DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Election/Restriction response filed on 08/13/2025. Claims 1-30 are pending. Claims 1, 16, and 25 are independent. Claims 16-24 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-15 and 25-30) in the reply filed on 08/13/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 16-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/13/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 2, “controller” should be amended to --the controller--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 25, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harrison et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253548).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, and 6, Harrison discloses [claim 1] a system (300, Fig. 3; alternatively, 400, Fig. 4) capable of forming an anastomosis between a first layer of tissue and a second layer of tissue of a patient’s body, the system comprising: a first anastomosis device component (first implant 110, see paragraph [0016]) capable of being delivered to a first lumen inside the patient’s body; and a second anastomosis device component (second implant 120, see paragraph [0016]) configured to be delivered to a second lumen inside the patient’s body, the second anastomosis device component capable of interacting with the first anastomosis device component, the second anastomosis device component comprising: one or more sensors (force sensor 310 or 410, Fig. 3 or 4 and see paragraph [0020]) capable of capturing sensor data for determining an alignment of the second anastomosis device component relative to the first anastomosis device component or for characterizing the position or orientation of the second anastomosis device component in three- dimensional space (Paras. [0022]-[0024]);
[claim 2] a controller configured to receive the sensor data captured by the one or more sensors of the second anastomosis device component and configured to determine a distance between the first anastomosis device component and the second anastomosis device component (Para. [0024], as measured or determined data gathered from a sensor and displayed indicates the presence of a controller or processor to enable the transmission and display of such data);
[claim 5] wherein the first anastomosis device component comprises one or more magnetic elements (magnet 114, see paragraph [0024]), and wherein the second anastomosis device component comprises one or more magnetic elements (magnet 124, see paragraph [0024]) capable of interacting with the one or more magnetic elements of the first anastomosis device component through the first layer of tissue and the second layer of tissue; and
[claim 6] wherein the one or more sensors comprise a force sensor configured to sense a force exerted on the second anastomosis device component due to an interaction between the one or more magnetic elements of the first anastomosis device component and the one or more magnetic elements of the second anastomosis device component (Paras. [0022]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 25, Harrison discloses a system for anastomosis creation (system 400, Fig. 4), comprising: a first anastomosis device component configured to be delivered to a first lumen inside a patient's body (first implant 110, Fig. 4 and Paras. [0018]-[0019]); a second anastomosis device component configured to be delivered to a second lumen inside the patient's body (second implant 120, Fig. 4 and Paras. [0018]-[0019]); one or more sensors configured to capture sensor data for determining an alignment of the second anastomosis device component relative to the first anastomosis device component, or determining a position and orientation of the first anastomosis device component and the second anastomosis device component (Hall effect sensor 110, Fig. 4 and Para. [0024]); and a display for displaying information derived from the sensor data captured by the ·one or more sensors (measured or determined data can then be displayed to the surgeon, Para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 29, Harrison discloses a system for anastomosis creation (system 400, Fig. 4), comprising: a first device component configured to be delivered to a first lumen inside a patient's body and configured to create an anastomosis (first implant 110, Fig. 4 and Paras. [0018]-[0019]); a second device component configured to be delivered to a second lumen inside the patient's body (second implant 120, Fig. 4 and Paras. [0018]-[0019]); one or more sensors configured to capture sensor data for determining an alignment of the second device component relative to the first device component, or determining a position and orientation of the first device component and the second device component (Hall effect sensor 110, Fig. 4 and Para. [0024]); and a display for displaying information derived from the sensor data captured by the one or more sensors (measured or determined data can then be displayed to the surgeon, Para. [0024]).
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kraemer et al. (US Pub. No.: 2011/0218476).
Regarding claims 1-3, Kraemer et al. discloses [claim 1], as shown in Figures 7A-7C, a system capable of forming an anastomosis between a first layer of tissue and a second layer of tissue of a patient’s body, the system comprising: a first anastomosis device component (one coupler 218, see Para. [0069]) capable of being delivered to a first lumen inside the patient’s body; and a second anastomosis device component (the other coupler 218, see Para. [0069]) configured to be delivered to a second lumen inside the patient’s body, the second anastomosis device component capable of interacting with the first anastomosis device component, the second anastomosis device component comprising: one or more sensors (indicator 260 or sensor, see Para. [0073]) capable of capturing sensor data for determining an alignment of the second anastomosis device component relative to the first anastomosis device component or for characterizing the position or orientation of the second anastomosis device component in three- dimensional space;
[claim 2] a controller (controller module, see Para. [0073]) configured to receive the sensor data captured by the one or more sensors of the second anastomosis device component and configured to determine a distance between the first anastomosis device component and the second anastomosis device component; and
[claim 3] wherein the one or more sensors comprises a first sensor and a second sensor separated by a preset distance, and wherein controller is further capable of determining an angle between the first anastomosis device component and the second anastomosis device component based on sensor data captured by the first sensor and sensor data captured by the second sensor (Para. [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253548) in view of Wakefield (US Pub. No.: 2004/0199054).
Regarding claim 4, Harrison et al. fails to disclose the one or more sensors comprise at least one accelerometer, gyroscope, ultrasound sensor, and light-based oxygen sensor.
Wakefield, from a related field of endeavor teaches a similar system with a device with one or more sensors, where one sensor comprises a gyroscope or accelerometer, for the purpose of tracking the position of the device.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Harrison to include one of the gyroscopes or accelerometers disclosed by Wakefield into the system disclosed by in order to track the position of the device.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253548).
Regarding claim 7, Harrison discloses wherein the one or more magnetic elements of the first anastomosis device component and the one or more magnetic elements of the second anastomosis device component are selected such that, when the first anastomosis device component and second anastomosis device component are separated by a distance, a magnetic force between the first anastomosis device component and second anastomosis device component is created.
Harrison is silent about the distance being 4mm, and the magnetic force being between 0.2 Newtons and 20 Newtons.
Harrison recognizes the magnetic force and the distance between the devices are result effective variables for the purpose of creating an anastomosis. See paragraphs [0007], [0018].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Harrison by adjusting the strength of the magnetic materials such that the one or more magnetic elements of the first anastomosis device component and the one or more magnetic elements of the second anastomosis device component are selected such that, when the first anastomosis device component and second anastomosis device component are separated by 4mm, a magnetic force between the first anastomosis device component and second anastomosis device component is between 0.2 Newtons and 20 Newtons because it would only represent optimizing a result effective variable since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253548) in view of Beisel (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253550). Regarding claims and 8 and 9, Harrison fails to disclose wherein the first anastomosis device component comprises a first structure that can be filled with a gas or liquid, and wherein the second anastomosis device component comprises a second structure that can be filled with a gas or liquid, wherein at least one of the first structure of the first anastomosis device and the second structure of the second anastomosis device enlarges and becomes rigid upon forcing the gas or liquid into said structure.
Beisel et al., from the same field of endeavor teaches a similar first anastomosis structure as shown in Figure 11, where first anastomosis structure comprises a first structure (balloon material) that can be filled with a gas or liquid, wherein at least one of the first structure of the first anastomosis device and the second structure of the second anastomosis device enlarges and becomes rigid upon forcing the gas or liquid into said structure, for the purpose of serving as an anchor to the magnet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Harrison to include a first structure that can be filled with a gas or liquid in the first anastomosis device component and a second structure that can be filled with a gas or liquid, wherein at least one of the first structure of the first anastomosis device and the second structure of the second anastomosis device enlarges and becomes rigid upon forcing the gas or liquid into said structure, as suggested by Beisel, in order to anchor the first and second anastomosis devices.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253548) in view of Beisel (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253550) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Stack et al. (US Pub. No.: 2002/0042625).
Regarding claim 10, Harrison fails to disclose the liquid is saline, and wherein at least one of the first structure and the second structure is made of nylon.
Stack, from a related field of endeavor teaches a similar fillable structure as shown in Figure 1 where wherein at least one of the first structure and the second structure is made of nylon. see paragraph [0052].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claimed invention such that liquid is saline, and wherein at least one of the first structure and the second structure is made of nylon by substituting the fluid used to fill the balloon and the material of the balloon disclosed by Harrison in view of Beisel for the fluid used to fill the balloon and the material of the balloon disclosed by Stack because it would only require the simple substitution of one known material for another to produce nothing but predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253548) in view of Dinger et al. (US Pub. No.: 2002/0128672).
Regarding claim 11, Harrison fails to disclose the first anastomosis device component comprises a first mesh or woven structure that can be transitioned between a deployment configuration and a therapeutic configuration, and wherein the second anastomosis device component comprises a second mesh or woven structure that can be transitioned between a deployment configuration and a therapeutic configuration.
Dinger, from the same field of endeavor teaches a similar system as shown in Figure 22 where the first anastomosis device has a mesh structure (section 24, see paragraph [0039]) capable of being transitioned between a deployment configuration and a therapeutic (dinger discloses the mesh 24 capable of at least two configurations biased and unbiased), for the purpose of biasing a graft between the first and second anastomosis devices and providing a surface through which sutures may be attached.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claimed invention such that wherein the first anastomosis device component comprises a first mesh or woven structure that can be transitioned between a deployment configuration and a therapeutic configuration, and wherein the second anastomosis device component comprises a second mesh or woven structure that can be transitioned between a deployment
configuration and a therapeutic configuration in order to configure the first and second anastomosis devices to bias a graft from either end and provide a surface through which sutures may be attached.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253548) in view of Lukin (US Pub. No.: 2016/0022266).
Regarding claim 13, Harrison fails to disclose one or more effectors for manipulating at least one of the first anastomosis device component and the second anastomosis device component based at least on the sensor data captured by the one or more sensors of the second anastomosis device component.
Lukin et al., from the same field of endeavor teaches a similar system as shown in Figure 26 with one or more effectors (laparoscopic grasper 1740, see paragraph [0093) capable of manipulating at least one of the first anastomosis device component and the second anastomosis device component based at least on the sensor data captured by one or more sensors of second anastomosis device component (if read by the surgeon and manipulated by hand), for the purpose of adjusting the position of the devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Harrison to include the laparoscopic grasper 1740 such that the system had one or more effectors for manipulating at least one of the first anastomosis device component and the second anastomosis device component based at least on the sensor data captured by the one or more sensors of the second anastomosis device component in order to adjust the position of the devices.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication Number 2013/0253548 (Harrison et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2016/0022266 (Lukin et al.) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2004/0215214 (Crews et al.)
Regarding claim 14, Harrison et al. fails to disclose wherein the one or more effectors comprise one of an end effector of an endoscopic robotic surgical system and an end effector of a laparoscopic robotic surgical system.
Crews, from a related field of endeavor teaches a similar system as shown in Figure 9A where the system includes s similar effectors used for the same purpose of manipulating the system, where the effector is an end effector of a laparoscopic robotic surgical system. See paragraph [0059]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Crews by substituting the effector disclosed by Harrison in view of Lukin for the end effector of a laparoscopic robotic surgical system disclosed by Crews because it would only require the simple substitution of one known material for another to produce nothing but predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253548) in view of Lukin (US Pub. No.: 2016/0022266) and Berman et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0000560)
Regarding claim 15, Harrison fails to disclose a first endoscope configured to hold the first anastomosis device component to deliver the first anastomosis device component to the first lumen inside the patient’s body, the first endoscope comprising one or more endoscope sensors for determining a position and orientation of a tip of the first endoscope; a second endoscope configured to hold the second anastomosis device component to deliver the second anastomosis device component to the second lumen inside the patient’s body, the second endoscope comprising one or more endoscope sensors for determining a position and orientation of a tip of the second endoscope; and a display device for displaying configured to display a video feed overlaid with a first marker corresponding to the first endoscope and a second marker corresponding to the second endoscope, wherein a position of the first marker and a position of the second marker are determined based on sensor information captured by the one or more sensors of the first endoscope and the one or more sensors of the second endoscope.
Lukin et al., from the same field of endeavor teaches a similar system as shown in Figure 20B where the system includes a first endoscope configured to hold the first anastomosis device component to deliver the first anastomosis device component to the first lumen inside the patient’s body; see paragraph [0060]; a second endoscope configured to hold the second anastomosis device component to deliver the second anastomosis device component to the second lumen inside the patient’s body. See paragraph [0085]; for the purpose of facilitating independently delivering the first and second anastomosis device into the body.
Berman, from a related field of endeavor teaches a similar system as shown in Figure 17, where an endoscope includes one or more endoscope sensors for determining a position and orientation of a tip of the second endoscope; see paragraph [0113]; and a display device for displaying capable of displaying a video feed overlaid with a first marker corresponding to the first endoscope and a second marker corresponding to the second endoscope, wherein a position of the first marker and a position of the second marker are determined based on sensor information captured by the one or more sensors of the first endoscope and the one or more sensors of the second endoscope; see paragraph [0056]; for the purpose of tracking the position of the endoscope. See paragraph [0113].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Harrison by including the first and second endoscopes disclosed by Lukin in order to facilitate independently delivering the first and second anastomosis device into the body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Harrison in view of Lukin to include one or more endoscope sensors on each endoscope, as taught by Berman, in order to track the position of each endoscope.
To be clear, since Berman discloses a display capable of displaying a video feed overlaid with a first marker corresponding to the first endoscope, it follows it would be capable of displaying a second marker corresponding to the second endoscope, wherein a position of the first marker and a position of the second marker are determined based on sensor information captured by the one or more sensors of the first endoscope and the one or more sensors of the second endoscope.
Claim(s) 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253548) as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Zemlok et al. (US Pub. No.: 2015/0122870).
Regarding Claim 26, Harrison discloses all the limitations of claim 25 as taught above but fails to explicitly disclose that the display is adapted to be a head-mounted display.
Zemlok teaches, in the same field of endeavor (surgical system for applying fasteners to the tissue of a patient), a display that is adapted to be a head-mounted display (HUD display 622, Para. [0191]).
Before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Harrison to further include that it is adapted to be a head-mounted display, as taught by Zemlok in order to obtain the advantage of allowing the user to visualize the vital feedback information from a feedback controller without losing focus on the procedure (Zemlok, Para. [0191]; see also Harrison, Para. [0024]).
Regarding Claim 27, Harrison discloses the system of claim 25 as taught above, but fails to explicitly disclose that the display is configured to display a location of the first anastomosis device component and a location of the second anastomosis device component as virtual objects overlaid on an image or video feed of the patient's body.
Zemlok teaches, in the same field of endeavor (surgical system for applying fasteners to the tissue of a patient), a display that is configured to display a location of a first anastomosis device component and a location of a second anastomosis device component as virtual objects overlaid on an image or video feed of a patient's body (Paras. [0191]-[0192], as a display that includes an OSD module capable of overlaying text and/or graphical information from a feedback controller over video images from a surgical site to provide a modified video signal would be capable of providing such a display).
Before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Harrison to further include that it is configured to display a location of the first anastomosis device component and a location of the second anastomosis device component as virtual objects overlaid on an image or video feed of the patient's body, as taught by Zemlok in order to obtain the advantage of allowing the user to visualize useful feedback information from an instrument and/or feedback controller while still
observing the surgical site, and therefore maintaining focus on the procedure (Zemlok, Paras. [0191]-[0192]; see also Harrison, Para. [0024]).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253548) as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Beisel (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253550).
Regarding claim 28, Harrison discloses all the limitations of claim 25 as taught above but fails to explicitly disclose that at least one of the first anastomosis device component and the second anastomosis device component has a tissue-contacting face that is approximately circular with a diameter between 1mm and 50mm.
Beisel teaches, in the same field of endeavor (anastomosis system), at least one of the first anastomosis device component and the second anastomosis device component has a tissue-contacting face that is approximately circular with a diameter between 1mm and 50mm (Fig. 56 and Para. [0184], such as 10 mm to 30 mm).
Before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Harrison to include that at least one of the first anastomosis device component and the second anastomosis device component has a tissue-contacting face that is approximately circular with a diameter between 1mm and 50mm as taught by Beisel, since it has been discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0253548) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Carson (US Pub. No.: 2005/0080439).
Regarding claim 30, Harrison discloses all the limitations of claim 29 as taught above but fails to explicitly disclose that the first device component includes one of an electrocautery means and a stent.
Carson teaches, in the same field of endeavor (anastomosis system) a device component of a system for anastomosis creation that includes a stent (second portion 470 of magnetic anastomotic component 466, Figures 53A-53B; see also Para. [0220]).
Before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Harrison to further include that the first device component includes a stent, as taught by Carson in order the obtain the advantage of having a configuration exerts pressure against the interior surface of the wall of a hollow body in a manner that secures the magnetic anastomotic component to the hollow wall (Carson, Para. [0220]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 25-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13-15, and 24-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,607,222. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of claims 1-15 and 25-30 of the instant application are contained in claims 1-11, 13-15, and 24-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,607,222.
#17/719,254
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
#11,607,222
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
#17/719,254
10
11
12
13
14
15
25
26
27
#11,607,222
10
11
1
13
14
15
24
25
26
#17/719,254
28
29
30
#11,607,222
27
28
29
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 12 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,607,222. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160324523 A1 Lukin; Peter et al. discloses an anastomosis system comprising magnetic anastomosis device and sensors for alignment of the devices.
/JING RUI OU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771