DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments dated 10/8/25 are hereby entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-3 and 11-13 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a mental process that can be performed by human being and/or claim training/employing a machine learning model in a particular technological environment.
In regard to Claims 1 and 11, the following limitations can be performed as a mental process by a human being in terms of claiming collecting data, analyzing that data, and providing outputs based on that analysis which has been held by the CAFC to be an abstract idea in decisions such as, e.g., Electric Power Group and University of Florida Research Foundation; and Yousician v Ubisoft (non-precedential), in terms of the Applicant claiming:
a method comprising:
[…]
training a [mathematical/statistical] model using a training set of recorded trials of performances executed by skilled individuals;
validating the [mathematical/statistical] model using recorded trials of exercises performed by other individuals;
receiving […] sensor data […];
applying the trained [mathematical/statistical] model to the received […] sensor data to:
detect an object and a position of the object in the received […] sensor data;
model a movement of the object present in the received […] sensors data; and
predict a position of the object present in the received […] sensor data.
In regard to Claims 1 and 11, to the extent that the Applicant claims training/employing a machine learning model in a particular technological environment that has been held by the CAFC in Recentive Analytics to be an abstract idea.
In regard to the dependent claims, they also claim an abstract idea to the extent that they merely claim further limitations that likewise could be performed as a mental process that can be performed by human being and/or claim training/employing a machine learning model in a particular technological environment.
Furthermore, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because to the extent that additional elements are claimed either alone or in combination such as, e.g., a computer with a processor and memory, a mobile device with an integrated camera, employing digital image comprising pixels and video data, embodying Applicant’s abstract idea in “programming instructions” that execute in “real time”, training/employing “machine learning”, and/or one or more distributed computing resources, these are merely claimed to add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (e.g., data gathering), to embody the abstract idea on a general purpose computer, and/or do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Furthermore, the claims do not include additional elements that taken individually, and also taken as an ordered combination, are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because to the extent that, e.g., a computer with a processor and memory, a mobile device with an integrated camera, employing digital image comprising pixel and video data, embodying Applicant’s abstract idea in “programming instructions” that execute in “real time”, training/employing “machine learning”, and/or one or more distributed computing resources, these are generic, well-known, and conventional elements and are claimed for the generic, well-known, and conventional functions of collecting and processing data and/or providing an analysis/outputs based on that processing. To the extent that an apparatus is claimed as an additional element said apparatus fails to qualify as a “particular machine” to the extent that it is claimed generally, merely implements the steps of Applicant’s claimed method, and is claimed merely for purposes of extra-solution activity or field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(b). As evidence that these additional elements are generic, well-known, and conventional, Applicant’s specification discloses the support for these elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a). See, e.g., F1-2 in Applicant’s specification and text regarding same; p31-33 specifically regarding employing “machine learning”; and e.g., p94 specifically regarding training/employing distributed computing resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PGPUB US 20180099201 A1 by Marty et al (“Marty”), in view of PGPUB US 20200265745 A1 by Buras et al (“Buras”).
In regard to Claim 1 and 11, Marty teaches a system, comprising:
a computing device with a processor and memory, the computing device being in communication with a mobile device having a processor, a display and at least one integrated digital camera, and the computing device having a plurality of programming instructions embodied on a non-transitory storage medium that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to:
(see, e.g., F1, 1504 in regard to “computing device”; see, e.g., F1, 1508 in regard to “mobile device”);
[…];
apply [a] trained machine learning model to […] electronic sensor data to:
detect an object and a position of the object present in the received electronic sensor data;
model a movement of the object present in the received electronic sensor data; and
predict a next position of the object present in the received electronic sensor data
(see, e.g., p97-100);
Furthermore, to the extent to which the cited prior art may fail to teach the remaining claimed limitations, however, in an analogous reference Buras teaches this functionality (see, e.g., F6);
Furthermore, the combination of the cited prior art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because the cited prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the cited prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference; one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to have added the functionality of Buras to the apparatus otherwise taught by the otherwise cited prior art in order to help increase the accuracy of the machine learning model.
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marty, in view of Buras, further in view of PGPUB US 20220362629 A1 by Rankin et al (“Rankin”).
In regard to Claims 2 and 12, Marty teaches capturing and generating electronic sensor data including detected object coordinates and predicted coordinates (see, e.g., p96-97), and to the extent that Marty may not teach sending that data to be received by a distributed computing device Rankin teaches that functionality (see, e.g., p109);
Furthermore, the combination of the cited prior art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because the cited prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the cited prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference; one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to have added the functionality of Rankin to the apparatus otherwise taught by Marty in order to help increase data security.
In regard to Claims 3 and 13, Marty teaches capturing and generating electronic sensor data including detected object coordinates and predicted coordinates (see, e.g., p96-97), and to the extent that Marty may not teach that function being performed by a distributed computing device Rankin teaches that functionality (see, e.g., p29);
Furthermore, the combination of the cited prior art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because the prior art contains a device/method/etc. which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components/steps/elements with other components; the substituted components and their functions were known in the art; one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another; and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to have substituted the functionality of Rankin to the apparatus otherwise taught by Marty by off-loading some of the data analysis functions to a server in order to centralize that function.
Furthermore, to the extent to which Marty may fail to specifically teach predicting object coordinates “a minimum of ten images” that feature is not disclosed by the Applicant has having any criticality (see, e.g., p45 in Applicant’s PGPUB) and is, therefore, a matter of design choice and does not distinguish over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are addressed by the updated statements of rejection made supra, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's Supervisory Primary Examiner, Peter Vasat can be reached at 571-270-7625. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MICHAEL C GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715