claim 3, wherein the instructions when executed at the at least one processor causes the system to: process the stored probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t to generate a predicted electricity consumption report.
Murugesan in view of Federspiel further in view of Anthony further in view of Park teaches the system of claim 3 upon which claim 4 depends. Furthermore, regarding the limitation of claim 4:
Murugesan teaches that the forecast selection system provides expected energy outputs to users in a graphical interface (Paragraph 147). An expected energy output being displayed would be a predicted electricity consumption report.
Regarding claim 5, which depends upon claim 3:
Claim 5 recites:
The system of claim 3, wherein the instructions when executed at the at least one processor causes the system to: process the stored probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t to generate a future financial forecasting statement.
Murugesan in view of Federspiel further in view of Anthony further in view of Park teaches the system of claim 3 upon which claim 5 depends. However, Murugesan does not disclose the limitation of claim 5. Instead, this limitation is disclosed by Federspiel:
Federspiel teaches displaying changes to the cost, for example modifications to the cost over time (Paragraph 41). This would be an example of a future financial forecasting statement as the forecasts the financial impact over time in a user-readable manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to implement a system that utilized the teachings of Murugesan, the teachings of Federspiel, the teachings of Anthony, and the teachings of Park. This would have provided the advantage of a way to disseminate the system for widespread use (Federspiel, Paragraph 63), as well as the advantage of capturing uncertainty in the prediction (Anthony, Paragraph 84), and finally the advantage of reducing learning time (Park, “reduce the learning time and learning energy consumption, it is effective to reduce the amount of computation required for learning itself”).
Regarding claim 6, which depends upon claim 1:
Claim 6 recites:
The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions when executed at the at least one processor causes the system to: when the selection value is lower than a threshold value, reject the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t.
Murugesan in view of Federspiel further in view of Anthony further in view of Park teaches the system of claim 1 upon which claim 6 depends. Furthermore, regarding the limitation of claim 6:
Murugesan teaches replacing a data with an indicator of inaccuracy with a predetermined value (Paragraph 156). The indicator of inaccuracy would be a selection value lower than a threshold value and the replacement of the data would be a rejection.
Regarding claim 7, which depends upon claim 6:
Claim 7 recites:
The system of claim 6, wherein the instructions when executed at the at least one processor causes the system to: generate a signal for causing, at a display device, a display of a graphical user interface showing that the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t has been rejected.
Murugesan in view of Federspiel further in view of Anthony further in view of Park teaches the system of claim 6 upon which claim 7 depends. However, Murugesan does not disclose the limitation of claim 7, which is instead disclosed by Federspiel:
Federspiel teaches that a critical control error may be an indication that one or more sensors, i.e. data sources that may be faulty, have exceeded a threshold (Paragraph 16) and furthermore that critical control errors may be displayed to the user (Paragraph 40). This would be a display that shows data has been rejected. Furthermore, Murugesan has previously taught a probabilistic forecast distribution prediction that may be combined with Federspiel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to implement a system that utilized the teachings of Murugesan, the teachings of Federspiel, the teachings of Anthony, and the teachings of Park. This would have provided the advantage of a way to disseminate the system for widespread use (Federspiel, Paragraph 63), as well as the advantage of capturing uncertainty in the prediction (Anthony, Paragraph 84), and finally the advantage of reducing learning time (Park, “reduce the learning time and learning energy consumption, it is effective to reduce the amount of computation required for learning itself”).
Regarding claim 8, which depends upon claim 7:
Claim 8 recites:
The system of claim 7, wherein the instructions when executed at the at least one processor causes the system to: generate a second signal for causing, at the display device, a display of a graphical user interface showing the threshold value.
Murugesan in view of Federspiel further in view of Anthony further in view of Park teaches the system of claim 7 upon which claim 8 depends. However, Murugesan does not disclose the limitation of claim 8, which is instead disclosed by Federspiel:
Federspiel teaches that a predetermined tolerance threshold may be displayed the user via a visual representation (Paragraph 55). This would be analogous to a display of a graphical user interface showing the threshold value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to implement a system that utilized the teachings of Murugesan, the teachings of Federspiel, the teachings of Anthony, and the teachings of Park. This would have provided the advantage of a way to disseminate the system for widespread use (Federspiel, Paragraph 63), as well as the advantage of capturing uncertainty in the prediction (Anthony, Paragraph 84), and finally the advantage of reducing learning time (Park, “reduce the learning time and learning energy consumption, it is effective to reduce the amount of computation required for learning itself”).
Regarding claim 9, which depends upon claim 8:
Claim 9 recites:
The system of claim 8, wherein the instructions when executed at the at least one processor causes the system to: generate a third signal for causing, at the display device, a display of a graphical user interface showing a graphical user element for modifying the threshold value.
Murugesan in view of Federspiel further in view of Anthony further in view of Park teaches the system of claim 8 upon which claim 9 depends. However, Murugesan does not disclose the limitation of claim 9, which is instead disclosed by Federspiel:
Federspiel teaches a recommendation given to a user to change a tolerance threshold range via are graphical user interface (Paragraph 56). This change to the threshold range would be modifying the threshold value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to implement a system that utilized the teachings of Murugesan, the teachings of Federspiel, the teachings of Anthony, and the teachings of Park. This would have provided the advantage of a way to disseminate the system for widespread use (Federspiel, Paragraph 63), as well as the advantage of capturing uncertainty in the prediction (Anthony, Paragraph 84), and finally the advantage of reducing learning time (Park, “reduce the learning time and learning energy consumption, it is effective to reduce the amount of computation required for learning itself”).
Regarding claim 10, which depends upon claim 1:
Claim 10 recites:
The system of claim 1 wherein the neural network comprises a recurrent neural network, wherein the outputs of the neural network comprise:
A mean value of the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample
A variance of the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample
A selection value associated with the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample
A hidden state vector at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample
And furthermore, wherein the inputs of the neural network comprise:
A mean value of the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t for the ith sample
A hidden state vector at timestamp t for the ith sample
One or more learnable parameters for the recurrent neural network.
Murugesan in view of Federspiel teaches the system of claim 1 upon which claim 10 depends. Murugesan discloses wherein the inputs of the neural network comprise (a) a mean value of the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t for the ith sample, (b) a hidden state vector at timestamp t for the ith sample, and (c) one or more learnable parameters for the recurrent neural network.
This limitation describes an iterative process wherein further future actions can be predicted from the currently predicted future action. Murugesan teaches that its prediction steps may be configured to repeat its steps for one or more time-steps in the future (Paragraph 176), wherein the ‘more’ time-step would be the further future iterative predictions.
However, neither Murugesan or Federspiel teach a recurrent neural network, wherein the outputs of the neural network comprise (a) A mean value of the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample, (b) A variance of the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample. (c) A selection value associated with the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample. Instead, this limitation is disclosed by Anthony:
Anthony teaches that a model’s output may include a mean likelihood of an individual taking a particular action, as well as the variance of that result, wherein the selection is the specific likelihood of each action (Paragraph 84).
Anthony further discloses wherein the output comprises a hidden state vector at timestamp t+1 for the ith sample as an output
Anthony teaches that a model’s outputs may also include a hidden context represented as a vector, wherein the context are additional factors that might influence an individual’s likely next action (Paragraph 85). This could be a hidden state vector as it provides information about that predicts the next event or time step.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to implement a system that utilized the teachings of Murugesan, the teachings of Federspiel, the teachings of Anthony, and the teachings of Park. This would have provided the advantage of a way to disseminate the system for widespread use (Federspiel, Paragraph 63), as well as the advantage of capturing uncertainty in the prediction (Anthony, Paragraph 84), and finally the advantage of reducing learning time (Park, “reduce the learning time and learning energy consumption, it is effective to reduce the amount of computation required for learning itself”).
Claims 11-17 and 19 recite a method that parallels the system of claims 1-7 and 10 respectively. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claims 1-7 and 10 also applies to claims 11-17 and 19 respectively. Accordingly, claims 11-17 and 19 are rejected based on substantially the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claims 1-7 and 10 respectively.
Regarding claim 18, which depends upon claim 17:
Claim 18 recites:
The method of claim 17, further comprising: generating a second signal for causing, at the display device, a display of a graphical user interface showing the threshold value and a graphical user element for modifying the threshold value.
Murugesan in view of Federspiel further in view of Anthony further in view of Park teaches the system of claim 17 upon which claim 18 depends. However, Murugesan does not disclose the limitations of claim 18. Instead, Federspiel discloses a display of a graphical user interface showing the threshold value:
Federspiel teaches that a predetermined tolerance threshold may be displayed the user via a visual representation (Paragraph 55). This would be analogous to a display of a graphical user interface showing the threshold value.
Federspiel discloses a graphical user element for modifying the threshold value:
Federspiel teaches a recommendation given to a user to change a tolerance threshold range via are graphical user interface (Paragraph 56). This change to the threshold range would be modifying the threshold value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to implement a system that utilized the teachings of Murugesan, the teachings of Federspiel, the teachings of Anthony, and the teachings of Park. This would have provided the advantage of a way to disseminate the system for widespread use (Federspiel, Paragraph 63), as well as the advantage of capturing uncertainty in the prediction (Anthony, Paragraph 84), and finally the advantage of reducing learning time (Park, “reduce the learning time and learning energy consumption, it is effective to reduce the amount of computation required for learning itself”).
Claims 20 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage memory that parallels the system of claim 1. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 1 also applies to claim 20. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected based on substantially the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 20-APRIL-2026 have been fully considered, but the examiner believes that not all are fully persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on non-final office action’s 101 rejection of the claims as an abstract idea, the applicant argues that regardless of the original claims, the amended claims are not directed towards an abstract idea. The examiner respectfully requests the applicant’s consideration of the following:
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on the non-final office action’s 103 rejection of the claims, the applicant argues that Murugesan in view of Federspiel do not teach the amended limitations of these claims. As such, the applicant argues that all claims dependent on the above would additionally not be obvious under 103. The examiner agrees that the prior art of the original office action does not teach the amended limitations. However, upon a new search of the prior art for the amended limitations, the examiner has written a new rejection under 103 to address these limitations and respectfully requests applicant’s consideration of the following:
Murugesan in view of Federspiel does not disclose where the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction and the selection value are outputs of the neural network. Instead, this limitation is disclosed by previously present art Anthony:
Anthony teaches determining a threshold within the output distribution of a machine learning model (Paragraph 108), making the threshold an output of the machine learning model, for example a neural network. Since the selection value is a type of threshold, this would be compatible with previous teachings of the specific selection value as disclosed by Murugesan above. Likewise, the output of a distribution in the system of Anthony would provide a means of combination for the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction as likewise disclosed by Murugesan to produce the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction and the selection value as the output of a neural network. This would provide the advantage of being able to make a rapid decision using the threshold value (Anthony, Paragraph 108).
Murugesan in view of Federspiel does not disclose wherein the update is performed by selectively backpropagating loss function values through the NN such that, for any timestamp for which the probabilistic forecast distribution prediction is excluded from the loss function computation, the excluded probabilistic forecast distribution prediction at that timestamp does not contribute a gradient to the update of the plurality of weights. Instead, this limitation is disclosed by new art Park:
Park recites: “According to the comparison result, the operation module 210 may perform the backpropagation operation only on lower-level input data whose prediction reliability value is equal to or greater than the prediction reliability threshold value among the lower-level input data. In other words, the operation module 210 may omit the backpropagation operation with respect to the lower input data whose prediction reliability value is less than the prediction reliability threshold value among the lower input data.”
Park therein teaches the selective backpropagation of specific values, such that data with values that falls below a threshold i.e. is excluded from the loss function computation does not contribute a gradient to the update of the plurality of weights as the backpropagation operation is not applied to those values. The timestamps of the probabilistic forecast distribution predictions of Murugesan may act in combination as these values in order to apply Park’s teachings to Murugesan’s particular data.
This would provide the advantage of reducing learning time (Park, “reduce the learning time and learning energy consumption, it is effective to reduce the amount of computation required for learning itself”).
Conclusion
/A.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2142 /Mariela Reyes/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2142