Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-9, 11, and 12 are pending.
Claims 2, 3, and 10 are cancelled.
Claims 7 and 8 are withdrawn.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on April 10th, 2026 has been fully considered, but does not place the Application in condition for allowance.
Status of Pending Objections and Rejections since the Office Action of January 12th, 2026
The 103 rejections of claims 1, 4-6, 9, 11, and 12 over Sato (US 2018/0183099 A1) and further in view of Moon (KR 20200104772 A) are maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 10th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Sato broadly discloses phosphinoamine-based compounds, but not the specific compound claimed in the amended claim 1. However, Sato’s disclosure includes the possibility of R1 and R2 being hydrogen atoms [0053]. Therefore, that argument is unpersuasive.
The Applicant argues that the weight range disclosed by Sato in view of Moon is too broad, but that argument has been addressed on the record in a previous Office Action. Therefore, that discussion will not be repeated here.
In response to applicant's argument that neither Sato nor moon recognizes the "weight ratio of the auxiliary additive to the additive" as a design parameter, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Furthermore, the rejection is based on the combination of the two references, not the references individually.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2018/0183099 A1) and further in view of Moon (KR 20200104772 A). The combination of the two will be referred to as modified Sato.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, and 9, Sato discloses an electrolyte solution comprising an organic solvent [0064], a lithium salt [0065], and a compound represented by Formula 1 (abstract, [0056], and [0058]). For clarity, the claimed structure and the structure disclosed by Sato are included below.
Claimed structure:
Sato’s Formula 1:
Sato discloses that both R1 and R2 may be halogens, such as fluorine [0058]. Sato continues to disclose that R3 and R4 may be hydrogen or an alkyl group [0053]
Sato fails to teach an electrolyte comprising an auxiliary additive (as required by claim 1) or an auxiliary additive comprising a fluorine-containing carbonate-based compound (as required by claims 4 and 5). Moon is analogous art to Sato because both teach additives for electrolytic solutions for lithium secondary batteries. Moon teaches that an electrolyte for a battery “may further include fluoroethylene carbonate” (Moon, page 14, third paragraph; required by claims 4 and 5). Moon continues to teach that the inclusion of fluoroethylene carbonate may contribute “to the formation of [a] negative electrode film” and “the performance of the electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery becomes more excellent” (Moon, page 14, fourth paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add fluoroethylene carbonate (as taught by Moon) to the electrolytic solution disclosed by Sato to form a film on the negative electrode and improve the performance of a lithium secondary battery.
Sato also fails to teach the wt.% of the added fluoroethylene carbonate, but Moon teaches that its concentration may be “3 to 5 parts by weight based on the total 100 parts by weight of the lithium secondary battery electrolyte” (Moon, page 14, fifth paragraph). This range overlaps with the range of 1 wt.% to 5 wt.% recited in claim 9. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Sato also fails to explicitly teach a weight ratio of the fluoroethylene carbonate relative to the main additive in the electrolyte solution. However, as described above, Sato discloses that their compound is present in the electrolytic solution by 0.01 wt.% to 2.0 wt.%. Moon teaches that the auxiliary additive, the fluoroethylene carbonate, is present by 3 wt.% to 5 wt.% in the electrolytic solution. An example of a pair of their parts by weight (with respect to 100 parts by weight of the total electrolyte solution) of fluoroethylene carbonate and Sato’s compound may be 5 and 2, respectively. This leads to a weight ratio of the auxiliary additive relative to Sato’s additive of 2.5, which is between the claimed range of 1 to 5. Therefore, Sato, modified by Moon, teaches ranges of the weights that result in an overlap of the claimed range of ratios of the additives’ parts by weight. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Furthermore, given the ranges disclosed by Sato and Moon, it would be well within the abilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the claimed range of the ratio of the additives’ weight percentages through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claim 6, fluoroethylene carbonate contains a ring structure, as seen below:
Regarding claim 11, Sato teaches that the “content of the phosphinoamine-based compound in the non-aqueous electrolytic solution is preferably …0.01 mass% or more and 2.0 mass% or less…” [0062]. This range overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5 wt.% to 2 wt.%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 12, modified Sato teaches a battery ‘in which a positive electrode and negative electrode are disposed to face each other and an electrolytic solution [understood to contain the organic solvent, lithium salt, and additive described above] are enclosed within a casing” (Sato, [0072]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Amereller (US 2015/0030939 A1) states that fluoroethylene carbonate can improve that long-term stability of a battery cell [0023] when it is used in an electrolyte [0024] at a weight percent that is similar to what is recited in claim 9 (0.1% - 10%, [0024]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722