Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
On pages 8-9, applicant argues that Su fails to disclose the color of light emitted from each of the housings is the same color of light emitted from respective LEDs. While Su may fail to disclose such detail, the Applicant failed to look at the reference as a whole. Nelson discloses in column 14, lines 20-25, an LED that may be housed by an LED housing formed from transparent material. Also, column 8, lines 45-50, discloses that the LED are capable of producing a full range of colors. Therefore, is the LED are position in the cavity of a transparent housing that emits colored light, the same light will be emitted through the transparent housing. In addition, it is noted that Applicant admits that Su does teach a polarizer within the housing atop a solid intermediate on page 8 of arguments.
Applicant argues on page 10, that Nelson fails to disclose a resin as the solid material filling the housing. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Nelson discloses in column 14, lines 50-53, epoxy formed or other rigid material within the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 39 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the first layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18, 23, 25-30, 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100231701 A1-Nelson, in view of WO 2011060511-Besloten et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Besloten”), in further view of US 20100277887 A1-Su
Regarding claim 18, Nelson discloses a method of manufacturing a stereoscopic display system having a matrix of first and second differently polarized light emitting housings (Abstract), comprising;
providing within each of the housings of the first set with a first polarizing element disposed above a first light transmission element ([0102-0105], wherein Led’s have a housing shown in fig 8b and 8c, element 835; The light transmission element which are LED’s are shown in Fig. 8b, element 830 which are within the housing of element 835 shown in both figs. 8b-8d. Also each of the housing, 835 has a polarizer, element 840 positioned on top of the LED as shown in fig. 8c, wherein element 840 is on top of element 835);
wherein the first polarizing element is disposed within the cavity of the first set ([0102-0105], wherein Led’s have a housing shown in fig 8b and 8c, element 835; The light transmission element which are LED’s are shown in Fig. 8b, element 830 which are within the housing of element 835 shown in both figs. 8b-8d. Also each of the housing, 835 has a polarizer, element 840 positioned on top of the LED as shown in fig. 8c, wherein element 840 is on top of element 835; (Fig 8d shows an integrated polarizer within a wall. IF the polarizer is integrated within the walls, then it extends to the wall cavity);
providing each of the housings of the second set with a second polarizing element disposed above a second light transmission element ([0102-0105], wherein Led’s have a housing shown in fig 8b and 8c, element 835; The light transmission element which are LED’s are shown in Fig. 8b, element 830 which are within the housing of element 835 shown in both figs. 8b-8d. Also each of the housing, 835 has a polarizer, element 840 positioned on top of the LED as shown in fig. 8c, wherein element 840 is on top of element 835. The examiner notes that Fig. 8d shows a first and a second polarizing elements);
wherein the first polarizing element is disposed within the cavity of the first set ([0102-0105], wherein Led’s have a housing shown in fig 8b and 8c, element 835; The light transmission element which are LED’s are shown in Fig. 8b, element 830 which are within the housing of element 835 shown in both figs. 8b-8d. Also each of the housing, 835 has a polarizer, element 840 positioned on top of the LED as shown in fig. 8c, wherein element 840 is on top of element 835; (Fig 8d shows an integrated polarizer within a wall. IF the polarizer is integrated within the walls, then it extends to the wall cavity);
providing each of the housings of the first set and each of the housings of the second set with a unitary material body ([0105], wherein in exemplary cases, the first button polarizers are substantially keyed with the individual LEDs from among the first subset of the LEDs, and the second button polarizers are substantially keyed with the individual LEDs from among the second subset of the LEDs) , and;
positioning multiple ones of the first and second sets of light emitting packages in the matrix (abstract) such that when the matrix is viewed through glasses with corresponding polarizing lenses ([0056], wearing glasses with matching polarizing lenses; [0078], Fig. 4b), a viewer perceives an image displayed by the matrix as a three dimensional image ([0105], wherein displaying 3D content).
a first and second (Light Emitting Diode (LED) configured to emit a first and second color of light, respectively, through the first solid intermediate and the first polarizing element such that each of the first and second set of light emitting housings emits the first and second color of light (column 14, lines 20-25, an LED that may be housed by an LED housing formed from transparent material. Also, column 8, lines 45-50, discloses that the LED are capable of producing a full range of colors. Therefore, is the LED are position in the cavity of a transparent housing that emits colored light, the same light will be emitted through the transparent housing)
Nelson fails to explicitly disclose in detail providing each of the housings of the first set and each of the housings of the second set with a unitary material body which includes a cavity; disposing within the respective cavities of each of the housings, a polarizing element and first light transmission element
However, in the same field of endeavor, Besloten discloses providing each of the housings of the first set and each of the housings of the second set with a unitary material body which includes a cavity (Fig. 2, claim 7, wherein polarizer is integrated inside the housing of the light emitting element) disposing within the respective cavities of each of the housings, a polarizing element and first light transmission element ( discloses a housing that contains a polarizing element and LED (light transmission element) as shown in Fig. 2. B discloses in page 7, lines 10-15, wherein every pixel 2 is provided with a polarizer 6 which polarizes the emitted light of the light-emitting element 3 in a specific direction. On page 9, lines 17-20, Besloten discloses that the polarizer 6 may be generated in the housing of the pixel 2. Therefore, Besloten does disclose disposing within the respective cavities of each of the housings, a polarizing element and first light transmission element.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Nelson to disclose providing each of the housings of the first set and each of the housings of the second set with a unitary material body which includes a cavity as taught by Besloten, to easily and cost effectively to implement (page 5, lines 8-11).
Nelson and Besloten fail to explicitly disclose in detail wherein each of the polarizing elements is disposed atop a solid intermediate and above a light transmission element.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Su discloses wherein each of the polarizing elements is disposed atop a solid intermediate and above a light transmission element ([0034], Fig. 1 shows a polarization layer 140 on top of a solid surface 128 and the polarization layer is above the LED chip l04; Su discloses in [0025], as shown in fig. 1, an LED chip, element 104. This is the first light transmission element. A polarization layer 140 (this the polarizing element), which is clearly shown to be above the first light transmission element. Su further discloses in fig. 1, [0034], that the polarizing element, 140 is formed over a surface (atop a solid intermediate). In addition, Fig. 3 shows a top surface 128 of a solid substrate, 122, where a polarizing element, 140 is formed as taught in [0035])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Nelson and Besloten to disclose Su discloses wherein each of the polarizing elements is disposed atop a solid intermediate and above a light transmission element as taught by Su, doing so would have been obvious because the design incentives.
Regarding claim 23, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18 , further comprising bonding a diffuser between at least one of the first LED and least one of the first polarizing elements ([0006], wherein diffuser is disposed between led and polarizer).
Regarding claim 25, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18 wherein the matrix is a checkerboard pattern ([0086], checker board alignment).
Regarding claim 26, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18 wherein the matrix comprises rows of the first set of light emitting housings alternating with rows of the second set of light emitting housings ([0095], alternating row arrangement).
Regarding claim 27, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising providing at least some of the first and second sets of polarizing light emitting housings with visually distinguishable markings (Fig. 8b shows key marks. In fact, [0104], discloses a left and right polarizers fitted to a led having a facing key).
Regarding claim 28, Nelson discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising using the visually distinguishable markings to aid in placement of at least some of the first and second sets of light emitting housings within the matrix ([0104]).
Regarding claim 29, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising removing members of the first set of light emitting housings from a first carrier tape, and removing members of the second set of light emitting housings from a second carrier tape, different from the first carrier tape ([0102, wherein the examiner takes official notice as it is well known that carrier tape is a supplementary product for the electronic packaging industry used to protect electronic components ).
Regarding claim 30, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the step of positioning comprises choosing members of both the first and second sets of light emitting housings from a single carrier tape ([0102, wherein the examiner takes official notice as it is well known that carrier tape is a supplementary product for the electronic packaging industry used to protect electronic components).
Regarding claim 35, Nelson discloses the method of Claim 18 wherein the first polarizing element comprises a circular polarizer ([0040]).
Regarding claim 36, Nelson discloses the method of Claim 18 wherein the solid intermediate is selected from the group consisting of a resin and an adhesive ([0103], adhesive layer and epoxy, which is a type of resin).
Claims 19-20, 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100231701 A1-Nelson, in view of WO 2011060511-Besloten et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Besloten, in further view of US 20130015482 A1-Su, in view of US 20120182495 A1-Yokogawa et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Yoko”).
Regarding claim 19, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18 (see claim 18. The examiner notes that Nelson also discloses individual polarizers with individual Leds in [0007]),
Nelson and Besloten fail to explicitly disclose in detail wherein at least one of the housings of the first set includes a third polarizing element disposed above a third LED
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoko discloses wherein at least one of the housings of the first set includes a third polarizing element disposed above a third light transmission element (Fig 15, [0144-0145], wherein each light emitting element emits polarized light (three). It would be obvious that each light emitting element contains a polarizing element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Nelson and Besloten to disclose wherein at least one of the housings of the first set includes a third polarizing element disposed above a third light transmission element as taught by Yoko, to improve light utilization efficiency ([0017], Yoko).
Regarding claim 20, Yoko discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the first color of light is different from the second color ([0003], wherein it is possible to produce an LED that emits any wavelength that is selected from the entire visible light range).
Regarding claim 31, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18,
Nelson and Besloten fail to explicitly disclose in detail wherein different ones of the first light transmission elements are different RGBY semi-conductors.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoko discloses wherein multiple ones of the first set of light emitting housing include different colord RGBY semi-conductors ([0003], wherein any wavelength is selected from the entire visible light range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Nelson to disclose wherein multiple ones of the first set of light emitting housing include different colord RGBY semi-conductors as taught by Yoko, to improve light utilization efficiency ([0017], Yoko).
Regarding claim 32, Nelson disclose the method of claim 18,
Nelson fails to disclose in detail wherein different ones of the first light transmission elements are different RGBW semi-conductors
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoko disclose wherein wherein multiple ones of the first set of light emitting housing include different colored RGBW semi-conductors ([0003], wherein any wavelength is selected from the entire visible light range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Nelson and Besloten to disclose wherein multiple ones of the first set of light emitting housing include different colord RGBY semi-conductors as taught by Yoko, to improve light utilization efficiency ([0017], Yoko).
Claims 21 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100231701 A1-Nelson, in view of WO 2011060511-Besloten et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Besloten, in further view of US 20130015482 A1-Su, in view of US 20100219251 A1-Decoux et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Dec”).
Regarding claim 21, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18, see claim 18 The examiner notes that Nelson also discloses individual polarizers with individual Leds in [0007]),
Nelson and Besloten fail to explicitly disclose in detail wherein at least one of the housings of the first set includes a third polarizing element disposed above a third LED, and a fourth polarizing element disposed above a fourth LED.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dec discloses wherein at least one of the housings of the first set includes a third polarizing element disposed above a third light transmission element, and a fourth polarizing element disposed above a fourth light transmission element ([0054], Fig. 6, shows 5 LEDS with 5 polarizers disposed above the Leds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Nelson and Besloten to disclose in detail wherein at least one of the housings of the first set includes a third polarizing element disposed above a third light transmission element, and a fourth polarizing element disposed above a fourth light transmission element Dec. The design incentive of solving the problem of efficiency would have prompted one of ordinary skilled in the art to implement a predictable variation of the prior art system of Nelson by applying a known principle of adding multiple LEDs to a lighting device disclosed in Dec ([0019]). Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in a different one based on design incentives.
Regarding claim 22, Dec the method of claim 21, wherein the first, third and fourth LED emit red light, green light, and blue light, respectively ([0061]).
Claim 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100231701 A1-Nelson, in view of WO 2011060511-Besloten et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Besloten, in further view of US 20130015482 A1-Su, in view of US 20150301253 A1-Henry.
Regarding claim 24, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18,
Nelson and Besloten fail to disclose providing at least one of the first polarizing elements with a downward facing abraded surface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Henry discloses providing at least one of the first polarizing elements with a downward facing abraded surface (abstract, wherein an impregnated polarizer layer contains an applied light curable primer. An abrasion resistant protective composition is applied to the cured primer layer that is applied to the polarized layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Nelson and Besloten to disclose providing at least one of the first polarizing elements with a downward facing abraded surface as taught by Henry, to reduce delamination errors and reducing the opportunity for defects due to deposition of dust or particulates while the primer is drying ([0003], Henry).
Claim 33 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100231701 A1-Nelson, in view of WO 2011060511-Besloten et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Besloten, in further view of US 20130015482 A1-Su, in view of US 20050052863 A1-Kim et al (hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
Regarding claim 33, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18 ,
Nelson and Besloten fail to explicitly disclose in detail wherein at least one of the first light transmission elements is an infrared emitting semi-conductor.
However in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses wherein multiple ones of the first set of light emitting housing include infrared emitting semi-conductor ([0005], in the above semiconductor (light emitting diode), various wavelength such as infrared lights are manufactured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Nelson and Besloten to disclose wherein multiple ones of the first set of light emitting housing include infrared emitting semi-conductor as taught by Kim, to obtain a desired compatibility of LEDs on a printed circuit board ([0015], Kim).
Claim 34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100231701 A1-Nelson, in view of WO 2011060511-Besloten et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Besloten, in further view of US 20130015482 A1-Su, in view of US 20110182151 A1-Geyer et al (hereinafter referred to as “Geyer”).
Regarding claim 34, Nelson discloses the method of claim 18,
Nelson and Besloten fail to explicitly disclose wherein multiple ones of the first set of light emitting housing include a quantum dot semi-conductor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Geyer discloses wherein multiple ones of the first set of light emitting housing include a quantum dot semi-conductor ([0082], wherein leds are quantum point LEDs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Nelson and Besloten to disclose wherein multiple ones of the first set of light emitting housing include a quantum dot semi-conductor as taught by Geyer. One of ordinary skilled in the would have applied the known improvement of a quantum dot Led of Geyer in the same way to the LED of Nelson and the results would have been predictable because Geyer teaches that the use of a quantum dot LED converts one wavelength into another, therefore, increasing the contrast of materials ([0088], Geyer).
Claim(s) 37, 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100231701 A1-Nelson, in view of WO 2011060511-Besloten et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Besloten”), in further view of US 20100277887 A1-Su, in view of US 20060073625 A1-Harada)
Regarding claim 37, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 18 and are applicable for claim 37, wherein a solid intermediate disposed within housing (Nelson discloses in Fig. 8c, that a light transmission element, 835, is distanced from a solid surface, 848; Nelson discloses in column 14, lines 50-53, epoxy formed or other rigid material within the housing.).
Nelson, Besloten, and Su fail to explicitly disclose that the solid material fills the cavity and is distance away from the LED.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Harada discloses a solid layer of material distanced from the led ([0092], wherein Fig 4 shows a resin molded member element 33 being distanced from the Led 14, disposed in the cavity of a shell shaped led housing)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Nelson, Besloten, and Su to disclose that the solid material fills the cavity and is distance away from the LED.as taught by Harada to improve light extraction efficiency ([0037], Harada).
Regarding claim 39, Nelson discloses the method of Claim 27, wherein the first layer of material comprises a resin (column 14, lines 50-53, epoxy formed or other rigid material within the housing).
Conclusion
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487