DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-28, 30, and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Ikuta” (2019/0343339) in view of “Roever” (2019/0216260) and “Ok” (US 2021/0127459).
Regarding claim 21, Ikuta teaches an induction heating appliance (Figs. 1 and 2, para. [0077]: “reference number X denotes a soup supply apparatus”) comprising:
a well (Figs. 2 and 14, para. [0078]: “hopper annular support body 5”);
a three dimensional container (Fig. 16, “hopper 6”) supported by the well (Para. [0120]: “hopper 6 is set in the hopper annular support body 5”), the three dimensional container includes a main chamber (Fig. 16, para, [0092]: “long cylindrical portion 6a”) and a dispensing chamber defining a heating zone (Fig. 16, para. [0092]: “cone shaped portion 6b”);
including a first induction coil (Para. [0113]: “induction heating coil 53”), wherein the first induction coil is positioned to individually heat the heating zone of the dispensing chamber (Fig. 16 shows induction heating coil 53 wound in a lower portion side of the cone-shaped annular wall);
a dispensing valve (Fig. 3, para. [0006]: describes pump 2, which has an outer valve 21 and inner valve 26 to make up a piston style dispensing valve beneath the dispensing chamber) positioned to facilitate dispensing a substance from the dispensing chamber (Paras. [0086]-[0090]); and
a controller (Para. [0077]: “control unit 4”) configured to provide a signal to at least one of (a) selectively and individually turn on or turn off the first power branch and the second power branch (Para. [0077]: “control unit 4 acquires a detection signal from a temperature sensor, and turns ON and OFF a supply power source (high-frequency power) for an induction heating coil”).
Ikuta does not expressly disclose two or more heating zones, a plurality of induction coils, a plurality of capacitors, a plurality of resonant circuit power switches, or describe the inverter circuit or controlling the switching frequency.
However, Roever teaches an induction heating appliance (Fig. 2, para. [0025]: “rethermalizing station 100”) comprising: a well (Para. [0026]: “well 107”); a three dimensional container (Para. [0028]: “receptacle 130”) supported by the well, the three dimensional container includes a main chamber defining a first heating zone and a second heating zone (Para. [0033]: “warming zones”);
a plurality of induction coils (Paras. [0030] and [0031]) including a first induction coil (Para. [0032]: “bottom induction coil 167”) and a second induction coil (Para. [0031]: “side induction coil 155”), wherein the first induction coil is positioned to individually heat the first heating zone of the main chamber (Para. [0032]: “bottom induction coil 167 is included proximate the bottom 120 of the well 107 … to heat food by inductively heating the bottom 127 of the food pan 110”), wherein the second induction coil is positioned to individually heat the second heating zone (Para. [0033]: “the side induction coil 155 is formed by multiple separate coils coupled together (e.g., an upper coil, a middle coil, and a lower coil) … to be controlled individually to control the food item in warming zone”); and
a controller (Para. [0036]: “control unit 190”) configured to provide a signal to at least one of (a) selectively and individually turn on or turn off the first power branch and the second power branch, or (b) adjust a switching frequency of the single power inverter (Paras. [0052]: “control unit 190 is generally configured to include circuitry configured with an algorithm to control the power output of the inductions and thereby control the temperature”, [0053]: “[c]ontrol circuit 260 is configured to cause the side induction coil 155 and the bottom induction coil 167 of the rethermalizing station 100 to turn on and off or to vary their output power via control signals sent to output 250”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the induction heating appliance of Ikuta multiple heating zones using multiple heating induction coils controlled individually by a controller to adjust the temperature of each zone as taught by Roever. One of ordinary skill would have included the features of Roever in order to provide “discrete control of the separate coils allows for precise control of food item temperature within each warming zone … thereby conserving energy and preventing possible burning or scorching of any food item left on the walls” (Para. [0033]).
While Ikuta and Roever teach a means for controlling the induction coils for temperature control, they do not expressly disclose a plurality of capacitors including a first capacitor and a second capacitor, wherein the first induction coil is electrically connected in series with the first capacitor to form a first resonant circuit and the second induction coil is electrically connected in series with the second capacitor to form a second resonant circuit; a plurality of resonant circuit power switches including a first resonant circuit power switch and a second resonant circuit power switch, wherein the first resonant circuit is electrically connected in series with the first resonant circuit power switch to form a first power branch and the second resonant circuit is electrically connected in series with the second resonant power switch to form a second power branch; a single power inverter, wherein the first power branch and the second power branch are electrically connected in parallel with the single power inverter.
However, Ok also teaches an induction heating appliance (Abstract, Fig. 3, para. [0131]) comprising:
a plurality of capacitors (Fig. 3) including a first capacitor (resonance capacitor C connected to WC1) and a second capacitor (resonance capacitor C connected to WC2), wherein the first induction coil (WC1) is electrically connected in series with the first capacitor to form a first resonant circuit (Para. [0157]) and the second induction coil (WC2) is electrically connected in series with the second capacitor to form a second resonant circuit (Paras. [0157]-[0159]);
a plurality of resonant circuit power switches (Para. [0145]: semiconductor switch unit AS) including a first resonant circuit power switch (S1) and a second resonant circuit power switch (S2), wherein the first resonant circuit is electrically connected in series with the first resonant circuit power switch to form a first power branch and the second resonant circuit is electrically connected in series with the second resonant circuit power switch to form a second power branch (Paras. [0145]-[0146]);
a single power inverter (IV1) including at least one power switch (Para. [0138]: two switching elements SV1 and SV1’), wherein the first power branch and the second power branch are electrically connected in parallel with the single power inverter such that the first induction coil and the second induction coil are independently powered by the single power inverter (Top portion of Fig. 3 shows WC1 and WC2 powered by a single inverter IV1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the induction heating appliance of Ikuta and Roever with the single inverter and associated circuitry as taught by Ok. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the inverter arrangement of Ok in order to provide “independent output control over the plurality of working coils. Further, the controller may perform control over an inverter and a semiconductor switch at a time point when an input voltage of a power supply becomes zero, thereby minimizing an adverse effect (i.e., loss) on the device even in case of a delay caused by an abnormal situation that happens during its control” (Para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 22, Ikuta as modified by Ok further teaches wherein the signal of the controller includes data relating to a desired temperature at the first heating zone or the second heating zone, wherein the single power inverter is configured to provide sufficient power to the at least one of the first induction coil or the second induction coil to maintain the desired temperature in response to receiving the signal (Ikuta: Para. [0077]: “control unit 4 acquires a detection signal from a temperature sensor, and turns ON and OFF a supply power source (high-frequency power) for an induction heating coil; controls a heating temperature for a hopper such that a preset temperature set in a storage unit is maintained”).
Regarding claim 23, Ikuta does not expressly disclose wherein the controller is configured to vary the signal based on a predetermined power control algorithm, wherein the predetermined power control algorithm is configured to achieve a desired temperature at the first heating zone or the second heating zone.
However, Roever teaches wherein the controller is configured to vary the signal based on a predetermined power control algorithm, wherein the predetermined power control algorithm is configured to achieve a desired temperature at the first heating zone or the second heating zone (Para. [0052]: “control unit 190 is generally configured to include circuitry configured with an algorithm to control the power output of the inductions and thereby control the temperature of the food”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the induction appliance of Ikuta, Roever, and Ok with the additional feature of a control algorithm as taught by Roever. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include this feature in order to “prevent burning the food item” (Para. [0052]).
Regarding claim 24, Ikuta further teaches a temperature sensor coupled to the controller (Fig. 16, para. [0084]: “temperature sensor 55”) and one of (a) disposed in the first heating zone (Fig. 16 shows temperature sensor mounted to discharge section of the hopper) or the second heating zone, (b) configured to directly or indirectly monitor the temperature of the substance associated with the three dimensional container (Para. [0084]), or (c) in direct or indirect contact with the three dimensional container and thereby positioned to directly or indirectly monitor the temperature of the three dimensional container (Fig. 16, and paras. [0110]-[0120] provide a description of the temperature sensor in relation to the three dimensional container).
Regarding claim 25, Ikuta further teaches wherein the temperature sensor is in at least one of direct or indirect contact with the three dimensional container (Fig. 16, paras. [0110]-[0125]).
Regarding claim 26, Ikuta further teaches wherein the temperature sensor is configured to provide signals relating to a detected temperature to the controller (Para. [0084]), wherein the controller is configured to vary the signal based on the signals from the temperature sensor (Para. [0077]: “control unit 4 acquires a detection signal from a temperature sensor, and turns ON and OFF a supply power source (high-frequency power) for an induction heating coil; controls a heating temperature for a hopper such that a preset temperature set in a storage unit is maintained”).
Regarding claim 27, Ikuta further teaches wherein the controller is configured to vary the signal based on a desired temperature at the first heating zone or the second heating zone (Para. [0125]: “the control unit acquires the temperature information detected by the temperature sensor 55. For example, when the food to be consumed is boiled (such as when the preset temperature is 120 degrees), the control unit 4 stops power supply to the induction heating coil 53”).
Regarding claim 28, Ikuta further teaches wherein the temperature sensor is in direct or indirect contact with the three dimensional container (Fig. 16) and thereby positioned to directly or indirectly monitor the temperature of the three dimensional container (paras. [0110]-[0125]).
Regarding claim 30, Ikuta further teaches wherein the well includes a stirring mechanism (Para. [0080]: “stirring blades 11”) and thermistors to detect a temperature of the substance (Para. [0015]) and provide feedback to the controller to provide a desired amount of heat to the three dimensional container to maintain a proper mixture and temperature of the substance (Para. [0125]: “the control unit acquires the temperature information detected by the temperature sensor 55 … when the food to be consumed is boiled (such as when the preset temperature is 120 degrees), the control unit 4 stops power supply to the induction heating coil 53”).
Regarding claim 32, Ikuta further teaches wherein the controller is configured to provide the signal to maintain a first temperature (Fig. 19, para. [0130]), Ikuta does not expressly disclose two different heating zones at two different temperatures.
However, Roever teaches in a similar induction heating appliance, a controller to provide the signal to maintain the main chamber at a first temperature (Paras. [0034]-[0037]: “ control unit 190 including processing electronics configured to control the operation of the induction coils 155 and 167 and other components in response to various inputs, including the temperatures of the food pan 110 detected by the various temperature sensors”) and the dispensing chamber at a second temperature different than the first temperature (Paras. [0043]-[0046]: “the control unit 190 controls the power output of the side induction coil 155 proportionally to a difference between the detected temperature of the food pan 110 (e.g., as detected by bottom temperature sensor 170) and the targeted warming temperature”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the induction heating appliance of Ikuta, Roever, and Ok with a controller to set and maintain the temperature of each zone as taught by Roever. One of ordinary skill would have included the features of Roever in order to provide “discrete control of the separate coils allows for precise control of food item temperature within each warming zone … thereby conserving energy and preventing possible burning or scorching of any food item left on the walls”, (Para. [0033]).
Regarding claim 33, Ikuta does not expressly disclose wherein the second temperature is greater than the first temperature.
However, Roever teaches wherein the second temperature is greater than the first temperature (Para. [0033]: “the side induction coil 155 is formed by multiple separate coils coupled together (e.g. an upper coil, a middle coil, and a lower coil). Such separate coils are able to be controlled individually to control the food item in warming zones within the food item located proximate each of the separate upper, middle, and lower coils. A side temperature sensor is located at the top of each the separate coils, so that the food pan temperature detected by each of these side temperature sensor is indicative of the food item temperature in each warming zone”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the induction heating appliance of Ikuta, Roever, and Ok with the multiple separate heating zones at different temperatures from one another as taught by Roever. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include this control scheme in order to “allows for precise control of food item temperature within each warming zone (e.g., to account for heating that could otherwise be uneven) and to shut off individual coils when the depth of the food item drops below the bottom of one of the coils, thereby conserving energy and preventing possible burning or scorching of any food item left on the walls of the food pan above the main body of the food item. In some embodiments, the bottom induction coil 167 is also divided into multiple coils in a similar manner”, (Para. [0033]).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Ikuta” (2019/0343339) in view of “Roever” (2019/0216260) and “Ok” (US 2021/0127459) in further view of “Kurose” (2012/0261405).
Regarding claim 29, Ikuta does not expressly disclose a sensor coupled to the controller and configured to provide signals to the controller, wherein the controller is configured to determine a presence or absence of a food vessel within the first heating zone or the second heating zone based on the signals provided to the controller.
However, Kurose teaches in a similar induction heating device (Abstract) a sensor coupled to the controller and configured to provide signals to the controller, wherein the controller is configured to determine a presence or absence of a food vessel within the first heating zone or the second heating zone based on the signals provided to the controller (Para. [0089]: “adapted to perform detection as to whether or not an object to be heated is being placed in the heating area”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the induction appliance of Ikuta, Roever, and Ok with the additional feature of detecting the presence or absence of a food vessel as taught by Kurose. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include such a feature in order to improve operator satisfaction and prevent improper placement of the vessel (Paras. [0089]-[0090]).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Ikuta” (2019/0343339) in view of “Roever” (2019/0216260) and “Ok” (US 2021/0127459) in further view of “Martin” (US 2012/0093996).
Regarding claim 31, Ikuta does not expressly disclose a circulating tube connecting the dispensing chamber to the main chamber to allow the substance to be circulated from the dispensing chamber back to the main chamber.
However, Martin teaches a soup preparing and dispensing machine (Abstract) with a circulating tube (Para. [0045]: discharge pipe 18) connecting the dispensing chamber to the main chamber to allow the substance to be circulated from the dispensing chamber back to the main chamber (Para. [0045]: “a process of circulating the soup from the bottom of the soup container 8, through a soup container engine discharge pipe 18 and back to the top of the soup container 8”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the induction heating appliance of Ikuta, Roever, Ok, and Kurose with the recirculation system as taught by Martin. One of ordinary skill would include such a feature in order to “contribute to the homogeneous blending of the soup” (Para. [0045]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 34, Ikuta, Roever, and Ok do not expressly disclose further comprising a transitional chamber located between the main chamber and the dispensing chamber. Martin (US 2012/0093996) teaches an induction heating appliance for making soup (Fig. 1), comprising a transitional chamber (Fig. 1, “engine discharge pipe 18”), located between the main chamber (Fig. 1, “soup container 8”) and the dispensing chamber (Fig. 1, “heating chamber 19”), however none of the cited prior art suggests or anticipates wherein the transitional chamber defines a third heating zone.
Conclusion
/DANIEL WARD HATTEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761