DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims filed 07/14/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 10-17 and 19-23 are pending and under consideration. Claim 6 remain withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection and objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 01/14/2026.
In response to the applicant’s argument with respect to double patenting and 35 USC 103 rejections have been considered and are at least partially persuasive, but are moot in light of new rejection/interpretation.
Evard et al (US 6616675 B1) and Anand et al (US 20170367820 A1) remain in the present rejection, for disclosing a majority of the claimed invention.
Burriesci et al (US 20130296999 A1) is being introduced as a secondary reference in the present rejection for disclosing and/or rendering obvious the newly amended limitations.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 10-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12376956 (hereinafter '956) in view of Evard et al (US 6616675 B1), Anand (US 20170367820 A1) and Burriesci et al (US 20130296999 A1).
Examiner’s note, Although, patented claim and the instant claims are not identical, i.e., ‘956 claims an apparatus claim, whereas the instant claims directed to method claims, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims a method of using substantially same apparatus of the patented claim.
Regarding claim 1, Claims 1 and 14 of ‘956 substantially claims applicant’s claimed invention (except for the limitations shown in italics and grayed-out) including:
A method of delivering a tubular prosthesis in a Potts procedure, comprising:
providing the tubular prosthesis (claim 1, a tubular prosthesis) on a delivery catheter formed at least in part by a tubular member, the tubular prosthesis including:
an elongate compliant tubular body having a proximal end and a distal end (claim 1, A tubular prosthesis, comprising: an elongate compliant tubular body having a proximal end and a distal end);
a distal sealing flange (claim 1, distal sealing flange) coupled to the distal end of the elongate compliant tubular body, the distal sealing flange being configured and arranged to facilitate seating the tubular prosthesis against a first concave vessel wall of a first vessel, wherein the tubular prosthesis is configured to extend outwardly through a first ostium formed in the first concave vessel wall when deployed, wherein the distal sealing flange remains inside the ostium after deployment (claim 1 “wherein the tubular prosthesis is configured to extend outwardly through an ostium formed in the first concave vessel wall when deployed” and “wherein the distal sealing flange remains inside the ostium after deployment”);
a proximal sealing flange (claim 14, “a proximal sealing flange”) coupled to the proximal end of the elongate compliant tubular body, the proximal sealing flange being configured and arranged to facilitate seating the tubular prosthesis against a second concave vessel wall of a second vessel, wherein the tubular prosthesis is configured to extend outwardly through a second ostium formed in the second concave vessel wall when deployed, wherein the distal sealing flange remains inside the second ostium after deployment (claim 14, “wherein the tubular prosthesis is configured to extend outwardly through a second ostium formed in the second concave vessel wall when deployed, wherein the proximal sealing flange remains inside the second ostium after deployment”); and
a tether routed through windings forming a proximal portion of the tubular prosthesis, the tether being directed through the tubular member of the delivery catheter along a proximal direction;
introducing the tubular prosthesis on the delivery catheter into a patient's vasculature, the delivery catheter including a dual-lobed balloon, a first lobe of the dual-lobed balloon being disposed underneath the distal sealing flange, and a second lobe of the dual-lobed balloon being disposed underneath the proximal sealing flange;
forming an ostium into a wall of the patient's left pulmonary artery and an ostium into a wall of the patient's descending aorta;
deploying one of the proximal sealing flange and distal sealing flange into the ostium formed into the wall of the left pulmonary artery by inflating at least one of the lobes of the dual- lobed balloon, respectively;
deploying the other of the proximal sealing flange and distal sealing flange into the ostium formed into the wall of the patient's descending aorta by inflating at least one of the lobes of the dual-lobed balloon; and
releasing tension on the tether to permit the tubular prosthesis to expand.
‘956 does not claim the method comprising introducing the prosthesis on the delivery catheter into a patient's vasculature, the delivery catheter including a dual-lobed balloon, a first lobe of the dual-lobed balloon being disposed underneath the distal sealing flange, and a second lobe of the dual-lobed balloon being disposed underneath the proximal sealing flange;
forming an ostium into a wall of the patient's left pulmonary artery and an ostium into a wall of the patient's descending aorta;
deploying a first of the proximal sealing flange and distal sealing flange into the ostium formed into the wall of the left pulmonary artery by inflating at least one of the lobes of the dual- lobed balloon, respectively; and
deploying the other of the proximal sealing flange and distal sealing flange into the ostium formed into the wall of the patient's descending aorta by inflating at least one of the lobes of the dual-lobed balloon.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a method and apparatus for connecting openings formed in adjacent blood vessels, Evard teaches introducing the prosthesis on the percutaneous delivery catheter into a patient's vasculature, the delivery catheter including a dual-lobed balloon (figure 3 and col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45inserting mesh connector on the delivery catheter in a compressed configuration into blood vessel), a first lobe of the dual-lobed balloon being disposed underneath the distal sealing flange, and a second lobe of the dual-lobed balloon being disposed underneath the proximal sealing flange (figure 3, first and second balloons 28 and 30 disposed underneath the flanges );
forming an ostium into a wall (figure 1 and col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45 forming openings on blood vessels BV1 and BV2) of the patient's left pulmonary artery and an ostium into a wall of the patient's descending aorta;
deploying one of the proximal sealing flange and distal sealing flange into the ostium formed into the wall of the left pulmonary artery by inflating at least one of the lobes of the dual- lobed balloon, respectively (figure 1 and col 10 line 65-col 11 line 45, inflating the first and second balloons 28 and 30 causing the compressed apparatus 10b to splay or deform outwardly forming sealing flanges ); and
deploying the other of the proximal sealing flange and distal sealing flange into the ostium formed into the wall of the patient's descending aorta by inflating at least one of the lobes of the dual-lobed balloon (figure 1 and col 10 line 65-col 11 line 45, inflating the first and second balloons 28 and 30 causing the compressed apparatus 10b to splay or deform outwardly forming sealing flanges).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ‘956 to incorporate the teachings of Evard and provide the claimed percutaneous delivery catheter for the purpose of safely deploy the apparatus to desired implantation site as taught by Evard (col 2 lines 40-50)
The combination is still silent as to the method of delivering the tubular prosthesis including forming an ostium into a wall of the patient’s left pulmonary artery and descending aorta, and deploying the tubular prosthesis into the patient’s left pulmonary artery and descending aorta.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a pulmonary-systemic shunt devices and related methods, Anand teaches a method of delivering the tubular prosthesis including forming an ostium into a wall of the patient’s left pulmonary artery and descending aorta, and deploying the tubular prosthesis into the patient’s left pulmonary artery and descending aorta (figure 4 and [0028] implanting tubular member int a patent ducts arteriosis or connecting the two vessels in a region of the ductus arteriosis including aorta 20 and pulmonary artery 18).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ‘956, as modified by Evard, to incorporate the teachings of Anand and provide the method comprising forming ostium into a wall of the patient’s left pulmonary artery and descending aorta and providing tubular body therebetween for the purpose of treating pulmonary hypertension as taught by Anand ([0021]).
The combination does not teach the delivery catheter formed at least in part by a tubular member;
a tether routed through windings forming a proximal portion of the tubular prosthesis, the tether being directed through the tubular member of the delivery catheter along a proximal direction;
releasing tension on the tether to permit the tubular prosthesis to expand.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a prosthesis delivery system, Burriesci teaches a tubular prosthesis on a delivery catheter formed at least in part by a tubular member (figures 2-13, prosthesis 10 delivered on holder 6 or sheath 44 formed of tubular member).
a tether (figures 2-13 [0042], tether 4 in form of filiform material 42 routed through loops 40 of the prosthesis 10 forming a proximal portion of the prosthesis 10) routed through windings forming a proximal portion of the tubular prosthesis, the tether being directed through the tubular member of the delivery catheter along a proximal direction (figures 10-13, the tether being directed through the sheath 44 in proximal direction);
releasing tension on the tether to permit the tubular prosthesis to expand (figures 10 and 11 and [0007-0008 and 0064-0065] relaxing the tension on the tether expand the prosthesis 10).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ‘956, as modified by Evard and Anand, to incorporate the teachings of Burriesci and provides the delivery catheter and tether as claimed for the purpose of facilitating delivery and adjustment of the prosthesis to a target position and further enabling retraction of the device when repositioning is necessary as taught by Burriesci ([0008-0017]).
Regarding claim 2, ‘956, as modified by Evard, Anand and Burriesci, claims the method of claim 1.
‘956 further claims wherein at least one of the proximal and distal ends of the prosthesis further includes at least one laterally extending projection structurally distinct from the distal and proximal sealing flanges, the at least one laterally extending projection being located proximate the distal or proximal sealing flange and extending laterally beyond the distal or proximal sealing flange, respectively, the at least one laterally extending projection being configured and arranged to resist being pulled through said wall of said aorta or left pulmonary artery (claim 1, two opposing laterally extending projections).
Regarding claim 3, ‘956, as modified by Evard, Anand and Burriesci, claims the method of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the at least one laterally extending projection includes at least two laterally extending projections oriented opposite one another across about a longitudinal axis of the tubular prosthesis, and further wherein the at least two laterally extending projections are configured and arranged to rest near a bottom of a concavity of the left pulmonary artery or right descending aorta (‘956; claim1 and 14, two opposing laterally extending projections).
The combination does not expressly teach the at least two laterally extending projections oriented opposite one another across about a longitudinal axis of the tubular prosthesis.
However, Evard (figure 5’’’’ or figure 7c) teaches the at least two laterally extending projections opposite one another across about a longitudinal axis of the tubular prosthesis (see figure 5’’’’ or figure 7c the engagement member 20 at proximal or distal end disposed in direct alignment with one another along the longitudinal axis of the tubular mid-portion 38 ).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ‘956, as modified by Evard and Anand to incorporate the teachings of the Evard and provides the at least two laterally extending projections as for the purpose of uniformly distributing pressure exerted on the projections.
Regarding claim 10, ‘956, as modified by Evard, Anand and Burriesci, claims the method of claim 1.
‘956 further claims wherein a membrane covers the elongate compliant tubular body and the distal flange (claim 2).
‘956 does not teach the membrane covers the proximal flange.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified’ 956, as modified by Evard and Anand, such that the membrane further covers the proximal flange as such a modification would have been an obvious matter of design choice involving a duplication of parts. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04.V.D). One of skill in the art motivated to do so for the purpose of providing enhanced sealing at proximal flange
Regarding claim 11, ‘956, as modified by Evard, Anand and Burriesci, claims the method of claim 10.
‘956 claims wherein the membrane includes a woven or non-woven fabric (claim 3)
Regarding claim 12‘956, as modified by Evard, Anand and Burriesci, claims the method of claim 10.
‘956 claims wherein the membrane includes an expanded polytetrafluoroethylene ("ePTFE") material (claim 4)
Regarding claim 13, ‘956, as modified by Evard, Anand and Burriesci, claims the method of claim 10.
‘956 claims wherein the membrane includes a biological tissue material (claim 5)
Regarding claim 14, ‘956, as modified by Evard, Anand and Burriesci, claims the method of claim 10.
‘956 claims wherein the at least two laterally extending projections are not covered by the membrane (claim 6)
Regarding claim 15, ‘956, as modified by Evard, Anand and Burriesci, claims the method of claim 10.
‘956 claims wherein each of the at least two laterally extending projections includes at least one radiopaque marker formed thereon (claim 7)
Regarding claim 16, ‘956, as modified by Evard, Anand and Burriesci, claims the method of claim 15.
‘956 claims wherein each of the at least two laterally extending projections includes at least one radiopaque marker formed thereon at a location that resides at a respective ostium after implantation. (claim 8)
Regarding claim 17, ‘956, as modified by Evard, Anand and Burriesci, claims the method of claim 15.
‘956 claims wherein each of the at least two laterally extending projections further includes at least one radiopaque marker formed near an outward lateral tip of each of the two laterally extending projections, respectively (claim 9)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evard et al (US 6616675 B1) in view of Anand et al (US 20170367820 A1) and Burriesci et al (US 20130296999 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Evard substantially teaches applicant’s claimed invention, and specifically discloses a method of using device with every structural limitation of applicant’s claimed invention (except for the limitations shown in italics and grayed-out) including:
A method of delivering a tubular prosthesis in a Potts procedure, comprising:
providing the tubular prosthesis (figures 3-3” and col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45, providing mesh connector 10b on a delivery catheter 26) on a delivery catheter formed at least in part by a tubular member, the tubular prosthesis including:
an elongate compliant tubular body (figure 3 col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45, body of the mesh connector 10b formed of resilient wire segments) having a proximal end and a distal end (figure 3, proximal and distal ends of the body having diameter D1);
a distal sealing flange (flange at distal end, upper end in figures 3-3”, of mesh body, figure 3 and col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45, the mesh connector is shaped in an hourglass configuration, where the proximal and distal ends having have a first diameter D1 that forms sealing flanges) coupled to the distal end of the elongate compliant tubular body, the distal sealing flange being configured and arranged to facilitate seating the tubular prosthesis against a first concave vessel wall of a first vessel (figures 1, 3 and col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45, the distal and proximal sealing flanges engage wall of the adjacent blood vessels BV1 and BV2 facilitate the device anchoring within the blood vessels), wherein the tubular prosthesis is configured to extend outwardly through a first ostium formed in the first concave vessel wall when deployed, wherein the distal sealing flange remains inside the ostium after deployment (figures 1, 3 and col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45, flanges positioned within blood vessels while mid portion having diameter D2 extend through the opening of the blood vessel);
a proximal sealing flange (flange at proximal end, opposite lower end in figures 3-3”, of the mesh body, figure 3 col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45, the mesh connector is shaped in an hourglass configuration, where the proximal and distal ends having have a first diameter D1 that forms sealing flanges) coupled to the proximal end of the elongate compliant tubular body, the proximal sealing flange being configured and arranged to facilitate seating the tubular prosthesis against a second concave vessel wall of a second vessel (figures 1, 3 and col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45, the distal and proximal sealing flanges engage wall of the adjacent blood vessels BV1 and BV2 facilitate the device anchoring within the blood vessels), wherein the tubular prosthesis is configured to extend outwardly through a second ostium formed in the second concave vessel wall when deployed, wherein the distal sealing flange remains inside the second ostium after deployment (figures 1, 3 and col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45, flanges positioned within blood vessels while mid portion having diameter D2 extend through the opening of the blood vessel);
a tether routed through windings forming a proximal portion of the tubular prosthesis, the tether being directed through the tubular member of the delivery catheter along a proximal direction;
introducing the tubular prosthesis on the delivery catheter into a patient's vasculature, the delivery catheter including a dual-lobed balloon (figure 3 and col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45, inserting mesh connector 10b on the delivery catheter 26 in a compressed configuration into blood vessel, the delivery catheter comprising first and second balloons 28 and 30), a first lobe of the dual-lobed balloon being disposed underneath the distal sealing flange, and a second lobe of the dual-lobed balloon being disposed underneath the proximal sealing flange (figure 3, first and second balloons 28 and 30 disposed underneath the flanges);
forming an ostium into a wall (figure 1 and col 10 line 10 – col 11 line 45 forming openings on wall of the blood vessels BV1 and BV2) of the patient's left pulmonary artery and an ostium into a wall of the patient's descending aorta;
deploying one of the proximal sealing flange and distal sealing flange into the ostium formed into the wall of the left pulmonary artery by inflating at least one of the lobes of the dual- lobed balloon, respectively (figures 1, 14a-e and col 10 line 65-col 11 line 45, inflating the first and second balloons 28 and 30 causing the compressed apparatus 10b to splay or deform outwardly forming sealing flanges);
deploying the other of the proximal sealing flange and distal sealing flange into the ostium formed into the wall of the patient's descending aorta by inflating at least one of the lobes of the dual-lobed balloon (figure 1, 14a-e and col 10 line 65-col 11 line 45, inflating the first and second balloons 28 and 30 causing the compressed apparatus 10b to splay or deform outwardly forming sealing flanges); and
releasing tension on the tether to permit the tubular prosthesis to expand.
Evard does not explicitly teach the method of delivering the tubular prosthesis including forming an ostium into a wall of the patient’s left pulmonary artery and descending aorta, and deploying the tubular prosthesis into the patient’s left pulmonary artery and descending aorta.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a pulmonary-systemic shunt devices and related methods, Anand teaches a method of delivering the tubular prosthesis including forming an ostium into a wall of the patient’s left pulmonary artery and descending aorta, and deploying the tubular prosthesis into the patient’s left pulmonary artery and descending aorta (figure 4 and [0028] implanting tubular member int a patent ducts arteriosis or connecting the two vessels in a region of the ductus arteriosis including aorta 20 and pulmonary artery 18).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evard to incorporate the teachings of Anand and provide the method comprising forming ostium into a wall of the patient’s left pulmonary artery and descending aorta and providing tubular body therebetween for the purpose of treating pulmonary hypertension as taught by Anand ([0021]).
The combination does not teach the delivery catheter formed at least in part by a tubular member;
a tether routed through windings forming a proximal portion of the tubular prosthesis, the tether being directed through the tubular member of the delivery catheter along a proximal direction;
releasing tension on the tether to permit the tubular prosthesis to expand.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a prosthesis delivery system, Burriesci teaches a tubular prosthesis on a delivery catheter formed at least in part by a tubular member (figures 2-13, prosthesis 10 delivered on holder 6 or sheath 44 formed of tubular member).
a tether (figures 2-13 [0042], tether 4 in form of filiform material 42 routed through loops 40 of the prosthesis 10 forming a proximal portion of the prosthesis 10) routed through windings forming a proximal portion of the tubular prosthesis, the tether being directed through the tubular member of the delivery catheter along a proximal direction (figures 10-13, the tether being directed through the sheath 44 in proximal direction);
releasing tension on the tether to permit the tubular prosthesis to expand (figures 10 and 11 and [0007-0008 and 0064-0065] relaxing the tension on the tether expand the prosthesis 10).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evard, as modified by Anand, to incorporate the teachings of Burriesci and provides the delivery catheter and tether as claimed for the purpose of facilitating delivery and adjustment of the prosthesis to a target position and further enabling retraction of the device when repositioning is necessary as taught by Burriesci ([0008-0017]).
Regarding claim 2, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein at least one of the proximal and distal ends of the tubular prosthesis further includes at least one laterally extending projection structurally distinct from the distal and proximal sealing flanges (Evard; figure 3, engagement members 20 located proximate the distal and proximal sealing flanges as set forth in claim 1), the at least one laterally extending projection being located proximate the distal or proximal sealing flange and extending laterally beyond the distal or proximal sealing flange, respectively, the at least one laterally extending projection being configured and arranged to resist being pulled through said wall of said aorta or left pulmonary artery (Evard; figure 1 and col 10 line 65-col 11 line 45, the engagement member 20 configured to be engage the wall of blood vessels prevent the mesh connector pulled through the opening of the blood vessels).
Regarding claim 19, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination further teaches comprising inflating at least one of the lobes of the dual-lobed balloon to shape the sealing flange to fit against the first concave vessel wall (Evard; col 10 line 65- col 11 line 45 and figures 1 and 3, the first and second balloons 28 and 30 are configured to be inflated expanding the distal or proximal end of the body to form sealing flange and fit against the wall of BV1 or BV2)
Regarding claim 20, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 19.
The combination further teaches comprising inflating at least one of the lobes of the dual-lobed balloon to shape the sealing flange to fit against the second concave vessel wall (Evard; col 10 line 65- col 11 line 45 and figures 1 and 3, the first and second balloons 28 and 30 are configured to be inflated expanding the distal or proximal end of the body to form sealing flange and fit against the wall of BV1 or BV2)
Regarding claim 21, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination further teaches comprising removing the tether from the tubular prosthesis (Burriesci; [0008] the tether can be completely removed when the positioning is finalized).
Regarding claim 22, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination further teaches comprising re-tensioning the tether to cause the proximal portion of the tubular prosthesis to collapse radially inwardly (Burriesci; figures 11-13 [0007-0009] pulling the filiform material to cause the prosthesis 10 into its compressed state)
Regarding claim 23, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 22.
The combination further teaches comprising withdrawing at least the proximal portion of the tubular prosthesis into a sheath of the delivery system (Burriesci; figures 11-13 [0007-0009] the filiform material 42 can be pulled again to collapse and withdraw the prosthesis 10 into sheath 44)
Regarding claim 24, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 22.
The combination further teaches comprising withdrawing the tubular prosthesis fully into a sheath of the delivery system (Burriesci; figures 11-13 [0007-0009] the filiform material 42 can be pulled again to collapse and withdraw the prosthesis 10 into sheath 44)
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evard et al (US 6616675 B1) in view of Anand et al (US 20170367820 A1) and Burriesci et al (US 20130296999 A1), and in further view of alternate embodiment of Evard et al (figure 5’’’’ and figure 7c)
Regarding claim 3, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 2.
The combination further teaches wherein the at least one laterally extending projection includes at least two laterally extending projections opposite one another across about a longitudinal axis of the tubular prosthesis, and further wherein the at least two laterally extending projections are configured and arranged to rest near a bottom of a concavity of the left pulmonary artery or right descending aorta (Evard; figure 1 col 10 line 65 – col 11 line 45, the engagement member 20 including at least two laterally extending projections and are configured to be arranged near a bottom of a concavity of the left pulmonary artery or right descending aorta as taught by Anand,).
The combination does not expressly teach the at least two laterally extending projections opposite one another across about a longitudinal axis of the tubular prosthesis;
However, in the alternate embodiment of Evard (figure 5’’’’ or figure 7c) teaches the at least two laterally extending projections opposite one another across about a longitudinal axis of the tubular prosthesis (see annotated figure figure 7c the engagement member 20 at proximal or distal end disposed in direct alignment with one another along the longitudinal axis of the tubular mid-portion 38 ).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evard, as modified by Anand, to incorporate the teachings of the alternate embodiment of Evard and substitutes the at least two laterally extending projections as claimed as the modification would have been a simple substitution of known element (engagement member configuration as shown figures 5-5”) with another (configuration of figure 5’’’’ or 7c) to obtain predictable results (facilitating anchoring the prosthetic body)
Regarding claim 4, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 3.
The combination further teaches wherein the at least two laterally extending projections are connected to a framework of the tubular prosthesis (Evard; figure 3 and col 10 line 65- col 11 line 45, the engagement members 20 are connected to the mesh frame of the connector apparatus 10b and extends radially outward from the sealing flanges. The engagement members further extends laterally beyond the flanges into a respective blood vessel lumen upon expansion), and extend radially outwardly with respect to the proximal sealing flange or the distal sealing flange and extend further into a respective blood vessel than the proximal sealing flange or distal sealing flange.
Regarding claim 5, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 4.
The combination further teaches the at least two laterally extending projections are integrated into a circumferential ring structure that forms a proximal or distal end portion of the tubular prosthesis (Evard; figure 3, the mesh connector apparatus integrally defines a circumferential ring structure at its proximal and distal ends and the engagement members 20 are integrated therewith).
Claims 10, 11, 13 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evard et al (US 6616675 B1) in view of Anand et al (US 20170367820 A1) and Burriesci et al (US 20130296999 A1), and in further view of an alternate embodiment of Evard (US 6616675 B1; figures 7c-7d’ and col 15 line 45- col 16 line 33)
Regarding claim 10, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination does not teach wherein a membrane covers the elongate compliant tubular body and the distal flange and proximal flange.
However, in an alternate embodiment of Evard teaches wherein a membrane covers the elongate compliant tubular body and the distal flange and proximal flange (col 15 line 45- col 16 line 33, wire connector member with optional coverings may cover all or any portion of the apparatus).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, to incorporate the teachings of Evard and provide the membrane as claimed, and one of skill in the art motivated to do so for the purpose of reducing leaking of blood through mesh structure.
Regarding claim 11, Evard as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 10.
The combination further teaches wherein the membrane includes a woven or non-woven fabric (Evard’ col 15 line 45 – col 16 line 35 “Such coverings may be formed of any suitable material including, but not limited to, elastomeric material, fabrics (e.g., woven polyester)”).
Regarding claim 13, Evard as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 10.
The combination further teaches wherein the membrane includes a biological tissue material (Evard; col 15 line 45 – col 16 line 35, covering may be formed of any suitable material including natural materials such as autologous or xenograft material).
Regarding claim 14, Evard as modified by Anand, teaches the method of claim 10.
The combination further teaches wherein the at least two laterally extending projections are not covered by the membrane (Evard; col 15 line 45 – col 16 line 35 and figure 7c, the portions of wire members 80 are not covered by elastomeric covering 86)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evard et al (US 6616675 B1) in view of Anand et al (US 20170367820 A1) and Burriesci et al (US 20130296999 A1), an alternate embodiment of Evard (US 6616675 B1; figures 7c-7d’ and col 15 line 45- col 16 line 33), and in further view of Verkaik et al (US 20120143141 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 10.
The combination does not teach wherein the membrane includes an expanded polytetrafluoroethylene ("ePTFE") material.
In the same field of endeavor, namely conformal cannula device and related methods, Verkaik teaches wherein the membrane includes an expanded polytetrafluoroethylene ("ePTFE") material ([0057] ePTFE sleeve affixed to frame assembly 60).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evard, as modified by Anand, to incorporate the teachings of Verkaik and provide the membrane as claimed for the purpose of facilitating the formation of a controlled biological layer on the surface as taught by Verkaik ([0057]) which effectively reduces tissue overgrowth preventing restenosis.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evard et al (US 6616675 B1) in view of Anand et al (US 20170367820 A1) Burriesci et al (US 20130296999 A1), an alternate embodiment of Evard (US 6616675 B1; figures 7c-7d’ and col 15 line 45- col 16 line 33), and in further view of Kassab et al (US 20150142094 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Evard as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 10.
The combination does not teach wherein each of the at least two laterally extending projections includes at least one radiopaque marker formed thereon;
In the same field of endeavor, namely systems and methods for the prevention of stroke, Kassab teaches wherein each of the at least two laterally extending projections includes at least one radiopaque marker formed thereon (figure 3b-c and [0053], radiopaque markers 214 located on the flanges portion 204).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evard, as modified by Anand and Burriesci, to incorporate the teachings of Kassab and provides the radiopaque marker as claimed for the purpose of assisting proper positioning of the device as taught by Kassab ([0080]).
Regarding claim 16, Evard as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 15.
The combination further teaches wherein each of the at least two laterally extending projections includes the at least one radiopaque marker formed thereon at a location that resides at a respective ostium after implantation (Kassab; [0059] and figure 5a, flange portion 204 including radiopaque marker 214 resides at respective ostium after implantation).
Regarding claim 17, Evard as modified by Anand and Burriesci, teaches the method of claim 10.
The combination further teaches wherein each of the at least two laterally extending projections further includes at least one radiopaque marker formed near an outward lateral tip of each of the two laterally extending projections, respectively (Kassab; figure 3b, the radiopaque marker 214 formed near an outward lateral tip of each of the laterally extending projections 304).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SETH HAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781