DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses legalese - i.e. it is an almost verbatim copy of claim 1 and 14. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu (20210373300) .
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses an optical imaging system (Fig 1, [0045], camera lens group), sequentially comprising from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig 1, [0006]): a diaphragm (STO); a first lens ([0068], E1) with a refractive power ([0069]); a second lens (E2) with a negative refractive power ([0069]); a third lens (E3) with a refractive power ([0069]); a fourth lens (E4) with a negative refractive power ([0069]); a fifth lens (E5) with a refractive power ([0069]); a sixth lens (E6) with a positive refractive power ([0069]), an image-side surface thereof is a convex surface (Fig 1, [0069]); and a seventh lens (E7) with a refractive power ([0069]); wherein an effective focal length f ([0047], f) of the optical imaging system (Fig 1) and an entrance pupil diameter (EPD) ([0047], EPD) of the optical imaging system satisfy: f/EPD<1.4 ([0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Hu discloses wherein an effective focal length f1 of the first lens ([0048], f1, Table 1), a curvature radius R1 of an object-side surface of the first lens (Table 1) and the effective focal length f ([0071], focal length f) of the optical imaging system satisfy: 1.0<(f1 +R1)/f<1.6 (Table 1, value of 1.09 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 4, Hu discloses wherein the effective focal length f of the optical imaging system ([0071], focal length f) and a curvature radius R4 of an image-side surface of the second lens (Table 1) satisfy: 2.5<f/R4<3.5 (Table 1, value of 2.89 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 7, Hu discloses wherein an effective focal length f6 of the sixth lens and a curvature radius R12 of the image-side surface of the sixth lens satisfy: -2.0<f6/R12<0 (Table 1, value of -1.17 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 12, Hu discloses wherein Semi-FOV is a half of a maximum field of view of the optical imaging system, and Semi-FOV satisfies: 10.00°<Semi-FOV<30.0° ([0071], value of 22° and within the claimed range).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed, pending applicant’s overcoming of the 112(a) rejection above.
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8-11, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 3, the prior art of Hu taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical imaging system including the specific arrangement: “wherein an effective focal length f2 of the second lens and a curvature radius R3 of an object-side surface of the second lens satisfy: -6.5<f2/R3<-2.0”.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 5, the prior art of Hu taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical imaging system including the specific arrangement: “wherein an effective focal length f3 of the third lens and a curvature radius R5 of an object-side surface of the third lens satisfy: 1.5<f3/R5<5.0”.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 6, the prior art of Hu taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical imaging system including the specific arrangement: “wherein an effective focal length f4 of the fourth lens, a curvature radius R8 of an image-side surface of the fourth lens and the effective focal length f of the optical imaging system satisfy: -3.0<(f4+R8)/f<0”.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 8, the prior art of Hu taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical imaging system including the specific arrangement: “wherein an effective focal length f7 of the seventh lens and a curvature radius R14 of an image-side surface of the seventh lens satisfy: -9.5<f7/R14<-2.5”.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 9, the prior art of Hu taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical imaging system including the specific arrangement: “wherein a center thickness CT1 of the first lens on the optical axis and a center thickness CT2 of the second lens on the optical axis satisfy: 3.5<CT1/CT2<5.0”.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 10, the prior art of Hu taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical imaging system including the specific arrangement: “wherein a center thickness CT3 of the third lens on the optical axis and a center thickness CT5 of the fifth lens on the optical axis satisfy: 2.0<CT3/CT5<3.5”.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 11, the prior art of Hu taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical imaging system including the specific arrangement: “wherein T45 is an air space between the fourth lens and the fifth lens on the optical axis, T34 is an air space between the third lens and the fourth lens on the optical axis, and T45 and T34 satisfy: 17.0
m
m
-
2
<1/(T45xT34)<27.0
m
m
-
2
“.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 13, the prior art of Hu taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical imaging system including the specific arrangement: “wherein TTL is an on-axis distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging surface, ImgH is a half of a diagonal length of an effective pixel region on the imaging surface, and TTL and ImgH satisfy: 2.5<TTL/ImgH<3.0”.
Specifically, with respect to independent claim 14, the prior art of Hu taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical imaging system including the specific arrangement: “a diaphragm; a first lens with a refractive power; a second lens with a negative refractive power; a third lens with a refractive power; a fourth lens with a negative refractive power; a fifth lens with a refractive power; a sixth lens with a positive refractive power, an image-side surface thereof is a convex surface; and a seventh lens with a refractive power, wherein an effective focal length f of the optical imaging system and a curvature radius R4 of an image-side surface of the second lens satisfy: 2.5<f/R4 3.5”. Claims 15-20 are allowable due to pendency on independent claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kuo (20200393652), Wenren (20190170966), and Li (20200179101) are examples of a camera lens systems utilizing at least seven lens components for good imaging quality.
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/Examiner, Art Unit 2872