Status of Claims
This is a FINAL Rejection to Amendments and Arguments filed by Applicant on 05/16/2025. Claims 1-14 have been amended. Claims 15-20 have been added. Currently pending for review are Claims 1-20.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the Claim Objections made in the Office Action filed on 05/07/2025. Amendments/Remarks & Arguments filed by Applicant on 05/16/2025 correct the objection and/or are persuasive. Therefore, the Claim Objections made in the Office Action filed on 05/07/2025 has been withdrawn unless otherwise indicated below.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejections made in the Office Action filed on 05/07/2025. Amendments/Remarks & Arguments filed by Applicant on 05/16/2025 correct the rejection and/or are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejections made in the Office Action filed on 05/07/2025 has been withdrawn unless otherwise indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 17-20 recite limitations that are considered new matter since they claim elements more broadly using language that are not supported in the original disclosure.
Claim 17 recites “at least one attachment element” and “underlying support”.
Claim 18 recites “buoyant element”.
Claim 19 recites “allowing the infants head and/or lower body to extend through one or both open ends”.
Claim 20 recite “density greater than density of a material forming at least one of the side walls”. Applicant may overcome the rejection by clearly pointing out support in the original disclosure, amending, or cancelling the claims.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to proceed, “the” will be replaced with --a--.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “suction means” in Claims 5, 6, 12, and 13
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Paragraph [0032] In some embodiments, the base10 is secured to the floor of a bathtub with one or more suction cups connected to the underside of the base10..”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Warmuth-Rued (US 20120015571 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Warmuth-Rued teaches a water skills training device comprising: a base 2, the base having a lower portion and an upper portion, the lower portion having an outer rim and a first width, the upper portion having a top surface and a second width, the first width being greater than or equal to the second width; and
a receptacle 10 removably engaged connected to the upper portion of the base 2, the receptacle having a floor 10, two opposing ears 12,13 extending from the floor, and two longitudinally open ends (Refer to Fig. 1 to depict that a longitudinal opening runs between the ears 12,13).
Regarding Claim 15, Warmuth-Rued teaches a water skills training device comprising: a base 2 having a lower portion and an upper portion (Refer to annotated Fig. 2 above); and at least two spaced-apart side walls 10,12,13 extending upwardly from the base 2 and cooperatively defining a generally U-shaped cradle that is open at opposite longitudinal ends (Refer to Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Warmuth-Rued continues to teach wherein the base 2 includes a peripheral rim forming a footprint wider than a footprint of the cradle 10,12,13 (Refer to annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 17, Warmuth-Rued continues to teach further comprising at least one attachment element 22 on the first surface configured to releasably secure the device to an underlying support 8.
Regarding Claim 18, Warmuth-Rued continues to teach further comprising a buoyant element 8 tethered 18,19 to the device.
Regarding Claim 19, Warmuth-Rued continues to teach wherein the cradle 10,12,13 is sized and configured to laterally support a torso region of an infant while allowing the infant's head and/or lower body to extend through one or both open ends (Refer to Figs. 1&2, the Office takes the position that the device is capable of supporting a torso of an infant).
Regarding Claim 20, Warmuth-Rued continues to teach wherein the base 2 is formed of a material having a density greater than a density of a material forming at least one of the side walls 12,13 (Refer to Paragraph [0033]:” The wall of the ring 2 is advantageously made from plastic material and may include reinforcement material.”..& Paragraph [0036]:” The walls of the hollow wings 12, 13 and of the hollow base component 8 are advantageously made from plastic material and may include reinforcement material.”..The Office takes the position that the base 2 is made with the reinforcement material and the wings 12,13 are not and therefore the base will have a density greater than the walls).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warmuth-Rued (US 20120015571 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Warmuth-Rued teaches the claimed invention as noted above wherein Warmuth-Rued teaches the base made of a plastic material and reinforced plastic material and receptacle 10 made of a plastic material (Refer to Paragraph [0033]:” The wall of the ring 2 is advantageously made from plastic material and may include reinforcement material.”..& Paragraph [0036]:” The walls of the hollow wings 12, 13 and of the hollow base component 8 are advantageously made from plastic material and may include reinforcement material.”). Although Warmuth-Rued does not expressly disclose wherein the lower portion of the base is constructed of a denser material than the upper portion of the base and the receptacle. The Office takes the position that it would have been obvious to modify the materials of Warmuth-Rued such that the lower portion of the base is constructed of a denser material of plastic including the reinforcement material and the upper portion of the base and the receptacle are constructed of the plastic material since Warmuth-Rued teaches that such materials of differing densities are suitable for the device and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 4, Warmuth-Rued teaches the claimed invention as noted above wherein Warmuth-Rued teaches the receptacle ears 12,13 have a shape but fails to teach wherein the receptacle's ears are hexagonally shaped. The Office takes the position that Applicant does not provide criticality to the hexagonal shape and indicates any shape is suitable (Refer to Paragraph [0028]), and therefore it would have been obvious to modify the receptacle ears 12,13 or be hexagonal or any shape since the changes in shape claimed represent a design choice, and so a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have found that the change in shape did not sufficiently alter the device as it was an obvious change motivated by manufacturing parameters or user preference. See re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1996).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is allowed.
Claims 2 and 5-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Warmuth-Rued is the closest prior art to the claimed invention but fails to teach the claimed invention as a whole being water skills training device comprising: a base, the base having a lower portion and an upper portion, the lower portion having an outer rim and a first width, the upper portion having a top surface and a second width, the first width being greater than or equal to the second width; and a receptacle connected to the upper portion of the base, the receptacle having a floor, two opposing ears extending from the floor, and two longitudinally open ends, further comprising a tether with a first end and a second end removably engaged to the outer rim of the base's lower portion with at least one fastener selected from the group consisting of hook-and-loop fasteners, magnets, latches, and carabiners;a floatation cushion removably engaged to the tether with at least one fastener selected from the group consisting of hook-and-loop fasteners, magnets, latches, and carabiners;wherein the floatation cushion is constructed of a buoyant material and is configured to support an infant's head or upper torso during water skills training; a suction means connected to the underside of the base; 7. (Amended) The water skills training device of claim 1,further comprising: - 2 - Mary Eileen Taylor Appl. No. 17/716,509 a first tether removably engaged to the outer rim of the base's lower portion with at least one fastener selected from the group consisting of hook-and-loop fasteners, magnets, latches, and carabiners; a second tether removably engaged to the outer rim of the base's lower portion with at least one fastener selected from the group consisting of hook-and-loop fasteners, magnets, latches, and carabiners; a floatation cushion having a first end and a second end; wherein the first end is removably engaged to the first tether with at least one fastener selected from the group consisting of hook-and-loop fasteners, magnets, latches, and carabiner; wherein the second end is removably engaged to the second tether with at least one fastener selected from the group consisting of hook-and-loop fasteners, magnets, latches, and carabiners; and wherein the floatation cushion is constructed of a buoyant material and is configured to support an infant's head or upper torso during water skills training; and/or a method of training one or more infants water skills comprising: obtaining a water skills training device comprising: a base, said base having a lower portion and an upper portion, said lower portion having an outer rim and a first width, said upper portion having a top surface and a second width, the first width being greater than or equal to the second width; a receptacle removably engaged to the upper portion of the base, the receptacle having a floor and two opposing ears extending from the floor; and a floatation cushion removably engaged to the base with one or more tethers and configured to configured to support an infant's head or upper torso during water skills training; and placing an infant in the receptacle with their back or tummy in contact with the floor of the receptacle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/16/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In regards to the 112(f) Interpretation, reconsideration has been made and applied to the limitation of “suction means” as disclosed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NYCA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784