DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated March 31, 2026, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10-12 and 16-18 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claims are rejected using newly cited references of Kwasnick et al. US20170355275A1 (hereinafter “Kwas”) in view of Wang et al. US20190319496A1 as detailed further below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwasnick et al. US20170355275A1 (hereinafter “Kwas”) in view of Wang et al. US20190319496A1.
Regarding claim 1. Kwas discloses a vehicle charging system configured to wirelessly charge a battery of a vehicle (¶1), the vehicle having a movable receiver coil (104) (¶22-23), the system comprising:
an inductive coil (102) coupled to or positioned on a ground when the vehicle is in a charging position (FIG. 5A-5B) and configured to be lowered and raised (FIGS. 5A/B; ¶20-21) and provide an alternating magnetic field directly to the movable receiver coil to charge the battery of the vehicle (¶54 – transmission unit 102 includes a number of coils106 to send power to the power receiving unit 104)
an adjustable arm (FIGS. 6A/B – actuation subsystem 140) coupled to the vehicle (502) and the movable receiver coil (104) and configured to lower and raise the movable receiver coil (¶83 – actuation subsystem 140 raises and lowers the receiving unit 104);
a sensor (120/438) configured to detect a position of the movable receiver coil and the inductive coil (¶74 – indication of distance and/or alignment of the power transmission unit and the power receiving unit 104)
a processor (¶47 – configurable circuit 130 includes one or more processors) coupled to the inductive coil (102), the adjustable arm (140), and the sensor (120/438), the processor (147/132) being configured to:
determine a charging request (FIG. 11 at 1104 – receive signal; ¶96 – the receiving of a signal by the inductive power transfer control circuit 132 constitutes a charging request), and
in response to the charging request, control the adjustable arm to lower or raise from the vehicle (FIG. 11 at 1108 – control output to actuation subsystem; ¶98-99 – data is transferred to position the transmission unit 102 and receiving unit 104). and the inductive coil to lower or raise from the ground simultaneously with the adjustable arm.(¶50 – actuation subsystem 140 displaces the transmission and receiving unit; ¶98 – transmission unit and receiving unit are moved with respect to each other) so that the distance between the inductive coil and the movable receiver coil is reduced or increased to increase the charging efficiency factor (¶100 – distance may be selected to maximize the efficiency between the power transmission unit 102 and the power receiving unit 104).
Although Kwas discloses maximizing the efficiency, Kwas does not explicitly disclose detect a charging efficiency factor of the movable receiver coil based on a distance between the movable receiver coil and the inductive coil, the charging efficiency factor indicating efficiency of a generated electrical charge from the inductive coil to the movable receiver coil.
Wang discloses to detect a charging efficiency factor of the receiver coil based on a distance between the movable receiver coil and the inductive coil (¶36 – acquire charging quality of the wireless charging receiver at a preset position), the charging efficiency factor indicating efficiency of a generated electrical charge from the inductive coil to the movable receiver coil.(¶5 – the charging quality including charging efficiency).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the coils of Kwas to an optimal position, as taught by Wang, in order to improve the power exchange (Wang; ¶46).
Regarding claim 2. Kwas discloses that the charging request is based on the detected position of the movable receiver coil such that the position indicates a distance between the inductive coil and the movable receiver coil (¶95 – spacing between power transmission unit and the power receiving unit is maintained at a defined distance which is selected to maximize the efficiency),
Kwas does not explicitly disclose that the charging request initiated in response to the distance being within a threshold distance.
Wang discloses that the charging request initiated in response to the distance being within a threshold distance (¶5 – charging at the corrected position).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the coils of Kwas to an optimal position, as taught by Wang, in order to improve the power exchange (Wang; ¶46).
Regarding claim 5. Kwas discloses that the adjustable arm is coupled to a servomotor configured to lower and raise the movable receiver coil (¶22-23 actuation system raises and lower the receiving unit).
Regarding claim 6. Kwas discloses that the adjustable arm is a hydraulic arm (¶53 – hydraulically operated system).
Regarding claim 7. Kwas discloses that the movable receiver coil (104) is housed in a protective housing (FIG. 1B illustrates a housing surrounding the coils).
Regarding claim 8, Kwas discloses a charging pad, wherein the inductive coil is disposed within the charging pad (FIG. 1A- the surface of transmission unit 102).
Regarding claim 9. Kwas discloses that the movable receiver coil is configured to convert the alternating magnetic field into an electric current that charges the battery of the vehicle (¶78 – power receiver includes rectifiers 430 to convert AC to recharge the batteries).
Regarding claim 11. Kwas discloses a receiving assembly (104) of a vehicle charging system, the vehicle charging system being configured to wirelessly charge a battery of a vehicle (FIG. 4), the receiving assembly comprising:
a movable receiver coil (104) disposed on a bottom surface of the vehicle (FIG. 6A/6B) and configured to convert an alternating magnetic field into an electric current to charge the battery of the vehicle (¶78 – power receiver includes rectifiers 430 to convert AC to recharge the batteries);
a sensor (120/438) configured to detect a position of the movable receiver coil (¶74 – indication of distance and/or alignment of the power transmission unit and the power receiving unit 104) the inductive coil being coupled to or positioned on a ground when the vehicle is in a charging position,
an adjustable arm (FIGS. 6A/B – actuation subsystem 140) coupled to the movable receiver coil (104), the adjustable arm configured to descend the movable receiver coil toward the inductive coil (FIGS. 6A/B), the inductive coil (102) being configured to be lowered and raised (FIGS. 5A/B; ¶20-21) from the ground simultaneously with the adjustable arm .(¶50 – actuation subsystem 140 displaces the transmission and receiving unit; ¶98 – transmission unit and receiving unit are moved with respect to each other) so that the distance between the inductive coil and the movable receiver coil is reduced or increased to increase the charging efficiency factor (¶100 – distance may be selected to maximize the efficiency between the power transmission unit 102 and the power receiving unit 104) and directly provide the alternating magnetic field to the movable receiver coil to charge the battery of the vehicle (¶78 – power receiving unit 104 includes receiving coils 404 that induce current produced by the power transmission unit 102).
Although Kwas discloses maximizing the efficiency, Kwas does not explicitly disclose detect a charging efficiency factor of the movable receiver coil based on a distance between the movable receiver coil and an inductive coil, and the charging efficiency factor indicating efficiency of a generated electrical charge from the inductive coil to the movable receiver coil.
Wang discloses to detect a charging efficiency factor of the receiver coil based on a distance between the movable receiver coil and the inductive coil (¶36 – acquire charging quality of the wireless charging receiver at a preset position), the charging efficiency factor indicating efficiency of a generated electrical charge from the inductive coil to the movable receiver coil.(¶5 – the charging quality including charging efficiency)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the coils of Kwas to an optimal position, as taught by Wang, in order to improve the power exchange (Wang; ¶46).
Regarding claim 12. Kwas discloses that the receiving assembly is coupled to a processor (¶47 – configurable circuit 130 includes one or more processors) , the processor configured to:
determine a charging request (FIG. 11 at 1104 – receive signal; ¶96 – the receiving of a signal by the inductive power transfer control circuit 132 constitutes a charging request) , and
in response to the charging request, control the adjustable arm and the inductive coil to lower or raise (FIG. 11 at 1108 – control output to actuation subsystem; ¶98-99 – data is transferred to position the transmission unit 102 and receiving unit 104) so that the distance between the inductive coil and the movable receiver coil is reduced or increased to provide an optimal charge for the battery of the vehicle based on the charging efficiency factor (¶100 – distance may be selected to maximize the efficiency between the power transmission unit 102 and the power receiving unit 104).
Regarding claim 13. Kwas discloses the adjustable arm is configured to position the movable receiver coil within a threshold distance of the inductive coil (¶95 – spacing between power transmission unit and the power receiving unit is maintained at a defined distance which is selected to maximize the efficiency).
Regarding claim 14. Kwas discloses that the adjustable arm is configured to move the movable receiver coil in a vertical direction and/or perpendicular to a plane of a charging pad located below the vehicle, the charging pad configured to house the inductive coil (FIGS. 6A/6B).
Regarding claim 15. Kwas discloses a protective housing configured to house the movable receiver coil (FIG. 1B illustrates a housing surrounding the coils).
Regarding claim 16. Kwas discloses a method for wirelessly charging a vehicle, comprising:
determining a charging request (FIG. 11 at 1104 – receive signal; ¶96 – the receiving of a signal by the inductive power transfer control circuit 132 constitutes a charging request);
detecting, using a sensor (120/438), a position of a movable receiver coil (104) of the vehicle and an inductive coil (102) (¶74 – indication of distance and/or alignment of the power transmission unit and the power receiving unit 104), the inductive coil (102) being coupled to or positioned on a ground when the vehicle is in a charging position (FIG. 5A-5B) and configured to provide an alternating magnetic field to the movable receiver coil (¶54 – transmission unit 102 includes a number of coils106 to send power to the power receiving unit 104);
in response to the charging request, controlling an adjustable arm (FIG. 11 at 1108 – control output to actuation subsystem; ¶98-99 – data is transferred to position the transmission unit 102 and receiving unit 104) coupled to the movable receiver coil of the vehicle and the inductive coil so that the distance between the movable receiver coil and the inductive coil is reduced or increased to increase the charging efficiency factor (¶100 – distance may be selected to maximize the efficiency between the power transmission unit 102 and the power receiving unit 104);
providing the alternating magnetic field directly to the movable receiver coil from the inductive coil (¶78 – power receiving unit 104 includes receiving coils 404 that induce current produced by the power transmission unit 102); and
converting the alternating magnetic field, using the movable receiver coil, into an electric current that charges a battery of the vehicle (¶78 – power receiver includes rectifiers 430 to convert AC to recharge the batteries).
Kwas does not explicitly disclose detecting, using the sensor, a charging efficiency factor of the movable receiver coil based on a distance between the movable receiver coil and the inductive coil (¶36 – acquire charging quality of the wireless charging receiver at a preset position), the charging efficiency factor indicating efficiency of a generated electrical charge from the inductive coil to the movable receiver coil (¶5 – the charging quality including charging efficiency).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the coils of Kwas to an optimal position, as taught by Wang, in order to improve the power exchange (Wang; ¶46).
Regarding claim 17. Kwas discloses the charging request is based on a detected position of the movable receiver coil ¶95 – spacing between power transmission unit and the power receiving unit is maintained at a defined distance which is selected to maximize the efficiency).
Regarding claim 18. Kwas does not explicitly disclose initiating the charging request in response to the distance being within a threshold distance.
Wang discloses initiating the charging request in response to the distance being within a threshold distance(¶5 – charging at the corrected position).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the coils of Kwas to an optimal position, as taught by Wang, in order to improve the power exchange (Wang; ¶46).
Regarding claim 20. Kwas discloses the inductive coil is disposed within a charging pad ((FIG. 1A- the surface of transmission unit 102) further comprising, in response to the charging request, activating the inductive coil to move so that the distance between the inductive coil and the movable receiver coil is reduced .(FIG. 5A-6B; ¶50 – actuation subsystem 140 displaces the transmission and receiving unit; ¶98 – transmission unit and receiving unit are moved with respect to each other).
Claims 3-4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwasnick et al. US20170355275A1 (hereinafter “Kwas”) in view of Wang et al. US20190319496A1 in further view of Ichikawa et al. US20160114687A1.
Regarding claim 3 and claim 19. Although Kwas teaches the start of charging, thus there being some sort of request by a user, this is not explicitly described.
Ichikawa discloses that the charging request is based on a user input (¶127 – user pays for charging thus requesting the charge).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the charging of Kwas initiated by a user wishing to charge their device.
Regarding claim 4. Although Kwas teaches raising and lowering the receiver, implying a lifting or telescoping feature, this is not explicitly described.
Ichikawa discloses the adjustable arm is at least one of a lifting jack (support members 37 and 38 are configured to lift the receiver 200).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the charging of Kwas initiated by a user wishing to charge their device.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwasnick et al. US20170355275A1 (hereinafter “Kwas”) in view of Wang et al. US20190319496A1 in further view of Ortiz et al. US20230211683A1.
Regarding claim 10. Kwas does not explicitly teach that the charging pad is a bidirectional charging pad configured to take energy from and give energy to the vehicle.
Ortiz discloses that the charging pad is a bidirectional charging pad configured to take energy from and give energy to the vehicle (¶121).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the bidirectional charging of Ortiz to the system of Kwas in order to provide power to a premises where power is lost, thus adding further functionality (Ortiz; ¶121).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Keeling et al. US20150303714A1 discloses controlling power transfer based on a power efficiency factor (abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859