DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13-14 are indefinite because of the phrase in "replacement of a liquid clean-in-place process" because it is unclear whether the "liquid clean in place process" refers to liquid cleaning in place of a pipe, vessel, process equipment, filter or fitting. Clarification is requested, as claims 13-14 are dependent on claims 11-12, however there is no correlation between the relationship of a liquid clean in place process and the cleaning in place process recited in claims 11-12. Is applicant comparing a liquid cleaning in place of the equipment recited in claims 11-12?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, and 11-14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollwedel et al. (US2010/0313913A1) in view of Nam et al. (KR 100810584B1).
Re claim 11, Hollwedel et al. teach cleaning a secondary chamber of a heat exchanger of a nuclear facility, which reads broadly on applicant’s claim language of “a system comprising nuclear material”, comprising introducing a cleaning solution to treat deposits followed by introducing hot air (paragraphs 35-40) to dry the impurities present in the secondary chamber 6 of the steam generator 2, wherein the deposits flack off during drying. Hollwedel et al. teach applying heat (i.e. hot air) to the process equipment (secondary chamber 6 of steam generator 2). The limitations of without disassembly of the system are inherently met since paragraph 36 teaches introducing hot air into the chamber 6.
Re claim 11, Hollwedel et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of an external heat gun. Nam teaches the use of heat guns for blowing hot air onto a surface of an object to dry the object. Specifically Nam teaches using a heat gun for use in cleaning and drying pipes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hollwedel et al. to include a heat gun, as taught by Nam, for purposes of blowing hot air.
Re claim 5, the limitations are met since paragraph 36 teaches introducing hot air which causes the deposits to develop cracks and flake off. Additionally, applicant is not claiming a specified temperature, such that any temperature which results in a change in the structure of the material would read broadly on applicant’s claim language. Additionally, Hollwedel et al. teach drying to result in mechanical destabilization of the deposits (paragraph 40). Re claims 11-12, the limitations are met by Hollwedel et al. in view of Nam et al. for the reasons previously recited. Specifically, Hollwedel et al. teach applying heat to a system comprising nuclear material (i.e. heat exchanger in a nuclear facility, abstract), wherein application of heat results in cleaning in place without disassembly of the system, since hot air (paragraphs 35-40) is introduced to dry the impurities present in the secondary chamber 6 of the steam generator 2, wherein the deposits flack off during drying. The flaking off of deposits read on a cleaning step. Since the hot air is applied directly into the second chamber, the limitations of without disassembly of the system are met. The limitations of a heat gun to provide heated air are met by Nam. Re claim 12, the limitations of providing concentrated nuclear material as met since Hollwedel et al. are directed to cleaning and removing deposits from generators in nuclear facilities. Furthermore, applicant has not defined what the skilled artisan would consider as a “concentrated” amount of nuclear material and therefore, any amount of nuclear material would read as “concentrated”. Re claim 12, the limitations of flaking off are a result of applying heat at a temperature above a destruction temperature. Since Hollwedel et al. teach cracking and flaking off of contaminants (paragraph 36) as a result of heating, the skilled artisan would reasonably expect the limitations of applying heat at a temperature above a destruction temperature to be met. Furthermore, since Hollwedel et al. teach applying heat, the examiner argues that Hollwedel et al. is heating above a destructive temperature which results in the contaminants being fractured, followed by flaking off of the generator. In reference to collecting the flaked off material and combining the recovered material with rest of a batch of nuclear material, applicant is directed to paragraph 36 for example which teaches that the flaked off deposits accumulate in the base plate or lower tube sheet 10 of the steam generator. Specifically, the flaked off material is being collected in the tube sheet and combine with a batch of other material, which are recovered in the tube sheet. Applicant has not limited the definition of “batch” as it reads broadly on other material being collected.
Re claims 13-14, it is noted that applicant's specification (paragraph 21) fails to provide any criticality and/or a showing of unexpected result as to only the use of heat, as the specification clearly teaches that heat can be used in replacement of or in conjunction with a liquid cleaning in place process. Re claims 13 and 14 are interpreted as a liquid cleaning step which is replaced by application of heat. In view of the indefiniteness, the limitations are met by the prior art for the reasons set forth below. Specifically, paragraph 38 teaches that in order to improve the cleaning efficiency, the cleaning solution is heated to a boiling in combination with superheated steam, which is followed by a drying step in paragraph 40. Specifically, a boiled solution and superheated steam does not read on a liquid phase. Additionally, the cleaning step (boiled solution and superheated steam) is replaced by a drying step (paragraph 40), which reads broadly on a heating step as a replacement for a liquid clean in place process. Additionally, it is noted that applicant's claim language of "comprising" is open ended to include additional steps.
Response to Arguments
The rejection of the claims, under 112, first paragraph is withdrawn in view of the cancellation of the claims.
The rejection of the claims under 112, second paragraph is maintained for the reasons set forth above.
8. Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the limitations of claims 11-12, applicant is directed to paragraph 5 above.
9. Applicant argues that the examiner has incorporated "liquid cleaning" into the claimed features. Applicant's arguments are unpersuasive as the language of "comprising" is open ended to include additional steps. Furthermore, the limitations of "heat is used in replacement of liquid clean in place" is broadly interpreted as a liquid cleaning step which is replaced by a heating step.
10. Applicant continues to argue that the examiner is mistaken by interpreting the claims as a liquid cleaning followed by application of heat, wherein the heat replaces the liquid cleaning. Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive as applicant is directed to paragraph 22 of the instant specification which teaches a liquid cleaning (washing) followed by application of heated air.
11. In summary, the examiner finds the instantly claimed invention as neither novel and/or unobvious as a) removing contaminants from a nuclear facility using a heat treatment is known; and b) the use of a heat gun to generate heated air for cleaning is known.
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc