DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 06/03/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9, 13, 21-23, 25-26, 30-31, and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. 6,170,502 – Pullen in view of PG Pub. US 2019/0118913 A1 – Bejrowski et al., hereinafter Bejrowski.
Regarding claim 1.
Pullen discloses an apparatus (10, fig 3), comprising:
an extension structure (at 40, fig 3; including 36, fig 2) for covering an entrance to a boat slip to cover a stern of an oversized boat (Examiner notes that this is intended use language, and that the structure of Pullen is suitable for such use), wherein the extension structure is configured to be secured to an existing base structure (including 20, fig 3) and said extension structure comprising a first end and a second end (See annotated fig 3);
a side cover assembly (See annotated fig 3) comprising a side cover first portion (See annotated fig 3) that is configured to wrap around the extension structure and a side cover second portion (See annotated fig 3), the side cover second portion comprising a side cover first segment that extends from the first end and a side cover second segment that extends from the second end (See annotated fig 3), wherein the side cover assembly further comprises a mounting arrangement configured to mount the side cover first segment to the base structure and to mount the side cover second segment to the base structure (See annotated fig 3);
a top cover (See annotated fig 3) that is configured to rest atop (top cover rests atop at least element 36, fig 2, see fig 3) and cover the extension structure but not to cover an open area disposed between and bounded by the side cover first segment and the side cover second segment (compare figs 2 and 3), that is configured to act as an extension roof of the base structure, and that is configured to be positioned at an elevation that is below at least an upper surface (at 50, fig 3) of a roof of the base structure (See fig 3);
wherein the open area is configured to be positioned under and covered by the roof of the base structure (Compare figs 2 and 3);
wherein the apparatus is discrete from the base structure and is discrete from the roof of the base structure (Compare figs 2 and 3), and
wherein the extension structure and the mounting arrangement define an assembly that is collectively configured to be securable to the base structure (Compare figs 2 and 3) at any elevation below the upper surface of the roof of the base structure (See fig 3); and
wherein the extension structure is not adjustably positionable relative to the base structure (the position of the extension structure is fixed, when deployed, by the length of 12 in fig 2 from the pivot of the hinging mechanism).
Pullen does not disclose wherein the base structure comprises a boat slip comprising:
a plurality of pilings that define a perimeter of the boat slip and that define an entrance between two adjacent pilings suitable to permit a boat to enter the boat slip;
wherein the apparatus is secured to the plurality of pilings; and
wherein the extension structure is secured over the entrance and cantilevers out past the entrance.
However, Bejrowski teaches wherein the base structure (60, fig 1) comprises a boat slip comprising:
a plurality of pilings (34a, fig 1) that define a perimeter of the boat slip and that define an entrance between two adjacent pilings suitable to permit a boat (12, fig 1) to enter the boat slip (See fig 1);
wherein the apparatus is secured to the plurality of pilings (See fig 1); and
wherein the extension structure (70, fig 1) is secured over the entrance and cantilevers out past the entrance (See fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Pullen with the boat slip of Bejrowski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing weather protection to the boat slip.
Regarding claim 4.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pullen further discloses a total length of the side cover first segment (See annotated fig 3) and the side cover second segment (See annotated fig 3) is greater than a total length of the side cover first portion (See annotated fig 3).
Regarding claim 6.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pullen further discloses the side cover first portion and the side cover second portion (See annotated fig 3) comprise a curtain comprising a flexible substrate (40, fig 3), and wherein the curtain is configured to raise and lower (Compare figs 2 and 3); and wherein when lowered, the curtain hags below the extension structure (below the top of 36 in fig 2, compare figs 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 9.
Pullen discloses an apparatus (10, fig 3), comprising:
an extension structure (at 40, fig 3) for covering an entrance to a boat slip to cover a stern of an oversized boat (Examiner notes that this is intended use language, and that the structure of Pullen is suitable for such use), wherein the extension structure is configured to be cantilevered (see fig 3) from a base structure (including fig 3) and comprising a first end and a second end (See annotated fig 3);
a top cover (See annotated fig 3) that is configured rest atop (atop 36, see fig 2) and to cover the extension structure (See annotated fig 3), that is configured to act as an extension roof of the base structure (See annotated fig 3), and that is configured to be positioned at an elevation that is below at least an upper surface of a roof (at 50, fig 3) of the base structure (See annotated fig 3); and
a side cover assembly (See annotated fig 3) comprising a side cover first portion (See annotated fig 3) that is configured to wrap around the extension structure and a side cover second portion (See annotated fig 3), the side cover second portion comprising a side cover first segment (See annotated fig 3) that extends from the first end and a side cover second segment (See annotated fig 3) that extends from the second end;
wherein an outer perimeter of the apparatus is defined at least partly by an outer perimeter of the side cover first portion, plus an outer perimeter of the side cover first segment, plus an outer perimeter of the side cover second segment (See annotated fig 3);
wherein an inner perimeter of the apparatus is defined at least partly by an inner perimeter of the extension structure (See annotated fig 3), plus an inner perimeter of the side cover first segment (See annotated fig 3), plus an inner perimeter of the side cover second segment (See annotated fig 3), wherein the inner perimeter of the side cover first segment (See annotated fig 3) and the inner perimeter of the side cover second segment both extend transverse to the inner perimeter of the extension structure (See annotated fig 3), and wherein the inner perimeter of the extension structure, the inner perimeter of the side cover first segment, and the inner perimeter of the side cover second segment are collectively configured to secure the apparatus to the base structure at any elevation below the upper surface of the roof of the base structure (See annotated fig 3); and
wherein the top cover does not cover an open area bounded by the inner perimeter (See annotated fig 3);
wherein the open area is configured to be positioned under and covered by the roof of the base structure (See annotated fig 3); and
wherein the apparatus is discrete from the base structure and from the roof of the base structure (See annotated fig 3).
Pullen does not disclose wherein the base structure comprises a boat slip comprising:
a plurality of pilings that define a perimeter of the boat slip, that define open spaces therebetween, and that define an entrance between two adjacent pilings suitable to permit a boat to enter the boat slip;
wherein the apparatus is secured to the plurality of pilings; and
wherein the extension structure is secured over the entrance and cantilevers out past the entrance.
However, Bejrowski teaches wherein the base structure (60, fig 1) comprises a boat slip comprising:
a plurality of pilings (34a, fig 1) that define a perimeter of the boat slip, that define open spaces therebetween, and that define an entrance between two adjacent pilings suitable to permit a boat (12, fig 1) to enter the boat slip (See fig 1);
wherein the apparatus is secured to the plurality of pilings (See fig 1); and
wherein the extension structure (70, fig 1) is secured over the entrance and cantilevers out past the entrance (See fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Pullen with the boat slip of Bejrowski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing weather protection to the boat slip.
Regarding claim 13.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 9.
Pullen further discloses the side cover assembly (See annotated fig 3) comprises one continuous section of flexible substrate (See annotated fig 3) that is configured to raise and lower (Compare figs 2 and 3) from the side cover first portion (See annotated fig 3), from the side cover first segment (See annotated fig 3), and from the side cover second segment (See annotated fig 3); and wherein when lowered, the curtain hags below the extension structure (below the top of 36 in fig 2, compare figs 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 21.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 6.
Pullen further discloses the curtain (40, fig 3) is composed of one continuous piece of the flexible substrate (See fig 3) that raises and lowers (Compare figs 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 22.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pullen further discloses an inner perimeter of the apparatus is defined by an inner perimeter of the extension structure (See annotated fig 3), plus an inner perimeter of the side cover first segment (See annotated fig 3), plus an inner perimeter of the side cover second segment (See annotated fig 3);
wherein the inner perimeter of the apparatus defines a C-shape when viewed from above (See annotated fig 3), and,
wherein the inner perimeter bounds the open area (See annotated fig 3).
Regarding claim 23.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pullen further discloses a side cover third segment (opposite top cover, annotated fig 3);
wherein an inner perimeter of the apparatus is defined by an inner perimeter of the extension structure (See annotated fig 3), plus an inner perimeter of the side cover first segment (See annotated fig 3), plus an inner perimeter of the side cover second segment (See annotated fig 3), plus an inner perimeter of the side cover third segment (See annotated fig 3);
wherein the inner perimeter of the apparatus defines an enclosed hole through the apparatus when viewed from above (See annotated fig 3); and
wherein the inner perimeter bounds the open area (See annotated fig 3).
Regarding claim 25.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 9.
Pullen further discloses the inner perimeter of the apparatus defines a C-shape when viewed from above (See annotated fig 3).
Regarding claim 26.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 9.
Pullen further discloses a side cover third segment (Opposite extension structure, annotated fig 3);
wherein the inner perimeter of the apparatus is defined by the inner perimeter of the extension structure (See annotated fig 3), plus the inner perimeter of the side cover first segment (See annotated fig 3), plus the inner perimeter of the side cover second segment (See annotated fig 3), plus an inner perimeter of the side cover third segment (See annotated fig 3);
wherein the inner perimeter of the apparatus defines an enclosed hole through the apparatus when viewed from above (See annotated fig 3).
Regarding claim 30.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pullen further discloses the side cover assembly further comprises a valance (See on 50, fig 3) configured to be secured to the base structure (Via at least 53, fig 3) and to extend downward from a bottom of the roof of the base structure (See fig 3) to the mounting arrangement to cover the mounting arrangement (At least partially – see annotated fig 3).
Regarding claim 31.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 30.
Pullen further discloses the valance is also configured to extend downward from the bottom of the roof of the base structure to connect to the top cover (See annotated fig 3).
Regarding claim 33.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pullen further discloses the side cover second portion (See annotated fig 3) further comprises a side cover third segment (along rear 36, fig 2) that connects the side cover first segment to the side cover second segment (See figs 2 and 3);
wherein the mounting arrangement is further configured to mount the side cover third segment to the base structure (See figs 2 and 3);
wherein the side cover first portion and the side cover second portion completely encircle the base structure (See figs 2 and 3); and
wherein the side cover first portion and the side cover second portion comprise a curtain comprising a flexible substrate (40, fig 3), wherein the curtain is configured to raise and lower (See figs 2 and 3), and wherein when lowered, the curtain hangs below the extension structure (at 36, fig 2) and completely encircles the base structure (See figs 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 34.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pullen does not disclose an interior of the extension structure is open to the environment via an open underside of the extension structure.
However, Bejrowski teaches an interior of the extension structure (70, fig 1) is open to the environment via an open underside of the extension structure (See fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Pullen with the open underside of Bejrowski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing weather protection to a boat slip.
Claim(s) 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Pullen and Bejrowski, as applied above, and in further view of PG Pub. US 2022/0243495 A1 – Davis, JR, hereinafter Davis.
Regarding claim 12.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 9.
Pullen does not explicitly disclose an area of the open area defined by the inner perimeter is greater than an area covered by the top cover.
However, Davis teaches an area of the open area defined by the inner perimeter (approximated by 170a in fig 15) is greater than an area covered by the top cover (at 340, fig 15).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pullen and Bejrowski with the relative dimensions of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of ensuring stability by limiting the cantilever arm.
Regarding claim 15.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 13.
Pullen further discloses the side cover assembly (See annotated fig 3) comprises a mounting arrangement (Column 4, lines 19-22; The tarp 40 may be retained by hook and loop fastener between the first wall 20 and the second wall 22 for insuring proper sealing.) configured to secure the flexible substrate to the base structure (including 20, fig 3) and to raise and lower the flexible substrate (Compare figs 2 and 3), and a valance (See 50, fig 3) configured to extend from a bottom of the roof of the base structure (at 50, fig 3) to the mounting arrangement (See fig 2) and to cover the flexible substrate and the mounting arrangement (See fig 3).
Pullen does not disclose a removable valance.
However, Davis teaches a removable valance (160, fig 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pullen and Bejrowski with the removable valance of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing selective replacement of panels in case of damage.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Pullen and Bejrowski, as applied above, and in further view of US Pat. 6,695,388 – Thisdale.
Regarding claim 32.
The combination of Pullen and Bejrowski teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pullen does not explicitly disclose the apparatus is not directly connected to the roof.
However, Thisdale teaches the apparatus (at 28, fig 4) is not directly connected to the roof of the base structure (at 34, fig 4; connection is indirect via hook and loop attachment to the valance (See fig 4)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pullen and Bejrowski with the indirect connection of Thisdale. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing selective removal of the apparatus for cleaning and service.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 06/03/2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues that the combination of Pullen and Bejrowski fails to teach or suggest "an extension structure for covering an entrance to a boat slip to cover a stern of an oversized boat, wherein the extension structure is configured to be secured to an existing base structure... wherein the base structure comprises a boat slip." This is not persuasive, as Pullen teaches the basic structure of the apparatus, and Bejrowski teaches the base structure comprises a boat slip.
Examiner also notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634