DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 7, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ernst (German Patent Number DE 676341 C, both Ernst and the machine translation cited in IDS).
As to claim 1, Ernst teaches a method of manufacturing a housing (machine translation, paragraph 1), the housing to be manufacturing a cylindrical, sleeve-shaped metal housing wall extending about a longitudinal axis of the housing and a cover disposed inside the housing wall transverse to the longitudinal axis at a predetermined position between longitudinal ends of the housing wall (figure 1, element 1 being the ‘housing’ and element 2 being the ‘cover’; machine translation, paragraph 3), the method comprising: providing a precursor of the housing in which the cover is integrally formed with the housing wall and is arranged at one of the longitudinal ends of the housing wall (figure 5, element 4 being the ‘cover’; machine translation, paragraphs 7 and 8), separating, during a press cycle, the cover from the housing wall (figures 4 and 5, element 2 being the ‘cover’; machine translation, paragraphs 7 and 8). Examiner notes that a ‘press cycle’ can be found because Ernst expressly teaches that an end of the cover is pressed inward after being cut from the housing wall (figure 4, element 2; machine translation, paragraph 7). Because this pressing is performed during the same cycle or general timeframe as the cutting, this overall process may reasonably be considered a “press cycle.” Examiner notes that this interpretation is consistent with the teachings of the Specification, as neither the claims nor the Specification teach the separating being performed by ‘pressing.’ Ernst further teaches displacing, during the press cycle, the cover to the predetermined position inside the housing wall relative to the housing wall in the direction of the longitudinal axis from the one longitudinal end (figure 1, elements 2 and 1; machine translation, paragraph 7), wherein the predetermined position of the cover located the cover entirely between the longitudinal ends of the cylindrical, sleeve-shaped metal housing wall (figure 1, elements 2 and 1), the cover configured to separate an interior of the housing into a first subspace configured to accommodate a stator of the electric motor (figure 1, left side of element 1 being the ‘first subspace’), and a second, separate, subspace configured to accommodate control electronics for the electric motor (figure 1, right side of element 1 being the ‘second subspace’), wherein said displacing the cover inside the housing wall from the one longitudinal end into the predetermined position is performed immediately following the separating of the cover from the housing wall (machine translation, paragraphs 7 and 8). Examiner notes that this can be found because Ernst teaches that the cover can be formed with the precursor such that the cover is not required to be further processed between the steps of separating the cover from the housing wall and displacing the cover inside the housing wall (figures 4 and 5, elements 2 and 1; paragraph 8).
While Ernst teaches that the step of displacing the cover inside the housing wall (figure 1, elements 2 and 1; machine translation, paragraph 7), Ernst does not teach where the cover and housing wall are displaced. However, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to perform the steps of separating the cover from the housing wall and displacing the cover inside the housing wall, as taught by Ernst, in a same working station of a production line, because Ernst teaches the separating being done in a simple and known manner (machine translation, paragraph 7) with the overall process being performed in an ‘ordinary’ and simple manner (machine translation, paragraphs 4 and 7), and one skilled in the art would have appreciated that performing the step of separating could easily be performed in the same ‘working station’ as the step of displacing, and that doing so would help ensure that the overall method is performed in an ordinary and simple manner, as desired by Ernst. Examiner further notes that the claim merely requires that the steps of separating and displacing be performed in the same “working station,” as opposed to the same manufacturing apparatus or machine. It is the position of the Examiner that “working station” is a broad enough term to encompass the use of different machines, which may or may not be immediately adjacent to one another, but are simply located within the same manufacturing facility.
As to claim 2, Ernst teaches that providing the precursor of the housing comprises jointly integrally forming the housing wall and the cover from a same blank (figure 3, elements 1 and 4; machine translation, paragraph 7).
As to claim 3, Ernst does not expressly teach the apparatus used the method of manufacturing the housing. However, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to perform the step of forming the housing wall and the cover and the step of the separation and displacement of the cover in the same apparatus, because one skilled in the art would have appreciated that use of a single apparatus, as compared to using multiple apparatuses, would increase efficiency in the manufacturing the housing.
As to claim 4, Ernst teaches an embodiment in which providing the precursor of the housing comprises forming the cover with a skirt extending in the direction of the longitudinal axis of the housing wall along a partial length of the housing wall and circumferentially about the longitudinal axis (figure 5, portion of element 2 between lines x-x and y-y being the ‘skirt’; machine translation, paragraph 8).
As to claim 5, Ernst teaches that an outer diameter of the skirt corresponds to an inner diameter of the housing wall (figure 5, elements 2 and 1; machine translation, paragraph 8).
As to claim 7, Ernst teaches joining the cover to the housing wall in the predetermined position (figure 1, elements 2 and 1; machine translation, paragraphs 7 and 3).
As to claim 8, Ernst teaches that joining the cover to the housing wall comprises welding (figure 1, elements 2 and 1; machine translation, paragraph 3), a known thermal joining process.
As to claim 10, the discussion of claim 3 is incorporated herein.
As to claim 11, it is the position of the Examiner that the cover of the precursor of Ernst is capable for use as a bearing flange (figure 5, element 2).
Claim(s) 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ernst as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hagen (German Patent Number DE 1182322, both Hagen and machine translation cited in IDS).
As to claim 6, Ernst teaches securing cover to the predetermined position of the housing wall by welding the cover to the interior of the housing wall (figure 1, elements 1 and 2; machine translation, paragraph 3). Hagen teaches a method of manufacting a housing (machine translation, paragraph 1), the housing to be manufactured having a housing wall and a cover disposed inside the housing wall at a predetermined position between longitudinal ends of the housing wall (figure 5, element 2’ being the ‘housing wall’ and element 1’ being the ‘cover’; machine translation, paragraph 11), the method comprising: displacing the cover inside the housing wall relative to the housing wall from the one longitudinal end into the predetermined position (figure 5, elements 1’ and 2’; machine translation, paragraph 11), and securing the cover to the predetermined position of the housing wall (figure 5, elements 1’ and 2’; machine translation, paragraph 11). Specifically, Hagen teaches securing the cover to the housing wall via a plurality of screws (figure 5, elements 1’ and 2’; machine translation, paragraph 11). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art secure a cover to a housing wall, as taught by Ernst, by substituting the means of securing by welding, as taught by Ernst, for the means of securing via a plurality of screws, as taught by Hagen, because one skilled in the art would have recognizes that either means for securing provides the same benefit of securely affixing the cover to the predetermined position within the housing wall, as desired by Ernst (machine translation, paragraphs 7 and 3).
Examiner notes that when the cover of Erst is secured to the interior of the housing wall via a plurality of secures, as make obvious by Hagen, a plurality bores for the screws must be provided in the skirt. Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the bores in the skirt of Ernst during the formation of the precursor because the bores must be provided either at the formation of the precursor or after formation of the precursor, and one skilled in the art would have recognizes that providing the bores at the formation of the precursor would provide the same benefit as providing the bores after the formation of the precursor.
As to claim 9, Ernst teaches joining the cover to the housing wall (figure 1, elements 1 and 2; machine translation, paragraph 7), wherein joining the cover to the housing wall comprises engaging the housing wall with the skirt of the cover (figure 1, elements 1 and 2; machine translation, paragraph 7). Ernst further teaches that the joining is performed by welding the cover to the interior of the housing wall. Hagen teaches a method of manufacting a housing (machine translation, paragraph 1), the housing to be manufactured having a housing wall and a cover disposed inside the housing wall at a predetermined position between longitudinal ends of the housing wall (figure 5, element 2’ being the ‘housing wall’ and element 1’ being the ‘cover’; machine translation, paragraph 11), the method comprising: displacing the cover inside the housing wall relative to the housing wall from the one longitudinal end into the predetermined position (figure 5, elements 1’ and 2’; machine translation, paragraph 11), and securing the cover to the predetermined position of the housing wall (figure 5, elements 1’ and 2’; machine translation, paragraph 11). Specifically, Hagen teaches securing the cover to the housing wall via a plurality of screws (figure 5, elements 1’ and 2’; machine translation, paragraph 11). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art secure a cover to a housing wall, as taught by Ernst, by substituting the means of securing by welding, as taught by Ernst, for the means of securing via a plurality of screws, as taught by Hagen, because one skilled in the art would have recognizes that either means for securing provides the same benefit of securely affixing the cover to the predetermined position within the housing wall, as desired by Ernst (machine translation, paragraphs 7 and 3).
Examiner notes that when the cover of Erst is secured to the interior of the housing wall via a plurality of secures, as make obvious by Hagen, a plurality bores for the screws must be provided in the skirt. Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one skilled in the art to perforate the skirt of Ernst, so as to form the bores, during the formation of the precursor because the bores must be provided either at the formation of the precursor or after formation of the precursor, and one skilled in the art would have recognizes that providing the bores at the formation of the precursor would provide the same benefit as providing the bores after the formation of the precursor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 5, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on pages 5 – 6, that Ernst does not teach ‘the step of displacing the cover inside the housing wall to be performed immediately following the step of separating the cover from the housing wall,’ as recited by claim 1. Examiner disagrees. This is because, Applicant argues, Ernst teaches that a step of ‘further drawing’ of the cover be performed prior to the step of displacing. However, Ernst expressly that this ‘further drawing’ is optional, and that the precursor may be formed such that any ‘further drawing’ is not required. Therefore, the cover may be displaced inside the housing wall immediately after the step of separating the cover from the housing wall (figures 4 and 5, elements 2 and 1; paragraph 8).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J. BESLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726