Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0037715) in view of Burns et al. (US 2016/0120267).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. disclose an apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a flexible strap (22) associated with the headset;
a tensioning mechanism coupled to the flexible strap and configured to adjust a size of the headset (Paragraph 29; adjusting device 30 can adjust the size of the headset); the tensioning mechanism comprising:
a rotating carrier (A2) including one or more pawls (Fig. 5A has been annotated below to show the extent of the structures considered to comprise the pawl wherein an additional pawl is also shown), wherein:
a pawl of the one or more pawls comprises a pawl head and a pawl neck (Fig. 5A has been annotated below again to show the regions of the pawl that are considered to be the neck and head), and
the pawl neck is formed from a flexible material adapted to reduce sound when the rotating carrier rotates (Paragraph 48, lines 1-3 describe wherein the material can be plastic), wherein the pawl neck includes an articulating area (narrower region of the pawl neck as shown in the annotated Fig. 5A below) that has a reduced thickness relative to the remainder of the pawl neck to facilitate a controlled bending at a specific location;
a toothed ring (A11) comprising a plurality of teeth protruding toward the rotating carrier (formed by grooves A12); and
a knob (32) including a wall (323) configured to disengage the pawl head from the teeth of the toothed ring when the knob is rotated in a first direction (Fig. 5B as shown).
Figure 5A as annotated to show the Pawl
Figure 5A as annotated to show the pawl head and neck
Chen et al. fails to disclose wherein the articulating area is located in a superior surface of the pawl neck facing away from the rotating carrier.
Burns et al. teach a pawl disk (640) wherein the neck comprises an articulating area in a superior surface (Fig. 6C as annotated below).
From this teaching of Burns et al., it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to reduce the thickness from a superior side since Applicant has not disclosed that using the superior surface provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with a reduction in thickness from an inferior direction since only sufficient reduction of cross section is required to provide the necessary flex. Directionality of the reduction does not appear critical. Ex parte Clapp, USPQ 972, 973 (Bd, Pat. App. & Int. 1985).
Figure 6C of Burns et al. as annotated to show a reduced thickness from a superior surface
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al. further discloses the flexible material includes at least one of: a low-density polyethylene; a low stiffness plastic (Paragraph 46 describes the arms A22 as elastic and Paragraph 48 describes wherein the material is plastic such that the material is then a low stiffness plastic); a natural rubber; or a silicon rubber.
Regarding claim 3, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the pawl head has a long dimension and a short dimension, wherein the short dimension is oriented tangential to a direction of rotation (inclined surface A232 define a tangentially extending short dimension in comparison to the radial dimension including structures defining A212).
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al. discloses the invention and appears to display wherein the pawl neck is longer than the long dimension of the pawl head (Fig. 5A as shown), but fails to provide explicit description of this relationship. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to relate the dimensions as claimed since applicant has not disclosed that this relationship solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the relative dimensions as shown.
Regarding claim 5, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the rotating earner includes a shoulder (Fig. 5A shows the wall 323 abutting a flat side of hole A212 corresponding to the claimed shoulder) adjacent a proximal end of the pawl.
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the shoulder of the rotating carrier is configured such that rotating the knob in a second direction causes: the wall to push against the shoulder of the rotating carrier, the rotating carrier to rotate in the second direction, and the flexible strap to tighten (Fig. 5A as shown).
Regarding claim 7, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the knob is configured to: rotate a second direction to cause the wall to push the pawl head to disengage from the teeth of the toothed ring, and cause the pawl neck of the pawl to buckle and wedge between the rotating carrier and the toothed ring (Fig. 5B as shown).
Regarding claim 21, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the articulating area has a convex shape located on an inferior portion of the pawl neck (Fig. 5A as shown).
Regarding claim 22, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the articulating area is located proximal the pawl head (Fig. 5A as shown).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments to claim 1 have been addressed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form 892.
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677