DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to the amendment received 8/26/2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the drawings objections set forth in the previous office action.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the claim objections set forth in the previous office action except for the second claim objection to claim 19 & the claim objections to claims 34-35.
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112(b)/second paragraph rejections except for that to claim 12. The Examiner notes the 35 USC 112(b)/second paragraph rejection to claim 12 has not been addressed in the remarks/arguments.
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112(d)/fourth paragraph rejections.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “an exposed length of each rod” to - the exposed length of each rod of the plurality of rods- in ll. 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 34 & 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “operates” to -is configured to operate- as the claim is a system claim not a method and “operates” is an active verb. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “the bipolar voltage” to -the energy delivery generator is configured to generate a bipolar voltage-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 10-12, 16-17, 19-20, 24-35 & 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “non-ablative tissue penetration” in ll. 7 & 13. It is unclear if these are the same or different. For purposes of examination, they will be interpreted as being the same.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “an insertion depth” in ll. 8 and “a penetration depth” in ll. 13. It is unclear if the “insertion depth” and the “penetration depth” are the same or different. For purposes of examination, they will be interpreted as being the same.
Claims 4, 10-12, 16-17, 19-20, 24-35 & 37 depend from claim 1 and are thus also rejected.
Claim 12 recites “gauge tool or gauge feature” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10-12, 16-17, 19-20 & 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited), or, in the alternative, in view of Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Reimels (WO92/19167, previously cited) and Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited).
Concerning claims 1 & 16, as illustrated in at least Figs. 4A-9C, Herekar disclose an ablation system/device for the treatment of an eye to lower intraocular pressure (systems to treat glaucoma by lowering intraocular pressure and creating sclera vacuoles or widening sclera vacuoles; [0006], [0037], [0051], [0077]), the system/device comprising:
a handle (handpiece of probe in Fig. 9B);
an energy delivery generator (energy source may be selected from the group consisting of a laser energy source, an ultrasound energy source, an electroporation energy source, a microwave energy source, a thermal energy source, an electrical energy source, an electrophoretic energy source, and a di-electrophoretic energy source; [0026], [0036], [0077], [0185], [0211], [0315]);
an array of rods projecting from a distal end region of the handle and electrically-connected to the energy delivery generator (outputs may be radiofrequency electrodes and/or electroporation needles in a shaped array; [0165]), each rod of the array of rods includes a sharp tip or needle that enables non-ablative tissue penetration and an electrode element that delivers ablative energy (electroporation needles delivery electroporation energy to create vacuoles and are needles and thus capable of enabling non-ablative tissue penetration; [0165]);
wherein the array of rods is configured to penetrate an external surface of the eye via non-ablative tissue penetration up to a penetration depth (electroporation needles penetrate the tissue, where the treatment depth can be in a range of 0.1 cm to about 2.4 cm; [0165], [0201]), and
wherein the array of rods creates a plurality of cavities via ab externo tissue ablation (vacuoles in the sclera are generated with the energy delivered from the energy delivery elements that can be electroporation needles; [0037], [0051-0052], [0077], [0141], [0150], [0185], [0210]),
wherein each cavity of the plurality of cavities has a depth that is less than a thickness of a sclera of the eye leaving a membrane layer of scleral tissue that separates an interior of the eye from outside the eye (treatment region can be located in scleral tissue and can be about 0.25 to about 0.75 mm deep and can generate scleral vacuoles; [0150], [0153], [0209-0210]),
wherein the membrane layer has a resistance to aqueous humor diffusion that is lower than the resistance to aqueous humor diffusion of the sclera to enhance drainage of aqueous humor from the eye into the cavity (outcome of treatment is restoration of outflow via vacuoles in the sclera to increase outflow through the sclera in order to lower intraocular pressure; [0051], [0248]).
In the alternative, while Herekar teach electroporation rods comprising needles or shaped contact electrodes without needles in a shaped array ([0165]) and direct discussion of embodiments to laser energy sources, Reimels discloses an ablation system/device for glaucoma treatment comprising a rod (18) projecting from a distal end of handle (42) that is used to create a cavity (52) in a surface of the eye to enhance drainage of aqueous humor from the eye (Pg. 11-12, ll. 34-9). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Herekar such that the array of rods of Herekar is specifically configured to create cavities in the surface of the eye via ab externo tissue ablation to enhance drainage of aqueous humor from the eye in order to provide the benefit of also cauterizing bleeding from blood vessels in the puncture area as taught by Reimels. (Pg. 11-12, ll. 34-8; Fig. 1-4)
Herekar/Herekar in view of Riemels fail to disclose an adjustable depth setting mechanism configured to control an insertion depth of the array of rods, wherein the adjustable depth setting mechanism comprises a depth setting plate and an actuator coupled to the depth setting plate that is configured to incrementally change a position of the depth setting plate, wherein the array of rods is configured to penetrate the external surface of the eye via the non-ablative tissue penetration up to the penetration depth set by the depth setting mechanism, the depth setting plate comprises a plurality of openings extending through its thickness, each opening of the plurality of openings is sized and shaped to receive a respective rod of the array of rods so that the array of rods projects a distance distal to the depth setting plate. However, Lerner discloses a device for treatment of the eye comprising an adjustable depth-setting mechanism (9, 13) configured to control an insertion depth of a needle (11) that comprises an actuator (9) coupled to a depth setting plate (13) that is configured to incrementally change a position of the depth setting plate, wherein the needle (11) is configured to penetrate the external surface of the eye via the non-ablative tissue penetration up to the penetration depth set by the depth setting mechanism, the depth setting plate (13) comprising an opening sized and shaped to receive the needle (11) so that the needle (11) projects a distance distal to the depth setting plate (13). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Herekar/Herekar in view of Reimels to further comprise an adjustable depth setting mechanism configured to control an insertion depth of the array of rods, wherein the adjustable depth setting mechanism comprises a depth setting plate and an actuator coupled to the depth setting plate that is configured to incrementally change a position of the depth setting plate, wherein the array of rods is configured to penetrate the external surface of the eye via the non-ablative tissue penetration up to the penetration depth set by the depth setting mechanism, the depth setting plate comprises a plurality of openings extending through its thickness, each opening of the plurality of openings is sized and shaped to receive a respective rod of the array of rods so that the array of rods projects a distance distal to the depth setting plate in order to provide the benefit of controlling the maximum length of needle exposure during deployment as taught by Lerner. ([0206]; Fig. 19-20).
Concerning claim 4, Herekar disclose each cavity can be at least about 70%-90% the thickness of the sclera ([0069], [0201]).
Concerning claims 10-11, Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Riemels and Lerner fail to specifically disclose each rod of the array of rods is fixed relative to the distal end region of the handle so that the array of rods forms a footprint having a distal concave contour that complements an external convex contour of a portion of the eye being treated, wherein the footprint of the array of rods conforms generally to the external convex contour when a longitudinal axis of the handle is aligned perpendicular to a point of contact with the eye. However, Reimels further disclose the rod (18) is fixed relative to a distal end region of a handle (14) (Fig. 1) and disclose multiple treatment annuli forming a footprint on the distal surface that has a concave shape to engage the external convex contour of the eye, the footprint of the array conforming generally to the external convex contour when a longitudinal axis of the handle is aligned perpendicular to a point of contact with the eye ([0165], [0316]; Fig. 4C-5B & Fig. 9A). Thus, the modified invention Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Riemels and Lerner disclose each rod of the array of rods is fixed relative to the distal end region of the handle so that the array of rods forms a footprint having a distal concave contour that complements an external convex contour of a portion of the eye being treated, the footprint of the array conforms generally to the external convex contour when a longitudinal axis of the handle is aligned perpendicular to a point of contact with the eye. Or, in the alternative, based on the teachings of Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Riemels and Lerner it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Riemels and Lerner such that each rod of the array of rods is fixed relative to the distal end region of the handle so that the array of rods forms a footprint having a distal concave contour that complements an external convex contour of a portion of the eye being treated, the footprint of the array conforms generally to the external convex contour when a longitudinal axis of the handle is aligned perpendicular to a point of contact with the eye in order to provide the benefit of a shape that engages the eye as taught by Herekar.
Concerning claim 12, Herekar disclose a gauge tool or feature near a distal end of the device to align the array a selected distance from a limbus of the eye ([0321-0324]).
Concerning claim 17, Lerner further disclose a position of the plate (13) relative to the distal end region of a handle sets a length of the needle (11) that is exposed distal to the plate (13) ([0206]; Fig. 19-20).
Concerning claim 19¸Lerner further disclose actuating the actuator (9) to advance the depth setting plate (13) distally is configured to reduce an exposed length of the needle (11) wherein actuating the actuator (9) to retract the depth setting plate (13) proximally is configured to increase an exposed length of the needle (11) ([0206]; Fig. 19-20).
Concerning claim 20, Lerner further disclose the depth setting mechanism (9, 13) further comprises a locking mechanism (Back-stop) configured to fix a position of the plate (13) ([0206]; Fig. 19-20).
Concerning claim 32, Reimels et al. further disclose the energy generator is a bipolar RF generator (Pg. 5-6, ll. 29-14, Pg. 9, ll. 8-17).
Concerning claim 33, Reimels et al. further disclose the rod (18) contains two poles (20 & 24 or 12) (Pg. 5-6, ll. 29-14; Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited), or, in the alternative, in view of Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Reimels (WO92/19167, previously cited) and Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Yamamoto (2002/0072673, previously cited).
Concerning claim 24, Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Reimels and Lerner fail to disclose the one or more rods of the array to be hollow and usable as a flashback indicator for detecting liquid. However, Yamamoto disclose a hollow needle tip that can be used as a flashback indicator of aqueous humour. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Reimels and Lerner such that the one or more rods of the array to be hollow and usable as a flashback indicator for detecting liquid in order to provide the benefit of determining proper access of the tip as taught by Yamamoto. ([0101])
Claim(s) 25 & 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited), or, in the alternative, in view of Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Reimels (WO92/19167, previously cited) and Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Andino (2019/0307606, previously cited).
Concerning claim 25, Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Reimels and Lerner fail to disclose one or more rods of the array of rods is a depth sensor. However, Andino disclose a device for eye treatment where a rod (13966) is a depth sensor (13520, 13525). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Reimels and Lerner such that one or more rods of the array of rods is a depth sensor in order to provide the benefit of depth control as taught by Andino. ([0201]; Fig. 29-20)
Concerning claims 27¸ Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Reimels and Lerner fail to disclose the energy delivery generator is integrated into the handle or coupled to the handle by a cable. However, Andino disclose a device for eye treatment where an energy delivery generator (2650) can be included in a stand-alone housing or any portion of the device (2000) ([1115]). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Reimels and Lerner such that the energy delivery generator is integrated into the handle, since Applicant has not disclosed that the monopolar generator solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the energy source external to or integral with the handle as Andino energy sources external to or integral with the handle to be equivalents in the art for the purposes of treating eye tissue.
Concerning claim 28, Reimels et al. further disclose the energy generator is a RF generator (Pg. 5-6, ll. 29-14, Pg. 9, ll. 8-17).
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited), or, in the alternative, in view of Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Reimels (WO92/19167, previously cited), Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited) and Andino (2019/0307606, previously cited), as applied to claim 27, in further view of O’Brien, III et al. (9,629,991, previously cited).
Concerning claims 29-30, Herekar in view of Lerner and Andino et al./Herekar in view of Reimels, Lerner and Andino et al. disclose the energy delivery generator is integrated within a proximal portion of the handle as discussed in claim 27. Herekar in view of Lerner and Andino et al./Herekar in view of Reimels, Lerner and Andino et al. fail to disclose the proximal handle portion to be a reusable portion of the handle designed to operatively couple with a distal, disposable portion of the handle. However, O’Brien, III et al. disclose a treatment device a proximal, reusable portion of a handle (120), the reusable portion of the handle is (120) designed to operatively couple with a distal, disposable needle portion (160) of the handle (120) via attachment feature (170) that is a snap-fit type or threaded. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Herekar in view of Lerner and Andino et al./Herekar in view of Reimels, Lerner and Andino et al. such that the proximal handle portion is a reusable portion of the handle designed to operatively couple with a distal, disposable portion of the handle in order to provide the benefit of preventing contamination from one patient to another as taught by O’Brien, III et al. (Col. 1, ll. 25-40, Col. 4-5, ll. 64-11; Fig. 1)
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited), or, in the alternative, in view of Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Reimels (WO92/19167, previously cited) and Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Baerveldt et al. (2002/0111608, previously cited).
Concerning claim 31, Reimels et al. further disclose the energy generator is a RF generator (Pg. 5-6, ll. 29-14, Pg. 9, ll. 8-17), but Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Riemels and Lerner fail to disclose the energy delivery generator is a monopolar generator. However, Baerveldt et al. disclose an ablation device for eye treatment with an energy delivery generator that is either monopolar or bipolar ([0182]). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Riemels and Lerner such that the generator is a monopolar RF generator, since Applicant has not disclosed that the monopolar generator solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with either a monopolar or bipolar generator as Baerveldt et al. teaches monopolar and bipolar generators to be equivalents in the art for the purposes of ablating ocular tissue.
Claim(s) 34-35 & 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited), or, in the alternative, in view of Herekar (2018/0207029, previously cited) in view of Reimels (WO92/19167, previously cited) and Lerner (2013/0296825, previously cited), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Sanders et al. (2007/0161981, previously cited).
Concerning claims 34-35 & 37, Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Riemels and Lerner fail to disclose the frequency of the generator being in the range of about 350kHz to 500 kHz, and specifically at 490 kHz, and the bipolar voltage to be under 1000V. However, Sanders et al. disclose an ablation system/device (30) for treatment of the eye comprising an energy delivery generator (48) that is a bipolar RF generator configured to operate at a frequency in the range of about 350 kHz to 500 kHz, and specifically at 490 kHz, and the bipolar voltage to be under 1000V ([0039-0040]; Fig. 3) that volumetrically removes and destroys eye tissue to form holes, channels, divots, or other spaces on the trabecular meshwork ([0029]). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Herekar in view of Lerner/Herekar in view of Riemels and Lerner such that the frequency of the generator being in the range of about 350kHz to 500 kHz, and specifically at 490 kHz, and the bipolar voltage to be under 1000V in order to provide the benefit of an energy frequency capable of creating the desired vacuoles for treatment as taught by Sanders et al. ([0029])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments files 8/26/2026 regarding the 35 USC 102 rejection are moot as the rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, the Examiner notes that the previous rejection cited a 35 USC 102 rejection to Herekar and, in the alternative, a 35 USC 103 rejection to Herekar in view of Riemels. The Examiner notes no arguments were presented with respect to the 102 rejection.
Herekar teaches “treat[ing] scleral tissue of the eye to provide vacuoles in the sclera and increase outflow through the sclera in order to lower intraocular pressure” ([0051]) and “treat[ing[ the eye in order to increase an angle of the eye, dilating and stretching one or more of the trabecular meshwork or Schlemm's canal, increasing porosity of the sclera and dilating the perilimbic sclera” ([0052]) with energy delivery members that can be “electroporation needles can be provided with a shaped array having four quadrants sized to extend through the conjunctiva and deliver electroporation energy beneath the conjunctiva” ([0165]). Par. [0077] also provides support for an electrical energy source/electroporation energy source to “generate vacuoles or increase a size of vacuoles in a sclera of the eye…[t]he energy source may be configured to generate vacuoles and/or increase a size of vacuoles in a sclera of the eye radially outward from the second plurality of treatment locations in order to increase uveal scleral outflow of the eye”. Herekar further teaches various treatment depths in Par. [0201]. Thus, Herekar alone anticipates the claim limitations relating to the array of rods penetrating the eye surface and creating cavities via ab externo tissue ablation.
In the alternative, since Herekar directing discussion of embodiments to laser energy sources, Riemels is cited as a secondary reference, where Riemels teaches an electrode rod capable of creating a cavity in the eye, where the electrode needle provides the benefit of cauterizing bleeding from blood vessels in the needle puncture area (Pg. 11-12, ll. 34-8; Fig. 1-4).
In response to applicant's argument that Riemels teaches the penetrating the full thickness of the sclera, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Riemels is not used to teach the depth of needle penetration, but rather that an electrode needle is capable of creating the vacuoles of Herekar.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that “Herekar teaches avoiding any cuts in the eye when creating vacuoles inside the sclera”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Herekar clearly teaches electroporation needles as an embodiment for energy delivery members ([0165]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAYMI E DELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
JAYMI E. DELLA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3794