DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/06/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 have been amended.
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17 and 20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thoralf Czichy, (Nokia 5G RAN optimization using O-RAN software community’s RIC ONS Europe Sept-23-2019) in view of Sartori et al. (US 20220217046 A1) and further in view of Raaf et al. (US 20130182555 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Thoralf teaches a method performed by an E2 node (Slide 12 and 13, RT RIC within O-RAN alliance architecture), the method comprising:
transmitting to a radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC) an indication message to (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC) via an E2 interface (Slide 2 showing E2 interface),
wherein the RIC indication message is transmitted based on detection of an event trigger configured by a previous successful RIC subscription procedure initiated by the RIC (detect trigger step 1 after the subscription procedure, Fig in page 13; RIC Event Trigger approach. Describes the approach to be used in RIC Subscription messages to set RIC Event Trigger Definition in the RAN Function. For example , the X2 interface RAN Function may support event triggers for a specific X2 interface (i.e. connected to a specific LTE eNB), for a given interface direction, interface Message type and one or more specific values in one or more nominated IEs (Information Elements), page 10),
wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication), and
wherein the indication type information indicates one of an ‘insert’ type or a ‘report’ type (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication (Subscription , Report or insert));
wherein the procedure code value indicates an E2 application protocol (E2AP) procedure, including at least one of. RIC subscription, E2 setup, RIC indication, RIC control, RIC service update or RIC service query (indication (subscription, report), step 2 page 13).
However, Thoralf does not clearly teach wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information, a message type information, an RIC request identifier (ID), and a RAN function ID.
In an analogous art, Sartori teaches wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information, a message type information (The message may be customized in dependence upon a type of a radio access network function receiving the message, [0093]; wherein the message type is sent from a node to another node such as, [0068], table of Fig. 8), an RIC request identifier (ID) (The message comprises information on the sender and the receiver of the message. The sender may be a CU-CP or a RIC and the receiver may be a CU-CP, CU-UP or a DU, [0093]), and a RAN function ID (An ECGI is used for identifying cells globally. An ECGI comprises a mobile country code, a mobile network code and an E-UTRAN cell identifier, [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Thoralf with the message parameter of Sartori to provide a method and a system with the advantage of a radio access network function comprising a broker for collecting and delivering information is that a radio access network function may comprise a plurality of machine learning algorithms that need the same data and with a broker function it may be avoided that each algorithm requests the same data separately as suggested, Sartori [0104].
However, Thoralf and Sartori do not teach wherein the procedure code value is set to a value from 0 to 255, wherein the type of the message comprises information indicating one of an initiating message, a successful message, or an unsuccessful message.
In an analogous art, Raaf teaches wherein the procedure code value is set to a value from 0 to 255 (In a handover related signaling, such as in corresponding X2 messages, a message type Information Element (IE) can be included comprising values as depicted in the following table 2. TABLE-US-00002 IE/Group IE type and Semantics Name Presence Range reference description Procedure M INTEGER "0" = Handover Code (0 . . . 255), [0117]; Table 2), wherein the type of the message comprises information indicating one of an initiating message, a successful message, or an unsuccessful message (the procedure code indication is set to "handover preparation" (0) and the type of message indication is set to "Initiating Message", [0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Thoralf and Sartori with the message type of Raaf to provide a method and a system for improving a recovery performance in a communication network when a radio link failure occurs in a link to a relay node as an extension of an access service subsystem as suggested, Raaf [0002].
Regarding claim 2, Thoralf as modified by Sartori and Raaf teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication type information indicates a message type related to an RIC service relayed to the RIC (Thoralf, slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication (subscription is report or insert) and Slice 19, Rest API subscription manager service).
Regarding claim 5, Thoralf as modified by Sartori and Raaf teaches the method of claim 1. Thoralf teaches wherein the RIC is a near real time (RT) RIC (Slice 12, RIC – near -RT RIC), and wherein the E2 node is one of an open radio access network (0-RAN) distributed unit (0-DU), an O-RAN central unit-control plane (0-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (0-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (0-eNB) (slice 7, Near-RT RIC within the O-RAN).
Regarding claim 6, Thoralf teaches a method performed by a radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC) (Slide 12 and 13, RT RIC within O-RAN alliance architecture), the method comprising:
receiving an RIC indication message from an E2 node (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC) via an E2 interface (Slide 2 showing E2 interface), wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication), and wherein the indication type information indicates one of an 'insert' type or a 'report' type (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication (Subscription, Report or insert)),
wherein the RIC indication message is transmitted based on detection of an event trigger configured by a previous successful RIC subscription procedure initiated by the RIC (detect trigger step 1 after the subscription procedure, Fig in page 13; RIC Event Trigger approach. Describes the approach to be used in RIC Subscription messages to set RIC Event Trigger Definition in the RAN Function. For example , the X2 interface RAN Function may support event triggers for a specific X2 interface (i.e. connected to a specific LTE eNB), for a given interface direction, interface Message type and one or more specific values in one or more nominated IEs (Information Elements), page 10),
wherein the procedure code value indicates an E2 application protocol (E2AP) procedure, including at least one of. RIC subscription, E2 setup, RIC indication, RIC control, RIC service update or RIC service query (indication (subscription, report), step 2 page 13).
However, Thoralf does not clearly teach wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information, a message type, an RIC request identifier (ID), and a RAN function ID.
In an analogous art, Sartori teaches wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information, a message type (The message may be customized in dependence upon a type of a radio access network function receiving the message, [0093], table of Fig. 8), an RIC request identifier (ID) (The message comprises information on the sender and the receiver of the message. The sender may be a CU-CP or a RIC and the receiver may be a CU-CP, CU-UP or a DU, [0093]), and a RAN function ID (An ECGI is used for identifying cells globally. An ECGI comprises a mobile country code, a mobile network code and an E-UTRAN cell identifier, [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Thoralf with the message parameter of Sartori to provide a method and a system with the advantage of a radio access network function comprising a broker for collecting and delivering information is that a radio access network function may comprise a plurality of machine learning algorithms that need the same data and with a broker function it may be avoided that each algorithm requests the same data separately as suggested, Sartori [0104].
However, Thoralf and Sartori do not teach wherein the procedure code value is set to a value from 0 to 255, wherein the type of the message comprises information indicating one of an initiating message, a successful message, or an unsuccessful message.
In an analogous art, Raaf teaches wherein the procedure code value is set to a value from 0 to 255 (In a handover related signaling, such as in corresponding X2 messages, a message type Information Element (IE) can be included comprising values as depicted in the following table 2. TABLE-US-00002 IE/Group IE type and Semantics Name Presence Range reference description Procedure M INTEGER "0" = Handover Code (0 . . . 255), [0117]; Table 2), wherein the type of the message comprises information indicating one of an initiating message, a successful message, or an unsuccessful message (the procedure code indication is set to "handover preparation" (0) and the type of message indication is set to "Initiating Message", [0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Thoralf and Sartori with the message type of Raaf to provide a method and a system for improving a recovery performance in a communication network when a radio link failure occurs in a link to a relay node as an extension of an access service subsystem as suggested, Raaf [0002].
Regarding claim 7, Thoralf as modified by Sartori and Raaf teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the indication type information indicates a message type related to an RIC service relayed to the RIC (Thoralf , Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication (subscription is report or insert) and Slice 19, Rest API subscription manager service).
Regarding claim 10, Thoralf as modified by Sartori and Raaf teaches the method of claim 6. Thoralf teaches wherein the RIC is a near real time (RT) RIC (Slice 12, RIC – near -RT RIC), and wherein the E2 node comprises an open radio access network (0-RAN) distributed unit (0-DU), an O-RAN central unit-control plane (0-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (0-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (0-eNB) (slice 7, Near-RT RIC within the O-RAN).
Regarding claim 11, Thoralf teaches an apparatus functioning as an E2 node (Slide 12 and 13, RT RIC within O-RAN alliance architecture), the apparatus comprising: at least one transceiver (E2 termination, slice 18); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver (E2 manager, slice 18), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit a radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC) indication message to an RIC (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC ) via an E2 interface (Slide 2 showing E2 interface), wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication), and wherein the indication type information indicates one of an 'insert' type or a 'report' type (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication (subscription is report or insert)),
wherein the RIC indication message is transmitted based on detection of an event trigger configured by a previous successful RIC subscription procedure initiated by the RIC (detect trigger step 1 after the subscription procedure, Fig in page 13; RIC Event Trigger approach. Describes the approach to be used in RIC Subscription messages to set RIC Event Trigger Definition in the RAN Function. For example , the X2 interface RAN Function may support event triggers for a specific X2 interface (i.e. connected to a specific LTE eNB), for a given interface direction, interface Message type and one or more specific values in one or more nominated IEs (Information Elements), page 10),
wherein the procedure code value indicates an E2 application protocol (E2AP) procedure, including at least one of. RIC subscription, E2 setup, RIC indication, RIC control, RIC service update or RIC service query (indication (subscription, report), step 2 page 13).
However, Thoralf does not clearly teach wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information, a message type, an RIC request identifier (ID), and a RAN function ID.
In an analogous art, Sartori teaches wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information, a message type (The message may be customized in dependence upon a type of a radio access network function receiving the message, [0093], table of Fig. 8), an RIC request identifier (ID) (The message comprises information on the sender and the receiver of the message. The sender may be a CU-CP or a RIC and the receiver may be a CU-CP, CU-UP or a DU, [0093]), and a RAN function ID (An ECGI is used for identifying cells globally. An ECGI comprises a mobile country code, a mobile network code and an E-UTRAN cell identifier, [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Thoralf with the message parameter of Sartori to provide a method and a system with the advantage of a radio access network function comprising a broker for collecting and delivering information is that a radio access network function may comprise a plurality of machine learning algorithms that need the same data and with a broker function it may be avoided that each algorithm requests the same data separately as suggested, Sartori [0104].
However, Thoralf and Sartori do not teach wherein the procedure code value is set to a value from 0 to 255, wherein the type of the message comprises information indicating one of an initiating message, a successful message, or an unsuccessful message.
In an analogous art, Raaf teaches wherein the procedure code value is set to a value from 0 to 255 (In a handover related signaling, such as in corresponding X2 messages, a message type Information Element (IE) can be included comprising values as depicted in the following table 2. TABLE-US-00002 IE/Group IE type and Semantics Name Presence Range reference description Procedure M INTEGER "0" = Handover Code (0 . . . 255), [0117]; Table 2), wherein the type of the message comprises information indicating one of an initiating message, a successful message, or an unsuccessful message (the procedure code indication is set to "handover preparation" (0) and the type of message indication is set to "Initiating Message", [0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Thoralf and Sartori with the message type of Raaf to provide a method and a system for improving a recovery performance in a communication network when a radio link failure occurs in a link to a relay node as an extension of an access service subsystem as suggested, Raaf [0002].
Regarding claim 12, Thoralf as modified by Sartori teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the indication type indicates a message type related to an RIC service relayed to the RIC (Thoralf , Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication (subscription is report or insert) and Slice 19, Rest API subscription manager service).
Regarding claim 15, Thoralf as modified by Sartori and Raaf teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Thoralf teaches wherein the RIC is a near real time (RT) RIC (Slice 12, RIC – near -RT RIC), and wherein the E2 node comprises an O-RAN distributed unit (0-DU), an O-RAN central unit-control plane (0-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (0-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (0-eNB) (slice 7, Near-RT RIC within the O-RAN).
Regarding claim 16, Thoralf teaches an apparatus functioning as a radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC) (Slide 12 and 13, RT RIC within O-RAN alliance architecture), the apparatus comprising: at least one transceiver (E2 termination, slice 18); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver (E2 manager, slice 18), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive an RIC indication message from an E2 node (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC) via an E2 interface (Slide 2 showing E2 interface) via an E2 interface (Slide 2 showing E2 interface), wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication), and wherein the indication type information indicates one of an 'insert' type or a 'report' type (Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication (subscription is report or insert)),
wherein the RIC indication message is transmitted based on detection of an event trigger configured by a previous successful RIC subscription procedure initiated by the RIC (detect trigger step 1 after the subscription procedure, Fig in page 13; RIC Event Trigger approach. Describes the approach to be used in RIC Subscription messages to set RIC Event Trigger Definition in the RAN Function. For example , the X2 interface RAN Function may support event triggers for a specific X2 interface (i.e. connected to a specific LTE eNB), for a given interface direction, interface Message type and one or more specific values in one or more nominated IEs (Information Elements), page 10),
wherein the procedure code value indicates an E2 application protocol (E2AP) procedure, including at least one of. RIC subscription, E2 setup, RIC indication, RIC control, RIC service update or RIC service query (indication (subscription, report), step 2 page 13).
However, Thoralf does not clearly teach wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information, a message type, an RIC request identifier (ID), and a RAN function ID.
In an analogous art, Sartori teaches wherein the RIC indication message comprises indication type information, a message type (The message may be customized in dependence upon a type of a radio access network function receiving the message, [0093], table of Fig. 8), an RIC request identifier (ID) (The message comprises information on the sender and the receiver of the message. The sender may be a CU-CP or a RIC and the receiver may be a CU-CP, CU-UP or a DU, [0093]), and a RAN function ID (An ECGI is used for identifying cells globally. An ECGI comprises a mobile country code, a mobile network code and an E-UTRAN cell identifier, [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Thoralf with the message parameter of Sartori to provide a method and a system with the advantage of a radio access network function comprising a broker for collecting and delivering information is that a radio access network function may comprise a plurality of machine learning algorithms that need the same data and with a broker function it may be avoided that each algorithm requests the same data separately as suggested, Sartori [0104].
However, Thoralf and Sartori do not teach wherein the procedure code value is set to a value from 0 to 255, wherein the type of the message comprises information indicating one of an initiating message, a successful message, or an unsuccessful message.
In an analogous art, Raaf teaches wherein the procedure code value is set to a value from 0 to 255 (In a handover related signaling, such as in corresponding X2 messages, a message type Information Element (IE) can be included comprising values as depicted in the following table 2. TABLE-US-00002 IE/Group IE type and Semantics Name Presence Range reference description Procedure M INTEGER "0" = Handover Code (0 . . . 255), [0117]; Table 2), wherein the type of the message comprises information indicating one of an initiating message, a successful message, or an unsuccessful message (the procedure code indication is set to "handover preparation" (0) and the type of message indication is set to "Initiating Message", [0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Thoralf and Sartori with the message type of Raaf to provide a method and a system for improving a recovery performance in a communication network when a radio link failure occurs in a link to a relay node as an extension of an access service subsystem as suggested, Raaf [0002].
Regarding claim 17, Thoralf as modified by Sartori and Cho teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the indication type indicates a message type related to an RIC service relayed to the RIC (Thoralf , Slide 13 Unit 2, indication sent by RAN to RIC, indication (subscription is report or insert) and Slice 19, Rest API subscription manager service).
Regarding claim 20, Thoralf as modified by Sartori and Raaf teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Thoralf teaches wherein the RIC is a near real time (RT) RIC (Slice 12, RIC – near -RT RIC), and wherein the E2 node comprises an O-RAN distributed unit (0-DU), an O-RAN central unit-control plane (0-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (0-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (0-eNB) (slice 7, Near-RT RIC within the O-RAN).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Barany et al. (US 20110268085 A1): Techniques for performing forward handover in a wireless communication system are disclosed. In one aspect, a user equipment (UE) transmits a connection request to a target eNodeB. The connection request may be transmitted when the UE detects a connection failure in a communication with a source eNodeB. The UE receives a connection response from the target eNodeB in response to the target eNodeB requesting handover preparation information from the source eNodeB. In another aspect, a target eNodeB may receive a connection request from a user equipment (UE) and transmit a radio link failure (RLF) recovery request message to a source eNodeB to prompt the source eNodeB to initiate handover of the UE from the source eNodeB.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641