Response to Arguments
First, this application has been transferred to Examiner Kolb. Examiner Liu is no longer with USPTO.
Applicants arguments are acknowledged. Current rejection over Yang will be maintained until the initiator aspect of the invention is resolved. The issue will be stated in 112 rejection below. Additional reference will be provided to meet the requirement of photo initiator. As such instant office action is final as necessitated by amendment, required to further meet new claims 17-26.
Applicants amended claim 1 to specifically include photo initiator as part of the polymerization mixture, stating that it would not be obvious to use in Yang as the chemical system used to fabricate the discoloration relies upon the phase transition temperature of the NIPA and its control.
Examiner’s position on this issue is: it depends.
Reading the entirety of the paragraph, the salt induced microphase separation and electric field induced migration is done in presence of ammonium sulfate, PEG, NIPAm and DMC. In fact, presence of potassium persulfate is not mentioned as a reason for achieving the claimed results, which appear to be a function of the AS concentration. In fact, these compounds in the preparation section of the article are first added without the initiator and catalyst. The process clearly specifies achieving these properties without influence from KPS.
Potassium persulfate is a compound that radically polymerizes the monomers by application of heat. DMPA also cures composition (with or without TEMED) via radical polymerization, consequently the only change that is required is the source which induces polymerization. (UV vs. thermal). As such, replacement of the initiator may be more obvious than applicants state. This is especially in view of applicant’s new claims 21 and 24, which technically renders KPS and DMPA as functional equivalents in the sense of both being free radical polymerization initiators.
Furthermore, KPS can initiate polymerization upon exposure to radiation, in presence of compounds than can donate electron and/or absorb light. These include aliphatic diamines and dyes.
Furthermore, applicants themselves defined KPS as photo-initiator, which contradicts applicants arguments.
UV radiation does contribute to creating heat by transferring electromagnetic radiation increasing molecular motion. This in turn generates thermal energy which manifests as heat. Effectiveness of UV in heating depends on the material’s property. KPS does decompose upon exposure to heat, which was not debunked by the applicants, especially when KPS is stable at room temperature, in the dark, but it is sensitive to heat, light and moisture destabilizing KPS.
As indicated above, this rejection will be maintained until 112 rejection is obviated.
Claim Interpretation
Instant claim 1 is amended to state that the gradient is being fixed during photo-initiated polymerization. The limitation “during photo-initiated polymerization” is a process step, whereas the claims are directed to crosslinked hydrogel film. In product by process claims, patentable weight is given to the product and not to the process by which it is made.
Claim 1 comprises limitation where the precursor solution contains the functional co-monomers and a photo initiator, which also does not limit the actual crosslinked hydrogel. The chemical structure and chemical identity of the final product is very different from the chemical structure and chemical identity of the precursor.
Claims 19-26 are directed to the photo initiator which is a compound utilized to polymerize the monomers. Such compound would not only decompose during polymerization, but it is part of the process to obtain crosslinked hydrogel not the hydrogel itself. Consequently, the claims are product by process claim where patentable weight is given to the product and not the process by which it is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 23 and 26 require DMPA to be added in an amount of 25-50 µL per mL of solvent. Content of the DMPA is therefore considered indefinite since the claim do not specify the amount of solvent. Additionally claims state how much DMPA is added to solvent not how much of the DMPA is added to the polymerization which also fails to limit the scope of claim 1.
Claims 21, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 21 and 24 recite to free radical initiators which are KPS and DMPA. Instant claims 1 on which all claimed depend directly or indirectly is limited to photo initiator. Consequently, claims 21 and 24 fail to further limit limitations of instant claim 1 because KPS is considered a thermal initiator.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable over
Yang, et. al., (Biomimetic Color-Changing Hierarchical and Gradient Hydrogel Actuators Based on Salt-Induced Microphase Separation, ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 2019, 11, 51, 48428–48436).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang teaches ND (NIPAm-DMC) copolymer hydrogel which is formed by the steps including: step 1: the reaction solution formation, which including: N-isopropylacrylamide (NIPAm) monomer, hydrophilic monomer [2-(methacryloyloxy)ethyl]trimethylammonium chloride (DMC), BIS (N,N′-methylene bis(acrylamide)), KPS (potassium persulfate), and TEMED (tetramethylethylenediamine) and water [P48429; Right Column, Para. 2], explicitly match the polymer solution [Instant App. US20230323040; 0019], which including: N-isopropyl acrylamide; potassium persulfate; N,N′-Methylenebisacrylamide; ionic co-monomer [2-(methacryloyloxy)ethyl]trimethylammonium chloride (DMC); N,N,N′,N′-Tetramethylethylenediamine and water [Instant App. US20230323040; 0013-14; 0016-18];
Yang further teaches step 2: the solution was rapidly injected into a laboratory-made mold [P48429; Right Column, Para. 2], which matches: transferring the solution to a mold [Instant App. US20230323040; 0006]. Therefore, the formation of the reaction solution with ionic co-monomer monomer [2-(methacryloyloxy)ethyl]trimethylammonium chloride (DMC) and hydrogel forming monomer N-isopropyl acrylamide, and the further transfer the reaction solution into injection molded article, collectively indicate the continuous spatial gradient of functional co-monomers have been sealed into the reaction solution and molding processes, meaning the [2-(methacryloyloxy)ethyl]trimethylammonium chloride (DMC) has been locked and sealed inside the molded article, prior to apply the electric field to the mold.
Yang teaches step 3: position the aforementioned molded reaction solution (mixture) to the electric field, and then polymerization was carried out between graphite electrodes under DC electric field. Then the electric field was removed, and the pre-gel system was further kept at 20 °C for 24 h to obtain a gradient hydrogel [P48429; Right Column, Para. 2],
Yang further teaches during the polymerization process under DC electric field, the gradient distribution of DMC is also formed during the polymerization due to migration of DMC under electric field [P48428; Abstract], collectively meet when the electric field is applied, the charged monomers will move towards the oppositely charged electrode, thereby forming the gradient. This becomes fixed into place when polymerization occurs.
[Instant App. US20230323040; 0023], hence, the above steps 1-3 explicitly taught by Yang can further indicate: a) functional co-monomers locked in within the molded reaction solution, b) apply electric field to the mold and induce polymerization, the polymerization can further lead to the formation of the crosslinked co-polymer hydrogel film having a continuous spatial gradient of functional co-monomers across a dimension of the film, which can collectively meet the specific steps 10, 12, 14, 16 [Instant App. Fig. 1; Fig. 3], Fig 1 is shown below:
Regarding Claims 2-4, 17-18, Yang teaches the crosslinked co-polymer hydrogel film having a continuous spatial gradient of functional co-monomers across a dimension of the film as set forth in claim 1 above.
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Yang teaches all of the claimed ingredients including the hydrogel-forming monomer and the functional co-monomer, and Yang further teaches the hydrogel with continuous spatial gradient as being made by a substantially similar process as set forth above in claim 1.
The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e., the hydrogel film with the continuous gradients’ formation, can possess the specific controlled, graded properties including wettability, refractive index, and lower critical solution temperature properties, would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients and the amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Additionally, the composition of Yang is incorporated into a mold to make 80x80x1 sheet, which is a square, and number of gradients will vary based on the direction in which the gradients are measured. For example, diagonally, parallel to the cathode, perpendicular to the cathode and the like.
Regarding Claims 5, 6, Yang teaches hydrophilic monomer [2-(methacryloyloxy)ethyl]trimethylammonium chloride (DMC) in water, as the reaction solution [P48429; Right Column, Para. 2], wherein, pH of an aqueous solution ranging from 0 to 14. Since the [2-(methacryloyloxy)ethyl]trimethylammonium chloride (DMC) is cationic monomer, structure see below, it carries a positive (cationic) charge (meaning self-charged) in water, based on its quaternary ammonium functional group.
With respect to claims 21, 23, Yang discloses use of KPS as initiator, which is free radical initiator.
With respect to claims 19-26, the claims are directed to a photo initiator which is present in the precursor composition and not in claimed crosslinked hydrogel. Having said that in the experimental section KPS was utilized in 20 mg, which results in 4.6% by weight of all solids, which would meet instant claims if applicants claimed precursor. The crosslinked hydrogel of claim 1 will not have the crosslinking agent because during crosslinking free radical initiators inherently decompose.
Additional art as per claim amendment, which utilizes UV radiation to polymerize.
Claims 1-6, 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parker (US 2012/0029416).
With respect to claims 1, 17, 19 and 20, Parker discloses hydrogels using solution comprising photo initiator which reacts to UV radiation [0032]. Resulting hydrogel has various gradients depending on mask utilized and selected polymerization of the precursor solution in mold [0066].
With respect to claims 2, 3, 4, 17 and 18, Parker discloses gradients which allow the hydrogel to act in the intended manner.
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Parker teaches hydrogel formed by photo initiator and discusses several types of gradients such as pH gradient created across the gel, voltage gradient spatial gradient as being made by a substantially similar process as set forth above in claim 1. Templating is considered as gradient within continuous gradient.
The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e., the hydrogel film with the continuous gradients’ formation, can possess the specific controlled, graded properties including wettability, refractive index, and lower critical solution temperature properties, would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients and the amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
With respect to claim 5, polymers of the hydrogel of Parker are negatively charged polyelectrolytes [0056].
With respect to claim 6, assuming the hydrophilic ionic polymer is already crosslinked forming hydrogel, is in basic pH during polymerization [0056] and after [0090].
With respect to claims 20-26, it should be noted that the claims are directed to crosslinked hydrogel, which is already polymerized. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that the photo initiators decompose during the polymerization which renders claims a product by process claims. Having said that, Parker discloses that the hydrogel forming monomers can be polymerized using potassium persulfate or Igracure photo initiators with or without TEMEDA. There are several types of Igracure photo initiators that can be utilized which comprise both phenyl and ketone groups. The two suitable photo initiators would be Igracure 2959 and Igracure 651m wherein ketone group is aliphatic or phenol (respectively). Igracure 651 is claimed DMPA.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 October 28, 2026