DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is responsive to Election/Restriction filed 8/13/2025. Group I, claims 1-8 have been elected. Claims 9-20 have been canceled.
Claims 1-8 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner et al. (US 2023/0291544) hereinafter Turner, in view of Blaikie, III et al. (US 2022/0309541) hereinafter Blaikie, III.
In claim 1, Turner discloses “A method of minting a token on a blockchain, the method comprising:
storing a digital content item to an online storage directory that provides a content address for the digital content item ([0021] a non-fungible token that leverages blockchain and digital assets to interact with both the physical world and the digital world [0111] the first non-fungible token is stored at a first blockchain address on a blockchain. In an embodiment, at step 704, the client device 120 and/or 125 or the smart contract that generates that first non-fungible token may store the non-fungible token on a blockchain. For example, the non-fungible token may be recorded at a blockchain address of a blockchain 220 in the blockchain network 200 of FIG. 2. The entity that owns the private key corresponding to the blockchain address may access the non-fungible token at the blockchain address [0112] the client device 120/125 may access the first non-fungible token using the owner's private key that is associated with the blockchain address at which the first non-fungible token is stored. The owner of the first non-fungible token may then edit any of the first updatable programmable sections such that any of the first portion of the at least one of the first executable instructions or the first data is changed (e.g., deleted, updated, addition of new first executable instructions and/or data, and/or other changes), according to the grammar-based syntax standard, in the first updatable programmable section. For example, any of the data or instructions in the shareable field 808 of the non-fungible token 800 of FIG. 8 may be changed. Specifically, the API's or the data that may be shared with non-owners of the non-fungible token may be defined or changed);
storing a metadata file to the online storage directory, wherein contents of the metadata file ([0023] The non-fungible token that implements the programmable grammar-based syntax standard may form non-fungible token attribute associations to form the means of interconnectedness for interoperability to fulfill “Express” and “Suppress” modes of the shareability and associativity of the non-fungible tokens [0105] the identity of an entity may be provided by a digital certificate embedded in the first non-fungible token. The digital certificate proves the identity of the entity. The digital certificate is an electronic document used to prove ownership of the first non-fungible token, which may include information about the token, information about the identity of its owner (e.g., the entity/subject), and a digital signature of a second entity (e.g., an issuer) that has verified the contents of the digital certificate) include:
metadata associated with attributes of the digital content item, and rights information associated with ownership rights for the digital content item ([0097] A token may refer to an entry in the blockchain that belongs to a blockchain address. The entry may comprise information indicating ownership of an asset. The token may represent money, a contract, property, records, access rights, status, supply, demand, alarm, trigger, reputation, a ticket, or any other asset that may be represented in digital form. For example, a token may refer to an entry related to cryptocurrency that is used for a specific purpose or may represent ownership of a real-world asset, such as Fiat currency or real-estate. Token contracts refer to cryptographic tokens that represent a set of rules that are encoded in a smart contract. The person that owns the private key corresponding to the blockchain address may access the token(s) at the address. Thus, the blockchain address may represent an identity of the person that owns the token(s). Only the owner of the blockchain address may send the token to another person [0107] the programmable grammar-based syntax standard that enables the non-fungible token 800 may8/13/2025 include attributes of “who,” “what,” and “how,” which may be a requirement of the programmable grammar-based syntax standard to ensure that the non-fungible token defines these functions)”.
Turner does not appear to explicitly disclose however, Blaikie, III discloses “executing a smart contract on the blockchain to mint a token that represents the digital content item ([0133] the system tokenizes the event and information associated with the event (step 706). The system may create a token including the event and associated information [0134] the system communicates the tokens associated with the event (step 708). The user may request that the token be shared, embedded, or otherwise through any number of messages, applications (e.g., mobile applications, websites, browsers, etc.), or other devices, systems, or processes. The token may be downloaded or otherwise retrieved as minted [0136] associating the tokens with the user (step 802). In one embodiment, the token may be associated with the user during the creation or minting process. The token may be associated with the user based on sharing of the token. Based on user indication, confirmation, solicitation, monetization, matching, of the token. The token may also be associated with the user based on data solicitations or advertiser requests [0145] creating one or more tokens associated with a product or service and a user (step 1002). The token may include information specific to the product/service and/or the user. The one or more tokens may be associated with a smart contract. The token may be utilized to verify ownership based on a purchase. As a result, warranties, indemnifications, service options, additional content, rights, files, or additional information, data, services, and products may be made available to the owner/recipient of the token. The token may be verifiable transferred between owners with the associated bundle of rights. The token may represent a blockchain token, such as a nonfungible token), wherein executing the smart contract includes:
performing a mint function to mint the token to a receiver address on the blockchain ([0172] digital assets may be refined through resolution enhancement, file conversion, digital processing, and so forth. The system may utilize artificial intelligence or machine learning to perform face recognition, voice recognition, location recognition, biometrics, object recognition (e.g., equipment, instruments, vehicles, etc.), machine face recognitions, or other forms of identification of information associated with the asset or content. In one embodiment creators may upload assets, enhance the asset through creator tools used to document various aspects of the asset or data. The minting process tokenizes the asset, wraps it with metadata, attaches a smart contract, mints the tokenized asset to a private block creating an actual NFT, and provides an exchange/marketplace for the buying, selling, trading of the NFTs on the private block [0176] the systems mint the token (step 1510). The tokenization and minting process may be used across any digital asset such as an NFT or any virtual or real-world asset type, digital creations, data type and is used to convert any real world or digital asset into a tokenized crypto based asset. This process can be used to mint real world and digital collections of all types, real and digital assets, recorded on the blockchain);
storing a data block that encodes the contents of the metadata file along with the minted token to the blockchain ([0176] the systems mint the token (step 1510). The tokenization and minting process may be used across any digital asset such as an NFT or any virtual or real-world asset type, digital creations, data type and is used to convert any real world or digital asset into a tokenized crypto based asset. This process can be used to mint real world and digital collections of all types, real and digital assets, recorded on the blockchain. The digital assets, products, data, and files may be permanently stored and tracked in a distributed ledger or decentralized database that cannot be edited, modified, or deleted)”.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Turner and Blaikie, III, the suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide an improved system, method, network, and platform for tokenizing and monetizing an asset, data asset, or other event, goods, and services ([0047]).
In claim 2, Turner teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein the blockchain is part of an Ethereum platform, wherein executing the smart contract includes utilizing an Ethereum standard when minting the token to the receiver address on the blockchain, and wherein storing the data block that encodes contents of the metadata file includes storing the contents of the metadata file as tokenURI data to the Ethereum platform ([0098] a token may implement a token standard. For example, a token may be implemented according to the ERC-20 standard, the ERC-721 standard, the ERC-994 standard, the ERC-998 standard, the ERC-1155 standard, and/or any other token standard configured for the Ethereum blockchain network or other blockchain network that includes a virtual machine for executing contract bytecode on its blockchain. Each token standard may have different requirements of features that a token must have to be considered a token that implements that standard and that can be used by smart contracts or applications that also are generated according to the token standard. A fungible token is a token that is indistinguishable from another token of the same type while a non-fungible token would be a unique token that can be distinguished from another token. A token that implements the ERC-994 standard and the ERC-994 standard may be a non-fungible token and may be hierarchical with other tokens that implement the ERC-994 standard. In other words, the tokens may form a tree-like structure of parent/child non-fungible tokens. In yet other examples, tokens that implement the ERC-1155 standard may be minted from a single smart contract, rather than a smart contract for each token as is required in many of the other standards [0107] the identification field 802 and the certificate field 804 may prove the identity of the entity (e.g., “who”) associated with or that owns the non-fungible token 800. In a specific example, the entity that owns the non-fungible token 800 may be “ML_23”, as provided in the identifier field 802 and the certificate field 804 may include the digital certificate for the entity).
In claim 3, Turner teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein storing the data block that encodes contents of the metadata file includes storing the contents of the metadata file as a data blob to the blockchain ([0044] The blocks 305 may comprise a respective block data 375a, 375b, and 375c (generally referred to as block data 375). The block data 375 may comprise a record of validated transactions that have also been integrated into the blockchain network 200 via a consensus mode, the block data 375 may include a variety of different types of data in addition to validated transactions. Block data 375 may include any data, such as text, audio, video, image, or file, that may be represented digitally and stored electronically).
In claim 4, Turner teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein storing a metadata file to the online storage directory includes storing a .json file that includes an internal reference to one or more rights assigned to the digital content item ([0109] the QR code may be needed to unlock the non-fungible token 800 or otherwise access the permitted actions. The non-fungible token 800 may also include a signature 816 that is signed by private key and/or public key that is associated with the owner of the non-fungible token. The key usage should be clearly defined. According to A6 (Authentication, Attestation, Authorization, Access, Audit, and data Assertions), there may be six different forms of keys. The keys may also come in the form of a non-fungible token json format promising what it is used for and at what condition).
In claim 5, Turner teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein storing a metadata file to the online storage directory includes storing a .json file that includes a reference to an external contract that includes one or more rights assigned to the digital content item ([0109] the QR code may be needed to unlock the non-fungible token 800 or otherwise access the permitted actions. The non-fungible token 800 may also include a signature 816 that is signed by private key and/or public key that is associated with the owner of the non-fungible token. The key usage should be clearly defined. According to A6 (Authentication, Attestation, Authorization, Access, Audit, and data Assertions), there may be six different forms of keys. The keys may also come in the form of a non-fungible token json format promising what it is used for and at what condition).
In claim 6, Turner teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein the token is a non-fungible token (NFT) minted to an Ethereum blockchain ([0098] a token may implement a token standard. For example, a token may be implemented according to the ERC-20 standard, the ERC-721 standard, the ERC-994 standard, the ERC-998 standard, the ERC-1155 standard, and/or any other token standard configured for the Ethereum blockchain network or other blockchain network that includes a virtual machine for executing contract bytecode on its blockchain. Each token standard may have different requirements of features that a token must have to be considered a token that implements that standard and that can be used by smart contracts or applications that also are generated according to the token standard. A fungible token is a token that is indistinguishable from another token of the same type while a non-fungible token would be a unique token that can be distinguished from another token. A token that implements the ERC-994 standard and the ERC-994 standard may be a non-fungible token and may be hierarchical with other tokens that implement the ERC-994 standard. In other words, the tokens may form a tree-like structure of parent/child non-fungible tokens. In yet other examples, tokens that implement the ERC-1155 standard may be minted from a single smart contract, rather than a smart contract for each token as is required in many of the other standards).
In claim 7, Turner teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein the online storage directory is provided by a peer-to-peer (p2p) storage network ([0030] the distributed ledger in a blockchain framework is stored, maintained, and updated in a peer-to-peer network. In one example the distributed ledger maintains a number of blockchain transactions. FIG. 1 shows an example non-fungible token system 100 for facilitating a blockchain transaction. The non-fungible token system 100 may also comprise one or more distributed or peer-to-peer (P2P) networks, such as a first, second, and third blockchain network 130a-c (generally referred to as blockchain networks 130). As shown in FIG. 1, the network 140 may comprise the first and second blockchain networks 130a and 130b. The third blockchain network 130c may be associated with a private blockchain).
In claim 8, Turner teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein the metadata file is a .json formatted file referenced by a unique identifier within the executed smart contract ([0109] the QR code may be needed to unlock the non-fungible token 800 or otherwise access the permitted actions. The non-fungible token 800 may also include a signature 816 that is signed by private key and/or public key that is associated with the owner of the non-fungible token. The key usage should be clearly defined. According to A6 (Authentication, Attestation, Authorization, Access, Audit, and data Assertions), there may be six different forms of keys. The keys may also come in the form of a non-fungible token json format promising what it is used for and at what condition).
Claims 9-20 (Canceled)
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on 892 form.
Examiner’s Note: Examiner has cited particular figures, and paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested for the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Contact Information
/HUAWEN A PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169