DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferris et al. (USPUB 2020/0220373).
As to Claim 1, Ferris discloses an RFID device comprising: a case including a rotation mechanism (Figure 7); an antenna disposed in the case (Paragraph 28); and a cylindrical power receiving coil disposed in the case away from the antenna and extending in an axial direction of the rotation mechanism, and connected to a power receiver configured to charge a battery (Paragraph 31).
As to Claim 2, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein: the power receiving coil is disposed coaxially with a rotation axis of the rotation mechanism, and a diameter of the power receiving coil is smaller than a diameter of a cylindrical power transmitting coil that is configured to perform non-contact charging with the power receiving coil (Figure 7).
As to Claim 3, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 2, further comprising: a cut-off circuit configured to cut off power supply from the battery to an RFID module connected to the antenna when the power receiving coil receives power from the power transmitting coil (Paragraphs 45-46).
As to Claim 4, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 3, further comprising: a communication interface configured to transmit information read by the RFID module to the outside, wherein the battery, the power receiver, the RFID module, and the communication interface are provided in the case (Paragraph 32).
As to Claim 5, Ferris discloses a non-contact charging system, comprising: the RFID device according to claim 1; and a cylindrically formed power transmitting table including a power transmitting device, the power transmitting device including a power transmitting coil and a power transmitting circuit, and enabling the RFID device to be disposed therein (Paragraph 31).
As to Claim 6, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the RFID device includes a ferrule (Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferris.
As to Claim 7, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the RFID device further comprises a plurality of housings. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a plurality of housings for components, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
As to Claim 8, Ferris disclose the device according to claim 7, but does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of housings includes a first housing formed of resin. However, the Examiner takes official notice that resin is well known in the art, and one having routine skill in the art would look to use resin for its non-conductive properties.
As to Claim 9, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of housings includes a first housing having a tubular shape (Figure 7).
As to Claim 10, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of housings includes a first housing which accommodates the antenna and the power receiving coil (Figure 2 and 7).
As to Claim 11, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 7, but does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of housings includes a first housing having an outer shape having a spherical shape, a polygonal columnar shape, or a gourd shape. However, changing shape only requires routine skill in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art would select a shape that provides a mating surface for the device. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47, 50 (CCPA 1966). See also Glue Co. v. Upton 97 US 3,24 (USSC 1878).
As to Claim 12, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of housings includes a first housing, a second housing and third housing, the first housing contacting the third housing, the second housing disposed between the first housing and the third housing (Figure 6, Elements 100, 200, and 300).
As to Claim 13, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of housings includes a first housing, a second housing and a third housing, the first housing (Figure 6, Element 100) including one or more insertion portions arranged to insert into one or more respective grooves of the third housing (Element 200).
As to Claim 14, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 13, but does not expressly disclose wherein the first housing includes a guide display arranged adjacent to the one or more insertion portions. However, the Examiner takes official notice that a guide is well known in the art, and one having routine skill in the art would add a guide display in order to assist the user in alignment of the components.
As to Claim 15, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 7, but does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of housings includes a first housing having a rib formed integrally on an upper surface of a bottom portion of the first housing. However, changing shape only requires routine skill in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art would select a shape that provides a mating surface for the device. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47, 50 (CCPA 1966). See also Glue Co. v. Upton 97 US 3,24 (USSC 1878).
As to Claim 16, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of housings includes a first housing and a second housing, wherein an outer diameter of the second housing is less than an inner diameter of the first housing (Figure 6).
As to Claim 17, Ferris discloses the device according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of housings includes a first housing, a second housing and a third housing, the third housing having a shaft portion and a bearing member which form the rotation mechanism (Figure 6, Element 100 (now viewed as third housing)).
As to Claim 18, Ferris disclose a system including: the RFID device of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the RFID device is mounted on the white cane. However, the changing of size, shape, and color, only require routine skill in the art, and one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention would look to add the RFID device to a cane in order to allow for control and charging of cane with the charger of Ferris.
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859