DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 7/14/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1, 6 and 12 are amended, claims 2-5, 10 and 15 are canceled, claims 16-25 are withdrawn, and claims 1, 6-9 and 11-14 are currently pending.
Claim objection has been withdrawn based on amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 6-9 and 11-14 have been fully considered but are moot based upon the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant's amendment.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/14/2026. A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144) See MPEP 821.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binding et al. (US 7378960 B1 and Binding hereinafter), in view of Szebenyei (US 20220268875 A1 and Szebenyei hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Binding teaches a method comprising:
operating, by a wireless device associated with a wireless system (Col 4 Lines 9-12; the WPAN system can include container tracking devices joined to container to form container nodes), in a hibernation mode (Col 8 Lines 54-67; once a vessel is leaving harbor, the vessel’s WPAN system can be configured so that the tracking node of each container node is put into a low-power sleep, stand-by, or hibernate mode to prolong battery life), the wireless IOT device is stored in a storage container (Figure 1 and Col 4 Lines 7-15; the WPAN system can include container tracking devices joined to container to form container nodes and at least one vessel- or container ship-based base station, or coordinator), wherein the wireless device does not track an asset while in the hibernation node (Col 8 Lines 54-67; once a vessel is leaving harbor, the vessel’s WPAN system can be configured so that the tracking node of each container node is put into a low-power sleep, stand-by, or hibernate mode to prolong battery life),;
performing, by the wireless device, a periodic scan of an environment of the wireless device (Col 5 Lines 46 – Col 6 Lines 15; once a tracking device's WPAN-enabled radio is activated, the device actively tries to connect to the pre-configured WPANs corresponding to the vessel onto which it should be loaded, as described above. The activated device can be configured to scan through the set of WPANs for which it has been configured, trying to connect to any of the expected WPANs. After some specified time-out or delay period without receiving an echo response, the container node will determine that the ping on the particular network ID has failed, and the node will try to ping a new pre-configured WPAN ID) to capture environmental information (Col 5 Lines 40-45; a fixed component, such as a transmission line or a pulse forming network on or near the vessel, can be configured generate the activating pulse when a container node and its tracking device enter a specified area such as, for example, the vicinity of a loading crane), the periodic scan comprising periodically receiving wireless communications from a first base station node associated with the storage container (Col 5 Lines 46 – Col 6 Lines 15; once a tracking device's WPAN-enabled radio is activated, the device actively tries to connect to the pre-configured WPANs corresponding to the vessel onto which it should be loaded, as described above. The activated device can be configured to scan through the set of WPANs for which it has been configured, trying to connect to any of the expected WPANs);
analyzing, by the wireless device, the environmental information to identify that the wireless device has been moved (Col 4 Lines 26-33; the tracking of each container that is loaded onto the vessel using its tracking device, and the ability to inform the tracking devices about specific events, such as when the vessel leaves harbor, which can be used to cause the tracking device to enter a low-power sleep or stand-by mode); and
initiating, by the wireless device, an active mode of operation, wherein the active mode has a greater power consumption rate than the hibernation mode, and the wireless device begins tracking an asset after the active mode is initiated (Col 1 Lines 49-67; to lengthen the service cycles of such devices and their power sources, power consumption must be kept to a minimum. In attempting to achieve this, it is important that certain transitions in a container's journey be detected. Col 4 Lines 26-33; the tracking of each container that is loaded onto the vessel using its tracking device, and the ability to inform the tracking devices about specific events, such as when the vessel leaves harbor, which can be used to cause the tracking device to enter a low-power sleep or stand-by mode).
Binding does not explicitly teach wireless IOT device associated with an IOT system; the wireless IOT device operate in a hibernation mode while the wireless IOT devices is stored with a plurality of other wireless IOT devices before being deployed for tracking an asset; container node associated with the storage container; identify that the wireless IOT device has been removed from the storage container based on a received signal strength of the received wireless communications from the container node; initiating an active mode of operation in response to identifying that the wireless IOT device has been removed from the storage container. In an analogous art, Szebenyei teaches wireless IOT device associated with an IOT system (Paragraph 0009; results of the local measurements may comprise at least one of results of ranging measurements performed by the set of tag devices, results of measurements performed by tag device sensors measuring states of tag devices of the set of tag devices, and results of measurements performed by external sensors measuring environmental states in the zone of the localization area in which the set of tag devices is currently located); the wireless IOT device operate in a hibernation mode while the wireless IOT devices is stored with a plurality of other wireless IOT devices (Paragraph 0049; multiple products may be stacked together (e.g., on pallets) and may be moved simultaneously) before being deployed for tracking an asset (Paragraph 0043; in warehouse scenarios in which multiple objects with attached tag devices are disposed on a single palette, for example. In such settings, the objects may have long sitting times and the attached tag devices may be configured to perform motion-triggered positioning for power saving purposes); container node associated with the storage container (Paragraph 0047; the measurements between tags and anchors may be repeated with higher frequency. If a product being manufactured stops moving, a low-power or sleep mode may be activated. Paragraph 0036; ranging measurements may be performed to determine the tag positions of the set of tags and may be carried out in accordance with known ranging techniques. Similar positioning can be implemented using techniques that consider the signal strength between the anchor nodes and the tag devices, such as the RSSI between anchors and tags); identify that the wireless IOT device has been removed from the storage container based on a received signal strength of the received wireless communications from the container node (Figure 3 and Paragraphs 0036, 0047 and 0049; based on ranging techniques that determines RSSI between anchors and tags, upon movement, real-time tracking may be reactivated. Ranging measurement may determine if the tags have left conveyer belt, or move into other zones); initiating an active mode of operation in response to identifying that the wireless IOT device has been removed from the storage container (Paragraphs 0036, 0047 and 0049; based on ranging techniques that determines RSSI between anchors and tags, upon movement, real-time tracking may be reactivated). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Binding and Szebenyei because it would provide tracking service with high accuracy and better battery management without crowding channel capacity (Szebenyei, Paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Binding and Szebenyei teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Binding teaches the environmental information including sensor data captured by one or more sensors of the wireless device (Col 5 Lines 27-32; a tracking device's WPAN-enabled radio can be activated by some external event, such as a detected shock or acceleration in combination with a GPS-determined position. Examiner asserts that sensors may be used to detect shock or acceleration), wherein the analyzing the environment information comprises determining that the sensor data indicates the event (Col 5 Lines 27-32; a tracking device's WPAN-enabled radio can be activated by some external event, such as a detected shock or acceleration in combination with a GPS-determined position that is in the vicinity of the loading quay for the vessel's current leg), the wireless device has been stored in the storage container (Figure 1 and Col 4 Lines 7-15; the WPAN system can include container tracking devices joined to container to form container nodes and at least one vessel- or container ship-based base station, or coordinator).
In addition, Szebenyei the wireless IOT device removed from a location (Paragraph 0036; ranging measurements may be performed to determine the tag positions of the set of tags and may be carried out in accordance with known ranging techniques. Similar positioning can be implemented using techniques that consider the signal strength between the anchor nodes and the tag devices, such as the RSSI between anchors and tags. Paragraphs 0047 and 0049; based on ranging techniques that determines RSSI between anchors and tags, upon movement, real-time tracking may be reactivated). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Binding and Szebenyei because it would provide tracking service with high accuracy and better battery management without crowding channel capacity (Szebenyei, Paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 8, the combination Binding and Szebenyei teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 in method form rather than device form. Therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Further, Szebenyei teaches wherein the wireless IOT device (Figure 3; tag) comprises:
a processor (Paragraph 0019; processor);
a memory (Paragraph 0019; memory);
a first wireless communication system (Paragraph 0036; positioning can be implemented using techniques that consider the signal strength between the anchor nodes and the tag devices, such as the RSSI between anchors and tags, for example. The used radio technology may as such include at least one of Bluetooth, WiFi or UWB technologies, for example);
a battery (Paragraph 0037; states of the tag devices that are measured by the tag device sensors may include a battery status of the tag devices); and
a circuit coupling the processor, the memory, the first wireless communication system and interface, and the battery (Paragraphs 0019 and 0037; computing unit comprises at least one processor and at least one memory, wherein the at least one memory contains instructions executable by the at least one processor such that the computing unit is operable to perform any of the method steps). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Binding and Szebenyei because it would provide tracking service with high accuracy and better battery management without crowding channel capacity (Szebenyei, Paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Binding and Szebenyei teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Binding teaches wherein the wireless device communicates with other wireless devices in the environment (Col 5 Lines 40-60; a fixed component, such as a transmission line or a pulse forming network on or near the vessel, can be configured generate the activating pulse when a container node and its tracking device enter a specified area such as, for example, the vicinity of a loading crane. Once a tracking device's WPAN-enabled radio is activated, the device actively tries to connect to the pre-configured WPANs [interpreted as at least one other wireless device] corresponding to the vessel onto which it should be loaded), and the environment information indicates an amount of other wireless devices being below a threshold amount (Col 5 Lines 60 – Col 6 Lines 15; after some specified time-out or delay period without receiving an echo response, the container node will determine that the ping on the particular network ID has failed, and the node will try to ping a new pre-configured WPAN ID. The process repeats until a network connection is established or the new container node has attempted and failed to connect to a WPAN after each of the pre-configured networks have been pinged. After failing to connect to each the pre-configured WPANs, the container node can make one or more subsequent attempts that are separated by a specified time-out or delay period before termination. A container node's failure to establish a connection with any of the pre-configured WPANs, combined with information that the attempts were made at the correct loading time and approximate position in the loading quay (using the tracking device's GPS unit), will indicate to the container that it is not in the appropriate location near the vessel and/or the vessel's WPAN system as expected).
In addition, Szebenyei teaches the wireless IOT device (Paragraph 0036; ranging measurements may be performed to determine the tag positions of the set of tags and may be carried out in accordance with known ranging techniques. Similar positioning can be implemented using techniques that consider the signal strength between the anchor nodes and the tag devices, such as the RSSI between anchors and tags. Paragraphs 0047 and 0049; based on ranging techniques that determines RSSI between anchors and tags, upon movement, real-time tracking may be reactivated). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Binding and Szebenyei because it would provide tracking service with high accuracy and better battery management without crowding channel capacity (Szebenyei, Paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Binding and Szebenyei teaches all of the limitations of claim 12, as described above. Further, Binding teaches wherein the amount of other wireless devices are within a threshold distance of the wireless device (Col 5 Lines 60 – Col 6 Lines 15; after the node pings a first pre-configured WPAN ID and failed, the node will try to ping a new pre-configured WPAN ID. After failing to connect to each the pre-configured WPANs, the container node can make one or more subsequent attempts that are separated by a specified time-out or delay period before termination. A container node's failure to establish a connection with any of the pre-configured WPANs, combined with information that the attempts were made at the correct loading time and approximate position in the loading quay (using the tracking device's GPS unit), will indicate to the container that it is not in the appropriate location near the vessel and/or the vessel's WPAN system [interpreted as within threshold distance] as expected).
In addition, Szebenyei teaches the wireless IOT device (Paragraph 0036; ranging measurements may be performed to determine the tag positions of the set of tags and may be carried out in accordance with known ranging techniques. Similar positioning can be implemented using techniques that consider the signal strength between the anchor nodes and the tag devices, such as the RSSI between anchors and tags. Paragraphs 0047 and 0049; based on ranging techniques that determines RSSI between anchors and tags, upon movement, real-time tracking may be reactivated). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Binding and Szebenyei because it would provide tracking service with high accuracy and better battery management without crowding channel capacity (Szebenyei, Paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Binding and Szebenyei teaches all of the limitations of claim 13, as described above. Further, Binding teaches wherein the threshold distance (Col 5 Lines 60 – Col 6 Lines 15; after the node pings a first pre-configured WPAN ID and failed, the node will try to ping a new pre-configured WPAN ID. After failing to connect to each the pre-configured WPANs, the container node can make one or more subsequent attempts that are separated by a specified time-out or delay period before termination. A container node's failure to establish a connection with any of the pre-configured WPANs, combined with information that the attempts were made at the correct loading time and approximate position in the loading quay (using the tracking device's GPS unit), will indicate to the container that it is not in the appropriate location near the vessel and/or the vessel's WPAN system [interpreted as within threshold distance] as expected). The combination of Binding and Gum does not explicitly teach the threshold distance is one foot. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to set threshold distance as one foot because Applicant has not disclosed that setting threshold distance to certain distance provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with any reasonable distance set as threshold distance. Therefore it would have been a design choice to modify the teachings of Binding and Szebenyei to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
In addition, Szebenyei teaches the wireless IOT device (Paragraph 0036; ranging measurements may be performed to determine the tag positions of the set of tags and may be carried out in accordance with known ranging techniques. Similar positioning can be implemented using techniques that consider the signal strength between the anchor nodes and the tag devices, such as the RSSI between anchors and tags. Paragraphs 0047 and 0049; based on ranging techniques that determines RSSI between anchors and tags, upon movement, real-time tracking may be reactivated). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Binding and Szebenyei because it would provide tracking service with high accuracy and better battery management without crowding channel capacity (Szebenyei, Paragraph 0005).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binding in view of Szebenyei, as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Ree (US 20210035697 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Binding and Szebenyei teaches all of the limitations of claim 6, as described above. Further, Binding teaches wherein the one or more sensors (Col 5 Lines 27-32; a tracking device's WPAN-enabled radio can be activated by some external event, such as a detected shock or acceleration in combination with a GPS-determined position. Examiner asserts that sensors may be used to detect shock or acceleration) are selected from the group consisting of a vibration sensor (Col 5 Lines 27-32; a tracking device's WPAN-enabled radio can be activated by some external event, such as a detected shock. Examiner asserts that vibration sensor may be used to detect shock), an accelerometer (Col 5 Lines 27-32; a tracking device's WPAN-enabled radio can be activated by some external event, such as a detected acceleration. Examiner asserts that accelerometer may be used to detect acceleration),
The combination of Binding and Szebenyei does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more sensors are selected from group consisting of a gyroscope, a temperature sensor, a light sensor, and an audio sensor. In an analogous art, Ree teaches wherein the one or more sensors are selected from group consisting of a gyroscope, a temperature sensor, a light sensor, and an audio sensor (Paragraph 0041; each IoT device may include the sensors that may include a temperature sensor, a light sensor, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and the like, or some combination thereof). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Binding, Szebenyei and Ree because it would provide warnings in various aspects or areas to a user to prevent accidents and attacks (Ree, Paragraphs 0003-0005).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binding in view of Szebenyei, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Khoche (US 20180165568 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Binding and Szebenyei teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 8 in method form rather than device form. Therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claims 1 and 8.
The combination of Binding and Szebenyei does not explicitly teach wherein the wireless IOT device is an adhesive tape platform comprising: a flexible substrate; a cover layer on the flexible substrate; a device layer, between the flexible substrate and the cover layer, comprising the processor, the memory, the first wireless communication system, and the battery, wherein the circuit is a flexible circuit between the flexible substrate and the cover layer. In an analogous art, Khoche teaches wherein the wireless IOT device is an adhesive tape platform (Figure 5B and Paragraph 0070; a segment 102 of the tracking adhesive product 100 that includes tracking components 106) comprising: a flexible substrate (Figures 5B and 7B and Paragraph 0070; a flexible substrate 110); a cover layer on the flexible substrate (Figure 5B and 7B and Paragraph 0071; flexible cover 126 on top of the flexible substrate 110); a device layer (Figures 5B and 7B and Paragraph 0070; device layer 122), between the flexible substrate and the cover layer (Figures 5B and 7B and Paragraph 0070; device layer 122 is between flexible cover 126 and flexible substrate 110), comprising the processor (Figure 5B and Paragraph 0080; the device layer 122 include processor 90), the memory (Figure 5B and Paragraph 0080; memory), the first wireless communication system (Figure 5B and Paragraph 0080; the communications circuits 82, 86 to their respective antennas 84, 88), and the battery (Figure 5B and Paragraph 0080; flexible battery), wherein the circuit is a flexible circuit between the flexible substrate and the cover layer (Figure 5B and Paragraph 0080; flexible circuit 120 is between flexible cover and flexible substrate). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Binding, Szebenyei and Khoche because it would provide localization equipment in heterogeneous environments and provide optimizing weight, size, cost and battery life for tracking application (Khoche, Paragraph 0003).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binding in view of Szebenyei, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Roisen et al. (US 20190066036 A1), hereinafter Roisen.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Binding and Szebenyei teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Binding teaches wherein the periodic scan comprises determining a current location of the wireless device from another wireless device in the environment (Col 5 Lines 46 – Col 6 Lines 15; Once a tracking device's WPAN-enabled radio is activated, the device actively tries to connect to the pre-configured WPANs corresponding to the vessel onto which it should be loaded, as described above. The activated device can be configured to scan through the set of WPANs for which it has been configured, trying to connect to any of the expected WPANs. After some specified time-out or delay period without receiving an echo response, the container node will determine that the ping on the particular network ID has failed, and the node will try to ping a new pre-configured WPAN ID), wherein the wireless device transitions to the second mode of operation (Col 4 Lines 26-33; the tracking of each container that is loaded onto the vessel using its tracking device, and the ability to inform the tracking devices about specific events, such as when the vessel leaves harbor, which can be used to cause the tracking device to enter a low-power sleep or stand-by mode).
In addition, Szebenyei teaches the wireless IOT device (Paragraph 0036; ranging measurements may be performed to determine the tag positions of the set of tags and may be carried out in accordance with known ranging techniques. Similar positioning can be implemented using techniques that consider the signal strength between the anchor nodes and the tag devices, such as the RSSI between anchors and tags. Paragraphs 0047 and 0049; based on ranging techniques that determines RSSI between anchors and tags, upon movement, real-time tracking may be reactivated). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Binding and Szebenyei because it would provide tracking service with high accuracy and better battery management without crowding channel capacity (Szebenyei, Paragraph 0005).
The combination of Binding and Szebenyei does not explicitly teach wherein the periodic scan comprises determining when the current location is more than a threshold distance from an initially determined location of the wireless device. In an analogous art, Roisen teaches wherein the periodic scan comprises determining when the current location is more than a threshold distance from an initially determined location of the wireless device (Paragraph 0015; the location of the mobile electronic device may be determined by using GPS or cellular-tower based location, and if the current location (i.e., a second location) differs [Examiner asserts that when two locations differs, it may be interpreted as a threshold distance between the two locations] from a retrieved historical location (i.e., initially determined location), an alert could be generated [generating an alert would be interpreted as second mode of operation]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Binding, Szebenyei and Roisen because it would better determining environmental conditions of a wireless device (Roisen, Paragraph 0003).
Pertinent but not cited References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin (US 20130039239 A1) discloses switching between low-power communication mode and normal mode based on detected radio frequency signal.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING GAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647