*DETAILED ACTION*
Applicant’s response dated May 28, 2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
This application is a continuation of 15/631,387 filed on 06/23/2017, which is a
continuation of 14/496,070 filed on 09/25/2014, and claims benefit in provisional application
61/882,504 filed on 09/25/2013.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 are pending and examined. Claims 2, 4-10, 14, 16, and
20-24 were canceled. Claims 1 and 3 were amended.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Rejections of claims 1, 3, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. l 12(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112
(pre-AIA ), first paragraph, are withdrawn because claim 1 was amended by deleting
poly(lactide-co-caprolactone) and poly(lactic-co-glycolic)acid.
Rejections of claims 1, 3, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn because claim 1 was amended by adding “and” between the last two “wherein” clauses.
Maintained Claim Rejections-35 USC§ 103
Modified as Necessitated by Amendment
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the
contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CPR 1.56 to point out the inventor and
effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date
of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C.
102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a
new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection,
would be the same under either status.
Claims 1 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Kurdi
(WO 2008/094971 A2 Published August 7, 2008).
The claims encompass a scaffold comprising:
at least one layer of electrospun polymer fibers having an orientation relative to one
another that is generally parallel, random, or a combination thereof;
wherein the scaffold has a nerve conduit shape;
wherein the fibers are formed as drug eluting fibers; and
wherein the electrospun polymer fibers comprise polycocaprolactone, polylactic acid, polyglycolic acid, or combinations thereof.
The teachings of El-Kurdi are related to a tubular tissue graft comprising a tubular tissue
and a restrictive fiber matrix of a bioerodible polymer about a circumference of the tubular
tissue. The matrix may be electrospun onto the tubular tissue (Abstract). In one embodiment, the
device is prepared by electrospinning the polymer fibers onto the tubular tissue. The polymer
fibers can comprise any useful bioerodible polymer composition. In other embodiments, the
fibers comprise a polymer chosen from one or more of: a polymer derived from an alpha-hydroxy acid, a polylactide, a polyglycolic acid, a polymer comprising a lactone monomer, a polycaprolactone, among others (paragraph bridging pages 13-14). In yet another embodiment, one or both of a cell and a therapeutic agent (e.g., drug, cytokine, chemoattractant, antibiotic, anti-inflammatory, etc.) is associated with (attached to, absorbed into, adsorbed to, grown into, linked to, etc.) the matrix.
Suitable cells include endothelial cells. In another embodiment, a growth factor is associated with the matrix, for example and without limitation, a growth factor chosen from one or more of basic fibroblast growth factor (bFGF), acidic fibroblast growth factor (aFGF), vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF), hepatocyte growth factor (HGF), insulin-like growth factors (IGF), transforming growth factor-beta pleiotrophin protein, midkine protein and IGF-1
(paragraph bridging pages 14-15). A "fiber" is an elongated, slender, thread-like and/or
filamentous structure. A "matrix" is any two- or three-dimensional arrangement of elements
(e.g., fibers), either ordered (e.g. in a woven or non-woven mesh) or randomly arranged
(as is typical with a mat of fibers typically produced by electrospinning) (page 21 first paragraph
in Detailed Description). Electrospinning may be performed using two or more nozzles, wherein
each nozzle is a source of a different polymer solution. The nozzles may be biased with different
biases or the same bias in order to tailor the physical and chemical properties of the resulting
non-woven polymeric mesh (second full paragraph on page 23).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a scaffold comprising at least one
layer of electrospun polymer fibers having an orientation relative to one another that is random,
wherein the scaffold has tubular shape and the fibers are drug eluting fibers, with a reasonable
expectation of success because El Kurdi teaches a tubular tissue graft comprising a tubular tissue
and a fiber matrix of a bioerodible polymer about a circumference of the tubular tissue wherein
the matrix is electrospun onto the tubular tissue and comprises a therapeutic agent associated
with the matrix, and wherein the fibers are randomly arranged in the matrix. The fibers are drug
eluting fibers because El Kurdi teaches that the polymers release therapeutic agents when they
degrade within the patient's body (third full paragraph on page 29). It would have been obvious
to have formed the fibers using a polylactide, polyglycolic acid, or polycaprolactone because El Kurdi teaches forming the fibers from one or more polymers selected from a polylactide, polyglycolic acid, or polycaprolactone. A graft having a tubular shape reads meets the limitation that requires a nerve conduit shape. A tubular shape is a conduit shape, and El Kurdi’s graft having a tubular shape could have been used for treating a nerve, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, it would have been obvious to have formed the scaffold to
comprise a cell selected from epithelial cells because El Kurdi teaches that the matrix is
associated with one or both of a cell and a therapeutic agent, wherein the cell is selected from
epithelial cells.
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to have formed the scaffold to comprise
a growth factor because El Kurdi teaches that the matrix is associated with a growth factor.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to have formed the scaffold to comprise a cytokine, an
antibiotic, or an anti-inflammatory because El Kurdi teaches that the matrix is associated with a
therapeutic agent selected from a cytokine, an antibiotic, and an anti-inflammatory.
Claims 1, 3, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Anneaux (US 2011/0030885 Al Published February 10, 2011 - of record in
IDS dated 05/10/2022) and El Kurdi.
The rejection statement was amended to include claim 3 because the claim was mistakenly left out of the rejection statement in the previous office action. It is clear from the body of the previous rejection that claim 3 was rejected, thus amending the rejection statement ot include claim 3 does not constitute a new ground of rejection.
The claims encompass a scaffold comprising:
at least one layer of electrospun polymer fibers having an orientation relative to one
another that is generally parallel, random, or a combination thereof;
wherein the scaffold has a nerve conduit shape;
wherein the fibers are formed as drug eluting fibers; and
wherein the electrospun polymer fibers comprise polylactic acid, polyglycolic acid, polycaprolactone, or mixtures thereof.
The teachings of Anneaux are related to a prosthetic device including electrostatically
spun fibrous layer and method of making (Title and Abstract). The prosthetic device includes
tubular prosthetic devices comprising electrospun, also referred to as espin, fibers around a
central lumen of such devices. In certain embodiments, the central lumen can include expanded
PTFE. In certain embodiments, the espin fibers can include PTFE, however other materials can
be espun and used in addition to or in combination with espin PTFE. For example, other suitable
materials that can be espun in accordance with the present disclosure include nylons,
polyurethanes (PU), polyesters, fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP), or the like. (paragraph
0014).
Advantages over conventional processes and devices include: 1) the ability to incorporate
layers with vastly different pore structures and sizes, these different structural layers can be used
to manipulate mechanical properties, cellular proliferation, cellular permeability, fluid
permeability, adhesion to a structural frame, and/or incorporation of an active therapeutic
component; 2) the ability to make a composite construction with vastly different components
enabling a broader range of therapeutic uses and structures; 3) improved bonding of PTFE layers
to structural frames and to other layers of the construct; 4) the ability to incorporate an espin
layer that closely mimics that of the extracellular matrix affording greater control of cellular
response; and 5) enabling the coating of complex geometries that otherwise could not be covered
with ePTFE or other materials alone (paragraph 0017). The tubular structure can include
bioactive agents such as growth factors and cells (paragraph 0018). Figure 2 is a cross section
view of a device including an ePTFE layer 1, a frame 3, and an espin layer 2. Such a
configuration may be used in an application where it is desirable to bond ePTFE to a formed
structure such as a stent, occlusion device or other frame. The espin layer provides adhesion
while also providing a substantially different pore size and structure on the luminal or abluminal
surface depending on the application. In such a configuration, the espin layer can be applied
directly to the surface of the frame or added as a preformed sheet that is combined with the
ePTFE and frame as part of the sintering or curing process. In general, such a configuration
could be utilized in any application where the encapsulation of a support frame is desirable. For
instance, such a configuration could be used in connection with a conventional stent (paragraph
0021). The electro-spun layer is preferably applied directly to the frame through electrospinning
methods understood by those skilled in the art; however, it could also be applied by lamination
as well.
The technique involves pressing an espun layer onto a second material layer and heating
to a complimentary temperature. In all configurations, the design can include or exclude a
structural frame. These frames can take the form of stents, occlusion coils or frames,
regenerative medicine scaffolds, structural reinforcements, pacing or monitoring leads, tissue
anchors or tacks, biological stimulation devices, biomimetic implants, signal receivers or
transmitters, orthopedic fixation devices or any other metallic, polymeric, ceramic or other
therapeutic device (paragraph 0026). The diameter of fibers in the espin layer can range from
about 10 nm to 2000 nm in size (paragraph 0030). Expanded PTFE is comprised of a
microstructure consisting of solid nodes interconnected by fine, highly oriented fibrils. The
expanded PTFE nodes and fibrils provide unique biocompatible porous structures. The
microstructure of the material can be adjusted to provide a matrix for cellular attachment and ingrowth.
The expanded PTFE and electrospun PTFE microstructures are designed to enhance,
inhibit or retard the migration of endothelium during the early phase of healing (paragraph
0032). Paragraph 0036 describes suitable fiberizing polymers, including polyethylene oxide,
alginate, polylactic acid, chitosan, and polyaniline.
Anneaux does not teach drug eluting fibers.
The teachings of El Kurdi are relied upon as summarized above.
The teachings of Anneaux and El Kurdi are related to tubular prosthetic devices
comprising electrospun polymer fibers and it would have been obvious to have combined them
because they are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 1, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill
in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a tissue
regeneration scaffold comprising expanded PTFE layer and a layer of electrospun polymer
fibers, with a reasonable expectation of success because Anneaux teaches a prosthetic device
suitable for tissue regeneration wherein the device is a scaffold comprising electrostatically spun
fibrous layer and an expanded PTFE layer. It would have been obvious to have formed the layer
having fibers in random orientation because Anneaux teaches an embodiment wherein the fibers
are in a random orientation. It would have been obvious to have formed the tissue regeneration
scaffold in the shape of a tube because Anneaux teaches that the prosthetic device
includes tubular prosthetic devices comprising electrospun, also referred to as espin, fibers
around a central lumen of such devices; and in one embodiment teaches positioning a stent over
a tubular polymeric structure followed by electrospinning nanofibers from a dispersion onto the
tubular frame to form a prosthetic device (paragraphs 008, 0019 and 0021). Anneaux further
teaches an implantable microporous tubular vascular prosthesis or tubular graft comprising espun
fibers in a random orientation around a central lumen. The tubular vascular prosthesis or tubular
graft may include one or more layers forming a composite structure of espun PTFE fibers around
a tubular structure such as tubular vascular prosthesis, tubular graft, tubular frame, or a
combination thereof (paragraph 0016). A tube is a conduit, which renders the claimed conduit obvious. A graft having a tubular shape reads meets the limitation that requires a nerve conduit shape. A tubular shape is a conduit shape, and Anneaux’ graft having a tubular shape could have been used for treating a nerve, absent evidence to the contrary.
It would have been obvious to have formed the prosthetic device in the form of tubular
structure comprising a bioactive agent because Anneaux teaches that the tubular structure
includes a bioactive agent (paragraph 0018). Anneux does not teach how the bioactive agent is
incorporated into the tubular structure.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to have formed the tubular prosthetic
device by incorporating the bioactive agent into the fibers in order to form bioactive agent
eluting fibers, with a reasonable expectation of success because it was known from El Kurdi that
a therapeutic agent may be incorporated into a tubular prosthetic device made from fibers by
associating the therapeutic agent with the fibers in the matrix and wherein the fibers release the
therapeutic agent into the subject.
It would have been obvious to have formed Anneaux' fibers by espinning polyesters and
PTFE, with a reasonable expectation of success Anneaux teaches that the espin fibers include
PTFE, however many other suitable materials can be espun and used in addition to or in
combination with such espun PTFE. For example, other suitable materials that can be espun
include nylons, polyurethanes, and polyesters (paragraph 0014). Anneaux does not teach
examples of polyesters. It would have been obvious to have selected a polylactide, a polyglycolic acid, or polycaprolactone as the polyesters because it was known from El Kurdi that
these polyesters are as suitable for making fibers by electrospinning in the process of making
tubular prosthetic.
Selecting El Kurdi's polyesters would have been obvious because the selection of a
known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose supports obviousness, and
combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results
supports obviousness.
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to have formed the device with ridges
because it is apparent from the cross-sectional view of device in Figures 3 and 4 of Anneaux that
the device comprises ridges. Since the ridges are present in the prior art structure, the increase in
kink resistance would have been necessarily present.
Regarding claims 11 and 13, it would have been obvious to have added cells and growth
factors to the device with a reasonable expectation of success because Anneaux teach adding
bioactive agents such as growth factors and cells to the device.
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to have selected epithelial cells because
El Kurdi teaches that epithelial cells are suitable for incorporating into a tubular prosthetic.
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to have formed the fibers having a
diameter in the range of about 10 nm to 2000 nm, which renders the claimed range of fiber
diameters obvious because the ranges overlap. It would have been obvious to have formed the
layer having intemodal distance from about 0.1 to about 200 microns with porosity ranging from
about 20 to 90%, with a reasonable expectation of success because Anneaux teaches said
parameters as suitable for a tissue regeneration device. The claimed pore size range is obvious
because it overlaps prior art range.
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to have formed the fibers to further
comprise polyaniline, with a reasonable expectation of success because Anneaux teaches
polyaniline as a suitable fiberizing polymer.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Anneaux teaches that the device can be fastened into a
helical pattern or interlacing rings and fibers around the lumen of the device (paragraphs 0016
and 0023). As the helical or spiral fiber share the same structure as instantly claimed, it would
have been expected to have the same reinforcing quality as instantly claimed macroscopic radial
reinforcement.
Double Patenting Rejections
Claims 1, 15, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as
being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 9,737,632 B2 (ofrecord in IDS dated
05/10/2022) in view of Anneaux and El Kurdi.
Patented claims are drawn to a scaffold consisting of a layer of biocompatible electrospun
polymer fibers having an orientation relative to one another that is generally parallel, random, or
a combination thereof, the scaffold having a shape selected from an arteriovenous shunt, a
vascular implant, a stent, a conduit, and a combination thereof. It would have been prima facie
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the to have modified the patented scaffold in view of the
teachings of cited references in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to have formed the fibers in patented
claims as drug eluting fibers by incorporating the drug into the fiber, with a reasonable
expectation of success because it was known from El Kurdi that scaffolds formed from
electrospun biodegradable fibers are useful for delivering a drug to a subject wherein the drug is
released into the subject when they degrade within patient's body (page 30 first full paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to have formed the patented scaffold with
ridges because having ridges in a vascular graft was known from Anneaux, which would have
been an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to have selected antibiotics, anti-inflammatories or growth factors as the active agent intended to be incorporated into the
bioerodible fibers because El Kurdi teaches embedding these active agents into the bioerodible
fibers (paragraph bridging pages 30-31).
Regarding claim 15, patented claim 5 teaches a fiber diameter and pore size that overlaps
with claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to have formed the layer with fibers
made from polyaniline because polyaniline was known from Anneaux as a suitable material for
making fibers intended for construction of vascular grafts.
Claims 1, 3, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double
patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,233,427 B2 in view of
Anneaux and El Kurdi.
Patented claims are drawn to an implantable artificial organ scaffold comprising: one or
more electrospun fibers, each fiber comprising a polymer and a radio opaque compound; wherein
the one or more electrospun fibers are formed into a layer having a fiber orientation selected
from the group consisting of substantially parallel, randomly oriented, and a combination
thereof, wherein the layer has a fiber spacing from about 2 μm to about 50 μm; and wherein the
implantable artificial organ scaffold is formed into a luminal structure having an interior surface
that is smooth on the microscale
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to have formed the fibers in patented
claims as drug eluting fibers by incorporating the drug into the fibers, with a reasonable
expectation of success because it was known from El Kurdi that scaffolds formed from
electrospun biodegradable fibers are useful for delivering a drug to a subject wherein the drug is
released into the subject when they degrade within patient's body (page 30 first full paragraph).
Patented claims do not teach suitable polymers for making the fibers. It would have been obvious
to have formed the fibers in patented claims using polylactide, polyglycolic acid, or polycaprolactone, with a reasonable expectation of success because El Kurdi teaches these polymers as bioerodible polymers suitable for making fibers by electrospinning. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose supports obviousness. It would have been obvious to co-electrospin the copolymers or form the fibers from a blend of the copolymers for reasons described above. It would have been obvious to form the fibers randomly oriented relative to one another because El Kurdi teaches randomly oriented fibers.
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to have formed the patented scaffold with
ridges because having ridges in a vascular graft was known from Anneaux, which would have
been an obvious design choice.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, patented claims teach incorporating cells into the scaffold
wherein the cells include epithelial cells.
Regarding claim 13, patented claim 1 teaches a radio opaque compound.
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to have formed the fibers in the patented
claims having a range of diameters and a range of pore sizes as taught by Anneaux as described
in detail above because Anneaux is concerned with tubular scaffolds formed from electrospun
polymer fibers. The claimed ranges are obvious because they overlap with their respective prior
art ranges.
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to have formed the fibers to further
comprise polyaniline, with a reasonable expectation of success because Anneaux teaches
polyaniline as a suitable fiberizing polymer.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Anneaux teaches that the device can be fastened into a
helical pattern or interlacing rings and fibers around the lumen of the device (paragraphs 0016
and 0023). As the helical or spiral fiber share the same structure as instantly claimed, it would
have been expected to have the same reinforcing quality as instantly claimed macroscopic radial
reinforcement.
Claims 1, 3, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected on the ground ofnonstatutory double
patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-54 of U.S. Patent No. 12,167,853 B2 in view of
Anneaux and El Kurdi.
Patented claims are drawn to a resorbable hybrid-scale fiber matrix for use in facilitating
nerve repair and regeneration, the matrix comprising: an inner fiber layer comprising uniaxially aligned or longitudinally-aligned fibers; and an outer fiber layer comprising randomly-aligned
fibers, wherein the hybrid-scale fibers comprise fibers having a range of fiber diameters between
10 nm-10,000 nm (claim 1), wherein a mean pore size of the matrix is less than 300μ.sup.2.
(claim 18), wherein the matrix comprises a shape geometry of a conduit (claim 16), and wherein
the hybrid-scale fibers comprising a resorbable polymer selected from a group of polymers
consisting of polycaprolactone, poly lactic acid, and polyglycolic acid (claim 17).
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to have formed the fibers in patented
claims as drug eluting fibers by incorporating the drug into the fiber, with a reasonable
expectation of success because it was known from El Kurdi that scaffolds formed from
electrospun biodegradable fibers are useful for delivering a drug to a subject wherein the drug is
released into the subject when they degrade within patient's body (page 30 first full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to form the fibers randomly oriented relative to one another because El Kurdi teaches randomly oriented fibers.
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to have formed the patented scaffold with
ridges because having ridges in a vascular graft was known from Anneaux, which would
have been an obvious design choice.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, it would have been obvious to have modified the matrix by
associating the matrix with a cell such as an epithelial cell because it was known from El Kurdi
that cells such as epithelial cells may be added to a tubular scaffold intended to tissue repair.
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to have selected antibiotics, anti-inflammatories, or growth factors as the active agent intended to be incorporated into the
bioerodible fibers because El Kurdi teaches embedding these active agents into the bioerodible
fibers (paragraph bridging pages 30-31).
Regarding claim 15, the claimed diameter range is obvious because it overlaps with the
patented diameter range in claim 2. The claimed pore size range is obvious because it overlaps
with less than 300 microns.
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to have formed the layer with fibers
made from polyaniline because polyaniline was known from Anneaux as a suitable material for
making fibers intended for construction of vascular grafts.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Anneaux teaches that the device can be fastened into a
helical pattern or interlacing rings and fibers around the lumen of the device (paragraphs 0016
and 0023). As the helical or spiral fiber share the same structure as instantly claimed, it would
have been expected to have the same reinforcing quality as instantly claimed macroscopic radial
reinforcement.
Claims 1, 3, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected on the ground ofnonstatutory double
patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of U.S. Patent No. 10,227,568 B2 in view of
Anneaux and El Kurdi.
Patented claims are drawn to an implantable artificial organ comprising: a scaffold
comprising at least one layer of electrospun fibers having an orientation, a diameter, and a fiber
spacing configured to control the orientation, growth, or differentiation of biological cells seeded
thereon, the scaffold formed into a replica of a biological organ selected from the group
consisting of an esophagus, a small intestine, a large intestine, a duodenum, and a jejunum;
wherein the scaffold has an interior surface that is smooth on the microscale; wherein the
electrospun fibers comprise a radiopaque material; and wherein the electrospun fibers have a
fiber spacing of about 2 micrometers to about 50 micrometers ( claim 1 ), wherein the electrospun fibers comprise one or more of a polycaprolactone, a poly lactic acid, and a polyglycolic acid (claim 3), wherein the electrospun fibers have a diameter from about 100 nanometers to about 1000 nanometers (claim 4), wherein the electrospun fibers have an orientation selected from the group consisting of substantially mutually parallel, randomly oriented, and a combination thereof (claim 7), wherein the electrospun fibers comprise a mixture of multiple materials (claim 9), wherein the electrospun fibers further comprise one or more of an elutable drug ( claim 10).
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to have formed the patented scaffold with
ridges because having ridges in a vascular graft was known from Anneaux, which would have
been an obvious design choice.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, it would have been obvious to have modified the matrix by
associating the matrix with a cell such as an epithelial cell because it was known from El Kurdi
that cells such as epithelial cells may be added to a tubular scaffold intended to tissue repair. The
intended purpose of patented scaffold is cell seeding.
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to have selected antibiotics, anti-inflammatories, or growth factors as the active agent intended to be incorporated into the
bioerodible fibers because El Kurdi teaches these active agents as useful for embedding and
delivery by the bioerodible fibers (paragraph bridging pages 30-31).
Regarding claim 15, the claimed diameter range is obvious because it overlaps with the
patented diameter range in claims 4 and 5. The claimed pore size range is obvious because it
overlaps with the range of 2 microns to 50 microns. Fiber spacing in the patented claims reads on
pore size.
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to have formed the layer with fibers
made from polyaniline because polyaniline was known from Anneaux as a suitable material for
making fibers intended for construction of vascular grafts.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Anneaux teaches that the device can be fastened into a
helical pattern or interlacing rings and fibers around the lumen of the device (paragraphs 0016
and 0023). As the helical or spiral fiber share the same structure as instantly claimed, it would
have been expected to have the same reinforcing quality as instantly claimed macroscopic radial
reinforcement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted in the remarks dated May 28, 2026 were fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons.
Applicant’s argument that El Kurdi’s tubular tissue graft does not meet the limitation that requires a nerve conduit shape because El Kurdi teaches using the tubular tissue graft for treating organs other than nerves is not persuasive because a tubular tissue graft has a conduit shape that could have been used to treat a nerve. Applicant did not provide reasons, other than intended use, as to why a tubular graft does not structurally meet “a nerve conduit shape” limitation. Applicant appears to be arguing intended use, however the argument is not persuasive because El Kurdi’s tubular graft meets all structural requirements of claimed nerve conduit shape.
Arguments against Anneaux based on a nerve conduit shape limitation are not persuasive for the same reasons as provided above in response to arguments against El Kurdi.
Double patenting rejections are maintained because applicant requested the rejection to be held in abeyance.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Alma - Pipic whose telephone number is (571)270-7459. The
examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via
telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration
tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview
Request (AIR) at http://v-/w,v.uspto.gov/intervie'vvpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by
telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Michael Hartley can be reached on 571-
272-0616. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is
assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished
applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information
about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ALMA PIPIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617