DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Rejections
The objections to the claims are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
All previous rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1-11 and 21-28 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (U.S. 2016/0060968) in view of Gereluk (U.S. 2008/0196235), and further in view of Liao et al. (CN 201605326 U, citations based on translation) and Sable et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,547,020).
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches a sucker rod pumping system (see e.g. Paragraphs 0001-0002), the system comprising:
a sucker rod string comprising one or more sucker rods (see e.g. Paragraph 0019, lines 13-16, and Claim 18);
a coating adhered on a surface of a body of the sucker rod string, the coating having been applied to an outer surface of each of the one or more sucker rods such that a substantial majority of the entirety of the sucker rod string is coated with the coating (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 5, coating 128 applied to entire external surface of each sucker rod 102, except male end sections, thereby covering a substantial majority of the string; Paragraph 0021 and Claim 19), the one or more sucker rods configured to move in a reciprocating motion to provide mechanical energy to lift fluid from a wellbore to a surface location over the wellbore (see e.g. Paragraph 0003).
Xie does not teach an anode comprising the coating as an anodic coating, the sucker rod pumping system configured to apply a charge to the anodic coating, and a cathode comprising one or more functional components of the sucker rod pumping system, the cathode being separate from the one or more sucker rods, wherein the anode is configured to at least partially inhibit corrosion of the cathode, the sucker rod pumping system configured to apply an opposite charge to the cathode. Xie does teach the coating being a corrosion-resistant coating, exemplified as various polymers (see e.g. Paragraph 0021, lines 1-2, and Paragraphs 0022-0024), and uncoated end fittings being provided at the ends of the coated sucker rods for connection to couplings (see e.g. Paragraph 0021, lines 2-4, and Paragraph 0019).
Gereluk teaches a method of corrosion protection of a sucker rod (see e.g. Abstract) comprising application of a coating to resist corrosion which may comprise a multi-layer structure of an organic polymer coating used in combination with a metal or alloy coating that is anodic to the rod (see e.g. Paragraphs 0022-0023 and 0026-0027).
Liao teaches a sucker rod pumping system having anti-corrosion cathodic protection (see e.g. Paragraphs 0002 and 0006), comprising sucker rods provided with an anodic coating (see e.g. Figs. 1-2, anode 2 cast by melting and forming, i.e. coated and adhered, onto sucker rod pup joint 3 of sucker rod string comprising several sucker rods 4; Paragraph 0007, lines 4-6 and 15-18, Paragraph 0015, and Paragraph 0016, lines 1-3), wherein, in addition to the coated sucker rods, surrounding sucker rod couplings are also protected as cathodes from corrosion (see e.g. Paragraph 0007, lines 14-18, and Paragraph 0008, lines 1-2) by current and electrons flowing from the anodic coating to the protected cathodes, i.e. indicating a positive charge being applied to the anode and negative charge being applied to the cathodes by the respective loss and gain of electrons (see e.g. Paragraph 0007, lines 18-20, and Paragraph 0016, lines 9-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coating of Xie to further comprise a layer of anodic metal or alloy as taught by Gereluk as a suitable additional component layer in a coating for corrosion protection of a sucker rod that can further protect adjacent sucker rod couplings as cathodes as taught by Liao.
Modified Xie does not explicitly teach the one or more functional components the one or more functional components of the sucker rod pumping system operating as the cathode comprising one or more of: a tubing string comprising a cylinder and configured to concentrically contain the sucker rod string, a polished rod, and a pump; the polished rod configured to be connected to a polished rod clamp above ground and to be connected to a top end of the sucker rod string contained below the ground; or the pump mechanically connected to a bottom end of the sucker rod string. Xie does however teach the sucker rod string being contained within a production tubing, i.e. tubing string and connected to a down-hole pump at the bottom of an oil well and a pump-jack mounted on the surface of the earth (see e.g. Xie Paragraph 0002).
Sable teaches a means for providing cathodic protection to a pump operating rod string and the well tubing along the portions thereof subject to corrosion by the fluids pumped therethrough (see e.g. Col. 2, lines 12-18) comprising providing sacrificial anode assemblies on selected portions or lengths of the rod string, wherein, when the rod string and well tubing are electrically connected, current may flow from the exposed anodes through the electrolytic liquids to the vulnerable surfaces of the rod string and well tubing exposed to electrolyte to protect them from corrosion by making them cathodic (see e.g. Col. 2, lines 19-39), and wherein a polished rod for connecting to a prime mover, i.e. pump jack, and pump of the well installation may also be electrically connected to the rod string and tubing and therefore similarly made cathodic and protected (see e.g. Col. 4, lines 33-47, and Col. 5, lines 33-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sucker rod pumping system of modified Xie to have one or more of the tubing string, polished rod and pump connected as a cathode via electrical connection with the rod string as taught by Sable as other components of the sucker rod pumping system vulnerable to corrosion that can be protected by an anode provided on a body of a sucker rod string. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
The limitation of the anodic coating being applied “in a thermal spraying process” is a product-by-process limitation. MPEP § 2113 states “"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." Modified Xie teaches all the structural limitations of the claimed system as stated above. Further, Gereluk teaches the anodic metal coating being applied by arc and flame spraying, i.e. a thermal spraying process (see e.g. Gereluk Paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 2, modified Xie teaches each sucker rod of the sucker rod string further comprising a first threaded end and a second threaded end (see e.g. Xie Fig. 1, end portions 106 of sucker rod 102 with threaded male end sections 108; Paragraph 0016, line 6-7, and Paragraph 0017, lines 1-7); and a body exhibiting a substantially cylindrical shape (see e.g. Xie Fig. 1, substantially cylindrical rod body 104 of sucker rod 102 with given diameter; Paragraph 0016, lines 6-7).
Regarding claim 3, Xie as modified by Gereluk teaches the anodic coating comprising at least one of aluminum, magnesium, zinc or an alloy of aluminum magnesium, or zinc (see e.g. Gereluk Paragraph 0023, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 8, modified Xie teaches only a portion of the surface of the body of the sucker rod string being coated with the anodic coating (see e.g. Xie Figs. 1 and 5, coating 128 applied to entire external surface of each sucker rod 102, except male end portions; Paragraph 0021 and Claim 19).
Regarding claim 9, modified Xie teaches the anodic coating being applied in circumferential strips around the body of the sucker rod string (see e.g. Xie Paragraph 0021, lines 7-8, and Claim 19, coating applied circumferentially along each sucker rod of the string).
Regarding claim 10, Xie as modified by Gereluk teaches the anode further comprising a sealant on at least a portion of the body of the sucker rod string (see e.g. Xie Paragraphs 0021-24, coating comprising polymeric/resin materials, i.e. sealants, provided along external surface of sucker rod; see e.g. Gereluk Paragraph 0027, multilayer combination coating of first anodic metal layer and second organic polymer, i.e. sealant, layer).
Regarding claim 11, Xie as modified by Liao teaches a method of for cathodic protection of components of a sucker rod pumping system, the method comprising producing oil using the sucker rod pumping system of claim 1 (see e.g. Xie Paragraphs 0001-0002, sucker rod assemblies used for pumping oil in oil well; see e.g. Liao Paragraphs 0006 and 0008, cathodic protection of oilfield downhole sucker rods in service for oil field production via the sacrificial anode).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie, Gereluk, Liao and Sable, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dickson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,265,512).
Regarding claim 4, modified Xie teaches all the elements of the system of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Xie does not explicitly teach the system further comprising a production casing configured to be located below the ground, the production casing comprising a cylindrical interior cavity configured to cylindrically contain the tubing string, the polished rod, at least a portion of the sucker rod string and the pump. Xie does however teach the sucker rod pumping system being used with a pump jack for pumping oil from an oil reservoir in an oil well in a reciprocating manner (see e.g. Xie Paragraphs 0001-0003).
Sable further teaches a reciprocating sucker rod pumping system for a well installation (see e.g. Sable Col. 1, lines 4-11 and 15-20) comprising a production casing configured to be located below the ground (see e.g. Sable Figs 1-2, casing C extending down through well bore WB in ground; Col. 4, lines 3-6), the production casing comprising a cylindrical interior cavity configured to cylindrically contain the tubing string, the polished rod, at least a portion of the sucker rod string, and the pump (see e.g. Sable Figs. 1-2, tubing T, rod string RS and pump P contained concentrically in casing C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pumping system of modified Xie to comprise further functional pumping system components including a production casing below grown with a cavity containing the tubing string, polished rod and a portion of the sucker rod string as taught by Sable as a suitable particular arrangement for a reciprocating sucker rod pumping system for a well installation. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Modified Xie does not explicitly teach the production casing being part of the cathode, but Sable does generally teach the desire to protect components of the well pump installation from corrosion by the well fluids through cathodic protection (see e.g. Sable Col. 1, lines 4-11, and Col. 2, lines 12-18).
Dickson teaches that corrosion can occur at several metal equipment components handling the corrosive fluid of oil and gas wells, including the inner wall of the casing, the walls of tubing, and the inner surface of all wellhead fittings, connections and glow lines handling the fluid (see e.g. Col. 31, lines 18-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of modified Xie to further have other metal components including the production casing connected as a cathode in the cathodic protection as taught by Dickson as an additional metal equipment surface requiring protection from the corrosive well fluids.
Regarding claim 5, Xie as modified by Sable and Dickson teaches the cathode further comprising a casing head and a tubing head assembly (see e.g. Sable Fig. 1, casing head 11 and tubing head 12; Col. 4, lines 3-9; see e.g. Dickson Col. 31, lines 27-30, well head fittings exposed to corrosive fluid and therefore desirably protected by cathodic protection as described in regards to claim 4), the tubing head assembly configured to be located partially above the ground and mechanically connected to the production casing through the casing head (see e.g. Sable Fig. 1, tubing head 12 at surface mechanically connected to casing C via casing head 12 with bolts 14; Col. 4, lines 6-11).
Regarding claim 6, Xie as modified by Sable teaches the polished rod being configured to partially protrude above the ground from a center of the tubing head assembly and to be partially housed below the ground within the cylindrical interior cavity of the production casing (see e.g. Sable Figs. 1-2, upper portion of polished rod 30 protruding through center of tubing head 12 and lower portion contained in casing C; Col. 4, lines 3-6 and 20-27).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie, Gereluk, Liao, Sable and Dickson, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Carpenter et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2,811,924).
Regarding claim 7, modified Xie teaches all the elements of the system of claim 5 as stated above. Xie as modified by Sable and Dickson further teaches the cathode further comprising a surface casing vent line configured to end above the ground (see e.g. Sable Fig. 1, pipes 19/20 extending above ground from casing C for injection or removal of fluids, Col. 4, lines 14-17; see e.g. Dickson Col. 31, lines 27-30, flow lines exposed to corrosive fluid and therefore desirably protected by cathodic protection as described in regards to claim 4). Modified Xie does not teach the surface casing vent line being mechanically connected to the casing head and configured to extend from the casing head, instead teaching it being mechanically connected to and extending from the casing itself above ground (see e.g. Sable Fig. 1, pipes 19/20 threaded into and extending above ground from casing C). Sable does however teach the vent line being used for discharge of fluids from the annular space between the casing and tubing (see e.g. Sable Col. 4, lines 14-17)
Carpenter teaches an apparatus for producing oil from a well (see e.g. Col. 1, lines 15-19 and 59-61), comprising a casing provided with a head above ground (see e.g. Fig. 1, casing 12 closed at upper end with head 14; Col. 1, lines 69-72), wherein a discharge pipe extends through the head of the casing to release gases in an annular space between the casing and an inner tubing (see e.g. Fig. 1, pipe 26 connected to and extending from head 14; Col. 3, lines 15-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of modified Xie to have the surface casing vent line connected to and extending from the casing head instead of the casing as taught by Carpenter as an alternate suitable configuration for discharging fluids from the annular space between the casing and tubing of the well apparatus. MPEP § 2143(I)(B) states that “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” may be obvious.
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badrak (U.S. 2020/0263508) in view of Gereluk, and further in view of Sable.
Regarding claim 21, Badrak teaches a sucker rod pumping system (see e.g. Fig. 1, system 10 for pumping including sucker rod for pumping in a subterranean well; Paragraphs 0001-0002 and 0013), the system comprising:
a sucker rod string (see e.g. Fig. 1, rod string 18; Paragraph 0016, lines 1-3);
a coating coated and adhered on a surface of the sucker rod string comprising one continuous sucker rod of an oil and gas well (see e.g. Figs. 1-4, substantially continuous sucker rod 32 provided with adhered corrosion resistant coating layer 58; Paragraph 0016, lines 1-2, Paragraph 0018, lines 1-2, and Paragraphs 0030-0031 and 0038), the continuous sucker rod configured to be coupled to a polished rod at a first end and a downhole pump at a second, opposing end (see e.g. Fig. 1, sucker rod 32 connected to polished rod 42 at upper end and downhole pump 20 at bottom end; Paragraph 0016, lines 3-5, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-4), a substantial entirety of the surface of the one continuous sucker rod extending from the first end to the second end being coated by the coating (see e.g. Figs. 2-4, substantial entirety of sucker rod 32 passed through application station 44 to form corrosion resistant coating completely enclosing the base metal of sucker rod 32; Paragraphs 0024, and 0030-0031).
Badrak does not teach an anode comprising the coating as an anodic coating. Badrak does however teach the coating comprising a corrosion-resistant material such as a polymer material (see e.g. Paragraph 0041) that may mitigate corrosion by chemically hindering a corrosive reaction or by other means (see e.g. Paragraph 0042).
Gereluk teaches a method of corrosion protection of a sucker rod (see e.g. Abstract) comprising application of a coating to resist corrosion which may comprise an organic polymer coating, a metal or alloy coating that is anodic to the rod, or a multilayer combination of the two (see e.g. Paragraphs 0022-0023 and 0026-0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coating of Badrak to comprise a metal or alloy anodic to the rod instead of or in addition to the polymer coating as taught by Gereluk as an additional or alternate suitable coating composition for preventing corrosion of a sucker rod. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results. Further, MPEP § 2143(I)(B) states that “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” may be obvious.
Modified Badrak does not explicitly teach a cathode comprising another component of the oil and gas well and at least one electrically conductive connection line electrically coupling the one continuous sucker rod and the another component, wherein the anode is configured to at least partially inhibit corrosion of the cathode. Badrak does however teach the system comprising additional components such as a tubing string through which corrosive well fluids are pumped (see e.g. Badrak Paragraphs 0014 and 0018).
Sable teaches a means for providing cathodic protection to a pump operating rod string and the well tubing along the portions thereof subject to corrosion by the fluids pumped therethrough (see e.g. Col. 2, lines 12-18) comprising providing sacrificial anode assemblies on selected portions or lengths of the rod string, wherein the rod string and well tubing may be electrically connected, e.g. via a cable, to allow current may flow from the exposed anodes through the electrolytic liquids to the vulnerable surfaces of the rod string and well tubing exposed to electrolyte to protect them from corrosion by making them cathodic (see e.g. Fig. 1, cable 90 connecting rod string to tubing; Col. 2, lines 19-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of modified Badrak to comprise a cable, i.e. electrically conductive connection line, electrically coupling the sucker rod string to a further system component such as a well tubing as a cathode as taught by Sable to enable the well tubing to also be cathodically protected from the corrosive electrolyte. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Modified Badrak does not explicitly teach the sucker rod string being coiled, but does teach it needing to be shipped (see e.g. Badrak Paragraph 0019, lines 1-2).
Gereluk further teaches a method of manufacturing a continuous sucker rod (see e.g. Gereluk Abstract) in which a coated rod is wound into a coil for storage in inventory and shipment to a field well site (see e.g. Gereluk Paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sucker rod string of modified Badrak to be coiled as taught by Gereluk as a suitable method of storing and shipping a coated continuous sucker rod to a field well site. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 22, Badrak as modified by Sable teaches the cathode comprising one or more functional components of the sucker rod pumping system (see e.g. Sable Col. 2, lines 26-39, well tubing and rod string cathodically protected).
Regarding claim 23, Badrak as modified by Gereluk and Sable teaches the anode comprising one continuous sucker rod (see e.g. Badrak Fig. 4, corrosion resistant layer 58 on sucker rod 32, Paragraph 0038; see e.g. Gereluk Paragraphs 0022-0023, anodic metal coating for corrosion protection provided on continuous rod), and the cathode being separate from the one continuous sucker rod (see e.g. Sable Col. 2, lines 26-39, well tubing cathodically protected).
Regarding claim 24, Badrak as modified by Sable teaches the cathode comprising at least one of a tubing string, a polished rod, a sucker rod string and a tubing head (see e.g. Sable Fig. 1, cable 90 electrically connecting rod string to tubing as cathodes via connection to polished rod 30 and tubing head 12, thereby cathodically protecting them; Col. 2, lines 19-39, and Col. 5, lines 33-39)
Claims 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Codolar et al. (U.S. 2015/0210863).
Regarding claim 25, Liao teaches a sucker rod pumping system for cathodic protection of components (see e.g. Paragraphs 0002 and 0006, pumping rod system with sucker rods having anti-corrosion cathodic protection), the system comprising:
an anodic coating coated on a surface of one or more sucker rods of a sucker rod string of an oil and gas well to form an anode component (see e.g. Figs. 1-2, anode 2 cast by melting and forming, i.e. coated and adhered, onto sucker rod pup joint 3 of sucker rod string comprising several sucker rods 4; Paragraph 0007, lines 4-6 and 15-18, Paragraph 0015, and Paragraph 0016, lines 1-3);
a cathode component comprising at least another component of the oil and gas well (see e.g. Paragraph 0007, lines 14-18, and Paragraph 0008, lines 1-2, sucker rod string in areas around the sucker rod body with the anode as well as sucker rod couplings as cathodes protected from corrosion);
wherein the anode component is electrically connected, via a conductive connection, to the cathode component (see e.g. Paragraph 0016, lines 10-12, current flows from the anode to the protected object/cathode, necessitating an electrically conductive between the two);
wherein the anode is configured to at least partially inhibit corrosion of the cathode (see e.g. Paragraph 0016, lines 9-16, transfer of electrons from the anode to the cathode slows corrosion of the cathode).
Liao does not teach the anodic coating having been sprayed on the surface of the one or more sucker rods of the sucker rod string with a thickness of between 0.20 millimeter (0.008 in.) and 0.51 millimeters (0.020 in.), but does teach the system being a petrochemical oilfield sucker rod system subject to corrosion (see e.g. Paragraphs 0004-0005), as well as the anode comprising zinc (see e.g. Paragraph 0007, lines 1-3).
Codolar teaches an anti-corrosive coating for protecting metal structures, such as in the petrochemical/oil and gas industry (see e.g. Abstract and Paragraph 0328), the coating acting as an anode protecting the metal structure as a cathode (see e.g. Paragraphs 0003 and 0015), wherein the coating is a zinc-containing composition that may be applied by spraying on the metal structure in a dry film thickness of 5 to 300 µm, equal to 0.005 to 0.3 mm (see e.g. Paragraphs 0051, 0322 and 0325), overlapping the claimed range of the present invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the anodic coating of Liao to instead comprise the 0.005 to 0.3 mm zinc-containing coating of Codolar as an alternate suitable anodic coating for cathodic protection of metal structures subject to corrosion in the petroleum/oil and gas industry. MPEP § 2143(I)(B) states that “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” may be obvious. MPEP § 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Regarding claim 26, modified Liao teaches the cathode component and the anode component being formed with existing components of a downhole artificial lift system, each of the cathode component and the anode component configured to perform another function related to the oil and gas well (see e.g. Liao Paragraph 0007, lines 14-18, Paragraph 0008, lines 1-2, and Paragraph 0016, lines 1-3, anodes provided on individual sucker rod pup joints, where the sucker rod string in areas around the sucker rod with the anode as well as sucker rod couplings are protected from corrosion as cathodes).
Regarding claim 27, Liao as modified by Codolar teaches a sealant being applied to a portion of the anode component (see e.g. Codolar Paragraph 0323, outer coating comprising various polymer-based compositions, i.e. sealants, applied onto anodic zinc-containing coat).
Regarding claim 28, modified Liao teaches the anodic coating being applied to only a portion of the sucker rod string (see e.g. Liao Fig. 1, cast anode 2 shown on only a portion of sucker rod pup joint 3; Paragraph 0015).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-3, filed 10/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 over Liao, Brown and Sable, particularly regarding the anodic coating being provided on a substantial majority of the entirety of the sucker rod string, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Xie, Gereluk, Liao and Sable.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 3, filed 10/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 21 under 35 USC 103 over Liao and Sable, particularly regarding the coiled sucker rod string and continuous sucker rod with the anodic coating on a substantial entirety of its surface, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Badrak, Gereluk and Sable.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-2, filed 10/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 25 under 35 USC 102 over Liao, particularly regarding the coating thickness, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liao and Codolar.
Conclusion
/M.S.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795