Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Amendments/Response filed on October 21, 2025. Claim(s) 23-24, 28-31, 33-34, 37-38, and 41 have been amended. No additional claims have been added. No claims have been cancelled. Claims 23-42 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Through the provided amendments, Application No. 12720570, now provides adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. As such, the acknowledged priority filing date is 03/10/2010.
Response to Amendments
The examiner fully acknowledges the amendments to claims 23-24, 28-31, 33-34, 37-38, and 41 filed on October 21, 2025.
The applicant’s amendments to claim 23 and 33 are sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims, the art of record used in the previous rejection fails to be meet the requirements to be prior art due to the change in the instant applications effective filing date.
The previous action did not address all the limitations within claim 41. Please see the updated action that addresses all the claim limitations.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-9, filed October 21, 2025 with respect to the claims have been fully considered.
Status of the Claims – the examiner agrees with the applicant that as amended, the application stands supported by the disclosure of Conrad Application No. 12720570.
Claim rejections 102 – The examiner agrees that the rejections of claims 23 and 33 are overcome by amendments. Please see the new rejections set forth within the present action. The rejection for claim 41 has been updated to address limitations improperly rejected in the previous action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the u-shaped channels" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Said “u-shaped channels” are introduced in claim 24, whereas claim 25 depends upon claim 23, thus antecedence has not been established. For examination purposes, claim 25 is being treated as dependent upon claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23, 26 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (US Patent No. 7934286).
In regards to claim 23, Yoo discloses
an apparatus comprising a hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) and a mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) for the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5), wherein:
(a) the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) has a base (suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) which is free standing on a floor and an upper portion comprising an air flow duct (connecting port 22, fig. 3) and
a mounting member (front surface 30a of supporting member, fig. 3) provided at a location above a mid-point of a height of the air flow duct, the mounting member (front surface 30a of supporting member, fig. 3) having a plurality of laterally opposed first engagement members (at least projections 32a-33d, fig. 3), and,
(b) the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is slideably mountable (by pressing the first engagement members into the receiving areas) to a position supported by the mounting member (front surface 30a of supporting member, fig. 3) and,
as the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is moved downwardly to be supported by the mounting member (front surface 30a of supporting member, fig. 3), the first engagement members (at least projections 32a-33d, fig. 3) slideably interengage with a plurality of laterally opposed second engagement members (areas A, B, C and D, fig. 2) whereby the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is supported in the position.
In regards to claim 26, Yoo discloses
the apparatus of claim 23 wherein the first engagement members (at least projections 32a-33d, fig. 3) are male engagement members and the second engagement members (areas A, B, C and D, fig. 2) are female engagement members and the first engagement members (at least projections 32a-33d, fig. 3) are slideably receivable in the second engagement members (areas A, B, C and D, fig. 2) and, when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) and the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) is free standing of the floor, the apparatus comprises a plurality of vertically extending walls (vacuum cleaner has structural side walls on the supporting member, projections and receiving members extend away from the sidewalls; see fig. 3) wherein each of the first and second engagement members (areas A, B, C and D, fig. 2) extend away from one of the vertically extending walls.
In regards to claim 32, Yoo discloses
the apparatus of claim 23 wherein when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5), the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is in air flow communication (col. 4 lines 14-35) with the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5).
Claim(s) 23-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lackner (US Patent No. 4683607).
In regards to claim 23, Lackner discloses
an apparatus comprising a hand vacuum cleaner (accessory appliance 18, fig. 1) and a mounting structure (at least vacuum cleaner head 12 and bracket 19; fig. 1-4) for the hand vacuum cleaner (accessory appliance 18, fig. 1), wherein:
(a) the mounting structure (at least vacuum cleaner head 12 and bracket 19; fig. 1-4) has a base (at least vacuum cleaner head 12; fig. 1-4) which is free standing on a floor and an upper portion (vacuum cleaner head top portion) comprising an air flow duct (vacuum cleaner head 12 has air flow within) and
a mounting member (bracket 19, fig. 1-4) provided at a location above (bracket is completely above the vacuum cleaner head 12) a mid-point of a height of the air flow duct (vacuum cleaner head 12 has air flow within), the mounting member (bracket 19, fig. 1-4) having a plurality of laterally opposed first engagement members (ribs 42, 42’, and leg portions 27a and 27a’; fig. 4), and,
(b) the hand vacuum cleaner (accessory appliance 18, fig. 1) is slideably mountable to a position supported by the mounting member (bracket 19, fig. 1-4) and,
as the hand vacuum cleaner (accessory appliance 18, fig. 1) is moved to be supported by the mounting member (bracket 19, fig. 1-4), the first engagement members (ribs 42, 42’, and leg portions 27a and 27a’; fig. 4) slideably interengage with a plurality of laterally opposed second engagement members (complementary recesses 46 fig. 1) whereby the hand vacuum cleaner (accessory appliance 18, fig. 1) is supported in the position.
In regards to claim 24, Lackner discloses
the apparatus of claim 23 wherein, when the hand vacuum cleaner (accessory appliance 18, fig. 1) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least vacuum cleaner head 12 and bracket 19; fig. 1-4) and the mounting structure (at least vacuum cleaner head 12 and bracket 19; fig. 1-4) is free standing of the floor, the laterally opposed first and second engagement members comprise U- shaped channels (see fig. 4 – ann. 1), each of which extends away from a vertically extending wall, and wings (recess 46) that are slideabl[[e]]y receivable in the U-shaped channels.
In regards to claim 26, Lackner discloses
the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the first engagement members are male engagement (ribs 42 and 42’) members and the second engagement members are female engagement members (recesses 46 and 46’) and the first engagement members are slideably receivable in the second engagement members and, when the hand vacuum cleaner (accessory appliance 18, fig. 1) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least vacuum cleaner head 12 and bracket 19; fig. 1-4) and the mounting structure (at least vacuum cleaner head 12 and bracket 19; fig. 1-4) is free standing of the floor, the apparatus comprises a plurality of vertically extending walls wherein each of the first and second engagement members extend away from one of the vertically extending walls (see the walls the bracket in fig. 4).
Claim(s) 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo (US PG Pub No. 20090178229).
In regards to claim 41, Yoo discloses
an apparatus comprising a hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8),
a mounting adapter (fixing hole 19a, fig. 2), and a mounting structure (at least suction port body 30 including a first supporting protrusion 35; [0037]; fig. 1, 3 and 8) for the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8), wherein:
(a) the mounting structure (at least suction port body 30 including a first supporting protrusion 35; [0037]; fig. 1, 3 and 8) has
a base (see fig. 3 - ann. 1) and an air flow duct (hinge portion 31, fig. 1, 3 and 8) which extends vertically when the base (see fig. 3 - ann. 1) is positioned on a floor; and,
(b) the mounting adapter (fixing hole 19a, fig. 2) is operable to mount the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8) to the mounting structure (at least suction port body 30 including a first supporting protrusion 35; [0037]; fig. 1, 3 and 8) in a mounted position, and the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8) is removably mountable to the mounting adapter (fixing hole 19a, fig. 2);
[0037] Referring to FIG. 3, the suction port body 30 includes a suction port (not illustrated) formed in the bottom to draw in air and dust from outside, and a hinge portion 31 formed on the rear portion and connected with the suction port body 30. The hinge portion 31 is removably connected with the lower portion of the extension pipe 40, and includes a first supporting protrusion 35 formed on the front portion, to be removably engaged with the first fixing hole 19a (FIG. 2) of the cleaner body 10.
wherein the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8) is slidably mountable to the mounted position and, as the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8) is moved slidably to the mounted position,
a plurality of laterally opposed wings (first and second clamps 21, 23; fig. 1-2 and 4-6) slidably interengage (pivoting in and out of engagement still allows for the member to move smoothly along the surface) with a plurality of laterally opposed U-shaped channels (first and second insertion holes 18a and 18b, fig. 1 - ann. 1) whereby the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8) is supported in the mounted position, and wherein, when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least suction port body 30 including a first supporting protrusion 35; [0037]; fig. 1, 3 and 8) the air flow duct (hinge portion 31, fig. 1, 3 and 8) extends vertically, and the apparatus comprises a plurality of vertically extending walls (see fig. 2-ann. 1) wherein each of the wings (first and second clamps 21, 23; fig. 1-2 and 4-6) is provided on and extends from one of the vertically extending walls (see fig. 2-ann. 1) and each of the U-shaped channels is provided on and extends into one of the vertically extending walls (see fig. 2-ann. 1) and,
when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8) is mounted as part of the apparatus, each of the wings (first and second clamps 21, 23; fig. 1-2 and 4-6) and the U-shaped channels extend in a lateral direction (see fig. 1-ann. 2) whereby when the air flow duct (hinge portion 31, fig. 1, 3 and 8) extends vertically, a horizontal plane extends through the vertically extending walls (see fig. 1-ann. 2) at a location of the wings (first and second clamps 21, 23; fig. 1-2 and 4-6) and the U-shaped channels (see fig. 1-ann. 2).
In regards to claim 42, Yoo discloses
the apparatus of claim 41 wherein the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8) is connected in air flow communication with the mounting structure (at least suction port body 30 including a first supporting protrusion 35; [0037]; fig. 1, 3 and 8)
when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8) is mounted in the mounted position by an air flow passage (at least extension pipe 40 and hinge portion 31, fig. 1, 3 and 8) comprising the air flow duct (hinge portion 31, fig. 1, 3 and 8) and,
when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1-8) is mounted in the mounted position and the air flow duct (hinge portion 31, fig. 1, 3 and 8) extends vertically, a vertical plane extends through the laterally opposed wings (first and second clamps 21, 23; fig. 1-2 and 4-6) and the air flow passage (at least extension pipe 40 and hinge portion 31, fig. 1, 3 and 8) that is at a location that is inwardly between the laterally opposed wings (first and second clamps 21, 23; fig. 1-2 and 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lackner
In regards to claim 25, Lackner discloses
the apparatus of claim 23 wherein the U-shaped channels have first and second laterally opposed sides, but fails to disclose that “the first laterally opposed side has one of the plurality of first engagement members and the second laterally opposed side has a second of the plurality of second engagement members.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to create a plurality of engagement parts, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 27-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Yoo et al. (US PG Pub No. 20090031522).
In regards to claim 27, Yoo discloses
the apparatus of claim 23 wherein the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is connected in air flow communication (col. 4 lines 14-35: connecting port 22 is in flow com with cleaner body 10 through hose 16) with the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) by an air flow passage (hose 16, fig. 1, 3-5) comprising the air flow duct when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) and,
when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5), and the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) is free standing of the floor.
Yoo fails to disclose “a vertical plane extends through the first and second engagement members and the air flow passage (hose 16) that is at a location that is inwardly between the first and second engagement members.”
However, Yoo (20090031522), which also discloses a floor vacuum cleaner with mounting structure and upright positioning teaches an airflow passage (at least connecting tube 23b and extension pipe 17; see fig. 2) that is located inwardly between engagement members for mounting the hand vacuum such that a vertical plane would extend through the engagement members and tube.
Pursuant MPEP 2144.04.VI.C, to rearrange the location of the air flow passage, in view of Yoo (20090031522) would be an obvious matter of design choice.
In regards to claim 28, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 27 wherein the mounting member comprises an air flow passage (inlet of hose 16) in fluid flow communication with the air flow duct of the mounting structure.
In regards to claim 29, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 28 wherein the air flow passage comprises a mounting member inlet port (top of connecting port 22) of that extends in a vertical plane when the mounting structure is positioned on a floor.
In regards to claim 30, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 29 wherein, in use, the hand vacuum cleaner has an upper side and a lower side and, when the hand vacuum cleaner is mounted to the mounting structure (see fig. 1), the lower side of the hand vacuum cleaner has an air flow port (port of hose 16) that faces the mounting member inlet port (top of connecting port 22).
In regards to claim 31, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 30 wherein, when the hand vacuum cleaner is mounted to the mounting structure, the air flow port on the lower side of the hand vacuum cleaner abuts the mounting member inlet port (connecting port 22 and hose 16 connect to each other).
In regards to claim 32, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 23 wherein when the hand vacuum cleaner is mounted to the mounting structure, the hand vacuum cleaner is in air flow communication with the mounting structure (connecting port 22 and hose 16 connect to each other).
In regards to claim 33, Yoo discloses
an apparatus comprising a hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) and a mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) for the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5), the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) having a base (suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) and an upper portion comprising an air flow duct (connecting port 22, fig. 3) extending upwardly from the base (suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) wherein a mounting member (front surface 30a of supporting member, fig. 3) is provided at a location above a mid-point of a height of the air flow duct, the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) and the mounting member (front surface 30a of supporting member, fig. 3) have first and second interengagement members comprising first and second laterally opposed male engagement members (at least projections 32a-33d, fig. 3) slideably interengagable with first and second laterally opposed female engagement members (areas A, B, C and D, fig. 2) wherein the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is downwardly slideably mountable to the mounting member (front surface 30a of supporting member, fig. 3) and, as the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is moved to be supported by the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5), the first and second laterally opposed male engagement members (at least projections 32a-33d, fig. 3) are slidably received in the first and second laterally opposed female engagement members (areas A, B, C and D, fig. 2) and, when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) and the air flow duct extends vertically, the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is connected in air flow communication (col. 4 lines 14-35: connecting port 22 is in flow com with cleaner body 10 through hose 16) with the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) by an air flow passage (through at least hose 16 and connecting port 22) comprising the air flow duct and a vertical plane extends through the first and second laterally opposed male engagement members (at least projections 32a-33d, fig. 3).
Yoo fails to disclose “and an air flow passage that is at a location that is inwardly between the first and second laterally opposed male engagement members (at least projections 32a-33d, fig. 3).”
However, Yoo (20090031522), which also discloses a floor vacuum cleaner with mounting structure and upright positioning teaches an airflow passage (at least connecting tube 23b and extension pipe 17; see fig. 2) that is located inwardly between engagement members for mounting the hand vacuum such that a vertical plane would extend through the engagement members and tube.
Pursuant MPEP 2144.04.VI.C, to rearrange the location of the air flow passage, in view of Yoo (20090031522) would be an obvious matter of design choice.
In regards to claim 34, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 33 wherein the air flow passage comprises a mounting member inlet port (inlet of hose 16) that extends in a vertical plane when the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) is positioned on a floor.
In regards to claim 35, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 33 wherein the apparatus is free standing on a floor (see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 36, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 33 wherein, when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) and the air flow duct extends vertically, the apparatus comprises a plurality of vertically extending walls (vacuum cleaner has structural side walls on the supporting member, projections and receiving members extend away from the sidewalls; see fig. 3) wherein each of the first and second laterally opposed male engagement members (at least projections 32a-33d, fig. 3) extend away from one of the vertically extending walls.
In regards to claim 37, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 36 wherein the first and second laterally opposed male engagement members (at least projections 32a-33d, fig. 3) are provided on laterally opposed sides of the mounting member (front surface 30a of supporting member, fig. 3).
In regards to claim 38, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 37 wherein the air flow passage comprises a mounting member inlet port (inlet of hose 16) that is positioned laterally between the first and second laterally opposed mounting member engagement members.
In regards to claim 39, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 33 wherein when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5), the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is in air flow communication with the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5).
In regards to claim 40, Yoo as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 33, wherein, when the hand vacuum cleaner (cleaner body 10, fig. 1, 3, 5) is mounted to the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) and the mounting structure (at least supporting member 30 and suction assembly 20, fig. 1, 3-5) is free standing of the floor, the apparatus comprises a plurality of vertically extending walls (vacuum cleaner has structural side walls on the supporting member, projections and receiving members extend away from the sidewalls; see fig. 3) wherein each of the first and second engagement members extend away from one of the vertically extending walls.
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723