--DETAILED ACTION--
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application is a continuation of 15/631,387 filed on 06/23/2017, which is a
continuation of 14/496,070 filed on 09/25/2014, and claims benefit in provisional application
61/882,504 filed on 09/25/2013.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 15, and 25-27 are pending and examined. Claims 25-27 were newly added and read on the invention originally presented. Claims 2, 4-14, and 16-24 were canceled. Claims 1, 3, and 15 were amended.
In the interest of compact prosecutions, the claims are treated on the merits. However, it is noted that claims submitted on 09/11/2026 do not comply with 37 CFR 1.121 because claim 15 has the status identifier “Previously Presented” and the claim was amended by deleting text and adding new text.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejections of claims 1 and 11-13 over El-Kurdi (WO 2008/094971 A2 Published August 7, 2008) and rejections of claims 1, 3, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 over Anneaux (US 2011/0030885 Al Published February 10, 2011 - of record in IDS dated 05/10/2022) and El Kurdi are withdrawn because claim 1 was amended to require the scaffold to consist of two layers of electrospun fibers, which is not obvious over El-Kurdi or Anneaux because El-Kurdi teaches an implant that is required to have a tubular tissue wrapped with an electrospun fiber matrix; and Anneaux teaches a device having a single layer of electrospun fibers where the fibers are randomly oriented.
Withdrawn Double Patenting Rejections
Rejections of claims 1, 15, and 17 over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 9,737,632 B2 (of record in IDS dated 05/10/2022) in view of Anneaux and El Kurdi are withdrawn because patented claims require a scaffold that is limited to a single layer, whereas instant claims require two layers. It would not have been obvious to modify patented claims to arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
Rejections of claims 1, 3, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,233,427 B2 in view of Anneaux and El Kurdi are withdrawn because it would not have been obvious to modify the implant in patented claims to arrive at the instantly claimed scaffold, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of skill in the art would not have been motived to modify the patented implant by adding a second layer having a fiber orientation as claimed.
Rejections of claims 1, 3, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 over claims 1-54 of U.S. Patent No. 12,167,853 B2 in view of Anneaux and El Kurdi are withdrawn because instant claims were amended and the rejection no longer requires Anneaux and El Kurdi.
Rejections of claims 1, 3, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 over claims 1-43 of U.S. Patent No. 10,227,568 B2 in view of Anneaux and El Kurdi are withdrawn because instant claims were amended and the rejection no longer requires Anneaux and El Kurdi.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because it ends with a comma and a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 15, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 25 require a scaffold consisting of a first layer of electrospun polymer fibers having an orientation relative to one another that is generally parallel, and a second layer of electrospun polymer fibers having an orientation relative to one another that is generally random.
In the remarks dated 09/11/2026, applicant cited paragraphs 0023, 0025, and 0032 for support of the newly added limitations.
The claims introduce new matter because the application as filed does not provide support for a scaffold consisting of two layers. Paragraph 0023 teaches one or more layers. Paragraph 0025 does not mention a number of layers in the scaffold. Paragraph 0032 teaches a scaffold made from a single layer or a composite comprising layers. Paragraph 0035 teaches a tri-layered tube.
Applicant is requested to clarify how the application as filed provides support for the specific embodiment of a scaffold consisting of two layers as described by the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the
contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CPR 1.56 to point out the inventor and
effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date
of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C.
102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a
new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection,
would be the same under either status.
Claims 1 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2007/0269481 A1 Published November 22, 2007 – of record in IDs dated 05/10/2022).
The claims encompass a scaffold consisting of a first layer of electrospun polymer fibers having an orientation relative to one another that is generally parallel, and a second layer of electrospun polymer fibers having an orientation relative to one another that is generally random, wherein the scaffold has a conduit shape.
The teachings of Li are related to biomimetic scaffolds (Abstract). The scaffolds are useful for treating injured nerves (paragraph 0007). Paragraph 0114 teaches polymers that are suitable for making the scaffolds. The fibers are produced by electrospinning methods (paragraph 0118). In one embodiment, a seamless fibrous polymer scaffold conduit is formed with an inner wall composed of longitudinally aligned fibers and an outer wall composed of unaligned fibers (paragraphs 00167 and 00170).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a scaffold in the shape of a conduit wherein the scaffold consists of an inner wall composed on longitudinally aligned fibers and an outer wall composed of unaligned fibers, with a reasonable expectation of success because Li teaches a scaffold in the shape of a conduit wherein the scaffold is created with an inner wall composed on longitudinally aligned fibers and an outer wall composed of unaligned fibers. Li’s conduit is described as having two layers, therefore the conduit consist of a first layer and a second layer as required by the claims. It would have been obvious to have formed the layers by electrospinning because Li teaches electrospinning as a suitable method of making the fibers (paragraph 0166).
The inner wall composed of longitudinally aligned fibers reads on the first layer of electrospun polymer fibers having an orientation relative to one another that is generally parallel. Figures 8 and 12B depict longitudinally aligned polymer scaffold sheet and it is apparent that fibers are aligned parallel to one another. The outer wall composed of unaligned fibers reads on the second layer of electrospun polymer fibers having an orientation relative to one another that is generally random. Figure 12 A depicts unaligned fibers and it is apparent from the drawing that fibers are randomly oriented.
The limitation “wherein the electrospun polymer fibers are formed as drug eluting fibers” in claim 25 is obvious because Li’s scaffold meets all of the structural limitations of instantly claimed scaffold and could have been used as drug eluting fibers absent evidence to the contrary. Additionally, Li teaches that the conduit is suitable for delivering biomolecules such as growth factors (paragraph 0202).
Claims 3 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claims 1 and 25 above, and further in view of Li (“Li ‘204” US 2003/0028204 A1 Published February 6, 2003).
The claims further define the scaffold of claims 1 and 25.
The teachings of Li are relied upon as summarized above, however Li does not teach the limitations of claims 3 and 26.
The teachings of Li ‘204 are related to an implant device including a tubular matrix made of a biocompatible and bioresorbable biopolymeric material. The matrix has a first end and a second end, a wall of a homogeneous thickness; a plurality of ridges on the wall; and a channel which is defined by the wall and extends from the first end to the second end of the tubular matrix (Abstract). Further, although these devices are tubular, they do not all provide kink resistance. Kink resistance (i.e., resistance to forming a crease or a sharp bending of the wall) is
particularly important in cases which require bending of the device for proper connections, such as nerve repairs in wrists and hands. Kinking of a nerve-guiding tube causes nerve compression and potential axonal disruption and neuroma formation (paragraph 0005). Therefore, there is a need for a biocompatible, resorbable, semipermeable, and kink resistant tubular implant for nerve repair (paragraph 0008). Paragraph 0014 teaches how the ridged tubular matrix is formed. The ridges on the wall provide flexibility in the implant, thus rendering it kink resistant (paragraph 0033).
The teachings of Li and Li ‘204 are related to polymer conduits intended for treating nerves and it would have been obvious to have combined their teachings because they are in the same field of endeavor. It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Li’s conduit with ridges intended to increase kink resistance, with a reasonable expectation of success because it was known from Li ‘204 that conduits intended for nerve repair should be kink resistant because kinking of nerve guiding tube causes nerve compression and potential axonal disruption and neuroma formation. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify Li’s conduit in view of Li ‘204 because the modification would have improved Li’s conduit.
Claims 15 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claims 1 and 25 above, and further in view of Anneaux.
Li teaches that the fibers of the polymer scaffold have a diameter from about 0.1 nanometers to about 50,000 nanometers (paragraph 0112). Li further teaches that the polymer scaffold is nano-porous and breathable (paragraph 0208). However, Li does not teach pore size of the scaffold.
The teachings of Anneaux are related to a prosthetic device formed from electrostatically spun fibrous layers (Title). Fibers are formed from polymers (paragraph 0009). Final material size varies as the composite can be produced as sheets or tubes. The composite internodal distance can be about 0.1 to about 200 microns with porosity ranging from about 20 to 90% (paragraph 0028).
The teachings of Li and Anneaux are related to prosthetic devices formed from electrostatically spun fibrous layers formed from polymers and it would have been obvious to have combined them because they are in the same field of endeavor.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Li’s scaffold as a nano-porous scaffold and from fibers having a diameter in the range of 0.1-50,000 nm, with a reasonable expectation of success because Li teaches that the scaffold is nano-porous and breathable and teaches forming the scaffold with fibers having a diameter in the range of 0.1-50,000 nm. The claimed fiber diameter of from about 100 nm to about 50 microns is obvious because it is encompassed by Li’s range of diameters. Li does not provide a range of suitable pore sizes of the scaffold. It would have been obvious to have formed the scaffold having a range of pore sizes from about 0.1 to about 200 microns because Anneaux teaches said range as suitable in tube shaped prosthetic devices formed from fibers obtained by electrospinning polymers. The claimed pore size range is obvious because it overlaps with Anneaux’ range.
Double Patenting Rejections
Claims 1, 3, 15, and 25-27 are rejected on the ground ofnonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-54 of U.S. Patent No. 12,167,853 B2 in view of Li ‘204.
Patented claims are drawn to a resorbable hybrid-scale fiber matrix for use in facilitating
nerve repair and regeneration, the matrix comprising: an inner fiber layer comprising uniaxially
aligned or longitudinally-aligned fibers; and an outer fiber layer comprising randomly-aligned
fibers, wherein the hybrid-scale fibers comprise fibers having a range of fiber diameters between
10 nm-10,000 nm (claim 1), wherein a mean pore size of the matrix is less than 300μ.sup.2.
(claim 18), wherein the matrix comprises a shape geometry of a conduit (claim 16), and wherein
the hybrid-scale fibers comprising a resorbable polymer selected from a group of polymers
consisting of polycaprolactone, poly lactic acid, and polyglycolic acid (claim 17).
Limitations of claims 1 and 25 are obvious over patented claims because patented claims are drawn to a nerve repair construct that comprises a inner fiber layer and an outer fiber layer that meet the limitations of the instantly claimed first and second layers. Patented fibers could have been used for delivering a drug, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 3 and 26, it would have been obvious to have formed the patented scaffold with ridges because having ridges in a vascular graft was known from Li ‘204.
Regarding claims 15 and 27, the claimed diameter range is obvious because it overlaps with the patented diameter range in claim 2. The claimed pore size range is obvious because it overlaps with less than 300 microns.
Claims 1, 3, 15, and 25-27 are rejected on the ground ofnonstatutory double
patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of U.S. Patent No. 10,227,568 B2 in view of
Li ‘204.
Patented claims are drawn to an implantable artificial organ comprising: a scaffold
comprising at least one layer of electrospun fibers having an orientation, a diameter, and a fiber
spacing configured to control the orientation, growth, or differentiation of biological cells seeded
thereon, the scaffold formed into a replica of a biological organ selected from the group
consisting of an esophagus, a small intestine, a large intestine, a duodenum, and a jejunum;
wherein the scaffold has an interior surface that is smooth on the microscale; wherein the
electrospun fibers comprise a radiopaque material; and wherein the electrospun fibers have a
fiber spacing of about 2 micrometers to about 50 micrometers (claim 1), wherein the
electrospun fibers comprise one or more of a polycaprolactone, a poly lactic acid, and a
polyglycolic acid (claim 3), wherein the electrospun fibers have a diameter from about 100
nanometers to about 1000 nanometers (claim 4), wherein the electrospun fibers have an
orientation selected from the group consisting of substantially mutually parallel, randomly
oriented, and a combination thereof (claim 7), wherein the electrospun fibers comprise a mixture
of multiple materials (claim 9), wherein the electrospun fibers further comprise one or more of
an elutable drug (claim 10). The implantable artificial organ of claim 1, wherein the at least one layer of electrospun fibers comprises a plurality of layers of electrospun fibers (claim 11), wherein the electrospun fibers of at least one layer of the plurality of layers of electrospun fibers comprise a first material, and the electrospun fibers of at least a second layer of the plurality of layers of electrospun fibers comprise a second material (claim 13), wherein the electrospun fibers of at least one layer of the plurality of layers of electrospun fibers have a first orientation, and the electrospun fibers of at least a second layer of the plurality of layers of electrospun fibers have a second orientation (claim 17).
Regarding claims 1 and 25, it would have been obvious to have formed a scaffold having two layers, each layer formed from electrospun polymer fibers and wherein the two layers having different fiber orientation, with a reasonable expectation of success because patented claims encompass an embodiment that meets these limitations. Patented claims teach fiber orientation that is parallel and random, thus it would have been obvious to form one layer having parallel fibers and the second layer having randomly oriented fibers because patented claims include an embodiment where the first and second layers have different fiber orientation. Patented claims teach that implant is a replica of tube shaped organs thus it would have been obvious to have formed the implant having a conduit shape. The claimed fiber diameter and scaffold pore size are obvious because claimed ranges overlap with the corresponding parameters in the patented claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 26, it would have been obvious to have formed the patented scaffold with ridges because having ridges in tubular grafts was known from Li ‘204 in order to reduce kink formation.
Regarding claims 15 and 27, the claimed diameter range is obvious because it overlaps with the patented diameter range in claims 4 and 5. The claimed pore size range is obvious because it overlaps with the range of 2 microns to 50 microns. Fiber spacing in the patented claims reads on pore size.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
examiner should be directed to Alma - Pipic whose telephone number is (571)270-7459. The
examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via
telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration
tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview
Request (AIR) at http://v-/w,v.uspto.gov/intervie'vvpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by
telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Michael Hartley can be reached on 571-
272-0616. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is
assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished
applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information
about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ALMA PIPIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617